SPYSHOT: Proton P3-21A Persona R rear uncovered!

Here’s another leaked shot of the soon to be launched Proton P3-21A, posted over at funtasticko. Don’t mind the slightly misaligned bootlid, it’s probably because the boot was not shut properly. The horizontal strip running across the bootlid is similiar to the one found on the Proton Exora – although it’s body coloured here, perhaps like the Exora it will be finished in chrome on high end models. What do you think of the design so far? It’s quite a departure from the Proton Tuah Concept eh?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cazran on Feb 06, 2012 at 7:43 pm

nice.. :)

• Now we need uncovered side profile and front and hope someone rendered to show more less actual P3-21A

• Obama on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:59 am

looking at the rear made me speechless…i dont hv this kind of feeling before.

• kimi_ on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:41 pm

UGLY like shit!!!!

• at least better dan Dugong’s (vios) backside…

• Mokmeng on Feb 08, 2012 at 10:03 am

haha..yet this rear still ugly..hopefully after few months launched,there will be other facelift model (FL,FLX,SE bla bla..) that more ‘cantek’ than this one..add up some Tuah DNA to this model..just like what happen to new saga..

• asyraf on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:48 pm

if i replace the proton emblem to bmw or honda or whatever continental cars surely you’ll say OMG OMG OMG thats so cool i want oneee LOL LOL. Dumb.

• _xXx_ on Feb 07, 2012 at 2:35 am

Bad impresssion/experience from Protong. Don’t blame the ppl.

• Just me on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:22 am

That’s what some people will do, replaced the Proton Emblem with MItsubishi and some even modify the grill, bumper to make it looks like one. Guess, want to buy Mitsubishi, but too expensive then buy Proton instead and modify to make it looks like Mitsubishi. Shame shame. BTW, lately there are people modify BLM to look like Subaru. What joke …

• campor on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:24 pm

even nissan navara grille ppl convert to hummer grill.. apa kes…

• BN=Barang Naik on Feb 07, 2012 at 3:54 pm

only you will say that..Chris Bangle designed BMW cars were curse like hell by the public!

• Who? U?

• duluprotonkiniproton on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:22 pm

dont agree

• ahaks on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:31 am

dulu proton kini proton, sebab kerja malas kakakakaka

• jgn pandang rendah org pakai proton dowh.. ade gak org drive proton tp rumah besar nak mampus.. bukan diorg xde duit pun, cuma bukan jenis show off..

• kalau x show off tak perlu rumah besar 7 bilik duduk sepasang suami isteri!

• kantoi on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:04 am

lol, admit it, if money is not an issue, you will not buy a proton. The only reason you are buying one is because of the expensive price tags on the Japanese, European or even the Korean car. LOL

• orang rumah besar tapi kereta proton tu selalunya guna kereta tu kerja. belasah guna sampai calar, kemek dll tak rasa ralat pun.

• kanawashi on Feb 08, 2012 at 7:50 pm

orang yang ada rumah banyak biasanya takan beli Proton, diorang lebih suka beli Vios atau Altis sebab lebih jimat minyak dan berjenama,

• dirtyoldmen on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:57 am

ok ok we get it. you’re a whiny b*tch.

• Master Pain on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:09 am

Ugly like shit, dats rite. Juz like u! Admit it, shit head!

• hisham on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Kimi…its not ugly as shit…but ugly as u!!!

• I always believe proton can design a very good lookin car, just look at their concept….but if proton design better than foreign car, then grey imports cronies cannot cari makan….perhaps that’s why they’re FORCED by HIDDEN HAND to tone it down

• UGLY, out of my next car listing

• insan on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Zact, klw nak yang smart, bayar lebih la bro.. sesuai lah dengan harga.. muak dengan sikap malaysian yang nak kete smart, pickup, body mantap, power tp nak beli dengan harga rendah.. Mana nak cr bro… Kalau ko nak yang hebat mantap tu, ko beli BMW ke Audi.. Br kne dengan harga nya bro.. Mampu? adehhh =_=’

• car of the year 2012

• ProfessorKING on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Wow tis car is more beautiful than new three siri!! Well done ploton!

• policeman on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Not as good as I imagined it would be.

Proton badge is too large, What’s with the weird line under the tail lamp?

Somehow the odd Proton look is there. The same odd look in Saga’s

Design wise, I say it looks like a 10 year old Korean car.

• TheReturn on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:42 am

I think most people don’t like it.
        If this is the final design, I would go for MyVi 1.5 or Alza.
        I’m sad over this design.
        I was expecting curvy design like City or Forte.
        This is ridiculous.

• _xXx_ on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:51 am

excuse me, what does tuah mean? old? my goodness why picked such a name?

• blmer on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:47 am

more like persona with new tail lamp to me..

• Disgusting ! Dugong is better looking than this !

• Lim Kopi on Feb 07, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Whether nice or not … I think MOST MALAYSIANS RATHER NOT HAVE A PROTON IN OUR LIVES ….

Lets VOTE to that … THUMBS UP IF YES ….

• OMG…very nice for the car spec…..but the rear 1 looked like forte,but actually not…look more like the civic model yang tak sampai di msia.

• yeooo on Feb 06, 2012 at 7:44 pm

rear seems conservative.. hope it blends well with the rest of the car.. however, it seems rather lacking of details.. probably it’s the base line..

• read http://chedet.cc/blog/?p=686. He gave some clues.. may be its tuah/p321a??

• rafieldo on Feb 06, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Hope no problem in terms of quality

• ambikau on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:00 pm

even rebadged the Inspira also got poor QC, what you expect from a car wholly develop from Proton? LOL

• It looks just OK in this shot…but it should look better than the current persona’s rear in real metal. And to me most important is: it must have a reasonably powerful and fuel efficient engine. Please don’t put a campro into it…Proton..

• maliq on Feb 06, 2012 at 7:46 pm

please dont sell it too expensive or i will not buy proton anymore

• I already like it

• maliq on Feb 06, 2012 at 7:46 pm

please dont sell it too expensive or i will not buy proton anymore..

• reasonable price please on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:48 am

same with me. i dont care much bout the design, it is too subjective. however the price would be really2 sensitive to me. make it expensive and we are not going to support you Proton.

• exJAVANESE on Feb 07, 2012 at 2:40 am

Come on…….we need design in our life laa dude…….see Europe, japan, us.. their mentality toward design and innovation are very strong… technology + design =WOW

that why WE buy their product coz they put their soul while they design it…
        wake up Malaysian…build up design-ism awareness in our community…we are fall way behind…

• Wisdom on Feb 08, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Its not about cheap or expensive.

I dont mind if Proton come up with a RM250K car as long as the car can match the price, in term of quality, fit finish, engineering etc…

Malaysian keeps pushing the price down while asking for a perfect car…..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 06, 2012 at 7:56 pm

looks like a stunted jaguar xf. sorry. it’s just not pretty at all. i’m severely disappointed by the potential of the concept and am all ready for bashing from the proton fanboys.

• anonymous on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:01 pm

is this car will be on top of car selling this year??

• kancildriver on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Reminds me of the old old Sentra. The one that has plate number on bumper. Can’t remember which year model.

• with design like that should price below RM60k :P

• anonymous on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:05 pm

nice,and hope the quality will be nice too…nice car,bad quality will make it worst..

• pesal on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:05 pm

mcm xsiap je design ni…ye la kn…proton…what do you expect…hmmm…

• exJAVANESE on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:17 am

nak buat mcam mana bro…kata ITALDESIGN yang design..hihi

Honesty from my design perspective, it doesn’t have WOW effect into it, they just common and straight forward design…might be it their target is euro market..not asia?? dunno…

But for asia…i prefer Hunyndai, kia, Ford (fiesta) design…(really love with kia soul too..NAZA..pls bring it in…huhu)

• anti-vios on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:05 pm

nampak pelik….

• pororo on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Yah!! langsung xde mcm design prototype tuah tu, walaupun name nye prototaip at that time, at least buatlah nampak mcm yg prototype, x 100% same pon xpe … alahai, dah nak macam forte belakangnye…

• benar.gua sakihati tgk design jadi mcm ni. kalo vendor tak boleh nak siapkan design lampu at least mcm prototaip, harapnya DRB boleh buang je vendor yang mcm sampah ni.

• came on proton on Mar 26, 2012 at 1:27 am

gua dah tgk semua mmg sakit hati dr belakang p3 nie.. lampu cacat.. serius… letak la lampu tuah adoi… ni dok design change for cost saving.. so conclusion = rubbish!

• lets see in 360

• Should use at least CFE engine..

• waja2006 on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Too bad, still used IAFM+ engine for Std and Exec model, only Premium model have CFE and price for Premium model around 75K.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 08, 2012 at 7:22 am

That’s so underpowered laa considering the top-spec getting the CFE engine. Even the new 1.6 IAFM+ engine loses two horses compared to older IAFM engine. They should at least bolt on the CPS engine for the lower-spec models.

• Gabla on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Now it looks rather exclusive than the concept which looks like Ah Beng’s cheap design.

• Oh no!!! so ugly!!!! why not stick to the Proton Tuah concept design??? aya!! make me excited for nothing last time :(

• skiborne on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:13 pm

looks so jaguar.

• Quattrozx on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:14 pm

The rear looks as ugly as that prius and insight..
    5 thumbs down

• mustafa on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:35 am

wahh…you got 5 thumbs ah…

• Boleh on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:19 pm

5 thumbs…valid…as long as kutuk proton..gua tak kisah..memang proton tahi kepala bapak punya hal kita seksa…1000 thumbs pun tak kisah oi…

• exJAVANESE on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:14 pm

hmmm… play-safe design but still ok! let’s see how is it later on….fuufuu

• jsooz on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:15 pm

for some reason it looks cheap…hmm…hope i’ll be proven wrong

• GummyBear on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:16 pm

OMG, it’s the rear end of the Jag XF…..only this time it’s not on a Chinese car. it’s on our OWN national car! hot damn…Proton designers, please GTFO. #idontwannaliveonthisplanetanymore

• 4agze on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Quite a so-so compared to Tuah but I do understand concept car will never look the same with the production one..very much a long lasting European safe design as oppose to Korean styling..Lets reserved our judgement until we see the whole vehicle..less than 2 months to launch

• As ugly as i think it is now, i hope it will look nice in real life…

• pomen keto on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:21 pm

hmm…im still prefer the concept TUAH look…..

• exJAVANESE on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:32 pm

AGREED with my bro!!!

• jebat on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:07 am

agree! the rear lights from the tuah concept look stunning indeed! could have been a matchpoint winner. This one hampeh, macam korean car!

• pomen keto on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:53 pm

even korean car also much more better than this look….

• wei ong on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:25 pm

errrrrr persona lagi cantik maaaaaaaaa….

• peter_pj on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:25 pm

I like it too.

Only comments:-
    – Better if the horizontal bar was chrome (quite sure it would be highline feature)
    – The crease line under the rear-lamps is a bit worrying – hopefully it fits when viewing the real product
    – Why key based boot access? Hopefully highline gets electronic/push-button type access.

From a product line-up perspective, not sure how this product will fit-in with the Inspira though. The 1.6CFE highline is likely to be as powerful (if not more) and better spec then the Inspira 2.0P. Correct me if I am wrong, but both models are the same size as well right?

• yeah. almost. with 2.0L equivalent power engine, this baby could bring back the satria GTi golden era. no no, even better. should with CFE could drag to 100 from stationary slightly less than 7.8 sec.(better than GTi).

• waja2006 on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Too bad no Manual version for CFE? so impossible to get 7.8s, CFE with CVT mostly around 10s.

• LNick on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:15 pm

We will have to wait and see. If there is a 1.6CFE engine mated with an acceptable transmission then I don’t see any reason to get an inspira at all.
      Lets just hope they price this car reasonably.

• Estimosis on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Lets hope TM not redesign it!

• joepng on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:25 pm

just bring it on!!..

• Jimmy Lim on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Basically behind doesn’t make much difference from current Persona line up. Then again hoping for something different and eye catching. Price wise..

• zaidS on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:30 pm

ok r tuh..adeler lain sket dri persona skang..
    xsabo plak rasenyer teman nk tunggu kete nie kuor hihihhi….
    tahniah proton….

• bReaL on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:30 pm

why it looks sooo proton

• drMpower on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:39 pm

i am sorry, proton need to hire an exceptional designer.
    please. this is not what i expect from what supposed to be the bread n butter model
    they told us this gonna be marketed around the world something like a general proton for the globe etc etc

throw money and hire the best people.
    or designer who design cars. every single of them has a price.

by the look of it i can only imagine it is styled by an engineer and with all due respect engineer makes a car operate but a designer designs a great looking car.

• accord on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:52 pm

my advice to u.. don’t make assumption.

• and pick the best vendor as well. if certain vendors cannot do what proton request, just give it to others.

• bila la encik azlan othman ni nak resign. Bagi la orang lain jadi head of dept styling tu oii

• Najib R on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Wow! This looks like the new bmw 3 series combined with mercedes c class. Well done Proton! This will be the saviour of proton. Everybody will buy this car. I love proton very very much. Its the 1 malaysia car you know.

• Sarcasm much?

• johnson on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:47 am

are you blind or know anything about cars?how can you compare this local proton with
      BMW and Merc?you are comparing imported yogurt with malaysian dadih.

• jebat on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:10 am

bodoh, yes, we do compare imported yogurt with malaysian dadih! it’s past due time already.

• confused on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Ye ke “boot was not shut properly”…?

Anyway, still ugly. I was hoping better than this..

• wishbone on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:54 pm

produce ur own car then,,,,would u afford to buy if ur dreamed car is beyond ur reach..

• MAI Apprentice on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:41 pm

man.. its far away similar to tuah.. well.. we’ll wait for the launch..

• the back light they said LED…superbbb

• JoE2012 on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Dear All, Pls wait until the actual launch, then decide to buy or not to buy. This is a very impressive car, I can tell you. you will know more when it is launched and when you see the features and specs… dont understimate the P1….

• sonyman on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:26 am

agreed, looking by what dsz announced, it looks interesting

• elkabten on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:58 pm

I guess unproportioned boot design is Proton’s design philosophy. Very dissappointed.

• tok-kok on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Not nice at all lah!

Kia Forte(2008) has a better design, so does Ford Fiesta (2008).

• selene on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:01 pm

nothing special…but not bad try again la..

• Mega/Liverpool on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Getting there……………
    I wonder how much GM input it has?……I noticed that Proton seem to do projects with everyone, Japan,France…GM Europe?

I like the car from what i seen & i am not trying to be a kill joy but if Proton want UK sales it WILL need a Hatch verson. Also for UK/Euro markets diesel is BIG, GM users a Fiat 1.3 diesel in the new Sonic & it makes 95 CO2’s (Well under the 100 CO2 tax limt)…..0-60 in 11.7 & 108mph flat out but 60-70 MPG….

Perhaps Proton could use this motor?……..The market for inexpensive low CO2 cars in the UK will explode in the coming years. You see lots of low income people have bought old BMW’s as their cars……but with MUCH higher oil prices coming they will have no choice but dump the 25 mpg BMW for a 60 MPG car….
    Cheers
    Mike/Liverpool….(In bed with Ye Old English cold)

• critic_A on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:06 pm

some ppl only saw the back of the car and say its ugly~ ==” they hav very gd imagination by the way~ there is more than meets the eye for this new proton!

• statistician on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:11 pm

The Car of The Century ! Some call this The Mother of All Cars !

• pedobear on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:13 pm

potong website spec info

price range must be around persona price +/- 3-5k.

how bout overstock persona? got 10k rebate?

nice, I can buy persona liao at 30k+

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Hehe can compete with china car like cherry, they shud follow kia footsteps hiring peter schreyer for conti look, proton now move backwards, good luck!

• mamat on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Only one word I can say now…Very ugly..fucking shit..i expected the rear lamp will become audi…haha…better buy viva…

• BakKutTeh on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:16 pm

it doesn’t even look solid. looks like cheap metal like the current persona.

• alistair lim li wei on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:16 pm

looks neat and simple. But it’s too boring………………

• pedobear88 on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:18 pm

price must be around persona price.
    how about overstock persona? ada sales ke?

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Yup…. more than 2K and increasing….. That’s what I see from the salesman note 2 days ago

• donadoni on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:18 pm

this is a joke. global player? dream on lah.

• I thought it was a china car.

• this is going to be really personal — i dont like the rear….

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:24 pm

If this car were to compete with sushi or kimchi, i may say its still far to chase. Design is just dissappointing from concept. Let see the head if it can wow us.

• lanzxervia on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:25 pm

HOLLLLYYY tutttttttttttttttttttttttttttt loose my appetite..how come be like this aiyaaaaaa li mu kau chowwaaaa please larh proton see my design–>http://lanzxervia.deviantart.com/art/next-inspiraaa-282990200

this rear design are so lameee…

• shawal on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:25 pm

If its good , and the better choice , its a no brainer
    if it sucks , then expect more bashing

overall , the design looks ok, nothing to shout about…

• mivec101 on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:26 pm

look like rear fog lamps there?!
    if true, that will be good especially when driving in heavy rain.

• paul ogawa on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:27 pm

I think Kimi like his shittttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt so much

• price range between RM59K – 75K SHOULD BE ACCEPTABLE…must lower than inspira and higher than persona HL… ;)

• Design copied from Cherry A160

• John Steele on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:30 pm

A Malaysian passion….

• lanzxervia on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:32 pm

haiya limukau chowwaaaa…proton please consider my design http://lanzxervia.deviantart.com/art/next-inspiraaa-282990200

• Memot on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Proton want to play safe, they will play alround with these design for at least another 5 years.

• Rimaz on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:34 pm

please dont compare to the other car.. jaguar la.. merc + bmw la.. forte la.. its LAME…!

hopefully the final production is much better than this..

yeah, for me, it looks like a cheap car.. boring design?

• driver on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Tawar…

• Ruben on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:39 pm

I like the front but the back here looks really weird to me. Maybe its the angle of the picture. the proton badge looks a bit too big as well. disproportional.

• inderaloka on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Yes Paul, it’s quite a departure from the Proton Tuah Concept.

• Anti-Dugong! on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Overall is nice compared to the ugly Dugong and City.. at least this car is far way better than they both for example this car is equipped with Full spec while Dugong n City is empty! But typical malaysian still will choose those overprice car as long its H and T. Sigh…

• Let see if this car can made Proton more successful than the companies that produce dugong and city.

• komen pon mcm dugong..ckp bnyk lak..hahaha tah nape proton fanboy cukup sakit hati ngan vios n city..pe masalah tah..

• saim kawan baik mu on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:41 pm

hodoh btol model proton nih.. mcm kereta tak siap !

• axsatr on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:43 pm

this car looks like a conti car..like a mash between volvo vw and bmw. its very different from the other car proton makes…good for proton =)

• whatname on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:45 pm

omg what happened to Jaguar XF?? lol sarcasm

• inderaloka on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Biasa je, nothing special. Dah kering idea kot.

• Jimmy on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Original Tuah is beautiful.
    You must be clever.

• AlexTai on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:54 pm

$20 k ++ can buy very reliable car at US.
    What Proton can provide ?

Any one can give a comment, guess what’s the forecast selling price for such proton new model ?

• inderaloka on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Rasanya budaya design takde dalam budaya korporat Proton. Rasanya idea reka bentuk yang bagus tak dapat tempat dalam Proton. Harap-harap selepas diambil alih oleh DRB, semua ini akan berubah. Design syarikat kereta yang lain maju ke depan, tapi design kereta Proton berundur ke belakang. Wake up Proton, it’s 2012!!

• Felix on Feb 06, 2012 at 9:55 pm

I still prefer the TUAH conset … this look like savvy rear … I willing to buy if this sold below RM50k, with 1.6 turbo engine.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:08 pm

The Proton Emblem tooooooo big. Smaller nicer, dont put even nicer.

• alhhin on Feb 07, 2012 at 2:11 am

that what i think so , whole car look unbalance ,maybe photo shot issue but still this look like so unfinished!!! hope real pic will impress us

• margastuah on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:12 pm

the engine will be CFE 1.6..confirm

• Montana on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:17 pm

remind me of accord type R..

• SparC on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:17 pm

it reminds me to one of the saab 900 NG.

Actually it looks ok for me. but after fitted number plate, look abit arkward for me.

• proton on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:23 pm

i heard from proton staff involved in the project that the car is not designed by Proton, but magnus tyr (seriously i dont know how to spell the consultant company)

This is what i heard, could be true or false

• harap lebih baik on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:24 pm

kita duk laung2 dan cuba backup proton..namun apa yg di komen di sini ternyata tidak lah sampai tahap aspected from the public. even dpt undian bagus dan tinggi di blog-blog proton supporters namun sebenarnya Proton bole buat much better than this.. jgn di salahkan engineering dept or manufacturing weakness..tp salahkan kenapa tak bole push bebetul and show for us that Proton is not only a local champ (or so call once a champ?)

proton tetap di hati rakyat tak kira baik atau buruk, cuma kita berharap proton berubah lebih baik itu shj.

• As usual, another ugly/poor quality creation which usually causing bad ROI for proton, then company losing it money again and….(that’s why khazanah give up)
    – then crying help from government loan.
    – but government have no fund due over spend & heavy corruption asking advise from BN/Uxxo group advise.
    – BN/Uxxo say why not raised tax, new categories “1 Malaysia Tax”.
    – but still not enough, instructed EPF step in and loan with low interest.
    – but EPF also left empty pocket due to bad dept from government and to it subsidiary BN/Uxxn company.
    – then increased the employee/employer EPF portion to maybe 20:20 for reason better retired protection policy.
    – ended up…….Malaysian like you & me worry….
    – but you can avoid all this….vote anything “Cow/Ants/Frog/UFO etc” but never on B/N.

• ada spoiler baru ok ni

• wheeler on Feb 08, 2012 at 2:06 pm

oh pleaseeeee………protonnnn…pleaseee…
      Stop putting spoilers on all of your cars…….. Asal H-Line jer ada spoiler…. adduuuhhh… move on to other thingss..

• nas-T on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Nak kereta cantik tapi nak harga murah. dah macamana? typical Malaysian. Proton already work their butt off to make good car while still maintain a good price. Ever you guy thanks them?

• samsam on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:37 am

rebadge save more, why not u suggest them keep on rebadge, no need pening kepala, reading shit comment, look at inspira owner all smiling while driving their car, thanks them? =]

• Seriously, good car with good price? U are just another typical malaysian who doesn’t know the truth or doesn’t bother to find out. If car prices are in a fairground in malaysia, then only prove that it’s a good car with good price. As u said,we really need to thanks proton for giving us the chance to buy car at a much higher price than market price, this include proton’s car also. Wake up dude.

• dont blame proton. blame the government. Proton doesn’t control the price of other cars

• AlCapone on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:37 pm

honestly it looks nice but…
    the badge really spoil it…

• fazron80 on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:38 pm

hmm if this is supposed to be proton’s global car than the designer is daydreaming. It’s just a typical proton design that will only sell in malaysia. Perhaps proton should take the kia route and employ a proven global car designer. If proton claims this car will be accepted oversea than they’re syok sendiri. As for me personally dont have a problem buying this car if proton offers alot of new tech in it. The design so far i’m not impressed and not surprised with what i see. It’s like seeing the rear light and saying yes that the best proton designer can do. Quite dissapointing really.

• Citizen of Selangor on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:12 am

Will(y),

If we vote people who have no money and knows they have very limited time, they will come up with an even bigger crazier project to bleed the country dry. Its a tried and tested program.

Look at Selangor and how rules for developers can change overnight. My friends in property development are suffering due to abrupt changes in zoning laws. If basic amenities like garbage collection still cannot be resolved and as I write my dumpster is now full and I live near to the MB’s home in the same Section 7, I wonder how the rest of the state is doing.

The reason for the EPF increase is clear, business owners have been steadily increasing prices over the years but not increasing wages and salaries. So one way is to increase the EPF contribution. Malaysia doesn’t have a strong union, so that’s one of the ways to increase savings without increasing costs. But if you don’t want do donate your 1% every month to your favourite charity and please don’t claim the tax breaks. Then again do you pay tax ka?

• Citizen of Selangor on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:21 am

VW other than Sicrocco and Passat CC is very consevative. So are many other bread and butter models like the BMW 3 series and C class. Conservative design has less issues of being outdated too quickly and would still be fresh in the used market appeal. But hey work hard, make good money buy any car you like, it doesn’t mean it has to be a Proton, unless you plan to be an under achiever.

• fazron80 on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:49 pm

What the dumpster got to do with this car? The problem with the dumpster is you’re putting people pretty the same mentality with the people you’re voting against. You probably get the same thing. and most probably worst. Elections aside, Malaysia.

Buying other brand is no longer a big problem in Malaysia because as expensive as car price are we can afford it. Perhaps not when you start work but 5-7 years you’ll be financially more stable to get a rm100k over car. The malaysians middle class can afford at least a 1.8 civic or altis, but i just want to be patriotic. Oh why doesn’t proton progressed like the koreans. If they progressed they don’t have to worry with other car manufacturers. Malaysians regardless of what people say still largely want to be patriotic. They want to support our brand. But please wake up Proton. You won’t get anywhere with this design. When malaysians themselves stop to support you then what will happen to you. It’s time you get a real car designer. The top class designers with decades of experience might just want a new challenge. It’s not all about the money. It’s your job to find him/her because the current one just doesn’t cut it. My next car will most likely be a proton not because i can’t afford other brands. It’s just I want to support our own brand. But until when? If this is the only best design proton can offer, my next proton will be the last. I just have to let go.

• Citizen of Selangor on Feb 08, 2012 at 11:08 am

The dumpster is not a big thing right. That’s what you and I think. How can you manage a state successfully if you can’t even manage garbage collection agency termination and re-assignment. Clean enviroment should go beyond politics it’ss everyone’s right and reflects badly on Selangor’s image as a developed state.

With regards to cars, it will continue to be expensive, not only because of the taxes the government wants to make. Its a lucrative source of income because you can’t tax people who do not declare their income, but the same people have huge appetite for cars, large homes etc. Its a simplistic form of consumption tax. Regardless who you vote, the outcome would be the same. Remember Anuar was one of the cheif architect of Malaya’s GST as he wanted to emulate Singapore. So you should know what you’re getting yourself into.

To me we shouldn’t be worried about the prices of cars, its the homes and medical costs as well as education that you should be worried about. I’m passed middle income and I choose not to buy a 100K car unless I can come up with 50% of loan value and pay it below 5 years. Anything more its plain folly. Live below your means, other than my home loan, I have 0 debts.

• fazron80 on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:04 pm

hahaha anwar is probably why the car price is so high in the first place. Buying cars is never a good investment. Buy a 300k Volvo and it won’t be half that value in just few years time. Property, land, gold is a much better investment. Any type of loan even a home loan should be avoided if we can. But can we? Not unless you get a fat cheque worth something like hmmm maybe a few hundred millions? You can buy condos in cash when you have that money. Not one but maybe a few condos. Oh wait that cheque was supposedly used for something else. Say like raising cows maybe. Well give the anwars people that cheque they”ll probably do the same thing too. Might even be worse than a few condos. It’s the same type of people but in opposite directions.That’s why they’re good at lompat katak. Bothways are good at lompat katak.

That aside,
            But we must buy cars even if it’s not a good investment. We want a car that works. Doesn’t fail you. Doesn’t give you headache as an owner of that car. Design wise excluded, that;s what really what an owner wants. A car that can give you something that worth the money you’re paying for it. That’s why I think I give this car a chance. I’ll take the risk because i want to be proud of our Proton. But if this is the best Proton can offer they really should stop being syok sendiri and look at the progressed that other car manufacturers is doing.

• The Badge is a bit oversized and it has Dr M’s nose DNA!

• teamsleepnine on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Other then emas,giugiaro this one right?

• Alinda on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Paul and Danny Tan should conduct a survey on their blog readers. Many are very critical of certain brands, even hostile. They sound like automobile experts.

I hope Paul and Danny will organize a gathering for their blog readers. I want to know who is who and what car they drive.

I have a hunch that the majority of them drive national cars.

• support u.

• Fareez on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:40 am

tottally agree~

• Izhar on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:21 am

Saya dan seluruh keluarga memiliki kereta nasional…proton saga aeroback, proton iswara aeroback, proton iswara sedan, proton wira aeroback, proton persona, proton exora, perodua kancil lampu bulat dan perodua kelisa….hehe…

• fazron80 on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:58 pm

I personally criticize so that they’ll progressed like the Koreans. If they continue being jaguh kampung then what’s the future for them? I own a proton and will support proton but it’s time proton think big. Bigger than malaysia. I want to criticize so Proton will be better. So that we can have better cars from Proton. So that internationally Proton will be in the same league as the Kia, Hyundai. Look at the old Korean car design and compare it to the present design. The Koreans progressed to compete with other car manufacturers. Proton should do the same too. Don’t feel to safe because in Malaysia people buy Protons. People say that it’s the badge. That’s what most malaysians mentality is. Just putting the above car with a Kia, Toyota, Honda badge doesn’t stop me from saying this design doesn’t impressed.

• Wisdom on Feb 08, 2012 at 5:21 pm

For those who give bad comment and currently owning proton cars (recent models), just hold your temp. No need to condemn Proton cars too much, up to the extend this car, not even launch, already victimized.

Cars from other makes and model is also facing problems. Some also unsolved after few visits to SC, some also rattles and got lots of tyre and wind noise, incorrect alignment (especially those models convert right hand from continental make), the list continues…

The most proper way to give your feedback is at least let the car launch first.

• Proud to be Malaysian, Proud of Proton, Proud of the Tuah Concept, Not so proud of this new Persona…

Lights reminds me of Honda Accord…but the whole back is not proportional…very odd actually…and is it me or the proton logo at the back is kinda too big?

• Donthateme on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:01 pm

This is bad. The Proton Tuah concept has given me such a high hope. And when they come out with this kind of design.. OUCH…

• november on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:03 pm

a little bit kecewa coz the tuah concept really make people ternganga u know..

• I think this one will replace saga blm model.

• putih ni cun

• Melvin on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:27 pm

i dun like the horizontal strip… That is so extra!!!

• So another dream dies on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Congrats, a good car is massacred once again by horrendous design. The hell is wrong with the concept design anyway that they’d think that this squarish POS is actually better??! Possibly the worse Proton rear design in a long while, really hope they polish it up somehow at the very end.

• giggs on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:37 pm

i dont see the wow factor, typically look lika china youngman dumb ass! and yes im bashing, so shutup!

• Leseid Obrut on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:42 pm

makes me wonder if the designer knows sh*t about flow…

theophilus chin…where are you? can you do us a favour by redesigning those tail lamps?

• P1 supporter on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:48 pm

This story makes me… sad.

• fukimak on Feb 06, 2012 at 11:48 pm

BONET MCM BMW 7SIRIES LAME DA…CAM SHIALLLL !!PUI….. NOT MY TASTE !!

• can they have a smaller logo ? so huge ?! for what ?

• VW logo lagi besau

• Man CPS on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Singa peugeot pun besar gak…mmg keta conti akan letak logo besar pada keta diorg..so proton is on the right track

• samsam on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:44 am

international ma ..tapi material using cheap plastic tak macam vw , peugeot big chrome, proton takut consumer tak mampu beli logo chrome besar..

• pacifictuna on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:02 am

not too bad. Need to see it in the metal 1st. Don’t really like the look of Tuah anyway…

• Lunch Up on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:02 am

Dulu masa Gen-2 leak, siap harass seorang admin blog. Kena soal-siasat sampai 12 jam. Ni tak nak cari ke culprit yang leak ni? Unethical proton! No wonder can only be jaguh kampung! Even sell to people in Dubai cheaper than in Malaysia. Well, redefines the words “Kera di hutan disusukan, anak di rumah mati kelaparan.”… Keep feeding those monkeys… Idiots!

• mark foster on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:13 am

I think it’s a grower. It’ll look good.

Anyways leaked info.

EXTERIOR :
    1.DRL (Daytime Running LED Lights)
    2.Tail lamp gabungan LED
    3.Signal indicator
    4. 16? rim
    5. Rain & light sensor
    6. Enjin 1.6 CFE & 1.6 IAFM+
    7. 5 Star rating for crash test*
    8. ABS, EBD, ESC & BA

INTERIOR :
    1.Soft touch plastic dashboard
    2.Emblem steering yang mempunyai finishing chrome & hitam (macam logo)
    3.S Mode menggantikan L – S bermaksud Sport Mode untuk CVT VT3 untuk CFE + paddle shift
    4.Start Stop Button
    5.Built in GPS bersama Head Unit (touch screen) dari BOSCH – * mungkin untuk versi Premium sahaja
    6.Multi info display pada Meter Panel
    7.Air bag penumpang yang boleh dikawal
    8.Tiada manual lock depan dan belakang, cuma ada central lock sahaja
    9.Material seat yang lebih baik
    10.Isofix

Wow.. there’s a lot of stuff inside this car.

• Najib bin Tun Rojak on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:41 am

A Piece of tahi….. No offend.

• Kevin on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:43 am

If Malaysia has no other option and the only available car is proton, I rather ride a better motorbike! Cheap, ugly, superb lousy quality overall. My first car proton, so so much problem, don’t want to recall it. My brother bought a new saga recently, it doubles my previous problem. Breakdown on highway! Couldn’t start! Wake up Malaysian, the only way you could enjoy privilege on imported cars is when the day proton closed down!

• Anti turbo on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:05 am

Hey, i am having the same problem…sent the car to the workshop 5times…unable to fix it…. Proton proton… i am driving my father’s kancil to work for the pass 10 days and yet you havent fix my problem… the hack with ur quality…. design like sports car also no use…..

• johnson on Feb 07, 2012 at 12:45 am

with design like this should get 7% bumiputera discount.

• Just a malaysian on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:10 am

Shouldn’t be the clear signal part of the rear lamp to be aligned with the vertical bar?? Now it’s like kena cut half…. sad….

• yes, epic fail design team

• Ash Menon on Feb 07, 2012 at 4:22 pm

That was my immediate thought too. It was such a simple thing, I’m amazed they missed it.

But in general, I find the design a tad messy. Lots of lines suddenly blocked by each other, abrupt ending, there’s no general flow to the lines. I think the logo should have been overlaid on top of the horizontal stripe, with a bevel. The stripe on its own is a little blank, doesn’t really do anything. Maybe in chrome it will look better, but right now I think the Inspira’s chrome bar is also pretty weird. That external crease line is not bad, but strikes me as being unnecessary.

I like the generous rear window space, though. Glad to see Proton didn’t try doing the recent trend of shrinking the rear window.

Hopefully it looks better in person. I know that when I first saw the Saga FL, I didn’t like it that much, but now that I have it and I see it every day, the design has grown on me :)

• driver on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:17 pm

I second the messy design.

Personally, I think that it’s not clean enough. It’s like a halfway of both worlds – conservative & wild design. In the end, it’s hanging without a specific identity. I’ve seen this kind of problem also in the facelifted Saga. The original design was cute and conservative enough, but the later is weird. If they want to go wild, then go all out.. and if they want to be conservative, then be it. Don’t’ mix it up..

One more thing. What’s with the line below the rear light? Sigh!

Why can’t it be sweet & simple..

• Just a malaysian on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:11 am

sorry, horizontal bar i mean

• Najis bin Tun Rojak says:Tahi kepala bapak hang bahlol

• asd asd on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:20 am

it is design like so to make it last.. kinda like what BMW Audi VW doing right now..

• neckotynne on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:21 am

well, at least it looks better than previous models and looks different… :)

• johnson – if you dont like bumiputra please get out from this country

• Many ppl are disappointed with the front and rear design of the car and i’m slightly disappointed too if comparing to the concept car. As said by Paul Tan, it’s a quite a departure from the concept car. But still, we are looking at the front and rear separately, maybe it will look nice as a whole…more importantly, hopefully this car will offer better quality and reliability, this should be the highest priority for Proton on this car. Else, this so called GLOBAL CAR will have a disaster review from foreign and will again be humiliated by foreign review. Up to now, this is still the car for me to buy and hopefully there will be no more disappointment.

• sp3d2 on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:50 am

make it affordable at 65K. then it’s a buy for us. 75K? sorry proton, this is not 1.8 engine. be realistic please.

• _xXx_ on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:54 am

mcm keta cina….I XNAK!

• Regina Shwartz on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:55 am

Looks ok but I think it’ll be nicer if the “strip” above the recess for the number plate was chrome . Also unless the boot is actually unlocked – I think they have an alignment problem with the brake lights on the boot lid and the rear-side bodywork.

• another thing struck my mind and i would like to share my opinion on this…if this is really going to be a Global Car as claimed by Proton, they should try to maintain the final design as close as to the concept, as least i think the concept design would be a competitive feature for the car to be a global car. Just like how Hyundai and Kia are working their way up the industries. They know they still can’t compete in term of comfort, quality and reliability, so they tried to work their way on the design with a lot of features and specs and they really did a good job on that. So, how many of you think that Proton can compete with other car manufacturer in term of comfort, quality and reliability? Proton is a lot way behind and they should try spend a bit more(meaning lesser profit margin) to provide a better car, it’s been more than 20 years, no more time should be wasted. Anyway, i still support them!

• The Ultimate question… will Dr.M ditch his European marque for this proton? No, coz it is not safe enough for him, his children and grandchildren.

Buy British last he said…

Imagine a chef wan not only doesn’t want to eat his own food, he finds his own food tasteless and prefer Jamie Oliver’s food.

• yeooo on Feb 07, 2012 at 2:27 am

think positive, its masculine front end, feminine rear.. :)

• neutron on Feb 07, 2012 at 3:12 am

still look a bit cheapish and so-so for a global car. they made it look like this probably due to manufacturing feasibility and cost cutting. good features won’t help if the design is not as good. proton needs major overhaul in their styling and design department. anyway, i still personally think it looks better than any current proton car. but they could’ve done better.

• izzat on Feb 07, 2012 at 3:58 am

try again…..

• NO MORE PROTON on Feb 07, 2012 at 4:00 am

boring malaysian design.. everytime the same…… get some foreign designers if your brain do not work.!

• fuel cell phone on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:45 am

to p1, enough with the tease, just launch it already !

to paultan, appreciate review and shootout with this model competitors :-)

• CCX1301 on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:04 am

Viva putih aku kat jengka lagi cantik la proton bangsat. Tak guna punya proton. Pegi mampus semua orang proton dan pemilik proton. Hahaha!!

• daamz on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:15 am

is this a car?

• a far cry from the tuah concept car.

• Anti turbo on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:11 am

I dont car if Proton design the car like a BMW or Honda Accord, the most important of all is the realibility of the car… my Saga just sucks big deal…now wanna sell off also lost RM20,000 easily… i was hoping to drive the car for 7-9 years but it is barely 4 years old but give me headache… it broke down on the road 10 times during the 4 years and Proton cant find the solution to it..its like driving a time bomb… “mentally torturing” me as i just wont know when it will break down again and again… enough said…. Proton really has more works to do….

• november on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:00 pm

it is like luck coz some using saga no problem at all n some got a lot of problem. proton still has much work to do n do it now. no time to waste, if not, bye bye proton. pls proton.

• There are three simple statistic here:
    When people see this P3-21a real end (as of 820am 7 Feb):
    Excited:87 Angry/Sad/Meh:221

When they see them doing high speed test:
    http://paultan.org/2011/12/06/proton-p3-21a-high-speed-karak-test-caught-on-camera/
    Excited:208 Angry/Sad/Meh:97

When they first see the front end:
    http://paultan.org/2011/11/17/is-this-the-new-proton-tuah-based-persona-r-p3-21a/
    Excited:632 Angry/Sad/Meh:307

Make your own conclusion mates…

• decent design. should stocked with bigger rim just like VW car. can easily make a plain looking car looking good.

• A bit dissapointed. I am expecting the original TUAH exterior which IMHO is rather good and more up to date. This new leaked photo shows very lame design which may invite negative criticism to PROTON from customer, thus shut them further away. My guess is that PROTON unable to meet their target cost for TUAH concept. PROTON have lost customer trust with prolonged quality issues on their current vehicles line up. It is wise to spent a bit ringgits to deliver something that have “WOW” factor in order to attract back customer’s trust in PROTON products.

• rookie on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:34 am

still have to use keys to open the bonnet from outside..?

• as usual, ther designers should have been sacked donkey years ago… where is uncle Lim ? I ‘mean Lim Kok Wing, can’t he do something for the pride of our nation?

• Juling on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:12 am

For most people beauty lies in the eyes of the emblem or most of the time beauty lies in the eyes of the car price that they cannot afford.

• As far as I see the back reminds me of Saab car which model I cant recall. Hopefully this car sell well. Peugeot 508 & Jaguar also have horizontal thingy at the back no body complain. Cammon la guys give proton a break la, buat design macam ni salah ….macam tu salah ……let the car have its charactor la. Biar launch kereta tu dulu baru la bole comment. Lets support DSZ and Do not support the return on T. Mahalelee……to Proton!!!!!

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:17 am

next thread pls

• kasim selamat on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:23 am

buat tu salah buat ni salah, ramainya orang yang pandai kat sini. suggest to you alls apply laa kerja kat proton then design lawo2 yg macam mana korang suke sangat tu. mmm tapi jangan marah kalau ada yang tak layak kerja ngan proton…. senyum laaa

• Apasal la lampu signal / reverse warna putih tu tak carry on sambung dengan line putih tu??? Dia pegi split kan ke bawah pulak… Nak tiru jaguar, tiru la habis2… lines dia tak clean la…

Proton patut buat survey dulu sebelum release final design. Tgk sample of population suka ke tak…

• rosdi on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:25 am

Wow cantiknya…

• After more than 25 years and over RM10 billion of sales later, Protongkat still giving crappy overpriced cars

RM10 billion worth of crap cars means car buyer lost their opportunity to buy homes (30 pct of income wasted on car loans)

Because of Protongkat, cars become unnecessary luxury 2nd most important item after buying house

Malaysian should have buying house instead of held gunpoint in car loan payments

Do you agree to give another 25 years and RM10 billion again to Protongkat just because you’re told it is a Charity? WHAT A JOKE!

• zaidS on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:27 am

ape kate kte sume tunggu proton launch kete nie dulu..bru tgk pic blakang da komen..kome igt kete2 len tu cantik sgt ker ??? mcm mazda 2 tuh ??? cantik ker ??? tu pn ramai jerk org beli..xpatut rasenye kalo kutuk kaw2..cukupler sekadar teguran membine yer..

• ss427 on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:33 am

Guys I don’t believe the bootlid wasn’t closed properly. That arguement doesnt hold water at all. Look at the rest of the shut lines of the bootlid. It sits basically flush with the boot area liao. It is closed.. Hey Potong owners, you guys should have known that such uneven shut lines are considered normal in your Potong ya. :D Why are you guys so surprised

It is the pathetic and awful tailight design that lead pple to think that the lid wasnt closed properly!.. LOL… :)

Anyway, that horizontal strip, be it chrome or not, is TOTALLY unneccessary. Looks like Potong tried to copy Forte chiseled rear end…. but ended up with such incoherent design that could very well came from some pirated chinese car makers… sigh…

How to compete with the Koreans, Potong? You guys recieved over 25 yrs of protection from Bolehland gov, and what have you achieved since then?? In 1985 you guys rebadged the Mitsubishi Lancer and called it Saga, > 25 yrs later, you guys rebadged today’s Lancer and called it the Inspira! What a joke!! And you guys tends to cheapen the original model once Potong badges are applied onto the copy.

You called that progress?? Look at what the Koreans have achieved.. In the late 80s, pple laughed at their crude Hyundai Excel and Stellar, today, >25 yrs later, the Koreans have all but beaten the Japs and even the Europeans and they are in the 1st tier car making biz these days… people will find Hyundai/Kia vehicles highly desirable buys and not because they can’t afford anything better

• Bro,

Some of your argument logical but those who bought Korean car for last 4-8 years losses their original price by 80% and l don’t think Proton as this bad except DRB Tiara or Tg Mahalle’s Juara.

Having said that, if new Elantra mD has decent & sensible pricing, a Korean DNA maybe can hold water. Seemingly the Elantra pricing dearer than Forte 1.6. If you like turbo engine & decent R&H a P3-21A seemingly promising alternative.

• spark on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:57 pm

err.. you mean you like CIty zig zag tail lamp better that this?

and do you have any ideas how many Kia and Hyundai sold in Malaysia…?

They got good design better specs.. relatively fair priced… now, are they becoming best seller in the segment?

People want everything in the to be world in proton car… but only wants to pay RM700 monthy :p

in wet dream oso kenot get liao…

• ss427 on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Potong sells in large volume in bolehland only because your gov put punishing taxes on imported cars. It doesn’t mean Potong is great…

When they leave the protection of your gov, see how poor their sales are?? I don’t need to talk about other countries but here in SG, Potong is neither the cheapest in its class nor most value for money. As I’ve mentioned elsewhere in this forum, The Gen2 can actually cost more than the Forte 1.6SX in SG! :( What kind of nonsense is this?

When it can’t sell well back in the days where COE prices are low, it will surely die a horrible death in today’s crazy COE climate.. and true enough, Proton Singapore has yet to sell a brand new Proton here since early 2011. There yearly sales result is a big fat ZERO! :D Really go check out the info if you happen to be in SG the next time.

• spark on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Hi, SG fren, never know you guys so concern abt Proton :)

• ss427 on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:18 am

No, I guess forummers who surf this site are car buffs too, and therefore I’d like to shed some light on how Potong is doing when it leaves the protection of your gov. I cringe everytime someone or some group of pple claimed that Proton offers world class products….. that their cars are competitive in the world blah blah blah…

The Potong powers-that-be are evidently living in their ivory towers for too long, and the prolonged protectionism in favor of Potong has obviously resulted in appalled complacency, arrogance and such.

No one bothers to tell Potong that their parts suppliers simply can’t deliver the quality parts that we consumers have come to expect. No one in Potong bothers to feedback that their workers simply lacked workmanship and their assembly lines needs more QA and QC…

No one bothers becos these suppliers and such are protected by your gov too… and chances are they’re closely related to Potong as well.

One cannot improve when they’re not subjected to real competition in home ground. Real competition means that if you continue to churn out crappy products, you face the prospect of company bankcrupt and closure.

• ronorene on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:37 am

The more it is revealed…the uglier it looks….very dissappointing

• ProtonMan on Feb 07, 2012 at 9:53 am

A very dull design. The Tuah model is better by miles.

Proton is not too poor to hire someone who can do a better job. Total disappointment in terms of design. BUt you would have guess that.

Let’s wait to see what’s in the hood.

• jay8393 on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:07 am

I’m liking this design, although it’s a wonder what those extra lines below the outside lights are for.

• If you look closely the rear got curve like Persona’s…

• Hopefully the final product should not be like this. Its just remember me to later Saab 9 and Nissan Sentra B14 back end. Please do with a clean rear end and a slightly higher number plate mould.

• AHLEE bin AHTAN on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:35 am

now i can see your butt!

• shawal on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:50 am

The boot lid maybe misaligned bt d horizontal bar is on the same level, something wrong sumwhere, hope its a pre production model only,
    The sobre rear end hints at preplanned FL model, bold or whutever

• here in pekan on Feb 07, 2012 at 1:32 pm

let say if the emblem at this trunk lid is …

BMW – so nice aaa
    Mercedes – wow..bery2 good
    Audi – i like it..
    other well known brand – i felt lust at this car..
    Perodua – still ok la
    Proton – like a s**t..

jgn terasa bro.ngeh3…

• fazron80 on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:33 pm

even if you put all of that makers to this car i would say the designer fail. Some people have brand fan mentality but not me. If you compare this car to the korean design lately. how would you put this car beside the koreans in terms of design? i would say dissapointing.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 08, 2012 at 7:17 am

I agree the same, designer’s failure. The root of evil is actually the vendors’ failures for being unable to produce parts that closely resembles the concept model. When that happens, Proton should force them to produce those parts by hook or by crook. Then baru la vendor2 pemalas tu reti sket nak buat kerja.

• nettbug on Feb 07, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Rupa tu subjektif… ada org suka ada yang tak suka… yang penting harga tu… kalau harga dah dekat nak sama ngan vios, baik amik vios…. tak gitu maknya…

• Peter on Feb 07, 2012 at 4:23 pm

“… quite a departure from the Proton Tuah Concept ”
    A bit !?
    It’s A lot … A Giga BYTE … A sucker-punch hell lot of different & CHEAP from the exhibited Concept Design except the shape!
    Why spoil the party with this as the final design !? Who the hell is the reviewer & approver of this design !?
    VERY DISAPPOINTING (I already saved money preparing to buy ~ sad).

• spyshotX on Feb 08, 2012 at 1:36 pm

with so much negative comments here hopefully they do not put ‘designed by Italdesign’ label on the car.. if not italdesign brand value will drop like hell..

• Sedan Suck on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:06 pm

I don’t give a damn what other thinking……..
    Proton, please built SUV with competitive price.

• paul ogawa on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:18 pm

CCX1301 says: pergi mampus samalu

• tok-kok on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:18 pm

looks cheap from behind.

If selling cheap.. maybe the rakyat will buy lah.

• CLASS on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:27 pm

KALAU REALITI BURUK MCM NI JGK ,LEBIH BAIK BELI ELANTRA ….BIAR MAHAL JANJI ELOK !!! DESIGN NTAH PAPE LAH…..

• honestly a bit dissappointed as the Tuah concept looked pretty good. but hey, at least it looks miles better than the Waja it replace!

• november on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:45 pm

prefer the tuah concept design. this is like hmm.. dull, nothing special, nothing to shout about.. on a different topic, i’m very satisfied with my wife’s saga fl, i can say that it is a very good car :)

• libralcl on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Photo does not judge the actual looks that much. some more the photo was shot from different angle. Need to see the real car only will know the looks actually is good, ok or bad.

• The rear lamp is not nice at all. Not in ‘harmony’ with overall rear boot.

The body chassis resemble Proton Persona; recycle from previous design.

I don’t need to see the whole body to know that this car gonna be the next Protong Juara (in terms of sale).

Try harder Protong, now that you have new Tuan Besar (DRB-Hicom) watching your poor performance.

• Absolute Rider on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:46 pm

From the picture, I do feel a bit disappointed after waiting for so long plus early on it was said that it’s going design by Italdesign Giugiaro. Are you sure?

Hopefully, the REAL THING will be cool!!! :-)

Just wondering not to bash……

• spyshotX on Feb 08, 2012 at 2:09 pm

during last KLIMS i had the chance to speak with one of p1 stylist.. the original tuah concept was designed by our talented local p1 designers.. some how the design did not go thru the pipe line.. confirmed that the final production design is indeed from Italdesign.. the guys who design for alfa romeo, maserati, lamborghini, etc..

i know.. not quite the expectation, right..

• Absolute Rider on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:49 pm

R3 please, hahaha… with bodykit and interior leather furnish will be nicer!!!

• tuah123567 on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Is only proton . No big deal !

• p1 fan on Feb 07, 2012 at 8:26 pm

next time if dunno how to translate from concept car, pls proton, pls…dont ever make a concept car.

• wheeler on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:10 pm

I dont know what to say so I’d rather wait for the launch. In brief, it has some DNA of proton.. Unfortunately for Proton, no matter what this company does, it’s always been criticised by its fellow Malaysians.. The earlier generation of korean cars are not that good looking either but their luck are better in many ways..Maybe you guys feel good condamning your fellow countryman..
    Al the best Proton..

• tok-kok on Feb 07, 2012 at 10:34 pm

Ha Ha Ha.. No logo also i know it’s a Proton!
    the trunk and and body not aligned , just like some of the Proton u see on the road.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 07, 2012 at 11:42 pm

A re-hash of the Persona backside, from the front and back, it already looks outdated before launch. OK, so the boot isn’t shut properly from this shot, but high chance that there will be misalignment issues with this kind of design, based on the “excellent” Proton quality we’ve been “enjoying” over the last decades. Now that both TMs are back in the driving seat at our beloved national car manufacturer, misalignment of the boot is the least of Proton’s worries. I can understand the fan boys, if they can afford any other brand, they would not buy a Proton. Choosing a good product has nothing to do with nationalism, you want something that works reliably and your neighbours not to laugh at you.

• BodoPunyeOrang on Feb 08, 2012 at 6:06 am

Hello hello, did you see any plate number on the lid? That mean this car is not completed yet and that is why the trunk lid is not properly closed. I think this is one of the trial car. They have another 3 months to solve all the issues. Why worry so much.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 08, 2012 at 8:14 am

buruk buruk….
    patutnya levelkan antara lampu kat body ngan lampu kat boot
    baru la cun skit…
    nih macam tak balance / tak siap

huhuhu

• gtmaniac on Feb 08, 2012 at 10:13 am

Sorry to say, but i personally think the rear is a bit ugly, judging from the pic.

Looks like the boot belong to other car. Even if the boot is not closed properly, i think the lines of the rear lamps is kinda messy.

But i guess it’s the trend right now.

• wheeler on Feb 08, 2012 at 2:18 pm

It’s not ugly to me. However, from my point of view, Proton’s rear is always less attractive than the front. Take for example Gen 2’s triple rear light, Persona crome bar, Exora and Saga FL/X.. All the best..

• zainal abidin on Feb 08, 2012 at 11:54 am

If this the real thing, Alamak !!!!!! Whatever happened to the much much much much much much much more nicer looking ‘TUAH CONCEPT DESIGN’ ? And for 70K? You gotta be kidding PROTON…..

• wheeler on Feb 08, 2012 at 2:10 pm

I guess the ‘spyshot’ marketing is no longer effective these days for proton.. No matter what, people will condemn..

• zainal abidin on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:59 am

No offence to PROTON,i’m a PROTON owner myself… It’s just that we have seen the sleek ‘TUAH CONCEPT’ and obviously expected the new P3-21A design to be exactly like that concept. But then, SIGH…..

• datu say jenal abe din on Feb 08, 2012 at 2:45 pm

ok2.. I’ll ask my design dept to redo rear lamp.. Dont worry, in proton we care malaysian taste.. Pls do not complaint the price ya.. Or else go get china car… U guys are good in complaining but when its come to money so stinggy one..

• Anti turbo on Feb 08, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Its hard to earn our money ya…Datu

• Ibrahim Savvy on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:35 pm

Cantik Lampu bahagian Belakangnya, seperti BMW X6, Cuma gayanya du ubah suai kepada taste malaysia. Cuba pandang dengan pandangan Positive, Kereta Malaysia sebenarnya Cantik….

• Frank on Feb 08, 2012 at 7:51 pm

The sad thing is… Neither is it UGLY or Beautiful..

Just dam lousy unimaginative design!!!!! coming from lousy company..

churning out mediocre products… selling at premium prices.. period!!!

Sad case for proton, same old story every time.. maybe forever… until they go kaput!!!

• Personally i feel that this Facelift looks similar to mitsubishi lancer/proton inspira, or Taiwan’s version of Lancer. Just my 2 cents.

• Hashimi on Feb 08, 2012 at 11:10 pm

i think this one look premium n better than concept tuah which look so ah beng..

• maisto on Feb 09, 2012 at 12:00 am

Bg sya lampu breknya spoil kena ubahsuaila klau segi2 tak sesui sgt klau lampunya ada shape ok sikit kot, rim kena 16’inc ke 17’inc baru nampak ok price pun kenala berpatutan, tak kesala klau ada yg sm design kebnykan kreta skrng ni hampir2 sm bentuk…

• Yes, I think the back light looks like a BMW.

• rever on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:19 am

why not going to LED..so ugly like an 80′ car daa

• saw Jaguar XF rear this morning and quickly remind me of this proton.. they’re quite similar.. hopefully the real one will also looks as sexy as jaguar.. huhuhu..

• November on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:19 pm

people hv seen the “PROTON TUAH’ concept car n people like it so much, so they r waiting for that Tuah car.. suddently came out like this!! so what do you think??? proton, what do u think??? people will puji this design??? haiyaaa sure la condemn this design!! this design is ok if on its on, but if u compare it with Tuah design, this becomes ugly.

• tenine on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:42 pm

From the design, its more to Gen 2 facelift….not the persona replacement…

• tokjogho on Feb 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm

It seems that Proton Design team is always heading backward as opposed to new trends…but hey it’s a Malaysian design if u may call it!!

• AZHAR on Feb 15, 2012 at 4:23 pm

this model have more features and you will like it….for proton not using the design to attrack people to buy them…proton want it look simple design but elegance…

for those like the car here are some specification of the P3-21A

ENGINE: CFE (CHARGED FUEL EFFICIENCY) 1.6 with PUSH START BUTTON
    TRANSMISSION : PROTONIC 7 SPEED WITH CVT (SPORT MODE)
    SRS AIR BAGS: 4
    BRAKING SYSTEM : ABS & EBD (4 WHEEL & 4 DISC BRAKE), BA, ESC & TC
    ALLOY SPORT RIM : 16″ (10 SPOKE)
    POWER: 140hp
    MAX. TOURQE: 205@2000 – 4000 RPM
    PADDLE SHIFT: AVAILABLE
    SIDE MIRROR : AUTO FLIP (CLOSE & OPEN)
    WIFI INTERNET MODEM: AVAILABLE
    WIPER AUTO RAIN SENSOR : AVAILABLE
    AUTO LIGHT ON SENSOR : AVAILABLE
    SEAT BELT BUZZER : DRIVER & PASSENGER
    AIR COND: FULL CONTROL AIRCOND
    NAVIGATOR : GPS AVAILABLE
    CD PLAYER : TOUCH SCREEN
    and more features & safety features exora & Inspira were in this model…

price : maximum RM75,000

• well if the number plate were place at the bottom just like persona or gen2 its better looking……..what i afraid the most is the front grill, yucks………….

• Basri Hussain on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Come on Proton….after all what you have given us in form of a concept car earlier, we thought it is time to buy local..to buy Proton. I will ….and I think lot of us Malaysians will consider other makes for our next car .. . The back light sucks.

• bangle on Feb 23, 2012 at 12:27 am

it seems like it has been deliberately toned down so they could introduce a facelift that looks remarkably stunning later lol

• zahar on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:34 pm

best2

• samlyn on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:27 pm

When will this Proton car be lauching ?