Honda Prelude
Launched
RM 278,000
75 hybrids on sale · from RM 99,800 to RM 2,238,888
Every hybrid and plug-in hybrid on sale in Malaysia: prices, EV-only range and what actually separates a full hybrid from a plug-in. The guide below answers the questions Malaysian buyers ask most — whether hybrids need charging, what they really save, and how their road tax is calculated.
Cheapest hybrids
Cheapest plug-in hybrids
Longest EV-only range (PHEV)

Launched
RM 278,000

Launched
RM 459,939 – 519,939

Launched
RM 123,800 – 143,800

Launched
RM 109,900

Launched
RM 154,800 – 179,800

Launched
RM 109,800 – 129,800

Launched
RM 269,800

Launched
RM 147,888

Launched
RM 185,990

Launched
RM 328,800 – 388,800

Launched
RM 159,800

Launched
RM 129,800
Three broad kinds. A full hybrid (HEV, like most Toyota and Honda hybrids) drives short distances on electric power and recharges itself — you never plug it in. A mild hybrid (MHEV) uses a small motor to assist the engine and smooth the stop-start system; it cannot drive on electricity alone. A plug-in hybrid (PHEV) carries a much bigger battery you charge from a socket, giving a usable electric-only range before the petrol engine takes over. This site labels each variant's type on its spec sheet.
Only a plug-in hybrid. Full and mild hybrids recharge their small batteries from the engine and from braking — there is no charging port, nothing to install at home, and no change to how you refuel. That self-sufficiency is exactly why full hybrids suit buyers who want lower fuel bills without thinking about chargers.
It keeps driving — the car simply behaves like a normal full hybrid, using the engine plus whatever charge regenerative braking recovers. You never get stranded by an empty PHEV battery. The catch is economy: an uncharged PHEV is usually thirstier than an equivalent full hybrid, because it hauls a heavy battery it is not using. A PHEV only makes financial sense if you can charge it regularly.
It depends on where you drive. Hybrids shine in stop-go traffic — braking energy is recovered and the engine shuts off when idling or crawling, which is why city fuel savings of 30–50% over a comparable petrol car are realistic in KL traffic. On a steady highway cruise the electric side contributes little, so savings shrink to roughly 10–20%. A PHEV charged daily and driven mostly within its electric range can use almost no petrol at all.
By engine capacity (cc), exactly like a petrol car — the electric motor is not counted. That applies to plug-in hybrids too: a PHEV with a 1.5-litre engine pays 1.5-litre road tax however big its battery is. Only full EVs use the kW-based schedule. Every variant page on this site shows that car's computed annual road tax.
Most brands in Malaysia warrant the hybrid battery separately from the car, commonly 8 years or 160,000 km — some offer extensions tied to inspections. Hybrid batteries are far smaller than EV batteries and are buffered to avoid deep charge cycles, which is why gradual capacity loss rarely troubles a first or second owner. The Warranty section of every variant spec sheet lists what each model carries.
Usually not — most PHEVs sold in Malaysia charge on AC only, and their batteries are small enough that this hardly matters: a typical PHEV pack fills overnight on a 3-pin socket, or in a few hours on a home wallbox. A handful of newer, larger-battery PHEVs do accept DC fast charging — where a variant supports it, the charging rates appear on its spec sheet here.
Start with one question: can you charge at home or at work? If you cannot, a full hybrid is the honest answer — big city fuel savings, zero charging dependence. If you can charge daily and want a safety net for long trips or balik kampung runs, a PHEV covers the daily commute on electricity with petrol in reserve. If you can charge reliably and your long-distance pattern suits the range, a full EV is the cheapest of all to run — compare running costs on each model page on this site.