UMWT teases new Toyota Alphard, launch on Oct 23

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has just released teaser images on its social media, showing the new Toyota Alphard with the caption ‘Luxury You Deserve’ and the launch date of the luxury MPV, which is October 23. That’s next Monday.

The fourth-generation Alphard’s arrival is not a surprise, as UMWT opened order books for it and twin sister Vellfire back in July. We’re getting the Alphard in Executive Lounge form, powered by a 2.4-litre turbocharged engine with 278 PS and 430 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 3,600 rpm. The T24A-FTS engine is paired to a Direct Shift eight-speed conventional automatic transmission.

This turbo engine replaces the 3.5-litre naturally aspirated V6 engine from the previous AH30 generation. The four-pot will save you road tax, has higher power and torque, and comes with a gearbox with two extra speeds, so it’s a win in every department. Interestingly, you can’t get an Alphard in Japan with the turbo engine – it’s either hybrid or 2.5L NA there.

Click to enlarge price list

The 2.5L NA engine will power our Vellfire, the Alphard’s sportier sister that has always been positioned lower by UMWT. The long-serving 2AR-FE engine makes 182 PS/235 Nm and is paired to a Super CVT-i with seven virtual speeds.

The Vellfire 2.5’s estimated price revealed during the open for booking announcement is RM438,000, with the Alphard 2.4T Executive Lounge priced exactly RM100k more at RM538,000 on-the-road without insurance. More on the latest edition of Malaysia’s favourite luxury car here, and stay tuned for full details from the launch.

GALLERY: 2024 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire, Japan-spec

GALLERY: 2024 Toyota Alphard at GIIAS 2023

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Niwarna on Oct 21, 2023 at 1:10 pm

Van jenazah mewah tebo. Cepat sikit sampai kubor

• Ajibkor on Oct 23, 2023 at 12:26 pm

Nik amar geng Pnpas dpt 1bijik van jenazah mewah. Pariah pas harakah tk bayar2 hutang sykt printer.. kikiki

• FudgeMeSideways on Oct 21, 2023 at 1:20 pm

MYR kecik-nya.

• I mean…not like anyone actually buys alphards from them

• Hui Min on Oct 21, 2023 at 3:52 pm

Finally can get the booked TNGA Alphard

• GengM on Oct 21, 2023 at 3:53 pm

Another cekik darah plastic car from T…

• Saw one brand new Alphard with no plate “PAS 353” around shah alam last week. Wundering belonged to who…

• PHBN Korup on Oct 21, 2023 at 6:15 pm

Suitable car for corrupt ministers.

• j dough on Oct 22, 2023 at 6:34 am

how is this better than a $440K BMW X5 with an inline 6 ??

Also note this kind of mpv’s are extremely unsafe, get rear ended at speed is an immediate gg.com

• it is a more comfortable 4 seaters with the TNGA Vellfire Alphard

the captain seats are business class, added with the VIP Digitalized Sliding Doors.

• Kota Sri Bhagwan on Oct 22, 2023 at 10:23 pm

X5 dimension failed as a hearse, Alphard is the best for last ride to paradise.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 23, 2023 at 9:10 am

Its okay. PH Gomen 2.0 will spend even more taxpayers monies than PH 1.0 to buy newer EV cars for their mentris. Meanwhile kehidupan rakyat semua semakin susah

• applegreen on Oct 22, 2023 at 8:46 am

Earlier a friend of mine in embassy asked me why car price must have 38000 at the back

• Anonymous user on Oct 22, 2023 at 10:46 am

Another Ah Beng AhFartt and Wailfire. So many recond version on the road that people won’t know even if you buy this version. People will just assume you got the recond version that is on 250k, any decently high earner in Malaysia can buy. It is not luxury. It is common family MPV and is MyVi level common. Dunno where the glorified “luxury” when so many people can afford this car hahaha. Siok sendiri.

• applegreen on Oct 22, 2023 at 8:19 pm

google Alphard mewah viral PAS 353 @@

• Alza owner LMAO on Oct 23, 2023 at 8:23 am

If u r T20 and have a family of 7, u wont buy Alza or Exora, this is the most comfort MPV.

Have you even own a car more than RM100k ? If not, just shiok sendiri with ur motor or watever myvi viva axia

And for your info, Alphard and Vellfire is definitely more luxury than Myvi, not sure why u compare it maybe u should go back to Mars

• ToyohatsuDuaLexus on Oct 22, 2023 at 10:56 am

Best combo is getting this mpv together with unsubsidised petrol at the pump LEL

• petrol station floor managers on Oct 22, 2023 at 10:13 pm

We always noticed ahead hellfire driver pumps yellow nozzler 95 at station.

• AL Fat owners club on Oct 22, 2023 at 10:16 pm

Pity us needs to service 100% car loan no more extra pocket money.

• Car protagonist on Oct 22, 2023 at 7:05 pm

For the love of God, pls have a OEM screen on the Alphard, amen