Proton produced 3,000,000 cars since 1985

Proton Saga

Proton celebrated its 3,000,000th car to roll off the assembly lines at the Proton Technology Week during the weekend. The 3 millionth car is a silver Proton Saga, and will not be sold. It was autographed by the PM and will be kept for memories in a museum.

The first car to roll off Proton’s assembly line was the first generation Proton Saga back in 1985. It’s been 23 years since. That means slightly over 130,000 cars per year.

View a video of the ceremony after the jump.

Pak Lah driving a Proton Saga

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:18 pm

3,000,000 million ajer…you still have a loooooooong way ahead of you Proton. So don’t get too much the “syiok sendiri” syndrome. So, buck up and improve on your quality man. Plus, 23 years already and still haven’t develop 2000cc engine and above?! Another thing, Kia and Hyundai pun dah start venture into sports car category segment…Proton bila lagi?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:29 pm

torque said,

August 3, 2008 @ 9:18 pm

3,000,000 million ajer…you still have a loooooooong way ahead of you Proton. So don’t get too much the “syiok sendiri” syndrome. So, buck up and improve on your quality man. Plus, 23 years already and still haven’t develop 2000cc engine and above?! Another thing, Kia and Hyundai pun dah start venture into sports car category segment…Proton bila lagi?

———————————————————-

makcik nak pegi pasar naik sportscar ke?enough with lotus tune handling…not many people appreciate it…they need to concentrate on best seller like mpv.

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:35 pm

torque, with current fossil fuel addicted world, yet with less fuel for future, investing in over 2l engine sound foolish. future lies not with fossil fuel. if u went to proton tech day, u should know they have v6 that is over 2L…so whats ur point again? bashing? some1 will welcome u in his 5yo kids club

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:05 pm

In the embedded video, that plaque is really nice.

• bmx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:06 pm

3 miilionth car?
    Have they counted how much money the rakyat lost so far?
    3 billion?

• bmx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:09 pm

sorry should be 30 billion

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:18 pm

Benjo,

Quite ridiculous right to produce sports car for makcik pegi pasar?! Even you said it…ENOUGH with the tagline of Lotus Handling. It’s get boring nowadays…time to show that you can actually come out with something. The MPV is a big welcome for the market and please answer this…WILL you be proud if Proton actually produce a decent sports car? I SURE DO!!

• xenith (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:22 pm

Congrats to Proton…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:29 pm

3,000,000 rubbish cars

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:33 pm

Hello fastcx,

Who the F*CK you call a basher?!! Read my post on the rest of the Proton news and READ my bloody comment next time C.A.R.E.F.U.L.LY and U.N.D.E.R.S.T.A.N.D it will you? You said, “with current fossil fuel addicted world, yet with less fuel for future, investing in over 2l engine sound foolish”. But NOOOOOOOOOOOO…if Nissan built the damn GTR…it’s cool…if Honda soon to be produce the NSX….wow! damn nice…if Toyota (Lexus) with it’s LFA…greaaaaaaaaat…tapi bila I post idea if Proton to produce a sports car…you come out with that CRAP?! Apa ni dude? Siapa yang blindly basher ni? Do you actually understand what I’m actually trying to say dude? I SAID PROTON JANGAN “SYOK SENDIRI” and the road lies ahead of you is though in the automotive industries. Please la dude, those V6 2 liter above amik dari Mitsu and not even a CAMPRO la. Don’t show your stupidity in these forum and bash people blindly. Ask their explanation first and understand the meaning what are they trying to say. Dude…I don’t EVEN RESPECT you nor I NEED YOUR RESPECT because you are the same level like JulianLee2!! Don’t bother to say sorry….take a hike!

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:38 pm

plotong fans who calls “suffering consumers” as bashers are total idiots….

• cole planet (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:45 pm

hmmm… still a long way to go proton… best of luck…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:48 pm

zerachiel1986, people who talk rubbish with no basis or facts are even bigger idiots.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:12 pm

this would be known across the world as the car company that dragged the whole country down.

• rt (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:16 pm

130,000 a year ok la…

Mitsubishi only sell 40,000 in Japan last year.

Proton “just” need to beef-up their export market.
    Hmmm.. that seems to be the harder part..

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:18 pm

and the car company that made thailand the automotive powerhouse in south east asia. That is a feat no other car company can do.

30 billion? more like 300billion soon if proton has its way.

• cecibo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:11 am

what so proud of being 3 million….???

• ignas (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:21 am

yea, and when we the majority poor citizens have no choice but to force to buy national cars because of the NAP. is there any other options? i wont even be amazed if it reaches 3 billions. im just feel sorry that proton eats away all the good pies leaving us citizen working our a**es off paying the banks for crappy cars that i doubt can save us from accidents. way to go proton!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:43 am

Ha, i laugh when Pak Lah calling out Proton Boleh!, not that i say Proton tak boleh but it’s the reaction of the visitors at the Proton Technology Week. He needs to asked most of them to shout loud for that “boleh” word.
    Proton will be boleh when rakyat thinks it is ready. So long way to go Proton!

• chris (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:47 am

===> The 3 millionth car is a silver Proton Saga, and will not be sold. It was autographed by the PM and will be kept for memories in a museum.
    Better do keep it so after proton fall or bankcrupt someone will ‘lab test’ this 3mil th car to look for reason why proton failed after so MANY yearS :D

• adil2008 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:47 am

3 million cars is nor easy, well done, proton, but i just to know is how many cars have complaint remain unsolve? i-care is for what? for complaint, if complaint remain unsolve what should you “Proton” should do?
    that all.

• kahing (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:07 am

3,000,000th car ?? Whats the freaking big deal ? If Proton is very proud of this figure, try checking their logs on how many unsolved problems lie within their service centres. The one thing that baffles me is that they still have the chic to celebrate while the rest of the rakyats is in agony due to the hikes and shit. Instead of just celebrating, why don’t Proton makes a change by starting giving price rebates by starting with the 3,000,001th car. Not just rebates of a few hundres, a few thousand should be good. If a WAJA that costs 65k, give rebates like 10% out of the price, IF they sense this to be a profitable way of improving their revenue. Then, this is definitely another way of celebrating by saying “Proton Boleh”. Ya, BOLEH membantu dalam meringankan beban rakyat. Or when they eventually manage to sell and export over 200,000 cars a year, then it’s really time to celebrate, but NOT using the rakyat’s money.

If not, then they can just carry on celebrating useless and mindless events.

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:41 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    August 3, 2008 @ 10:48 pm

zerachiel1986, people who talk rubbish with no basis or facts are even bigger idiots.

So,i assume you are trying to tell me that you are the bigger idiot….what a pity,mind your grammar,or you might end up being a laughstock…

• azrai (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:06 am

Even Pak Lah has to be autographed and put in museum as well..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:20 am

3 mill car sold so far is quite an achievement. But please, QUANTITY do not tell everything, QUALITY does too.

I wish to know from Proton how many complaint telephone calls they receive yearly from their customers.

• raverus (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:38 am

Paul, i can’t believe these people dare to celebrate such so call achievement.
    Product many cars doesn’t mean a thing!
    Product Quality cars makes the whole difference!!!

Tak malu….tak malu….

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:50 am

Hahahaa…good one lah Azrai! I guess I need that one too…thanks for the funny sarcasm! :-)

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:52 am

Good point Naan!

• ignas (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:17 am

lol Azrai, u just make my day brighter haha. good one!

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:20 am

The last pic must be badawi paying toll haha

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:32 pm

rt said,

August 3, 2008 @ 11:16 pm

130,000 a year ok la…

Mitsubishi only sell 40,000 in Japan last year.

Proton “just” need to beef-up their export market.
    Hmmm.. that seems to be the harder part..

adil2008 said,

August 4, 2008 @ 12:47 am

3 million cars is nor easy, well done, proton, but i just to know is how many cars have complaint remain unsolve? i-care is for what? for complaint, if complaint remain unsolve what should you “Proton” should do?
    that all.

——————————————————–
    Dude, stop there, see the title>>>”PRODUCED 3M cars”…”NOT SOLD 3M cars”…I can do tat too, in 10 years, why not?

Where’re those production fees from? McD/ KFC taxes? or wat? Operation capital?

Come on dude, its production reached 3m,k?…Have you seen those junk at Shah Alam?produce and produce….and believed 5-10years old wira, or satria are still ‘parking’ there, or they burn it?
    Btw, selling 3m cars in 26 years is kinda cheapo..worst part, tat’s oni production.

I can produce millions of sperms in 1 ejaculation, but only 1 achieve, or non? Damn, wat’re these ppl doing.Damn frozen brain.

• 2 dogs (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:24 pm

Bravo to Proton. Here are more awards since Proton was started.

WORST Malaysian car list:
    1. Proton Juara – So ugly, I wouldn’t even park next to it!
    2. Proton Tiara – Converted European trash that everytime a 90kg guy sits at the back, the springs are screaming & the car body almost touch the floor!
    3. A tie between Proton Arena & Proton Perdana – Perdana…do I need to mention more?? Arena…the most silly idea which might work in India to carry cow dung!

CONSUMER Award – Proton coined the term COMPULSORY OPTIONAL ACCESSORIES! Unwanted accessories that were forced down our throat when their sales are booming. (karma now..)

SPECIAL Award – The only car company in the world that can change the Government rules. Remember they are the company that started with the smaller font size for our registration plate. (though it looks better)

Congrats Proton!

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:36 pm

first, proton need to make sales.. so don do something as foolish as keeping the car in a museum

second, proton does hav own v6, campro turbo, hdi, hybrid, cng, bi-fuel(gas + cng) engine.. but for now.. they should really concentrate on getting lots of model out first.. a people carrier is a must… if Proton do came out with an affordable Sport cars (there’s a sub RM100k sport car project during Tengku Mahalel tenure)… Malaysian would be disappointed and Proton wont make it until what they become today..

and i must say, i really admire the multimedia stuff car in Proton Technology Week Exhib… (the chop off roof red persona) really cool… wont mind paying for those tech..
    and also the satria neo chop-chop job become an Arena.. looks really cool.. with its low ride profile looks…. kudos.. i know Proton R&D is capable.. but can the CEO calibrate all the resources to turn it into a manufactured and marketable vehicle… that’s very tough.. good luck to SZA…

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:44 pm

Be interesting to know the life span of a proton – three years and then the knackers yard?

• lembagatanah (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:55 pm

still has a very long way to go. mahaleel tenure even worse, IMHO this new CEO is much better

• munky (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 4:15 pm

to those who thinks proton has no big capacity engine… they have a 3 liter engine v6, supercharged. Why would they want to put it in their car when nobody’s gonna buy it ? Especially with ppl who thinks badly whenever it comes to Proton

• juanbeibei (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 5:17 pm

my family has contributed 3 out of the 3million production.. haha.. wira, iswara, perdana.. all the best..^^

• ly60 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:58 pm

azrai said,
    August 4, 2008 @ 9:06 am

Even Pak Lah has to be autographed and put in museum as well.

Gua caya sama lu. CORRECT, CORRECT, CORRECT,

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:49 pm

Can someone give some other fact figures other car manufacturers annual sales?

• optimus_prime (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:08 pm

The facts and figures of other car manufacturers sales are heavily skewed as a result of the NAP. With that in mind, 3 million is not really a figure to be proud of. 50K proton versus competitors 80K of the same class of car. The regular malaysian family goes for proton but everyone already knows that ya?

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:38 pm

whenever there is a Proton post… the comments count is amazing. I wonder why?

Some commentators should agree to disagree… thats the point of having an argument in the first place… but name calling and calling people stupid is childish and irresponsible.

Lay your fact and argue the merit. and PLEASE.. stick to the thread… :D

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:51 pm

congratulation are in order for Proton… but as many commentators pointed out… it’s still a long way to go… keep improving and the world is there for you to conquer.

Btw, be it Proton, PERODUA, NAZA, Inokom or the like… it is still a Malaysian company employing Malaysian. Good or bad, they are our fellow citizen. It is not just a quality problem but fundamentaly it is the attitude of us as Malaysian. If always says ‘takpe’ then we will be doomed to fail. Everyone should fight for their rights. But fight with honour and pride. Let Proton know we are concern about the quality issue and we demand better product. Better to scold and spank the child than to correct the old. Spare the cane and spoil the child. (Am I making any sense here? :D)

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:54 pm

to torque and fastcx… and BMW… I liked reading your post… until the name calling that is… :D

please don’t waste your time replying to stupid comments… but provide us with more info and intel… will appreciate that… ciao..

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:55 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,
    August 3, 2008 @ 10:29 pm

3,000,000 rubbish cars

this is what I’ll categorized as stupid comments.. :D

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:36 pm

Since 1985, Proton has managed to cheat 3million proton car buyers with their poor quality and outdated technology car. Its a great achievements for proton.They should thank the rakyat for still supporting proton despite the car give some much problem.

• kalabumalami (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:08 am

what proton did during the past was fair..proton need to improvise their product by benchmarking the competitors.

among other things guys, let your comment straight to responsible people in proton. i guess u need to personally blow all your dissatisfaction to the proper channel. i believe proton can do a lot better with your comments around. my 2 sens.

• torque (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 11:22 am

Strictly to Kingbrutal,

Many thanks towards your fair comments and understanding on both side of the party. I’m more grateful that you like to read our (me,fastcx and BMW) comments whether it’s good or bad (sorry for the bad things). If you do like to read some of my comments then you should know that it was not me who throw the first glove. It was my right to stand to whatever I believe in and I don’t blame people which disagree with me. But calling people *basher or *5yo is inappropriate since you yourself know which is a rubbish comments. All I have to say is that it was a great honour for me to read your comments and to know you through this forum. So let me end this by saying I’m sorry for all the harsh words that I have thrown towards fastcx and BMW! Take this as a token for respect of your fairness! Ciao.

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 12:58 pm

The giant in this sector, Toyota or GM…3,000,000 are just like their half year production….Our lovely Proton has a verrrry loooong way to struggle……..

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 1:08 pm

mini cooper by BMW sold 3m in 3 n half years

• pokteh (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:40 pm

Congrats Proton. Long-long way to go. Plz improve more in quality and bit on technology. Then baru lu boleh proud.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 8:51 pm

well thanks torque… appreciate your respond.. :D

to have a fair understanding of a situation or news… we must listen to all parties arguments… only then can we have a clear picture.

granted… Proton did suffer badly due to quality and aftersales issues. and kudos to the new management for tackling this issues. it may not have achieved the standard of the major automotive players but atleast they are trying. 3million for the major manufacturer is nothing but for a small company like Proton, it is a milestone. maybe with the MoU and JV between Youngman and the Iranian will enable Proton to achieve the 4million mark in a shorter period of time.

don’t belittle anything achieved by someone else because maybe someday someone else would belittle your own achievement. do think first before posting because what you say may hurts someone else feeling or belief.

• Heineken on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:15 am

well, PEOPLE still but them rubbish cars!! so to those blabber mouths who are constantly criticizing! make your own cars u fools!

• Heineken on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:15 am

buy*

• Nasuha on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:21 pm

where can i get the total sales(in unit) of proton cars from 1985-2008?
    i have send an email to PROTON for asking about the info but until now i still didnt get feedback from them.

I need the info for doing my thesis.Appreciate if somebody from here share the info to me.Thank you.