10 Proton Inspira police cars delivered to PDRM

Proton handed over 10 units of the Proton Inspira 1.8L manual to our PDRM police force at a ceremony attended by over 200 Proton management and PDRM police officers in Shah Alam. Inspektor Jeneral Tan Sri Haji Ismail Bin Haji Omar received the cars from Proton MD Datuk Seri Haji Syed Zainal.

The Inspira police patrol cars will be used for PDRM daily duties, and have been pre-equipped by Proton with some equipment required by cops such as blue strobe lights, loudhailers, sirens, reflective PDRM stickers and a mobile radio telecommunications system.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2258]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Whatever on May 26, 2011 at 1:50 am

Knew they will use this idea la. Whole road also full of lancer wannaBE. So what next. Ppl thumb down again.

• Nazrul on May 26, 2011 at 2:07 am

Maybe now Malaysians should think twice about breaking the traffic laws. Except if you ride on Lamborghini and drives like a late Ayrton Senna, if you know what I mean. Nice going Proton!

• 123GO on May 26, 2011 at 2:50 am

evolution x probably can catch up with a lambo in “Malaysia”

• francis on May 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm

lambo only can be owned by certain level ppl in society either high ranking or farking loaded up ppl.. there is no need to catch up with those lambo in Msia…waste of their and owner time..if you can get what i mean..

• ya,drive like him and you got the title “late” also lol

• freeze on May 26, 2011 at 6:35 pm

10 Inspiras given. Whos gonna give them 10 cases of Aspirin?

• sargent on May 26, 2011 at 2:17 am

Proton handed over 10 units of the Proton Inspira 1.8L manual to our PDRM police force at a ceremony attended by over 200 Proton management and PDRM police officers in Shah Alam.
    ==================================================================
    Do we need 200 Proton & PDRM police officer for the hand over of 10 cars.??
    So this is what they define productive !!

• WTF this thing also bash…….if there is 100 police offcer + other onlookers out of 200 attendees this mean 100 potential customer coming to a makeshift showroom ….a number hardly achieved in a normal day in showroom…..+ exposure exposure exposure …..please la think outside of ur brain…..if u have one….

• Teh-O on May 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Quit joking dude. Exposure? Lol. Potential customers?

Like you said, only 200 people attended this event. Among them are people from proton management and the police force. So this is where you’re wrong boy. The people from management basically work with the cars the whole time. So how is this called exposure and they arent even “potential customers” to begin with.

Next, the police officers. If they are high ranking officers, why would they even wanna buy a proton? Secondly, if you’re an average officer, you dont earn much, why would you even wanna fork out this much for an Inspira when you get to drive one whenever you’re at work.

Btw, there was no mention of onlookers. The article stated that it was only attended by police officials and the proton management team. Please learn to read.

• tan e l on May 26, 2011 at 9:17 pm

MEHH…U please READ carefully la the guy implied the police officer who are the one the potential customer (no need rocket science to think about that). plus if there is 100 management guys to entertain this polices and that’s one to one customer care. Aliya even high ranking officer got children relatives and yes they will buy proton or their father will buy for them or at least spread the good news. even u a average officer u can afford inspira now got loan until 9 year and forever if u want (restructure ur loan) and if it urs u can take it to pasar malam to buy fake dvd and market to buy fish bcos it doesnt have that flashy light.

no mention of onlookers??? come la u must one of those people who cant think out of a box and one of those that got conned by the media….just believed what ever they type. plus the reporter don’t need to write everything and mention every dick and harry that attend or mention about some stray dog and cat that attend to. PLEASE la READ and THINK and also READ BETWEEN THE LINES….

• Teh-O on May 29, 2011 at 12:16 am

Your rebutt doesnt seem to make any sense. First you arent coherent. Secondly, your english is so bad i am having a hard time trying to comprehend you. Lets say I do. By putting my sound judgement to your terrible english, I assume u’re trying to say that the police officers are potential customers. I already have refuted that point in my previous post. I said the high ranking officials and lower ranking officials shit. Alright. Moving on.

About the spreading of news to relatives and friends, I did not mention anything about that, so naturally I didnt bank on that point, you’re bringing in other examples. I agree with u on that point. But i didnt bank on it in the first place.

Next, may i ask, are u not doing well in terms of financial stability? From your suggestion, it seems to imply that you have a severe case of lousy financial planning skills which leads me to believe that you’re indeed failing in managing your finances. I suggest you hire a financial consultant, assuming u have enough money. With a salary of an average officer, why would u wanna burden yourself with a 9 year long or a lifetime loan just for a trashy car like Proton Inspira? Lol. Plus an average Joe has other commitments such as housing and supporting a famly. If u say no I assume u’re still staying with your momsie and sucking her tootsie. Embarassing, really.

Lol so now you assume that there are onlookers? Have the article stated that this is an even that is open to the public. In case you havent heard of the old phrase, assuming makes an ASS out of U and ME. So yes, you assume that this event is open to the public even when it might not be? People who assume like you, will make even the most harmless good news on the newspaper published by the media to become some sort of bad news. Your supposedly good “over-analytical” skills are in fact just a sorry excuse for lack of education and thus causing you to have unsound judgements by coming to a conclusion by basing your judgements on seemingly absurb “evidences” when there arent any to begin with. Or maybe you have paranoia.

Go get some education first then talk to me. Haha, thinking out of the box? This is called a critical lapse in judgement. People with your mentality should never be allowed to have a say in the country’s current affairs. If you look around, ppl of your species are leading our country str8 to the path of doom.

• cilllax on May 29, 2011 at 7:35 am

wahh getting hot ehhh…..do u mind writing a novel as well next time…….time waster

• Proton is out there so generous to give out 10 inspira that worth almost RM 1M, the polices should give faces and support ma.

• blackjkx on May 26, 2011 at 8:36 am

agree with u.. all gov/glc servant like outside events during working hour.
      Nothing to do, rakyat pay the bills.
      Exposure? nah…think again.

• duh! they pay bills too

• tan e l on May 26, 2011 at 2:30 pm

sighh….another narrow minded who can only thinks of negative things. there are times u work behind the desk and there are times u need to do something like this whether u are in public or private company.

this is a productive event bcos:

1. this publicize event boost up policeman morale now that they got nice ride to do patrol and enforce laws and our police is on par with others
        2. this publicize event shows that the police is well equip and send a message to crooks out there that the police mean business
        3. this publicize event shows that the police is well equip to enforce law and give the people some assurance on the strength of police force
        4. this publicize event with cool cars will attract certain people to join police and inspire young one to join police force bcos nowadays not many want to join police force.

• desperate on May 26, 2011 at 3:48 pm

This is called NATO just b’cos of 10 cars you think
          the police image will be beefed up and image revamped?
          The police has to prove themselves and not publicise
          what they are doing. Corruption is rampant and nothing is done.
          If you want a glamourous job then the police field is not
          for you. Look at the numerous police abuse which went
          unpunished.!!

• tan e l on May 26, 2011 at 9:41 pm

aiya dont be silly la ……..of course la 10 cars wont transform our police suddenly into HAWAII FIVE O or ROBOCOP in ur dream……..but its a good start compare with police was given 100 kancil manual. “cannot publicize what they are doing”…what nonsence la..go take some diploma or degree in some mass communication, sociology or something…..publicity is must la bcos police deal with community…publisice all the good work and bad work so that people will be reassured and transparency

Corruption is rampant and nothing is done bcos ppeople like u la talk talk only u think our minute police to people ration can solve all the corruption aa. the sad think is ur next statement “If you want a glamourous job then the police field is not for you.” further discourage people to join the police and we end up having less police to people ratio.
            “Look at the numerous police abuse which went unpunished” if u have such information please la come forward dont talk like politician, it sound good but tin kosong only….our police is not perfect and needs more help from community esp those who talk a lot and demand so much. if u cant solved the problem dont be part of problem….

• Teh-O on May 29, 2011 at 3:11 pm

First there are so many flaws to your argument. First, regarding morale. Well.. You’re right about them having low morale, it just boils down to the attitued of these people who are involved in the police force. They all have this corrupted mentality. I am sorry, cars dont peak their morale, briberies do.

You need a “nice ride” to patrol? Come on now, have you seen Singaporean police? Do you know that they use a measly Vios? Yet why are they so efficient? Attitude people, attitude.

Send a message to the crooks? Inspira? Serious business? Seriously? Haha. Yeh right, Proton = Serious business.

Assurance to the public? Honestly, answer me, has the Malaysian public truly been putting their faith in the Malaysian police force? Most take matters into their own hands. Thus explaning the crime rates.

Last point, which is a complete joke.. Cool cars? Join the police force for the sake of cool cars? Seriously? You want the people who safeguard our country to have these kinda mentality? So you are also insinuating that once they are full fledged policemen, if its cool to collaborate with the crooks, they should do it? Hello, this is about doing whats right, not whats cool.

Using that archaic stick and carrot tactic of yours is so pathetic. It doesnt drive a person to do something, it merely tempts them to do something for a short term. So you are a narrow minded person, contrary to your warped belief.

• Teh-O on May 29, 2011 at 3:27 pm

You seem like an ardent bootlicker or you must be a groupie for the police force. Why cant they publicize what they are doing if they have kancils? Didnt you proceed to say that publicity is good? Regardless of whether it is good or bad? So arent u contradicting your statement, which renders u a hypocrite? Just like the people whom you support. Your knowledge of an inkling of what education and information that a diploma affords you is correct, but it is rather incomplete. This leads me to believe that you might have acquired your diploma online, useless piece of junk.

Corruption is rampant because the root of the problem IS the authorities themselves. So what if the people come forward with evidence? To whom do they present it to? Naturally, the authorities, but if the problem stems from the higher-ups itself, what else can be done genius? This predicament is not unknown amongst Malaysians, hence the widespread dissent amongst Malaysian towards their police force. If you come forward, your life will be risked. For the ultra rich, you dont even need to be bothered with these kinda minute details because money is power.

Worse are people like you who are oblivious to current conditions and still have the audacity to chide others for being empty vessels. I daresay you arent even qualified to be called a vessel.

• Mr.VW on May 26, 2011 at 9:14 am

this is why proton rugi every year, dun even know how to control expenses, poor management..

• MR. H on May 26, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Yo brother… get your facts rite… This year Proton untung maa… MAS yg loss…

• SidewaysSyndrome on May 26, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Bro, PROTON just announced that they made RM 152 million profit for financial year 2011. Get your facts right!

• VVIP attended the handover (IGP + Proton MD + maybe some directors). 200 attendance could be included men on lookout. since there are VVIPs, need a lot of men for the lookout. plus, ur boss attending, u don’t want to attend huh? besides, it’s 200 not 2000.

• LatukBandar on May 26, 2011 at 3:51 am

better invest in bikes, what differences is this inspira gonna make in term of reducing crime? not like we have lots of car chasing in Malaysia.

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 5:53 am

whut…they crashed all the evos so soon…?

• squawk on May 26, 2011 at 1:31 pm

LOL! Hmmm…. I never noticed any on the highways recently. :-)

• niceone on May 28, 2011 at 7:14 pm

u should leave the comfort couch of ur home and go out more often. only then u can notice helang squad still cruising on highway

• at least the side reflective stickers look better polices’ evos. sumtimes less is more.

• So, do U think reading this article more productive?
    What say we all helping our fellow Proton assembly operator to assemble car at Trim & Final to be productive

• OOOOO. Ini tujuannya develop inspira!

• izack04 on May 26, 2011 at 8:35 am

After this…upgrade……chasing……accident…….rugi

• chasing bad guys for the sake of peace keeping is rugi? lol. then, xpayah la kejar. xpyah buat apa2. settle

• SeriuosSAM on May 26, 2011 at 1:22 pm

you don’t want to chase a lot… better be taxi driver meh.. easy driving while meter rising..

:D

LOL

• Revolvolution X on May 26, 2011 at 8:46 am

At least these 1.8 MT are cheaper to run and maintain vs the few Lancer GT hway patrol cars that we’ve seen…16″ are much more practical compared to 18″ for starters…save ‘some’ govt money (taxpayers money!) too…

• BMW-x5 haha on May 26, 2011 at 8:54 am

wow.. nice.. i always liked the inspira.. its the BEST looking PROTON in PROTON history hahaha..

well good for PDRM to have 10 new inspira.. better than the crummy waja or expensive volvo and the useless evo-X.. inspira just in the budget and quality haha.. i think i wanna buy one already.. if i can get the police sticker and sirens haha..

Thanks proton! :D.. keep up the good work.. next we should see perdana replacement from mitsubishi big saloon.. loving this trend..

• seancorr on May 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

u know the Evo X price isn’t that expensive anymore if u compare the price of these Inspiras….

• hey, after u bought tat car, u can modify it and make it look exactly like the new evo.

• armandd on May 26, 2011 at 8:55 am

I watched the event on the news last night. Saw the Inspiras abused with hard braking and accelerating maneuvers in the driving demo.

• lone-star on May 26, 2011 at 9:17 am

200 police officers and Proton managers needed to hand over 10 cars??? SERIOUSLY??? Is that like how 150 “pegawai” from the Sports Ministry are needed to “accompany” 5 athletes to sports meets?

• if the 5 athletes are VVIPs and ur boss. yes. y not? u should actually.it’s ur boss!!

• lone-star on May 26, 2011 at 9:22 am

only modified with strobes, hailers, stickers??? Ford police patrol cars usually also get a heavy duty alternator, high performance brakes, upgraded transmissions, and bullet proof inserts in the door panels. no wonder our PDRM have trouble fighting crime, and malaysia is crime-infested. :-D

• what makes u think they only modified what stated in here? they only stated what they saw.

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2011 at 9:29 am

And the irony of it all, without taxes the force’s evo 10 are really not that much more expensive than these inspiras.

• ikari on May 26, 2011 at 11:06 am

wow i feel safer already :D

• seancorr on May 26, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Seriously…1.8 Inspira police car? Why not use the same 2.0 in the commercial Inspira? I bet the normal 2.0 Inspira can smoke this patrol car considering the added weight it got from all the other police equipment.

I’ll wait for the prototype Inspira patrol car Proton is working with PDRM with now as reported by The Star. I hope that comes with a 2.0 as standard.

• seancorr,

what commercial Inspira
      Your commercial Inspira also got 1.8

• arcana on May 26, 2011 at 8:27 pm

in terms of acceleration the 1.8 manual is faster than the 2.0 cvt box…
      not to mention its a cheaper car as well……so why need 2.0?
      equipment wise be it 1.8 or 2.0, u still need police equipment on either cars right?

• manoq on May 26, 2011 at 1:00 pm

If they have evo, you guys say something, if they have inspira, you say better have high performance brakes, upgraded transmission etc ……… make up your mind please. This is what we call criticising just for the sake of criticising.

In terms of making a difference, it will certainly add 10 more patrol cars for our policeman to use so that they can do their patrolling job better. Faham ka?

• p1 salesman, thumb up for all positive comments and thumb down for all negative comment. U c tat, ur boss is in the picture.

• orang derma pun nak bash…try korang derma keta korang kat diorang..pa mcm?

• wazza on May 26, 2011 at 7:19 pm

i dont think its necessary police car to run high engine. i bet their 1.8L inspira is good enough. somemore, you all bash other high powered car can outrun this inspira.

if they manage to outrun this inspira in term of high speed, so what? i dont think police will push the car to the limit, they gotta to think public safety, bro.

they can simply set up a road block which is more safe then. i bet their driver can drive better than others =)

• walao,I actually intended to get 1 inspira next week le,see those corrupted police drive the same car,now I’m totally reject & cancel my order,I dun wan to drive the same car and smell liked them ”BAU BUSUK”,everyday ask for kopi duit from us.

Lastly to all Proton Inspira owners,one day if your friend ask u what car u drive,just say “I DRIVE MATA CAR!!!”

• tan e l on May 26, 2011 at 10:49 pm

let me guess u gonna buy the car preferred by the DVD CD pirates………the honda civic with VTEC…….

• please don’t post your comment in a negative way anymore….

• wazza on May 27, 2011 at 8:29 pm

ko cakap they everyday ask for duit kopi, jika kamu tak buat salah, macam mana mereka dpt minta duit kopi dari kamu? jika kamu bersalah, mintalah saman dari dia, bukan kasi duit pada mereka. cakap org salah, kamu yang kasi duit kopi tidak salah ke?

• I din kena saman b4 (too bad if u wan to bash me)but I always heard frm my friends who kena a lot.You dun give kopi duit later kena bring back to balai kena pukul.Get put into unreasonable offense(recently happen in KL)
        PLZ converse in ENGLISH as this is ENGLISH website,u P!

• Why not the persona? After all it the real m’sian car…or is it not reliable or good enough..?maybe both

• tan e l on May 26, 2011 at 10:59 pm

police car need some psychological and ‘personality’ advantage as well……persona not that menacing or garang and not really mean business……..compare to this lancer evo look alike…..but then if the police want a friendly faces might as well get a myvi which look like a smiling friendly toady friend…….best in pink…..

• Personality???? By takin a car that literally copied all its design from another well known car? Tis onli says that it is all show, no muscles. Applicable to the police force as well. Look at the crappy inside. Seys it all. Oh and worse still, it also says “we like to copy from the best although we cant make it.”

• freak on May 26, 2011 at 11:18 pm

are these inspiras specially tune for the police force? just like the police cars in fast five?

• shuhaimi on May 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

heard in news that pdrm and proton now is creating a prototype car for police use only.

• manoq on May 28, 2011 at 1:39 am

What an extremely irresponsible and immature comment from S16 ……..

Tell you what, which car would you buy then?

Japanese? Didn’t they kill and torture thousands of south east asians back in the 40s?

German? Didn’t they support Hitler back in the 30s and 40s?

American? Didn’t they bomb Hiroshima and Nagasaki that killed thousands of innocent people? They are still ‘killing’ hundreds of Afghans and Iragis as we speak…….

French? Didn’t they colonise and occupy much of the African continent and enslave thousands of Africans?

What are you left with then? Italian cars or Swedish Volvo….

Ada duit ka bro? Or, Chinese made cars ……..?

So, stop making stupid statement because you look stupid in doing so. Cheers ….

• Japanese? Didn’t they kill and torture thousands of south east asians back in the 40s?

German? Didn’t they support Hitler back in the 30s and 40s?

American? Didn’t they bomb Hiroshima and Nagasaki that killed thousands of innocent people? They are still ‘killing’ hundreds of Afghans and Iragis as we speak…….

French? Didn’t they colonise and occupy much of the African continent and enslave thousands of Africans?

What are you left with then? Italian cars or Swedish Volvo….lol,u’re a great joker

Hello,now its 2k year,u still left yourself behind the woods.Dun tel me your whole house equipment nothing related to JAPAN,mobile phone made in CHINA,furniture copy design from germany,your car wheels invented by chinese b4 1st car made in the world history if u din study lastest history,your electricity from where?ING,AIA etc insurance from US unless u din buy insurance as your life not worthy.

U tink our police doing their job,I dun tink so.See the guy beaten up by our M’sia police for not giving them any kopi duit as his road tax expire & even he willing to get saman.

If our police doing great job there even you reward them with mercs,I had no comment.

• wowwww…this teh o guy angkat bakul shiok sendiri or what?…….relax dude no need to write a book 4 comment…….dont worry it’s not doomsday yet…..get out more and make friends…shishhhh

• Teh-O on May 30, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Hahaha an expected retort from an uneducated simpleton. I bet your dime even if presented with the opportunity, you cant make full use of it. I am using this platform as a form of both leisure and and opportunity to play devil’s advocate to polish my written skills. Unfortunately, I am met with inane ideas and no worthy competitor as of yet. People like you can talk all they want, but you can never claim to be succesful. Lol.

• Teh-O on May 30, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Oh anyway, it took me less than 10 minutes to present those facts in the posts before, and my social circle well.. People like you can only assume smart people have no friends. Hahaha what does that say about your mentality? Backward and childish. Nuff said.

• Cikgu on Jul 08, 2011 at 1:51 am

Another lower cost patrol vehicle that can beat many modified turbo engine