Proton Persona bookings reach 8,000 units, 2,000 delivered – 45% orders for the Premium variant

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-3

Bookings for the new Proton Persona has reached 8,000 units, with 2,000 units already delivered by the national carmaker. This was revealed by Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali at the flag off of the Proton Persona media drive event today.

Of the 8,000 total figure, 45% are for the top Premium variant, which is a pleasant surprise for Proton, which had originally projected for the Standard to be the most popular variant. The Premium is only available with a CVT and is priced at RM59,350. That’s a full RM10,000 more than the Standard CVT, the most affordable automatic variant. The new Persona starts from RM46,350 for the Standard M/T.

Another interesting fact revealed today was that 35% of orders were for the Persona’s Carnelian Brown, the “impact colour” exclusive to the new model. The hero colour is an unusual, opinion polarising hue, and Proton expects demand to eventually taper off.

The company is also happy that 5% of those who booked the Persona opted for the “SE”, which is essentially the Premium CVT with an additional two-tone bodykit for RM1,000 extra. 10% of the cars delivered so far had a manual transmission.

This latest set of figures are up from the 7,000 bookings reported last week, and Ahmad Fuaad says that Proton is on track to achieve its monthly sales target of 3,000 to 4,000 units per month. The Persona was launched on August 23.

Will the Persona’s early popularity affect Iriz sales? Proton Edar CEO Rohime Shafie said that while the 1.6 litre version of the hatchback might overlap with the “Iriz Sedan” in price, there’s still demand for the 1.3 litre Iriz, which has a sportier flavour thanks to the hatch bodystyle.

Check out our spec-by-spec comparo post with full description and galleries of each Persona variant, as well as a walk-around video of the new model.

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Premium with optional bodykit

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Iskandar on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:48 pm

persona or perdana bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 52
    • Same L0rr on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:32 am

Oh My.. please dont regret with campro vvt & cvt bising Punch gearbox performance!
      Buy Toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • 50% sold to Gov agencies, PTPTN, PDRM, JPJ, Municipal councils, GLCs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • 8000 booking per month does makes sense and looks like logical, actual sales data. Means 200-300 per day during first short perios of time. Incomparisom Bezza make 1000 per day in initial launch. Given Bezza offer similar price bracket for smaller engine size, but not surprizing as malaysian consider operational and maintenance cost more than other factors. But i have feeling that this persona buyers got the most advantage, got very good nice looking car with improve reliability and performance at discounted price due to proton current bad image. Fuel cost wise, it will surely not a big deal – malaysia like to tekan minyak kaw kaw, those DVVT control regulation and fuel test data no longer big advantage or valid but body weight to power output and operating RPM always will be determining factor. Maintenance also not big deal as this car, jus like the current persona and wira will be mass market car and many will buy that make spare part and foreman support relativey easy and cheap

• 45% order for highest range also not surprise, me myself impress with the detailing and finishing that they put to that range. The standard one feel cheap and plain compare to better look chrome touch. spec also impressive

• Saw one on the road yesterday. Not bad looking. Good job Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:27 am

I am lost Iskandar. Where or how did Perdana came into the picture ?!

• Another Day Another Lie on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:59 am

Very hard to trust Proton on this 7000 figure. If 1MDB can lie and fake documents and yet get the giant Accounting houses to sign off as audited and approved and all books are fine……I have my doubts about Proton.

In Malaysia, semua boleh. The proof of it is our eyes. Do you see it on the road. I drive about 100KM per day in Klang Valley alone. I have NEVER seen one Persona even.

this looks like the Iriz lie. Remember Iriz? The CEO even openly told public and media that sales were so good and orders were so long that Proton could not keep up with it. The CEO said orders were 1 to 2 years long even.

then Mahathir, then Proton Chairman spilt the beans, he said Iriz sales were so bad and atrocious. Complete contradiction to what the CEO said to the media about how good sales were

So, who to believe now? Proton has lied many times before. All this recorded statements. Go and see in the past, Proton love to lie that sales are so good etc etc.

Also, how many Government orders? For all we know Sparco would have ordered few thousand units or all 8000 units from government Departments, Ministries, Bomba, PDRM, TLD, TUDM, KDRM, Immigresen etc etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
  • inb4 P2 salesmen says its tipoo, their Biza figures is the real deal. Oh wait, Im oso P2 salesman.

So think of me, think of my special package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 53
    • soo pity you. spending soo much time on net. not doing a sales..

• Same L0rr on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:09 am

Power window no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
      • Another Day Another Lie on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:01 am

Now got big hype on the car, so sales are 8000 but wait few more months when the hype is over and the usual Proton problems crop up. Then what happens? 1000 units per month also lucky

The volume is way too low to support 12,000 workers. And mind you, Proton CEO said that their margin per car sold is only RM500. In lay man’s terms, this means, they only untung RM500 per car sold.

With such low volumes, in a year, they will hardly sell 70,000 cars. A far cry from last year’s 100,000.

So, last year, with just selling 100,000 cars, Proton was losing RM4 mil per day. The past 2 years, Proton officially admitted losing a few billion ringgit.

And now, we just pumped Rm1.5 bil into Proton besides already giving Proton free RM15 bil the past 20 yrs. How is Proton going to turn around?

70,000 cars at RM500 per car untung only Rm35 million. How to pay their overbloated 12,000 workers? Board of Directors alone per month gaji works out to more than RM35 million

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • karam singh on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:59 pm

If there a power window problem ?
        I dont mind, than a car cost around 100k that doesnt have Stability Control
        Safety 1st bro Same L0rrr , nothing worth more than lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Jimmy on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Apparently now they are better.

Is the cvt still noisy?

• ur mouth is noiser jimmy

• OMG…I believed if they use Mitsubishi engine, they will have better sales. This Campro just puihhh…junk & lousy.

• in4 item tak laku sgt.

• inb4 item tak laku sgt.

• Low2215 on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:56 pm

You mean new persona , and not new perdana right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 19, 2016 at 11:00 pm

Yes, of course. Thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • Dun scare the bashers lah wei! Later they get heartattack then let there be peace, is ur fault bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
        • Finger Spastic on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:42 am

Anything want to comment. Even Thanks. Ha…ha….John…John…

• There was an edit to the article but anybody with half a brain can see the humor in our banter about it.

• Same L0rr on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:01 am

You make my day John! Haha!

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:18 am

I always support Proton but this time, I have to admit, this is a big lie. My wife works for the Government and her boss himself paksa the staff to buy Persona and so many incentives given to staff to get this Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 47
        • Guest on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Please share the so-called incentives that the Government and her boss gives to the staff to paksa them to get this Persona. Maybe then people here can take advantage, er, be paksaed to buy Persona.

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Really..? Then please revealed where the place your wife work at and who is the boss at that place.. We must fight corruption, if you hide it, you are guiltt as them

• Everyone knows the only Gov u work for is Sel or Png. Now pegi adios.

• Medic on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Bullshit detected…

• Serious lah? on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:50 pm

Serious lah wehh?? walao wehh.. which government agencies that your wife working at? Share lah the details with us… I want to apply there so that I can buy one Persona.. fyi, I also currently seeking for job, so this is a great opportunity for me…

• I pun gov servant , mana ada such things..incentives and paksaan to buy proton to gov servants …
          I have already booked this Persona .. under 60K with such features esp on safety … mmg offer yg sgt baik. … saya pernah beli Kancil ( 1st edition, 1995), Perdana (1st Edition), saga (1st Editon 1985), Honda Civic, Honda Accord , Ford … past 30 years driving experiences …. bought Myvi , Persona (old model) for my kids ….. All these brands are good…. ….
          next week my New Persona will in my garage … No regrets ….

• taktau on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:26 pm

wah, gov servant gaya. i still driving my 10years old myvi.

• SWchen on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:59 pm

wau PERDANA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    8000 units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
    • LengChai on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:33 am

baca pun tak habis, lepas tu nak komen.. anak aku pun tau beza antara Persona dan Perdana

• nabill (Member) on Sep 19, 2016 at 11:03 pm

How about media review? Werent u guys given review units…?

• Zizie on Sep 19, 2016 at 11:56 pm

Well done. Keep it Up Proton!

• Boboy on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:08 am

Will u guys make a full video review of the car? Why do u do bezza but not persona?

• Aragon on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:53 am

Proton sedan are likely to sell more compare to hatchback. Remember the Gen2 less sale then 1st gen Persona came out sales increase. Same case for Savvy and Saga BLM. Now this.

• Ogawa Dreamedge on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:39 am

Hope this number is true ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • ex-VGM staff on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:52 am

getting booking is one thing.

actual delivery is another thing. proton is facing with strict bank loan approval. which can mean certain percentage rejections.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Not p1 but their customer…it seem p2 bezza buyer can get approval why cant persona buyer? bezza n persona target almost the same pipu.

• Dedak in the house on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Depend la brader.. last week i applied loan for a p1 model priced 70k… noon time sent document, evening already approved.. half day only..

• AkooIm on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:00 am

If Proton really sale 8000 units of Perdana, 7999 units belong to the government… & another 1 unit belong to Datuk LCW….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 66
    • P2 Sales man… go do your work. attract people to buy, not bashing rivals. because you soo busy in the net, you have no time to do sales… dont worry about.the.numbers. its will grow and growing fast..

• Same L0rr on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:38 am

My boss already use new Perdana from last month la.. Tipu pun agak2 la..
      Very awesome DRL from Perdana. But feel dispointed for New Persona.. No DRL for the premium version. More like Iriz spec than Persona spec..

• jinggo on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:08 am

Tolong simpan sedikit kebodohan kamu itu untuk dikongsi oleh anak anak dan cucu cicit kamu.

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:32 am

Akoolm. U have virtually taken the word “Think out of the Box” to new height bro. This is the main reason why I like to read PT articles. Thanks for the entertainment.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:47 am

Why? Jealous? Regret buying your car already eh?

• Aero (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:44 am

Congrats Proton, you guys have worked very hard in the last few years and it’s nice to see that many Malaysians have recognised that. However, please treat these 8,000 early buyers fairly, don’t let them suffer with QC issues and don’t drop prices of the BH Persona if sales start to slow (because that will destroy RV). It’s good that Proton actually revealed detailed sales data for the new Persona. This will reassure potential buyers and get the attention of those who believe in the ‘a good car is a best-selling car’ logic.

Looking forward to the new Saga launch.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 14
  • Johorian on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:31 am

few on the road …good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
  • Derrick on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:09 am

That’s a good sign. Means Proton has iron out the CVT and loud engine noise issue? Or are these buyers just attracted by its looks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 32
    • pity you Drick… you.still live in cave. so much more improved dear. go and test drive for your self. then comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • tkhengong on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:39 am

I opine pricing is a major consideration for most buyers. Anyway, I have checked out the standard version of the Persona and I must say the quality of the materials used for the car’s interior has improved greatly. The dashboard, steering wheel design (my major complaint hitherto) and quality, door panels, switches, etc felt good to the touch. No sharp or jagged edges.

• jinggo on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:09 am

Its bout safety features bro.. safety!

• LengChai on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:35 am

loud engine noise?.. ah chai.. rajinkan membaca review.. dan if malas mahu baca, pergi showroom, test drive sendiri

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:53 am

reports by local auto journalists claim the CVT has improved by some margin.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:06 am

The powertrain has improved. Go for a test drive.

• Neither. It’s because the Persona is the cheapest sedan in it’s class.

• Yes. P1 has alredi solved those issues. Anything else?

• Susukotak on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:54 am

sapa yang tanya hari tu?

• i think its because of the 3 year parts & labour from proton

• Yokohama24 on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:08 am

What about Perdana sales figure?

• eric cantona on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:42 am

ha ha ha …. P2 supporter in hot water …can’t accept the truth

• Wonder why this Persona 8000 booking receive more publicity compared to 17000 the Iriz booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Jonn Dol on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:09 am

GOOD JOB PROTON!!

• From launch till seen on road, Persona2 seems much faster compared to Biza. Im so saddings for my sales, somemore Saga3 coming out as well.

• Lcmbryan on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:19 am

This new persona spec had cause vios and city look like old generation car. With this price tag I’m taking to change my city to this new persona. Will wait for owner comment if no major problem, I believe Toyota and Honda sale will drop.

• Another clown trying to portray as public trying to be impartial.

• Dedak in the house on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Honda felt it when toyota’s thambi received 17k bookings.. thats y they extended dedak offer..

• azrai on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:29 am

“That’s a full RM10,000 more than the Standard CVT, the most affordable automatic variant.” I went to Proton showroom and guess what the salesmen say? If you buy Premium instead of Standard that’s translate to a mere RM100 top-up monthly installment. For the RM100 add up you get a double din screen with reverse camera, headlamp sensor, keyless entry + etc. By analysing the figure, their marketing mimicking P2 salesman are working.

• Good job, PROTON. From a design standpoint, it does look better in the flesh when I chanced upon one while walking past a showroom over the weekend. I didn’t test drive the car though.
    I hope the issues with the CVT has been ironed out. I rode in an Iriz Uber some weeks ago and while thecar itself was nice, the engine was too loud for my liking. It was one of the first to be delivered says the driver, so maybe over time PROTON ha sorted out the issues.

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:44 am

Judging by the numbers of cars flying out of the window, M’sian are not a poor country especially when the TOP specked cars are the best selling models.

At 60k shringgit, these folks have to shell-out more than 600 per months excluding road tax, insurance, tires, tolls, parking & their personal expenses for 9 years. All the best & enjoy while U can to these new purchasers.

• artist on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:58 am

this is the biggest lie in the world. why they copy reports given by P2? I have nit seen even one single Perdana so far and the persona all the showrooms I went are quiet and not even one person there. they are delivering the cars to their own company staff and fleet for lease. people are not stupid… pls be true to your words proton supposed to be managers. I have seen more new civics on the road than any perdana or persona.

• president on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:02 am

I have a 2010 Persona full spec and I will never change it for this little baby “IRIZ sedan” sorry but it is foolish to change a car from C segment to B segment. Proton Bosses trying to convince [eople that it is still a C segment. we are not idiots Datuk F. what ever they say this car is an IRIZ in sedan format. it reminds me of old 2005 Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
    • fanta strawberry on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:08 pm

proton is not trying to hide the fact that the new persona is now in B segment instead of C.

obviously it didnt want the same thing to happen 4 years ago – when Preve was competing against Waja and also Persona. all in C segment.

• celoop on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Noone says new persona is C segmenter, it is now B segmenter while new Saga is in A

• Azmin mohd on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:58 am

I’m an ex proton PMO manager until last feb 2016 and I say you are wrong, saga was always a B segment sedan and iriz was an was a B segment hatch to fight against myvi. Therefore persona is a B segment and will compete with saga as B segement. U call this proper planning? Only because DRB wants all cars to be iriz based to support its baby and its own drb suppliers. Saga is planned to be doomed like other non drb cars in proton such as preve, extora. Open you eyes and know the truth.

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:04 pm

I guess that’s why you r an ex, because you have never heard the news

• passion on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:11 am

let this 1st batch go. we wait and see if there are any complaints and QC issues. hoping for a really good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Pintaras on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Already exist in market 2 years ago, this is juz extended iriz. What problem occurs in iriz already minimise but can’t say 100% perfect bcos this is manufactured product.

• passion on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:21 am

and lets say a prayer for the new owners. once bitten twice shy.

• Albert on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:24 am

Very encouraging sales data.Keep it up.Seems buyers r back.This may be a small”game changer” but hopefully all those QC problems don’t surface.The ball is at your feet,Proton.

• Hoping that Paul Tan’s Team will do driven video review for this Persona. Please do one (like the Iriz on-the-road review) :D

• Waiting on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:57 am

Good job!!
    Well Done Proton..

• Ben Yap on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:14 am

so many people want to buy underpowered cars?

didn’t they know that this 1.6 develops one of the lowest output in its class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Camrysai on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Then u name it which 1.6 with higher 148HP

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:46 pm

You are in the wrong section Ben. We are talking about P1. High Powered cars are in the sports car section.

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Yeah, its true that persona is one of the underpower car in B segment, PT already made comparison about it. I guess people buy the car because it one of the cheapest, highest spec car in B segment

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:18 pm

i still dont see any perdana in penang

• Nizzan on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Have only managed to see one in the highway. Damn ugly.

• I chose the persona + bodykit cash.
    Now still annoyed because im in the waiting list.

Argh… really man such a long wait.. 1 / 2 months max.

• Same L0rr on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Hopefully not 1/2 year waiting!

• If u not choosy for the colour, just pick the ones coming of the line. Otherwise need to wait until batch colour change.

• personaian on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:11 pm

The exec variant was a bit pricey which was rm 6k more expensive than the standard with not much upgrades. The standard variant worth the value but some parts u need to upgrade like the audio system at least. The premium model also worth the money that u could enjoy all the latest canggih technologies specs of a modern car. So choose the standard if u like to customize upgrade yourself or the premium if u want everything comes in a packages.

• cute driver on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:33 pm

if i could customized, i want the standard variant add up leather seat, fog light and keyless entry with the price of rm53000.

• sklew you superman on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:36 pm

you see proton..
    if you build reasonably good looking car with reasonably improvement from older model with competitive pricing.. of course lotsa people will buy them..

now about your service centre…

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Ask ANY Malaysian and they will tell you, if I can afford it, I will NEVER EVER buy another Proton. Many have decided pay extra and “downgrade” to a B-Segment Toyota/Honda than to continue with another (larger) C-segment Proton. Such is the dislike for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • A week ago 7000 pipu disagreed with u. This week another 1000 on top of those, and the numbers r growing.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 21, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Year To Date (May 2016) Passenger Car Sales (units): #1.Perodua 97,370 #2.Honda 39,654 #3.Proton 35,727 #4.Toyota 18,854 #5.Nissan 17,707 Source: http://paultan.org/2016/07/27/malaysia-vehicle-sales-data-for-june-2016-by-brand/

• inb4 item stagnant

• Teck hau on Sep 21, 2016 at 12:53 am

The 59k premium safety features are the real winner if compare to the 58k joker myvi advanced which only have 2 airbags and no vsc. I’ll go for the persona at least because it is more keras that I feel safer when cruising at the highway.

• If Proton with 17000 Iriz booking even before launching need people’s money to pay vendors , what good Persona sales of merely 8000 after a month can do?

• Muhammad Nasruddin Mustaffa Kamal on Sep 21, 2016 at 2:32 pm

IT mean that they secure cash value RM 400 juta sales