DRIVEN: 2016 Proton Persona first impressions review – improved CVT response and NVH levels

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-2

So here we are again – and this time it has to work. After the opening salvo that was the Proton Perdana, it’s now up to the two upcoming cars, the Persona and Saga, to show what Proton is really capable of.

These are very important products for Proton; they replace its two biggest volume sellers, so any slip-up and the company’s standing in the market place – which is already slipping behind Honda and Toyota – is going to suffer even more.

The Saga will only be launched next month, so all eyes are on the Persona, which has just been launched. While its smaller sibling will be positioned as a budget-friendly first car, the Persona will play to a more aspirational audience – those that will be cross-shopping with higher-end versions of the hot new Perodua Bezza on one end and entry-level foreign B-segment sedan variants on the other.

The question is, does the Persona have what it takes to survive in this cutthroat segment? We take it on a short test drive session around Proton’s oval test track to find out.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-17

First, the obvious bit – the Persona is very clearly based on the Iriz hatchback, and Proton makes little pretence in hiding it. Apart from the basic structure, the front doors, windscreen, drivetrain and most of the interior are shared between the two cars.

Like a lot of sedans derived from hatchbacks, the Persona’s roots are very clear. The sweeping front end and windscreen – which makes the Iriz look sleek – conspire with the booted rear to make the sedan appear to have a truncated nose. The rear deck has had to be made shorter to balance it out, which does compromise practicality a little bit – we’ll come to that later.

Be that as it may, the Persona definitely isn’t a bad looking car. That’s mainly due to the strength of its details – the slim headlights and grille, linked by a full-width chrome bar, gives the car a very assertive look, reminiscent of cars like the new Honda Civic. Couple that with the large trapezoidal lower grille and “fangs” that encircle the front fog lights and you end up with a pretty menacing face.

At the rear, the one-piece tail lights joined together by another chrome bar, plus a sizeable black rear valence insert complete with reflectors and a centre fog light. Unlike the Iriz, the Persona comes with reflector rather than projector headlights, and bulb instead of LED tail lights; there are no LED daytime running lights, either.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Int-19

This was said to be down to cost issues, and given that Proton isn’t exactly swimming in cash at the moment, it’s a compromise we’re happy to live with. At least they’ve embellished the lighting units with neat little touches, such as the Proton script integrated into the head- and tail light graphics.

The biggest problem with the way it looks are the slab-sided panels. Proton has done a lot to try and mask that – there’s a separate line that goes above the rear wheel arches in the style of the facelifted W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class, as well as another line in the rear bumper that visually continues the Iriz-derived “side blades”. Even with all that, the less said about the side surfacing, the better.

Inside, most of the interior panels have been carried over from the Iriz. The “stitched” dashboard, the pod-like centre console and instrument binnacle (now in a gloss grey finish instead of matte on the Iriz), three-spoke steering wheel, the door cards and the transmission tunnel are all identical on both models. Minor detail changes includes a new gearlever for the CVT with a side-mounted release switch.

The main difference is in the colour scheme – while the Iriz had an all-black interior, the Persona’s lower dashboard is in a lighter grey, both to increase the impression of space and to tie in with the design theme of “stylish executive.” Those who drove Personas of yore will also notice that it’s a similar scheme to the outgoing car. It will be a very polarising choice, that’s for sure – especially with the entire transmission tunnel, including the handbrake and the non-slip surfaces for the trays and cupholders are also in that hue.

Despite sharing the same 2,555 mm wheelbase as the Iriz, the Persona feels bigger inside, due to the aforementioned use of lighter colours and a scalloped front seat back; the rear seats are also slightly more reclined. The boot is a massive 510 litres – yes, slightly bigger than the Bezza – and can be expanded via 60:40 split-folding rear seats on all but the base Standard variant. The short rear deck does make for a rather small aperture, however, which will make loading larger objects a little tougher.

There has also been some improvement in perceived quality – there’s a greater consistency in colours between different plastic panels (at least on the cars we tested) and a more positive and solid way in which the doors open and close, addressing issues that we found on the Iriz.

One area where cost is definitely cut is up top. The sun visors are now cheap vinyl-wrapped items, and the vanity mirror is very small. More notable is the lack of any form of front map light – only a centre dome light is available here, even on the top Premium variant – which feels like a bit of an oversight in this writer’s opinion.

Unlike the Iriz, the Persona is available only with the larger 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated VVT engine, which makes 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Proton’s decision to drop the 1.3 litre engine was to create a clearer distinction with the Saga, which will only be offered with the smaller engine from here on out.

Drive is sent to the front wheels through either a five-speed manual transmission or a CVT. The transmission options have been streamlined this time – the Standard variant will be the only one available with a manual option, with the Executive and Premium offered solely with the stepless automatic.

Fuel consumption at a constant 90 km/h is rated at 5.6 litres per 100 km with the manual transmission and 6.1 litres per 100 km with the CVT. There’s also an Eco Drive Assist indicator which lights up when the car senses that you’re driving economically, in the same manner as the Bezza.

Proton claims that there have been several improvements made in terms of refinement, another bugbear on the Iriz. The engine mounting points have been changed from four to three, in order to transmit less vibration towards the cabin, and the mounts themselves have also been redesigned. There’s also a new exhaust system made by Faurecia that is claimed to eradicate the Iriz’s boomy exhaust note at lower revs, while the ECU has been revised for a more linear throttle response.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Int-29

Stepping off in the manual car first, the Persona trips up slightly with an odd, slightly sluggish take-up during take-off. Push a bit beyond idle and the engine becomes much stronger, and provides a decent slug of low- and mid-range torque; it revs cleanly towards the redline, too. This positive first impression is matched with that of the gearbox which, while slightly notchy, has a pleasing mechanical feel and a clutch that is light and progressive in action.

Right, the dreaded Punch CVT next. And you know what? In its latest iteration, it’s not that bad at all. While still a little way off some of the best of the business – such as Nissan’s Xtronic CVT – the Persona responds with relative immediacy, feeling nowhere near as sluggish as before.

There’s still that slight “rubber band” feel under harder acceleration, as the revs shoot up but without a correspondingly rapid increase in speed, but all-in-all it’s now at least a fairly decent transmission that shouldn’t be a problem in everyday driving. An added bonus is that the CVT masks the engine’s slight torque dip at very low revs, at it keeps the engine at a slightly higher rpm level.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-26

Noise, vibration and harshness has been improved significantly, too. There’s little of that aforementioned boomy drone that afflicted the Iriz, and the engine remains civilised as the revs rise. There’s also not a lot of tyre noise to speak off, with only wind noise being particularly noticeable at higher speeds – although the latter could very well be due to the windy conditions of the test track at the time.

The only problem is that at the highway limit, the Persona is pulling nearly 3,000 rpm, so the engine does make itself heard a little bit at that speed. More encouraging is that the the car remains poised and stable at a cruise, with good directional stability – although a lack of steering on-centre response does make it a little difficult to keep it in a straight line. The brake pedal is also fairly soft, needing quite a bit of travel before the stoppers bite – but once they do there’s little doubting their power.

Unfortunately, driving is kept to the oval, so there is no way to judge the Persona’s handling prowess. What we do get to do is sit in the passenger seat while a test driver makes some high-speed slaloms and lane changes to demonstrate the car’s Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) system – which comes standard on all Persona variants, just like the Iriz.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-12

The experience is hairy to say the least – at speeds above 100 km/h, a sudden, violent flick of the steering wheel one way, then the other, is enough to upset the car, causing the Persona to snap into oversteer before the computers very quickly gather it all up. It’s a very stark reminder on why we champion this active safety feature, as it is essential in preventing accidents during emergency manoeuvres such as these. Kudos to Proton for yet another car with stability control as standard across the range.

All things considered, the new Proton Persona is an impressive machine. Despite sharing much with the Iriz, it moves the game on in small, but crucial ways – those that make the car much more pleasurable to drive and liveable day-to-day. It carries many of the things that made the Iriz great, and banishes a few infuriating faults that sully the experience of owning the car.

It’s not perfect – some of the plastics still feel low-rent, and there are still a few quirks like too-small instrument gauges and mismatched switchgear fonts. But it’s inched closer to being a complete, well-rounded car than any other Proton, and while we’ve said that many times before, this time it’s tantalisingly close.

The 2016 Proton Persona has been launched in Malaysia, priced at RM46,800 for the Standard M/T, RM49,800 for the Standard CVT, RM55,800 for the Executive CVT and RM59,800 for the Premium CVT, on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year/150,000 km warranty. Browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:13 pm

This looks like one heck of a decent car. Can’t wait for the launch! Looks like a good job done, Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 438 Thumb down 45
    • Operation Manager on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 294
      • Durian Kuntak Katak Story on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Good and fair review by PT team. Hope to do test drive soon.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 9
        • sedih that have to live with inperfect iriz especially on the engine and gearbox:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 53
          • George Abdul on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:38 am

The final price will be the big factor to the new Persona… If Proton truly need to survive on this industry please price it along Iriz and if not wait until stock clearance again !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
          • At least u get to live compared to others early afterlife cuz of moving deathtraps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
          • Shut up and live with it. Be grateful that Proton gives u an engine that runs and Punch CVT that jiggles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
          • Take the Challenge on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:58 am

Proton bashers and Perodua ball carriers…come take a drive to Genting … see which is better in handling, power and comfort/safety … the Bezza or Persona

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 20
          • I will buy proton again on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:08 pm

This Persona will be Proton turnaround… just like how MYVI turnaround almost bankrupt Perodua back then.Just make sure its sub 55k …nothing more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
          • OMG.. These Proton macais want to boost how their Proton can go uphill fast? My Civic turbo always teach them a lesson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 105
          • Proton driver on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:18 pm

“Noise, vibration and harshness has been improved significantly, too. There’s little of that aforementioned boomy drone “….This is the best news .. thumbs up !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 120
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:26 pm

So many Proton fanboys today posting. But when news about the RM1.5 billion come out, they keep quiet. Always keep silent. Let us see whether Proton pays back the RM1.5 billion after they make a killing on their Persona sales.

Don’t forget Proton, please pay back the RM1.5 billion. Jangan lupa ye bang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 102
          • John L on Aug 14, 2016 at 1:38 am

Owned an Iriz for 1 year, never seen even a drop of engine oil leaked. What are you talking about, Kunta Kinte?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 5
          • Copycat on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:30 am

No one mentions it looks like a catfish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • MrKriSs on Aug 15, 2016 at 3:29 pm

same things i feel as gen2 05′ user when they launch persona (gen2 improvement model) after that. i manually improvise my car with aftermart gadget (even not so many) included gen2 FC.

not only that, gen2 RV also affected since new persona price is lower than new gen2 price.

for the proton 1st model with “lot of sensor” car, we gen2 owner are the “white rat lab test”..*sigh*..

• Same L00 on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:08 pm

New Perdana priced so high, you think they will let you go with this new Persona?
            Can sell or not, not a problem. Simply ask for another RM1.6bil again in 2018 lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
        • Cotton field slave on Aug 14, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Kunta Kinte oil came from his rear… its called Buntot Keluar Minyak

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
          • Car Image on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:23 am

Perodua nama macam Duaroda saja ? Both Proton and Perodua both got their image own issues… Perodua is seen as budget car for the house. Driving the new Persona will surely be better than Bezza… at least the girls wont think you driving your mother’s Bezza that goes to the wetmarket or school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
          • lolpanda on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Not sure how either a Proton or Perodua can be good for your “image”. These are basic cars built with function in mind. While there’s nothing wrong with that, it’s not going to turn heads when you pull up at the Four Seasons…that’s not what it’s designed for.

Neither is it built for you to challenge Mr Ah Beng in his turbocharged Civic up and down Genting endangering the lives of others drivers ans their families.

These are decent cars, the Bezza and (hopefully) Persona, but when you try to make it seem more than it actually is, that’s where people turn a nasty eye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
          • lolpanda on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Not sure how either a Proton or Perodua can be good for your “image”. These are basic cars built with function in mind. While there’s nothing wrong with that, it’s not going to turn heads when you pull up at the Four Seasons…that’s not what it’s designed for.

Neither is it built for you to challenge Mr Ah Beng in his turbocharged Civic up and down Genting endangering the lives of other drivers and their families.

These are decent cars, the Bezza and (hopefully) Persona, but when you try to make it seem more than it actually is, that’s where people turn a nasty eye.

• Tak laku on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:48 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 215
        • Malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Bezza saleperson detected

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 19
          • Policeman on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Proton staff detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 44
          • Best Buy 2016 on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Banyak cancel sudah. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
          • Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:11 pm

No need for salesperson to tell this. Proton got nama busuk. Their name stinks. They cheat and lie a lot. Everybody knows about this. Even SC also lie. So many customers go for service, go home check oil, see got black oil still. New car but still got black oil. then Proton SC can give empty Petronas Syntium cannister also to prove they have changed oil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 76
          • dirtyoldman on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:58 pm

another loser who recycles lame jokes, detected!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 20
        • Maslinah Binte Halimah on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:05 pm

It’s so true. Proton brand image has become so bad that if you drive a Proton people will laugh at you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 60
          • we all laugh at you cause u so dump to understand the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
          • HALIM BIN MOHD HANIPA on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:18 pm

who said proton got nama busuk n who drive proton the people laugh at u. Im so proud drive the proton n averywhere u can see the people drive proton. Just the warga asing or illegal imigrant always condemming malaysian product.It shows the people like to own the proton. If u drive the very old honda or merc definetely the people will lough at u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • Colin Wong on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:17 am

To the contrary. When the time came for me to choose a car for the daughter (her first car), I chose the old Persona. It drives well, parts are easily available, a proven product and hey, I drive past Proton everyday on the way home and I think it still builds reasonably good cars and it is getting better.

My wife and I drive continental cars and her car has the LEAST number of problems. NOT KIDDING. And Proton haters will remain haters. I am Malaysian. I am of Chinese descent. But you know what, that has NOTHING to do with my choice. It is about value and reliability. Don’t listed to anecdotes. Listen to statistics. How many Proton taxis do you see die on the road? Most problems are due to NGV conversion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
          • Lyana on Nov 09, 2016 at 4:35 pm

But not my Wira 1.5M. I’m still drive d car till now. Manufactured in year 2000. Low FC and good performance even at the hill

• Pak Atan on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Bezza.. worst car to drive. i just drove my neighbors car. too light.. feel unsafe ..
          when bump o bumper.. its bouncing make me crazy.. rear suapension too hard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
          • is a city car wor, u want the car so heavy gao lan meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
          • Agreed. Bezza only looks good in brochures… real car on road is pretty distorted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
        • that kunta brain already leak. he just a slave to his master. got leak every where

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • Pintaras on Aug 14, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Saya ingin booking tahun 2018 Persona

• no more Iriz 1.6 afta this Persona Launching …vios 70k low line spec got ESC ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • Andas on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:10 am

@OM – Every persona’s article, u wiĺl post the same thing.. u wouldnt give up do you? Love to see this persona sales tak laku right? Aiyoo.. come on la.. U comparing persona 1.6l with bezza 1.3l same like u comparing kapcai 135lc with fz150i leh.. then u comparing with persona premium with vento baseline.. not fair leh.. why not the premiun on 1.2l tsi 92k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
        • Maslinah Binte Halimah on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Size doesn’t matter. The Bezza will still drives better with better nvh and engine pulling power and responsiveness compared to the Persona. The older persona however offers better power comparable to the 15 years old Toyota Vios. This persona I foresee will be worst than its predecessor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
          • you want power.. go and.beli lorry balak la. power for what? even.safety feature pon x ada.. make world laugh at you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
          • Kuntak on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:14 pm

So you test drove the new persona??? I bet you didn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • kamakuku on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Anyone who says a Perodua car drives better than a Proton need to go and get their brain checked.

P/S : Why is your dad’s name Halimah?

• Grool on Aug 31, 2016 at 10:53 pm

@kamakuku
            I tried to refrain saying this, but it is very obvious that the person is a cyber trooper (for whom I wonder?) who does not understand Malay/Muslim naming convention.

It’s Binti / Bt, not Binte…
            And for Muslim, we use the mothers name only when we died… at our funeral during the last prayer

• Lyana on Nov 09, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Unconfortable. It’s dangerous when to fast at the corner lap. Not stable.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Andas is john in disguise. So is basherlogic and all the various dupes. Please john, why so many dupes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • And hijack my nick for….

• Andas on Aug 14, 2016 at 5:19 am

Ayoo old man kunta.. me just another p1 owner.. john owned gen2.. i owned old persona.. so different la.. jgn panas hati sgt.. sked kene heart attack leh.. my comment was fair.. compare apple with apple la.. not with nenas..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • 2litre bottle on Aug 14, 2016 at 10:19 am

Hello samloo, change name already ka? Too embarrass to use sam loo name is it?

• David Yong on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:25 am

Why car blog got to do with politic matters? Why are there a political blogger here. Not interesting fren.

• this kunta already leakd every where. his brain leaking because too fanatic to his master words..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • @Andas. Hehehe, gu one there!
            Dun bother about this kuntilanak. He uses multiple dupes here, thats why he thought u were one too. Acutally this kunti is also a dupe: his real nick is Albert Yong but he goes in others such as Albert, George Abdul, john (impostor nick to sully my name), and others less used ones. Regulars here ignore him like Sammy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • U want a kosong car then go buy lo… Then buang at corner or during e-brek… Mati Katak je…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Only u sohai compare to BEZA, later Saga launch compare to which P2 lousy model?

• The minute they knew p2 current booking of bezza skyrocket immediately p1 released all info about persona, afraid sales xjalan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
      • malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:47 am

Yeah, P2 beat them on timing. They may have a very good offer here but timing kalah with P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • Malaysians are kiasu mah. If P2 not launch, P1 will still tease here, tease there until Matt Damon becomes Jason Bourne. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Autodriver on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Agreed! If P2 not launched Bezza Proton will still tease here and there the persona and easily take up a month or two before official launching their unsurprised new model.

• ocyzara on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:34 pm

game changer for proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
        • Gomez on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Game over for our RM1.5B

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • Peter on Aug 17, 2016 at 3:49 pm

For any new release, proton always said it’s a game changer. … in fact it’s not wrong, just a matter of better or worse. Look at their market share, go figure out yourself.

• Pondan on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:24 am

I’m a preve cfe owner…. proton has always been damn good to drive. Much better than the japs and korean.

Sadly, quality is always the biggest downfall. Plague by problems, rattle every where, battery drain flat for no reason and….. the resale value is just hopeless.

Proton has already done many things right but only thing left is the quality. U do this right, everything is perfect.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 5
      • Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Don’t forget, besides quality, Proton must pay back the RM1.5 billion loan too. Cannot take free money simply lah. Already they took RM15 billion FREE money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
        • alamak.. this slave wanted to cheat again. how much P1 pay in taxes?

• UltraKiasu on Aug 14, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Bro Proton paid up all their loans bro. And they build up their factory with their own money. You think this is gambling business or loan shark business ka? Or bullshit handphone business ka? Every business took loan bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Albert on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:44 am

Looks better than Bezza.I just encountered a Bezza overtaking my Rolls Royce.From all these spyshots,
      this Persona may garner some lost sales BUT….still the CVT gearbox is an area of CONCERN due to past BAD REVIEWS AND PERCEPTION.
      PERCEPTION….is a Billion Rm issue.Why is Bezza getting BLOCKBUSTER 20,000 units sales in less than a month?
      PERCEPTION,again…..IT COVERS quality,resale value,aftersales support,good PR etc.
      After Rm1.5 B bailout…..P1…..u cannot afford to disappoint anymore.
      TIME IS RUNNING OUT.PROTONG …YOU HAVE TO OUTRUN USAIN BOLT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
      • Because on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Because malaysians are people who generally trust FB Stories than think for themselves.

The bezza is a really great car! I really love it but as soon as i sit at the back seat. My god what a junk..
        Hidup bujang sedap, hidup family id take a proton for comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • How is it that the smart people in p1 can produce a car with two different p1 logos still, just the the big mistake that is the pondana? Compare the logos on the grille and boot with the ones on the rims and steering wheel. Even the touchscreen system has BOTH the new and old logos, hahaha!

• Different suppliers produce different standards mah

• malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Too many old logos lyingaround the factory. Must use it if not rugi

• Pak Atan on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:04 pm

haha.. what a silly. u just concern on logo..wtf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • You want to buy car or logo? Childish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • I work as a designer and a brand should be consistent throughout. Why? It signifies and represents consistency and that the company takes pride in the details, a symbol of quality. Clearly, you don’t mind sub-standard products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • wow.. wat a words. what wrong with logo in steering wheel?

• kokok on Aug 14, 2016 at 4:55 pm

You call it sub-standard if got tad different logos?

Childish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Dr Mamak on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Power window ok x?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
      • Okkeeyyyyyyy! Lagi ada lifetime warranty.

• you windows ok tak? i think you never learnt. P1 have improved alot bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • mana ada? go see the owner satisfaction score lah, see what is their ranking. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Owner satisfaction tak ada kira, P1 staff cakap baru ada

• atokkk - not real one on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:40 am

owner satisfaction is perception. question can drive their answer.

• Knight E on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:09 pm

this time proton done nice job…but still remain bigger problems about QC and quality from supplier…hope they will consider the problems…

• Its not QC nor Quality bro. Its about reliability. When talking to reliability, supplier capability is major role.

• Tukang Tilik Nasib on Aug 14, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Still with loud Campro and jerky Punch? That alone will scare half of buyers to go buy Bezza.

Then thinking about that ‘Biasalah kereta Proton’ when servicing, the other half of buyers also gone buy Bezza.

In the end, buyers either buy Bezza or topup a bit to buy Vios or City currently with generous rebates too.

Very sad finale to Persona, already dead on arrival. Landing at hard or rough places. Surely suffer mediocre sales like Iriz also. Rakyat no longer believe them anymore.

Finally DRB can no longer afford to burn a billion ringgit each year (despite the news of its denial) and say hello to the new owner from China instead. LoL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • same L0rr on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:05 am

Same story. Campro engine & cvt bising punch powertrain gearbox

• kanazai2001 on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:45 am

the front lower grill looks like current aVanZa veloZ… the “mustache” grill~ YEAH~

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 212
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:12 pm

la u want they to do spyshot lagi ka? last time complaint too much spyshot. Now they gip u actual car u oso complaint..aiyoo

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 7
      • Deswai he job function is resident basher lah!

Sypshot, he bash.
        Dun spyshot, he oso bash.

He winliaolor!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 8
        • SiniKutukSaja on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:11 am

How much arr that guy got salary to become resident basher for Proton?
          i’m interested too mr basher… :)

DECENT CAR ANYWAY!! Love it!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
          • Perodua gang on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:53 am

The Proton basher gets “salary” from Perodua… most of them Perodua owners and salesman. Anyway Proton always is a safer and better handling car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
          • Proton gang on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:04 pm

The Proton supporters gets ‘salary’ from Proton too… Anyway i’m also interested to become resident supporter. I’ll say good things about Proton is it gives me a decent salary

• Launching want to copy perodua? Then others manufacture no need to launch their new model..keep use existing model for 100 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • Sometimes u need to keep ur stupidity a lil bit to your other family members…this is too much.. -.-

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Stupid comment

• Lockhart on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:18 pm

simply amazing, i hope they sell well!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 3
  • Looks good in front. but not a big fan of the back design.
    All the best to Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
  • Yoyoi on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:24 pm

The car look smexy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Henry on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Looks good, how about selling price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • EVIL RYU on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:28 pm

ABS, EBD, BA, ESC, TCS, HHA for all variants is good enough already. Can beat BEZZA 1.3 Advance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 7
    • lazada on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:34 pm

If price same as Bezza…. Habis lah Bezaa… all booking might be cancelled!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
      • proton on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:34 am

But perodua bezza is backed by abang besar jepun… dual VVT-i engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
        • Abang besar jepunis yg xkesah nyawa org MY. Sy lebih caya sama abang long kat sini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • What? Abang Besar? Abang besar jsut recall for so many failure..LOL

• Habis Bezza? Dei, dont forget its just a proton, not honda or toyota, not even a korean brand and far from european.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
        • Malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Perodua just a perodua dude

• Maslinah Binte Halimah on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Yes but people here believes it’s a Toyota so Toyota quality is there. However Proton will forever be a Proton. That’s the problem. People think Proton is shit. You wan to own and sit in shit everyday?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Akuma on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:17 pm

If BMW price same as Bezza, habis juga Bezza… That’s why got car duties, so that Proton can gain the advantage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • zerome on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:42 am

It not about Proton survival only, it about PRODUA survival also….Malaysian automotive industry…..our local automotive industry..

• kzm (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:16 am

from leak price from p1 seller between RM46k to RM59k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • SiniKutukSaja on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:12 am

sgt BEZAA laaa.. like langit n bumi maaa

• Why does it ‘snap into oversteer’ even with VSC / ESP? Shouldn’t the system prevent that in the first place? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4-Lbt8KHkw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 47
    • The slalom and quick maneuver was done at 100kmph. Normally these systems arent designed for and evaluated at such speeds. So it might have taken some time for the ECUs and BCM to react. This is normal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
      • If you actually listen he said he was travelling at 75mph which is 20km/h than they did the persona

• ESP Jackson Charvel Guitars on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:38 pm

No ESP system prevent initial oversteer. What ESP does is to prevent you going sideways and minimise fishtailing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:25 am

The moment of oversteer was very slight, and there was probably less than half a second between the tail stepping out of line and the VSC system neutralising it. It also has to be said that this was after a series of left-right-left flicks – where the car exhibited no sign of oversteer – and it was only when the driver was being particularly brutal with the steering wheel that the Persona lost traction momentarily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Aero (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Awesome. Some fears and worries have been laid to rest. Now only one thing remains unanswered; QC and reliability. Has Proton done enough to make the new BH Persona as reliable as the cheaper CKD Japanese cars ? They now have an ex-Nissan senior Japanese engineer with 30 years experience heading QC… so there better not be any trivial QC issues like broken plastics and power window failures. Let’s not beat around the bush; the Iriz was not as reliable as Proton claimed it should’ve been, so, much work needs to be done if Proton expects to win back the trust of former/current Proton owners.

Anyway, all the best Proton. Looking forward to the live launch feed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 8
    • Waited for this year’s Alami event and see this, but no cigar. Im disappointed they din continue this year.

• SiniKutukSaja on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:14 am

plss save the budget. More thing to do bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • U mean there r other things more important than expanding my knowledge, especially in a subject which is usually secretive? What izit? Catch pokemon?

• Andrekua on Aug 13, 2016 at 6:51 am

QC? I think every brand also have QC problem, even Mercedes. I think SC is more important. SC will help you solve problem that slip pass through QC. Proton still haven’t solve its SC problem.

• Autodriver on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Your point is SC is more important which mean QC is less important. Based on your comment you can’t be a good business man coz you don’t know which should be prioritized. Let say you have problem A and send to SC and it does solve problem A, but then problem B come a month later SC solve again. Problem C, D, E etc happened within 6 months from problem A. Do you still have high confident on this product? Yes, problems are solved but it none stop happening, think of it how inconvenient it brought to you.

I own a Korean car, 5 years from now I had changed 1 pair of stabilizer links and 1 pair of lower arms. My former Gen2 drove for 6 years, 1st year I went to SC more than 20 times to fix my car alarm (beeping itself several times a day and got complaint by neighbor), aircond vent spoilt, both front seats back power torn, gearbox jerking while shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear (mine is AT), steering coilspring changed 3 times etc. It was new car I got with such a long list of problem, this haven’t counted problems happened later such as it famous power window bracket broken driver side and rear left passenger door, trunk hydraulic issue and so on. QC not important for you but it is very important to me.

• Hopelessness on Aug 13, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Still hoping and hoping. Read the review again and you can smell the writer simply playing nice words over the coarse Campro engine and Punch cvt scooting. Better get supply from Perodua Toyota NR 1.5L engine and proven 4AT gearbox to put it inside Persona. Stop the big ego and problem solved lah. Pity the macais always get false hope again and again ha ha ha ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Salambangi on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Dear Jonathan

You’re the best after Hafiz. Fair and informative write up. Not too bias but objective. Keep it up and eager to read your full review.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
    • I really like Danny’s writing approach. Looking forward to his write up as he tells it as it is.

• I prefer Clarkson’s style of writing. I’m looking forward for him to review this awesome car that makes Malaysia proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • He will like it. At least he wun put a hammer thru the windows then kaboom the whole thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • bezza jezza on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Perodua first. He really loves Perodua. The Bezza review by Jezza is one many here hope to see.

• Impresive. But i wait for the new engine. My old persona is very old and need a heir to continue serving me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • No boomy exhaust note?! Apa kelanjiaoan ini?! Thats a P1 feature since saga lmst! how dare they remove it?! Thats a P1 identity!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 46
    • Happy on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:46 am

Not just that, Proton also reduce the fuel consumption by 15% compared to old persona. Reduce CVT whinning noise. Ape la pegi reduce reduce plak, teruk betul la dorg ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • hayenadeblue on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:28 am

Mana statement/review from PT kata proton reduce fuel consumption by 15%? Be responsible la. Later your comment will be taken as input to lowyat.net user to bash this lovely car. Anyway, xde cruise control?

• I read from another blog…it is 13% more fuel efficient than current persona

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Government pls remove tax then Proton can sell Persona for RM25k.

• Akmal on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:58 pm

I hope sufficient DFMEA has been made on those boot design + rear light cluster. Any slight side shift to the boot during closing would surely smash those plastic lamps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Walau eh…DFMEA..what a scientific name..wonder how many car buyer know what DFMEA called..kilat

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Engineers love to talk in acronyms. Macam orang pandai la konon.

• DFMEA is Engineering term, nothing to do with Scientific.

• Potong on Aug 14, 2016 at 12:44 pm

I think Proton should disclosure their reliability life testing result…

• Lack of steering response is probably due to EPS. I had the same problem driving new city. And brakes? Thats probably cuz they downgraded to rear drums from 1st gen solid discs. Bad move there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Mfzack on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:33 am

Lack of steering response can be caused from a number of factor.. a lot of it came from compliances.. bushes.. tyres.. etc.. not purely because of EPS (EPS brushless type can be refine-tuned) proton’s EPS performance and characteristics is definitely not the same with City.. unless if you dont know what the hell is on center response is but just pretending to know it..

• Not enough on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 121
    • Aero (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Proton is working to bring next gen safety to their new cars. Like their upcoming GDI engine, it will take time and we might have to wait until 2018 to see the first Proton with lane watch, auto-braking, blind-spot monitoring, pedestrian detection and sign recognition.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
      • ex persona on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:48 am

Gear box pun pakai Punch Cvt…. where is that Jatco….. ini pun tak nak paham itu proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • malaysian on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:58 pm

I’d say when Proton introduced the VSC as standard on all Iriz variants, Perodua was a bit pressured and put it on their Bezza. Proton is doing some good on vehicle safety offerings for Malaysian market

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
      • But P2 only gip on topkek spec cuz jepunis overlords think those who only afford lower spec r unworthy to survive in accidents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • Mfzack on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:48 am

And sell the car at 46k? Are you high? I dont know what you had but i want it as well!!!

Another one who is not satisfied enough because all the high end fancy stuff is not available cheaply.. but when or if it is available he’ll go like ‘walao.. so expensive.. stupid proton.. i want price like saga’

• Malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Beli Volvo la dei

• Safety First on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:20 pm

If Volvo same price as Proton, of course buy Volvo lah. Additional ‘Proton Protection Tax’ on Volvo cannot buy lol

• Nope. Still prefer P1 cuz they wun cilok SCS even thou 100,000 miles away

• justin on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:08 pm

This car gonna sell well. It look nice, bigger but.
    5.6L/km wow. Just perfect for my everyday subang-KLIA highway route.

When the prebooking will open??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • lazada on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:38 pm

per 100km lol~ U shocking ppl 5.6L/km????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • IrizX on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:49 am

That’s the highway figure at constant 90km/h or so from factory.

We all know how real world Campro performs, especially driving in a city. It can sucks more fuel than a C segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • hayenadeblue on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:32 am

Jgn jadi boddo. Ini bukan campro. Go back and study which part makes the two engines differ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • IrizX on Aug 24, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Shows the ignorance of Proton fanboys (or salesman). Everyone knows it’s a Campro with VVT (which exist since Campro CFE).

Here:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CamPro_engine

• Nope. My 1.6L campro CPS instead has better FC than Myvi 1.3L. So what say u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Mimau on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:03 am

train your mind and foot. I can get avg 7-8L/100km city in an Iriz.

• old horse on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:14 pm

looking at how small the Bezza tyres…if Persona and Saga do a nice proper job, should be able to get it done..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Maola on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:32 pm

reflector rather than projector headlights, and bulb instead of LED tail lights; there are no LED daytime running lights? What the hell. Proton downgrade Persona for the sake of saving money and sell it very expensive. This is absolutely stupid. Don”t buy this thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 70
    • Err I agree with the LED tail lights but 1st gen persona never had projectors and DRLs. unless u thought Brothers mod was OEM lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • hid and drls on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Less time to retrofit hid projectors

• Honda city oso dun have drl or led rear light, but still ppl buying it. So i guess ppl dun care so much, just u brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Knight E on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:34 pm

More garang the in front face, back view still ok…but rim a bit small …why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Alson P on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:08 am

yeah small rims.. But you can fit it with aftermarket 205/45 R17x7jj without problem.. There is still spacious wheelarc there..

• Knight E on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:50 pm

if the rim change to 16 – 17 ,it will more terpersona …

• Have to admit it.. it looks nice for once

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Steven Chen on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:14 am

With this “improvement”, I guess less than 10 years, Proton will files for bankruptcy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 51
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:20 am

I don’t think this new Persona is going to be priced at Bezza level. So it wont be straight competition.

• Instead of complaining about headlights, why not praise the inclusion of VSC as standard feature? There are still not many B-segment sedans in the market that have VSC across the range. Projector headlights and DRL can be installed aftermarket but VSC can’t!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • I’m driving iriz premium, it’s fine to me, but this new persona seems like awesome and attractive, feel like a little bit regret for buying iriz Lol anyways, hoping that it’s going to sell well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • proton on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:39 am

Dude… yours are premium…. DRL… projector headlight. Auto foldable side mirrors. Shud be proud… adik persona doesn’t have all that… be a proud iriz owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • hayenadeblue on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:38 am

Im driving iriz premium too. We have drl, led tail light. They have better cvt for better launch. Hey, i already know the trick to avoid lag in launch in iriz. They have all around disc brakes, we have drums at the rears. They have quieter exhaust, we got the noisy. Cruise control mana?????!!!!! That is all my komplen and comparison.

• Dr Ass on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:25 am

Gud luck Proton.. from Gti owner

• tokmoh. on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:58 am

So manual drivers cannot fold the rear seats, are they farking retard?

Why do car makers do this, just because in market survey, people don’t use it much doesn’t mean it’s not helpful. People don’t always use airbag, but when you need it, it’s very crucial. Now the car is permanently cacat cannot fold rear seats. Stupid as hell.

Better they give steel rims if it means the cost saved can be channeled to giving foldable seats.

Punch CVT more responsive? Oh impress me please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • beli pun full loan lagi mau sembang ..puiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • How to impress u unless u go test drive and see urself? But please do then come back here and comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Proton is more impressive than Volvo, u know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • tiadaid (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:44 pm

It’s not really that stupid when you consider that many carmakers do that in entry level models in other markets too – for example in the UK, foldable rear seats are an option for the lowest spec Jaguar XE & it costs GBP 400. For the Mercedes-Benz C-Class sedan you need to choose the SE Executive Edition over the entry level model for an additional GBP 1,295.

And I don’t think swapping the rims for steel ones is of equivalent cost to the rear seats.

• tokmoh. on Aug 14, 2016 at 2:01 pm

The option is available, and very recommended to go for.

Here, it isn’t, unless u go straight up to exec spec.

Perodua gives it to all, even cheapest e spec axia, at least they have thought about it.

• Its not a deal breaker decider. Just like at new civic

• tokmoh. on Aug 14, 2016 at 10:19 pm

I bashed Civic too.

And BMW F30, RM200k++ car that can’t fold rear seats. Kek.

• P1 only gip on topkek spec cuz bumi overlords think those who only afford lower spec r unworthy

• tokmoh. on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:26 pm

I just remembered, do bear in mind this car will be used for taxi, the basic manual especially.

As a taxi, it would be so much more versatile to have foldable rear seats.

Bezza has this for all specs, Proton really shot themselves in the foot.

• Irsyad on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:18 am

They really should ditch the android “tablet”. It has low res, slow response, horrible bluetooth connection and the infotainment in prevé is a lot better.

• applegreen on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:25 am

small car with 10.9sec century sprint. That figure is good enough and i thnk this car can sell well. Well done proton!

• Dual vvti on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:00 pm

U ingat racing drag ke everyday,normal people only tekan sampai 3500rpm change gear,bezza dual vvti will offer more torque while cruising around the town.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • LOL.. you ingat bezza with rear suspension keras boleh drive balik kamgpung ke? I gurantee mmg sakit belakang… Dont just fikir untung saja. Untung bawa balik ke Jepun. Penjajahan baru ekonomi

• im punch man on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:34 am

everything looks good.. except those tiny rims & tyre..aiyoo (OEM offset kasi setting cun2 maa..)

later someone will say ‘ if you wanna big rims & tyre, go change by yourseft la’ Bxxxshit… we talking about right and nice car proportion, if in showroom it’s already show ‘kuncup kedalam’, for second time people will just pass by..

like and athlete have a six pack, goodlooking, nice muscle, ready to join marathon.. but wearing ‘selipar jepun’.. hope you Proton R&D got what i mean…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • mak kau hijau …beli kereta pun full loan byk sembang lorrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • Hybridsucks on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:30 am

You mean kuncup like toyotaik prius c right? Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • HybridTheBest on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:32 am

A 330e HYBRID can easily smoke your Pondan Persona going uphill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • And wira GSR can easily smoke that 330e going uphill. So whats ur point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Hero Handling on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:47 pm

A wira can easily fall on the slope if it’s going too fast. Your point, john?

• Onlyyousaid on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Not everyday going up hill. Who cares.

• Slowpoke on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:20 am

Proton is slowww… That’s why don’t care

• baru ada semangat sikit melihatnya.. dashboard kemas dan cantik, specs dekat2 nak ke preve, ada usaha dari proton..tahniah dari saya. cantik dipandang persona baru ni,, (me owned a preve iafm)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • proton on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:44 am

Dear mr. Jonathan…. when u said the cvt response has been improved, is that means no more cvt lag during start from standstill and cvt whining during spirite driving.. like in iriz.. tell me becos iriz is a good car.. just that stupid punch cvt has cost it a dear..

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:00 am

From what little we drove, the CVT’s lag in response has been considerably reduced, and feels much closer to a traditional automatic than before. Of course, this was a short test drive on a smooth, flat surface, and things may very well be different on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Pentium 4 on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:42 am

110 km/h = 3000 rpm is in CVT or manual..?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:26 am

Both manual- and CVT-equipped vehicles cruised at slightly under 3,000 rpm at 110 km/h.

• hayenadeblue on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:43 am

Wow, my iriz premium, 110km/h @ 2500 rpm the most (speedo). That speed from the speedo or gps? Thanks

• oldman on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:34 pm

another 3000rpm at our highway cruising speed, unless they took a major revamp in engine refinement, i would imagine it sounds as “loud” as in my gen2 campro 1.6…

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:38 pm

@hayenadeblue Just through the speedometer. A proper test will come later.

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:57 pm

That’s why when my gf wanna shop for an Iriz, I insisted in getting the MANUAL. The brilliant manual and the stupid CVT Iriz are two worlds apart. Never had I like and hate a car so much solely because of its transmission choice.

In the manual 1.3 base Iriz, I can smoke any 1.6CVT driven Iriz in corners or in straight line before hitting 120km/h (after 120km/h, the 1.3 is pretty much gutless compared to a 1.6), in corners, the manual Iriz is much much more fun to execute than in that stupid CVT. You can downshift and heel toe at your pace while the stupid CVT just don’t know how to react in a similar situation, all you get is a dreadful drown that hurts your driving sensation.

To be fair, the Campro is quite an rugged engine that can take many abuses, however, it has little respect for our eardrums and it’s fuel guzzling that ultimately make it obsolete by today’s standard. The Campro+Punvh CVT should be retired ASAP before Proton has any meaningful chance to pull off a fair fight against P2 or other entry level marque.

• ex persona on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:51 am

Look at the boot.. no more hinge strut style for the boot opening system.. the persona boot is the best thing about persona before… very useful during balik kampung.. it wont stucked with the loads of bags inside during closed it

• bujingyun on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:25 pm

yeah,so true..it bothers a lot when we need to ‘adjust’ our luggage for the ‘hand’ to close the boot

• Well, it’s from our proud national carmaker’s superior design, jangan persoal ye?

• Watcher on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:09 am

This page is full of proton ppl who are paid to post positive comments about their dying company. Just check their IPs abd can see all originated from Proton COE. If anyone wanted the IRIZ sedan they already bought the better cars such as Bezza. Same as “game changer” iriz this game changer will also be game over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 56
  • Car fan on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:17 am

When I read some comments here by pro proton ppl it shows they know the car and it’s a proof they are all proton staff paid to come to this page and post comments about their company failed cars. You can’t win ppl with this gimmick guys. Make a good car and then expect respect. This is cheating . Your DRB bosses thought you well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 41
    • I thought i can when i pretend to be a P2 salesman. That’s why u see my comments on every P2 articles. My tactic gud or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
      • So u wanna buy from me or not? Dun CH1841 here! My Road To Nirvana is bestest u can find, if u just come here to window shop, then get lost. Go to Albert’s toyota showroom or something. Hes begging for pipu just to go in.

Dun bother my sales of untested moving deathtraps!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • LOL… shame on u. ur just P2 slave with corrupted mind.

• Siti Jamilah Binte Ismail on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:28 am

Specs looks good but the engine is still it’s downfall. If this new persona can drive and perform as good as the Vios or City I don’t see any reason why the sales won’t rocket. The engine in the Preve and Iriz are the worst engines in the market. Extremely noisy and loud and transmission is extremely jerky. The nvh for both Preve and Iriz is really bad as compared to Jazz, City, Almera or Vios. The Japanese are at least twice as better. Another thing as important is the price. Bezza is pretty good to drive and you get that similar Toyota kinda feel. Responsive engine, smooth transmission, enough power to ferry 5 adults and very quiet – both engine and cabin. Is the engine of this persona quiet enough and the overall nvh too? Does this persona has enuf power to ferry 5 adults with enuf pulling power with good nvh? Is the engine as responsive as Japanese and Korean car manufacturers? Is the transmission as good as them? Malaysians are extremely particular about nvh, engine responsiveness and smooth transmission. If Proton cannot iron out these 3 important check boxes Malaysians want, this persona and it’s many new more models to come will fail like it’s existing models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 51
    • Azlan on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:34 pm

You post a lot of questions. That’s fair. Although we need to wait for extensive full review to answer them. But you started with ‘the engine is still its downfall’, how do you know for sure to write that statement? Blind-bashing I’d say.

• yes bro. i agree… like kunta, her brain corrupted n washed by slave master.
        she looks like engineer but brain drained to longkang already

• Nikola Tesla on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Is this an advertisement for bezza?

• bezza jezza on Aug 13, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Even if you are right, many are willing to give up a little refinement for better safety and most importantly, cooler aircon. Don’t know about Singapore lah. I assume you are from Singapore. They spell ‘binti’ as ‘binte’ there.

• Ur welcome to buy axia at Rm276k. Thank u for the COE

• p2 basher spotted. their brain drained. scared with Persona

• rashuk_khan2 on Aug 14, 2016 at 3:05 am

Funny comment

• car's xpert on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:26 am

if you want to compare please do it apple with apple, am i right dude? Bezza only seated on super mini class (class A) with bloody fool prize instead of Class B of Persona. Good job proton but not enough……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Bezza is overpriced A segmenter but pipu dun care still compare with B segmenter persona cuz similar price

• Kudos on Proton for giving VSC as standard across all variants. The only let down will probably be the engine as it looks like it needs higher rpm to maintain its speed. 3000rpm at 110km/h for a 1.6L engine is quite high as its comparable to the smaller 1.3L Myvi engine in terms of rpm at highway speeds.

• winners on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Yes, this gear ratio is not suitable for a 1.6-litre engine. More wear and tear on the engine for this setup. My PREVE CFE is only about 2,450rpm at 110km/h.

• Another half baked model.
    Look at new Proton badge…mostly is old one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
    • R3 is our moto. Rubbish, reused, recycle.

Proton is doing its best to save the environment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
  • fahmi on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:42 am

Iam persona eelegant and envy all the good stuff been reinstate on new persona. There is no doubt on persona above average performance and handling expirience for 50K cars and proton done good job to increase premium feel of it with all.features. Espesially on the noice and vibration reduction. 100% recemond persona 1.6 over Bezza 1.3. Good job proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Still timing belt? When timing chain come?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • Dual vvti on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Cost problem ,timing chain and timing sprocket is expensive la bang…..timing chain cost 4 time expensive la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Proton Penipu on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:23 pm

What? RM1.5B not enough to change to timing belt? Either someone masuk duit dalam pocket or Proton tipu rakyat lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • dump.. chain is old tech. laa. most oem imigrate to belt.. toyota selling u old tech. and u proud of it…. so pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • WTF? Most oem imigrate to belt? Pls prove your statement else you must be a slave to your ketuanan for coming out with this silly statement

• Malaysian on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:45 pm

You tukar hari-hari ke itu barang..stupid basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Johnny on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:51 am

A healthy competition is always welcome :)

• Joholan on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:19 am

Singapore got first olympic gold medal this morning, hope Malaysia boleh too…

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:11 am

Malaysian want a reliable car with less QC issues. Nobody wants a problematic car. It is so simple to understand but Proton fail to comprehend until of late.

Iriz is good, but no enough. People are sick and tired if all these false promise about Proton has “repented” and those pain in the ass QC issues has beeen resloved. Preve, Suprima, Iriz…. we see empty big promises while deliver so little to the consumers. Decades of cheating, false promise, lousy QC is no means to overcome by simple marketing gimmick. You need to get down to the root and work your ass out to painfully get back the confidence and trust once taken for granted, a path Proton must take to survive.

The market is growing fatigue and sick of all these fanfare and hype by Proton. Proton need to just shut up and rectify all the weakness that make their cars being the most unwanted ones in the market. They knew extactly what’s the reason behind, is just whether thry have the will to do it. Hopefully, now with Dr. M ousted, they can finally fire all those rent seeking leeces and cronies that make Proton cars so awful in thr first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • If it has beg billions in the past, it will beg billions more in the future.
      Old habits never die. Proton will always be Proton and those who buy their cars will experience the same thing again and again until they are fed up. The cycle repeats like in ‘The Lion King’. The smart ones are those who learn from the past

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • Steven on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Haha you think they have fixed their numerous issues? Dream on. This persona will still suffer its fair share of problems plaguing it. Just like the Preve, exora and Iriz. Problems after problems and poor after sales service and lousy engine. Every cars that come out from that dated factory will curse the poor onwer for life. As a Proton owner, will never be a Proton owner. Proton should change its tagline. Once a Proton, never a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Proton no need to test here, test there until Matt Damon comes home from Mars like jepunis overlord mah. Just let the users test lah. If got problem, the users can report to our Operation Manager(He is also in PT). If got time, better sleep in the opis. Inilah budaya kerja P1. I know coz i work there

• Nikola Tesla on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:27 pm

I never had problem with Proton cars.
      You are exaggerating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Mangali Singh on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:12 am

Why support another proton model? No other choice? If proton close shop we can have a healthy car market with proper competition, consumers win in the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
    • John L on Aug 14, 2016 at 3:24 am

Funny.. because it seems to me that Perodua only included ESC in their Bezza because Iriz includes it as standard in all variants. And even then, only the top range Bezza has ESC. Without the Iriz, Perodua might not have even bothered.

• Ppl voice on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:32 am

Has DRB bought Paultan also? This page is only proton staff portal can pls allow Rakyat to make real comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
    • No. Its just the RBAs a little bit late to the party I think ;)

• Mohdiliasishak on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:35 am

No mention about 6 airbags?..

• Car fan on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:42 am

John, I’m not p2 salesman and don’t own a P2 or P1, the four cars I own you can’t afford for sure so I know my tech . TQ btw I think I know who you are.

• Proton Proton…I’ve always wondered, why u nvr change?

mention the word Proton and all i can think of is thin panel clad with poor plastic durability and build.

Face fact, Proton started dying from the moment Gen-2 was released.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • JoeGti on Aug 14, 2016 at 9:22 am

Agreed Lee.no more snap shot.u better concentrate on ur quality and teach service center manner to treat customer

• Topkek on Aug 14, 2016 at 1:10 pm

You said like you ady bought this car even it is not launched yet

Kek

• How so when I feel my Gen2 CPS is a much better car than any P1 before this?

• thebosssendangbercakap on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:35 pm

I wonder why is there so many proton supporters even when clearly the car company is really struggling to come out with good models. This car does not even come with a standard drl. Who’s the fella who approved this car?, no internet at his home ka? open up car channels like youcar, see some good car designs there and just copy like china do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 41
    • Youjelly on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:25 pm

No DRL oso want to bash ka?

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 14, 2016 at 3:24 pm

with this kind of mentality no wonder malaysia is at its current state now. kudos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Go and bash overpriced Bezza without VSC better!

• abeng on Aug 14, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Buy Vios TRD much better got LED light summore (but no VSC)

Sarcasm

• Din see u bashing Biza no DRL, why ah? Ohh, P2 salesman rupanye, patutlah!

• immafanboi.. on Aug 13, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Even with all that, the less said about the side surfacing, the better??? its look good thow

• Dual vvti on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:14 pm

The engine and gearbox is failed……haiz…..bezza legroom is bigger den persona much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • Liar

• malaysian on Aug 14, 2016 at 1:44 am

But Bezza rear seating position is too upright and not comfortable. Got legroom but uncomfortable seating position. Guess you have to compromise things.

• inspiraowner on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:10 pm

there are too many issues that need to be addressed before they can regain public acceptance. First the quality issues, you can’t just improve quality overnight. You need a workforce that’s quality oriented. You can scream quality 24×7, but if your production guys don’t have quality mindset, it will never translate to the final product. Second major issue would be the way they treat their customers. I own a premium proton but I feel like i’m treated like a slave. That’s very bad. Doesn’t matter how good their subsequent car will be, I will never buy a proton again.

• CrazyMobilo on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Very decent looking vehicle BUT I am only interested on purchase at year end or maybe whenever the huge discounts rolls in… You have to admit, all new cars are not selling that well nowdays. So why don’t you wait & enjoy the discounts later….

• Good buy Bad times on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:26 pm

It maybe a Proton … but Vios and City look out… its almost 30k cheaper in this tough economy. And Perodua no thanks … Perodua cars are too whimpy and I cannot take my clients in a Perodua.. image issue.

• Fadzli Syed on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:17 pm

dear paul, so what is your rating? can give specify each? kinda long speech to read…i need summary…haha…like handling rating, comfort rating etc…thanks…seem design quite good, was hoping it change to 1.5L instead, we need fuel eco, 1.6L mostly burn fuel like hell, owned 2011 pesona…zzz…

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 13, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Most cars lose their “new appeal” after 6 months but reliability and quality last much longer so better to reserve any judgement on it’s reliability and quality to a later date. On it’s appeal side it is ahead of Bezza hopefully the price is not too much ahead to be the spoiler.

• jeffrezal on Aug 13, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Masih pakai engine Campro lagi ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Bernard on Aug 13, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Proton is good at coming out with cars but wonder if the after sales is good or is that still neglected?

A product is only as good as its people .

• That gear lever design is so 90’s reminiscent of the Wira. Dissapointed that it lacks the center armrest. Overall, is a pretty decent looking car, probably the best Proton to date.

• saiful on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Pity when you can come out with the best product only to see it fail cos at the end of the day the VVTI 1.6 power plant is still an old recycled engine & no matter how hard you try to hide the truth, its final drive will show.
    So P1 until the new engines comes 2017-2018
    This beautiful car will still have thr past P1 DNA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • skrillek on Aug 14, 2016 at 1:27 am

this persona looks very gud, why? coz imma p1 fanzz…heck yea!! Btw, how can anyone like that tonggek p2 bohzzia? wai .. back absorber to thick to support 508L…but enjin…so cute eyy

• i have a myvi and 1st gensaga.. despite boken front absorber on my 1st gen saga i still enjoy driving saga much more than new myvi.. idk why

• Proton’s Lotus handling is so good that even with a broken absorber, u can still overtake a myvi like what my P1 supporters said

• AbuDEBU on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:01 am

I agreed. I rented Proton Saga when I was holidaying in Kuching a few months ago.

Very surprised by its handling. It’s so good to drive around city

• Jason7 on Aug 14, 2016 at 3:11 am

Feeling so proud of Proton’s improvement and would love to see Proton competing in the international level one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • U don’t know that Proton is already international level being ‘BMW and Volvo of Asia’? Maybe one day, Proton can up one level to be in the Olympics where we jaguh dunia

• Yokohama24 on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:18 am

I find the steering wheel much more “Premium” than the Accordana.

• xoxox on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:31 am

oh proton, please…do a proper fuel consumption test cycle la…90km/h test cycle is bullshit! unless u can reach 90km/h in 0 seconds!

• I do think that new persona and saga will perform well in the sales. Even though many reviewers said that the bezza is a game changer and will overtake the saga as the first sedan in malaysia, but i don’t think it will be that easy without any fighting from p1. Anyway, P2 made 2 big mistakes in bezza which are expensive for the A segment sedan and not suitable for average family types sedan. However, its p2. So, people will still buy it anyway, as proved by the initial high no in booking. But, people will realise it soon about these two mistakes.

• The number of cyber troopers here is too damn high.. Paid by DRB ke?

• Garfield on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:17 pm

My hindsight tells me P1 is going to shake P2 to the core when Saga is launched because word here is there won’t be cannabilizing of sales between the new models. If lowest spec Persona is sold at 46K (presumably 1.6 manual), then the highest spec Saga won’t be crossing that threshold. I hope P1 seriously keep to this news, unlike the ambitiously priced Iriz that shot their own foot last time. If u let me down again on this P1, then tiada maaf bagimu lagi wahai P1

• Meshuggah GTO on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:13 am

This actually looks quite nice.. won’t hurt dropping by a Proton dealer for a test drive..
    So looks like there’s a list of cars to test drive soon :D
    (Vento, Bezza, Sienta, Persona…)

• Thomas Foo on Aug 16, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Perception is s very strong weapon in selling products. Once a bad perception is made, it is better to change the name.
    Proton can do away with the brand name Perdana, Saga, Persona and launch new models under new name.
    The bad perception on Perdana, Saga have no advantages to continue using them.
    For example, Bentong ginger are perceived to have greater benefits to health are being sold for an average of 20 ringgit per kilo whereas the ginger from China are sold for 5 ringgit per kilo.
    Proton should rebuild new brand models as there are vast improvement in their new products.
    Many people had bad experiences with the old brands so it’s better to introduce new brands

• Ootai on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Test the door knobs. Open and close 1,000 times be4 you put your booking.

• John dah pandai on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:09 pm

My suggestion to P1 is change yur brand name, start over, no ones like you atm

• xcaenx on Aug 19, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Beautiful car and all.. too bad it’s called Proton.. It’s mind boggling why all this while they don’t make an effort to change it’s name.. it’s the one thing that Proton really really needs.. REBRANDING!

• AbuDEBU on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:59 am

Just one thing I would like to say to PROTON: Bravo!

ESC is a standard across all PERSONA variants. I hope SAGA would be the same too, although I don’t think that’s not going to happen due to cost reason.

But nonetheless, BRAVO PROTON! Let some people boast talk about how bad the resale value Proton car is, because OUR LIFE IS PRICELESS!

• R. Gomez on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:06 am

Too many perception comments here. Best option is to wait for the car to be launched and test drive yourself or alternatively let car industry buffs like PT drive and review it. I used proton’s exclusively for 11 years and 6 years and never experienced reliability issues. That being said, agree fully that the service centre experience was very much less than satisfactory. It’s like they only cared about sales and shove the after sales experience. They need to fix the SC issues to alter perception.

• Sanjay on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:54 am

PROTON PERSONA AND PERODUA BEZZA IT LOOKS LIKE THE SAME SIZE??!!

• Jason on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:42 am

please compare proton persona with others segment b car

• Kishel Raj on Aug 28, 2016 at 1:36 pm

I test drove both cars Yesterday. The Bezza is underpowered and I didn’t enjoy driving it. Handling felt heavy and the car felt slow. The interior felt cheap in comparison to the Proton as well but then it is the cheaper car. The Persona on the other hand was enjoyable to drive and felt like an actual upgrade to replace my ageing Nissan Sentra 2004 model. However, having owned proton cars before I am a bit worried about the future of the Persona. Proton cars in the past have never aged well showing signs of wear so early in life. Perodua on the other hand has a better reputation for quality than Proton. I just hope that Proton fixes their bad reputation for quality with the release of this car.

• fadilms on Sep 01, 2016 at 7:49 pm

whatever it is,customer always right,customer choose what they want weather Beeza or persona or BMW,those who have higher disposable income will go for higher end product.So what the chaos and bising2 here?.Wise guy will think ahead before purchase, you want safety,comfort,show your ego etc.Those who can’t afford all that will opt out for used kancil or wira. The best safety measure is driving with good ethic,Kalau x naik BMW pon mati accident,naik kancil pulak x pernah accident.Who drive the car, its matter.

• passion on Sep 02, 2016 at 9:25 am

the tires look out of proportion with the car. 16″ would be perfect.

• Mikey on Sep 05, 2016 at 11:42 am

Proton should have launched the persona ahead of Bezza. Am sure many Bezza purchaser would have bought the persona base on look alone. Both Perodua & Proton are going after the same customers.
    If launching a car also loose out to Perodua, it shows Proton have a lot to learn from Perodua. The advantages of having TRC & CVT have certainly made the Persona more appealing to car lovers/enthusiasts who know the differences.

• Carroll on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:54 pm

As a satisfied owner of the previous model, (2009 IAFM Auto) I’m disappointed at how ugly many new cars are and hoped Proton would have again done better than other makers with this new Persona. They clearly couldn’t manage better, having to use the Iriz as a base. I note it’s also now a smaller car and more to the point obviously looks it. The old one was an improvement on the handsome but flawed GEN-2 and the Preve, (good or bad) was it’s logical successor. This new one is down-market from the old one and looks it.
    Proton wouldn’t be tempting me with this new car, even if I could buy one in the UK.

• Consumers' Power! on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:24 pm

John, let us ask you One very Important Question:- WHICH is a BETTER buy, a Proton new Persona Belt-Timing/Punch sourced CVT Driven or a Bezza Chain-Timing Getrag Driven car??!!

• Aerobee on Nov 20, 2016 at 12:59 am

I booked a premium persona almost 2 month ago but still no news for the car to arrive. Does anyone know what happened? Why the production are so slow… im waiting for so long. The salesperaon said it will be arrive in two weeks… i feel like ive been cheated.