Proton P3-21A completely undisguised – best shots so far!

UPDATE: Images removed upon request of original uploader.

It’s like a strip show, and now we’re nearing the end. The Proton P3-21A started off roaming the streets in black tape, then we saw uncovered shots that showed glimpses of the front, rear and cabin. More recently, a silver one was caught naked, but someone was in the way. Now, LYN forumer xhacker has posted up these pics of a completely undisguised P3-21A – no tape, no human shield.

One is a front three quarter view while the other shows the rear. The unit snapped is also in a blue-green colour that we don’t often see. According to the poster’s cousin’s friend, the source of the MMS, the pics were taken at Proton Tanjung Malim’s parking area, where units were shown to vendors. He adds that besides this hue, there’s a “Fire Red”, black and white.

UPDATE: Images removed upon request of original uploader.

Nothing more to comment on the looks, we’ve dissected it so much already. Oh, there’s a thin spoiler on the bootlid. To recap the previous episodes, click here to link to the silver spyshot post, which has a compilation of pics.

I noticed that in all the pics we’ve seen so far, none have badges. The only thing left to ask now is P3-21A, what’s your real name?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wow

• really want to have this car…

• kimi_ on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

The rear design is UGLY like shit….Pathetic

Front is nice though…

• Mokmeng on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:48 pm

just wait for facelift model..it would be NICER than this first batch..believe me..just like what happen to saga..later proton will introduce bodykit metalgun la,low profile tires,new front grill SE design la bla bla..

• Tall Pan on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:20 pm

@kimi_ agreed. seriously, what is up with the rear design? could’ve been the perfect looking local car…
            maybe the KLIM prototype gave us such high hopes lol

@mokmeng yeah FL version, sooner the better!

• blablabla on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:00 pm

I honestly feel that there is something Wrong with the Front design of the car also…
          Anyway beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.
          What might look Bad to me may look Gorgeous to you.
          Lol.

• They should stick with the W front fascia instead if straight line through at the grill

• same to me when the 1st moment i saw the honda city front grill. few glances then the weird feeling was gone! ;P

• hantu lilin on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:59 pm

the body look like mix of 2 german car starting with V……… and B.. but the rim is so asean…standard from kilang :P

i see the logo is bigger

nice one proton.

• rush hour on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:33 am

that was Vauxhall, the UK equivalent of GM’s Opel… having similar V grille.

• OMG….simply better than any cars from P2….

• RON97 on Feb 27, 2012 at 3:53 pm

huhhh…typical malaysian. judge by the look only.

• amroll on Feb 27, 2012 at 2:42 pm

aku sorang je ke yg nmpk mcm lampu belakang ni macam saga,,tp tambah panjang sikit kat bonet?

• kekuda on Feb 27, 2012 at 4:48 pm

In term of spec, it is excellent
          in term of look, persona or even gen 2 is better.
          P1 should reproduce persona with all the P3-21A specs.

I hope the name is not “Gen 3”.

• Obama on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Wow?! Your sentence is incomplete, allow me to finish it…

“Wow…it’s the executive version of Proton Saga!”

• I like what I am seeing

• Hugo Andore on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Don’t like this car at all. Back is too bulky and looks like it can accomodate an unfolded wheelchair in it.

As for the name, I’ll go for Proton JEBAT.

JEBAT is the short acronym for JANJI HEBAT.

The Tag line will be, JEBAT, CEPAT DAN HEBAT.

Epic name for the win.

• The price should be around 35~55k…don’t increase the price too high ! what’s the levels then what’s is the price. T & H r different story.

• nabill on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:30 pm

looks abit like the saga FL but everything bigger…notice it has alot of interior room …see how tall the vehicle is….even taller than the person standing next to it!

• kaptenkit on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:07 pm

car is taller or that person is short?

• kimi_ on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:20 pm

The rear design is too FUSSY and NOT GOOD AT ALL as it contain too many lines and

gap that make it not clean enough and too complicated!!!!!

• driver on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm

second that.. i prefer a simple design as well..

• anonymous on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:22 am

instead of complaining abt d designs, why not u join venture with P1, be an engineer and produce the same car??
          we shall see how ur brain works…

• Whynot on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:40 pm

A design that build from inside out, a design of mixed Euro and Asia style. No sportiness and aerodynamics at is best. Just not the type of design we hope to expect the most from P1. But anywhere, another new model to P1 family as usual………

• manfurb on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:53 pm

AGREE!!!! JUST A BIASA2 LOOKING MODEL FROM PROTON…NOT A HEAD TURNER AT ALL

• kau karut lah,
            kritikan tanpa objektif.
            seharusnya, kau perlu lebih kritis dalam memberikan pendapat,
            bukannya omong kosong, jikalau tidak,
            mana pergi rasa hormat pada diri sendiri?
            langsung tidak profesional.
            terima kasih

• kusochon on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:51 pm

perspective

• Stupidity=commenting without using brain..

• MoFaz on Feb 25, 2012 at 6:37 pm

it’s bigger than Civic, by few cm in width and almost 9cm taller.

P3-21A:
      Length = 4.543m
      Width = 1.786m
      Height = 1.524m

Civic:
      Length = 4.540m
      Width = 1.755m
      Height = 1.435m

• papa rich on Feb 26, 2012 at 5:53 am

that right, next part the design will determine which car feel larger .
        for example higher hp doesnt mean it can go faster – depend on the gearbox,

just my new 10cent ,, :)

• How about wheelbase?

• rodimus on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Looks quite nice.

• kimi_ on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Off topic: Hey Danny, pls post photo of Lee Chong Wei’s white FERRARI !!!

• dodohbirdz on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:02 pm

its a 430. yawn. haha. better take 458 or r8~

• fenzo60 on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:34 am

i would like to propose to paultan to write about malaysian celebs or public figure coolest rides.

• Springtide on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:33 pm

IMO – Grill is slightly too big – shrink it by 8-10% OR a larger headlamp.

wheels look small for a car that size too, but that can always be changed.

• menzz on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Wait.for facelift version.
      big wheel with lower profile tyre make the ride harsher perhaps..

• amato on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Current wheel is 16″
        There will be 17″ in hatchback version soon..

• MoFaz on Feb 25, 2012 at 6:31 pm

i do feel waja facelift has better looking grille than this one, but it’s no big deal.. i’m sure there will be lots of after-market options for the grille later.

• Mokmeng on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:49 pm

confirm nanti ramai nak make up sebijik mcm Tuah tu..ahbeng2 semua dah boleh start design front & rear bodykit untuk model ni..

• unnon on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:35 pm

suddenly the rear lights look so sporty.. n satisfying.. i want this new proton model!! ^^ . launch it already proton.. cepat2. hoho.

• whocare on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:53 pm

OMG, awfully design, whole car Similar like cantum-part to part, the car look like SAGA MIX PERSONA, very proton DNA , worst part : the Front Grile (big logo two chrome toward to headlight.WTF

• nas-T on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Lor? How about VW? some of their model look same oso!

• wheeler on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Disagree with you. This is the best designed Proton so far..

• whocare says :

Nonsense ! of coz the same company cars and the same DNA lah ! you looks like ur parent too coz is the same DNA right?!

• Mokmeng on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:57 pm

chill bro..this design not to bad la. just ok la..but I admit its not the best design in proton models..

• Shaoran on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:32 pm

proton rep said it will be launched in march..

• Front is look nice but rear is ugly

• blmer on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:47 pm

no..rear is nice but front is ugly..

• the left side is nice but the right side is ugly..

• uglyornot? on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

i time see, both side front and rear nice, 1 more time both ugly. so look many-many times, both become normal.

hmm…..just like myvi and savvy. 1st time not nice, now normal already.

• commando on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:47 am

GRRrrrrr…..wonder why people still need to buy and support proton ?
        It will make japs/korean/europe car more expensive here.
        Its current engine has already cause a lot of trouble, now they plug in the turbo…sure will be disaster soon. Tukang tarik kereta and pomen know very well the engine. Think twice before you buy it!

• erm,no prob for me for the engine,even my vanilla campro. Its how u maintain ur car, according to the car needs. Diff car, diff maintenance. So many people pandai2 nowadays, in book mentioned used specific coolant, but bought diff one, and worst, just pour plain water. When overheat, damage here,damage there, claiming the engine is not goog, but actually the way u maintain the engine is not good. Haish…

• november on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:54 pm

been using campro iafm for so many years. what problem???? seriously my car no problem at all. but my officemate honda city got problem haha.

• OMG…big nose car with small car body….

• Best joke of the month.

• cl_qwertyuiop on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

The body looks wide and handsome. Thanks for the photo.

• Danny on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Rear view quite o.k!

• zaman on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:41 pm

not bad

• yeah not bad at all.
      proton designer produce much better product now n they are really improving even something missing here and there but good effort.
      just hope this global model will be the mark for the better proton in the future.
      cant wait to test drive this car.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:43 pm

hodoh betul

• hisham on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Yeah right…just like u!!!

• Hugo Andore on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:40 pm

You don’t have to deride someone just because he said the car is ugly. Everyone is entitled to his/her own opinion. Just because you are a Proton fanboy doesn’t mean everyone else has to follow suit.

• hisham on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Hugo…me not a fanboy or proton’s salesman…but c’mon bro, show some wisdom in your comments… *hodoh betol*…wtf is that…justify your comments..why it is hodoh…then people may have to agree with your comments..as our beloved Ibrahm Ali used to say…*u dontok shet!!!! I tell u…aaa…aaa..u dontok shet!!!!*

• Hugo Andore on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:10 am

First of all, hodoh betul is not my comment and secondly, I think Volvo’s point is straight forward enough for any simpleton to understand (unless one is dumber than a simpleton)

He doesn’t have to justify which part of the car is ugly or how it’s ugly to anyone or to you for that matter because he think’s the design is not appealing to him.

His comment is 100% legit.

Last but not least, the fact that you quoted Ibrahim Ali in your comments just goes to show what type of person you are. Talk about cars and stop your childish ad hominem attacks in this car forum. Capsiche?

• hisham on Feb 26, 2012 at 2:05 am

Yo hugo..guess u and that volvo’s fanboy are both related…not interested to argue about his comment with u..but for an instance, if people say..HUGO BODOH!!!….How would u feel??? Of coz u wont be happy about it..u must be thinking why he calls u BODOH…but unless if u really are, than u might just accept his comment as 100% legit…therefore, it doesnt make any sense to simply saying something which u cant or dont justify..n if u want to know what kind of person I am…i’m the panglima top top perang!!!! Puiiiii!!!! Hahahahahhah…adios niggah!!!

• arguing on the internet with “rempit” comments like that behind a keyboard is just like the cacat olympics, even if you win, you are still a retard

• kite tengah bincang kete.. bukan mak mentua kau

• MoFaz on Feb 25, 2012 at 6:39 pm

volvo for life? but, seriously dude.. get a life!

• x volvo on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:02 pm

Volvo laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagi hodoh cam ko…hahahahahaha

• His name is Volvo for life and shot it but is not the Volvo fault so pls don’t shot the Volvo too…btw Volvo is a standard and high quality product.

• Hmmm not the petronas color again!! But not a bad looker la.. Thumbs up… Anyway It’s fully undisguised already so meaning to say it’s gonna launch anytime soon..

• I still prefer the Proton Tuah. Should have followed exactly like Tuah. No need to change here and there and you get a beauty. This one nothing much to shout about.

• omanjedi on Feb 26, 2012 at 8:03 pm

for tuah……….the rear light is too much for me……elsewhere its much better……..perhaps the vendors have a little much too hand on it

• wan sph on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:46 pm

wow…

• elantra on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:47 pm

TAIL LAMP YANG DEKAT BONET TU KALAU TAKDE LAGI CANTIK…..

• unnon on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

huhu.. nnt kecik sgt la bro.. xpe, later u paint that lamp on the boot with the same color as your car ^^

• senang je, kasi sticker carbon.

• unknown on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Blue lagoon version

• jonet on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Honda City Facelift …

• come on basher.. where r u…

• cazran on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:19 pm

they were collecting some point to complaining-complaining-complaining.. hahaha.. :)

• sp3d2 on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Kindly set the 1.6 cfe + cvt price affordable at 64K only! Higher than that is not a good price for malaysians!

• MoFaz on Feb 25, 2012 at 6:43 pm

berita harian said between RM60k-RM70k, if the highest spec with 4 airbags and many other gadgets at RM70k, good enough for me.

• ah long on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:43 pm

good for you, not for the majority.

• BadBET on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:14 am

you not the voice of majority LOL, let see in 1 year whether you are right or wrong

• Stanley on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:04 am

Ppl crazy for vios and city, ppl no choice only force to take potong.. If sell rm70k, im sure ppl will choose vios J.

• Akina on Feb 26, 2012 at 5:23 am

Stupid ppl get vios j. Dnt know how to think wisely.o

• DewaSemut on Feb 26, 2012 at 7:18 am

the fortuneteller who had lost his fortunetelling ability… :P

• vios j has zero spec than new p1!only stupid person going to buy it!!

• the greed of p2 on Feb 27, 2012 at 1:03 am

vios j de empty junk is even lower spec than a saga. buy it if you value money more than your life.

• Costwise on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:38 am

Have Malaysian now getting used to paying more for car? If so, the govt policy is working.

• ah long on Feb 26, 2012 at 7:49 pm

i am surprised also. they are willing and eager to pay more instead of asking Proton to set an affordable price.

it is just like you are happy when toll price is set higher. insane people do get happy to pay more when they can ask to get less. funny people nowadays.

Already otak da kene basuh dengan polisi kerajaan.

• OMG…if the price is between RM60K-70K….just nice to kill T&H…and P2 (Myvi 1.5).

• Stanley on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:55 pm

How to kill? Got no 2nd hand value compere to T & H. Local car should sell cheaper then only reduce rakyat burden

• sexything on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:53 am

proton mana tahan lama !!! rosak then u have to buy another proton.
          better buy T & H

• proton mana tahan lama?aku pakai proton dah 18 tahun dah usianya,kereta T dan H tak pernah rosak ke?

• I predict the price will 60k-85k.

• slayer on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:25 am

read Harian metro today. The price is ranging from 65k – 75k. Frankly the tail lamp design is bad. Jeremy Clark will have a last laugh. Wish for further improvement for the next badge!

• wolfsburg on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:49 pm

This doesn’t look like a European-styled car. Kinda conservative design overall and a bit incohesive. The back of the car a bit overdone with some straight lines and curves and the key hole is kinda funny. They really should have hidden it somewhere.

• whocare on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:57 pm

agree ,they can do better ma

• Terminate79 on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:54 am

Design still need much improvement. Looks like china car makers model.
      Why Tuah’s front and rear was not added to this model? The headlight side is not sharp enough… Anyway, lets wait for the final model at showrooms to judge more….

• Harith on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Decent looking car… Nice ob on the improvement proton…

• SureRock on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:50 pm

The front looks good…..back could be better but still not to shabby…..

hope the interior quality is up to the hoo haa….

best of luck Proton

• Darren on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:50 pm

what is the powertrain like?

• uzairi on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:53 pm

most anticipated model for 2012!

• Loooooooooks a lot like FORTE!!!!!!!!!!
    Thumbs up if u think the same =)

• jackcity on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Rear looks like saab

• hector_smacker on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:01 pm

rear lamp damn too small! but overall, with all the features (go Proton-Sales blog), this one is worth waiting for… now my turn guys!

• OK redesigned rear lights (2 options). Amacam? Mana satu yg best???

Rear lights White-lining ?
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/195/p3blagoonrearedited.jpg

Rear lights Full-red ?
    http://tinypic.com/r/16kquck/5

Maybe Paul Tan should do quick survey poll…he he he!

• Stanley on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Overall ok but tail lamp very dissapointed…

• Proton XF. Jaguar edition.

• Rear is not that bad, definitely not ugly..and based on experience, i am pretty sure when you put a number plate..the rear end would definitely looks better..and again, the quality of the photo and the angle of the shot doesnt do any justice to the car..wait until u see the actual car..wait :D

• mikhail on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Proton Tuah lah.

• nazis on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:01 pm

nice man, better than forte and looks slightly europe still. hope quality improve a lot. good job P1.

• whocare on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:01 pm

forte out coming new model K3 totally awesome , now day proton try to catch forte who debut few year ago? that lame

• Stanley on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Persona design no.1 among proton”s car. This car design not compatible at all

• abusini on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:03 pm

one word …. Ugly ….

• Jason on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:04 pm

I still think the Tuah concept rear-lights are better then this….

• haha…, not a potong again! how’s dis time compare to waja?

• izzat on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Malaysia like this car but Bank Negara make us hard to buy it..

• my friend told me it will name as proton PREVE. cheers!

• izzat on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:08 pm

when i look at it so many time, this car looks very Proton. btw where all the p2 supporter?

• moto-moto on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:10 pm

no wow factor.. sorry.

• dozy888 on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

China desk board ?

• honda on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

honda city cancelled.. welcome proton…

• AlCapone on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Just remove the wierd wing at the front grill;then everything will be better…

• besarnya grill kamu. cepat cepat lah release.

• rush hour on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:49 am

the big grille that will be a good business proposal to Brother’s… choices of fibre glass aftermarket grilles as alternatives.

• thinkin to wait for new accent, but…this is very handsome !

• Dr Mamak on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:22 pm

This thing is full of kampung dna.

• Name: Proton 1Malaysia

• drMpower on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:23 pm

finally. but i suspect this is another non official cum shots hype promotional going on
    nontheless yes this is a good looking model. i hope this sells for them.
    remember this is a global model.

the biggest and most positive critism i can think of right now is, with such resources at proton disposal, i believe the global model should be much better
    i dont want to be rude, and i know it cost a lot to design a model from the ground up, but when u compare this to hyundai, chevrolet, honda, etc the others global models, i cant help but to think ‘is that it?’

theres lack of zing in it atleast from looking at it. i remember m3 came out few years back and it was cool. at the back end of this p3-21A, i can see cues from the mitsubishi they rebrand, and from the front i thought its a bit similar to one existing model with a bit redesign here n there.

seriously i think thisi s an engineers car, which is good because that means it will work well. but on the bad side, it looks blunt. uninteresting. i hope this got a great engine.

anyway, good luck. now where the low sloping roof exora?

• unnon on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:24 pm

the only thing that spoils here is the front grill.. and that big logo.. it should be thinner, than it would look much more sporty. proton design team, pls do hear and consider our ideas here..

• Nampak mcm waja mate sepet, lampu belakang.. klu nipis sket.. good..

• it supposedly to be like exact tuah concept baru cun..but this one pun not bad lah..good job proton cant wait for the launching :D

• donadoni on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:29 pm

are you kidding? this is you called a brainchild of overpaid proton engineer? cut and paste i see everywhere!

• bReaL on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:31 pm

still looks proton ish….lets wait for interior view

• what you prefer it look like? a ferrary? nama lagi proton..so proton la rupa nya…takkan nama proton nak nampak macam bentley? kang kene chop copycat pulak…haiyarhhhh

• nas-T on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:32 pm

kang buat design macam VW,BMW etc kena kutuk pulak kata tiru lah, takde modal lah, malas lah.

• bReaL on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:58 pm

we saw big leaps in term of design from Kia and Hyundai, well..not just design, but this 1……

• rush hour on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:51 pm

models like gen2 and persona are very eye-catching, attract immediate interest at first glance and they look honest without being pretentious nor has hints of copying ideas from a different maker (except for lotus inspired interior which is owned by proton)

the tuah is a genuine and original concept, which looking at the prototype shouldnt be a problem for proton to translate into production

this car has taken a step backward for what a good initiatives done by proton evident in Tuah prototype – which was as close to logic as a production car should be

• the rear lights really kereta kena “potong” …
    PLS read public opinion/feedback, you still have time to change it before final launching !
    the rest of the car GOOD JOB !!

• sfssd on Feb 26, 2012 at 4:55 am

You think they can change this overnight? they done this back in 2010 already….what we see is only the final outcome..

• want new car on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

could be persona replacement…cheaper to buy at 40k++ for basic 1.6L..good move though old persona outdated alr when sitting inside and front looks.

Hope this model will come out also 2-door and Wagon / estate sharing similar face & engine….global model..looks much european taste i.e vauxhall astra

• the white part should be at bottom, and move the red up so can connect with bonnet.
    design flow !!! – pls pay my consultancy fee ;)

• DewaSemut on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:41 pm

I believe the premium version will have chrome strip at the rear instead off body color strip in this pic… it’s Proton trademark.

after a few clearer spyshots revealed, this car is geting more and more desirous…

hopefully the price as reported here in berita harian is true

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/PROTONperkenalmodelbaru/Article/

just want to test drive this car to confirm should i buy or not… cheers :)

• hisham on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Tuah sound nice a name…but i prefer Wira..just for the sake of its brand name…civic is still refer as civic…so does this new breed…

• Supertram on Feb 25, 2012 at 1:46 pm

That whateveritis below back bumper kunda ruin the back design.. its too overdone.

back lamp is tiny .. well at least need to see in real life

however, its not bad at all.. it just can be much better!

n yea.. this color not doing justice , silver or dark grey will match that , dare i say it , smexy headlamps

• Shark Fin Antena…i likeeee….

• left.lane.driver on Feb 26, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Well..sorry to break this to U. That’s definitely NOT a shark fin. That’s just the antenna base minus the antenna. U can unscrew it. Even the side mirror is similar to the current Persona and newer Saga . Why would Proton suddenly decided to use shark fin instead of Proton normal antenna. Save your excitement for later.

• ame_nooooooo!!! on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:26 pm

use beyond antena can receive hd wat

• Chris on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:06 pm

The more I look at it, the more it looks like the Saga all grown up. Not the same I’m sure, but it just feels like the DNA is in there, the proportion, the shape, lights, etc etc…

I want to call it the Saga XL can? :D

• Session on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Nampak ok. Kalau harga pun competetive model ni boleh launch semula zaman kegemilangan Proton

• Hugo Andore on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:59 pm

Sejak bila Proton ade zaman kegemilangannya? Tak tahu pun?

• Kelvin on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Look at first pic! The side air bag has deployed! Omg

• fenzo60 on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:27 pm

good job dsz n team..

• Dr Kervokian on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:28 pm

No more names please…. Proton should just stick to what ALL car manufacturers are doing and stick to just ONE name.

• jasni_alamuddin on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Using recycled Campro engine and yet charging
    exorbitant prices and definately not “European Styling”.
    Last hurray for the Proton management cos come March
    you’ll be receiving your last pay packet !!!

• left.lane.driver on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:56 am

From what I understand..the word recycle means to use again. So U are suggesting Proton is taking engines out from the existing cars..perhaps ones that survived accidents..and put it back into a newer car? Do U mind telling me what brand(s) change engines so often and doesn’t charge for the improvements? Do you move into a new home every year? Get married every year? Buy a new car every month? No? You should do that because clearly U don’t like something for too long. U like it SHORT and QUICK do U? Well hurray for U then. Because God knows how long U will and usually LAST.

• solen on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:49 pm

front like Honda and kia optima, rear like BMW…..

• rustyrazor on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Niceee… It really looks conti rather oriental..thumbs up Proton!!

• Proton Supporter and Loyal Customer on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Hancur berkecai hati proton loyal supporter here, full of dissapointment on the car still looks like 5 years back car where the world make. Going to buy toyota or honda, sighhh to my belove proton.

• OilChange on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:06 pm

THE NAME? proton umno can arrr?

• ada jugak manusia macam ni lagi, elok la ko jadi calon Wakil Rakyat untuk PR13.

• takde antenna. ade shark fin je. like!

• left.lane.driver on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:28 am

U like shark fin so much do U? Well unfortunately that’s NOT what U think it is. Look at it again. Doesn’t the shape look familiar? Oh yeah..that’s Proton standard antenna base minus the antenna. Think of Waja and Persona or any Proton’s model range with the antenna at the back of the roof. Ring any bells?

• Bongcs on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Ok, Best My names for p3-21A are:

1. Proton Ramlly
    2. Proton Pruveen
    3. Proton Suikang
    4. Proton Karyai
    5. Proton Turbusui
    6. Proton CeeBay.

• F Fiesta on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:23 pm

From this picture I confidently can say that Ford Fiesta far beauty either from side shape up to front and back. Okay you guys should get Ford FIESTA!!!

• mrworldwide on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:40 pm

rear design of fiesta sedan sucks lik HELL dude!!!

• Stanley on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:25 am

I agreed that Ford Fiesta is a good car and value for money, quality is guaranteed.

• even the current elantra,forte koup looks nicer then this sayonara proton….so called global car la…proton is the biggets liar so far make us wait and dissapoint us

• cazran on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:29 pm

i will make sure my father buy 1 after it launched.. :)

• fadhli on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm

PROTON PREVE

• Androv on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:42 pm

design agak kurang memuaskan. terutamanya dibahagian belakang.

• the front do look pretty modern and nice but the rear light clusters looked incomplete.

• sensibemalaysia on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:54 pm

proton designers can produce even better design parallel to that of other vehicle OEM….i’ve seen it myself…wondering why these designs are never turned into a reality…pity

• vtec200k on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:05 pm

notice the car’s antenna, like those of BMWs . . . shark-fin type
    i hope it’s name is persona . . . any new name would be unnecessary

• left.lane.driver on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:34 am

Again..that’s NOT a shark fin antenna. What U failed to notice is the colour considering the position of the sun. It supposes to have the same colour as the body. But it’s black. Why? Because it’s just a normal antenna base minus the antenna U will find on say..Waja and Persona. U can unscrew the antenna. Why do these several people find it really exciting that Proton “install” shark fin antenna without really noticing when the side mirror is still similar with current Persona and Saga is beyond me. I mean..of all features..all U see is the antenna?Really?

• _xXx_ on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:05 pm

How bout Poton iTaqNaq? Futuristic huh? hehe

• seancorr on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:08 pm

I still stand by my opinion on how bad the rear end looks. It looks like Proton took a design cue from Audi’s A4 B7:

http://www.lltek.com/PRS_bin/prs_137_a4s4_b7_rsa/rsahfl_a4s4b7__rearoverall2_zz.jpg

Front end looks good and those lights sure does look like it came from some Honda car…

Spec wise judging from Proton’s blog looks promising. Hope they hold true to their word when they said quality is top notch…

• Now i juz realise the front juz like a bit part of new honda civic,,,

• Its really can replace gen2 model… a.k.a gen2 2012???

• Farhat Haniff on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Proton should really continue to recycle older names to really continue on their generation. Like what they did with saga and satria, just without that stupid modern twist eg. neo.

Should call it Proton Persona, in E, EX and EXL trims.
    Or if they prefer a newer name, Proton Vistra. Combining Vista and Astra, in latin meaning ‘to see a star’…being born… I chup the name.

• Farhat Haniff on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:25 pm

..or proton onemal (o-ney-mal) one malaysia.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:26 pm

come on la proton, if design like this boleh bungkus masuk museum lah. haih.

• mr.zham on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

is this the rumoured Persona R2…?

• wheeler on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:36 pm

When it comes to proton, everybody wants to have their say, like they know best. Like this and like that. There’s not much wrong with the car I think. It’s just the brand issue..

• muhian on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:44 pm

ok la design cantik jugak.

kereta volkswagen baru2 sekarang nih pun simple2 takde la cantik mana pun macam proton gak apa ..tak perlu la nak bash2.

semua kereta nampak lebih kurang sama la.yang design semua manusia juga otak sama tuhan bagi…tak perlu nak banding2kan cuba la berterima kasih sikit.

• exJAVANESE on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:28 pm

tpi, kau kena paham…vw design dia kena dengan proportion body dia…klu headlight tu xde laa nk exaggerated sangat… hmmm

Why they (proton) can’t see this? even though, i know they have so many expertise designers in proton…

aku pun sedar siapalah aku ini nk berkata-kata..tapi kadang-kadang sebagai rakyat, nak juga tengok proton jadi secantik vw, kia, honda…

aku cadangkan, hire up some oversea designers car, build up a Global Design Team, buka Proton design house UK @ Proton design house Indonesia @ Proton design house Saudi Arabia @ Proton design house US @Proton design house Japan… get their ideas n perceptive…(toyota, nissan, honda dh lama buat macam ni… sebab tu design dorang boleh enter mana-mana benua)

then, aku percaya, Proton boleh berkmbang…bukan sekadar nk bagi dana kt lotus supercar tu je…ade banyak bnda2 lain yg korang (Proton) boleh invest….hmmm

Datuk SZ, kami percaya…ini adalah caranya….dhlaa..xpayah abis duit bagi dana kt supercar project tu…build up Proton Global Innovation Design Team dulu..itu lebih INDAH!

• Mokmeng on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:40 pm

agreed..nuff said..only the leaked specs of this new model that we can be proud of..design wise just biasa2 saja.. doesn’t have any wow factor..

• Albert on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:31 am

senang citer jd designer Proton la… Tgk bole xle ko wat design gempak…

• Tail light cluster really very ugly.. Sad to saw such outlook. Only front acceptable.

• manfurb on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:49 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! WHAT A BIG JOKE!!! ANOTHER CHEAP LOOKING DESIGN FOR US…..IS THIS THE MODEL PROTON WANT TO GO GLOBAL WITH???? NOW I KNOW WHY KHAZANAH DECIDED TO SELL THEIR SHARES…..BCOZ THE BOYZ AT PROTON HV LOST THEIR VISIONS OF WHAT GREAT CARS SHOULD LOOK LIKE….PROTON…HIRE PETER SCHREYER PLEASEEEE!!!!

• chill dude..no need to caps lock all the time

• full capitalized msg = attention whore

• Stanley on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:12 am

In terms of car design, i salute to honda.

• capslock on Feb 26, 2012 at 2:52 am

capslock whore detected..really sakit mata to read

• left.lane.driver on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:17 am

Hmm..care to share with us what great car(s) should look like? I’m sure all of us here want to know. Oh and please don’t list super/hyper car(s) if possible. Just list car(s) for the masses. But if U are wrong..I must say congratulations on becoming the real joke here. U will make a magnificent TROLL.
      One more thing..if U can afford a super car or two..U can help pay for Peter Schreyer. It’s easy to slur things when U are hiding behind a computer isn’t it? Yes I am insulting U. How does that feel?

• kerdil on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:55 pm

proton should use new name and not relates to persona..
    this could be proton’s break away from old local models..

• Abuya on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:56 pm

What is this? Looks like a car….

• unnon on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:58 pm

when it have four wheels, a 1.6 engine, rear and head lights, it’s a motorcycle.. of course it’s a car dude.. y do u have to ask stupid question? >_>

have you seen the swift sedan?? that one is not a car..

• VWfan on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:30 am

i think he cant speak and write well in english, thats why it kind of confusing statement. in bahasa translated more or less “ini kereta ke ape?”…

• zaman on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:11 pm

All new WAJA

• Bongcs on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:17 pm

NICE OVERALL, BUT TAIL LAMP IS AWKWARD

• what if the tuah concept is the facelift version of this? and the current model is just toe test the market? haha

whatever the facelift version will be i’m glad proton is stepping up their game to be a global player too and i really do fancy this car

• Bongcs on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Ok OTR with Insurance RM 65000

• Adolme on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:24 pm

designer proton mmg suka BONTOT BESAR ke????? lepas tu bila reverse langgar tong sampah….buat prototype dh lawa..bila real mcm org m’sia xda idea…be real lh proton kalau nak fight dgn korean manufacturer yg lbh bijak.

• nas-T on Feb 25, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Ko tu tak pandai drive sampai langgar tong sampah pastu kutuk proton.

• kalau skill reverse parking kau macam taik, kereta tak ada bontot pun kau boleh langgar tong sampah

• autojohndoe on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:44 pm

kah kah kah…

kau yang tak reti bawak kete nak salahkan design orang…

malu seh kalau dalam realiti kau ni member aku…

• JustObserving on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Korean cars focusing more on the aesthetic, reliability still the same shit as before.

Come come, thumbdown me hk-fags.

• sfssd on Feb 26, 2012 at 5:09 am

Ko kena faham maksud dia, betul orang lain boleh biasakan, tapi hakikatnya, taller bootlids = more blindspot, you can’t see what’s beneath the boot lid, side mirrors is limited, only help you can get is from the reversing sensor or cameras.

But tall bootlids have their advantages such as high boot capacity, kang korang gak complain apasal boot kecil…!, also it serves as aerodynamic purpose, it its closer level to the roof so the fluid seperation is kept to a minimum, won’t be so much wake region at the back.

• driver on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:46 pm

that reminds me of most of green rides rear design..

kebanyakannya bontot tonggek.. hehe..
        layann~

• semua keta sekarang bontot besarla,tengok kia forte,toyota semua,ketinggalan zaman ke?tak mau bontot besar beli iswara le,tak pun myvi

• CSR Zelc on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Grill depan besar macam Lancer Cedia

• Design biasa saja….tak ade apa-apa yang menarik…saya mau jumpa la Designer-designer Proton ni termasuk bosnya….nak tengok muka diaorang sorang2…Mesti designer2 Proton ni jenis Mat-mat skima yang tak tau pasal design terkini kereta…Mesti jenis mat2 skima pakai spek tebal, rambut sikat tepi, baju kemeja long sleeve butang sampai habis, bawak bekal air/nasik hari-hari, jalan tunduk je dan lain-lain bentuk mat skima lagilah….Itulah yang saya boleh bayangkan perekanya selepas tengok kereta ni…

• Gebang on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Ingat pereka keta BMW ke Ferrari ke mat2 rempit atau mat2 potong spring? Ngok tul…

• papa rich on Feb 26, 2012 at 5:57 am

bro macam bagus sangat lar ,, nk designer lawa2 boleh …
        jangan bising plak kalo harge mahal ,,
        think firstla ,, another in-a-box brain

• manfurb on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:40 pm

hahahaha!!!! Good one bro…..

• kau ni mesti baru lepas kena buli dgn orang2 skema kan? sebab tu kutuk2 dorang.

• autojohndoe on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:43 pm

just come to shah alam… or go to azlan othman blog… contact him… easy what…you dare?

cakap je berdegar2 kat sini… tak guna

• Azlan Othman is the head of Proton Design? No wonder the design is fail..
        UITM graduates not good enough….
        Hire someone better, please!!!!

• The Stig on Feb 26, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Yaaa loorrr…..low class design from low class University graduates…!!!

• autojohndoe on Feb 26, 2012 at 10:18 pm

and which university you graduated from?

dont simply insult others alma maters… brilliance is not determined by university…

Bill Gates never graduated you know…

• The Stig on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:44 am

Yaa he never graduate….but he is from Harvard University…
            Don’t forget that…

• exJAVANESE on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:42 am

hmm..let’s see… let us vote u as NEW Proton Head of Styling…

see how’s your design from upper class University graduates…

BTW…almost 80% designers in Malaysia is exUitm Art&Design Faculty and thats a fact… chill bro…no harm…

• The Stig on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Where you get that percentage?
            Sendiri reka ka haa?

• Local design from local university… Proton is one of the results…hampeh

• is it azlan othman = autojohndoe??

• whocare on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:40 pm

You are rude but funny darn….haha

• Aku ada pengalaman pergi beberapa negara luar, Aku tengok banyak kereta depa lagi hodoh design daripada Proton. Kerajaan depa pun kenakan cukai yg tinggi untuk kerata yg 100% import.

• Johny5 on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:53 pm

The front end design really looks retarded..backside ok dah..

• Jockey on Feb 25, 2012 at 6:14 pm

hang ingat hang baguih?? lantak pilah sapa nak beli sapa tanak.. hang susah apa??

• zamandaberubah on Feb 25, 2012 at 6:29 pm

why so much fuss..only photo what, wait until u see with your own eyes and test drive it .
    What u see here just the styling. Car design is not only about styling..it is important but other design aspects are equally important, like safety features, performance, ride & handling, reliability, maintainability, fuel consumption, interior space and ergonomics and so on. Any product that comes out the production line is also a blend and balance of design, engineering, marketing (pricing), manufacturing, production, enabling infrastructure/system, constraints, risks and so on. The points is u cannot get the best of all of these, there must be a balance and compromise here and there.

• I’m very sorry for Proton’s designer. So excited with CFe engine in Exora Bold’s performance. If Exora wear Toyota emblem, easily outsell Innova.

Back to P3-21A, the design dimension especially in height made me sorry. As if the design was made after Myvi’s customers preferences. Somewhat bloated; perhaps to allow such a generous headroom ‘enjoyed’ in Myvi- the only model successful in Malaysia; no other market outside Japan.

Having said that, I’ll waiting after launch to give my verdict. Hopefully, Proton ride&handling dynamic not dampened by this design. It puzzled me why the design, so different than the concept, Tuah. Maybe, too much compromise to produce HATCHBACK? In my opinion, while important to satisfy Global Buyers it’s equally vital to delight local supporters.

This is a zero sum game for Proton. If this model fail—- no more national car status. We must forgo this for globalization. If we accept iPhone, Samsung or Panasonic fridge while maintain our nationalism and patriotism, same could be said to car, isn’t?

• luar dh byk imrpove, hopefully interior pun improve feel and quality.

• kamaji on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Just adopt the tuah rear, then it will be o,k and I think in future let the Italian do the design if Proton still looking global,

• Absolute Rider on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Please give us R3 version soon. Thank you.

• proton ENIGMA

• KG.Goh on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Dont like it at all, same of issue. mode with GEN2/Persona Frame.

Change the front design. replace the tail lamp, used back Proton Saga Original Paint…..not sure what so special about this car…hopefully is not the same old engine CAMPRO1.6

• johan on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:36 pm

warna apa itu? aqua mica?

• The rear looks BMW X-6ish.. love the front tho

• Mega/Liverpool on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Not bad, Proton needs a Hatchback verson to sell in Europe…also low CO2 engines…………..any news on the “Y” series engines?
    Mike/Liverpool

• autojohndoe on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:38 pm

from what we heard,…

the hatchback already in the pipeline…

• kivatt0024 on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:28 pm

p3-22a already in development….kinda mazda3 rear….5door hatch…hope they can come with 3door also…

• mark foster on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:47 pm

issit just me here thats actually prefer this version over the clay Tuah version?

• cheaper on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:50 pm

i will buy if only the interest rate similar to toyota and honda car, 2.59% for 9 years loan..

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:49 pm

“Sorry to dissapoint you”, the bankers will say that to you tho. I tried to get 2.6% but lastly can only get 2.85%. But for Import Cars, easily can get 1% or less.

What to say… BNM ruling..

• driver on Feb 25, 2012 at 11:46 pm

i’ve been wondering what actually happen with the interest rate.. why Proton’s car buyer has to endure higher rate? can somebody enlighten me on this?

• MoFaz on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:30 am

problem with banks is they assume Proton & Perodua buyers are mid-medium income group, in financial world, this is the high-risk group, which means many case of non-performing loans due to defaulters. hence the higher interest rate.
          this is kind of discrimination.. they should give interest rate based on individual income rather than generalizing a group of customers. imagine guy with RM12k salary, bank believe he could pay for Merc and he get 1% rate, but when he buy a Proton the bank is doubting his ability to pay the loan?.. doesn’t make sense but that’s how it works here.
          another reason is might be due to collaboration between dealers and banks. Maybe Merc have agreement with specific bank to provide certain rate to their purchasers, which they wouldn’t get from other banks… quite similar to house developers and banks deal.

• non national have ixpensive tax,to reduce this bank give this.

• Poor ppl pay more…the bank translating that ppl who buy local cars are of the poorer group…hence hugher chance of not paying back the loan and so charging more

• 99ners on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Go and buy bmw. O% for 5 years.. If you need 9 years. Buy lower price car..

• armandd on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Why didn’t they use the rear light cluster from Tuah concept? That one looked so much better. This, I can’t understand…

• cheku77 on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Tak yah lah puji Kia forte tu cantik sangat, takat bangga design honeycomb grill! Lawak betul…

Design keta jepun bukan cantik sangat… Toyota pun dah mengaku design keta die boring.
    Cuma budak berlagak2 nie je tak reti2… Yelah ! Nk kumpul duit belagak beli keta jepun.

Aku jadi first buyer persona pun sbb tunggu rumours engine campro turbo jadi kenyataan. Lepas nie bole la pasang turbo kt keta pesona. Yahoo….

• atif jeelan on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:15 pm

kat mana source yang kata toyota design boring. meh bagi link dia

• biskut on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:34 pm

ntah aku pun nak tau gak dalil2 yg org toyota kata design diaorg boring…

ala2 ustaz azhar idrus la si cheku77 nih

• Weirdo Design on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:48 pm

yg nak kena jealous ngan kereta lain tu apasal? aku sendiri yg bukan pakai proton pun still tetap sokong proton..

• Norman on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:23 pm

From what I heard Y-Series Campro will replace the current 1.3/1.6 Campro IAFM/CPS/CFE engine.It will have 2 variants that is normal aspirated and low turbo.Engine starts from 1200cc,1500cc & 1800cc.Probably future Exora will use both 1.8 NA/Turbo.

• Mega/Liverpool on Feb 26, 2012 at 6:35 am

Thanks Norman, any idea when?
      Mike/Liverpool

• spyshotX on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:58 am

I doubt the Y series engine will come to fruition.. with new mgmt in place very soon, I dont think DRB-Hicom will be willing to bleed more money to invest.. with their current partnership with VW, it’s not possible that someday future proton cars may be fitted with existing TSI engine & DSG gbox.. at least in business pov it makes more sense..

• alldisc on Feb 27, 2012 at 1:41 pm

whoaa.. already coming to Y already… i wonder how the Q series engine is like.

• Nizam80 on Feb 27, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Is this true, Norman? Never heard of the Y-Series engines. So it’s true then that current Campro line up will be phased out soon? Oh, and by the way, a 1200cc engine seems logical for Proton’s Global Small Car.

• Steward on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Disappointed with the look, shd have jst stick bk to tuah look…..

• ok la… the rear design not bad. Slightly similar to this Camry and looks better isnt it?

http://autoreviewcar.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/03-2012-Toyota-Camry-Rear-View-500×331.jpg

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:01 pm

The car seems built on the Mitsubishi Lancer and\or Proton Inspira platform and chassis.

I guess the Inspira won’t sell for long and will be replaced by this…I know that Mitsubishi didn’t allow proton to put much input in the inspira so maybe this is Proton’s input into the inspira with all what Proton wanted to do with the inspira…In house engine,Full Lotus Ride & Handling and a CVT gear with an independent cooling system.Well the rear is not bad but the concept looks better.I mean the concept TUAH rear looks and styled like DODGE DART or maybe Dodge styled the dart as The Tuah concept ;)

Anyway,It looks like a successful Product and might be Proton’s best selling model if LHD versions come quickly to the middle east and they appoint me as strategy maker for them ;) I could with this product and the Exora Dominate the market completely..Currently Hyundai\KIA Elantra\Accent RB\Carens\Cerato forte and Picanto domainates the Egyptian Market..With this car and the Exora and the FLX and a strategy I have in my head will change everything….hopefully.

Proton fans,Proton is now competitive and maybe ready for global debut..

Proton Haters…You should REALIZE that now Proton is private which means that it’s only aim is to make money and more money.in order to do this..Better Products,Quality and Service will be presented…If I was a Malaysian and living in Malaysia.I would only buy Proton or Perodua.JAPANESE DID even when their cars were rubbish..Koreans DID and still do.In Romania,look at Renault owned Dacia..

Support your nation by buying Nation Products… ;)

Hope you all have a happy day today and everyday :)

• when the Protong sell same price with Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai in Middle East, the people still buy Protong? I will get Dr M to appoint you as reseller if you can win the above with same price..

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Feb 26, 2012 at 3:23 am

lol :) Proton shouldn’t sell like Toyota or Honda or even Hyundai\KIA. It doesn’t have the same cost…

Well,Proton to transform..Needs in Egypt precisely alot of Service Centers(Authorized Service centers) and affordable product..Start like KIA precisely…KIA Priced the 2004-2008 Cerato\Spectra and 2009-2012 KIA Forte with prices much cheaper than the Toyota Yaris or similar to it in the HIGH LINE Trims which resulted that it is the best selling model in Egypt.This also resulted that the Carens and Picanto and Rio are best sellers in thier respective segments.Proton needs to do this with the upcoming Product whether it is this sedan or the Exora..Gain People’s trust which will raise popularity to other Proton Models which could be then priced more upscale…It is a give and take situation..Sell a super product for a low low price accompanied with Service quality..Then u can sell it with any..Don’t forget that Selling with extremely low prices close to cost or even just sell it with just cost means one thing..HUGE Shipments of spare parts and more dealers and minimum advertisements budget…..which leads to another thing..Proton factories will be better utilized and more market share..which means that any future investors will value the company better and higher and that it could gain collaborations from other manufacturers just like the American did with BYD investing more than 200+ million dollars…Better Factory utilization means workers skill will get better because they are busier which means sustainable growth to all Malaysia…Malaysians…Don’t let your national Automotive Company fail…Trust me and appoint me for a job people…I’m good and getting better ;)

• Stanley on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:17 am

Local car too expensive compare with others imported car which can give better quality and spec. Need ppl support also must have the reason. If this car selling price is rm70k i doubt whether can achieve the sales quota or not

• spyshotX on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:04 am

I thought DSSZ said this P3 model use Exora platform.. correct me if i’m wrong..

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:12 pm

That rear spoiler is too small but it’s a big spoiler to the rear look.

• hantu lilin on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:13 pm

since this one is replacement for persona and/or gen2.

just call it Gen 3

• Highwaystar82 on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Not bad job.. And I agree if they would call this “Wira” again.. The car looks confident and strong.. The back is actually nice(to me).. The grille I’m sure we can come up with something.. Hehe. P1, thank u for not using torsion bar for back suspension and for making this a C segment compared persona being a B segment. No problems reported so far wit CVT and the CFE engine, let’s hope it stays that way.

I wish there will be bodykits available for like Tuah.

I’m looking forward to this car bcoz I heard is 5 star aus NCAP and its equipped wit enough gadgets to match today’s car. Wat else can u expect from a <80k car anyway. Parts will be easier to get compared korean cars and usually less expensive to maintain.

p1 pls don't disappoint the interior feel and features.

Overall, awesome looking car and I love it.

Just one question. With this being a global car and all. How much will bank interest will be like.. 3-4% or 2-3%?

• Nobody dare to comment Honda Accord rear lamp? half thick half thin…
    nobody dare to comment it because its a HONDA?! thats not fair! that Accord rear lamp so damn UGLY!

• atif jeelan on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:55 pm

I don’t care about the design ‘coz beauty doesn’t always last forever. every period of time more beauty car will be out. What I care is the quality of the product and the best safety feature offered. Enough!

• front grill alwez fail..they should spend more for it..body looks like volvo s80+inspira..tail lamp a bit like jag xf s well s its rear part..inside..better b gud..leather dash,touch screen, bang & olufsen stereo, push start button, sport mode, massage chair,dual zone air cond, auto air cond, paddle shift gear..huhu..keep dreaming boh!!

• Alinda on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Proton should launch this P3-21A model last year because right now it is getting harder to get car loan approved. Anyway, I think the design is good looking but not as bold as the new Hyundai cars.

I will definetely be among the first to test drive it at Proton Platinum Mutiara Damansara. Can’t wait to slam the door to hear how it sound like.

• looks ok.

• Uncle Hond on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Now P1 already got turbo charge engine.
    Hope to see in the future P1 produce twin turbo charge.
    Especially when they can closed the deal with WW.
    Then P3-21A will have “TT” at the rear boot.

• The car is built on proton’s own exora platform dude.. we dont need some foreign shit anymore

• Handsome looking car. Looks better than the next civic. Surely my next car. Well done Proton.

• noNICKname on Feb 25, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Proton Preve’

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 25, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Only the ‘Fire Red’ colour can hide the uneven proportion at the back.

Redo.. Try to design the bigger spoiler for this P3.. It’s sure be a good looking one.

• driver on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:03 am

so far we can confirm of 3 possible colors:
    1) the blue
    2) silver from previous shot
    3) white

• No proton anymore on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:04 am

Front look ok, but bad ugly rear look. Doubt on it reliability especially on it build quality. Previously wasted to much money n time driving poor build quality proton, very doubt on this new model. No for proton, enough trying go for Korean maker better since both have bad 2nd value atbleast Korean car given better build quality n performance. Bye bye proton.

• korean car not good,kia forte not have turbo while proton preve have it

• the front light corner like e90, the back lights imitate e92…

• kuncisudu on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:26 am

i must say that on this picture from that angle, the car look unpleasable if not ugly. i like the silver picture better (the one with the man trying to blocking it).

• if you guys call this rear design ugly.. what about this?

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_N62jN4qlWY4/S8W4c4h68pI/AAAAAAAADF4/oNVtB2-tCiI/s1600/naza_sutera.jpg

• I wonder when they can produce a qualify “Design Award” visual appearance. At least…

• ALTIS10 on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:04 am

100k better buy H & T ….tipu punya TUAH..

• robert kwok on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:06 am

everyone want to write their opinion.. i also want lah.. is a car with 4wheels.. design ok, spec ok, price dont know yet.. i’ll buy this car.. dont care what they said.. bcoz i’m the one who pay the loan every month.. u guys pandai ckp saja.. but in reallity u just tin kosong…

• document on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:14 am

Kinda disappoint me with the look…:(
    Another prototype car… can Proton recruit better designer who have a sense of stylish and sleek???
    Hope the engine spec and interior would save it..

• Mohammed Osman on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:24 am

I’m very excited to have this car….
    I just want it to have ABS, EBD, alloy wheels and GPS Navigation.

• Lee Auto on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:34 am

…Design nampak outdated, 90s styling
    P1 Designer bab Proportion dari model dlu still
    struggling to get it right.

Maybe R3 boley give some input to improve kot?

• ProudMalaysian on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:58 am

29 years in the automobile industry and this is what they can come up with. Why cant they create an image for Proton cars or a fascia that sets Proton in its own class. When people look at it, they will know its Proton’s design. I wanna be proud of my own country’s automobile manufacturer. I’m a Malaysian I wanna feel proud driving Proton. But i just cant. First we look at the quality and then the safety. Cheap plastic materials, thin layers of metal you name it. Every proton cars offer only 2 air bags. Dont they care about the safety of their own people?

Well, people gonna say, this is what you get paying for a cheaper car. Ford, Chevrolet, peugeot, VW etc are the western’s local budget car. Even they have much lower resale value compared to Japanese cars in their own country, they put in quality and safety into consideration. And look how they market it in our country as semi luxurious.

Since when Proton ever stay loyal to their car’s name? Where’s Wira? where is Waja? so many names for the same car. 29 years and Saga is only in the second generation. What about Satria? No news.. they just cant stay put. Marketing’s a trash. keep coming out with “new” design different names end up being a huge disappointment.

Looking at this Proton. What are they trying to prove? Design are so outdated. 2006 7-series wannabe? the front grill lines connect to no where, the back… well.. need i say more?

Just my 2 cents, If proton improves a little and show some enthusiasm in catching up with the fast moving automotive industry. I would myself, buy a proton and be proud driving one.

But now? I think proton is just rubbish robbing their own people’s money.

• Hugo Andore on Feb 26, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Agreed. Btw, the generation Saga should be name Proton Haga

• kim jong un on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:59 am

SANGAT TIDAK SUKA LAMPU DI BONET….LAMPU ITU NMPAK MURAH BERSAMA BONETNYA….

• nebula87 on Feb 26, 2012 at 2:19 am

do they took Mits. Lancer’s chasis to design this model?
    i can see the middle part of the car is so similar to Mits. Lancer…
    they just facelift a Mits.Lancer (Proton Inspira)??

• Tongku Mahalee on Feb 26, 2012 at 2:32 am

I’m returning to Potong and bringing back Ms Semen. i will sue every website and fire every enjineer that leak or publish spy shot of my new model. You hv been warned!

• 13mei12 on Feb 26, 2012 at 2:45 am

those who complain dont buy la nobody is asking you to buy……
    those who like Good for you Continue to proton products a healthy way to Sokong malaysia and especial THOSE who love malaysia and have the gratitude of having living in malaysia .
    those who complain .. go by a Ferrari or whatever cars you can by ..
    Cause proton is to mainstream you PEEPS..
    PROTON or GTFO

sincerely

• Hugo Andore on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:21 am

If Malaysians have the money you think they wont buy a Ferrari?

The problem is..the price of imported cars in Malaysia become so expensive in Malaysia thanks to your beloved Proton. Somore, wanna whine about banks not approving loans to Proton bla bla bla.

Remove your blinkers you eggtart.

• No proton anymore on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:28 pm

All becos of Proton:
      Becos proton, Malaysian got to pay higher price for a car even it own car.
      Becos proton, all other car maker have to set double/trible selling price.
      Becos proton, government protect umxo family but not it Malaysian…
      Becos proton, it protection policy cost every Malaysian paid extra for a vehicle and all earning still back to umxo family.
      Becos proton, gov keep sucking our hard earning as this stupid car are selling cheaper in other country then it own national market.
      No proton…..thing hv to change. No more protection for better future in Malaysia automotive industry.

• Loneranger on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:42 am

how woulod u explain prius c sold without tax but still no as same price as they sell in Japan? (this is what all this bashers always compare).

21,700.00 USD = 65,426.37 MYR

but how much they selling in Msia? is that bcoz of Proton also?

PETALING JAYA: Automotive industry players are hoping that hybrid vehicles, which sales are expected to hit record high this year, be given excise duty exemptions again in Budget 2012.

“We hope full exemption of import and excise duties for hybrid and electric vehicles be extended up to five year in order to build market acceptance of this niche segment,” Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) president Datuk Aishah Ahmad told StarBiz.

NO tax yet still not selling as like they sell outside Msia….why dont they sell it at highest RM75k then?

now who is the who cheats and make car price higher?

• vincent ang on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:22 pm

The Prius C comes in CBU. One cannot expect Toyota to sell it at the Japanese price. Moreover, what about shipping cost? Then you should take into account the list price of cars is not inclusive of sales tax in Japan. Taking shipping and Japanese sales tax into account may bring the car to RM 75,000 as you suggested. However, the Japanese would never be able to create the economies of scale needed to sell the Prius C at your suggested price simply because our market is just too small. Another reason is because the exemption of import and excise duties for hybrid and electric cars is a yearly affair. A car seller will only adopt the high volume lower profit margin strategy if
          they are assured that the environment which makes the strategy possible is going to be around for many years. A yearly renewed policy does not create the environment needed to make such high volume strategy possible. The question then is why don’t the government make the exemption of import and excise duties for hybrid and electric car a permanent feature of our so-called National Automotive Policy? It would seem like the sensible thing to do. The answer is because Proton is thus far unable to produce a production hybrid or electric car. Everybody is put on hold waiting for Proton. Lastly, the Prius C is sold inclusive of Malaysian sales tax. Now who is dishonest?

• Loneranger on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:01 pm

using ur poj nt of arguement, that is why proton cannot be sold lower price. it is due to low economic scale in malaysia.

am juz taking point where people always say why imported car sold here in malaysia very costly. it is due to Proton as what they say. but in Prius C case and any hybrid car case, Proton is not their competitor, why can;t the Japs selling it cheaper? juz like what they are selling in their own country. or is it their only seller in Msia taking advantage from the facts that Msian damn crazy bout Japs car so whatever price tag people will still but it which means BIG MONEY to the seller. and BIG MONEY to Japs car maker. If this incentive works well, Govt will regulate Green Car will be tax exempted 100%.

CBU or not the point here is, to enter MSia no more tax imposed for this car. and as i said without tax (as what people in here always say) we can get cheaper imported car but again from this Prius C case, it will not happen. still the manufacturer and the seller herein Msia taking high % of revenue. what if with tax? that whats happaen. the price shld be lower but due to manufacturer profit %, we msian have to pay high car price. including proton.

Read back all the comments pertaining to import tax and etc….u will find the answer to my point of argument.

thank you.

• vincent ang on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Tell me why do foreign car makers not invest in Malaysia like what they are doing in Thailand and Indonesia? The answer is Proton. They know that Mamak will always protect Proton regardless of cost to the Malaysian public. There is no trust whatsoever in policies of the Malaysian government At the very best all we get are screwdriver operations. Even Proton’s R&D is at most early 1990s in technology. Which foreign car maker would even want to invest in an assembly line for hybrid or electric cars when there is no assurance the government would stick to their words on the tax exemptions. A yearly renewable policy is not reassuring more so when the foreign car makers know it is because the government is waiting for Proton to have a production model green car. Open the market to all and sundry and assure all the car makers their investments will be treated fairly and we will get the jump on the Thais and Indons in the green car market. Continue with the “let me think about the tax thing” every year and all we will get are expensive imports.

• 99ners on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:27 pm

So basiccally you agree that it’s not gov fault. It’s economies fault right..

• vincent ang on Mar 03, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Read carefully.

• Fooled on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Many years ago, I used to have a Proton. Was proud to be able to own a car. And was thanking Proton for producing such a cheap car.

That thankfulness stopped when I have had enough of the Proton Orchestra (noisy rattling inside the car coming from dashboard, speaker board, door panel, etc).

Then my eyes opened. Why the heck didn’t I just buy a used Toyota or Mercedes that cost cheaper than my new Proton Aeroback? Yes, I did.

They may be old, buy they are still reliable and have a quiet ride. I have owned a used Mercedes and now using a used Toyota. I will never go for a new Proton again.

They cut our throat with substandard product. If they can’t compete their prices fairly, stop making cars.

• The rear is like audi and the front is like honda. The rear is beautiful, unique and complicated. The big grille is pretty also but headlamp is ugly like skoda octavia. The headlamp’s upper line should not go down. It make the front like a sad face. How can proton engineer design the car like that? I really dont know. The headlamp should be longer, go upper and pull longer to the back to look younger and sportier. Honda city and kia optima k5 is a similar design and good example. Do you agree?

I guess the price will between 60k-85k. Top spec cfe is 80k-85k. I also guess new elantra 1.8 top spec will between 85k-90k. And the power of 1.8 is equal to 2.0, same as cfe. That mean this elantra is only a few thousand more than p321a cfe. Elantra is much more prettier. Also korean cars standard have match japanese cars though not european cars. And korean cars design has surpass japanese cars. I will choose elantra. How about you?

THE SMART GUYS GET IT!

• Genius on Feb 26, 2012 at 3:38 am

Elantra 1.8 is going to be more than 100k laa…

SMART GUYS DO BETTER GUESSING

• Kia forte 2.0 top spec is 97k. Elantra is also korean c-segment car. Why elantra 1.8 will >100k. It seems like not fair.

• You speak as if you are smarter than the pro designer. Proton should hire you as their designer then? And no, Korean cars still have lots to learn before they can match Japanese standard. Only their design have improved and that is because they hired European designer. You need to look at the refinement of the car and not just the esthetic.

• But honda still rely on outdated SOHC engine w/o direct injection and variable cam phasing. These engine is harsh at high rev and more fuel consumption than hyundai DVVTs. Moreover honda still missing downsized turbocharged and auto stop-start that already exist in hyundai. And honda outdated auto transmission is only 4-5 speed further add on to fuel consumption but hyundai already 6 speed.

Nevertheless in average hyundai and honda is abang adik!

• 99ners on Feb 26, 2012 at 6:29 pm

I’ve yet to see any Korean car with reasonable FC. Even my old Kelisa were way ahead of Hyundai i10 in term of FC. Design wise of cos it’s i10. But in term of FC and engine reliability, i trusted my old kelisa..

• Kelisa MT is 5.1l/100km combined. I10 MT is only 4.2!

• pacifictuna on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:57 am

trust me. my kelisa MT did a little better than 5 L/100km but i dare say it will match i10 so called 4.2.

• pacifictuna’s 5L/100km is refer to extraurban or combined? The facts is that kelisa MT is 4.4L/100km extraurban. I think he is refer to extraurban. If combined, how he calculate that figure? I am base on EU test mode. His own test mode will not exactly same as EU test mode.

And i10 MT is only 3.6L/100km extraurban. You have to know also kelisa is 800kg only but i10 is ever 860kg.

• 99ners on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Hyundai quoted FC just like proton. They claim something like 5 or 6, but in real world i never achieved that. I live in sibu and using i10 1.25. Imagine full tank just about 300km only. What a shame.. BTW, i’m always drive at around 80km/h. Sometimes only at 100k/h when overtake..

• I want to clarify that VVT and variable cam phasing is not the same. Some car’s VVT have variable cam phasing and some cars dont. Honda’s SOHC VVT engine does not include variable cam phasing.

• Korean car is COTY in America. Where is Proton?

• Craig on Feb 26, 2012 at 8:47 am

Don’t just talk only, why don’t you give elantra some sale. You praise elantra but you buy Myvi.

• I praise so many good cars but not mean that I must buy them all. I just give my opinions.

• papa rich on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:11 pm

hey , its all about peoples that have different taste of a car ok bro ..
      not all peoples have to follow your own taste …
      Lets wait for your ‘beloved’ Elantra yeah…

• “And the power of 1.8 is equal to 2.0, same as cfe”
      that’s the funniest joke of the year

• million on Feb 26, 2012 at 8:06 am

fresh concept!!!.

hope kualiti ta macam tin susu!!

• Absolute Rider on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:19 am

This is the production model NOT the concept anymore!

• keluangman on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:09 am

as usual, Proton will mess up the rear lamp design!

• skoop on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:26 am

sekarang suda susa mau beli kereta, potong kena melutut dengan bank negara dulu…. abisla potong…

• outdated design…

• Well, for me, the front looks kinda like Savvy.

• Dewata Raya on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Rear looks like jaguar

http://carsdesign.in/images/Jaguar_Xf_2009/Jaguar_Xf_2009_12.jpg

• Highwaystar82 on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Pls bring wira back!!

• papahero on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:51 pm

saga sambung dgn persona…..proton nak bungkus

• fraz006 on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:55 pm

ok, nmpk ensem. tapi lampu blkg yg kecik tuh cam pelik skit.

and nmpk tinggi lah keter nih.

• smokey on Feb 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

each new car from proton has different design…hard to recognize that they are from proton family…
    please make a signature design so everyone can know its a proton at the 1st glance!

• PROdigy on Feb 26, 2012 at 8:21 pm

eemmmm…. Proton has lost their design direction… they just want to earn more money… that’s all… no other objective… Proton doesn’t even mind with their car logo being changed to Mitsubishi logo… don’t care… as long got profit!!!

• driver on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:41 pm

i think they’re going towards it.. as you can see many people here believe that it has saga’s facade dna.

• Why so much hoo haa n publicity….. it’s just another freakin Proton… no big deal.

• niceone on Feb 26, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Proton Wira is what they should name this. Although that name means this car should match the very reliable engine as has been put on Wira sedan around 10 years ago. You can still see old Wiras cruising on the road nowadays, because the engine is very reliable!

just don’t give yet another new name Proton, it won’t do good for your branding.

• rubbish!

• the rear view reminds me of an rs version from audi….

• everything around you is rubbish. you are part of it, and the only word you know is ‘rubbish;
    ,,,oh dear,

• cl_qwertyuiop on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:24 pm

I kind of agree with you. Plus, we (human and other life from) are generally a left over (rubbish) from The Big Bang of the universe. “Science talk”.

• what i wanted to say if we went to peter shreyer’s house and
      looked through his rubbish bin for some scrap designs he threw away the worst one
      would be better than what the proton’s designers did.

• whatever it is.
    the final judge is when its out in open. test driving it will tell it more.

• DArkerMarker on Feb 26, 2012 at 6:47 pm

the car’s buttock looks cacat………

Is it a new trend in proton automotive design ka?

• afham on Feb 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm

indah khabar dari rupa!

• Absolute Rider on Feb 26, 2012 at 7:45 pm

I know this P3-21A not even launched yet, but Proton must do their homework fast enough to catch up.

Don’t just stick to 5 star NCAP (Euro, Austalia or middle east). Many manufacturers (including Proton) equip their cars with 4-6 airbags is not enough as rear passengers not protected enough. Rear should comes with dual side airbags too which can be OFF when no passenger(s) at the rear! Knee airbag for driver or even front passenger in future?

If you look into Euro, they are going beyond with Euro NCAP Advanced!

Please adopt and equip them too in future models. One or two years time!! Don’t let me wait for another 10 years, just like I’m waiting to see Proton with 5 star NCAP rating and fit 4 airbags in the car and that’s only the first model. The P3-21A!!

• Absolute Rider on Feb 26, 2012 at 7:56 pm

By law, all new car models must pass certain safety tests before they are sold. But legislation provides a minimum statutory standard of safety for new cars, it is the aim of Euro NCAP to encourage manufacturers TO EXCEED THESE MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS.

Taken from EuroNCAP homepage.

• omanjedi on Feb 26, 2012 at 7:59 pm

oklahhh…just wait 4 the mid life version….

just can’t wait to see the interior material….would be as bad as my neo or better

• Regina Shwartz on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Danny – It’s not called a “thin spoiler” it’s a “boot lid finisher” =)

• Evilz on Feb 26, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Ok ape design die ni, byk kete Europe ngan US pn design mcm ni skrg… try tgk VW Passat CC, ade skit lebih kurang aper…

utk yg x berapa clear, leh tgk gmbr VW Passat kt sini:
    http://www.blogcdn.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2011/01/2012-vw-passat—01-opt.jpg
    http://volkswagenutah.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/volkswagen-passat-cc.jpg

Tp mmg setuju yg bahagian belakang die nmpk pelik skit… tp rear design ni nmpk mcm ambik dari skoda… ade skit2 ruper rear design skoda ( kebanyakkan kete skoda bawak rear design mcm ni, contoh skoda laura, skoda rapid dgn skoda octavia – kire ok jgk la, skoda pn kete europe jgk)

utk lebih clear, leh tgk rear design beberape kete Skoda kt sini:
    http://newcarmodelz.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/2012-octavia-skoda-rear-view.jpg
    http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-79MZ-jEJ6ts/Ty_cz0xo8iI/AAAAAAAACnU/md2PFpp5I5I/s1600/skoda+rapid+rear+view.jpg
    http://images.cardekho.com/car-images/carexteriorimages/large/Skoda/Skoda-Rapid/skoda-rapid-full-rear-view-119.jpg
    http://images.cardekho.com/car-images/carexteriorimages/large/Skoda/Skoda-Laura-Ambiente/skoda-new-laura-full-rear-view-119.jpg

• Fooled on Feb 26, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Buy Proton and make the Gomen happy.
    That will continue to keep the Proton prices high.

Buy Foreign cars and the Gomen also happy.
    They will continue to keep the tax sky high.

Macam mana la? When can we enjoy lower car price?
    When can Proton compete their prices fairly with other brands (without high tax)?

• ProudMalaysian on Feb 27, 2012 at 1:27 am

when? register as voter.. and vote the current government out.

• inderaloka on Feb 26, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Nampak cantik la pulak…

• In my opinion, it is a Waja/ Impian replacement.

• The rear is like audi A6 and A8 and the front is like honda city.

• designers don’t know what style and class is…its very sad…why make emblem so big?
    why is the front and back so dispropotionate. With so many good car designs already on the road can’t they at least start with a proper base car and work from there.

my friend and i always said that waja did have a great “presence” quite intimidating. All they could have done was rework the waja and come up with a super reworked wajacfeturbo and it would sell like hot cakes.BTW who did the tuah prototype at klims i tot they finally heard what we wanted..our own malaysia camry. :)

someone commented earlier that why must everyone give their critic, well the reason why i believe malaysians want to critique is because we love malaysia and we actually believe that we can come up with world class stuff BUT REAL TALENT AND CREATIVITY IS BEING HINDERED. AND TO MUCH CHANCES HAVE BEEN GIVEN TO THE WRONG PEOPLE TO DO THE JOB…. so we are constantly stuck with rubbish and pay ridiculous loans for rubbish. While we drool for quality foreign stuff when we could actually produce the same things if given to the right people! true or not…

• Frank on Feb 27, 2012 at 1:34 am

its not the fault of the CAR if the design Sucks and its a lousy Low Quality car

nor the “Proton Brand” fault

but it’s the Fault of the People tasked with managing and rui-n-ing Proton!!

• I’m selling my ageing C200K Avantgarde and considering this car. Had enough with the Germans and people getting advantage on maintaining it in Malaysia. Had transmission leaks to the radiator and its done. Had a ride in my nephew Persona recently and i think its not that bad. I plan to get a new Camry but its light, just like how they produce it in the 90s. Japanese never change. Their cars are light. Now thinking of getting back to Proton (my last Proton was Saga magma back in 88) and save money for my growing up kids.

• Just me on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:31 am

Wow, you plan to sell your merc in exchange of Proton. What a smart move. I plan to sell my Panamera S to buy this car too. Had enuf smoking most other car on Plus highway. I think this story sound much better right? Kakakaka

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:27 pm

I’m donating my Ferrari 458 to charity and buying the P3…if Proton Edar gives free lace seat covers, I would buy another one! *Phew, thank gawd that was a nightmare*

• Mr Poke in The Eyes on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:56 am

I’m assuming that this particular model will be called PROTON PRIMA.. huhuhu.

• Jerry on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:41 am

Yeek! Proton has given the car a ‘boot-is-ajar’, incongruous design on the backend, ruining an otherwise fine effort. Why?! :(

• Come on Proton, every car manufacturer already using timing chain , variable valve timing(
      VVT) , you are still using timing belt and IAFM , CPS ( cam profile ) and CFE ( turbo ) . Your Campro engine is the only one without these technical specs. Pls upgrade to a new engine with the former technology so that Proton can compete globally. And if possible include a model with DSG ( dual clutch ) transmission. Hyundai Veloster already with DSG .Then your sales will be better than Honda and Toyota. Syed Zainal, I hope your hands are not tied
      by bureaucracy at Proton ( Those so called highly paid advisers )

• normal_user on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:01 am

Do some research before posting. CFE does have VVT (unlike CPS).

Read the Lotus magazine using this link:

http://issuu.com/lotuscars/docs/proactive_issue43

You’ll find that CFE is almost a totally different species from CPS, or campro.

• Look like someone from Proton reply. TQ. They still need to replace the timing belt
          with timing chain to keep up with the motoring trend. Durable.

• Campro teknologi LEMBU
        timing belt hahahahahaha
        so expensive oooo

• Any report on test drive result to be shared? Any idea on the pricing?

• kemang on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:57 am

ada balls of steel ke protong bagi 300000km waranty? mesti x berani punya sebab vendor semua buat kerja macam tahik and akan kuar macam2 problem nanti sebab kononnya eletronic features sana sini…tunggu je la nanti komplen kat pusat servis… if betul2 confident bagila 300 000km waranti dato Syed…..kfc kerrrr?

• DewaSemut on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:47 am

Kalau industry standard macamtu… maknanya SEMUA car manufacturers issue 300,000km warranty, ok kot Proton bagi warranty yang setanding… kala brand kereta lain tak buat… apa kejadahnya Proton nak buat camtu… :P

• eims @ gold on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:06 am

its ok…

i dont care much abt the look as long as its not ugly..
    because u can always mod the car & make it ur own style..

btw this is not ugly in fact its quite good.
    proton is trying to balance the styling for young ppl & old man style.
    this is what so called “safe design” by proton

i,m sure there will be more nicer facelift coming

• sudahlah! on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:17 am

proton xbuat kuiz bagi nama P3-21A ka?

• PetroLeg on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:17 am

If the trend of car buyers are moving towards feature oriented vehicles, Proton will stand a very good chance fora good decade of support if they have all the good stuff in it. They have done a pretty good job on the exterior, not seen the interior yet, but they should invest in good interior designers to come up with jaw dropping dashboards like what the Koreans did.

• paklang on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:40 am

sebab rupa macam saga,kita bagi dia nama ‘grand saga’..

• samsam on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:41 am

the body share with inspira ?

• ha..ha.. Byk komen pasal design,ckp designer x kreatif, kena outsourced n bla..bla..bla..terpulang,hak masing2.

Tp design ini tlh didesignkan oleh italdesign house, dh outsourcedpun. Skrg,italdesign telah dibeli oleh vw group utk mendesign kete diaorg cam vw up n future car walupun ada walter da silva kat dlm vw group. Dulu ada peter schreyer,tp dh g kia. Cume hyundai jek pkai internal designer tp diaorg dh ada design centre kat europe.

Aku rasalah, sbb design dh outsourced, coz nampak buruk krn pkai logo prtn. Cer tukar pkai logo honda ke,vw ke,toyota ke n etc, mesti persepsi berubah. Klu suh donato coco buat designpun, chriss bangle keh, slagi ada logo proton, mesti ckp design xlawo, out off proportion n etc.

Tp xslhkan org ramai coz brand prtn masih belum kuat,masih ada mimpi ngeri bg segelintir rakyat malaysia. Cume yg perlu,prtn kena naikkan image brand dulu,br prtn buat design aper sekalipun,mesti org puji. Mcm ada org ckp,1st impression amat penting,mmg btl,tp masyarakat malaysia nih pelik ckit. Cam forte, first impression mmg lawo, tp alih2 beli vios jugakkan. So,kat sini,brand image amat penting,terutama kat malaysia.

Toyota,klu bwk kuar kete design cam naza suterapun akan jd top sales coz ianya toyota. Hondapun sama, mcm city previous gen, xberapa nak cantik,tp sales,ok jek.

So, upmarket the brand, prtn bleh sukses.

• kekuda on Feb 27, 2012 at 4:52 pm

orang itali design kereta kebanyakannya tak lawa sebab tak ikut taste kita.

• ahmad nasim on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Mat,

Komen you mmg Terbaeeeekkkk……like 1000X

• ponyo on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:03 am

the up-lifted but style some how make me think of BMW x6.

• Justice on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:20 am

luaran,boleh tahan..tapi spec n harga belum tau lg..

• front – honda crz
    back – jaguar xf

=.=

• izack04 on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:00 am

From what i know, the design changed a lot because of the inability of our local car manufacturer to follow the prototype design, that’s why they end up with this non curving front grill +headlamp and curve LED reflector+backlamp rear design…..i really insist they should do the the prototype design since they create the hype of futuristic design environment in proton….. the prototype design would really impress it’s future customer.

• Remember the famous Einstein sayings?
    “Doing the same thing to achieve different results = Insanity!”

Exactly what is Protongkat doing all over again now always kidding themselves lah! Global car konon!

Anyway great to see still lots of fools duped again and it proved that Dilbert theory is always true:
    “How do sell a bad product?”
    “Sell it to stupid people!”

• clutch basah on Feb 27, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Dude,

“Doing the same thing to achieve different results = Insanity!”

I think you are doing it every time, almost all your post sounds similar. now look who’s going insane. Go get help dude.

• Highwaystar82 on Feb 27, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Ppl who would buy these cars are not stupid.. they buy what they can afford..
      Stupid is when you buy a car something far expensive and cannot pay monthly for it.. and then car kena tarik..

so, since your’re not gonna buy it.. why comment?

• I am not afford to buy expensive car is because of the government. I am not afford to buy expensive car but I will buy secondhand honda instead of this ugly proton.

Stupid is u buy this proton just because u r proton supporter and u dont want proton to died.

I ALSO DONT WANT PROTON TO DIED but how u want me to own an ugly car? I hope proton come out with good design before this. Now I am disappointing.

• agogo on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:52 am

“You am not to buy because you am not have education and a good job..”

Go back to school, study a little harder, get a better job, and just maybe, you can afford a better car.

and yes, you are terribly disappointing.

• ong chin aun on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Most important thing is the Engine and its transmission whether there is an option of Auto and Manual. Should included manual. There are many advantages for Manual transmission, beside prize lower , better fuel saver,better pick-up etc.

• i believe this new model just same like other typical protons, full list of problem.

• Outsider on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm

I wonder why complaining rear side is ugly…i am not totally agree….rear side looks jaguar XF or if you modified by using 17-18 inch rim size, it will be like below picture…

http://www.netautocar.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/Alpina-BMW-B3-GT3-rear-side.jpg

OR

http://www.automotorblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/jaguar-xf-32.jpg

• unnon on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:28 pm

they have set in their mind that proton design is always bad loh. i also found that the rear design is actually okay.. it’s all the matter of the angle of this pics been taken.. at the first pics we all critics that the rear design is ugly. but in this pic, it’s actually an okay design.

i’m sure there will be many accessories available to make up this car in the market after the launch.

• tenine on Feb 27, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Rumors about this car new features make this car sound interesting but from this picture i noticed no reverse sensor? hehehe!

• i think this car use current inspira chasis, from the side chasis look similar to inspira. May be there is a deal between p1 and mitsu…mitsu said, we can’t sell lancer in Malaysia. we give this to p1 but before that p1 must sell our lancer as per our target..then how? change logo first la…then.. lets p1 modify to said p1 car.. anyway good bisnes.

• Feeda on Feb 27, 2012 at 1:49 pm

ugly and old fashion design…

• vroom on Feb 27, 2012 at 2:07 pm

It seems that the p3-21A will create history for Proton…facelift version will come out before lauching the real car due to all of the comment made here…no business if no stupid people in this world…thats how people survive over others stupidity. But it is clearly stupid buying 1.5L car at the price of 2.0L car where a lot of things left behind….

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 27, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Looking at the P3 back makes me dizzy, so many lines and they don’t even align properly. Good luck!

• macam haram ………kalau macam ni design itu chief designer d proton tu boleh berhenti la jadi designer ………tukar orang lain lah………….macam……………

• thebosssedangbercakap on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:37 pm

bukan kau sorang je rasa macam tu, majoriti pun rs design macam haram.

• unnon on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:24 pm

tukar dgn ko lah jon. hire ko je jd designer proton. sbb ko tau yg ni macam haram kn?? ko mesti ada design lg power dari ni..

ko keje la ngan proton. dh siap design nnt tunjuk kt paultan. biar ktorang lak komen mcm haram ke x.

• Aaron Isaac on Feb 27, 2012 at 4:06 pm

it looks like its born sad!!! Put it back in the mother’s womb!! Tak Nak la weii!!!!! Why on earth is the bonnet so high?? Yeesh

• facepalmonkey on Feb 27, 2012 at 4:32 pm

My fear is realised!!!! The rear is over designed….. too much lines & too complicated!!
    Look like some 90s rubbish!!! The side profile of the car is unchanged from the concept mockup…..It’s look like crap too….
    Why can’t they employ some proper designer with good track record???
    Why still giving us some schoolboy work……….Proton deserved their result. If they went down…they should ask themselve what they should have done better. Start with the car design!!

• Leonardo on Feb 27, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Yeah la as ugly as the Vios and the MyVi!!

• The design for front is ok, for the back, the divider strip mess up the design, they should use other design element to cover up the empty space around the car plate holder. Just my 2 cents!

• The car looks like recycle chasis from takterPersona (and takterPersona is a recycle chasis from Gene.2).

Just add extension metal bars here and there, and Walah! A new car. Charge R&D RM500Million and people from the R&D make money from thin air.

Same old story, with a different cover. My final verdict, I’ll pass. Haha.

• Absolute Rider on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Exora platform!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:18 am

seems like an inspira licensed platform…The side profile look exactly like the inspira(Mitsubishi based platform)

• Absolute Rider on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Perodua Myvi Lagi best and lagi power lagi best also using old – the first generation myvi platform / chasis and sell it up to over RM60k.

What do you want to say?

Even can’t use correct language. PLUS now they might going to assemble and build car upto 1.8L on sedan models. Are you going to complaint and say because of Perodua we can’t get cheaper car just like people complaining because of Proton we can’t get cheaper car?

Same of story from you too. Sound familiar?

• Absolute Rider on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Perodua Myvi Lagi best and lagi power lagi best also using old – the first generation myvi platform / chasis and sell it up to over RM60k.

What do you want to say?

Even can’t use correct language. PLUS now they might going to assemble and build car upto 1.8L on sedan models. Are you going to complaint and say because of Perodua we can’t get cheaper car just like people complaining because of Proton we can’t get cheaper car?

Same old story from you too. Sound familiar?

• one more thing that will be in mind of all malaysian is quality …i still remember my father 1st car. its a proton wira year 97. we had our 1st journey to johor baru with noisy suspension, blown head lamp and the worse was when water splash to my face when the rear door seal was poorly fitted. we are not from a rich family.. i was cry at that time to see my father…he take 14 year to buy …huhu..proton ….

• Julian Lee on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:10 pm

BMW design better

• even when compare beemer with veyron, you would say beemer is faster, idiot

• asal p1 keluar model baru je ramai la yg kutuk n komen yg x semena2…dr dlu lg.tp cuba tengok berapa ramai yg guna kereta p1??wake up la malaysian..this is our product n identity…why don’t you support it?
    Pd hemat aku model ni just perantaraan sebelum real TUAH dikeluarkn.rasanya model p3-21a ni adalah pengganti WIRA.cuba peratikan design lampu belakang model ni dgn wira..seperti ada persamaan.dan model ni juga ada hatchback model.
    Dan mgkn selepas model ni keluar barula real TUAH akan dikeluarkan as p1 sedan mewah utk menggantikan PERDANA.sebabnya klu di nilai dari rupa paras perdana dgn TUAH mcm ada kesinambungannya terutamanya pada bhg belakang…rasa2nya tu la sebab nape p3-21a ni x sama spt TUAH concept…setuju???

• cazran on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:02 pm

any new photo please…. :(

• intercooler on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:11 am

i personally thinks that this model is by far best design from Proton. but i don’t understand one thing, if Proton already had plans for this model, why did they launch Inspira? This model has the almost identical size of Inspira. More choice perhaps? 1.6 Turbo vs 1.8/2.0 NA?

• oligopoli on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:10 am

exactly what i thought. this p3-21A suppose to replace persona, but look like the spec may be better than inspira. perhaps proton want to upgrade inspira after this?

• I sad because it is ugly. I angry because I love malaysia.

• Rear is like audi A6 and A8.

• Front is like kia forte.

• apexg2 on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:57 am

not very good for me…last saturday, saw this model testing in highway….just think, 1.3 hybrid car can follow this car in fast speed…just upset with the spec given…so high but after that chasing….im sad….but anyway. nice effort to proton….introducing 7 gear(think so la) even u didn’t try 6 gear first….

anyway, good luck to proton…

• nothing wrong with that, 1.3 engine can go 180km/h without problem, how much you want to drive, 250km/h?

try tight corners, that’s proton speciality, jap cars will be left behind

• 99ners on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:41 pm

agreed.. I saw my bro and his friend corolla 4age and civic b16a outdo by saga fl by my own eyes. Track is Serendah to genting…

• NORIKO on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:32 am

THE UGLIEST CAR I’VE EVER SEEN

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:57 am

Tiga Minggu lagi je kete ni nak keluar…. lepas test drive… lantak lah nak komen apa pun….. kalau dapat kat aku .. aku Lenjan habis… peduli ape dengan jenama… kalau aku nak pakai, aku beli jugak….duit aku… nak kondem buat apa… buat sakit kepala je..

• hurm, design by italdesign inside n out, consult by magna styer, cvt by punch, mt by getrag, pwrtrain by lotus, ecu easyU 32bit bu continental ag,chasis tune from exora platform,enhance,upgrade n improve by lotus and proton, using hot press method, leather same vendor as beemer, suspension by kayaba,but then,the main problem still assemble by malaysian in malaysia with proton emblem.

Fit n finish still in question, assembling flaw still in question, and brand reputation still in question. If prtn manage to solve all in questions, i think it will be a good product.

• Jernson on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:50 am

proton designer only design car which is they feel nice. Shiok Sendiri!!

• DKBOSS on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:52 am

Another piece of junk from the tanjung malim junk factory !!!!!

Words cannot comprehend how stupid Proton is when they showed the Tuah at KL motor show and everybody loved the design of the car, why can’t they deliver a car like that knowing majority of the people who saw the car and even the talk on the internet gave the thumbs up for that design !!!!

Simple answer is because it was not Proton’s design to begin with in any way and possible not even manufacturer by Proton, they just paid money to some foreign car manufacturer company to come up with that design and show off something they can never produce to gain popularity !!!

“Stupid is as stupid does” this can be Proton’s new motto !!!

• AuntyHope on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:30 pm

*sigh* So near but yet so far. Why Proton? Why? The rear design is just -Urgh!- mundane, dull, boring and dated. With interesting, better and futuristic rear design you could have salvaged your image with this car. But noooooooo you always want to sell yourself short. What? Do you have some sort if disorder or sumtin’? Some human sickness called masochistic I guess. Maybe there is a patent issue with other car makers regarding the rear design (I am just guessing) but there are still more interesting designs to choose from I believe. We are living in a big universe with lot of pretty little things that you can get inspired from. The butterfly wings perhaps? Wait, Hyundai already did that. Anyways, remember the initial rear design of Savvy? (You should. You designed it.) The “Wau” inspired design. People hated it. And my friends still joke about it every time they saw one on the road. Yes, that what it is, a joke. We call it a tortoise tail. Hurmmm come to think of it. You always have some sort of problems with your rear design aren’t you. Are you even hiring the right kind of people for that section? Before it become a patent fired them! Immediately! They should be proud for being designated as the designers for our national’s car rear end. But the result of their laboring shows otherwise. The nerves of some people. If you don’t act now you would continue to be the butt of joke because you pick a hideous butt for your car. Don’t get me wrong. I am proud of Proton. Always have. It’s our pride and joy as a Malaysian. But, the decision that you make always makes people wonder whether you deserve the saving or not. Now, my comment might sound shallow and “assy” since all I ranted about is the car’s rear-end cosmetic issue but to be fair I adore the front and the headlamp design. I know a lot of people love it too. Kudos for that. It is simply stunning. Last but not least, good luck with designing the new body kit for the upcoming flx or se or whatchamacallit.

• Caruser on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:32 pm

There is a fair share of likes and dislikes on the looks of this car but I think its ok. Have to see the car in person before one can make a final judgement. For me, if the price is reasonable, specs are not outdated and performance is not below average, I will consider to buy it. ….what to do….cannot afford a beemer or even a VW

• izhar on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:26 pm

tinted hitam dari lampu signal ke reverse sampai ke lampu boot..pastu kat line atas no plate tu…letak refector merah sama panjang dengan lampu boot…so nampaklah layer merah, hitam, merah…

• slayer on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Hi. I x want to put more critics to this car. Just I am really hoping that Proton will produce a solid Proton emblem as I already saw a lot of new generation Saga and Persona where they have their Proton emblem rip off from the grill and bonnet. When I asked the owners, they mentioned that the glue or what materials used to attach the emblem is weak.

I am also hoping that Proton can improve further on Campro engine as it is not fuel efficient based on my ride on Persona. We might not feel the burden much with the current oil price but if it is increases in the future, then you will notice how bad the Campro performance is.

Am hoping Proton will be more successful in future with greater models to offer!

• slayer on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Who ever visited KLIMS 2010 must noticed that TUAH is not a full prototype model yet compare to P2 where they have shown their actual prototype of Bezza. Seems they are really well prepared and P1 needs to learn from that.

• unnon on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:09 pm

because p1 prepared 5 prototype at the same time loo.. p2? only one model.. P2 need to learn from that. =b

• is it really bezza the actual prototype? Still waiting for that,its already 2012, so bezza supposed to come out atleast in 2013. Tuah prototype,actually same platform as p321a, already will be launch this year,despite some design change due to engineering process n cost, which design inside n out by italdesign(even many critisize prtn design team,which not accountable for the design, so,better blaming italdesign).

Waiting for bezza to come out coz for real prototype,it shud be not least than 2 years to produce coz nowadays, it only take minimum 18 month to produce a car, more than that, cost will be higher. Hopefully to see it soon, but it seems, full prototype of bezza, is not likely to be produce unless daihatsu@toyota develop it first, not by p2.

I think now p2 r focusing on assembling e at gearbox rather than develop car from scratch. Atleast they are doing something rite.

• by the way,they are many type of prototype and concept, many just to show their design team creativity without engineering n cost limitation. Some for show the engineering capability such as powertrain.Some are called near to production prototype which will come out as production with minor adjustment.

Some concept even from prtn being produce,some are not,like r3 concept.

But atlast, still depend on engineering limitation n cost limitation. U can make really wonderful concept like tata nano euro which look good, but in the end, since tata nano is a budget car with low price, end product really diff.

Unless engineering,cost n price of car is not an object, they can produce it wonderfully.

U can check initial concept of latio,it looks really wonderful, but end product, come out differently. You shud look out honda’s new concept for accord at japan motorshow,look really fantastic, inside n out, but then, when production, interior wouldnt be tha same, exterior also, but what u can see the same is the design theme only. Look at the steering wheel of honda concept, which wouldnt be produce at all. Even the blue lighting colored front end,including the grill, do u think that will come out in production?

Nope,i dont think so. Some says land rover evoque same as concept, but early concept, with wood seat n really futuristic interior, not come out in production. Same as exterior. Just latest prototype n concept exterior come out in production but with minor adjustment.

I think prtn never mentioned tuah is final prototype or nearly end production model, if i not mistaken dsz only said that up coming model will be based on tuah, which actually the same platform, nearly the same dimension, an actually nearly the same theme.

Even vw when they buy italdesign, used emas concept which they have right to do so as emas initial design is italdesign ip,show it off, but the rear light doesnt come out as production.

Come on people, be realistic n matured when commenting. You can like n dislike. But using inappropriate word cursing the design team like the end of the world(wrong cursing actually,supposed to curse italdesign), like we really know how to design cars according to safety legislation, aerodynamic, engeneering adherence, cost limitation n etc.

Critics are good, but cursing n insulting is not the way to throw comments. U can critics as much as u want to make it as what design u desire, but becareful in using words. Like ugly,is a better word to use than this design is like s**t. I think we all grown up, atleast i think so :-).

• inderaloka on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:51 pm

By looking at the size of the badge, I guess this car size is in the same size as Proton Waja.

• nope, bigger than waja, bigger than civic!
      proton is neat in hiding the size like gen2

• jerry tan on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:38 pm

sorry to all Proton fan boys….. ini reka bentuk luaran tak lawa….nampak cacat…. no more comment

• If you don’t like the rear design then you must also not like the Accord and one BMW rear design as well. I think the rear design of this Proton suits the overall design.

• aqamoha aka xhacker on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:02 pm

dear paultan,

can u pls delete this post? the image has become issue.. i dont wan other peoples to get in trouble bcuz of me.. thanks..

anything regarding this thing, pls email me at [email protected]

tq.

• quality is more important than their looks. that why ‘ugly’ car like myvi (frog ass) and vios (dugong) still got many buyers. korean car, the design is really fantastic, but why not many peopoe want to pay for it?/

• kotay on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:04 pm

it is because of malaysian mentality. if the japanese or european sell shit, they are the first to buy it.

• NORIKO says:

NORIKO is THE UGLIEST people I’VE EVER SEEN on earth. So your mentality just like orang utan

• Hugo Andore says:

If you think that living and working in other countries will make you affordable to buy ferrari, then go berambus samalu from malaysia and live somewhere.

• commando says:
    I have been using persona since 2007 and now its mileage is 75000 km, so far no problem except wear and tear parts.

• amirad on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:52 am

Looks like Proton is implementing ‘understated elegance’ design. There is no wow factor but I think the looks will grow in time. At first, I too felt the car looks bland but after several times looking at different angles, the car is starting to look quite nice really. Love at first sight it is not. Hopefully the drive, the engine and interior will be equivalent or even better than Japs C-segment contenders.

• kelvin on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:04 pm

hello proton the if u want to have good sell on tuah do the model like concept tuah not this p3-21a is look like //????????? no body like

• Serik Pakai Proton on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Engine mesti bising ni, macam model2 yang sebelum ni jugak! Under power confirm..

• turbocharged engine still underpower? funniest joke of the year

• rosdi on Mar 04, 2012 at 9:24 pm

This time turbocharged lah.. noise I am not sure.. but power is all there, very powerful torque..

• Proton Impian?

• ProtonKia on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:09 am

P3-21a launching this month has been postponed to next month….

• izzad on Mar 09, 2012 at 1:03 am

i gotta feel its gonna be a good looking car but not on the first model. wait for the second or third it’s gonna be a good one. also, am i the only one noticing that there’s a bit of camaro ‘bumblebee’ front?

• proton preve much much better than other car ,its fact,much much better than vios,kia forte ,honda city and viva.i believe it.the price tag is not complein because goverment protect this car,so toyota vios are expensive than this car