Proton leads S-WRC category in Monte Carlo, 9th overall

Proton is currently in the lead in the 2012 FIA Super World Rally Championship (S-WRC) category on the second day of the Monte Carlo Rally, with P-G Andersson running in ninth spot overall.

Only 59 cars of the 89-strong entries remain at the end of the second day of the event, which has already claimed some 30 retirements. Among them was the S-WRC front runner, Frenchman Sebastien Ogier, who was running sixth overall and leading the class in his Skoda Fabia S2000 when his car was involved in a high-speed crash five kilometres from the finish, ending his race.

Ogier’s retirement saw Andersson inherit the lead in the S-WRC class, with Germany’s Kevin Abbring in the Skoda Fabia S2000 in second place and 10th overall, some 23 seconds behind. In third place – and 15th overall -is the Ford Fiesta S2000 of Craig Breen, while fourth and 20th overall is Bryan Bouffier in the Peugeot 207 S2000.

“The Monte Carlo Rally is all about pacing yourself to the finish. There is a very fine line between driving at your limit and being careful enough not to be caught out by the tricky and changing conditions of the terrain. We’ve had a good run so far, and with two more days of rallying remaining we are going to be extra cautious, as the changing conditions on the special stages make it extremely difficult and tricky,” Andersson said.

“Our goal here is to get the Satria Neo S2000 to a strong overall finish and, if all goes well, a podium finish in the S-WRC category on our debut,” he added.

Current world champion Sebastien Loeb extended his overall lead in Monte Carlo, claiming victory in five of the day’s six special stages. The Frenchman overcame the icy conditions to currently hold a one minute 37 second lead ahead of Spaniard Dani Sordo in the Mini, while Ford’s Petter Solberg is in third, a further three seconds adrift.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Jan 20, 2012 at 5:35 pm

wow…. fantastic….. keep on going….

• trinitrotoluene on Jan 20, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Good job Proton!! If Proton goes on winning, I bet people will start buying the Neo and start rallying on the road!

• inspiring on Jan 21, 2012 at 9:26 am

orang x beli neo bukan sbb tak laju atau ugly look..tp sbb kereta 3 pintu x ideal utk malaysian yg rata2 family person..

kalau neo 5 pintu it can beat myvi sales anytime. jm2cents.

• akuske on Jan 20, 2012 at 5:41 pm

best of luck.. u need on ur journey

• i already rallying for last 6 year …. good handling no major problem what so ever and for sure power window still working well for daily toll booth …. :-)

• For comparison, Andersson +10mins 08.9secs compared to Loeb. Which is not that bad actually. Wish there were a top time list and time difference as well. Spare my time to search on other sites.

BTW, youtube Ogier’s crash.. It’s kinda scary when you imagine that you are in the car.

• For those who are confused why Proton is leading yet 9th overall.

Proton is competing in S-WRC. Which is the S2000 models. The top players, e.g. Loeb are in WRC models.

Main difference:
    WRC – 1.6L Turbocharge, can have own developed mechanical gearbox, can have big aerokit.
    S-WRC – 2L N/A, gearbox either 5 speed production model or sequencial gearbox made by certain manufacturer.

S-WRC = cheaper WRC

If you’re wondering why not the CFE being put inside the Neo, the above should answer you loud and clear. It’s much more expensive to run it.

Well, just correct me if I am wrong.. I just did a research for 15min only.

• pomen_gtr on Jan 29, 2012 at 3:09 am

errrrr….i think there’s a bit mistake on the WRC category engine….

they still running on 2.0 turbocharged engine….the 1.6turbo engine is only in 2013 if i remember correctly..pardon me if i’m wrong….

• Aku lah on Jan 20, 2012 at 6:07 pm

what engine they use?

• Whitefox on Jan 20, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Wow…. Hope There can finish it I don’t mind w/o podium.

The Car last till finish line is proud enough.

• makeitmine on Jan 20, 2012 at 7:24 pm

If you see this win carefully, Proton did not do it alone to go against the BIG guys.

Without the help from the Swede, British, Australian and other nationalities, Proton could not have made it! Kudos to the Proton motorsports management team for assembling a good team!

So if we can derive from this winning formula, it is: COLLABORATE. Most of the components are from third party. What’s left of the Neo is just the chassis and body design itself, which is widened (not just aesthetics, the wheel arches are widened even when you look on the inside). The 1.8 litre Renault engine from the Waja 1.8X is used, and has its displacement increased to 2.0 litres.

The future for Proton is to COLLABORATE with other OEMs regardless of nationalities to build a winning (win the peoples’ hearts) car. Not so much as to promote Proton as a Malaysian national car brand but a global car brand that suits their needs!

If the management still thinking that Proton is only for Malaysians and components for Proton cars must be locally sourced.. this thinking can lead to many failures. Proton will keep building cars that non-Malaysians would not want to buy.

To fight a battle, you need to assemble the best men willing to fight regardless where they come from. None will fight a battle if there is not a single chance to win!

• sfssd on Jan 21, 2012 at 6:10 am

Wow, you sir has a very deep insight, nice words too….!

Kids, now this is how you write a good essay, thoughtful & good grammar.

• VoidDance on Jan 21, 2012 at 12:35 am

Good to know that our Satria Neo is doing great in SWRC.

I’m yet to see or hear Proton management taking advantage on the popularity of this car. It has been raced on Top Gear without Jeremy Clarkson taking a hammer to demolish it, it won APRC and apparently, Japanese quite like this car too. Proton should do something fast to capitalise on this.

Make a special edition, heck make a five door version. It will sell.

• kivatt0024 on Jan 21, 2012 at 10:24 am

p3-22 is coming bro….rumors said it will be the next gen of neo….

• tiadaid on Jan 21, 2012 at 2:21 pm

5 door Neo? Then what about the Persona/P3-21A/Saga?

• kivatt0024 on Jan 21, 2012 at 8:10 pm

p3-21a is the sedan version which coming this march…p3-22a is the hatchback 5-door version of it…which coming on 2013…saga R is on 2014…GSC is the new model on 2013 which will be the rivals for Myvi and its species…..but since p1 is under new owner…that rumor can be come true or not….

• niceone on Jan 22, 2012 at 3:30 am

the special edition, road-legal yellow neo will come out this year, to commemorate proton’s achievement in APRC last year. DSZ said this special edition will have some S2000’s DNA to it. and i heard it comes equipped with supercharger too.

can’t wait to see the car in flesh!

• moha774 on Jan 21, 2012 at 12:26 pm

When it was first launched, I’m hoping for a 5 door variant, that should be great.

• gayright on Jan 21, 2012 at 4:38 pm

No matters what proton earn,it’s still a opting.

• Still have 4ss. Hope nothing happen. He’s leading 100s. Good luck to him.

• He is now no 9 after 4th day

• tepets on Jan 21, 2012 at 5:55 pm

latest result

http://www.rallyliveresults.com/live/liveresult.php?type=CG&num=13

• makeitmine on Jan 25, 2012 at 10:47 am

What can we learn from WRC Rally in Monte Carlo 2012?

A good and reliable car is more than sum of all its impressive parts. Proton also knows how to milk a good thing.

PG was able to beat time out of Kevin Abbring in the factory Volkswagen Motorsport entry while driving very conservatively.

Fact is, a fracture in a fuel union leaked fuel, which caught fire and forced PG into retirement. The car was the fastest in Monte Carlo.