Perodua D63D sedan: “36-48 months to develop; not coming so soon, but it’ll be a good product” – Aminar

perodua-d63d-sedan-theophilus-chin-buddyz-1

At Perodua’s Raya open house today, CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid continued to let slip tiny tidbits regarding the new, highly-awaited Perodua sedan. Unfortunately there was still no information forthcoming about the car itself, as the company’s current focus is on what is expected to be a tough second half this year.

Aminar told the media present that the platform and engines for the new car have yet to be decided, so any technical information would have to wait. He did, however, confirm a couple of weeks ago that Perodua will be building new 1.3 and 1.5 litre mills from Toyota’s NR engine family, which could be destined for the upcoming model.

Instead, Aminar focused on the development of the car, saying that the sedan could take as much as 36 to 48 months to develop, as there is a lot of local input in terms of R&D. “It’s not going to come that soon, that’s all that I will say,” he said. “It will come, yes, and we think that it’s going to be a good product.”

perodua-d63d-sedan-theophilus-chin-buddyz-2

As for other models, Aminar hinted that there will be some updates coming as early as this year, even as the company has only recently unveiled the Axia and facelifted Myvi in quick succession. “For us, [our product lifecycle] is five to seven years. So in between, how do you to excite the market?

“I can confirm, there’s going to be something this year,” he said. “What we can say is that from next month until the end of the year, there is going to be something exciting from us.”

Additionally, Aminar said that Perodua was looking to expand on its general service business, as it plans to claw back lost customers. “Based on the analysis that we have done, we seem to lose our customers immediately after the expiry of the warranty period,” he said. “Currently [we are only retaining] around 29-30%. This is something we are working on – we are putting an aggressive figure next year of 35%.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• mobile on Jul 24, 2015 at 7:48 pm

At a glance, I’m seeing proton saga in that pictures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • karam singh on Jul 25, 2015 at 4:05 am

36-48 months to develop , then when come out rebadged Daihatsu/Toyota.
      Just changing a little bit here and there and some bodykit not gonna take that much time P2.
      It will be a good product ?, yes if it comes with better safety specs with VSC rather than bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
      • karam singh on Jul 26, 2015 at 6:47 am

Sorry to say, its like u are being racist here.
        most people P1 & P2 are malay,
        —-
        But, Toyota salesman being a liar is a fact as they keep selling the car with low safety.
        Sorry to say, Preve & Suprima are safer than your Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
      • HafizM on Jul 26, 2015 at 11:55 am

You will be bankcrupt……you got my curse sincere from my heart!

• why so serious XD

• Paranoid on Jul 25, 2015 at 8:53 am

Yes good enough to make Proton panic rushing to release 3 cars (new Saga, Persona, Perdana) to fight it off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • movingcoffin on Jul 25, 2015 at 9:46 am

P1 never panic. Who wants moving coffin.nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:36 pm

i think p1 already start from last year..n launch next year.

• Observer on Jul 28, 2015 at 10:02 am

Lol… though your intention are good, but you are clearly lying…. If what you claim is true, I never heard a company complain when they were told to take more profit…. please make the story believe-able next time… hehehe

• nameless on Jul 25, 2015 at 11:37 am

did the designers get wiser or lazier these days..?

• kzm (Member) on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:32 pm

based on what i find..the p2 sedan is based on axia. (hint:PHN Industry Sdn Bhd)

• and it look ugly as shit…

• slowsnail on Jul 24, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Can beat 1.779 sec in century sprint?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • meng meng on Jul 24, 2015 at 10:38 pm

ofcouse can, you go langar dinding die more faster than 1.77sec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Hoping for more substantial kit than anti-snatch hooks and tissue box holders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Dun lie laa…P2 always produce rubbish for Malaysian. I hope Malaysian will own it then moving to coffin together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
    • movingcoffin on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:31 am

And yet they say : Look at the sales number, it shows how good their cars are!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • StupidMalaysian on Jul 25, 2015 at 10:54 am

The oni thing ppl buying milotin coz its affodable by most ppl. If its same price as foreign cars, nobody going to buy it. Our gomen cheat ppl not letting foreign cars price go down. N for milotin alwiz got problem, n maintenance is higher than foreign car. Ppl, rather than buying a milotin, go get a 7-10 years old 3 series n c200.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:24 pm

maybe cuz they are cheaper than p1 offering?

• ciakap on Jul 25, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Sales number only shows it popularity.. however, popular car doesn’t mean it is good car..

• True, my father in law got into a low speed collision on his myvi and he broke his jaw and lost teeth. The car chassis was also permanently damaged, after only a low speed impact. Junk cars from perodua.

• bunny on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Excited for this! Definitely a good competition for Proton! Goodluck to the local brands!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Apocalypse on Jul 25, 2015 at 8:57 am

Sure big sales 1 million units until Perodua rent factory from Proton just to meet the demand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Proton is tying up with Suzuki for them to use the spare capacity. Also P2 just setup their new factory adjacent.
        Do you even read the previous posts before putting your foot in your mouth?

• It’s an economy local production, but the car design makes me want to say:”NO”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Annoynimouse on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:31 pm

ok…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Le'Jester Menyanyi on Jul 24, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Just nice. A few more videos, I can make the down payment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • I wouldn’t be surprised if they stick to their 2 airbags + no ESC policy.

• The highest end Perodua Sedan,
      sure come with ESC.

achieving 5 star Asean Ancap.

• DPCraft on Jul 24, 2015 at 9:16 pm

The rear looks so boring, The front it’s a little bit better then Nissan Almera. But overall Nissan Almera looks a bit better(not to say I love Nissan Almera)

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 24, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Actually, if it is 5-7 years, this means the Alza is now due for a full model change.

But I highly doubt that is in the works. Probably more bodykits are underway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • peter on Jul 24, 2015 at 9:49 pm

By the time it’s ready, I think most ppl only interested in hybrid car or better.

• driver on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:06 pm

it’s OK, because it’s perodua.. everything’s good. even the overrated myvi is the ultimate car.

#sarcastic

• Aero (Member) on Jul 24, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Perodua can take as long as they want to develop their new sedan. Understandably, it will be their first sedan, and will be more Perodua than it is Daihatsu. The important thing is that Perodua succeeds on their first attempt.

Also, I hope the Perodua sedan will get ESC, and if possible, a 5-star ANCAP rating too (not ASEAN NCAP). That means it must also get Autonomous Braking (at least on the top spec models). If it does not, then Perodua will have lost an important USP, because Proton’s new Persona replacement/ Iriz sedan will probably get all of the above (possibly even Autonomous Braking), and Perodua’s sedan will be something like the milo tin Vios and Almera today. Not nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • OMFG. It’s damn ugly. Please do a better job la if you want us Malaysians to buy this sedan.

• CarmenTung on Jul 25, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Don’t worry..if you don’t want to buy, millions of other Malaysians will..

• Copy from Saga, use bullshit engine. Rubbish!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • If this what they plan after a good capital gain, i would say their passion on automobile industry does not gain any respect.

• koera on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:35 am

So what, they say the most important thing is money, not quality. Hot sales mean their cars are good (even without VSC)

• Looks like a Vios. Why shall somebody buy a Vios when he can get a two P2 for the same or less money?

• saving my money now. perodua cars easily last minimum 10 years of abuse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • My brother’s Myvi only used for 10 months then stockpile at house because unable to pay the repair cost, gear shift problem, power window problem, front driveshaft problem, FC not as good as other ppl told, brake not function well, a lot of noise from engine room and underneath car, and etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • 10months then need to repair and no money? Stop saying as if perodua car comes with zero warranty.

• urzu3 on Jul 25, 2015 at 8:22 am

if it turn out to be theo’s illustration like this, i’d say saga flx much more better in terms of design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • cendol (Member) on Jul 25, 2015 at 9:21 am

If Perodua sedan comes out, Who is going to buy Proton??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • samelordupe on Jul 25, 2015 at 9:43 am

You buy it for your son just like same lorrrr

• 5% of intelligence Malaysian will still buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • cincau on Jul 25, 2015 at 11:27 am

Bangladesh market.

• People who likes:
      1) More modern styling
      2) More kits
      3) Modern technology
      4) Much much more safety
      5) More choices
      6) More space
      7) More NVH
      8) Better ride and handling
      9) More value for money
      10) Support the local car manufacturing industry
      11) Not to kill more Pajeros on the road
      12) Not to be an ah beng
      13) …others can add on if they like

• Albert on Jul 25, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Your Excellency Mr.Chendol,by the time this new sedan from Perodua arrive in 2017,the sales of proton would have dwindled to less than 50,000 units,which means they are on the verge of closing down or defunct by then.
      All the balance stock will be offered at huge discounts to retrenched staff and diehard JOM HEBOH carnival hardcore loyalists.In other words,they will be given the SAYORNARA LAST syiok syiok KENANGAN SEDIH batch.Long live Perodua but out goes Protong into the subatomic universe.
      Then,Protong will lease out their factories to collect rent.Sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • transformer on Jul 25, 2015 at 5:43 pm

from market shares and volume from MAA already has clearly identify P2 sells more than P1 previously and currently, its a fact.

I guess P2 no need waste time and resources to produce a sedan.

• safetyfirst on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Those people who put for safety over RV

• New Saga is far better design then this…

• Milotin on Jul 25, 2015 at 10:46 am

The only reason ppl buying milotin coz its cheap. If milotin close shop, we will get foreign cars with cheaper price. Bend hv to reduce the price ti get Bumi vote, coz bumi is using milotin a lot!

• Van Damn on Jul 25, 2015 at 11:25 am

FUGLY car of the millenium

• is just a render..goddamn it! not the actual design of the sedan..

• Cendolmamak on Jul 25, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Proton should learn from p2. Give what people want. Not what u want. Jgn syiok sendiri.

• peoplevoice on Jul 26, 2015 at 9:53 am

People want safety not just tin milo kosong, understand?

• Nasi Padang on Jul 25, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Look like a scrap unit from kedai potong balakong.

• Kavithai Kuyil on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:07 pm

This car actually very the nice. The design also so beautiful. We must support because this car is Malaysia so must proud also. Please must support Malaysia car.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:59 pm

looks smaller than flx…as all of p2’s products , tall to give u the impression of space , but ultimatly its jus narrow …looks very bare and cheapo….mabe they should export it to some third world countries where theres a demand for these type of cars…lets all bring pen and paper n count how many editions of this there will sell…im guessing 7 !

• P2 is just an assembler pretending that they do development, they are waiting for daihatsu to develop and hoping to stick some badges and walaaa..new msian car…poraaah

• Why so dificult to develop? just CnP from Daihatsu la. Or if the sedan hasn’t been designed yet, get their Japanese engineers in Osaka to design it la. Our P2 engineers in Rawang can always design the P2 logo and skirtings maa.

• just another driver on Jul 25, 2015 at 2:56 pm

i think they gonna benchmark on toyota etios. maybe the tineline is purposely leaked to scared off proton and in the end perodua launch the sedan in the end of 2016, right timing when you have no cards to play since you’ve got the alza FL-ed, Gear Up-ed, Myvi FL-ed, Gear up-ed, and only in the midst of Axia FL.

• car lover on Jul 25, 2015 at 3:22 pm

the back view like proton saga.

• C.P.MOHAN on Jul 25, 2015 at 5:23 pm

36-48 months to develop, I though we were heading towards develop nation status by 2020 not with this crap.

• skatax on Jul 25, 2015 at 9:24 pm

its going to be a challenge to make a proper butt to look nice with the rest of the car but i trust the locals will excel. after all, they are the grand masters when it comes to reprofiling daihatsus.

• Noordin on Jul 26, 2015 at 1:36 am

This is just a marketing strategy.
    How can they give a heads up to its
    jealous competitor.
    It’s like a game of poker.
    You don’t show your cards in hand.
    P2 has more intelligence than its counterpart.
    Listless just hoping for a miracle to
    happen with its global game changer,
    Betul2x Onzzz and bmw quality wet dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • bmwnoquality on Jul 26, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Bmw has 2 years warranty. No quality after that you vomit blood if breaks down

• StupidMalaysian on Jul 26, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Do you ever read? BMW giving 5 YEARS UNLIMITED MILEAGE WARRANTY + FREE SCHEDULED SERVICE. You should go back to kampung and tanam jagung la. aiya…I think you never drive BMW before. thats y u dont know anything abt quality. Ppl like you oni know how to makan nasi lemak and ride milotin.

• bmwnoquality on Jul 27, 2015 at 8:02 am

100 years warranty also no use if the car spends more time in SC rather moving than on road

• Our so called engineers are nothing more than photocopiers and tracing artists. This ‘new’ model is merely a chopped up myvi/saga, and will use the same engine and gearbox. these people bring more shame to the nation.

• As if you don’t know your service centers charge so much more expensive for the same work.

• LY Lee on Jul 26, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Hmmmm….. it looks like a fusion of an Axia and a Proton Saga. But at least there’s no more rebadging: good for you P2!

• same kot on Oct 13, 2015 at 10:44 am

i think this car can hit and run another suv on the highway