Geely enters Thailand, Indonesia, Australia – what happened to using Proton for RHD, ASEAN markets?

The launches of the EX5 (or Geely Galaxy E5, or Proton eMas 7) in Thailand, and Aletra in Indonesia, mean that Geely per se is now in these major ASEAN markets. The Chinese giant has also formalised its entry into Australia and New Zealand (set to happen in 1H 2025), the latter via a partnership with Giltrap Group.

These all happened this week alone – a real RHD-market onslaught if we ever saw one. But when Proton and Geely got married in 2017, the promise then was to use the Proton brand for right-hand drive (RHD) and ASEAN markets, making Malaysia Geely’s regional RHD hub.

With Geely, not Proton, now in ASEAN’s two biggest car markets, how will the oft-repeated goal to make Proton No 3 in the region be achieved?

The choice of Geely as the brand to enter Australia instead of Proton is also something to think about deeply. After all, Proton was Down Under from 1995 to 2017, with the Jumbuck (Arena) being its most successful model. The idea that Geely’s global brand awareness and equity have grown to levels deemed sufficient to relegate the Malaysian brand’s 22 years in Australia, creates many different emotions.

There are also rumours that Geely is going to enter South Africa – a market that Proton is already in – and we suspect this Cape Town ain’t big enough for the both of them. The Proton brand is indeed used in RHD markets like Bangladesh, Kenya and Pakistan, but they are largely (Brunei, Mauritius, Mozambique etc) not big markets and one wonders if the Proton brand will continue to be used for EVs moving forward.

It is becoming evident that the initial plan to use the Proton brand in international RHD and ASEAN markets is no longer in place. Yes, that was first announced years ago and plans do change. Still, it’s disheartening to give up the hope of having a Malaysian brand spread its wings abroad.

One small saving grace for Proton is that its ride and handling setup for the eMas 7 will be used in global-market Geely EX5 models. We as Malaysians know that, but we doubt Proton will be credited for it in overseas markets.

Is Geely losing patience and faith at Proton’s slow growth rate? Or are Proton’s own branding and name recognition to blame? Although it has made great strides post-Geely, Proton still hasn’t reached the No 1 spot in Malaysia, and still has some way to go to build up its reputation in ASEAN and other markets. It’s been over seven years.

When Geely first partnered up with Proton, a Chinese brand breaking into the global market was unheard of. Now, BYD, Chery and others are making headlines all over the world, while the Geely name is relatively unknown outside of China. This latest move should change that.

It does look like Proton is being sidelined, at least for now. It will be interesting to see if Proton will be allowed to market its next-generation home-grown models (which rather ironically are being developed in Hangzhou) outside of Malaysia, or if they will be badged as a Geely in Thailand and Indonesia too.

What do you think? Does this spell the end for Proton’s international aspirations? Share your thoughts with us in the comments.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments express skepticism about Geely’s strategic move to enter ASEAN markets directly with its own brand, bypassing Proton, due to Proton's poor reputation, quality issues, and perceived inefficiencies. Many believe Proton's relevance outside Malaysia is minimal, viewed as a cheap, outdated brand, while Chinese brands like Haval, Changan, and MG gain popularity. There’s criticism about Proton’s internal management, labor culture, and quality control, with some suggesting Geely's involvement has not improved Proton’s competitiveness. Several comments highlight Geely’s abandonment of Proton in some regions and question whether Proton can effectively compete or be relevant in markets like Thailand and ASEAN countries. Overall, the sentiment portrays Proton as a burden for Geely, with doubts about its future survival and value, emphasizing the influence of business realities over patriotic sentiments.

• Geli Proton on Nov 29, 2024 at 3:54 pm

Of course it doesn’t spell the end….just that the Proton brand name is suitable for small, irrelevant 3rd world country market like Bangladesh, Pakistan, etc. Can’t even be good enough for Thailand…huhuhu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 29, 2024 at 10:02 pm

Geely has abandoned PMX so its time the rakyat also abandon him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 53
      • Trollhunter on Nov 30, 2024 at 10:21 am

Rakyat Malaysia aka Patriot, lazy paid keyboard warriors like you can stick the propaganda up where the sun dont shine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • hafiz on Dec 01, 2024 at 2:58 pm

are you stupid, its not even under madani government during the agreement inked…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 03, 2024 at 6:45 pm

No, but it was under Madani Gomen that Geely abandon P1 So ini semue salah PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • That Guy on Mar 25, 2025 at 2:59 pm

Pathetic, by so many standards.

Mostly that you would shill propaganda on an automotive forum.

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 29, 2024 at 10:31 pm

What happen?
      Nothing happen
      Just another rebatch

• Protong is a glorified Geely rebadge,nothing original on Nov 30, 2024 at 1:03 pm

When Dr Li showed his boss,Li ShuFU the latest P1 factory production video..he vomited when he saw the lepaking culture and vowed to use GEELY jenama only to attack foreign markets.
      Even the Taliban knows the lepaking culture and spoilt brat vendors.
      Whats the point of producing Geely cars here,when the local vendors already formed “cartels” not to reduce spare parts by 30%,as demanded by Dr.Li Chun Rong.
      Make no mistake,there will come a day Geely said enough is enough,they pull out and let DRB pakai their Campro engine.They can go to Thailand n go big in exports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • ROTI CANAI on Nov 29, 2024 at 3:55 pm

Nobody wants proton. Simple as that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 12
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:59 pm

Geely promised that to BN Gomen, now is PH Gomen so Geely got no more reason to honour their promises just like PH did not honour their promises during election time. ASEAN duwan PH simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 26
  • Ex Proton fanboi on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:08 pm

Sudah kena kincing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Lanhb on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:12 pm

‘Beggars’ can’t be…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Walaun on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:15 pm

Plotong got suckered by geli as we’ve been suckered by PH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 38
    • Walaoeh on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:21 pm

Don’t you feel tired involving politics into every part of your life? We are here to talk about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 30
      • Tun M on Dec 01, 2024 at 7:50 pm

What are you talking? I created plotong for political reasons and sold it to geli also for political reasons

• DonkeyKong on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:19 pm

Geely is fed up with Proton. Plain and simple. Geely is struggling to raise the productivity and output quality of the Tg Malim plants after investing so much in them.

What do they get in return? Complains after complains from the lazy mat rempit production line workers about Geely management being “communists” and “zalim”. The reason? These workers would gather around production areas to lepak like monkeys. They don’t follow work SOP and still wear watches and external accessories that could accidentally scratch paintwork at the production line. When upper management flag these violations of production line areas, these workers complain that China tindas pekerja tempatan.

Do you seriously think Geely has confidence that the Proton plant can produce sufficient export-quality vehicles to be sent abroad??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 52
    • Peppa on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:26 pm

You are seriously need help to fix that ‘terpaling tersakiti’ mentality. Just admit that geely treat proton as pawn not partner lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
    • You're an idiot on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:38 pm

Ah, I see you’re attacking only the production line workers instead of the upper management because they consist mostly of a certain race that you probably don’t like, hence the “mat rempit”. How the hell did you know they hanging out all days like monkeys, complaining about Geely and don’t follow SOP like wearing watches and sh*t? I’m not from that certain race you’re referring but that’s stupid to say that but I can’t blame you either, you probably dropped when you was a baby and your brain can’t think properly now. Blame the management instead, can’t you see how Proton is managed by these clumsy idiots? Talking about Geely is not confidence with Proton not being able to produce export quality vehicles, have you seen the issues surrounding vehicles made by Geely and other China branded cars or you purposely ignoring that because “China is oweys numba wan, China suparior” to you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 25
      • DonkeyKong on Nov 30, 2024 at 8:15 pm

Nothing to do with racial superiority. The workers made it a racial issue. Their union accuse the Chinese of treating their race like inmates of Guantanamo Bay. Their words, not mine. They accuse Proton of having a “CCTV culture”. Even the Malay management staff of Proton were criticized by the workers groups.

• Looks like you have insider information – wasnt aware of this culture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • DonkeyKong on Nov 30, 2024 at 7:57 pm

Yes. It was from a memorandum from the workers association of that specific race. We don’t want to make it a race issue but that workers group made it a race issue when pushing back on Geely’s upper management’s measures to enforce compliance.

If you have access to Proton’s internal documents on quality compliance, there are photos and reports of everything I mentioned. Workers squatting at corners of production lines lepaking. Workers wearing their favorite G-Shock watches when assembling body parts.

I didn’t make these up. Go get to know Proton insiders and you can see these reports for yourselves, as well as the race-based strongly-worded protests from the workers groups.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Casual reader on Nov 30, 2024 at 8:35 pm

More like insider misinformation unless Donkey got proof to back what he said. That s borderline racism if not slander

• DonkeyKong on Dec 02, 2024 at 10:31 pm

Haha disinformation indeed. Go ask Proton upper management, if there’s these words in their internal document regarding this matter:

Findings: The car is not placed in the box provided
          Action: Verbal remind driver to follow SOP parked the car (note: it was really written with such bad grammar, this is ad-verbatim from the document)
          PIC/ Date Line: Rohaizad 20/8

Snippet of the memorandum from the workers union to Proton:
          – “mengeluarkan belanja yang sangat besar semata-mata untuk mencari kesilapan dan kesalahan pekerja PROTON”
          – “Tindakan dan kaedah ala-ala sel tahanan Guantanamo Bay ini dibuat tanpa apa-apa perbincangan bersama Kesatuan”
          – “Tindakan tidak bertamadun dan berniat jahat ini dibuat bagi membangkitkan perasaan marah dan tidak puas hati pekerja”

Check for yourself and find out. If you don’t have insider info from within Proton, don’t need to make yourself look like a fool.

• ICE or Hybrid only on Nov 30, 2024 at 1:06 pm

You have proof of your nonsense statement here?

• ThePolygon on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:22 pm

I guess this is the way Geely telling Proton that if it can’t progress fast enough, don’t block others from progressing and will be left behind. Proton should have launched first before Geely E5 in SEA. What is the actual holdup? Now it will just look bad, cementing the rebadge mindset for all to see.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
    • You think putting a logo onto the car is an easy feat? Good things takes time. So many places on the car to swap the logo: front bumper, back, steering, wheels, etc. So, please be patience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
      • mishmash on Nov 29, 2024 at 6:50 pm

Yea but what good things? They claimed co development but we sure as heck know that isn’t true. You yourself sounded your inconfidence in Proton as you admit they’re too simply slapping a logo on the car?

• I see what you did there #sarcasm

• roboto on Dec 03, 2024 at 9:28 am

nobody asked for a rebadged car anyway. Just sell Geely here directly. Easy.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 30, 2024 at 8:12 pm

Go check with Proton upper management on their performance and defect monitoring. Ask them about all these cases in Proton’s own internal reports-

– still smoking after break time and didn’t return to workstation
      – still sitting down and not doing work after vehicle arrived at workstation for next assembly process
      – wearing watches at paint shop area, verbally reminded to avoid secondary defects
      – squatting and gathering at workstation area during vehicle gap
      – workers sleeping on the conveyor line during break time, and workers leaning against car bodies on the production line
      – tool and hoses not stowed away properly at workstations in between vehicle body arrivals

The list goes on and on. Incidentally, the workers and their unions whack Proton management for “treating them like prisoners”. Included in their protest letter with harsh accusations were the non-Chinese heads as well.

• Sohai on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:28 pm

the promised was in 2017.
    What year is it now?
    And frankly, using proton to enter other markets just takes too long with additional steps to rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • bieight8 on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:33 pm

Even own people don’t want to buy…

• Proton may be still guarding their vendors hence Geely decided to do it themselves.

Geely’s own models are years ahead of the current offerings from Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • They just used proton to bypassed the high auto tax in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • barruwar on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:43 pm

Geely has thrown Proton under the bus

But it will need Proton when Western countries slapping insane tariffs on Chinese products.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
  • pengguna ploton kecewa on Nov 29, 2024 at 4:44 pm

already confirmed kena Con dgn Geely. typical nego tactics to starve off Stellantis’s offer at the time. Ah Jib Gor being conned again. haha. btw why Geely needs proton after all after all these new Chinese brands can enter our market without restriction?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
    • Well, Proton under Stellantis would not get anywhere. Stellantis is struggling to turn profitable now and Proton will be the first brand to be sold to cut cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 29, 2024 at 10:01 pm

Najib being conned? Who is PM now? Looks like PMX got conned instead but he is the biggest conman here. Conning all the rakyat and now Geely has abandoned him too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • Proton cannot even handle local market. Lest overseas when competition great…

• Rizal on Nov 29, 2024 at 5:07 pm

Proton kena ‘Game’ lagi. Although any tweak and fine tuning done by Proton and Lotus, credit will goes to Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Proton really doesnt have the best of reputation in Malaysia let alone in other countries. Proton is known as a brand selling cheap and slightly outdated cars in Australia and SA.

I can see why Geely plan to enter RHD markets under its own branding because Chinese carmakers have gained foothold in those countries nowadays unlike 7 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Azgarffield on Nov 29, 2024 at 5:21 pm

Proton kena kencing 2 kali. Oklah, the promise for RHD market to be fronted by Proton was way back in 2017.

But Proton’s expertise in developing suspension system for “international” markets (tuning preferred outside of China) is actually being “copied” by Geely. Honestly I think Geely just waited a bit more for the blueprints of the suspension designed by Proton before launching the RHD EX5.

I wish Proton do get something back in favour and pass it on to Malaysian consumers (lower price in exchange of intellectual properties, despite not being credited). If Proton still thinking of launching at “starting” price of 120K, just forget it. I have been contacted by SAs who rephrased that to be the starting price for the Premium variant and backtracked that the lower Prime variant would be 10K less than whatever the Premium is priced at. We’ll see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Middle Age Diver on Nov 29, 2024 at 5:34 pm

I believe the agreement on Proton for Asian market was just for ICE cars not EVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • fadzilli haji Ahmad on Nov 29, 2024 at 6:17 pm

blame all on DRB-Hicom management not Proton. they destroyed the brand in 2012 when they took over and not destroying it more.

• shaharyop on Nov 29, 2024 at 6:21 pm

Proton Tg Malim should just be an assembler for Geely brand.
    No need waste time on R&D just rebadge and sell.
    Proton name has no value, people will shun when they see the word Proton in the international market.

• Cartun on Nov 29, 2024 at 6:39 pm

Partnership is not always equal. I supposed that Geely may sell Proton I’m the near future.

• SlyGuy on Nov 29, 2024 at 6:50 pm

What ever happens to rm 1.5 billion R&D fund paid for by the govt to the geeky-proton outfit to enable Proton to compete at least in ASEAN region with Tg Malim 250k cars production annually?

• There’s no brand recognition for Proton. It was a company that sold old or rather strange designs at competitive prices in a few countries. Geely probably reckon it’s a liability not an asset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Bob Mal on Nov 29, 2024 at 7:33 pm

Well guess Malaysia deserve it to be the dumping ground for the 3 cylinder 1.5L TGDi engine now officially being the only country that still uses it when Geely Ph has also finally updated their Coolray offerings. Guess they would not even sell if being offered in other countries.

• Too Aggresive for FL on Dec 03, 2024 at 12:30 pm

Well, when you have a DCEO who says about supplier volumes and comments about Geely’s design being too aggresive….Hence we are still stuck with a car that was launched in 2020 by giving 7k rebates just to stay competitive with newer offerings in the market

• Just another anon on Nov 29, 2024 at 7:55 pm

Probably the Geely management or BOD during the Proton shares buyout is not consist of the same personnel anymore. The plan decided at that time is no longer relevant with current situation. Different personnel have different ambitions and views plus remunerations expectations factor.

• Tokoksingsong on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:09 pm

What weed are you all smoking? What proton reputation, productivity, employees attitude, quality la, etc etc. This is pure business. Selling proton oversea mean you going to split your profit with DRB when Geely can enter the market by themself and make full profit. Which strategy do you think Geely will take?

• Frankc on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:21 pm

I don’t mind if proton design and made CKD kit ends up overseas under geely brand. Main point is that proton manufacturing have sufficient volume to keep going and slowly going overseas under geely.
    If proton good with small car and chassis design they can make use Chinese interiors and engines to stay competitive

• Kesian Proton on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:35 pm

In 2017 Geely thought Proton is still having some value . Then they realize it’s a tin kosong company and maybe came to know also Proton workforce attitude cannot be changed. I believe they abandon Proton soon once their Geely brand name become established in right hand market.

• Zuskopi on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:43 pm

Proton and Geely need couple’s marriage counselling every week. Picture this: Geely telling Proton every single day: “you’re my B***h”. And they get to say it everyday. During courtship, wonders and promises happened. After marriage, Proton wondering what the H and F happened.

• Rakyat bolehland on Nov 29, 2024 at 9:46 pm

Sebab Proton kena game lol tula percaya sgt.

• johnwpz on Nov 29, 2024 at 10:55 pm

china cakap proton kos mahal gila, tengok juga pening

• Geely does not need proton. It’s the other way round. Proton needs geely. Otherwise proton go bust.

• Does Malaysia Great Wall protect Proton? on Nov 30, 2024 at 9:48 am

ALL foreign EV brands cannot sells Below RM100K

BUT Proton eMas 7 sells around RM150K?

GEELY cannot wait
    Proton still lot of works to finish up

Talking from a country that cannot even made a 80286 CPU

• It’s not the brand, it’s the people in it.

• Ceo china is better on Nov 30, 2024 at 10:25 am

They know what they are doing.
    Billions had been wasted on proton already

• turborider on Nov 30, 2024 at 11:08 am

If anyone work or deal with China people before, you should know their culture is like to “draw biscuits” in Chinese meaning giving fake hope. Proton had eaten a big biscuit from Geely.

But before blame on people, what Proton management had been beginning of their collaboration? They only focus on sales after launch new products, spares parts and after sales service not their priority. “Jual aje, spare parts biar tunggu je” some parts tunggu bulan bulan

I need to admit that Proton products like X50, X70 and S70 really a good solid car with reasonable price and specifications.

I personally booked X50 twice, in 2 years period of time, but end up cancelled my booking after reading news about their after sale service and SPARE PARTS issues even after 2 years the products launched.

Now not only your partner Geely, customers also lost confidence on you Proton!

• proton want to be premium, rebadge e5 and selling 80% higher than actuall price..lol

• Someone on Nov 30, 2024 at 2:46 pm

Proton must be regretting not taking Volkswagen’s offer. They played a hard to get game because VW wanted to manage and control of Proton, same what Geely is doing but they refused the offer because of the Bumi agenda.

Too bad.

• Imagine if VW acquired Proton, we could’ve Audi models for cheap here lol

• Trulyoutwitted on Dec 01, 2024 at 8:55 am

Never trusted Geely to help Proton. Stagnant consumer demand in China has led to dumping of China products in SEA. This endangered local industries like clothing in Indonesia and Thai auto industry. If China government dont stop this dumping, China’s current lowered soft power will go into minus figures.

• You dont know? on Dec 01, 2024 at 10:26 am

The problem with proton is the supplier that still need tongkat to be competitive and unable to produce quality part yet cheaper than even neighbouring country like Thailand. A chronic problem pass by previous management. Despite so many effect by Proton Geely including lawatan sambil belajar to China to see how their supplier works, local supplier in Malaysia still not cost effective and produce part that is cost effective and quality enough, hence Proton stigmata of poor quality still stick to the brand. Proton has sound this many times, but condition remain the same still need tongkat sakti for the supplier to survive, frankly Proton Geely tired of all this BS, till they even look at thailand suppier to supply part for proton. Dont blame Geely for what happen to Proton, people here for bussiness, not charity works. If you cant improved blame yourself for it.

• GengM on Dec 01, 2024 at 12:24 pm

Byd, gac, chery, saiv all already enter thailand…
    Due to proton burden, geely left behind market far far away from rest of chinese competitor…

Now want to play catch up…huh huh

• wasabi on Dec 01, 2024 at 1:45 pm

What brand? Nobody knows Proton outside of Malaysia… unfortunately. Proton only slaps a badge and OEM Geely vehicles at this stage and will continue to do so in future… They are still unable to manufacture a “real” vehicle end-to-end.

• Tank G on Dec 01, 2024 at 2:05 pm

If I take the nationalism out of my decision, I would pick Geely over Proton.

• Geely still contributed a lot and made Proton a better organisation, and improved quality of proton car that benefited Malaysians. Don’t just look at the downside.

• Innocent driver on Dec 02, 2024 at 4:21 am

The local Chinese are cautious and taking this promise as grain of salt, only the almighty kazanah and DRB Hicom top share holder are naive enough. Good sign, let the prime Chinese teach this arrogant leaders a lesson.

• Honduh on Dec 02, 2024 at 7:25 am

To be frank proton name is irrelevant outside of malaysia. Even if known, it will categorised as cheap ride from 3rd world. Just like how we see chery or other China brand 5 years ago.

Today, China is known to be market leader in EV and some of their brands build quality surpass even the European maker.

I think Geely made the right move. Who want a proton badge outside of Malaysia? Just like how others will see why bother with proton when u can get mitsubishi back in the 90s era.

China is proud of their own brand and can stand proudly today. They don’t need proton.

To me, proton should just close shop. They have been a parasite to malaysians for many years causing many folks can’t buy good and safe cars from others. Infact it’s a celebration if malaysia is without proton.

• the strategy is proton will enter brunei and other halal states while geely enter open markets

• Kotak Peti Kota Baru on Dec 02, 2024 at 12:27 pm

Can you trust the warga SjkC same rule applies here

• dugong on Dec 02, 2024 at 5:31 pm

Better then to trust folks from teh tarik state.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 03, 2024 at 6:47 pm

Teh tarik state folks are at least more honest and no backstabbing others.

• dumdeedum on Dec 02, 2024 at 10:38 pm

Proton…. deadweight

• Paul Chan on Dec 03, 2024 at 9:24 am

just admit it, the only reason Geely bought Proton was for Lotus. That was done. Just think about it, if you’re Geely, what incentive do you have to have Proton as a local distributor when they can just sell direct using their own brand?

• P2 currently number 3 in ASEAN on Dec 04, 2024 at 10:55 am

the only successful automotive marriage is by marrying to a japanese brand. full stop.

• Usman on Dec 27, 2024 at 4:35 pm

Proton has such a negative image in Pakistan now due to a crap local partner while Chinese nameplates like Haval, Changan, and MG are now hugely popular so probably they’ll remove proton and re-enter the market as Geely pretty soon

• Azian on Feb 27, 2025 at 4:02 pm

You must learn from others experience. Every foreign car brands that have jv in China slowly have to move out from China. Why? Once China learned and knew how to make everything on their own cheaper and faster, the foreigners have no choice but move out back home. I predict the same thing will happen to proton. It’s all about business.