VIDEO: 2016 Proton Persona teased again in new film

Proton has released a new video featuring the upcoming 2016 Proton Persona. Part of the company’s Safety 360 series, it drives home the car’s passive safety performance ahead of its launch tomorrow.

The two-minute film highlights the Persona’s structure, which utilises hot press formed (HPF) steel, a process that was first used on the Prevé. The heating and subsequent rapid cooling results in high tensile steel, enabling the national carmaker to build stronger, yet lighter cars – the Persona is around 20 kg lighter than the previous car, despite being safer and more sophisticated than before.

Roped in to demonstrate the sheer strength of HPF steel are the bomba boys, who tested their tools – including a sledgehammer, grinder and the jaws of life – on both the high-tensile stuff and regular carbon steel, to great effect. Also shown is a full frontal impact crash test against an elevated structure (likely a trailer) which lets us see the full side profile for the first time. One thing to note is that the wheels here carry a two-tone finish instead of the full grey or silver paint on the final production models.

proton-persona-teaser-safety360-ep2-5

The second Proton sedan to be launched this year, the Persona is now open for booking, with an indicative price range of RM47,000 to RM61,000 in Peninsular Malaysia and RM49,000 to RM63,000 in Sabah and Sarawak. The refundable booking fee is RM300.

For that, you’ll get an Iriz-based sedan powered by a 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated VVT engine as the B-segment hatchback, making 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The Standard variant gets a choice of either a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT; all other models (Executive, Premium and Premium SE are the other trim levels) are only available with the CVT.

Active safety kit – including ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Hill Hold Assist (HHA) and Isofix child seat anchors – comes as standard across the range.

proton-persona-teaser-safety360-ep2-21

Kit count on the Standard variant includes dual airbags, grey 15-inch turbine design alloy wheels, power-adjustable side mirrors and a single-DIN Bluetooth-enabled radio. Move up to the Executive and one gains body-coloured side mirrors and door handles, front fog lights, a bootlid lip spoiler, a double-DIN head unit, USB charging ports and a 60:40 split-folding rear bench.

At the top of the range, the Premium gains six airbags, silver wheels, black B-pillar trim, power-folding side mirrors, keyless entry, push-button start, an Android-based touchscreen infotainment system with navigation and a reverse camera and leather upholstery. Premium SE adds on a dual-tone bodykit.

Buyers can choose from six colours – Cotton White, Fire Red, Sterling Silver, Graphite Grey, Quartz Black and a new colour for the carmaker, Carnelian Brown, which is the hero colour for the second-gen Persona. Proton is offering three years free service (parts and labour included) for bookings made by September 30.

We’ve driven the new Persona – read our first impressions test drive report to learn more.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• MR JEM on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Kudos Proton! A great educational promo like video!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 217 Thumb down 14
    • Smart Dudes Buy Vios City on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 304
      • Pity, top up and can only afford City S and Vios J with minimal safety suite. Well, I believe john has a very attractive Nirvana package that you should consider.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
        • This video proved that ALL proton made before 2016 are Milo Tins. So all Satria Neo, Gen2, Saga, Persona, Exora and Iriz owners, Good Luck with your milo tin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 107
          • this statement proof ur otak udang

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
          • JohnLegend on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Kilo, since when you come out from the cave? Exora..Preve..Suprima..Iriz all body kuat lel. sorry..are you Perutdua Salesman? no wonder.. just continue your bumper manufacturing expertise.HAHA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
          • Operation Manager on Aug 22, 2016 at 8:06 pm

What mai trade miniteh doing? Why only p1 to have ABS EBD VSC HHA as stadard safety features, why not apply all car maker etc…

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:08 pm

The new Persona is an Iriz-based sedan with the same 5-star safety features as the Iriz so the Iriz is a milo tin?

Oh my, Malaysia really lacks car salesmen with functioning brains.

• Pengguna Bijak on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Wanna buy a Proton?

Let me think about it first, really long and hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
          • Boring samy on Aug 22, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Looks good. Well done proton.

• Oooh long and hard aku suka bro

• Redidiot on Aug 22, 2016 at 9:42 pm

I’m sure your fubus like ’em long and hard too.

• Same L00 on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:05 am

Look good and ride good is another thing. Like the Persona so much? Buy Da SHIT!!!! I don’t wanna contribute another RM2bil for Proton pocket money (pengemis style).

• Average Malaysian on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:32 am

This is how Proton should have been.. unlike the way Iriz was advertised. “Betul betul Onz” Way to go Persona … this may be an impressive Proton turnaround. Good luck guys… Malaysia need more good news these days

• smarties on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:11 pm

go ahead..nobody stopping you..your money, your choice.. for the specs proton is offering, the price is reasonable for the segment.

#VIOSgotESC? #VIOSgot6airbags? #BetterbuyBezzathanVIOS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • hahaha.. you cannot comments better then that. dah mati akal… nothing special about bezza, the tonggek car…LOL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Large body… Small room for tires…

• Smart Dudes Dont buy Vios on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Bro…you should start thinking selling your Vios Bro before the 2nd hand vios price drop….no safety, understeer, almost like the other newly launch car tak ada Bezza (So Thin like a Tin)

No heart feeling ya…

And one more things..Rakyat are more cleaver then you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Curtain airbags for C segment ? I am sold ! Persona looking very good this time around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Dont test 100% Full frontal crash test, it is useless. Just conduct a 20~40% offset crash test and see the result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 200
      • LeeCWsupporter on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:02 pm

You pergi tanya honda la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
      • Itu HM tak bg tambah lah..ada T&C HM imposed on P1 when they use accord platform..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • Kawan, 2.4 ada ESC but 2.0 cannot letak ESC? You ada baca the T&C ke? Share the whole agreement lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
      • hayyo DK… so blind alledy…

• Daryll on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:01 pm

This is due to the constaint agreement with Honda….they must comply to the certain terms and conditions set by Honda….please do some research and read more than just simply shhot around and being so emtional

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • So according to you, Honda on purpose tak bagi 2.0 have ESC but the buyers of the 2.4 boleh pula? Which idiot in proton agreed to this T&C?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:08 pm

The donor car don have that in the first place in ASEAN market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • malaysian on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Honda did not gave permission to change. Anyway, I think it was a bad move by Proton for Perdana. Should’ve concentrate on Persona, Saga, Exora & Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • You want to buy the Perdana ha?

• bodoh on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:34 pm

if everyone is like u, then yes, rakyat bodoh. Many of the perdana’s features are dictated by honda. If honda says cannot put, then cannot la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • hi bodoh (LOL),

why don’t you explain how the pondona 2.4 ada ESC while the 2.0 pondana doesn’t?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • sepul on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Dear DK, I believe you should be asking the good folks at Proton instead so you can get a satisfying answer. They knows best on their decision on the absence of ESC for the 2.0 Perdana. I also wonders.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Because 2.4 variant of donor car has ESC in ASEAN narket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • then just buy new persona and not new perdana. its not that they forcing you to buy perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • that is the difference between rebadging other platform and build their own.

rakyat tak bodoh kalau berfikir guna otak.

• So if rakyat doesn’t question why the pondona 2.4 ada ESC while the 2.0 pondana doesn’t, you buta-buta terima future products lah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
          • While iriz, persona, preve, exora all have ESC, and just because Perdana 2.0 don’t, that make some basher become crazy and use that to bash. Basher oh basher.

• Eyesore on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:34 am

Bcoz u pondan dunno how to read one… ppl already explain so many times….
            The donor car Accord 2.4 has ESC and Accord 2.0 don’t have ESC… that’s why… to add ESC to 2.0 variant they will have to change a lot on the electrical architecture which Honda does not allow PROTON to do it….

Read carefully and stick it in ur pondan brain… prffft!!!

• Aikon on Aug 22, 2016 at 4:43 pm

If you actually read about the Perdana, you’ll know why it doesn’t have the item you mentioned. Do go and do some reading please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • lilytan on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:29 pm

While proton emphasis on safety is very much commendable, I still cant fathom the whole hype on the HPF steel. Proton said HPF enables them to produce safer yet lighter car but Perodua even without HPF also produces much lighter car n still gets 5 star ASEAN NCAP. We all know that weight and FC are Proton Achilles heel. So this HPF marketing spin is a bit useless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:21 pm

NCAP test is control crash at fixed speed between similar size n mass car. Real world crash is different when u crash u might crash onto bigger size or higher mass car. Those added strength might be useful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Eyesore on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:41 am

U see where most of the HPF are installed? At the side structure….It will help greatly during side impact…

ASEAN NCAP DOES NOT include side impact in it’s rating, that’s why Perodua can get 5Star lol… Do side impact tests on those perodua, see if they can retain that 5Star rating (which only apply to advance version)…

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Walau.. Perodua saleswoman need to go to this length to bash Proton meh? That’s like saying, even though you can give 120% effort, you don’t need to, you just need 100%. Perodua saleswoman, in other words you are saying the Boxza is less safe than the Persona, hor?

• Same L0rr on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Launching or not, it is the same story. Campro Engine with CVT bising Punch Powertrain gearbox! Bad RV. Very hard to sale at used car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 48
      • atifjeelan on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Haha Same L0rr with the same selling point, RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Redidiot on Aug 22, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Gearbox, yes ur right. Engine, no, no longer campro.

• same loo hati busuk on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:15 am

ini orang hati busuk…siang malam tak boleh lena fikir nak jual toyota makin susah utk rakyat malaysia..

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Hey Toyota salesman, I recommend you read this book called Who Moved My Cheese? Or a better one, I Moved Your Cheese. If you cannot sell Toyota anymore, sell Proton or Perodua la. Or is it you are used car dealer who stocked up too much on Toyota?

• MazNisToyoHon on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Remember Malaysian, when you buy a proton or perodua, you not just buying a car, you are selling your children future, the future of affordable decent imported cars. Think twice. Think Our Next generation. Moving Forward, Power of Dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
      • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Remember Malaysian, in this country, when you buy a toyotaik, you not buying a car, you just buying a brand, you are selling your children future, the future of affordable decent and well specced imported cars at reasonable selling price (wouldn’t say cheap price, as long it’s not highly overpriced like UMW toyotaik). Think twice. Think Our Next generation. Moving Forward, Power of Dream and All About the Drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • same loo hati busuk on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:17 am

ini orang hati busuk…siang malam tak boleh lena fikir nak jual toyota makin susah utk rakyat malaysia..

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Good video. But at least the guy installing the steering airbags should have wore gloves to make it look more professional. After eating nasi lemak n kuih koci then straight away bare hand pasang airbag, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • Axzus on Aug 22, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Lee Kum Kee, setelah kamu lihat video tsb,..hanya itu yg kamu boleh komen,..ttg memakai sarung tgn setelah makan nasi lemak,..LMAO,.. kemon la ‘make it look more professional’ to yourself lah…

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Seriously, Proton bashers are the funniest.

• Mr Lim on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Cool video! very informative.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 7
    • Yes i agree with you, inform all current proton owner that their proton is Milo Tin. Only car model after the new Persona is getting better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
      • DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Moron.. HPF has been used since the day they started building the Preve years ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • malaysian on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Preve, Suprima, Iriz, all have HPF

• There’s even a syariah compliant crash test dummy!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 24
    • Malaysia Boleh, first dummy in the world wearing Tudung. Laugh die me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • KontiKinte on Aug 22, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Probably bcoz Proton is the first Muslim country that can produce a Car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • LittleMin on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Proton Ertiga MPV is also spotted!

In the photo with many robot arms and HPF words…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Not enough with wideo, need a clown to point out the HPF word on the robotic arm. Proton never cease to be funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • LittleMin on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:35 pm

And they r brilliant to show the airbag module with Autoliv wording, luckily it’s nt a Takata unit..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rr on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Takata or not, it about campro engine & cvt bising Punch Powertrain gearbox!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 47
      • LittleMin on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Bising or not, at least it doesn’t kill people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rr on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:12 am

But Campro & CVT bising will kill the time of owner. Can lepak at SC every week!

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Once you die, you will have all the time in the world…

• superdriver on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Proton finally on the track to be a real car company. Kudos. Make us proud!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 11
    • Sendiri cakap, sendiri syok. Back on track? hahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 47
    • camtakpro on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:05 am

Have to wait and see. And hopefully no more stupid word like “ONZ” on tomorrow launch and buttons/knobs/handles falling off.

Had enough of Bezza, the interior somehow doesn’t feel good like in the very first MyVi debut. Instead it felt more cheap like the Saga merdeka edition potato-launcher exhaust edition with leather wrap.

• Well done Proton. With such price packed with lots of safety features & airbags. I would say it is value for money!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
  • It is the return of the tudung-clad mannequin, now spotted being driven around in a golf buggy. Like it is being given a tour. It also seems that the designers are consulting with the mannequin on “her” opinions of the interior.

Something must be really wrong with proton staff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 69
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:42 pm

luckily that biege interior in the video didnt make it to production…these videos are always nice to watch,informative and to the point…
    meanwhile , that drifting vios video still around !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • MR POTONG on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Wow. Tudung and baju kurung on a sex doll. That’s a first for Proton. Kudos?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 109
  • DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Good video! Finally they’ve decided on capitalizing on their unique differentiator – the only car manufacturer in the region that makes extensive use of HPF steel. They should highlight though that the circular saws will need to cut the B-pillar sections that use controlled quenching to keep its strength at not more than 500MPa. Regular circular saws can’t cut through HPF steel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
    • nabill (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Old days, those firemen used to say cutting through a Volvo was a nightmare, bcos of the steel thickness that they used to build their cars with…

• BOYRACER on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:02 pm

My brother in-law who is a panel beater did point out that during repair of accident..proton cars are harder to panel beat them due to their HPF steel..

• melmel on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:46 pm

come on proton! You can do it. Please don make the same mistake like the past. Please learn from mistake.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
  • Why the tyres and the rims are so small…. No grip la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
  • Basher on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Okay, i am amazed. O.O

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Noticed the effort to show that Proton is using Autoliv instead of Takata airbag actuators. Good passive safety with the HPF reinforced passenger cell. Proton, please do it right this time and improve build quality. That is the only major weakness of your recent offerings and I hope with the new Persona you can finally have a product we Malaysians can be proud of!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 4
    • Another clown trying to point what is shown on the video. Takut sangat orang terlepas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
      • Biasalah, new proton car launching, adalah budget to engage macai social media company to comment in PT all the good things about proton. ingat kita tak tahu this strategy. can see so many new names commenting here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
        • you think we all here payed like you ?..
          you were wrong.. we here because we want people know you are just a basher without brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Amanz on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • LeeCWsupporter on Aug 22, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Safer and more affordable car compared to others . A good option for first car buyers. Bravo proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
  • That is so true! Every life is precious. Not only the lives of those who can pay more to get high spec, as practiced by certain carmakers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
  • good job, can educate our malaysian

• New persona 2016 looks good on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Tested the car… surprizing good to drive but is light car.. zappy car.. good response car only is abit smaller passanger seat at the back seat.

Hard plastic dashboard feeling is still there as in iriz.

Boot is big/deep boot.

Tyre should be at 16″ rather then 15″ looks small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • 360 safety on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:29 pm

to Proton’s Sales Competitors & Haters

please be honest to your family, friends and all you loved one that proton safety was real.. truly real.. dunt only think your pocket jor!

yes, there have bit issue on after sales quality but they had come back now.

TAKATA airbag – pls mention also that all / most of original vehicles from korea and japan are using same brand and automatically P2 one of them.. ngeee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • how much proton paying your company for daily “favorable comments”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
      • DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Typical uneducated communist brain. If someone has a different opinion as you, that means he must be paid by your enemy or the one you dislike. It’s all about money, money, money. Brainless kiasu sohai, go back to China la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • Aero (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:46 pm

This is by far the best video Proton has made since 2010 (25 Year Anniversary) or maybe 2012 (Drive it to Believe it).

You don’t even have to like Proton to enjoy this video… why ? Because safety is safety, we’re all in this together. No matter the car company, the approach is the same; reduce risk, maximise control, prevent loss of life.

Proton has been very generous by making a video of their manufacturing facilities and IPs. Not many car companies have or would do this. As they say, seeing is believing, and a photo speaks a thousand words.

On another note, there’s a lot of hidden details to be found in the video. The biggest one has to be the Applus+ IDIADA crash test video (in Spain ?), where the Iriz (Exora as well) was crash tested. It looks like the crash test happened in February 2016… which means the BH Persona was more or less complete by then, and for the last 6 months or so, I’m guessing, Proton was just refining it and endurance testing for quality issues. Also saw the Autoliv airbags, the Iriz’s codename ‘P2-30A’ on one of the stampers. We know that the BH Persona’s codename is ‘P2-31A’.

If anyone is wondering what the ‘BH’ means, it’s actually the VIN code of the Iriz, which I’m guessing (based on historical Proton VINs) is to be shared with the 2016 Persona as well.

For example, the VIN code for a 2007 Persona may be PL1CM6SNR8G012345. When you decode the VIN, you’ll get the following; PL1 = Proton, CM6 = Persona/ GEN-2 1.6, S = Sedan/ Saloon, N = Manual gearbox, R = Right-hand drive, 8 = Model year 2008, G = Tanjung Malim plant and finally 012345 = Chassis code, which is unique to each unit.

I find that it’s better to use the VIN code to differentiate between the different three generations of Persona. C9 Persona refers to 1990s Proton Wira, which was known as ‘Proton Persona’ in the U.K., while CM Persona refers to the 2007-2016 Persona, and lastly BH Persona which refers to the upcoming model.

This is just like the Honda Civic, which has the FB, FC, FD, EG, EK and so on. For some reason, this VIN-based system is not widely used in Malaysia. Anyway, sorry for the long comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Delloid on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Sorry but how’s your Iriz? Change the faulty power window again or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
  • Guan Yin Pu Sa on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Very informative clips by P1.
    The car seems to be done right on every single angle, leave the side view alone though.
    Iriz is absolutely an underestimated model that i have ever seen since the revamp.
    This time i don’t see any reason why Proton can’t treat this car as a gamechanger.

• Unfortunately even with all the safety features it won’t change how unreliable Proton is and bad QC. As long as they still persist with Campro and that horrible Cvt it’s not going to boost their sales. Now imagine the Persona with these safety features and a reliable Toyota engine with auto gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • very bad perception, ain. canpro vvt persona FC far better than MYVI… what you say.. P2 saleswoman dah kecut perut.. no nore time for solek2 n pakai ketat2 to lure people..even u sell expensive tin kosong..bezza tonggek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:03 pm

Boxza tonggek, base and mid-range model no ESC, 1.3l only, cardboard rear seats. And as pointed out by another Perodua saleswoman here, why need HPF steel from Proton? Why need 120% effort? 100% effort enough already even though the Boxza looks like 30% effort only from Perodua’s Japanese owners.

• Accusing me for a P2 salesperson?? Cold hard truth, people dont buy Proton because of the engine,reliability, bad QC and fuel consumption i’m giving an opinion. I’m not bashing, this Persona is a very good buy with great safety features, if only its not stuck with campro and cvt. Think about why P1 sales is so good. If proton cant engineer, just stick to their brand collaboration like Wira before.

• Knight E on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Well done Proton…this truly make by Malaysia and unlike P2 still re-badge anythings with toyota and daihatsu…Support MY product!!!

• Cakap serupa bikin on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Yes Proton should not rebadge Accord and Ertiga also.

• sam sam on Aug 22, 2016 at 8:33 pm

yeah p2 should make 1 car (purely local design and engine) at least. but none. shame on u p2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rr on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:24 am

Bezza is not Rebadge. But Perdana, Inspira, Wira, Saga magma, Juara, Tiara, Ertiga all rebadge.. Why not bash proton rebadge?

• Ben Yap on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:29 pm

crash test is not valid because it is not an overlap crash.
    penipu scammer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • Hentamjela on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:31 pm

To dk go ask honda why dont be a stupid donkey kong ok….bodo…

• casta on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:32 pm

ha…Ertiga spotted..

• expert on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:33 pm

all of a sudden so many comments on proton by proton staff. DRB people will pose again like Fortune 500 company Gods for the launch and after a few month with expected terrible sales for this car same as Iriz and Perdana they will give up and will let Proton to be sold to a proper company with proper managers. it is game over. I wonder what will happen to all the people they hired to comment on this website !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Another communist sohai that thinks the world has to share their views and those who don’t are paid off. That’s the only thing that communist sohais understand. Money and bribery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • Bungkus on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Typical insecure macai branding others as komunis. Hopefully a China company will takeover and what a huge slap in the face for them macais. Ha ha ha ha.

• faizal on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:37 pm

did anyone notice the Ertiga BIW at the assembly line in the video?? Refer to photo #12 top left screen..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:52 pm

as usuall…everyone macam lust over a new proton..but end of day nobody buys it…and more bailing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
  • Panjang on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Does this mean that it will be harder for the dear BOMBA team to rescue us? Takes Longer to cut through with circular saw and Jaws of life wor

• DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Cars with structures reinforced with HPF steel usually leave two sections accessible to cutters for rescue extrication. One would be at the lower part of the B pillar close to where it joins the side sills, where slower quenching allows the steel to harden to just 500MPa tensile strength instead of the super-hard 1500MPa austensitic-martensite steel grain. Another section is usually at the base of the C pillar where it joins the rear subframe. Proton provides workshop sessions to educate the fire and rescue department on how to cut through their HPF steel cages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • nasha on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Good job Proton. Syukur bukan tin Milo. For potention buyer, just buy with the least electronic gimmick like push start button, eco mode stop engine, keyless entry, touchscreen radio, android etc coz less headache. A lot problems based on Iriz owner review on its electronic stuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • So many “Proton people” comments and upvotes whenever proton news pops up.

am I the only one that thinks that the slower/longer grinding / jaw of life hpf steel is really bad?
    Every second counts when trying to take victims out of a vehicle, and it takes more time to get through hpf steel. *shrugs*

and serious thou, enough with the “talking to a ‘syariah compliant’ doll”, talking to an inanimate object is either idolatory or a sign of mental illness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • Andas on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Brader, if u want to even it, u are welcometo refresh and click dislike 100 times .. for sure u will sleep like baby tonight..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Not just you. You and other similarly uneducated bashers who don’t understand how HPF panels are differentially quenched will think it’s all bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Harder steel, more time to cut, but still ok because less injured. Normal steel, less time to cut but abang bomba can take time to cut because person in the car dah mati. Can think like this or not? Basher..oh basher..

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:10 pm

The important thing is the car survive longer than the owner. That is what Proton bashers want. Always bashing about quality, etc, even though they don’t own the newer Proton models. I think they want to be literally buried with their “indestructible” Peroduas or Toyotas, etc. Indestructible Perodua… Hahaha, sorry, I’ll see myself out.

• Neutral on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Esok nak launch, hari ini nak tease lagi. To be fair to Proton, it seems to put a lot of efforts into Persona. Like I said before, Persona has good look but that alone is not going help boost the sales. The bottom lines are still the same: has Persona possessed a fuel efficient engine and asmooth gearbox and has Proton addressed the after sale service i.e. is the standard of its SC up to par? Like one of the readers noticed, Proton still put the old badge on the steering wheel of its new model to cut cost is something unthinkable. Anyway, good luck Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • shahrel on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:58 pm

You can build a tank but at the end of the day
    the final drive and powertrain sucks.
    End of story. Bercukurlah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • hafiz on Aug 22, 2016 at 4:05 pm

The tudung-clad mannequin is just a gimmick my friends. I think we dont need to get so serious about that. On the other hand, congrats on the improvement made.

• normal_user on Aug 22, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Safety has always been Proton’s forte & USP since the Preve’s launch back in 2012 with HPF & ESC. Too bad many Malaysians took this feature for granted. They say if drive Alphard or S-class also get killed if car hit trailer, but then, accidents do occur when we least expected them & even driving slow at 40kmh can also pose risk of fatal accident. If the tyre slips or car starts to fishtail, then electronics is there to intervene. If crash is imminent, HPF structure allows the impact to be minimized, and side & curtain airbags will help to minimize head injuries in roll-over scenarios. Its all about risk containment, the more you have active & passive safety tech in place, the least likely that the accident is going to be fatal (provided that u don’t speed too much, of course).

My only gripe is that, at nearly 1.2 tonnes, the Persona is no lightweight among the B-segment contenders. Its almost as heavy as base Civic/Altis (The preve meanwhile is 1.35 tonne!). The engineers ought to think hard how to trim the fat & achieve similiar rigid yet safe structure. If City can obtain top Asean NCAP score with lesser weight (around 1.1 tonne) , there is no reason why the Persona cant achieve the same feat. Come to think of it, the VVT engine is quite fuel efficient, but given the heavy body, the Persona wont going to achieve the same efficiency as its Japanese peers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • its manage to achieve 5.9

• Jepunis rubbish car, feel fast but slow
        P1 like conti, feel slow but fast

• AbuDEBU on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:51 am

The thing about this logic is that it is a flawed one.

IN-LAB testing results and REAL-LIFE actual results are two different things. In real life, cars with bigger mass (thus heavy) usually fare better than the thinner and lights ones when involved in collisions.

Imagine if this Persona (5 Star ASEAN NCAP rating) crashes onto Bezza 1.3 Advanced (same 5 Star rating), which of this car will better protect its occupants?

I understand this concern and urge to reduce car’s body weight, but don’t you realize that one of the reasons why Proton cars are very stable at high speed, is due to its weight? I really love latest Proton cars like Preve, Suprima and Iriz because of the high speed stability. It makes you feel safe while speeding at speed above 110km/h.

• passion on Aug 22, 2016 at 4:34 pm

please ensure that the QC is up to the mark. we will be satisfied.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 22, 2016 at 4:36 pm

No live streaming tomorrow launching event?

• azrai on Aug 22, 2016 at 4:47 pm

So this gonna be the Premium sport rim design.

• overall design looks up to trend however the rim size should enlarge in order to balance entire look..current look bit weird like ‘big man step on kid shoes’…

• keep teasing , forever teasing … don’t need to sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • good job proton

• Stupid basic safety features by Potong with syok teaser on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Safety video is good but for Potong to be so proud of this safety when all other manufacturers had done this basic safety fittings 10 years ago is a failure on their part. Imagine how many lives could have been saved if this basic safety fittings has been implemented 10 years ago by Potong, so nothing to be proud of, they did not enhance any safety features, all showed here are the very basic for any auto manufacturers world wide…..what happen to Automatic emergency braking (AEB), Pedestrian detection, Forward Collision Alert/Prevention, Lane Departure Warning/Mitigation, Lane-keeping assist (LKA), Blind Spot Warning, Adaptive cruise control, Active head restraints, Tire-pressure monitors and Telematics….this are the safety features being put in today’s auto manufacturers, granted not for all models but some of those are being fitting in as basic safety features. So highlighting like its the greatest invention for safety by Potong on high tensile steel, ESC, ABS and air bags in todays modern age is nothing to be proud of, its a complete failure this features will not included years ago ……. You should be showing us that Potong that you can innovate safety, have those modern safety options available for different specs of your model if your worried about pricing to give wider options for people to select and will also make it worth while to compete and sell your new upcoming models internationally !! In fact of gloating how long it takes to cut the high tensile steel of your car components which can be a bad example, imagine its going to take longer for fire rescue personal to get trapped people of this car compared to your previous models which is bad thing, other auto manufacturers will have a spot on those high tensile steel components to make cutting it up by emergency services available and will be marked to inform them where to cut !! I bet you Potong did not think of that but just focusing on making those components stronger which is a fail safety feature to be highlighting !! Potong get ready to weep on your failure like before, nothing new for you all !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Moron, fire and rescue personnel have been trained by Proton engineers on where to cut along the HPF sections. You want all those safety features but don’t want to pay what it’s worth to put it in a car? Ask your father to spin in his grave to produce one for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • ciakap on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:23 pm

“imagine its going to take longer for fire rescue personal to get trapped people of this car compared to your previous models which is bad thing”

Previously, i have never heard PREVE/SUPRIMA/IRIZ driver or passenger trapped after accident…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • viosfan on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Your Vios got VSC?

• If the car not strong enough, don’t need to cut coz the passengers already became hamburgers.

• Bro… Its far better than perodua… Which is almost dont have safety features in lower specs… If you drive because of getting pussies into your cars at zouk… Vios will only get pencuci toilet old lady from bangla… People drive bmw will get girls on party… Grow up bro… Is not about driving car for pussy… Proton is growing up step by step… Putting everything at once will caused many problem and harder to solve… You learn to run before crawl? No right?

• AbuDEBU on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:26 am

STUPID. That’s what I can say reading this person’s comment.

Proton is CURRENTLY working on those fancy safety features that you listed there. They are working with LG from Korea. Get yourself well-informed first before shouting like a dog.

People like you always complain that Proton cars are expensive for what it is, but at the same time very demanding that Proton to have this and that.

Looking at Proton closest competitors like PERODUA, TOYOTA and HONDA, Proton is way far ahead in safety department. They know this and that’s why they are focusing on this aspect.

There’s nothing BASIC about ESC. Most cars in Malaysia DON’T HAVE IT. That includes your fancy Altis and Camry too!

• UMW TOYOTA on Aug 22, 2016 at 5:51 pm

potong car cannot fight our no VSC TRD VIOS… drive potong and drive vios to ZOUK..vios picl full lady meanwhile potong pick tukang cuci tandas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • BOYRACER on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:13 pm

Hahaha..drive the Vios for one night stands.. drive Proton for wife candidates..
      At least tukang cuci
      1.can clean your house
      2.wash your clothes
      3.cook meal for you and your family.
      4.can jaga your anak2.
      meanwhile your full lady can only
      1.do manicure and pedicure
      2.shopping every month
      3.vios driver need to hire amah or amahs to do the things the tukang cuci do.
      So vios driver on top of paying higher car loan for Vios.He also need to fork out extra cash for hiring amahs and for wife’s monthly shopping.
      If you really buys a Vios to get ladies attention then I really pity you.

• Driving a Vios not only can pick up lady, but can help the driver get a serious case of STD too. Because the lady that he picked up will easily follow any man that drive a so-called good car, get it? If you don’t know what STD is, continue being intimate with your right hand is a safer way.

• TKhengong on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:07 pm

No shout here nor press on number of units booked to-date unlike Perodua Beza. Any idea on the numbers booked?

• Lalolile on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Better fuel consumtion is much better than just slightly increase in body strengh.

• looks overall like a well thought out car, looks good too..

• user123 on Aug 22, 2016 at 6:29 pm

It’s great to see Proton improving its quality. Albeit the fact that they were slow in focussing on improving their safety, I think they have done a great job at it since the Iriz.

Many said that it’s better to get the Honda City or Toyota Vios. But do you know that in terms of quality, these “imported” cars are no where near as their original models overseas? A friend of mine worked with UMW and his job was to downgrade the quality as much as possible for the Malaysian market. Why? To maximise profit. And since there’s no standard in Malaysia for cars, manufacturers can make cars with super low quality and sell it to our people.

And to be frank, I am quite surprised with Proton using the HPF steel. This process is rather complex, especially in assuring its geometrical and dimensional tolerances. Car manufacturers usually use cold pressed high carbon steel because it is a lot easier to mass produce. And from my experience working with a European car manufacturer, even our company have just started to conduct a study on using this process this year. It has a lot of advantages, but it is a complex process.

It is quite inspiring to see our fellow countrymen pursuing innovation in this sector. It adds to our country’s know-how in design and manufacturing. Yes, Perodua’s sales are better compared to Proton. But remember that Perodua just manufacture cars. They hardly do any engineering and product development. In other words, they don’t expand their technical knowledge in the field. My experience working in the design office here, I can assure you that product development is hard and time consuming.

I agree, Proton is still far form perfect, but I could see that they are working hard to improve their cars. It is about time that they woke up from their slumber. I am curious to see how far they will go. For the critics out there, continue to mock and bash them. The engineers will continue to develop their cars. Maybe one day, they will be a world class brand like Kia and Hyundai, who knows.

So congrats to Proton for this achievement, and keep up the good work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • what is the good work ? copy cat ? rebadge ?

• user123 on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:51 pm

The good work in terms of improving the quality of their cars (as mentioned in my post above, if you have read all of it).

I don’t think the latest Persona was a rebadge. It was developed in-house. Yes, some of their models were rebadged from other manufacturers, but we must also not neglect the fact that they do design their own models as well, like the Prevé, Iriz, the new Persona etc.

I think it is unfair for you to paint the whole company with one broad brush just because a few of their models were based on other manufacturers’ cars. If you want to criticise them, maybe come up with a better argument rather than one based on a generalisation.

• Bungkus on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Yes can become the Asian Volvo but are they willing to be taken over by China company like Volvo too?

Remember clock is ticking menteri said they must find foreign partner by 1 year so who else have lots of money like China company. Ha ha ha ha.

• harambe on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:08 am

this

• LittleMin on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:39 am

First, they need a good engine combined with a good gearbox.

Second, more ergonomic design especially in interior.

Get these two and they can beat Perodua anytime.

• user123 on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Another important aspect to think about is parts commonality. This design philosophy should be adopted in this era of industrialisation. And in order to do this, a clear 10-15 years road map should be prepared first. This means, components can be shared between different car models and future models. If any modification is needed, it will be minor and won’t have a major impact on the production line. This will ultimately help the company to save money in regards to parts production as well as the design and development process.

However, I can’t say whether Proton has implemented this in their design process or not. It will be interesting to know.

• No need to tease all these things. It’s already a standard basic safety feature of all cars on year 2000. Proton will forever be a Proton never learn. They have nothing else good to tease so tease safety, which is in fact already a basic requirement in most cars since 15-20 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • AbuDEBU on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:10 am

I don’t agree with you.

BASIC SAFETY FEATURES? Yes indeed. But only for expensive cars, not “most cars since 15-20 years ago”

Malaysia is not EUROPE. Here ESC is not even compulsory. So many car manufacturers make so much money by selling cars with subpar safety features

• tarakbaca on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:19 am

You tarak tengok itu video?

• At least they give the ‘basic equipment’ that should have in a car. But most of buyer did’t care about this. That is why UMW and TC still can survive.

• jamalluddin on Aug 22, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Seriously,
    Would you wanna buy this car and see your investment half when the new engines come out late next year ?
    Do the math unless you wanna go with this
    half baked roll out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • If u buy car for investment, u must be getting something wrong there.

• Phoenix on Aug 22, 2016 at 7:46 pm

What is stopping proton from including auto air-conditioning? A lot of B segment vehicles are already implementing it. I can’t imagine the cost of including it is that much higher.

• keep teasing … 100 years later still teasing … close shop please … don’t waste the money …

• Das Auto on Aug 22, 2016 at 11:52 pm

I am imagining being an Indonesian or Thai or Filipino or Vietnamese or Singaporean reading these article/comments. For sure I will be very jealous because, despite abundant of bashing and praising, at least the Malaysian are commenting on their own made cars!

• AbuDEBU on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:06 am

Just one thing I would like to say to PROTON: Bravo!

ESC is a standard across all PERSONA variants. I hope SAGA would be the same too, although I don’t think that’s going to happen due to cost reason.

But nonetheless, BRAVO PROTON! Let some people boast talk about how bad the resale value Proton car is, because OUR LIFE IS PRICELESS!

• anyone know what is the function of the little screen below the air con knob?

• thank you for the safety360 video, im convinced!

• AKoNGz on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:08 am

Proton should explore to export this Persona to India. Most of their cars marketed as B-class sedan lacks safety. If Proton can market Persona with all the feature available at a competitive price, I bet they can capture the market of those who are safety conscious.

• Akula on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:39 am

Is that a mannequin in Baju kurung? Did proton trying to insinuate that proton buyers are Muppets? Whoever thought of this commercial is very cheeky. Harder steel means harder time for our bomba to do their work or more opportunity to upgrade bomba equipments? Maybe…

• kanazai2001 on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:03 pm

gd investment on the hot steel cold stamp method 2 produce high strength steel part…
    UNFORTUNATELY the customer service & service center FAIL U!!!

• good promotional video, bu why your video only show people from a single race, it reflects terribly on your company as a whole.

• Syabas proton…produk anda semakin berkualiti dan selamat, saya pengguna preve..hebat! mmg sy puas hati sangat!!

• Silvia on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:26 pm

We need more automotive videos like this. Many consider looks, brand, straight line speed, flashy details (stickers? Spoilers and bodykit? Red striping on a cheap economy car?)
    But when it comes to safety and ride and handling. People turn a blind eye just saying “I’m like, a really safe driver, this will never happen to me!”
    And then there are the vast amount of rice running around in flashing LEDs and huge spoilers or bodykits driving recklessly around town. Seriously. Just crash already!

• Weng Soon on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Now, here’s the thing. The video looks impressive, we can only hope the quality isn’t just hype. Proton has a reputation problem, never emphasized on safety (simple things as ABS wasn’t even standard), and definitely no one will agree that the quality is good. So, if this model is as good as the claims, perhaps Proton can regain some market share, if it’s anywhere like Gen 2, hell, Proton claimed Gen2 was God’s gift to mankind when it was first launched, then 2nd Gen Persona will fail. We’d know in a year, when there’s enough of them on the road.

Good luck to Proton and their buyers.