2014 Honda Jazz launched in Malaysia – RM73k-RM88k

Honda Jazz Main Pic

The wait is over for one of the most anticipated new cars this year – the 2014 Honda Jazz is here! Open for booking since the start of the month (over 500 bookings to date), the third-gen B-segment hatch is available in S, E and V variants.

Bearing little resemblance to its predecessor, the all-new Honda Jazz calls upon the “Exciting H Design” language to give it a more aggressive and angular appearance, as well as the “Solid Wing Face” you see on the City and HR-V/Vezel. The centre fuel tank layout has been retained.

Regardless of which variant you choose, you get a non-direct injected 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine developing 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm (200 rpm lower than in the outgoing Jazz) and an ‘Earth Dreams’ CVT – essentially the same drivetrain as the Honda City’s. A fuel consumption of 17.81 km per litre is claimed.

honda-jazz-2014-launched-malaysia 095

Step inside and owners of the current Honda City will feel a sense of deja vu – but there are differences. The dashboard is mildly restyled, with fewer shiny satin bits than in the City.

Also, there’s a chrome ring around the central speedo, the driver’s side control panel loses the piano black finish and the mirror controls have migrated from there to the door, freeing up space for a cooled cupholder.

Across the range, you’ll find no shift paddles, ECON mode, cruise control, reverse camera or navigation (the latter is available as an option), but you still get the very practical rear Ultra Seats. Apart from folding flat, the seat bases can also be lifted up to make space for tall items. The front seats can also be reclined flat.

honda-jazz-2014-launched-malaysia 097

This is joined by increased dimensions – the new Jazz is 55 mm longer than its already-roomy predecessor at 3,955 mm. The wheelbase has been extended 30 mm to 2,530 (70 mm less than the City). Width and height maintain status quo at 1,695 and 1,524 mm respectively.

Boot volume is now 363 litres instead of the previous 337 (all seats up). The MacPherson strut-front, torsion beam-rear suspension setup features revised geometry to promote stable steering, better handling and less vibration. Like the City, the Jazz comes with a front-disc, rear-drum brake setup. Weight ranges from 1,067 to 1,088 kg.

Base kit includes halogen headlamps, LED tail lamps and a tilt/telescopic steering as well as ABS, EBD and brake assist, rear Isofix points and a four-point reverse sensor. The S grade features a black front grille, manual air-conditioning, manual side mirror adjustment, a single-DIN head unit and four speakers, keyed ignition as well as dual airbags and 15-inch steel wheels (wrapped with 175/65 rubbers) with plastic covers.

The E grade adds on a fair bit of equipment, including upping the 15-inch wheels to alloy units. It and the V grade get a high gloss black front grille, touch-panel auto air-con, powered side mirrors, a centre console storage bin (with armrest) and a leather-wrapped steering wheel, replete with steering-mounted audio controls.

The E still has a four-speaker system, but adds on a standard double-DIN audio system head unit, and it gets blue/white illumination for its multi-information combination meter (on the S, in amber). Like the S, there are only two airbags here, but the variant adds on hill-start assist, an emergency start-stop signal and Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA).

The range-topping V grade of course gets the bells and whistles – on top of what’s found on the E grade, the airbag count goes to six (side curtain and side airbags in addition to the dual front), and the version rides on 16-inch alloys and packs a seven-inch touch-screen with HDMI, Siri Eyes Free Mode (for iPhones 4S and up), and the steering-mounted switchgear adds on hands-free telephone controls. The optional navigation system, a third-party unit co-developed with Honda Malaysia, is available for RM3,220.

2014 Honda Jazz full spec sheet and price list above, click to enlarge

You can customise your Jazz with the Modulo Package (bodykit + sports pedals, RM2,650), Utility Package (foot lights + cargo tray + trunk organiser + side step illumination, RM1,250) and, for the first time, a Mugen Package (bodykit + tailgate spoiler + Mugen badge, RM4,900). Having been tested at ASEAN NCAP last week, the hatch is aiming for a five-star safety rating.

Locally-assembled at Honda Malaysia’s No. 2 Line at its Pegoh plant in Melaka, the 2014 Honda Jazz is priced, OTR with insurance, as follows: S RM72,800, E RM79,800 and V RM87,800.

As for exterior colours, Tinted Silver (new), Brilliant Sporty Blue Metallic, Tafetta White, Crystal Black Pearl and Modern Steel Metallic are available. A five-year warranty with unlimited mileage is offered. The service interval is 10,000 km and there’s six times free service alternating with paid service until 100,000 km.

Honda Jazz Malaysia Blue- 3

Four cars are currently on display at the launch – V (Tinted Silver), E (Brilliant Sporty Blue Metallic), E with Modulo (Tafetta White) and E with Mugen and optional navi (Tinted Silver). You’ll see pictures of the standard V and E in the gallery below (and two of the white Modulo); the rest are on their way to you in a separate post!

Read out test drive report on the 2014 Honda Jazz from Thailand. Also, check out Episode 1 of an all-new season of our Driven Web Series to see the Jazz’s sedan sister in action!

2014 Honda Jazz 1.5 E with Modulo package

2014 Honda Jazz 1.5 E with Mugen package

2014 Honda Jazz studio shots

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:59 am

Not bad the price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 56
    • joget lambak on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Proton should rebadge this Jazz also…call it as “Proton Keroncong”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 102
      • Ah Beng Hate Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Joget Lambak:
        Why don’t you ask Perodua to rebadge? You should have bigger knowledge in automotive before you comment.
        Kancil, Viva = Daihatsu Mira
        Myvi = Toyota Passo
        Alza = Toyota Passo Sette
        Nautica = Daihatsu Terios or Rush

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 23
        • Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Well done Perodua rebadging Toyota/Daihatsu cars. People enjoy reliability at cheap price.

Or you prefer:
          1. Loud and noisy engine.
          2. Powerless
          3. Fuel hunger
          4. Poor build quality
          5. Ad hoc break down here and there

Proton would make profit if they do more rebadge. I will consider the Accord Perdana.

I know you hate me. But fact is fact, no need emotional say people have no knowledge.

Let’s see what kind of rude words you will use. I know fact is not at your side. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 75
          • You beg my pardon Honda Malaysia. You price it at 88k while City which is bigger and with much more accessories only priced at 92k. Are you crazy? Are you having not enough of sleep? Are you high on drug? Are you #CDM25? I thought you have changed (after what you did with City), but now you go back to your oldself. I rather get myself a Rio which is 13k cheaper. I can use the 13k to subsidise the petrol which are not going to be subsidise soon by our beloved govt which set the smartest NAP which cause the poor people like us can’t even afford the lowest range Jazz a.k.a Kosong Jazz. #@%$$#%#@$!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 23
          • Petrolhead (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Honda Malaysia should price this Jazz a little lower than the City. About the same price, the City V comes out on top with ECON mode, cruise control, rear aircond, more legroom and more boot space. This makes the Jazz seem like a ripped off when compared to the City. I think the only thing to shout for about the Jazz are the Ultra seats

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
          • Ketuanan Road Bully on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Honda should give special discounts to tudung women in Malaysia. It will be good for their sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
          • ian chung on Jul 18, 2014 at 12:23 am

agreed 100%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • B Segment Rip Off on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Malaysians get the worst deal. Cheated by our Government. This is an exorbitantly priced small car. If you look at the list below, this small tiny B segment car cost MORE than ALL the Japanese cars in the US. Are Malaysians being cheated?

Honda Accord 2.4
          US$21,480 (RM64,440)

Honda CRV 2.5
          US$22,495 (RMM67,485)

Honda Civic 2.0
          US$15,955 (RM47,865)

Toyota Altis 2.0
          US$16,130 (RM48,390)

Toyota Camry 2.5
          US$22,055 (RM66,165)

Kia Sorento
          US$23,150 (RM69,450)

Hyundai Tucson
          US$19,245 (RM57,735)

Hyundai Sonata
          US$20,895 (RM62,685)

Hyundai Elantra 1.8
          US$16,695 (RM50,085)

Mazda 6 2.5
          US$21,190 (RM63,570)

Mazda CX5
          US$21,545 (RM64,635)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 16
          • Saga r on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Those price are not include tax+transport fee+registration total could end up 15 % more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 29
          • Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:07 pm

The above (Saga r) is right. A straight off conversion is illogical. Bringing a foreign product in to sell in any country isn’t as simple as that. The shipping is usually charged in USD and that has to be factored into the final pricing as well. In a healthy economy, one also cannot expect 0% tax and duties.

I am not saying that the amount of tax charged in Malaysia is reasonable or fair.

I’m just saying that a straight conversion doesn’t tell the whole story. A CKD product is merely an imported product assembled locally. The CKD kit still has to be imported.

The weakening of the Ringgit also doesn’t help…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
          • even add in 15% also not even half of our car price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
          • Former US Resident on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Actually in the US, car prices are lower than this list. I lived in the US 2 years ago. You can go into different dealerships and bargain and bargain as if you are bargaining buying ikan tenggiri.

Like the Camry, you can get USD3000 to USD4000 cheaper if you shop around and bargain. Maybe USD18k or less.

Unlike Malaysia, the dealership will tell you to podah pundek if you try to bargain

btw, tax is only few percent and transport is free most of the time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 1
          • Mastermind on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

hown about personal tax n vat????
            and more cost of fuel???
            waaa so easy to compare…..
            how about education system??
            political system?
            Government system??
            Law system???
            Better u study more n more with comprehensive method don’t just google maaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 48
          • Hi Mastermind.. so you are meaning that our country have better education, government, politic, law, etc compare to them? But why are we still way behind them if we are everything better than them? Explain pls.. maybe you are the one just simply google..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
          • no problem on Jul 20, 2014 at 11:28 am

then try become singaporean..

• Car-Fans on Jul 24, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Aduih! Did not see won’t feel so pains .. after see … super pains $$$$$

• Where is Najib's Promise of 30% reduction? on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 1 years and 2 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

What is worse is that, our car prices go even higher, without VSC and just 2 airbags.

The price of this car in Malaysia cost more than buying a Honda Accord 2.4 in the US with 9 airbags.

Why do Malaysians, who earn far lesser than the Australian or the US Citizen, pay same amount of money for a Camry or an Accord but get a kuci Jazz with 2 airbags?

Malaysia RM80,000 = get CKD Made in Malaysia Jazz with 2 airbags with NO VSC

VS

In US, RM65,000 = get Mat Salleh made CBU Honda Accord with 9 airbags and VSC

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 186 Thumb down 16
        • Pessimist on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Even if the prices of our cars go down to US/Thai/etc. prices, we still won’t be able to afford them.
          The Gov will have to please the banks so they will limit car loans to 3 – 5 years and raise the interest. Only way for banks to retain their profits. This also means second hand value of cars will drops faster since cars change faster.

In short, most people will still have to pay the same amount monthly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
          • Janji Dicapati on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Last time 1st gen CBU Jazz is over RM110k brand new.

Now 3rd gen CKD Jazz brand just RM73k.

There their promise of 30% reduction LoLz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 43
        • This is to prevent Proton from bankrup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
          • Saga r on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Dont blame proton lah. Mind to tell us why KIA C segment priced at 80s K only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
          • haidir on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:00 am

but kia and hyundai are more expensive than Honda anda Toyota in US -dont just trust mine-

• permanent residence on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:36 pm

In Thai, the bank required a minimum 25% downpayment with period of 3-6 years of monthly installment not to mention the sky high int, do you think u still can afford those car? Dont forget abt the fuel n roadtax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • john error on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:26 am

if the price only 60k.. i dont mind to put 25% downpayment… balance 35k loan for 6 years, still great than 80k loan for 9 years.. talk about fuel n roadtax, in malaysia we have a lot of tolls… how many toll u think in thailand?

• Only the stupid only trust what BN promise. Didn’t increase the price already consider relief…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • Desperate desperate Honda and Toyota Salesman on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:00 pm

The car is so tiny. Sat in it in the Honda showroom. Big size people definitely cannot fit into this car or sit comfortably. I cannot believe that I have to pay 90k for a small tiny car.

I am not surprised why we hardly see any new Civics and Altis on the road anymore. The previous generations of Civic and Altis/Vios can see a lot on the road.

What does this mean? Clearly it shows people are getting fed up of Honda and Toyota in Malaysia for cheating them. Charge so much but give very little spec.

Do you know what ca I see so often now? I see Hyundai Elantra quite a lot. Its everywhere and also Kias.

People in Malaysia, especially the younger generation have wisen up and have gotten fed up with the way Honda and Toyota do business here. They think they are government linked (DRB and UMW), they can do anything they want and give the rakyat rubbish.

I rather buy the Hyundai Elantra. The biggest C segment around and yet I can get a brand new one for about RM80k (after discounts). It comes with VSC and 5 years warranty.

This Jazz might be the nail in the coffin for Honda. Remember Honda and Toyota younger generation are getting fed up with you guys. Charging a lot but giving so little in return.

It is so funny. Last year, you walk into the Toyota showroom or Honda Showroom, they don’t layan you. You can even stand for an hour and go have tea in their pantry also, nobody layan you.

Now in 2014, the salespeople in Toyota and Honda are like hungry dogs. All run and chase you. All desperate for a sale. All treat you like gold.

Now slowly the sales people in Honda and Toyota realising, they are losing their business completely.

As for Honda. Lets see how their models are doing.

CRV is as good as ZERO sales. It has been wiped out completely by just one car. The Mzda CX5. Completely wiped out.

Accord not too bad. Doing so so.

Civic – completely zero sales. Wiped our by the Elantra. Infact Elantra has wiped out Altis also.

City – their bread and butter. Doing very well

Jazz – lets wait and see.

Wake up Honda. Wake up Toyota. Your salesman already woken up from their deep slumber of lepak and smoking outside the showroom prior to 2013. Now its time for Honda Malaysia and Toyota UMW to wake up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 28
        • Honda City sure KILL sister Jazz on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Jazz sure to fail. It will be killed by their own City. City is so much bigger and spacious. The Jazz looks like a Myvi. Infact the Myvi and Jazz got sama legroom in the front and back.

So which you buy? Myvi RM50k vs Jazz RM80k?
          Both also got very good RV.

Or if you insist on Honda, the Honda City is a far better car for same price.

Honda just shot themselves in the foot. Their own model City will kill the little sister Jazz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
          • If going for jazz why not go for city since its bigger in size n the installment per month is not tat much difference.
            ya correct, y not go for Myvi since its comparative cheaper by a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Smart people gets Honda on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:40 pm

I would buy this 2014 new Jazz rather than Myvi aka junk coffin car.
            Future new 2014 City owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • Hi Elantra owner, how much value of your Hyundai elantra after 5 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
        • I am pro you diam (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:28 pm

OMG DESPERATE MAZDA/NISSAN SALESMAN SPOTTED.

WHERE DID YOU GET YOUR SO-CALLED HONDA MARKET INFORMATION?

OTHER THAN CITY IS CORRECT, EVERY SINGLE MODEL YOU MENTIONED YOU GOT THE WRONG INFO LOL.
          STOP THE BULLS.H.I.T AND GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT. IM NOT A SALESMAN BUT PEOPLE DONT NEED TWISTED FACT AND FAKE INFO HERE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 27
          • I also never see the new 2014 Altis. One year already launched, once in a bluemoon can see the car on the road. I think its desperate honda and Toyota salesman here that is panicking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • H & T salesman sakit on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:20 pm

I am pro you diam is a Toyota or Honda salesman. Now he no more going to Starbucks. Its mamak or chap fun. So, he pretty worried.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Acrix on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Lets see the latest market report as of May 2014
          1. Perodua: 77666
          2. Proton: 52980
          3. Toyota: 41490
          4. Honda: 29908
          5. Nissan: 18594
          6. Mazda: 4731
          Based on the figures Honda is at fourth place below Toyota. However if based on 2012 and 2013 records, about 30% of Toyota sales is contributed by commercial vehicles.
          So minus off 30% from Toyota 41490 and you will get 29043 units.
          Surprise!! Toyota might even lose to Honda this year in the passenger vehicle segment and for the first time take over Toyota crown.

So all the nonsense you were shouting is just your own delusion i guess without any facts. Oh and even adding up Hyundai and Kia sales together they are about 21000 units behind Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
          • I am pro you diam (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 7:47 am

Finally SOMEONE WITH INTELLECTUAL TALKING HERE UNLIKE MAZDA/NISSAN/KIMCHI SALESMAN.

IN FACT HONDA LEADS in PV MARKET FOR 4 out of 6 months in this year!!! MAA DATA!!! I DONT SPEAK WITHOUT FACTS OR BASED ON FEEEELINGS. S.T.U.P.I.D!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • Honda Toyota Sales Downhill on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Toyota and Honda salesman are so deffensive and go on the offence when people tell the truth.

I too agree. I hardly can see the new Vios or Altis in town. I drive in KL and PJ and cover about 120KM per day for work purposes. I hardly see any the new Altis or the new Vios. What is more shocking is the new Altis launched more than a year.

The same with Honda. This is 100% correct. Every corner you see a CX5. But Honda CRV, sometimes you see. Very rare.

Sales figures can bull so much. But nothing like real life experience. Sorry I have to agree, hardly see any new 2014 Hondas around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • Alex Gan on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Honda is losing sales like crazy. When I send my Honda for service, I see the sales showroom empty. Few years ago, showroom always full of people.

I honestly believe kimchi has taken a big pie share from Honda.

And the rage of the Honda salesman here is so obvious. Honda salesman, please act with dignity. People don’t buy Honda anymore because Malaysians want safety features like VSA and more airbags.

You cheat people, people cheat you back by not buying your cars.

Oh btw, how much are you guys paying MAA to give false sales figures?

• Acrix the Salesman on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Acrix the salesman, come in and now amok showing sales figures. Brader, I cannot see lah new 2014 Hondas.
            I live in KL City centre where all the wealth is brader.

I don’t live in kampung. I live in KL City Centre. Old Civic got. Old City got. Old Accord got.

But very few new Civic, few Accords and few CRVs. Eyes don’t cheat brader!

• Alex kimchi salesman on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:57 am

You work in Kimchi showroom and somehow know that Honda showrooms are empty?? You stand there everyday and count ah? Just because your showroom empty don’t go blame others la.
            How long you live in cave? New City and Jazz got VSA in E spec and 6 airbag in V spec. If you say the bare spec Jazz and City got no VSA then how about your Elantra and Cerato KX? The bare spec cars also no ESP.

Please act with dignity as your kimchi sales is still nowhere near sushi sales. Even Mazda also win your kimchi!

• Smart people gets Honda on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:36 pm

U are the one very desperate Mazda or kimchi salesman.

CRV- I saw many on the road already compare to the cx5 junk.Mazda cars no RV nobody will buy it.

Civic-yes i admit hardly saw it on the road.Just one reason-the new Altis,flooding the road like hell.Elantra and Cerato will keep dust in the showroom.Thats why Kia launched the KX version at 90k just hope to boost the sales which is zero.And at the end people still won’t look at this Ceratocoffin.

Jazz-again like 2013 CKD version,will flood the road after one month.As u said,wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Acrix the Salesman on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Honda salesman English is so bad. No wonder why nobody buys Honda anymore.

I cannot forget this…”Smart people gets Honda”

If basic English also Honda salesman cannot speak, what more their knowledge when selling the car???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Acrix on Jul 18, 2014 at 10:38 am

Those are official sales figure given by MMA. If such facts can’t get through your head i guess there is something really wrong with your brain or perhaps education?? Delusion much??
            You mention that you can’t see new Honda/Toyota cars on the road so perhaps not only your brain is faulty but even your eyes.

Between 2005-2014 there are at least 4.5 million registered passenger vehicles alone and with over 90000km of roads in Malaysia you expect your hourly daily drive in KL is able to tell the statistics of car sales in Malaysia? If that’s the case, better hire you to do statistics instead of research firms. However with your questionable thinking and eyesight i think that would be a bad idea and highly disastrous.
            Go back to your cave and continue dreaming instead of trolling about.

• Almera on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:00 pm

No doubt about it. Logic/facts win over rantings.
            Acrix scores double points and the rest have yet to provide decent answers apart from their own biased thoughts in this topic.

• Altis-blind on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:46 pm

New Altis flooding the road??!
            Ha ha ha !!!

• old dog on Jul 17, 2014 at 7:03 pm

The CHINA BRAND is coming next…dont laugh, i wont blink to spend RM50K in their SUV, in my small town, i can ride another 10 years with it no problem..

• This car much better than Proton Suprima!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • hahaha good one joget lambak!!!

• Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:53 pm

But the accessories too expensive, especially the so call 3rd party navigation system that cost @RM3220!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Or about the same price as Toyota’s option on the Vios. Frankly, I believe top spec does come with Honda mirror link like the city.

• entaoba on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Agree, way too expensive, u can get a S5 at much lower than that price and can do so much more rather than just navigation.

• fast5 on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Dissapointed with selling price expected lower, not almost same price with H City.
      It’s pressure from proton?? Coming GSC will price at 50k-60k??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Allen on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Why put the blame to Proton global small car?

Isn’t that Honda Malaysia who set the price?
        If you say MITI set the price, how come manufacturer will be given permission to give discount once a while? and huge discount to clear stock?

• fast5 on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Fact is that automotive price is control by the gov.
          Gov own proton, so it maybe possibilities. Or the man behind this Tun himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • langit hitam on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:04 pm

No paddle shift?Why? Why? Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • No cruise control? That’s standard featured now days.

• policeman on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Because if you wanted to shift gears manually you would have gotten a car with manual transmission, not some junk gearbox with a rubber band.

• vwowner on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Still not resonably priced for that engine variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Tumb Up Honda… I like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • policeman on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Stay away!
      High risk of CVT failure.
      Replacement cost exceeds RM20K.
      Beware.
      You’ve been warned.

When I see you by the roadside with you stalled Jazz, I’m gonna stop over and mock you for making such a moronic decision. I will then post it on Facebook and Instagram.

Unreliable cars breaking down > traffic congestion > stress > somebody’s gonna run amok and start slashing each other with machetes > Genocide. Is that what you want? Stop filling the streets with unreliable cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 81
      • The CVT that you had mentioned was from the first generation… The new CVT offered in the current honda range has improved leaps and bounds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • the killer on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:35 pm

ARE YOU LIKE GENUINELY RETARDED?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • If i do buy this jazz, and like you predicted it would stall by the roadside, and by devil’s chance that you were there to mock me, I’ll sure unleash all my frustrations and disappointment on you by beating you till near death, because, honestly, you were asking for it. Just be ready for it ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Acrix on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Wow… delusion much??
        Have you been living in a cave all this while??
        Have you been outside on the roads and see how many of the first gen CVT City is still on the road??
        Mine is 7 years old and got no problems at all. Service you car regularly and change the CVT transmission fluid regularly and its problem free. The new City is using a brand new Earth Dreams CVT so any sort of problems should also be ironed out.

• Findme on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:58 pm

My City year 2006 with more than 200K mileage but still no issue on the CVT gearbox, why leh? Some more high rev and speed all the time.

My sister City year 2003 until now also no issue on gearbox, why leh?

… because we take care the car… frequent maintenance…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:09 pm

wished there was an RS version with a manual gearbox as a distant alternative to the swift sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:30 pm

also…6 speaker instead of 8, only 1 accessory socket…but most importantly no cruise control ==

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • New Jazz x de projector ,only hv S,E & V Spec.. and the bodykit x de include DRL .. sad case!
    Other country hv Projector, RS version and many more , Malaysia Spec Like Kosong T.T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • waiting on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:11 pm

waiting for the comments….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • +1

• Man, the Modulo front grill looks sweet!!!

• Highest spec also has so many no, no paddle shifter, no this, no that…. What a boring car to drive.

• Jazzy on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:21 pm

I expected the range topper will be around RM85k since it loses so many features and smaller compared to it’s bigger brother City.

• CBU OWNER on Jul 21, 2014 at 11:00 am

At first glace, the exterior seems cool, made me feel like i shld’ve waited.. but then again, the features are the biggest let down for me..and i said to myself , the jazz hybrid I bought was a bargain..6 airbags vsa etc..comes with paddle shifters.. a fun small car to drive & certainly value for money..

• AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Much higher than anticipated, RM83k is about the highest I can imagine with the Jazz. Which brings to the question……at the price, what is stopping people from getting a City V or even E(RM83k)…Sure looks wise, after I ply out that stick on rear-reflector, Its a better looking car than a City(wheels to body proportion seems to be better), and than theres the rear ultra seats…But still, not much reason for sedan-loving Malaysia to hop a few extra Ks and upgrade to a City.

All in all, the V spec personally is still ahead of the competition with the Polo 1.6 and Fiesta 1.6(both about tha price, both get only 2 airbags, Stability control omitted in the Polo), its lightyears better than a Toyota Yaris……but it will tough to say weather its better than a Pug 206, the Peugeout is much more chic and better looking albeit 4-speeder gerabox(which according to PT comment penal is a bad thing)and I believe smaller space. The Peugeout also have bragging rights, armed with a steering lock, you can bully old Toyota uncles for their VSC-less car bumping into you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Objectively speaking, a hatchback does have certain advantages over a sedan and if there is a hatchback that can prove this to Malaysians, it’s the ultra-practical Jazz.

I think this entry by Honda just opens up the options a little for Malaysians. Speaking of options, perhaps a club-style steering lock needs to be included as standard equipment after seeing what can happen on the road now…

“I challenge you to a STEERING LOCK DUEL!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:59 pm

CRAP Hit dislike by accident, yea my fault, it wont undo

Anyways, The hatch body does make it more practical for parking, and one thing I do know about the City is that parking can be tough. The new City and my old Gundam-City shares a chin larger than Jay-Leno’s, the first time whan I got my P, my first accident was scraping on the side of the curb(yea my bad). The Jazz seems to have shorter overhangs than the City, and I believe it is more chic than the overly chrome front of the city…and I do love some smoked lights.

As for the steering lock, I do know of Camry “XV50” coming with built in steering lock, theres a small lock under the steering racks that locks the steering with your key. Wonder why no car ever feature that. But nowadays, smart key system ommitts any neccessary use of a steering lock. The 3-stage lock meant that good-ol hot wiring may start the car, but because throttle, transmission and steering are electric, those mey remain lock and muct be unlock through seperate method. It is also why you see a declining number of cars getting stolen, cars that are stolen 4 out of 5 would have their keys stuck in it or a car that is older.

And yes I’ll accept your steering lock duel….*Grabs replica Katana from under the boot* “Yea I collect stuff”

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Gasp, you use a replica katana for a steering lock? Badass, that is.

Anyway, I have heard news that a smart key Mitsu Mirage got hijacked somehow. Not sure how the hijackers did it. The owner got his Mirage back, though, so it’s not a sad ending. Just wondering how the hijacker bypassed the security system.

I do concur with the movement towards the smartkeys. It’s really convenient now that I’ve been using a car equipped with such a feature. Also no more such things as “I forgot my car keys in the ignition!”

• AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:14 pm

No, I just happen to have one in the car, for self defense. Basically made out of wood with a PVC support….can be use for Kendo training but for me its just aesthatics. My friend do have a actual replica katana made out of steel.

You know funny thing is that 60% of the car stolen in the US is due to not locking your car, 40% of that even left their ignition on…..Smart key may prevent your car from hotwiring and running off, but if your car is still on, it can be still run off.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Edit: newly released spec sheet shows that the Jazz also edge out of the City for LED rear lights. Also, E spec like the City E, is still 2 airbags but with VSC and continuing the trand, El-Cheapo gets nothing….. still not convince over the City’s cruise control and rear-seat vents. But I do like the front end design on this.

• Anonymous Coward on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Have you been in the 206? Car’s tiny, man. Great interior but it’s seriously tiny. And that steering wheel is just… at its highest position, it blocks the speedo. If this was a Proton, everybody would be up in arms.

That glovebox is tiny too. I want to like the 206, I really do but the flaws are just too much.

If you want the most space in a tiny packaging, this is it. I still don’t like the fact that Honda doesn’t want to have six airbags across its range, fairly daft that.

The Rio is tempting for its overall features but the ride/handling is seriously compromised.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Basically each have its own perks, yes I do find most Peugeout interior to be cramp. its only airy due to the fact it has a large sunroof on top, basically it feels like a moving aquirium. The Rio does look very tempting thou, but still not as spacious as the previous Jazz, not sure about this.

• JazzGK on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:22 pm

A NON-DIRECT INJECTED 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine developing 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm (200 rpm lower than in the outgoing Jazz) and an ‘Earth Dreams’ CVT.Not good for VTEC kicked in YO fans.SAD!
    Sad,cuz Japan has DOHC i-vtec.
    Overall, still looks uglier than previous model.Expensive too,better stick with previous models(GE8).or get a different model from different makes.Wait for next gen model……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Stanley on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Just little gap price compare to City. I think it’s more valuable to get City. I have pre-book the Jazz. Now have to look at the specs page then decide whether to change my booking to City

• JazzGK on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Well at least it comes with the MUGEN parts.NOw that is COOL!

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Finally! No degrading use of women at a car’s launch to mask the shortcomings (if any) of the car! Just the car in all its glory…or ugliness. Good thing it’s not too bad here.

I think the instrument cluster looks better (sportier) than the one on the City with the central binnacle. The only qualm I see with the ergonomics would be the placement of the handbrake lever closer to the passenger side rather than closer to the driver side.

So which trim level is the one pictured here? The Jazz E, I presume?

Overall, like the City, this looks like a good deal if you’re shopping in the B segment. They even managed to make the entry price cheaper than the previous Jazz Petrol but whether or not the loss in equipment over that is massive remains to be seen. The loss of the rear disc brakes might break the deal for some but the increasing number of Honda Cities on the roads indicate that it is a small matter for most people.

• joget lambak on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Diamlah macai. No money you go buy Saga Executive. Poor executive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 49
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:01 pm

You either commented under the wrong comment or you missed the point of my comment entirely. Mana comprehension u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng Hate Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Joget Lambak:
        Everybody hav their opinion and free to talk but not to condemn other product. When PROTON want to sell slight high price & quality C-Segment car SURPIMA S people like you said, “It’s not worth and better buy City or Vios”..Now PROTON produce cheaper B-Segment SAGA and PERSONA u said “car meant for POOR EXECUTIVE”..Is that PROTON problem or u the one who MENTALLY PROBLEM..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Everyone one can tell everything, you even ask me to leave Malaysia. In fact I just back from Rio. lol. But fact (sales figure) will tell.

If Suprima S so good why no one buy it? Proton not even dare to disclose the sales figure? Why?

You guys keep on bashing Toyota but the Vios waiting period still long.

Mind to explain why? lol

Proton mostly sell Saga and Persona, which has no VSC/ESP, while you keep on syok sendiri Proton is the safest car in the world. This is the real MENTAL PROBLEM.

One thing is true: the cheapest B segment car in ASEAN Saga should not use the word “executive”. It stain it. So Saga is going to come out Saga Boss, Saga CEO in the future? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
          • Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Sales figures aren’t easily explained. Sometimes, it’s brand image and public perception. Other times, it’s because of lack of consumer knowledge and/or herd mentality. At times, a product is genuinely an excellent product.

Proton is plagued by multiple issues that low sales of the Suprima S isn’t surprising. Brand perception will always get in their way and if you buy a Proton, people will naturally ask “why did you get one?????!” because they will think there are other options more worth your money. Proton’s QA/QC issues, while improving, still have not quite regained public trust yet. After all, a car is a big depreciating investment in Malaysia and people will naturally go with a safe choice and here Proton is on its shakiest footing. Whether Proton cars are worth your money or not, that is for you to decide.

I also found it strange that Proton changed their variant naming convention to “SV, executive, premium, super premium” rather than the industry standard of using alphabets to differentiate between variants, instead. Their Base-line, Mid/Medium-line and High-line system was actually pretty serviceable if they only limited themselves to 3 variants.

The Vios is actually a pretty decent car despite what many here think. It is, however, not the best in the segment. There isn’t much technological investment that Toyota can show when they launched the new Vios. It is still running the same powertrain, albeit one that is tuned to near perfection in its current form. Besides the design and the inclusion of a smart key system, an infotainment with reverse cam, improved soundproofing, revised suspension and revised interior materials, there isn’t really much of anything new. The most glaring point is the lack of stability control even in the 90k Vios TRD spec. Yet, UMW still charges really high prices for their car. Many people just don’t know better, hence the long waiting list. Their good customer service and aftersales support also help. More are now migrating to Honda, however.

I’m not mindlessly bashing Toyota and I certainly don’t hate them. I’m just saying that Toyota needs to buck up their game. Their customers demand more for the premium they are paying while other brands are now offering better deals (on paper, at least).

• Same L0rr on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:05 pm

You are right. Am I proud of Vios not having VSC? No, I am not. But i can’t change it. Yet Vios is much much better than Proton.

Why UMW Toyota Malaysia has less to offer but more in price??

Is because the competitor so weak, it is so weak till it need protection, beg for money and poor build quality, so Toyota win easily. When Toyota win easily, she won’t bother to give more.

If Malaysia market is as open as US/AUS/UK, you think Toyota can’t offer more to compete, cheaper car with better specs?

It is not fair to blame Toyota, every company is trying their best to maximize the profit. Blame the less competitive environment in Malaysia market.

When you are protecting the lousy Proton, you are protect Toyota and others too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • samelorstpd on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:28 am

Preve already 5 star ANCAP safety rating ma, Vios got how many?

Get out from your cave lor. YOu are living in denial. Who said proton is the safest car in the world? You dun read everytime it’s about safety, mentioning about preve or suprima.

And you afraid you lost customers because of that perception? Blame yourself for not selling safe enough cars. Ancient gearbox summore. Throwing it into longkang much better. LOL

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Even Preve/Suprima S have 10 stars, it is only safe in the showroom and warehouse, coz NO ONE IS BUYING the junks.

My question is: how many stars do your Iswara, Wira, Waja, Satria Neo, Persona, Exora have? Shit, most of them not even have airbags!!!

Vios is 4 star, only 1 star less. And Toyota has all the 5 stars top safety car in all IIHS, ANCAP, EURONCAP around the world etc.

Again a typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok Pondan Proton lifestyle.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Guess I spoke too soon.

• MYVI Killer unleashed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • gmorque on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:44 pm

myvi not affected at all. in fact perodua is laughing when they see the pricing by honda.. huhuhu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • policeman on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:53 pm

It is of course a MyVi killer.
      When you crash this into a Myvi, gues which car suffers more damage. Which drivers will die?

• Smart people gets Honda on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Yes myvi will be dumped into the grave.Nobody will buy Perodua syok sendiri car from today onwards!!

RIP mywi junk!!!!

• krs189 on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Baik beli Swift kalau harga camni….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Is depend on one’s need. Swift is not bad too but the rear seat is quite cramp.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Non-directed injected? What it means? I thought City is same with Jazz? Why ignore ECON & Reverse Camera, Jazz shorter than City so basically should be able to include more kits since use less raw materials.

• since went City got direct injection?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:07 pm

I mean same with City was: ECON, Reverse Camera, engine of course cannot different. Now Honda develop a Earth Dreams Engine so I guess should be included in the Jazz list but they didn’t so feel strange.

• No manual trans…sad

• Great small car! I just love this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • prabowi on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Launch the all new jazz hybrid ckd asap!

• gmorque on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:42 pm

r u sure jazz hybrid price will be competetive after the prius price without tax exemption announced previously? still wan to buy hybrid?

• prabowi on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:57 pm

ckd bro. shld be cheap like before.

• Allen on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Read about the tax structure you comment.

For CKD hybrid, excise duty is 100% exempted till end of year 2015. CBU hybrid isn’t.

• common sensor on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Price positioning may not be good as the public is expecting much lower comparing to the launch in Thailand and Indonesia. It may not be that low but not at this level. Apparently, the new NAP still is a failure to make this car affordable to the masses ..

• Stanley on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:47 pm

New car E spec 80k spec is worse than older gen 74k car. so disappointed

• ok ok

• Leonny on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I’ve been waiting for this car for so long. only to be dissapointed honda’s offering.

With that kind of price, might as well get the Peugeot 208…and whats with the same uninspiring colors? where are the yellows and blues?

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:22 pm

If you do get a peugeot 208, please don’t go around hitting other people’s car with a steering lock :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Padapendek on Jul 16, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Woi JAZZ WE WANT MANUAL Transmission la! Why you all limit us to AUTO CVT! At least give paddle shifters la!

Please consider a lower variant for Jazz with Manual Tranmission and you have my booking! I will buy without test driving the car also!

• Jazz is practical for short trip…go to school, market etc. For travelling, go for accord or city.

• Yes… With this pricing, new jazz will definitely beat Toyota Yaris to pulp!!! Still can’t understand why Toyota price it’s cars higher than others while omitting security features

• again why not giving us the modern gear console like what the Thai people get? Always same thing, paying so much getting less accessories?!

• Ah Beng Hate Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Come on PROTON! Ah Beng can not wait they launch the new PCC to compete with Jazz . Ah Beng expecting car price 50% cheaper than Jazz with a lot feature. Thumbs up PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • ROTFLOL on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:24 pm

PCC – pathetic crap car ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • Ah Beng Hate Same Lorr (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:51 pm

ROTFLOL:
        PCC stands for Proton Compact Car which falls under B-Segment not A-Segment thats why PROTON remove the GSC (Global Small Car) term whereby SMALL itself defines the A-Segment characteristics. So, what ROTFLOL stand for? Is it; Raping On The Floor Laughing Out Loud..hoho..

• Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:37 pm

What PCC lar GSC lar, 1 year turn around lar… Everything goes back to Pondan Proton 4S lifestyle.
          1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival

Tomorrow when K5 has facelift then Ah Beng will have his new term PDC – Proton D-Segment Car. In short, Proton Donkey Car.

Whatever terms he invent, you still see the poor Preve and Suprima S in showroom no one interested to buy and Proton not dare to disclose sales figure.

Syok sendiri? go on, carry on… don’t let it stop. ROTFLOL

• Souya Tempe on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:15 pm

so mugen nowdays means adding some more kilos on bodikit, spoilers and badge so the car can go fasterla.

• JeremyNg on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:50 pm

jz like TRD sportivo , it helps generate more downforce and maybe hv F-duct or blown diffuser like f1 car ? :P

• Price not reasonable on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:24 pm

at this price range, why not go for Honda City?
    I was expecting below RM70K or RM65K. Sincerely disappointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Sahipul on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:25 pm

No pedal shift? No Auto-Cruise? CANCEL!!

• what a downer! have to pay more for safety such as all important VSA. Seems like previous gen RM73K can get VSA, but have to pay up to RM80 for E type on this generation. Honda you just lost a customer.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Dissapointing. So, the price below RM70K initial hype was all palsu. By not taking advantage of the EEV incentives, Honda just lost the big opportunity to grab sales from potential Perodua Myvi SE buyers.

• Denaihati on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Start from RM73k, should be value for money, best option for its category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • holofanboi on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Gahahaha. This car is finally here.

All we need now is a funky bodykit and get danny to review this car! :3

• AVH (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Imagine Harv in Holo cosplay

I do know of a friend that knows of a friend that has a set of Holo costume (wig and tail included. Wonder weather it will fit Danny.

• holofanboi on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:08 pm

LOL YESSSS!

Danny would truly be more fitting to be in holo…hmm. outfit would be overdoing it. Perhaps just the ears would suffice.

Watching an eloquent, smooth talking guy reviewing a car wearing a set of holo ears would be far more satisfying than Megan Tan’s lack of agar-agar~

@Danny no homo brah.

• gmorque on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:39 pm

hahahah semua dah kena ketuk kaw kaw ngan honda.. dah agak dah harga mesti cam hampas.. kat thailand 3 specs offered (manual-55k, medium spec-60k, hi spec-74k).. sampai kat malaysia honda ketuk base spec jek dah 73k… hahahahah.. thumbs up..

• heybadigol on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:44 pm

No paddle shifters still ok, no econ mode still ok (its still a fuel efficent car anyway) but no cruise control? Thats unacceptable. This may look like a town car, but considering the expensive price of cars here, town car is also the balik kampung & holiday trip car. So, cruise control is essential.

But having said that, it is a cute little car. And its main rival, the Fiesta, has no cruise control either. But the Ford does have a powerful turbo engine, though its a tight squeeze inside. Tough choice. Perhaps a Paultan comparo might settle the debate.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 1:51 pm

For me, the price is actually rather decent. I was not expecting the price for the V to drop below 85k, and I already knew from my visit to the Honda dealer last week to view the City that the spec count will be slightly lower than the City.

It is honestly going to be a hit, just like the last gen Jazz petrol CKD, though it would have been better if Honda made ESP as a standard fit on all models.

To be fair, when I look at the Polo 1.6 at the exact same price as the Jazz V, and the Fiesta 1.5 TiVCT against the Jazz V also, the Jazz still wins with the longer spec list, and most likely better quality (will be going to view it on Friday).

At least I will know I won’t have to worry about the disappointing aftersales at VW and Ford. As a first car for a young grad,the Jazz makes a lot of sense.

Now, where is that Hybrid with the iDCD…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Allen on Jul 16, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Surprisingly with the salary young grad getting nowadays, they can afford a brand new Honda Jazz

• Belakang macam proton suprima jer. hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • totti on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Another killer to T.Vios and Nissan Almera.

But very disappointed with the E specification as compared to V where no:-

1) Armrest
    2) Power retractable mirror.
    3) no turning light

• 1 Malaysia on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:19 pm

It cant be vios and almera killer.
      its vios and almera friend..

almost same safety spec. but charge unreasonable price.

In terms of Value, Almera get higher C/P.
      It’s cheap price, low spec, can tolerate.
      But honda malaysia n DRB, shame on u! u ruin new honda jazz image.
      73K only Single vanity mirror, rear drums, no seat pockets, no center armrest, no VSA, no turning signal, everthing nono!

APE Honda Mau?

• At the very least their V spec got 6 airbag and VSA ma. Compare with Almera or Vios highest spec also don’t have.

• policeman on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:43 pm

1.Import original armrest from Thailan and DIY fix.
      2.very useful is it?
      3.Apa no turning light? Turn indicators on the side mirrors is it? Why you want that? When you turn you don’t use the signal anyway. Just stick a piece of yellow sticker on your side mirrors.

• Stanley on Jul 16, 2014 at 11:10 pm

I feel the same. I thought honda gonna be agresive but see see increase the price. They shouldnt have 3 specs. With the E spec now, it looks better to buy previous version ckd petrol. I think they arrogant already sice City sell very well

• hondaisabully on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:18 pm

honda took away brake disc,summore add 4k to E spec, the only comparable spec with previous version. honda think malaysian so desperate fools and put sh*t also will buy?

• Mat Rempit on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:31 pm

No cars other than a Peugeot 208 could make one go bonkers!

• Kangkung on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:41 pm

This is a Kangkung car!

73K base price,
    Previous gen 74.8k comes with VSA!
    Honda playing reverse gear?

High spec, no paddle shift, no econ, no autolights
    only with user unfriendly touch screen. “Add” airbags..
    somemore, NO REAR DISC BRAKE? What a joke!

u Charge additional 15k for 4 bags and touch screen?
    Such price, such Kangkung spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • 1 Malaysia on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:12 pm

sell kangkung as broccoli price?
      Slap them! Get a Kia Cerato K3 instead.

• tenine99 on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:43 pm

The extra new about this JAZZ is one of the model wearing hijab.. :)

• kumar on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:03 pm

the back looks like suprima. i thot wrong car in the photo. hahaha.

• 1 Malaysia on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:05 pm

poor base spec, selling 73K?
    Honda Jazz SV?no

No power door mirror,no VSA, no front seat pocket, no turning signal on mirror, what else you want to remove?
    Better remove POWER WINDOWS, Airbags, ABS, EBD, BA like potong SV!

DRB, UMW, Cronies. Suck our blood enrich their pocket..
    Paymore, get less. We are really poor people, sacrifice a lots!

• honest on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:18 pm

The dashboard for V model is actually nice

• jazz star on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:27 pm

inspired by Suprima’s rear lamp? looks identical.

• idaho on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Might as well get the Pug 208 only RM85K with free kit upgrades.

Nasim has just announced additional safety upgrade for Peugeot 208 – Active Steering Lock (ASL) to keep other people cars from hitting your car, at no extra cost.

• samlok on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Habislah Suzuki swift kena tapau.

• policeman on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Of cos Swift kena tapau.

How many Swifts are sold in a month? Like 15 units?

At least Swift won’t leave you stranded with a fogged up gearbox by the roadside.

• Feeling Shortchange! on Jul 16, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Pros: New Chassis
    Cons: Less accessories, higher price and OLD ENGINE
    Sounds like the new Toyota.
    Are they thinking that us consumers are stupid?
    Why not offered the new engines with more power and better economy and justify it with the higher price?
    Honda just blew their chance to beat their rivals.

• Better get honda city full spec. Add on 3k can get more spacious interior , rear aircond vent , cruise control and econ mode .

• Got free steering lock or not if i buy this? hehehuehuheuhue

• sambalbabi on Jul 16, 2014 at 4:08 pm

no rear brake disc.

big FAIL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • In the latest Driven episode it was shown that Vios with all disc has only a few inches of advantage over City with rear drums and this is for a almost 1300kg car.
      Jazz is over 200kg lighter so i think its almost negligible advantage having all disc.
      Almera, Vios J, Vios E, Yaris and even Prius C which is over RM150k has rear drums so that means all fail??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • sambalbabi on Jul 16, 2014 at 10:33 pm

It’s a fail cos i’m paying more than a Waja/Gen2 which has rear disc brake. few inches of advantage is far better and pair it with sport rims, it looks far better than drum. and the gist of them all, when you take away certain specs from its predecessor while the price remains high, that’s cutting throat – not because whether u need it or not. It’s cost cutting benefit for the manufacturer as well.

Honda is smart cos they knew, people who buy the new City and this Jazz wouldn’t even know/care how their car’s brake looks like. Honda also knew that people who bought or gonna buy their car only care about the exterior look of the car, while having a SOHC engine is not an issue and shaving off the rear brake disc to make way for brake drum because the braking performance would be negligible.

The grade V should have been provided with rear brake disc, just like what Toyota did to their Vios TRD.

There’s a thin line between a car owner and a car enthusiast. And me being a car enthusiast see this as a FAIL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Berann on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:17 pm

CD/Radio air-cond area looks ugly and cheap for me. Previous model better…

• Nevermind the car. That awek tudung is a better buy.

• pokcik porong on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:39 pm

missing the point if comparing jazz vs city. different target market. jazz more as a premium hatchback, last time at premium price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • pulltea on Jul 16, 2014 at 5:58 pm

2nd gen Jazz front+rear disc brake
    3rd gen Jazz front disc, rear drum???
    What happened here…

• protan on Jul 16, 2014 at 7:58 pm

SoHC. 19th century meh?

• Findme on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Compare with previous, all 3-spec a bit pricey…

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Rm77-88k?Singapore dollars only $37-42k while with the current crazy COE price is around $93-109k!!Havent include ins

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Jul 16, 2014 at 8:47 pm

CKD Honda Jazz vs CBU Honda Fit..almost identical but still a few gaps apart..Like Toyota Corolla Altis vs Toyota Corolla Axio

• Albert Lee on Jul 16, 2014 at 9:32 pm

With such “cantik” pricing for the Jazz,the Suprima S from Proton can stay longer in its yards.They have trouble clearing the 2013 stocks till now.

• kelvin sue on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:17 am

Well actually my favorite car is the jazz.. thought of waiting for the new jazz but bought new city instead and I can tell u guys that, I am glad I choose the city over the new jazz now.. stupid and rip off price.. who would really choose a hatchback if the price not much different than the sedan city? Unless u tell me u are a fan of hatchbacks.. Moreover, e spec jazz lack of certain features compares to e spec city and only v spec jazz could make up to it.. might as well take the v spec city..

• inderaloka on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:29 am

Rekaan Honda tidak pernah mengecewakan setiap kali ia melancarkan model-model kereta terbaru.

• Mr Khan on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:55 am

Jonathan, where is the comparisons between S and E variant?
    What does E variant gets more from S variant to justify the RM7k difference?
    Usually Paul Tan launch reviews will include detail specs for the base model, the little extra mid variant gets, and finally the creme of the crop, but I dont see that here..

• guard on Jul 17, 2014 at 7:50 am

It seems that the older generation price is revised because it is affordable and quite value for money with overall package given. (Just 1 variant instead of 3)

• yoshi on Jul 17, 2014 at 10:37 am

their business strategy. rip off all those features first, put it back in the facelifted version. malaysian buy cars because of it is a new model. we live in a country that consumer cant criticize a product especially “malaysian” products. that’s why we will never have a better spec than other country.

• Disappointed with Jazz on Jul 17, 2014 at 11:38 am

Hurm. I was hoping that Honda Jazz will be equipped with many cool stuffs and safety features. But, no Eco Mode and Cruise Control (which the later is much important) makes me frustrated. Yet, SOHC engine is much much old compared with DOHC engine. I might choose between Kia Rio (which have more safety features and cool stuffs,) with reasonably price of RM77K or Honda City S+ (cool features and more leg room, plus similar safety features as Kia Rio) with reasonably price of RM76K. Ouh Jazz, I wish I can get you as my first car, but you are really disappoint me.

• Honda on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:06 pm

The Power Of Dreams

At Honda we aim to turn dreams into reality,
    We dream of flying,
    We dream of creating a robot to help us,
    We dream of making all cars as ‘green’ as the forest, We dream of how much more fun and exciting life could be.

We love to dream…. dreaming… zzzzz

• apsal belakang mcm suprima ?

• Bernard on Jul 17, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Many of the items that are standard in other countries are missing here!!

Steel rims……….who uses them anymore?

Price is too steep!

• NISSpengAN on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:08 pm

I rather wait Nissan Note launch !

• Bernard on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Why is there no manual transmission?

At least should provide paddle shifters!!

Why are we still accepting this?

• Neha Devi mathi on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:42 pm

I like it and love it. so nice. I am sure my fav actor vijay will drive jazz in his new movie anbam anbam mambam. I want to order fast. hopegully my bf will pay for my car. he drived a mazda 6. not so nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Chong Ah Beng on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:44 pm

wah liau so cheap mah. I can buyed two liao blue and purple for mother and me. can going very fast ah >>>> I wanting to tested driving it.

• I thought the gear would be similar to this one:
    http://paultan.org/2013/11/19/honda-jazz-hybrid-yorii/honda-jazz-hybrid-yorii-019/

• Mister Potato on Jul 17, 2014 at 9:30 pm

This makes the RM56k Picanto (after rebate) seems like a great deal for a full-spec town car.

• Anony.mous on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:39 am

so, how do we shift gear in Sport or “S” mode since there is no paddle shift?
    or S mode now means simply an “overdrive” button?

• Altis-blind on Jul 18, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Y nowadays they like to ONLY reserve the fog lamp only for the top spec? Fog lamp that expensive? Even the E spec is not really cheap but still wanna cut the fog lamp, WTH?!!!
    Even the throat-slaughtering UMW give a fog lamp from E-spec vios onwards!

• JazzGe8 on Jul 18, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Overpriced, underspeced(close to 5k for Mugen bodykit without the mugen rims(Hopeless),spec V gets all the features and close to 90k(Garbage price tag) and totally Exciting HIDEOUS Design!Ugly inside and out.Great dissapointment.SAD.Wait 5 years later for next gen model better.LOL!

• Haha..

Just wait and see..

Ppl r now excited becoz Honda cars r priced slightly better and looks slightly better and have better safety specs.. But still this is Honda BS Malaysia so when ppl start driving their Honda BS and experience many problems.. Honda sales can go and die.. Pls Toyota , improve ur bios specs n I m sure City will go back to their BS state.. BS Honda Malaysia BS BQ and QC..

Just to let u all know I’m a genuine new city owner and I have problems from day one with the services provided n the BS Car Quality.. Problems after another.. BS Honda Malaysia.. If Vios is not speced like shit i tink not only me but a lot others will also prefer Toyota over Honda..

Hidup Honda BS Malaysia.. Better enjoy ur current short term dirty success.. Sooner or later ur sales will go down the drain due to BS BQ and QC..

Freak Honda and it’s BS BQ and QC..

I m so feeling desperate to burn my city and claim insurance.. Freak Honda Ba Malaysia..

Noted for Toyota or Nissan – pls improve ur specs and. Can guarantee Honda will freak off and ur sales will improve. A lot ppl will start to get fed up with BS Honda Malaysia BS BQ and QC and everything..

Hidup Honda BS Malaysia.. Thanks for making my choice easier for my next car and also for many other ppl close to me.. That is a. NO NO to Honda BS Malaysia..

Thanks for another 7 years suffering with ur BS New City and after that u not only lose 1 customer.. U will lose many many more..

Hidup BS Honda Malaysia.. Freak BS Honda Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Almera on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:59 am

Come i buy your City at 75% market value so you don’t have to go through the headache anymore and got money buy new catfish Vios.

• HAHA! Did i said i want a catfish? HAHA!

All Honda Fanboys.. HAHA!!

Why 75%? Why not RM80k? Since insurance also RM88k first year?

If u are really desperate come contact me if you cannot afford to buy a new one. Better to because you will regret if you buy a new one anyway.

BTW, a gentle reminder to all Honda’s competitor, REMEMBER TO IMPROVE ON YOUR CARS (ESPECIALLY ON SAFETY), TRUST ME, NO MATTER WHAT YOUR MODEL IS FROM NISSAN TO VW, GUARANTEE OUTSELL THIS BS HONDA MALAYSIA..

• honest on Jul 23, 2014 at 2:42 pm

BS BQ QC
      Ayo confuse baca

• Captain Meow on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:25 am

when we comment ‘the car is tiny’ .. or ‘the car is cheap’ or ‘the car is ugly’.. we must understand that it is relative to what? To each their own taste, their own pockets and their perception of beauty. I love the new look.. as well as the old one.. but only in my eyes.. i’d buy it..

• elwintan on Jul 23, 2014 at 12:25 am

I booking 1 Spec-V with Mugen Bodykit…
    i mean package 1 and 3…
    still waiting for Loan to Pass!
    Cause i test b4 toyota car, cabin very noise full of wind Sounds!
    just wanna to try Honda Car…
    cause i was Myvi Use..!

• Can anybody let me know whether the spoiled fly wheel in my Honda City 2007 iDSI can affect the fuel consumption? My City consumption is now about RM0.19 per km since the fly wheel spoiled or may be got some other problems which I don’t know. Any info.?

• uslhwzero on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:28 pm

This car only for who? People dont need “malaysian sceptical”=SPACIOUS CAR” 2) Sportier feel 3) Urban Car(save fuel & easy manuver) 3) 2nd car or 3rd car 4) japanese engine enthuthiast

me? Top jazz price RM85K, almostsame as fiesta 1.0ecoboost(top performance of segment) & handling, peugot 208 less price but also good in handling. Coming soon is also the real contender mazda 2 also car tht very good in handling! I dont
    want to talk about Rio(korean) & vios & almera because this car cannot compete the top handling car… The honda got less prob aftersale services as they hv so many 4S cntre and parts easy to find.. But the top 3 handling car hv to add more their services cntre, for now, JB ford sevices cntre was fare enoughbut if u got others car to back up in case of emergency /part related issue is fare enough u can get/buy this car”trio handle” car.

My opinion about honda jazz is 1) mainboard is too futuristic and boring look, like cheap plastic material even the high end got GPS on cntre 2) the exterior design is also TOO FUTURISTIC like ROBOTIC! The best japan design is honda crz(front: futuristic also but look sporty & not too robotic) and mazda 3(prev & actual design) , fiesta ( futuristic but not robo)! 3) handling & cornering cannot cmpete the TRIO. 4) the rest is good enough except fiesta got Ford sync(i bet computer /it guy really like this)!

“My comment is not buyers: me, who like car good inhandling(euro feel), IT Guys, design guys, self employed.

• why did the back look like suprima s?

• Johngoh on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:52 am

Isn’t honda jazz hybrid CKD hybrid that get full tax exemption till 31/12/2015?

• Elizabeth Ngan Ee Huey on May 05, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Honda jazz is a good and easy to drive car. I recently buy it and enjoy driving it. This is my first car that i have the courage to drive myself eventhough i have a driving licence from more than 10 years.

I have many car in the past but scare to drive. Honda jazz is easy to drive and spacious. thank you honda.

• No usb port to listen music for E-spec?