Proton Preve and Exora make their Australian debut

G’day from Sydney, where the wraps have come off Proton’s Preve and Exora at the 2012 Australian International Motor Show. This marks the first export of the Preve, which hits the Aussie market initially in two variants: GX manual at AUS$18,990 (RM60k) and GX CVT at AUS$20,990 (RM66k), these being drive-away prices.

The variants are pretty much the same as our Executive manual and CVT, carrying the 1.6 litre IAFM+ unit that produces 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. A GXR version with the turbocharged 1.6 litre CFE and seven-speed ProTronic gearbox is in the pipeline.

Looking at the pricing of the GX variants, it’s safe to assume that the range-topper won’t stray very far from AUS$23k (the Premium costs RM73k at home) when it arrives in Australia next year.

However, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), front wheel traction control and six airbags come as standard on all Preve variants down under, in line with the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) of which the Preve aims for a five-star safety rating – several crash tests have already been carried out. At home, ESC is to be found only on the Premium variant, which has four airbags.

Also key to the Preve’s targeted five-star rating, we’re told, is its rigid HPF (Hot Press Forming) body construction – a combination of ultra-high and high tensile steel.

“Both the Preve and the Exora represent a new and higher level of standard for Proton cars in all aspects encompassing key aspects such as safety, performance, comfort, build quality, technology, overall design and convenience,” said Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil at the unveiling.

The Exora‘s Aussie price has yet to be confirmed but it will go on sale next year in GX and GXR trims. Again, ESC, front wheel traction control and four airbags will be standard across the range, with the GXR version adding features such as a reverse camera, cruise control and DRLs.

A 5+5+5 package is offered with the Preve and Exora which is made up of a five-year or 150,000 km warranty, five-year roadside assistance and five-year free service. Other models in Proton Cars Australia’s current line-up are the S16 FLX (Saga to us), Gen 2 and Persona Elegance, which were all on display. Also on the stand was the Satria Neo S2000 rally car.

By the way, the sassy sheila in the photos is Renae Ayris, Proton’s brand ambassador and current Miss Universe Australia, no less!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Azlan on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Mmmm 6 airbags… 5 years free service….
    Wht do they give you as msian buyer????? Msia boleh… But not in our own malaysia land…….tak bagus la macam nie….. But we need to pay more than people in oversea

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 397 Thumb down 9
    • antisocial on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:47 pm

We are nice to bully ma

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:47 pm

And you still vote for timBaNg. Tak apalah, kan kita anak kandung bapak kita, bapak kasi semua kepada anak tiri, kita pun akan tetap sayang dia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 36
      • theanswer on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:49 am

what to do..malaysian love to drive without wearing seatbelt..membazir je bagi airbag bkn deploy pun if not wearing seatbelt. our safety exposure is quite low (but not us in this forum).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 51
        • brian on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:35 am

not all car need to fasten the seatbelt for the airbag to be deployed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 75
          • Nope..u need seatbag for airbag to deploy.it is designed with seatbelt.otherwise the airbag will kick your face out of the car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
          • kerelbort on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:57 am

do you know what happen if you did not wear seatbelt when airbag deployed? so that is actually a safety reason why you need to wear seatbelt for the airbag to be deployed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
          • MoFaz on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:22 am

not all car need to fasten the seatbelt for the airbag to be deployed?… china cars ah? the exploding airbag will kill you instead.
            http://paultan.org/2012/10/11/us-govt-warns-consumers-of-counterfeit-airbags/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • theanswer on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:09 am

lol..do u know what is srs means? supplementary restrain system. means supplement only..need seatbelt to support it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • JULIAN_LEE on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:37 pm

You must be Brian Teoh to say that hor…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • foxis on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:11 am

Sigh…indeed Malaysian is not interested with safety feature, and not even bother to read the caution message printed on the airbag-equipped car.

• sepul on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:33 pm

more people thumbs down your comment.. strange

you are correct though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • James Ganapathy on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:36 am

Paul tan has emphasised that ESC (Electronic Stability Control) is so important in saving lives. Infact he has wrtten a long article on it.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

This new Proton has ESC and also 6 airbags given.

Should our Government be thinking about our safety too in Malaysia and ensure most Protons and Perouda come with ESC and more airbags? How come we worship the white man and give him ESC and other safety features not seen in our market?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
        • foxis on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:14 am

Sigh… just want to show off to outsider that they are strong by beating up their own people in the same kampung. So now the beat you up with your money and go ampu the outsider with safety features and cheaper price

• Interesting quote……“It is unclear if all carmakers will survive without governmental help,” VW Chief Financial Officer Hans Dieter Poetsch

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:33 am

The best car in the world from the best manufacturer in the world sold by the best company in the world…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 85
    • nocar on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:24 am

pakai seat belt tak nak, bg signal pun tak nak, lagi nak air bag banyak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 7
      • ntah pa2.. on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:12 am

esc airbag ptg lah kawan..sudah byk pandai ka?..mau komplen2 org pigi lain tempat lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
        • sepul on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:36 pm

penting. tp kalau bwk kete mcm pelesit.. seatbelt tak pakai, airbag banyak lebih berisiko.. tak pakai seatbelt airbag tak berfungsi la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
          • ntah pa2.. on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:00 pm

tak paham2 lagi sorang, penting tu maknanya penting!!! lah kawan..kalau org mcm pelesit langgar pon, tak da lah eksiden teruk2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • matlimmutu on Oct 22, 2012 at 3:16 pm

mmg betul. drive like mad.. signal semua pun tarak bagi.

• alldisc on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:25 pm

bahaya kalau airbag banyak, lepas eksiden nanti jadi mcm michelin man, penah nampak tak? ha ha ha

• Somemore want to blame M’sian for not supporting them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Anti CO2 on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:08 am

We give them 6 airbags and 5 yrs service and … in return they give us Lynas… It comes in a package! Got it!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 14
    • James Ganapathy on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:18 am

Not only airbags, AUD20,000 is like RM20,000 here. For the Mat Salleh, AUD20,000 is small change lah. One a one to one basis, this car is 3 X the price sold in Malaysia. Well, most cars are 3x the price in Malaysia but this is a Proton and it should be sold cheaper to its own rakyat. http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/opinion/2012/08/16/why-are-malaysian-car-prices-so-expensive/

Should the goernment think about giving Malaysians also 6 airbags? Care for your own Malaysians first. Charity begins at home.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
      • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:59 am

Charity begins at home? Really?

But Dr Advisor enjoy drive Porsche while telling rakyat keep buy Protong as charity amal jariah…

Do as I say, not do as I do….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
      • MoFaz on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:32 am

why everybody keep comparing price and salary like this? if you want that range of salary, go and work there… like what i did. don’t simply said they’re better based on 1 factor and ignoring everything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 57
        • Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:18 pm

i agree with u bro….i have friends migrating due to this issue too…at least they dun wait for the gov to change….they decided the changes…be in control guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • NinjaTurtleneck on Oct 24, 2012 at 4:59 pm

That’s just selfish talk. Frankly i think you are stupid. we want better standard of living for malaysians in Malaysia, get it?

• this has been the practice since Proton launched their 1st export overseas. We are subsidizing those exports actually!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • peYno on Oct 20, 2012 at 6:11 am

yup.. same goes to UMW and honda ASEAN made car.. sell hi spec n cheaper in overseas.. but we in maresia need to pay more

camry airbag 2.. preve 4

heheh

• You people need to check up on your facts and stop indiscriminately bashing Proton without any proper basis. The Proton Prevé CFE 1.8 gets 4 airbags, and the other variants get 2. Even the highest spec 2.O Toyota Corolla, 2.0 Honda Civic and 2.0 Mitsubishi Lancer gets 2 airbags max for the Malaysian market. In U.S, the basic 1.8 Corolla gets 6 airbags standards. This is not Proton’s fault, they’re just complying to Australian government standards. If you want to blame anyone, blame our shitty government for not taking the safety of our rakyat seriously. Proton did nothing wrong, although I agree that it would be nice if they gave us 6 airbags… but business is business people. Don’t be so naive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
      • Pumpkins on Oct 20, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Hey brader, itu Preve mana ada 1.8? Check your facts too dude

Other Protong’s export market with less strict safety rules but yet Protong still give highest safety specs at dirt cheap prices

So it’s bullcrap lah that Protong said the Preve Australia get better specs just to follow the rules when other market it’s the opposite

Who is kidding whom here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • Whoops, sorry. That was a typo, 1.6 it is then. In any case, you might think that selling higher spec models in other markets is abnormal, but it is widely practised today. For example, this is happening with all the Japanese car companies in ASEAN. We get less safety equipment compared to US and Europe, but the cars are somewhat overpriced still. Because our ASEAN governments aren’t strict when it comes to things like safety, unlike in the EU and US, the Japanese see no incentive for marketing their cars here with tip- top specs. They aren’t FORCED to do it, so why do it at all ? In business, profit is always first priority. So there. Reality check.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Kaiyo on Oct 21, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Come on brahh.. Even if Proton fitted 6 or 12 airbags in their cars, how much would the price hike would be? And how much other car brands prices will be hiked too,(or price reviewed, according to our G) to compensate the sales factor?

Me, you, we, everybody know who is at fault here.. we are just trying really hard to suck it up.. live in denial..

• top gear general opinion about proton cars:

We’re not sure why Australians keep buying these Malaysian utility tools, unless you’re limited finacially, it’s strongly advised to look elsewhere. Anything European or Japanese is great. These countries rely on small hatchbacks, Malaysia relies on small motorbikes. Japan and Europe know a thing or two about quality and design.

top gear on gen-2:

A budget five-door hatchback intended to make you think twice about buying a Focus. Frankly, we think a medium-size cabbage makes a more sensible alternative.

top gear on satria-neo:

Not half-bad hatch with decent Lotus-aided chassis, but lack of space inside, awful badge and ridiculous name make it a must-not-have for the youth it’s aimed at.

REally excited what they will say about proton preve. do proton even read reviews of their cars??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • sagatron on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:30 pm

price please?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
    • donna on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:38 pm

price in RM pls…. PR people (which are not preve owner) are eager to compare the price different..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • joaana on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Of course la. the govt also always comparing our petrol prices with other countries.
        The preve price in Australia is around 20-20k. Very affordable compare to Malaysia. Their salaries also high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
        • theanswer on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:50 am

meh dont talk abt p1 price there..talk abt honda..ford price there..wayyyy…cheaper than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Cosmo Artemis on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:23 am

Our tawkey to be blame. He pay us nuts and we drive only proton, he reap all the benefits from our hardwork and drive a Mercedes. Local company pay RM5k-RM6k, oversea company operates here could pay twice or triple that amount.

Our businessman here are monkey, just scumbag pirate.

• turundanrebatepinjaman on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:14 pm

proton can compare price convert to RM, other item (petrol) cannot compare convert to RM. lol some ppl logic.

• Alpha on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Read please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Lorat on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:56 pm

The Exora‘s Aussie price has yet to be confirmed

RTFA!

• Pontiac on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:15 am

Aiya u all. When price cheaper u all wont buy. Cakap byk no spec la cheap spec la less air bag la. Hater will always be hater and wont buy this proton. Even a ckd camry come with 4 speed with 2 airbag and people will still buy it. Any MALAYSIAN made car will sell expensive for MALAYSIAN. Full stop. Dont said proton got benefit. Proton got bla bla bla. Its already a drb hicom group of companies. Wakeup u guys. Wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 79
      • Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:33 am

well said bro!
        Proton is no longer related to BN or the government…they are now doing profit making business, nothing personal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 34
        • The Godfather on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Nothing personal, it’s strictly business…

Where is Al-Neri when I need him?

• arcana on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:20 pm

so when government giving millions for proton to develop hybrid….thats business or personal? why others dont get such handouts?

• check who own share in DRB Hi-Com, no other than khazanah nasional. WOOT!! WOOT!! proxy ownership by the Malaysian government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
        • yeah, that’s true. Khazanah owns 5% share in DRB-Hicom. So, it’s still the same with having indirect govt interest in the crony company, even though Khazanah sold all their shares in Proton to DRB- Hicom.

By the way, total sales of Proton cars in Aust from Jan-Sept 2012 is 379 units, out of a market TIV of 1.1 million units targeted for this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • sorry guys, my typing error on the sales figures. Kindly ignore the figure above.

The actual Aust sales Jan-Sept 2012 is 859 units, dropped 29% against 9 mths of 2011 which was 1204 units.

Again, sorry for the typo!

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:02 am

OK, Protong no longer Dacing control but private control now…

Kalau berani buang itu Tongkat lah…

Semua open competition fair real price…

What do you think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • Matkoolkawanku on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Thanks for the name of model.! :D

• wolfsburg on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Preve achieved five star rating in ANCAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
    • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:45 pm

But still sales zero star in Australia pun tarak guna jugak

• xflow on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:36 pm

she’s a stunner!
    i mean the model

• clearcase on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:40 pm

brace yourself Proton supporters.
    Activate your flame shield!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC), front wheel traction control and six airbags come as standard on all Preve variants down under, yet back home, ESC is to be found only on the Premium variant, which has four airbags….. The statement has a lot to say about how the brand/company treats its own rakyat. Go figure :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 7
    • theanswer on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:51 am

blame our own safety policies. some of us (not in here) will question “why so expensive? i dont need those airbag abs..esp..” bcause they didnt know what it is all about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Nick.C on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:56 am

Your logic is retarded. The thing to cut down on is the Proton Protection Tax, not the safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • theanswer on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:12 am

u think it’s retarded bcause u never face such person in real life. my fren once sounds like this “why need airbag & abs..anywhere can die”. true story. i dont want to talk about price since it’s gonna be endless debate..but i’m talking abt spec and safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • Nick.C on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:58 am

I agree with you on that, but my point is policy is easier to change that peoples stupidity.

Safety features should be mandatory here just like in Australia. People should not be allowed to select lower level of safety, and if that makes cars too expensive then maybe enough people will wake up and make the BN pay for their fucked up auto policy.

• Seriously on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:43 am

Janji sudah jadi capati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • dumbassproton on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:53 pm

“However, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), front wheel traction control and six airbags come as standard on all Preve variants down under, in line with the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) of which the Preve has a five-star safety rating. At home, ESC is to be found only on the Premium variant, which has four airbags.”

So our lives are less valuable than those in Australia? Hopeless G!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 8
    • armandd on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:17 pm

In Malaysia the highly regarded toyota camry has only 2 airbags. Still wanna blame government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
      • Absolutely! Its because their gov’s rule Ausies got many things in their Proton for such small money, as oppose to our gov’s rule that give us less things in Camry for so big money.

• spyshotX on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:27 pm

your statement just proves that regardless of LOCAL or FOREIGN OEMs the same model will have diff spec & safety feature on diff markets.. so what influence the requirement of the markets other than consumers? since we’re talking about safety spec here definitely it is dictated by market regulation.. and who set the safety regulation if not the local policy makers aka govt themselves? if not for the regulation i bet even big OEMs would not bother getting their BOM cost hiked up adding all those safety gadgets and losing potential profit by not adding them at all..

• paparadzi on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:28 am

If can’t make it standard on all model, at least give it as an option laa.

• seriously i’m very happy for proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 136
    • yuhuu on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:21 pm

He’s trying to be a patriot.. i give thumb up for his patriotism.. but no to proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 19
      • i know that u didn’t like anything about proton, but why u always hate proton? Do proton do anything to you? What i’m doing are to make positive support for proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 39
        • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:29 am

Why not? Protong for so many donkey years making fun of rakyat money make our life difficult, so why not Protong taste the same too?

Yes we all support positively to Protong…by keep on buying Perodua and Toyota! HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:54 pm

He is craptriotic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 33
      • _xXx_ on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:52 am

What patriotism? DRB-HICOM IS just a PUBIC LISTED COMPANY!!!

• peYno on Oct 20, 2012 at 6:04 am

patriotic ppl = buy local company product like UMW toyota, tan choong nissan, melaka mada Honda, SIme darby Hyundai, PNB perodua n DRB proton

non patriotic ppl like me buy car from overseas and deal with non related gomen local company

hahah

• keyboard on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:41 pm

boooo…happy after proton sucking all ur money and give to Malaysian taycoon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:47 am

Yes we are very happy too…

To show our happiness look at Perodua and Toyota sales…

The happier we are for Proton, the more we buy Perodua and Toyota HA HA HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • rosdi on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Jonathan, about the rigid HPF (Hot Press Forming) body construction. Is it for Australian market only or is it for Malaysian too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Hi Rosdi, yes, the Malaysian Preve is also HPF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Paul Tan on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Malaysian Preves have it too.

http://paultan.org/2012/03/14/proton-p3-21a-build-up-process-day-1-safety-structure/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Jolugua on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Well guys, that shows how well Corporate Malaysia treat their own people, while giving the best to the Mat Saleh…… sounds like “pemikiran masih dijajah”. How sad, after all these years of independance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:54 pm

But it is understandable, Mat Sallehs are a lot better than most of our local businessmen especially the Chinese, and local Chinese businessmen are better than the real China ones.
      Mat Sallehs are better than our kroni-kroni.
      Therefore I said Mat Sallehs deserve better treatment from Proton, Proton admitted and that’s what they did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • well don’t blame proton for the hugh prics in malaysia. Blame the stupid BN government. They impose sky high taxes even on the national vehicle.I don’t get it. Why people always proton when the real robber is the G. the Premium preve is only 40k without tax!

• Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:39 am

u have to looka at it from business perspective…its is a policy by the Gov. for any car to be sold in AUS, they MUST be equipped with ESC & side airbags…otherwise, u r not allowed to sell ur car there. in Malaysia not applicable becoz its not a requirement by the authority…if it is then many other car manufacturers will bungkus la…how much u think P2 will sell Viva/Myvi/ALza if it were to be installed with those items ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • comrade on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:54 am

look at Camry sold here and compare with Camry sold in Australia…. Toyota also treats us the same as Proton……. gov change then maybe regulation here change as well….maybe..

• Mitsusan on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Stop taking toyota into the picture and say other cars do not give us good features. The tax is so high on foreign cars that if toyota gives us full features it will be too expensive for malaysians. A camry would have cost rm200k with over 100k as taxes.

The gov is rightly to be blamed for a screwed up policy to protect an uncompetitive company.

It is not surprising that major car manufacturers continue to pump billions into thailand. Thanks to our policy.

• fitter.happier on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:36 pm

and because ford fiesta, ford focus, kia don’t have same tax structure as TOYOTA so they can offer standard global security features with low price?
          if ford and kia managed to offer full security specs with low price, why not toyota?

• haa jawabla mitsusan. playing blame game only.

• Joniboy on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:04 pm

In Australia proton has to compete with other brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
    • Sleepwalkerz on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:22 pm

So??does that mean that they are not competing with other brands here in Malaysia?proton is lucky that they are always covered by the G.if not,for sure people will not buy their cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
      • i think what he meant is in Australia all other brand give you standard esc 6 airbag, in here camry 150k we just got 4 airbag w/o esc so how come proton can give you all that as standard equipment no competition with other brand. gov need to change policies ‘all new car must have esc 6airbag etc’ or we change the gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:12 pm

that way then rakyat will complain aso…car price goes up maaaa

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:38 am

Yet here Protong can’t even beat Perodua…not to mention other brands…big joke lah BWA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • peYno on Oct 20, 2012 at 6:08 am

compete to be JAGUH KAMPUNG in nboleh land.. but in Global.. no bady wanna buy perodua

hehehe

real jaguh kampung

• KillBox1Alpha on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:48 am

In Malaysia compete with bullock cart ah? What nonsense are you blabbering about?

• ryuki on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Wow , DSZ babies on display…
    And those people claiming the limelight…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • GTR 2.0 on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:49 am

Hahahaha…. 100% agreed.

• kerelbort on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:01 am

wonder where DSZ currently… anyone in touch with him?

• nazison on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:06 am

Where dsz now?last month i watch tv news, they interview dsz about his contribution and charity work at mosque in selangor which is impresive. The ajk of the mosque got their own roducts,sgot the library, full with activities and programs to help others.

• supersona on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Khamil Jamil looks ridiculous! Stand up properly laa weh, parked your arm on the side mirror like you are at mamak stall.. Thanks to Renae Ayris for stealing the limelight.. At least there is something nicer to see..

• magpie on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:09 pm

The aussies are getting a better equipped car at almost the same price as ours. Plus, miss aussies at product launch. Here, we have miss ajib and former miss det. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • Proton Spageti on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Malaysia (Langkawi price):

1.6 Manual, RM57500, 2 airbags, without ESC
    1.6 CVT, RM60500, 2 airbags, without ESC
    1.6 CFE with CVT, RM 69500, 4 airbags, with ESC

Australia

1.6 Manual, RM60k, 6 airbags, with ESC
    1.6 CVT, RM66k, 6 airbags, with ESC
    1.6 CFE with CVT, RM73k?, 6 airbags, with ESC

Shipping cost + 4 airbags + ESC + TRC + Aussie salary rate = average RM5000 per car.

I think that even with tax excluded, Proton car should be sold at much cheaper price in Malaysia. How come they sell there at that price while still making profit? Obviously Malaysians have been conned.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 9
    • Toyota'sReliable on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:21 pm

not only that! Proton at Aussie got 5 years Fully Free including Road Side Service!!!
      Australia Proton is much more value than Malaysia Preve.. Pissing me off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
    • hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:21 am

Langkawi price still come with excise tax. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • 4g63tdsm on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:28 am

What? You don’t know ah?

Malaysians damn rich eh… We can afford to subsidise the cars sold to Australians and the rest of the world.

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:33 am

Langkawi price is tax-free, yes. but profit rate is higher than peninsular due to very small market low demand, for all brands and not just Proton.
      Honda CRV in USA is around RM70k, but more than RM100k in Langkawi even without tax! similar case for all other models from Toyota and Honda too.
      starting price of Preve is around RM60k with excise and sales tax.. without tax it should be only RM40k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • magpie on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:39 am

Don’t forget miss australia’s paycheck.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:54 am

Both same car at Langkawi duty-price too:
      Lancer 2.0 CBU Japan RM71K, Inspira 2.0 CKD Local RM82K…smart guys get original lah

• _xXx_ on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:55 am

you have 4 guys here who can’t click correctly with their mouse, always the wrong one.

• mokmeng on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Agreed…
      Why proton cannot follow Korean car makers (KIA&Hyundai)..Put their citizens first,they get extras compared to export model..ni tidak, still mindset zaman penjajah dulu..orang luar didahulukan,rakyat sendiri sikit pon tak pandang..
      Why we as malaysian cannot feel extra benefit??
      tak kesah la, bagi la special sikit in term of price or specifications..hmmm..

• skiborne on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:28 pm

CHEAPER but BETTER! itulah proton di luar sana. menanaktirikan rakyat sendiri padahal, duit dia datang banyak dari rakyat sendiri. forever you will never go anywhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • puterakupang84 on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:18 am

Typical Malaysian..when dugong n city r expensively sold in Malaysia..govt of the day will be blame..when Proton sold cheaper car overseas the blame still on the govt…do ur research guys..when AFTA was fully applied?tax given to toyata n honda differ to tax given to proton??but why dugong n city r more expensive but with lower specs?what is the requirement to enter the Aussie market?If Proton sell their car expensive do you think there will be buyers?shame on you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • shame on you too..WHY ON EARTH they didn’t sell cheaper HERE and i’ll sure all people in Malaysia gonna own Proton too.. “If Proton sell their car expensive do you think there will be buyers?shame on you…” this mean Proton cannot compete with other brand there LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:15 am

Lancer 2.0 CBU Japan RM71K, Inspira 2.0 CKD Local RM82K…shame on you suckers..

• skiborne on Oct 20, 2012 at 3:06 am

hello kupang. by having a stricter requirement for aussie market as comparatively to us doesn’t mean that our protons shall be “worst” than theirs. do you think that malaysians too should be given this sort of specs considering that we have been contributing the most since proton’s existence. what they’re doing now is cost saving in a stupid way, charging more and giving less to us. in other car companies like VW if you notice, their style is, making all sorts quality and solid car components that are common (air cond vents, dashboard, buttons, switches etc etc) that are good to be fitted in most of their cars, if not all. which is why they look similar everytime you are in a VW. This is actually what cost saving should be

• _xXx_ on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:57 am

yelar, uang mat sallehlah wangi, RM tu yg busuk!

• Since the first proton sent abroad, the RAKYAT got inferior product at a higher price….same story with preve & exora spec in Australia vs local.
    Yup, 1Malaysia alright, pencapaian diutamakan. Can’t believe this still happening again….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Same as toyota also. New camry no esc no six airbags even on the top spec that is 180k. Pffttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • armandd on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:20 pm

The camry is on another level already, yet it only has 2 airbags. Go figure it guys..

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:52 am

Perdana also like that…20 years old kereta antik still selling at RM103K…gila punya Protong

• mystvearn on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm

It seems like it is better to buy the export version with the ESC, 6 airbags and that 5 year warranty on lower end model.

On another note, Proton seems to be facing problems with the CFE engine-stll got some reliability bugs to iron out. This seems to tally with the rumors about the engine. If not, the Aussie market will be getting it as well. Also, the Exora is not there yet.

• kerelbort on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:04 am

isn’t that exora bold?

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:07 am

Engine coughing sound batuk-batuk?
      Maybe try to put Ubat Batuk Cap Kelapa Laut Afrika?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JZi3BK6xOno

• sean zx-10 on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:39 pm

menyampah tgk dato khamil tu…as if that preve is his own product… it’s embarrassing to be boasting with some else’s blood n sweat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Bukan Melayu aaaa on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:41 pm

DONT EVER BUY MALAYSIAN MADE CAR EVER AGAIN!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 31
  • troll on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:51 pm

oh well…6airbags,esp standard on all variant…why cant for domestic market? global car.?..lol

• Sniper on Oct 18, 2012 at 10:56 pm

I second you.
    DONT EVER BUY MALAYSIAN MADE CAR EVER AGAIN !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 26
  • u just gotta thank Proton for always sidelining own people’s safety interest, without fail!

• To fellow Australian, since buying a car is relatively cheaper there, please please please get yourself a better model than this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
    • Dear Fellow Australian, please buy a better car since you have a choice..

For us, we have NO CHOICE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
  • Faizal on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Datin Seri must be not around…. :p

• 1 AUSTRALIA on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:09 pm

MAT SALLEH DIUTAMAKAN, RAKYAT MALAYSIA DIBELAKANGKAN.
    JANJI DITEPATI TETAPI UNTUK PENDUDUK AUSTRALIA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Actually Preve is a nice car… it is just that the brand, quality, price and government involved in, thats why malaysian dont like.. .
    If view from diff angle… if the proton was own by non government body and no relate to any cronies… im sure many ppl will like it

Pity Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • brader_support_proton on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:24 pm

dear proton supporter/user,
    please don’t tell me you will stand by proton side no matter what proton do to short change your hard earned money for the benefit of foreign people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:33 am

We all support Protong lah…by keep on buying Perodua and Toyota…it’s called indirect reverse sales trick

• b sensible on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:35 pm

funny…msian can’t get good offer when driving msian car in msia but overseas driving msian car overseas can have more! isn’t that double standard!

• Rakyat my on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Rakyat ‘asing’ didahulukan. Rakyat ‘sendiri’ belakangkan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • The reason why Preve is cheaper there is because it’s not taxed while in Malaysia, even Proton / Perodua are subject to tax. DSZ (Ex Proton CEO) has once quoted saying that Malaysians wants Japanese Reliability, Well designed but Cheap Pricing. The only reason I could think of is because Malaysians are more price sensitive and therefore if they add those features like 6 airbags, the price has to higher and obviously, Malaysians would start saying that the Preve is too expensive and bla bla bla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
    • Nick.C on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:07 am

How not to be price sensitive when I have to take a 5 year loan to buy a 7 year old SECONDHAND Japanese econobox when overseas people pay cash for such cars?

• Hadi75 on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:09 am

Problem is proton cars are being sold oversea with higher spec….higher quality…..better aftersale package at a cheaper price than that being sold here in Malaysia……why?????

• Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:54 pm

read more bro…many have explained…its because of the govt policy

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:10 am

Exactly true. But blame the tax policy too?

Lancer 2.0 CBU Japan RM71K, Inspira 2.0 CKD Local RM82K…smart guys get original lah???

• Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:28 pm

alah…inspira in PM sells cheaper than Lancer aso u dun buy…why bother about Langkawi?

• pirlo on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:29 pm

tak habis2 ngan comparison lancer cbu langkawi ko tu..

• Kalun on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Proton Preve and Exora do look good in white. Not in other color. At lower angle, Preve looks handsome but at higher angle, nope.
    Quite disappointing though. To me, these Proton Cars in Australia works well to me but back in Malaysia, no. Rather get a Name Brand cars.
    6 airbag, TC equipped in exora. Wow! If this model from Australia bring to Malaysia, this could be a wow factor. Ride and Handling is excelent except for the quality control.

• Biasa la, msian always kena tipu..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Hadi75 on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:55 pm

RAKYAT DIANAKTIRIKAN…..ORANG LUAR DIUTAMAKAN…..itulah Malaysia Boleh…not just proton…perodua also same….our fuel also same….good stuff sell to outsider…..low grade stuff give to the rakyat but with the goodstuff price……when the rakyat dont want to buy malaysians….we are called unpatriotic…..unpatriotic my ass….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:59 pm

As usual, this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 selling better quality car at lower price for oversea market!!!!

Any blind supporter come out to disagree with me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • rickylleow on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:00 am

Enough is enough. Wake up Malaysian! Are we still willing to subject ourselves to this kind of unfair treatment. Proton treated Malaysian like dirt. The 5+5+5 package should be an eye opener for us, it’s unheard of in Malaysia and we could never dream of getting it from Proton. A look at safety specifications the Aussies are getting made my heart ache. I really don’t know what to say, I have no conviction left, I rest my case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • b sensible on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:05 pm

i’d sleepless night thinking about local car co. treatment to locals. they just want to boost up sales, but can’t give the best features to buyers. besides all the glc & gov made a ‘pact’ that the products don’t hv to the top class, just meet minimum requirement e.g. some car just hv 2 airbags instead of 6 airbags. the car duty also increase so they can tax in advance, not forgetting that finance co. also can charge more due to add-in value like car duty, sales tax.
      i really don’t that what we can do to to force the car price down!
      besides i also baffled that the gov adopt ‘wait-and-see” attitude pertaining to lowering car duty!
      the authorities are so stubborn!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:02 am

Jaguh Kampung No. 2 marketing strategy – Mat Salleh Di Dunia Luar Diutamakan, Mat Mamat Kat Kampung Tempatan Dibelakangkan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Of course la price there cheaper if converted, they don’t have high duty unlike us.

• Sabahman on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:29 am

Proton is not selling cars to Australia and Britain to make money. They lose money there. They do it so the big boss can say, look Western people are driving Malaysian cars! What a success our National Auto Policy is!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • booyah on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:30 am

malaysian people very unpatriotic. bad!
    if u dont like it, dont buy la. ah beng betul perangai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 41
    • Toyota'sReliable on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:49 am

Malaysian Gov not supporting the local, you expect us to support them? They are taking from us and give to the others…come on!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:24 am

Jaguh Kampung No. 2 very craptriotic, bad quality!

If rakyat don’t like it, close shop and don’t forced them buy la (i.e NAP). Cronies and AP King betul perangai!!!!!!!!!!!

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:19 am

You tengok ni harga patriotik ke tak?

Lancer 2.0 CBU Japan RM71K, Inspira 2.0 CKD Local RM82K…

Derhaka betul perangai ini Protong

• walaweh on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:10 pm

pandainye dia :-), di langkawi, cukai import,duti eksais import n jualan dimansuhkan. Sejak bila proton import kete dr malaysia ke langkawi? Bukan ke langkawi tuh malaysia jugak? Bacalah akta kastam. Bukan prtn ajek, aper2 brg buatan malaysia jual kat sana, xmurah sgt. Yg murah buatan import. Krn buatan tempatan, dr semenanjungke, sabah n sarawak ke, dibawa ke langkawi, bukan barangan import, tp tempatan. Duti eksais masih kena bayo, yg xyah cume cukai jualan. Sbb tuh rega kurang xbyk, sekitar 10% ajek. Pastuh, jgn nk kira mudah, coz cukai jualan xtermasuk insurans, roadtax n sbgainya. Diambil dr rega cost campur duti eksais.

Klu ko tau brp byk profit jenama lain amik, ko akan terkejut cipan. Ada yg sampai amik traders profit rm 70k satu kete. Kete d segment, buatan asia, yg tgh havoc dgn opa gangam hu…hu…

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Harga one-the-road OTR Langkawi Lancer 2.0 CBU masih lagi LEBIH MURAH dari Inspira 2.0…Menatang apa tuh?

Kereta sama, harga haprak lain-lain…

Kalau dah bongok memang lah tak tau beza lagi dah

• walaweh on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:12 am

hi mr pumpkin, aku bongok ke kau yg bongok?

Ko baca x post aku tuh betul2, mmg ler ada beza rega lancer cbu n inspira coz lancer tuh CBU. Inspira diistihar tempatan kat langkawi mahupun malaysia. Dah yg dimansuhkan import(cbu) tax, import duty excise(cbu), n sales tax. Inspira tuh tempatan. Xda import tax(sbb bkn cbu), tp ada local excise duty(sbb bkn cbu) n sales tax.

Ko nampak x beza? Itulah, blajo jek bertingkat2, tp bongok melantun2.

To jonathan, maybe i missed dr karl during power of 1 events n i dunno whether he is around that time coz during the launch of the event, i only manage to talk to dsz, mr tajul,mr azlan, mr johny n some lotus f1 crews but dr karl wasnt around. Tgku azizan wasnt there also. Maybe u r quite lucky.

However, manage to talk with some heads n those involve in hnt dept(homogolation n testing), those who are doing the test n crashtest, they did pedestrian crash test in internally n idiada.

But u still need more to learn on euroncap@ancap@any other ncap first. Maybe u missunderstood what he said(if really dr karl) coz he’s not really fluent in english though. Can talk, but deutch slang+english, u know what i mean :-).

Managed to go to the lotus f1 camp, n during that time they were very happy coz rexxona just signed up as sponsors on that day, the only thing missing is this season f1 car coz the car they brought was previous season f1 car.

• Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:50 pm

very well explained bro…
          Guys, u need to do some research before coming to ur own conclusion..

• abg mat on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:00 pm

beza harga kereta import dkt langkawi dgn semenanjung dlm 30k ++

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:52 am

Malaysian never seems to fail to amaze me.

Why ESC and 6 airbags is standard in AU not here? Proton just want to make sure that they get the 5 star rating. So it is required for them to equipped all variant to have standard safety feature, becuase it is the requirement for ANCAP to have all model to be equal to award the same rating.

So, is our lives less important than AU? Pretty much yes. Not only Proton, UMW and Honda also offer less safety feature compare to other market. The issue is we don’t have any assessment program (yet) to drive all automakers to put extra safety feature.

Just be glad that Preve in malaysia is already offered most safety feature compare to other manufacturer on the same bracket. No car below 73k have ESC.

But if Proton put all the bells and whistle, will you guys buy Proton at 79K? Of course not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
    • tokmoh on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:39 am

So proton can put all the bells and whistle overseas after taking logistics and related costs, even 5+5+5 after sales support for RM73k, and you so bangga la wanna pay RM79k, without 5+5+5 if they’re gonna sell here with all that?

At this point, it’s hard to impossible for anyone to defend the insane tax policy we have now. Due to insane tax, Proton can add more for less price overseas, while it costs less for them but we pay more here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:53 am

You answer it yourself. They can sell there cheaper due to tax structure is different.

I’m not defending tax policy in malaysia. Excise tax need to be reduce or scrap entirely. By doing this it helps Proton to sell car cheaper than current price.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:55 am

How Protong can be cheaper anymore lah?

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:40 am

i agree. plus, it’s cheaper there due to lower tax on cars in Australia.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:54 am

That’s just plain ignorance and frankly rather demeaning.

So because we don’t have up-to-date safety standards here, our lives are less important than those of the Australians? Seriously, if we want to progress as a nation we have to stop treating ourselves as second-rate citizens and strive to do better. We designed, engineered and built the car ourselves, yet it is the foreigners that get to enjoy the spoils of our efforts. Adding extra safety kit just to pass safety standards overseas just smacks of being a) cheap and b) lazy. If they are really serious about being successful they need to make great cars for every market. I asked a Proton engineer some time back during an event whether they would send the Prevé to be crash-tested for the Euro NCAP and he said no, because it has stricter pedestrian safety tests. But those tests have been around long before the car was even conceived, so why didn’t they build the car with those tests in mind?

And where have I previously heard the “just be glad” excuse from? Oh yes, the government. If there’s no demand, there will be no supply. Why do we have such low safety kit in our cars? Because we’re used to just having an airbag for the driver. If there’s one for the passenger, it’s considered progress. Because we’d rather spend the extra on a hideous bodykit than on vital safety equipment that saves lives (see new Camry).

If the buying public were educated about the benefits of ESP and airbags (live elk/crash tests, maybe?) then they might be able to see how these technologies will keep them and their love ones safe and sound.

Will people buy a RM80k Proton? The Inspira shows that they will. If it’s a good car, there will always be buyers.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:56 am

Why pay more for the same car then????

Lancer 2.0 CBU Japan RM71K, Inspira 2.0 CKD Local RM82K…smart guys get original lah

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:40 am

It’s actually closer to RM77k for the Lancer, on the road with insurance. The price difference does seem odd, though, with the two nearly equal on kit (the only thing I can see missing on the Lancer is satellite navigation).

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:14 am

yes, they sell Inspira at RM80k and they still get buyers, but please look at sales statistic just how many people buy Inspira compared to sub-RM60k Persona? by logic, everybody would want Inspira rather than Persona but not everybody can afford to. i think, Proton didn’t offer 6 airbags previously because they didn’t have enough market size to achieve economy of scale here. but now, since they’re starting to produce Preve for Australia, perhaps they will introduce that version here and we’ll get an option to buy it too.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:08 pm

In that case they could still offer the Persona at a lower price (which they did, but only the base models are still on sale). That way, they can add the side rear airbags on the Prevé and raise the price slightly. It’s the same tactic employed by European manufacturers, with the second-generation Renault Clio still being sold even after the fourth one has been launched. In any case, the Prevé 1.6 IAFM+ manual comes in at under RM60k, with about the sames specs as the outgoing top-spec Persona.

• walauweh on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:52 pm

no offence, which prtn engineer u r talking too? First n foremost, u cant send any car crashtesting at euroncap. They buy it from u, n only if they r want to buy, n if ur car is sold in europe region. Not all being sold in europe are tested by euroncap. So, i think u ask the wrong question.

Secndly, car selling in europe already crash tested by other bodies according to standard such unece n fmvss b4 eligible to sell its product there. In australia, even already has ancap, all cars has another rules to abide that is adr(australasian design rules) b4 allowable to be sold in australia. Same as gulf country n us which rolling test compliancy is a must. But not in famous euroncap n ancap. Even rear crash testing is not being tested in such ncap.
        Padestrian crash already been study since the making in exora which will translate result in preve. U can look out for older news in paultan.

Besides testing internally, car makers also engage 3rd party such idiada to do the crashtesting. Euroncap is not a place for car makers do crashtesting their cars during product development.

I think u need more understanding. Just reads on what is ncap, euroncap, unece, fmvss, adr, idiada n etc, then u will understand better, rather than rely on kopitiam chat.

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:57 pm

True. Proton don’t send car to Euro NCAP or ANCAP to get the rating published.

To get the rating published, car need to be in the showroom, and the body itself buy the car and do the test.

However, for internal test and benchmark Proton did send their car for testing to the same facilities.

If Proton didn’t bother about safety, takpayah la susah payah hantar idiada, ancap testing.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:08 pm

I’m not sure who exactly, but he was at the Proton Power of 1 event earlier this year.

Cars are either selected to be tested by Euro NCAP or voluntarily tested by the manufacturer. The Impian (Waja) was crash-tested by Euro NCAP back in 2002 (three stars), so the Prevé could have been tested when it goes on sale in the UK if Proton wanted to.

I’m afraid you’re missing the point I was trying to make (yes, I know about international safety standards and crash tests, so stop being so condescending). My point was this: Proton keeps touting the Prevé as their “global car”, but they deliberately stopped short of making it world-class. The crash performance is okay, not great. The CVT is so-so, the engine is alright. The design and the fit and finish can be better. Everything about this car, apart from possibly the ride and handling, is distinctly average. And I’m sorry, but if it’s average now, what’s gonna happen a few years down the road when newer, better competitors come in? If this continues I’m afraid Proton will continue to languish as bottom feeders in important export markets.

By the way, the report from the Euro NCAP stated that after the Impian crash test, Proton said that it “intends to improve future designs” and “promised improvements” in pedestrian safety. They never returned.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Actually, I think the guy might’ve been Dr. Wolfgang Karl Epple, Senior Director of Group Operations at Proton.

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:47 pm

The one who at fault here not Proton. But the government and their policy. Is there other car manufacturer offer 6 airbags at 70k price? Please barking at the right tree.

Preve is car packed with feature and safety. And it is true that no other car company can offer matching specs at that price range yet. The nearest is Kia Forte. We are talking at the same segment of car. So, Proton in malaysia offering the better equipped car than others.

People buy inspira not entirely because of Proton. We all know what is the reason they bought Inspira. And Inspira sales is not that bad or great either according to MAA. It is quite a steep for a Proton car, although it is a rebadge.

Preve was rumored to come with leather seats, reverse camera, 6 airbags initially. But the price leaked 78k was not accepted by the general public. They expect cheap car for a Proton. Even at current Price, it is still a expensive for us knowing it’s a Proton. So we have what we have now. But still better than any other cars out there.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Then they should at least have put a RM78k Prevé on sale as an option.

Oh, by the way, I think you’ll find that there are Fiestas here that are sold with seven airbags, including one for the driver’s knees. The cheapest one, the 1.4 manual, sells for a snip under RM70k.

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:58 pm

I’m aware that there is a fiesta. But it does not fell in the same segment.

Fiesta is one of the best equipped cars out there. If only others follows as well.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Yup.

I’m just saying I’d rather pay an extra RM5k for the Prevé if it meant I could get curtain airbags too.

• tokmoh on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Jonathan, there’s very few people as charitable as you.

For the rest, we’re not too happy “subsidising” foreigners.

Even if let’s say fuel price needs to increase to balance reduction in car tax, it’s a far better bet than the current broken system of punitive car tax and fuel subsidy.

• Hadi75 on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:17 am

If proton can give me the same spec….the same quality….the same aftersale packages as they do give oversea customer…..yes i’ll buy a proton…..

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:16 am

i’m very sure you’re just saying that. even if proton give same offer, you’ll still try finding faults as a reason for not buying proton cars :)

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:21 am

Eh brader compare this price again lah

Still wanna buy Protong kah common sense tell you

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Proton cars were taxes right after it leaves the factory. So, when it goes into showroom in Langkawi, the car were already heavily taxes with excise duty. Although the sales tax were scrapped.

But that wasnt the case for import cars in langkawi. You’ll be suprised that Lancer 2.0 CBU japan is actually should be cheaper in Langkaw than the price you mention. They still untung besar in langkawi.

• Fredo on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:48 am

Well said bro!…..many didnt aware about this and worst is they didnt event bother to check firt…and many still forgot that Proton is now under DRB, a profit making business entity…should not be related to government already

• Expatriate VN on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:34 am

Waite until the cow come home! In Malaysia car market, it is cronies and AP King biz lah!!!!!!!

Inside Malaysia (except Langkawi) – Jaguh Kampung please the cronies and AP King by selling crap quality no-need-to-go-for-star-rating car at high price, without even the need to engage janda!

Outside Malaysia – This Minnow player have no choice but to please the open market by selling good quality 5 Star ANCAP Rating at lowest price, come with Miss AU promotion some more!

• ben yap on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:55 am

that’s why my first car wasn’t a proton. i tried to save hard and not get a proton. why support our national car when they don’t support us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
    • Toyota'sReliable on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:46 am

And the more expensive car you gonna buy, the more tax you are paying to the Government! :P You are paying of RM20k to Gov just to buy a Vios.

• Ben Yap on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Nowadays non-national cars like Kia is affordable. Take for instance a Forte, a 2 litre cost RM98K versus Inspira at 91K. I would rather top up RM7K to buy a non-national car.

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Still it is heavily taxed with excise duty. You pay to cronies bro. So you can’t escape there.

That is the reason they keep proton, people blame proton but they still bought the car and government still earning their income either from proton or import cars.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:48 am

To support Proton is to buy more Perodua and Toyota! HA HA HA WOOOO HHOOOO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • peYno on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:50 pm

now preve oredi 21k OTR.. ebeliday i work so hard finding preve problem n promote ppl to buy my myvi n UMW cronies product…

u know laaa japan gonna leave us..

• words coming out from the mouth of decision maker:

scenario 1: rule in msia say need 2 airbags only. give 2 enough lah. high spec give 4, ok already what. our car already used some special steel. can make some extra money also. other country need 6. no option, have to give la.

scenario 2: we need to ensure our car buyer is well protected. lets give 12 airbags. we will bear the additional cost. it will boost our customer satisfaction index

In today’s world where profit margin is everything you decide which one coming out from those mouths
    *note: this statement is not aimed for single car manufacturer. It may happened in few boardrooms.

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:12 am

Nobody “bears” the additional cost. A safer car is always more expensive. It’s only the consumers that will consider paying extra. Case in point: Volvos are one of the safest cars out there. They are usually more expensive than competing cars, but people are still willing to stump up the extra for one.

• They decided to change the rear Chrome bar again? I thought previously we saw spyshots where export model is using chrome bar at the rear?

• proton can give us the same spec as the australian market… but for now, they can’t… bash all you want as you please… don’t ever buy a proton… ever… yada yada yada… everybody knows the drill… foreign markets got better products… consumer in malaysia reports… next year, more improvements… and bashers will still bash… and everything went back to normal…~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • NIEKO on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:37 am

Just in time for the Australian Motorshow…

FYI I think the Lamborgini Stand is next to Protons ,hmm wierd

• What the heck are we paying 73k for preve?, remove tax from top model civic and see. Use tax payers money to develop car yet charge us high price for the car.

• driverfortheboss on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:12 am

why we need 6 airbags? ESP? Traction Control? when we cannot use simple application in the car that is signal before making turn (not after or while).. And also virus of using smartphone while driving (texting, update status).

• it should be DSZ beside that Preve not him….hhhmmmm

• Recently I visited the IGEM in KLCC. I went to proton stand and saw the same exora they have been shwoing since 2010 beside all other world brands. what is happening to proton? also when i wtched the video of the race in uk which proton claims they won, there was no footage of DSZ in it. i remember he was in the video. i think new bosses removed the footager. this is how they appriciate a good man

• DSZ is the person that make Proton car more acceptable compared to the past CEO..we dont want company that make money only..we want company that make car and money..good car will be followed by good money also..

• Yeah2 put the blame on proton. Kesian coz at the same time other carmaker in mlaysia also offer less than abroad but tak kena hantam kaw kaw.

• Jonathan: Do you have a source for the information that the Preve will get a 5 star safety rating? From what I can find on the net, the Preve has not yet been tested, and the official ANCAP site does not list the Preve yet. Or is this 5 star prediction coming from the Preve engineers themselves?

There have been cases in the past where engineers predict a certain safety rating and fuel economy which they then fail to meet under government or institution testing. For example, the Toyota Prius-C got worse than predicted fuel economy rating in Australia, and just had to “live with it”.

Hajihalef: ESC is a minimum requirement for cars sold in Australia.

Car pricing is set by what the customers are willing to pay, relative to what else is on the market. A$21k for an auto Preve is pretty much what this segment is moving right now – a new model Elantra or Corolla is selling at the price, and you’d be kind of silly to go for a Preve over one of those. I could see the Preve pricing going even lower, actually.

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:13 pm

There is internal testing has been done and Proton did send Preve at ANCAP facilites. There are several high resolution pictures of Preve being tested at ANCAP leaked online.

But that is not how the rating will be published. Still need to wait for the official testing from ANCAP themselves.

We keep hearing Proton said it was design and tested to meet the 5 star rating, so i believe they are very confident with the several internal testing. (ANCAP is not the only internal testing).

• same price but with better spec? that is how they rip us off. Malaysians got to settle down driving a car with no ESC and only 4 airbags? Yet we are still proudly call it our own national car? Dear Proton, yes u have done a good job throughout these years. but please be fair to us. after all continuous support, what do we get?

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:14 pm

So yo bangga la with UMW and Honda giving underspecs car in malaysia?

• im not proud of these japs offering lower spec.first and foremost, look at the root cause. why? because our own national manufacturer is offering the same. if they offer better spec with competitive price, the japs will have to follow.

• farisma on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:04 am

Inilah yg dinamakan anak kera di di hutan disusui anak sendiri di dalam rumah tidak disusukannya…proton oh proton..

• Proton, you want to sell out there cheap is alright. But help us help you by selling us cheaper than out there.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:39 am

NAP – Nice Australia Package..??

5 Years Free Service…Wow lots of savings there dude…for local buyers Habok Pun Tarak…HA HA HA

Bravo Protong Bravo…

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:40 am

To salute Protong let us buy even more Perodua and Toyota…kasi ajar sikit ini Protong lah HA HA HA

Btw, how’s the profit and loss report for Proton Australia since day one?

Keep on losing money? Worth it? Syok sendiri?

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:44 am

Looks like Protong no longer give 1 Million KM warranty like Waja Australia previously…only give 150,000KM warranty…

Tarak confident itu turbo CFE tidak bocor kah???

• ckd master on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:57 am

i think they already spend more than a million ready for this motorshow…..wow a lot wakil syarikat enjoying holiday + compani biz…

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:02 am

Hopefully Protong can solve the Coughing/Batuk-Batuk sound from Preve when starts engine…

Kereta pun ada kahak ingat kan orang saja…

But don’t pour Ubat Batuk Cap Kelapa Laut Afrika yet lah…mana ada kereta minum ubat batuk…HE HE HE

• zainal abidin on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:18 am

Hopefully Proton will sell the SAGA 1.6 FLX manual as they do in Australia. I’m sure many people will want to buy the SAGA 1.6 FLX in manual.

And another thing. Proton needs to revamp the colour choices for their range,with brighter colours including metallic red and metallic white.

• June Bug on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:22 am

Still wanna support this brand ah?Some guys never learn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • zainal abidin on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:32 am

Hello June Bug, its not that I want to support the brand. Its only that I earn a meager income enough to support a family and parents, pay for a house and pay installment for 2 SAGA FL to use. I live within my means. National car or not. Expensive or not.

The car I aspire to have is @ has always been a new HONDA CIVIC 2.0. Until I actually have the means to buy one, a new SAGA FL with 3 years or 100,000 km warranty can be considered a good buy. Just facts. Believe it.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:36 am

You think smart Australians are very easy to fool kah

• albag on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:18 am

lol their booth is next to Lamborghini? btw seems like nobody gives a shit when the Preve was launched… haha!

• kerelbort on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:22 am

this may sound gay but… if they replaced the beauty next to the car with DSZ… i would prefer DSZ anytime…

current face doesn’t have that aura of auto enthusiast

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:48 am

Who else you wanna put? Mr. Gary Glitter?

Do you know that dude Gary Glitter?

He got jailed because of what he did to teen gals that sounds like a car name PREVE

• apeneme on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:00 am

ade happy face n handshaking gambar dah enough.

• MiskinKaya on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:23 am

Most Malaysian is cheapskate. This no good, that no good. We want quality but don’t want to pay.
    People in foreign country pay for their quality. They pay higher income taxes. Another thing, does people actually understand the meaning of the word promotion?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

But Protong always afraid of this word: Competition.

Or maybe Protong don’t understand it at all…always hide under ketiak Dacing…mana pernah rasa open Competition…

• MiskinKaya on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:07 am

Aiyaaa.. no competition ka… u can see toyota, Honda, P2 and all sort of car out there. Ok la.. Proton don’t compete. They just ‘kena hentam’ here and there..

• peYno on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:10 pm

yes.. perodua tak pernah rasa open competition. asik bawah gomen… pastu jual imported compact car mahal2… kat mesia je laku.. tu pon puan je yg pakai.. kat oberc.. noboday wanna buy…prrrtfhh

• Expatriate VN on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:51 am

You are one of cheapskate! Go and check Brunei, Saudi, UAE, do they pay tax and yet they can get Waja at RM 34K! You figure out!!!!

• MiskinKaya on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:59 am

brunei, arab saudi, UAE, don’t pay tax but no democracy la… Also, they pump money from the ground daily to feed their ‘big’ population…

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:42 pm

No democracy but Brunei Arab Saudi UAE never heard them sembelih rakyat sendiri tax gila-gila

Here democracy but sembelih rakyat kasi tax kaw-kaw…gila punya Dacing

• malaysian on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:28 am

they too cheap to understand this is marketing by proton to the aussie….

these ppl just butthurt over the issue….proton is selling the car at losing money condition there….what they are doing now is to gain the market interest…..
      if aussie say it’s good…surely will spread…and ppl from other country will buy….
      if such small move also you ppl cannot bear….you dont deserve to say you love your country….
      and langkawi is known to have higher price for any car although without tax because the market in langkawi is too small…they need to charge more coz they cant sell that many there…simple economy logic….
      and malaysia car prices is known to be expensive all the while…yet so many got butthurt when aussie get cheaper car…..
      you ppl pls point at the correct direction la…what wasting tax payer’s money…they are on their own now…
      sour grapes everywhere…without basic thinking

• Nanda Kumar on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:28 am

MAHATHIR must be very happy.
    For USD16k(RM50k) you can get a VW Jetta
    but in MALAYSIA for RM50k you can’t even get a crappy PREVE.A wooping extra RM100k for VW Jetta and this money goes to whose pocket?
    BARISAN has been ripping off the nation especially in this car industry.Thanks to MAHATHIR who really ripped the nation.But his son loves BUGATI.Basicvally MALAYSIANS are deprived of quality of live.MALAYSIA dont need angkasawan,proton,and useless ministers.Just fair and just gov to assist nation so that each and every one can enjoy the quality of life.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:42 am

Memang happy itu Dr Advisor…

Suruh rakyat beli saja Protong bikin charity amal jariah…tapi sendiri enjoy drive Porsche…

• clemenza on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:42 am

kalau berita pasal proton, mesti banyak yg komen..ini menunjukkan ramai yg suka mengambil tahu ttg proton w/pn mereka ini suka/tidak suka ttg proton..

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Memang pun…ramai yg sayang Protong tapi berduyun-duyun beli Perodua Toyota…

Untuk buktikan kesayangan kita demi Protong, jom kita ramai-ramai beli Perodua Toyota! MWA HA HA HA HA

• lalalalala on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

lol….After reading all the comment …I pity Proton. Always kena bash by people. Re-badge a car…kena bash..make new car…kena bash….everything also kena bash…Honestly lah…u cant compare with other company YET…it is really what u pay what u get…u cant expect playing rm50k and expect bmw quality right??? Al well….good luck to Proton..

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Yes good luck to Proton lah Syabas Tahniah…

To love Proton is to keep on buying Perodua and Toyota lah HA HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • zanggief on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

looks like foreigner’s life is more important than bolehland…

• g-mey on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

Now…More repair charges for vehicles over five years old.. dah la insurans ada loading charges..

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/10/19/nation/12195406&sec=nation

• polo saga on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:58 am

my goodness, we pay even more than Aussie to own a local made Proton Preve, this is not the first time!!

not to mention our specs have been much cut, and Aussie can afford this car by saving up their 4 months’ household salary ONLY.

so what do we have in return, more expensive cars n thousands of AES to sapu our money. can’t the election to come!!!

• adullah on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:06 am

We are subsidising foreigners.When foreign car
    manufacturers sell their car below their cost of
    production here Dr M disallow it.
    Why the double standard?

• The lady looks taller than all the guys….

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Yes looks like Snow White and those budak-budak kerdil….

Back home the lady probably enjoy drive Holden Commodore Turbo V8 600hp…ape kelas Preve…

• stop saying that proton is a private own. khazanah Nasional (Government holding company) holds a sum of share in DRB-HiCom and that is the tip of the ice berg. loans that DRB-Hicom takes from the bank is being guaranteed by the government. basically if proton goes bust the government will still have to use our tax money to bail them out. same same like last time just passing from the right hand to the left hand.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:45 am

Senang betul pinjam RM 1 Billion…macam mintak bapak kasi duit raya

Cucu pinjam RM1 Billion, bank pergi cari datuk kasi settle…

Only in Bolehland the banks are happy to pinjam wang kasi sinkhole RM 1 Billion…

Ordinary rakyat miss one payment bank already sent Ahlong mintak hutang cari sampai lubang cacing…

RM 1 Billion easy money pinjam saja…gila punya bank

• poor_malaysian on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Poor Malaysians, so much rage but still a bunch of angry rabbits and goats…

• June Bug on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:21 am

Well i bet those who bought Exora or Preve are feeling pretty stupid right now.Hahahaha who ask you to support Proton,should have let it die in the first place right.5 years warranty,5 years road side assist,5 years free service.Oh man that’s gotta hurt.Wake up after this la.We have been short changed.You know what to do.

• Toyota Reliable on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:23 am

Where do proton got such brave to provide so much benefit to the buyer? Proton Car must be very reliable! That the company doest take 5 years Full warranty + service free for customer as any burden. In fact, they are so proud to give it out to show Proton is best Car!

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Ehh…Proton very brave…bravest car in the world…

Only brave firm dare give 1 Million KM car warranty…go get Waja Australia…1 Million KM warranty…drive until tayar tercabut…no worry at all…1 Million KM warranty lah…Mana mau cari….

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:47 am

Yes we all know what to do long time already…

Look at combined sales Perodua Toyota always nearly 70 pct market share year every year every year every year…

To teach Protong is to keep on buying Perodua and Toyota HA HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • apeneme on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:55 am

why handshaking in image DSC_1077?

• so many 3rd class mentality people here. how pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • idiots on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:10 am

funny how people keep commenting about needing to pay more for quality. So are you one of those people who spend more because the “quality” is much better with extremely high prices? Proton lacks competition, which is why it has no incentive to do better. Try to look at other car markets? Cheap and Quality do come hand in hand, thats because they have choice, and all the other carmakers need to compete. Tired of listening to crap like pay for kancil expect BMW quality, what kind of mentality is that? BMW is not without fault as well, what makes you think BMW’s are perfect and “quality” product? Typical kampung idiot, you are so rich then go on paying for the government, without people like you, the cronies wont be able to earn more.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:54 am

Funny how Hyundai Kia can produce quality nicely-designed car yet CHEAPER price to local Koreans…

And yet Protong said it is impossible to do it…yet both Protong and Hyundai-Kia enjoy its own local govt protection…

Hyundai-Kia make full use of Tongkat to become top global car firm now….while Protong keep on asking more Tongkat only to dream and dream mimpi di siang hari…..

• peYno on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:56 pm

rakyat oredi move to preve, korean, JDM n conti la.. perodua n UMW so called jepun celup car.. soo yesterday and only conned stupid malaysian nye.. tak caya.. look n see overseas market.. myvi n vios mana laku…kat mesia je boleh tipu maresia.. prrrtfhh

• ae101 on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:30 am

proton oh proton. why la you treat malaysian fellow supporter like this. we support you more than 20ys and now you give us shit

• beatnik on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:38 am

The japs give their rakyat the best cars in the form of JDM.

We, in the other hand, are given the lowest spec compared to the export models. Rakyat didahulukan.

Btw, the Aussie chick is dem solid lah.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:24 pm

How tall are you? Make sure you’re taller than her…malu lah jadi Abang Pendek hidung penyek berkepit Snow White…

• The diff is here govern own the nation….over there ppl own the nation. Over here we serve the govern….over there govern serve the ppl….is like we owe the govern alot ans this debt nvr pay off.

• why should they feel stupid?they live in malaysia, not australia. going by the same logic, people who buy foreign brand must feel even more stupid, because they pay a lot more here than people in australia

• alibaba on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:48 am

suma orang pigi tengok itu model saja, jangan salah ingat dia orang pigi tengok kereta itu lah

• Proton please die on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:50 am

Proton and the cronies who run it, please go die now,,, your own people you give dual airbags and only the range topping model gets 4 airbags.., just cause there’s no ANCAP here to judge your milo tin cars… Over there you can give 6 airbags as standard and ESC… Why? Cause u just care about your ratings for ANCAP.. Not the safety of the buyers… Your own people also you can take care you wanna take care of others…

• Datuk Jack. on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:54 am

as cfe owner, the problem mentioned is very minimal actually (almost none).. i own it pass 5 month and happy with it.. for those who keep complaining gov n proton.. if u not happy with Malaysia, go live to Australia. so u’ll get all advantages over there.. here, everything do by gov is mean to hurt u.. hurt u very bad..

u’re lucky, super duper fakap lucky.. if u born as indonesian in middle income family, no hell on earth u dream to hv a car in ur life.. dont trust me, go do travel, live they life then u know how “lucky” u r born as Malaysian citizenship..

buying a car is optional too choose, why u need a car? why u spend 100k money for a piece of metal? spend 5k, u get motorbike, also can bring u from point a to b (no toll, no traffic jammed n fuel super fakap saving).. or use taxi, paid less 300 can bring ur family balik kg..

u think preve super fakap expensive? go buy 10year old honda city- cheap only 40k ma.. not expensive rite?.. or else buy 15 years old kancil, less then 5k.. it still a car..

most of keyboard warrior here is fakap guys lazy to work harder and want a good quality thing come with cheaper fakap price..

ur fakap uncle drive that fakap camry super fakap expensive get money frm where? u thing ur super fakap untie sell her fakap ke?..

kecik2 xnak belajar, dah besar banyak komplen plak.. chait pooooodah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
    • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:32 pm

You cakap bagus sikit lah Latok…

Itu budak Protong sudah kasi duit free masih lagi bikin kereta lembu harga cekik…lagi mau mintak pinjam…gila punya budak

Lu banyak duit lu pergi beli Rolls Royce Ghost lah harga RM2.6 juta saja….7 tahun loan bayar bulan RM33K…

Latok cakap besar ada duit kah bayar RM33K sebulan? Bayar title Datuk pandai pula you bayar cash…

Gila gila punya Latok

• inderaloka on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:58 am

Padan muka. Sokonglah BN tu lagi. Sampai cucu cicit diperbodohkan puak-puak BN tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Proton please die on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Of course he has to sokong BN… They gave him the “Datuk” title ma.. Idiots of BN

• RedBeanBun on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:19 pm

The hope Protong can sell, they wish Protong can sell, but the fact is…Corolla selling $20+k, go figure it out the consumer..

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Protong keep on hoping the smart Australians are bunch of fools easy to cheat them…

• peYno on Oct 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm

ozzie mentality not same like stupid maresian laa… ah beng jepun wannabe

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong. In Malaysia, Proton and Perodua don’t need to pay import or excise duties because they are locally produced, correct? Therefore, the selling price in Malaysia (with profit margin factored in) should be lower than the selling price in Australia because of additional costs incurred to sell the car in that country (e.g. transportation costs, insurance, higher safety specs, Ms Australia/Universe, DRB family holiday, etc). DRB Hicom owe Malaysian customers an explanation why the same vehicle is priced higher in home country Malaysia than in Australia.

• walaweh on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:30 pm

both actually,right n wrong. Prtn n perodua no need to pay impot tax, but need to pay excise duty n sales tax. Same as our beloved asean origin car as manufactured n assembly in asean, no import tax,just excise duty n sales tax, the same percentage as local automakers which under afta.

Cbu import tax for non asean make only, 30%, which actually a small portion compare to excise duty. Sales only 10%. Go n do same research on afta n customs act, then u will understand better.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:11 pm

So how do you know Proton and Perodua cars pay excise duty, if yes, how much? Since Proton and Perodua parts are locally made, they should be exempt from excise duty. If they pay same excise duty as Toyota or Honda, then how come a Myvi 1.5 is around RM50+K but a Honda Jazz is RM90+K? Maybe the best way to gauge is to check Langkawi prices, correct?

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Akta kastam dan cukai ada. Report from MAA chairperson ada publish local cars expensive due to excise duty.

Rafizi from PKR also go through Proton financial statement saying that Proton do paid excise duty.

Proton cars are not exempted for excise tax in Langkawi. It is in the custom act 1970. They got exempt sales tax and import tax (which is none).

All those information are available for you to digest.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:21 pm

But this one you’ll never understand lah:

Voltaire once said “Common sense not so common afterall”…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:19 pm

So from Langkawi prices where import and excise duties do not apply, looks like Proton price is just plain expensive, it is not because Proton has to pay excise. I guess somebody has to foot the bill of Dany Bahar’s lawsuit…

• Xefron on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:23 pm

“Electronic Stability Control (ESC), front wheel traction control and six airbags come as standard on all Preve variants down under, in line with the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) of which the Preve aims for a five-star safety rating – several crash tests have already been carried out. At home, ESC is to be found only on the Premium variant, which has four airbags.”

drogbasyukur.jpg . LOL

• shawal on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:43 pm

If proton keeps selling underspecced cars in home soil , i seen no reason to support them any longer

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Yes exactly the same reason why Pak Arab also don’t buy Protong even there far cheaper price Waja RM33K Persona RM31K Gen2 RM29K even cheaper than price of a camel…hairan lagi ajaib…

• If toyota keeps selling underspecced cars in malaysia with high price, i seen no reason to support them any longer. oh wai..

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Rolls Royce Malaysia also would be in same dilemma…how many rich Kronies Dacing willing to support them…

Ehhh sori…Kronies no need to buy they get it free…one big projek get free one Rolls Royce Ghost…

• korang beli jela kereta apa yang korang nak… Toyota ,Honda, Nissan even proton x paksa korang beli pun.. kalau kereta proton harga 20k pun.. tetap ramai jugak x dapat beli… senang2 suruh jela Government bagi free.. bagi free pun tetap x puas hati jugak… MANUSIA x pnh berpuas hati.. Berpijak la di bumi yang nyata.. kalau x suka dok Malaysia.. dipersilakan tukar kewarganegaraan anda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Ehhh kasi free Protong??? Savvy kah? Bagus jugak tu…jom ambik sekapal free lepas tu kita jual balik lah ke Somalia…Zimbabwe…Gambia…sama-sama kita kayo rayo….

• v-power on Oct 19, 2012 at 12:49 pm

There’s no reason for Proton to sell their cars here at such ridiculous prices, other than stuffing the pockets of our ruling puppetmasters…

To see how much we are being short-changed,let’s take the currency of each country on a 1-to-1 basis (face value): RM1 = AUS$1 (the actual exchange rate is RM1 = AUS$0.32).

Hypothetically speaking, if a Malaysian makes RM3,000 monthly, their spending power should be no different than an Australian making AUS$3,000 a month. And let’s assume Malaysians and Australians spend more or less the same for their monthly expenses, still based on their respective currency values. So far, so good.

But when I see the retail prices for Proton cars in Australia; e.g. the GX manual is retailed at a measly AUS$18,990, I can’t help but feel sick to my stomach. Why are we paying more than RM60K for our kereta rakyat…? Well, you all know the answer to that by now…and it’s not just the exchange rate!

So in the interest of fairness, I propose Proton should sell their cars there for AUS$60k OR adjust the prices in Bolehland to BELOW RM20k to reflect prices on a 1-to-1 basis…fair is fair in my book…

But like I said, this is a hypothetical scenario, just to show the disparity between Malaysia and the rest of the world…(pls don’t take this literally, I’m saying this just to stress a point …)

So what’s the difference between a Malaysian making RM3,000 monthly and an Australian making AUS$3,000 a month…? Well, we have to pay 3x more for our cars, that’s what…!!

So it’s time we wake up people…and let’s do something about it…Peace

• walaweh on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:24 pm

intelligent deduction indeed. No need to convert to rm, just compare with the au currency 20k au = 20k rm.

If that so, why not japs selling corolla at japan with the same price? 20k yen if dollar equal to dollar. Shame on u toyota, u can sell 20k au for australian but cannot sell 20k yen to your own people. Toyota n other japs automakers always con their own people. Blood sucking vampire..Why corrolla is not same 20k bath at thailand?

Thats according to your logic my friend…they shud also sell corolla at rm 20k here but they sold it more than rm 100k…less equip…blood sucking..same as proton, shame on u proton :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • mantoi on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:15 pm

aussie pay: 2k
        aussie preve: 23k

msia pay: 2k
        msia preve: 73K

msia is preve producer country
        so? lu pikir la sndiri…:(

• walaweh on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:26 am

mr mantoi, since when cost@price in diff currency depend on producer@manufacturer?

If that so, why japs selling their cars in millions yen but in malaysia just hundreds of thousand ringgit?

U cant just compare dollar to dollar in car prices coz cost is not the same, depend on currency.

U buy chocolate in uk for 1 pound, do you sell it rm1 in malaysia? Do u buy chocolate in malaysia for rm 5, do u sell it for 5 pound in uk? U do the math. This is talking about currency. Notwithstanding diff policies n tax structures.

Yup, tax in malaysia really high, even for locals n u know what to do next. But we are all matured n educated, unless u r kiddo n still learning..or just harith iskandar once said, malaysian people, when accident occur, no matter what is your job, u will be investigating officer automatically…:-)

• poor_malaysians on Oct 19, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Not only car, if you do survey in every supermarket, most products is overprice and quality so so nowadays.

Furthermore, now good house price also out of reach liao.. more angry birds on the rise lor.

• magpie on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:36 pm

‘Angry birds on the rise’… That’s a good one.
        Imagine we are all angry birds jumping angrily at the pig prot…. Oh wait, I didn’t says that.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Common sense not so common afterall – Voltaire once said

But there’s simple solution about it…to teach Protong about fair competition is to keep on buying Perodua and Toyota…

Very easy, effective way to beat Protong…put your hand fist in the air “Eat my short, Protong!” (bart simpson punya lah)

• firefish on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:33 pm

you fueling a lot of v-power on your car. that why you think was like this…

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Kereta rakyat? This is why proton become ‘cheap’.

Rakyat keep wanting Proton to be ‘cheap’. But at the same time want quality like BMW.

Please stop giving the ideas of Proton is for rakyat. Proton should be a company who actually doing business. Not charity for rakyat.

Malaysian semua nak murah. Bila proton bagi spec tinggi sikit, kecoh mahal. Proton tetap Proton, tak boleh jual mahal2.

• This is the attitude that makes me wanna puke. Full spec cars for overseas market. Probably even have thicker gauge steel in the export models. To add insult to injury the pricing is similar to local prices even with the shipping cost taken into account. I have had faith in Proton, hoping they would improve and provide us Malaysian with a product we can be proud of. But it seems they are happy going down the old route and make us pay for the extras in the export models. I’ve had 5 Proton cars. The one I have now will be my last. They don’t deserve my and many other Malaysians loyalty. You screwed us once too many. The way things are going at Proton, they won’t last long and will be ripe for a takeover, soon.

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Yes, please buy Toyota vios which have lesser safety spec.

• beatnik on Oct 22, 2012 at 8:05 am

I took you 5 proton cars to realize they are not worth the money?

it’s ok though.. some hardcore supporters still think rakyat needs to give proton another chance (while proton still ripping them off).. until when? heheheheh

• Kelvin on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Malaysia products are getting more expensive in even our national car also approaching RM100K. If the rate continue in this direction, sooner we unable to buy anything. Gov really have to something to control the price from rising.

• LOlz.. I wonder whatz wrong wif our Goverment!!! Aussie Gets 6 air bag and Here we onni get 4 .. Thatz also if we purchase the Cfe model.. Whatta Hack man.. So That meanz we all buta laaaaaaaa.. Blady hell… That meanz proton is more concern about australian’s life over we Malaysian!!! .. Farkkk.. Nak bela Masa depan rakyat konon.. Belah laaaaaaaaaaa.. Air bag pun mau kedekut.. Inikan pulak nak bela masa depan kiter…. Anak Orang dibelai, Anak sendiri dibiarkan.. Good Job Proton… Go and sambut australianz pungkuk.. Go Go Go…

• new tech on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:28 pm

out of this proton topic,
    i wonder who is this `pumpkin`.
    i try to read public comments about Proton launching in Aus, then only i see most of the comments are from him..
    and keep bashing Proton, promoting Perodua and Toyota.
    seems he dont have any better things to do.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Can’t stand the heat get out of the kitchen lah ngok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • peYno on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:00 pm

butthurt perodua salesman.. so sad hearing Daihatsu producing smaal car in Indonesia not in perodua.. prrrtfhh

• linghansen on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:36 pm

What a launch budget ! 20% local representatives and 80% Malaysian representatives. Semua ‘Boleh’ tumpang sambil makan angin di down under.

• Johnny on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Model made our men all look like midgets.

• bangang negri on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:08 pm

buy any car you likes and satisfied yourself cause its our money, I own kia forte 6 speed wow I like too much , proton sorry I never buy , Now I wait for the K3 to arrive in malaysia , Pakatan won in PRU13 no car taxes then I buy this K3. Its feels to drive.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:19 pm

its bcos we are a monopolized country. GLCs monopolized most cars dealership, and there is no public transport effectively for people. Australia has public transport in Sydney and Melbourne, where driving a car is not necessary a 100% daily requirement. If our country is open up the auto market like it used to be, Protong will be sufferring, and die off, but house hold debt will be lower, but cronies die off! Its the M’s project that make the nation 3 generations now suffering.

• mantoi on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Electronic Stability Control (ESC), front wheel traction control and six airbags come as standard on all Preve variants down under

so sad…i bought CFE but feel like buying medium line model compared to generous spec Aussie model

if ‘you’ want our vote, please protect our life too

• hajihalef on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Yes. Buy buying vios with even lesser safety spec.

• spyshotX on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:15 pm

if you are offered optional package of rm6k++ to add all that aussie features, would you just eagerly pay for it?

• Carlos Ghosn on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Fellow commentators have you imagine a life without Proton being born. I bet it will be way better. Just think deep. No protection of industry required, no high prices of cars which is a necessity in modern time, no huge amount of taxpayer money used to materialize and keep afloat the company, we can become Detroit of Asia due to our location, land mass and population mass and capable workforce and relative cheap labor. Imagine all car manufacture opening here instead of Thailand,Indonesia or India or China Ford, Renault Nissan, Chevy, VW, PSA Peugeot Citreon, Honda, Mitsubishi, BMW, Merc etc. Easily our auto industry will create more jobs than a single manufacturer and the FDI might be in the hundred of billion us dollar. To own a decent car with the choice at your own will without any thing forcing you down your throat is a really a satisfaction like no other.

• Absolute Rider on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:18 pm

What the point with all the safety features if we don’t drive safe, keep safe and thinking of other road users safety too?

By the way, make sure when you want to turn or change lane, put on the indicator light on first. Cars equip with the basic feature but if you don’t use, please don’t ask for other features.

• peYno on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:04 pm

butthurt perodua salesman.. so sad hearing Daihatsu producing smaal car in Indonesia not in perodua.. prrrtfhh

n we notice.. i bash pon org yg sama je>>>
    ah beng 3rd world contries ASEAN made jepun celup UMW Vios, myvi, city, abanja, alja, INNOVA and UNSER owner je.. Real JDM n conti owner tak kecoh pon.. tak caya??
    prrrtfhh

• So much for global car!

Got us convinced we’ll be getting the same car as exports. Looks like we Malaysians will be ‘subsidizing’ Proton’s foreign markets again.

Malaysia Boleh, DRB Hicom boleh!

• peYno on Oct 19, 2012 at 8:28 pm

some ah beng making story.. CFE version not yet launched becoz of engine problem issues??? alahai ah beng… FYI.. proton will release preve hatchback in Australia with CFE engine..ozzie gonna get hatchback earlier than malaysian.. but we know oredi coz proton oredi annaounce hatchback version they are targeting overseas market..

• Azlan on Oct 19, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Virtually back to my 1st, im not talking how the proton prices reflect us in msia… It’s just what proton is offering for the model sold oversea is far more superior than the units sold bck in our own country……
    Have we msian ever shared the same 2-3 years if not 5years of free services to own our proton?

• Pumpkins on Oct 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Look how Protong give excuses of all its models equipped with ESC, extra airbags etc. due to strict Australia safety car rules..

Other export markets not so strict but still Protong give highest fullest safety specs, extra accessories etc. at dirt cheap prices…huh???

This is where Protong clearly caught itself pants down with Local specs vs Export specs…

Nothing to do with Export market safety rules lah…Either Protong loves to make loss for fun or just plain dumb

Not even one export market really works for Protong from Australia, Pak Arab to UK after 25 years…isn’t that enough to tell how whole world rejected Protong!

Better stop export market/make big loss/big global joke in Top Gear but give local buyers full spec same or lower price (eg.Hyundai Kia in Korea)…

If all fail then must close down buka kilang jual goreng pisang…Pisang Goreng Chap Protong…

What’s wrong with bikin goreng pisang? Surely make profits than make big loss hutang RM1 Billion sinkhole

• *Sigh*.

Here we go again. The export model is far better than the ones that we can buy here.

If Proton offers the same 5+5+5 here, plus the same safety features as the export model @ the current price, I will not hesitate to buy the CFE now.

Sorry Proton. You just lost a sale.

• peYno on Oct 20, 2012 at 4:43 am

u wanna buy PREVE??? all the safety features same except for number of airbag.. 6 vs 4… yet 4 airbags is much2 better compared to standard malaysia market car ( only 2 )
      so i suggest u buy VIOS… super safety with 2 airbag
      prrtfhh

• kadajawi on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Camry overseas has 10 airbags and VSC in base spec. Here highest spec has 2 airbags and no VSC (last gen at least had VSC). Vios has 2 airbags and no VSC. In any spec. Yaris overseas has 6 or more and VSC. As a standard.

• peYno on Oct 20, 2012 at 6:14 am

wait.. vios hi spec ada berapa airbag??? camry hi spec bape airbag??? myvi and ABANJA hi spec bape air bag?? proton preve hi spec bape air bag>???

• fuel cell phone on Oct 20, 2012 at 8:21 am

imho, why not proton offer another preve variant, say preve se extreme, packaged with all the bells and whistles like in aussie… wonder how much it would costs here in bolehland… rm100k?

or provide the extras as optional costs to buyers including the 5+5+5 program

• zainal abidin on Oct 20, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Absolutely YES to a souped-up preve se extreme,lets say with 150-160bhp on tap and in manual or cvt. After all,there’s a 5 year or 150,000km warranty to protect the owner.

• zainal abidin on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:04 am

(To whom it may concern) should do the right thing by abolishing car and super bike tax.(Maybe that’s the extra ticket needed to winning the next GE)(Don’t know if it will ever happen) Then ‘maybe’ we will get full spec proton’s just like those exported.

Or maybe not as everyone including myself will be buying other makes.

• Pumpkins on Oct 20, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Other export markets less strict safety rule but Protong still give highest safety specs yet at cheaper prices…

Australia safety rules therefore shouldn’t be an excuse for Protong not to give the same to local buyers here

Dulu 1991 boleh lah Protong mau tipu rakyat kaw-kaw…

• kadajawi on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Stop blaming Proton. Other manufacturers don’t even offer 4 airbags on ANY of their cars, even if they charge 180k for them (only exception being the hybrids, which are probably JDM spec and fully imported. It would probably cost more to remove the airbags… otherwise they’d do it).

Any why is that so? Because the most successful cars are the most dangerous ones, even when for a similar price similar cars are offered that are better. And when surveys are done, safety is a very small concern. Why then would manufacturers offer all they can? It doesn’t help sales, but it costs more. A bodykit is more effective at driving sales, so that is what cars get.

• MrDDR on Oct 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Seem like tallest person in picture is women..hehhee

• danielgks on Oct 20, 2012 at 2:41 pm

You don’t need to change government to change automotive policy as there is no guarantee such change will come. Changes comes from the rakyat. If rakyat stop buying cars, imagine complete stop in buying cars, what would happen ? A chain reaction from car sellers – repair shops – spare parts would explode in Malaysia. And nobody buys any more cars until safety standard is agreed and prices are restructured. Apa macam, can ah ?

• Nagayaindran S. Narayanan on Oct 20, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Advise for proton; Pull no stops if you want to compete in any market.Every component must be meticulously thought of. Not that other manufactures do not fumble, but if you want to compete you need to be the best. Thought of buying the Preve for my wife. Reviewed it but put off for the following reasons:

1. Try pulling the the diver seat height raising lever. It is plastic lever is too slim for strength. It flexes and bends scraping against the lower seat plastic moldings and damaging it. This put me off.

2. Daytime LED lights; Unless you are directly in front o the car. It start dimming as you move away to the sides.

3. The exterior design looks dated from the day of launch. The rear lights with sharp squarish ends do not match the lines of the body. The grill lacks statement and successfully states cheap plastic.

Change the chief designer: Creativity is lacking. Learn from KIA if you need lessons. I am nationalistic, just want you to succeed.Hire the best with consideration to creed or color.

• Peyno on Oct 20, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Kia?? Ah brng prefer vios than kia laaa.. Kia must learn from umw how to tackle ah beng.. But this only applynin maresia bolehland la.. Prffthh

• zainal abidin on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Remember the TUAH? I believe Proton wanted to make the fabulous looking concept TUAH into reality but we the public don’t know for whatever reason that didn’t happen and we had to make do with the PREVE.

• peYno on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:47 pm

preve local 4 airbags.. ESC…
    jepun celup Asean made but pretend to be JDM.. 2 airbag non ESC.. no wonder UMW product not even sold in OZ..
    OZ ppl not stupid like ah beng maresia
    prrrtfhhh

• peYno on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:52 pm

well bash all local cars ( perodua, proton) coz all of them are BN croni9ecompanies ( PNB and DRB).. protected by BN gomen ( higher tax for imported smaaa compact car ( to protect perodua).. higher tax for imported sedan car( to protect proton)… and NAP is exist becoz of these 2 local car maker ( perodua n proton)… perodua n proton oso selling cheaper price for export but higher price for local ppl..

Yet.. we can see.. ah beng here pretending to be Anti NAP.. ANTI BN.. anti Cronies. and Local Car… tapi at the same time very selective boleh support n puji2 perodua lagi.
    nampak sgt …

rupa2nya perodua salesman..
    ah beng

prrrtfhhh

• leomessi on Oct 21, 2012 at 2:04 am

xlarat ak nak bace satu2 komen korg. majulah sukan utk negara.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 21, 2012 at 10:46 am

malaysian are always been bullied….

Why?? They are damn stupid. After years kena conned, still buying the Proton. Some even think Satria is a sport car samor.

On top of that, Malaysian life are cheap. When kena accident or died in accident…..they wont sue. Just accept as fate.

Govt knows about this, so they take advantage….of their own malaysian.

Stupid govt, governing stupid ppl….Noneed to think much what would happened after that….

• Peyno on Oct 21, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Not only proton. Umw oso con maresian.. Jepun iso con maresian… Ah beng butthurt

• kadajawi on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Toyota is a worse offender. At least Proton cars are relatively cheap, and offer a reasonable amount of safety, compared to most competitors (especially in their price range). But Toyota charges a lot, but offers nothing.

• I despise the bald man there! DSZ lagi handsome!

• Chow1 on Oct 21, 2012 at 8:34 pm

It’s a nice car, if it’s 10 years ago. Hm, just give up.

• kadajawi on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Why is the Preve less safe in Malaysia than in Australia? Because people vote with their wallet. And the cars that do the best are the ones that have the least amount of safety features for the highest price (Toyota). Models that are better (also in terms of safety) are not very successful. Even when it is the same model, the car that is less safe (and more expensive) is more successful, because it looks a bit better.

So obviously other manufacturers follow suit, including Proton. In other countries a car with less than 6 airbags is not acceptable, even when it is legal (see Germany, where the Lada Niva is perfectly legal to be sold now despite having 0 airbags). People will just not buy it, unless there are extremely good reasons to buy the car.

• kadajawi on Oct 21, 2012 at 11:44 pm

However what Proton can and should do is offer any Preve with optional airbags and ESP. So the baseline one can be ordered with 2, 4 or 6 airbags, the CFE with 4 or 6. Of course it comes at a premium, and probably not many would go for it, but if they offer it at least some of the criticism would fade away and they can gauge if there is any demand on the market.

• boikot barangan buatan malaysia especially kereta tempatan.

• ynnad on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:12 am

IMO our government is not enforcing strict safety guidline because both Proton and Perodua would not be able to provide sufficient profits to keep their business and license afloat (well maybe perodua in the former while proton in the latter case). Enforce those active and passive guidelines, will safe many lives no doubt, but it wont enrich some “preferred” cronies. The only way we are going to get those safety measures is when those “preferred” cronies can get their grubby fingers into the pie as well.

• mayonis on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:27 am

haiyo…. all trying to bash proton one… the real culprit one is the tax that impose in our boleh land.
    did you know that each of car have their own AP, tax and sewaktu dgnnya? proton also have to pay tax around 30%. and some of import brand new car price in bolehland is not decide by manufacture/importer.

other country put some high standard for manufacture to sell the car in their country. e.g: safety, polution, quality of car.
    in boleh land we put standard in the price. structure.

• Nick.C on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:56 pm

It is Protons fault because this entire f*ed up Tax, AP, Excise system was setup to protect Proton. Ask anyone who owned a car before the 80s, they will tell you.

• mayonis on Oct 25, 2012 at 10:17 am

proton is just a scape goat only. it just an excuse to suck our money via tax.

same excuse to rise up the sugar price, implement AES and increase cigarette price …see what i mean.

• leong on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:53 am

Proton preve cvt Australia with six airbag ,ship from port klang all the way to australia is AUD 20990 = USD 21695.84

Proton preve cvt Malaysia with 4 airbag ,drive from tanjung malim to KL is RM 72990 = USD 23923.30

Malaysia boleh!

• lincoln on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:12 am

Australians pay much higher charges for parking, fuel and toll. We are talking about at least AUD 10 per hour in the city centre, street side parking is only to a maximum period of only three hours. Fuel prices are floated on a free market. The police have a very strict zero tolerance on speeding, with a maximum speed of only 100 km/h even on a highway.

• Norman on Oct 28, 2012 at 5:31 am

Relax ah Toyota Honda give us 1 airbag we dun hoohaa mah.Its other countries requirement or else how you wanna do business

• Kazar on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:46 am

Looking at the spec and price further proven potong is not aim for the benefit our Malaysian… Furthermore, it sucks the money from taxpayer and made the country embarrassed

• Lucas on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:14 pm

That hot chick is there in the photo and all you guys can comment is on the car.. Nerds.

• walk me on Dec 10, 2012 at 5:48 pm

fuck proton. should be bought over by honda or toyota already. People! When are you guys going to stop buying proton? For our children sake, please.. make them to die using our market force.. it’s time already! Enough patient.. It becomes unbearable already!