Jeremy Clarkson annihilates the Perodua Kelisa
Jeremy Clarkson shows his frustration on companies that seem to take make cars as a pure for-profit matter… perhaps you could call it cars with no ’spirit’ or ‘passion’. The victim - our very own Perodua Kelisa.
UPDATE: Recently this video has caught the attention of our MPs such as DAP-Tanjong MP Chow Kon Yeow and BN-Ledang MP Hamim Samuri. Click here to read more about that issue, or if you already know all about that, just enjoy the video in this post and find out what the fuss is all about.
Video after the jump.
Video: Jeremy Clarkson annihilates the Perodua Kelisa

December 19, 2005 @ 8:37 am
ermm…..k…I actually drive one of those. Pretty sad really my motoring mentor blowing it up in front of my eyes just 30 seconds ago. Life goes on and here comes the Perodua bashers. Cmon bitches I’m ready!!
December 19, 2005 @ 8:38 am
i think he just cant accept the fact that a m’sian company had bought lotus. i thought James May loved the kelisa.
December 19, 2005 @ 8:43 am
offended and tickled at the same time. eh why kelisa cheaper there one? wtf wtf
December 19, 2005 @ 8:46 am
Sad to see ANY car being treated like that, not Kalisa particularly.
December 19, 2005 @ 8:46 am
I used to drive one of those too, back in Malaysia, and I must say I was pretty happy with it!
December 19, 2005 @ 8:56 am
What a shame to us huh………… Anyone????
December 19, 2005 @ 8:59 am
Simply hilarious!! Padan Muka….
The blady car is cheap there bcos of no silly taxes i think.
But u cant simply put the price too high also…who wants to buy right?
Er…which episode and season is this video? I dun recall watching this.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:09 am
Feel proud,, our malaysian made was tested in such extreme manner….
well,,, is time to improve more and ready for 2nd test by this joker….
Produa…. show this joker… we BOLEH….
December 19, 2005 @ 9:18 am
come on,
there are POOR white people there,
who need this CHEAP cars lah!
same here, if each has money, why buy it!
December 19, 2005 @ 9:21 am
the way he smash the car is disgusting….
make people think of terrorist ACTS!
December 19, 2005 @ 9:22 am
4,842.00 GBP = 32,374.44 MYR. What’s the current price of Kelisa now?
“Aiyo…why lar go and hentam and bakar Kelisa. Better donate to our Malaysians here mar… we worked our ass off for a mere around RM 2000 (for fresh graduates) and finance our car ass off for an inferior quality car like that. Like we have choice here!”
December 19, 2005 @ 9:24 am
I wonder if this guy has anything to do with Kelly Clarkson. Surely this video was inspired by her song, Breakaway.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:25 am
If you guys want to check out his background and his credibility, check this out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeremy_Clarkson
Bukan calang-calang.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:26 am
jeremy .. dont let me see you on the road..
December 19, 2005 @ 9:28 am
produca, toyota should
suit this crazy JERK!
December 19, 2005 @ 9:33 am
i hate this guy now….but i really like the dynamite scene though… i wonder what will happen when they try it on savvy though…..lets us think ..maybe someone should send him an e-mail ask him to try it with savvy..maybe we can get our pride or …..who knows???
December 19, 2005 @ 9:39 am
Mangkuk betul Jeremi nih.
Unfair. How about other car like VW, Fiat, Alfa, Citroen or even Merc?
Put a dynamit in & let me see how strong there are.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:44 am
waramashit he is insulting us Malaysian. this dude should go to hell.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:45 am
DAMN, this FELLA suck.. though I am white too, his attitude cldnt be accepted. He’s a barbarian like wht they called m’sian still live above trees.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:51 am
waaa.. wat he doing…. tryin to show the car is bad? if he was to treat bmw like this… it wont blow up? zzzzzz
December 19, 2005 @ 9:53 am
torture kelisa tuh, bagi aku pun bagus!
December 19, 2005 @ 10:01 am
I am wondering.
Which season and episode is this show ?
I have seasons 5 to the current one.
I dont seem to see it.
December 19, 2005 @ 10:06 am
oh man! this is soooo mean! bt hes an idiot,i mean which car company is not an orgnization n want to make mony???jus that othrs put abit more effort into it….this guy cant even fit in the kelisa,his giant head is wripping off the roof!! anyway i hate this car…bt not to a point to smash it….!
this guy really “Fxxxer”, i will save enough money and do the same to the lotus, rover…etc as well………… real fxxxxxxer……..
Cheh..tipu kuat…mana-mana keta pun kalau ketuk ngan penukul besi gerenti kemek! Dah tu, apasal tak pecahkan lampu ngan cerminnye sekali. Gantung satu tan konon! Setakat ikat kat bumper memang le tercabut. Keta lain pun kalau kena Dinamit 4 biji jadi arwah.. ape le.. dah keta tu OK ape..tak mahal, jimat petrol, sesuai ngan orang yang kocek sengkek macam saye, tak larat nak sara keta besor.
December 19, 2005 @ 10:14 am
poor poor ikan kelisa.
December 19, 2005 @ 10:14 am
White Moron. Just can’t get the point. What he’s trying to prove here? Anyone? Not because it’s Perodua or Proton or any so called Malaysian car. If he did that to the other production, still I can’t get a single glimpse of his point. Stoooooooopid….
December 19, 2005 @ 10:18 am
i hate this guy…….. i think others co. paid him to do this test….. they think kelisa is tank….. better asked this guy to test our ADNAN(local light tank)……
December 19, 2005 @ 10:22 am
i hav experienced bad accident driving my kelisa, frontal collusion wif a 1 ton lorry. yup, i suffered knee, forehead (by smashing windscreen), and few other abdoments. but, anyway i feel lucky that i wear seatbelts at that time. really save me though. the car was equipped with a good crumple zone cage anyway. yeah, for me i think Kelisa still a good car, value for money, and i cant hardly imagine if i was driving a iswara ‘kereta kebal’.. not worthy for money at all, no safety and quite ugly as well.
December 19, 2005 @ 10:22 am
A good reminder to both P1 & P2. Neglect quality, & that’s what you will get from Jeremy Clarkson.
December 19, 2005 @ 10:23 am
Well guys listen up Jeremy is not just barbaric but I guess he think he (big beer belly n well earned british with his so pround idoitic look and green teeth-disgusting priGG!!!) is everything. He tried to be posh but listen up he never actually being through living poor,maybe when he got poorer he will start to be looking like one of the homeless british people asking for spare change and digging up rubbish bin to look for food.He loves branded, branded and branded.He makes money by being commenting and judging others’ production,what make him so different from Proton if the so called company only make cars for monies?Show respect!
December 19, 2005 @ 10:23 am
proton should hire this guy as a quality control……..
December 19, 2005 @ 10:24 am
our beloved savvy also kena kutuk, inikan that ciput kelisa…no chance lah, sure kena kondem…err…where the proud brit. MG Rover?…bungkus ler, to the end…
December 19, 2005 @ 10:33 am
gosh.. i wonder why he don use proton as the victim.. if so, this could be more interesting.. pity the kelisa..
December 19, 2005 @ 10:35 am
What a waste. That is one Kelisa that I could use.
December 19, 2005 @ 10:37 am
Look, it was an entertaining (and severely dramatized) episode with the kelisa as the star. Or the anti-star depending on which side of the fence you re on.
His message was basically this - lets take a stance and not tolerate bloody crap cars. This does not necessarily apply on to the kelisa, it probably does to the savvy, kenari, kancil, some earlier korean makes, all current chinese makes, etc. Unfortunately, the kelisa was his ’subject in this case’
And before you trash me for affordable and good alternatives, the picanto is good fun. The Satria is decent fun too. Apparently the Aygo, Panda is also good but i hadnt a clue experience-wise.
So hey; cheap = not always nasty. Which to me, is a noble message.
This is precisely what makes clarkson such a fun watch - he is not politically-correct, he doesnt seem to really care if he alienates anyone, and thus he is throughly impartial. Which is key in his field. Look he trashes (literally and figuratively speaking) ANY make/ origin.. And if you think he is paid please. dont be naive. Integrity leads to credibility leads to his livelihood. The man owns several 100k pounds machines.. to pay him off, just to annoy another cheap small-car competitor? you cant afford it
Dont we all feel on some days, like beating the crap out of our cars? I know i do:)
December 19, 2005 @ 11:07 am
JC is known for his sarcasicm. He did the same on a old Porsche.. killed it.
December 19, 2005 @ 11:08 am
*&^@*!^%# no media player at work PC.
December 19, 2005 @ 11:17 am
company automobile british semua dah bungkus…. harapkan roll royce buat enjin kapal terbang jer….
December 19, 2005 @ 11:21 am
JC pula kena bash…! kow kow
Paul,
I think u knew the consequences posting this topic.
Free bashing time…
December 19, 2005 @ 11:25 am
Jeremy you..just know he have safe our life. !!!…this bugger is a truly “brave heart” can kutuk….but ourself ignore it and continue using this car…when lah our malaysian will change.
“Truly malaysia”
December 19, 2005 @ 11:28 am
It’s in heaven and hell episode. just wahed it few days and I got it from gnutella network..anywhere got lah.. I think it’s a special episode with only JC in it…poor kelisa, a type of car that ‘berjasa” a lot to Malaysians one.
December 19, 2005 @ 11:30 am
if this could raise up the spirit of our malaysian carmaker, then jc is making the right choice.. hope the next victim would be on the junk protons..
December 19, 2005 @ 11:45 am
please lah…if u want to condamed a car or manufacturer, show it side by side with another good car that can with stand all this torture and still can be driven away. stupid white bas***d…who cares what msg he’s trying to show, it’s just brutal…if he can show me a car with kelisa price and still can be drove after all that torture, then I’ll take back my words…stupid white f****r…
December 19, 2005 @ 11:49 am
That was not the worse he ever did, I think. I’ve seen before he poured tons of ‘najis binatang ternakan’ (cow or horse, probably) on a Vauxhall family van.
It’s not right to say he’s a British product supporter. Remember that Vauxhall is British brand.
December 19, 2005 @ 11:51 am
Clarkson certainly has a lot of grudge against the poor Kelisa ;p
December 19, 2005 @ 11:58 am
I remember something..
WHEN SAVVY kene KUTUK by Jeremy clarkson .
I told to the people, that jeremy is a JOKER, but they laugh at me back. and said that i backup savvy. Go to hell la you savvy lover.
What sad i am? . They said jeremy is hell yeah god damn good and pro people..
And then i fight back. i tell them jeremy is a joker!, and hate malaysian so much coz lotus bought by proton. Then they laugh again at ME. And almost people here also laugh to savvy and for the those defend it.
But then.. What can i say now? Eat ur own words back? ..
Ayway.. feeling sad also at the car. but i do agree some more on what he said = “Makes car for profit!” .
Dont bash me.. because it’s not perodua or our national car anymore.. it’s toyota. The best and the biggest car maker now = Money Maker!.. (Alaa… UK, US mmg tak suka toyota / lexus.. sebab negara diorang dah takda kereta sendiri dah… )
December 19, 2005 @ 12:00 pm
After he did that to Vauxhall, the selling of Vauxhall’s falls down instantly.
Let’s just pray that majority of Perodua future buyers have never watch this, I mean I’m not a Perodua fan but I also do not want one of our national car maker (which employed thousands of worker) goes bankcrupt or lays off their workers. That not good for our economy. Have some sympathy for the blue collar workers who work at Perodua plants.
Jeremy Clarkson is a devout Capitalist to me. He does’nt care a damn about the poors
December 19, 2005 @ 12:20 pm
do anyone get the not .swf file? mpg? wmv format?
i want to mass email it to all my friends.
let see what they think and say.. anyone knew where i can get the .wmv
December 19, 2005 @ 12:40 pm
Mitsu_galant : You can get it at Kancil Killer’s site. He uploaded the .avi format. http://kancilkiller.net
December 19, 2005 @ 12:48 pm
Not bad, at least manufacturer have to start consider about producing better cars, I don’t understasnd why u guys keep protecting perodua as Jeremy said, profit making then making a good car.
December 19, 2005 @ 12:53 pm
if next time i see this fellow on the london street..i’ll sure go knock him down..i swear i will! Wat fat white Arse!
December 19, 2005 @ 1:01 pm
As as a Malaysian I’m proud of the Kelisa….but seeing an asshole bashing it like that creates hatred in many people’s heart.
Really dissappointed with that jeremy asshole. What an idiot.
Definitely if you hit a car with that SLEDGE HAMMER……..tell me if any car won’t dent absorbing the power of that hammer
Even an Audi, Merce, BMW, Volks, Bentley, Ferrari etc will dent. Pass the hammer to us…..we will show to the world on how each car in this would fair in this test.
But I’m proud of my country’s car. Well done Perodua….but just try to make your car a bit stiffer …. Good Job …. Myvi will be a better qc car
Just ignore Jeremy….he only talks about high end cars….why did he demo a Kelisa then ?
December 19, 2005 @ 1:10 pm
Dear Neighbours,
I do not see the humour in the video. It is sad to see a perfectly brand new car destroyed for absolutely no objective. J.C. has every right to speak his one cent worth but extremely inconsiderate to insult the car that many where u guys are at and even here here in Singapore have pride in ownership. It is not the cars fault but the drivers where he is at that signal left and turn right. Anyway, he has never been a popular presenter, somewhat a SImon Cowell, of car shows. Tiff needle is much much more admirable as a presenter and a driver.
Regards.
December 19, 2005 @ 1:15 pm
sick guy….. no car can pass the BOOM test anyway…. Paul, pls do not show anymore from this sick guy…. let ban him.
December 19, 2005 @ 1:19 pm
lol… jeremy’s always sarcastic… but he’s funny too… he loves to destroy cars. smashed porches, volvos, hondas… but it’s pretty fun to see these cars smashed, altho it’d be better if they donated it to someone who needs it *like me*
December 19, 2005 @ 1:19 pm
he especially loves to target “pacific rim” cars for bashing. in this case, cars from malaysia and korea especially.
it doesnt matter what he says anyways, at least here in the “pacific rim”, we have a car industry. Back in the UK, the last time i checked, other than the handful of tiny specialist car builders, its all either been bought up by companies from other countries, or they’ve gone bankrupt.
its funny how mr clarkson never talks about that..?
December 19, 2005 @ 1:20 pm
z0mg this is too funny
December 19, 2005 @ 1:23 pm
I can’t believe the type of clueless idiots one can find here. Note: I don’t mean Clarkson.
December 19, 2005 @ 1:24 pm
Moronic!
As if their ill-fated MG Rover will not crash/blast.
In fact, which car will be that DURABLE if u use the hammer to abuse it?
December 19, 2005 @ 1:36 pm
We have to pay for quality… If he is willing to sponsor rm100,000 per person that we don’t mind filling the roads with hondas, toyotas or nissans… he just does not realise that cars are not dirt cheap here and kelisa is considered one of the more reliable cars here. How to compare with the continental cars. Maybe we should ask him to find us a car with a budget of RM30-40,000 that was built with “passion” and “spirit”.
No soul or passion? Ask him to come here and meet the kancil, kelisa and kenari drivers here in Malaysia and we’ll show him wat is passion!
Btw, at least we still have our own national car manufacturers… Jeremy, can you pls tell us the name of one UK car manufacturer that is still fully/partially owned by a UK company???
December 19, 2005 @ 1:46 pm
I wonder what the reader’s reaction would be like if the car was Proton. Hmm… sure got bashed kaw-kaw, everyone would jump with joy and praise clarkson like he is some kind of God or Deity. If he happens to come here somebody would sembahyang for him I am sure… hahah…
December 19, 2005 @ 2:03 pm
JC can be a real A-hole.
Arguablky however, IMHO Kelisa came off quite well in this . It withstood the sledge hammering and the dynamite quite well. A though little car.
If listened carefully, he was quite complementary at times. The only gripe he got is that these types cars got no soul, flair and passion which he complained even about cars like Posche.
To equate to white goods can be seen as a complement. Good and reliable workhorses like the fridge and washing machine bearing in mind the geriatric market (those that indicate left but turn right!) that Kelisa seems to attract.
I remember seeing one review by the Richard Hammond (the shortest of the Top Gear presenter), he quite liked the car.
By choosing Kelisa, maybe it is his weird way to indicate that it is the best of the soulless, flairless and passionless lot.
December 19, 2005 @ 2:12 pm
Looks like P1 basher (p2 supporter) damn angry liow!!!!
Cool down guys… last time he also kutuk sawy.
p/s: P2 is not a national car. It’s what u guys been proud of (Daihatsu/Totyota)
December 19, 2005 @ 2:15 pm
Different niche different needs….
December 19, 2005 @ 2:27 pm
RIGHT ON JEREMY CLARKSON!!!!!!!!!!!!! Woo-Hoo!!,
There is nothing more to proton’s and perodua’s apart from an engine and a milo tin casing. There is nothing good about this car. I hope the preodua and proton management sees this! I have to say This white man’s got a point. It’s time for the local car manufacturer’s to buckle up and start improving…this include suppliers and vendors. But Perodua and Proton, please help yourself to make malayasians have faith in you!!
December 19, 2005 @ 2:32 pm
hello, he wasn’t testing the car. he’s making a statement that a crappy car deserves only treatment like kena hentam sledgehammer and bomb by tnt. unfair review, it’s not a review lah!
December 19, 2005 @ 2:35 pm
Yau Mou Gau Chor,
Even if Daihatsu owns 40% of perodua, Perodua is Still a Malaysian brand and it still carries the Malaysian Flag. So if Perodua produces lousy car, then the Malysian image is also tarnished. Still Daihatsu only give us the expertise and technology transfer…therefore perodua (Malaysian side) is responsible for making sure this car is of good quality. Have you seen any original Daihatsu thats poor quality?
December 19, 2005 @ 2:37 pm
actually i dont really understand why are u guys so mad about. from the way i see it, JC was trying to show a point that he hates ppl who build cars for money making instead for the passion of it.
i guess thats just it. i dont feel any way offended when i watched that video.
p/s: yeah he’s rich and all and shouldnt do that, but i guess i get this point of thrashing that car.
December 19, 2005 @ 2:38 pm
hey guys,
The only way to improving is through critism. Thickened your face skin, thats how developed sountries become developed in the 1st place. Thats how Japanese car manufacturers become what they are today too!. As a young car manufacturer we have to learn to take alot of pounding, if not we’re never going to improve I have followed jeremy’s show for quite a while, he’s done a few test on this car and yes it has never impressed him!
December 19, 2005 @ 2:55 pm
Lol amusing~~~
December 19, 2005 @ 3:07 pm
——great post said,
December 19, 2005 @ 2:37 pm
i dont agree with u……. the way that he review( using hammer& TNT).It should be OK if kelisa is a tank. KELISA is not a WAR MACHINE…… stupid mat salleh…… macam cerita RAMBO lak….. kelisa kena gantung…… again bodoh punya mat salleh……
December 19, 2005 @ 3:10 pm
——Rosdi said,
December 19, 2005 @ 1:46 pm
I wonder what the reader’s reaction would be like if the car was Proton. Hmm… sure got bashed kaw-kaw, everyone would jump with joy and praise clarkson like he is some kind of God or Deity. If he happens to come here somebody would sembahyang for him I am sure… hahah…
Rosdi….. do u think that JC will replace AYAH PIN…….. R u going 2 sembahyang 4 him……… ahak ahak ahak ahak…..
December 19, 2005 @ 3:25 pm
no matter wat car u smash with a hammer… same things happen… it just that why u make other smash ur car with hammer or hang on a crane like that… he should make 2 car to get in accident to prove that… not this way… anyway… the video was like an ACTION movie pack… :p… hahaha… see ya
December 19, 2005 @ 3:34 pm
I used to think Jeremy Clarkson was an impartial professional auto journalist. After watching this video, I’ll never see him in the same light again. Damn snob. Guess all those test drives in Bentleys and Bugattis really got into his Italian leather-clad pampered head… stupid moron…
December 19, 2005 @ 3:59 pm
jeremy is kind of stupid man!! in my opinion, jeremy is not a professional car analyzer…other car will become the same as that kelisa if he treated like that!!
what a poor man!
he didnt respect our car so,i didnt think that he is brilliant about car….
sorry to saylah!!
December 19, 2005 @ 4:00 pm
Yes, he said that the car is only made for profit, but that is not the way to show that the car has a very low quality or unsafe for customer. if he put the car on a crash test, front impact, side impact and rear impact and show how bad the passanger might be injured etc? then I will accept all his comments and judgement. but the way he treat the cars is so brutal n, for me how correct he is in his comment (which I think none) it is just seem to be empty bcos of the terorrism act he show on that car…
I’ll give the same comments for any type of cars…this mat salleh is just a sick minded person…sick o…
December 19, 2005 @ 4:12 pm
I think a lot of people here has missed the point completely. He’s not wrong in one respect. Peroduas are awful cars. Whilst this is an affront to our sense of nationalistic pride, what Perodua should be doing is not retaliating against JC. Perodua should be building better cars.
If you think he’s got something against a particular country or make, you should see his 1996 video JC: Unleashed on Video. There he deliberately crashed a Volvo 360 into a tree and stuck a Nissan Sunny (his pet peeve) on the end of a trebuchet and launched it into the ground.
In fact, he did the same against the Vauxhall Astra, brutalising it as a horrendous machine. General Motors did the right thing. They developed a better Astra, called in JC to give his comments and feedback and lo and behold the next incarnation of the Astra was a vastly superior machine.
His comments aren’t all great about British cars either. They usually come second best to German offerings. One thing you can be certain is that if it is a lemon, then he’ll call it a lemon. Why hide it? We pay so much for cars, we deserve to get the best we can. Blind nationalism isn’t much good when it comes to value for money.
Instead of getting mad because our sensitivities are under assault, why not learn from this? Only when the truth comes out can we get better things.
JC is a petrolhead and so are many of us here. We like driving good cars be they expensive or “affordable.” Whatever the price, the driving experience ought to be a good one. But in Perodua and Proton’s case it really isn’t. If they were you’d plan to replace a Proton with another one when you’re done. But no, the average Malaysian aspires to Hondas and Toyotas. Why? Because the national car sucks and we shouldn’t be afraid to say it nor demand better from the makers.
In the end, these cars are offered by businessmen all out to make a buck at the expense of everything else even your own sense of value. Whereas cars made with a sense of pride and passion into its quality and driving experience are what we should be able to buy.
Personally speaking, I too am sick to death of these “washing machine” soapboxes our national car industry loves to shove down our throats at ridiculous prices. Time to make ‘em better, its the 21st century after all.
December 19, 2005 @ 4:26 pm
his crazy act, which hanging n pull down with thing that heavier than the kelisa, bomb it… wtf? he trying to say aston martin or rover cant just bomb like that?
December 19, 2005 @ 4:26 pm
Wow, I think P2 people should see this!
December 19, 2005 @ 4:31 pm
perodua sucks big time said,
December 19, 2005 @ 2:38 pm
Still can’t see any point here. Kelisa is a BUDGET CAR!!!!!!. What to improve?? If he did that to Enzo than I’ll be surpirse. (Waaa…. very damn teruk quality)…but we are talking about Kelisa here…. Hello…hello…hello……
Although I dun drive P1 or P2 (proud of my N16) but we’re talking about cheap car for certain citizen of the country.
Mr. Perodua Sucks Big Time….pls suggest anything out of yer ’square head’, how to improve comparing the price of the car.
Well, for me, I can say - dual airbags, Twin turbo engine, 17 inch custom made sport rims, leather seats, ICE, Disk brake, EBD, ABS, GPRS mapping, Hehehhe…. If U don’t have RM 100k plus…don’t even dream of driving the Kelisa.
December 19, 2005 @ 4:52 pm
It is very funny the video. It seems that there are a lot of stupid malaysians out htere. c’mon ,the kelisa model was release in the early second half of the 90’s.In the uk the car has abs and airbag but none here.It is very funny that no malaysian ever complain p2 about this glaring absence.The japanese model of the kelisa sold in uk has esp but none here .It really shows how crap some some malaysians are.the kelisa is a k car so don’t expect much it’s supose to be bare bone.In terms of safety,if you see people driving the kelisa at obscene speed you can forget about it protecting you if yougetinto an accident.the one ton test shows the crumple zone would not really protect you if you drive at 35 mph or more.nuff said
December 19, 2005 @ 4:56 pm
Which person in the right mind would attach a 1 tonne weight on a super mini hanging upside down? Goes to show he’s beginning to concentrate more on entertaining the Mat Salleh masses more than putting more effort into proper auto reviews… bleh…
December 19, 2005 @ 4:57 pm
his crazy act, he trying to say aston martin or rover cant just bomb like that?
what’s the point he hanging kelisa on sky n pull down with stone than actually heavier than the kelisa?
these act is nothing to help our gorv give their rakyat a better car choice, we still have to buy national car if we dont want to do 7 years installment, 4years for car n 3 years for gorv idiot tax.
December 19, 2005 @ 5:00 pm
pity to see a kelisa go that way, but i think to prove his point he had to get a malaysian/korean car which makes the kelisa the cheapest among the models
December 19, 2005 @ 5:21 pm
WTH? This maggot is thinking that this is just a piece of shite! I think you should be eating shiat. This Kelisa is very useful for most people on a budget.
EAT SHIT YOU MOTHER FUC*ING JEREMY CLARKSON
December 19, 2005 @ 5:22 pm
You are english, you are young, you don’t have debt… here’s my advice.. listen to Jeremy Clarkson. never buy a budget car… these manufacturer only think of stealing your money. here’s the plan: get a huge credit (you will never afford to pay pay back it back but nevermind). Buy a BMW… be a sheep –pay the nice car… pay the nice brand… pay the nice insurance… whorship it and crash and burn just like the kelissa in the video…
December 19, 2005 @ 5:48 pm
Anonymous1 : Yes dude. I agree with your comment to a certain degree. I’ve seen Jeremy trashing Rover all the way back to Timbuktu. But saying Perodua and Proton coming out with rubbish cars is pushing it. I just feel that he’s getting too big for his own shoes. When you get a car for a mere 4 thousand pounds, of course you don’t expect Aston like handling or Beemer type luxury. The Kelisa is a very respectable car for it’s class range. If he thinks Perodua cars are trash, wait till he get’s his pampered hands on those rubbish China knockoffs… I wonder what he’ll do with them then…
December 19, 2005 @ 6:05 pm
i think this person is sick…pity to see him hated himself so much on car…think he has phobia to car…hated the car till like to torture it so much…and his son, his daughter…must be died under this car…his mother…his father all died under this car…and his everything died under this car..pityful this guy…
December 19, 2005 @ 6:14 pm
I am very angry at this guy.
What on earth is he doing.
I’ve known these rich people wich can afford a Buggati Veyron or Porsche Carerra.
Don’t you see? He’s insulting us Malaysian. He’s insulting our effort and dreams.
It’s people like these who criticize others but don’t look back at themselves.
I think a lot of people know Proton and Perodua. Well, for instance Proton has the best warranty in Britain. Using our money. Taxpayers’ money.
Oh popular person. Where is MG Rover’s batang hidung eh???
It’s because of people like you giants like MG Rover fall in the most humiliating way. MG Rover is no longer british but CHINESE!!! Malaysia Boleh
December 19, 2005 @ 6:14 pm
Ahhh… He did something I’ve been waiting to do for ages. Pity it wasnt a Kancil.
Poor old ‘Lisa. Ken’s next I suppose?
December 19, 2005 @ 6:18 pm
before i’m called a square head again i have to say maybe kelisa is good enough for the m’sian market. It’ll never be able to compete in the developed market. Gee prove me wrong idf i say that proton and perodua cars are not selling out as well in UK, Australia.
December 19, 2005 @ 6:28 pm
agree with anonymous1 .
Not all what jeremy said is wrong.
Corrrrreeection..
He smash the car with hammer is not to test the car body-lah!
But to show / impress his FRUSTED emotion about that car.
Correct me if were wrong. because i listen carefully on what he said. So please listen carefully.
Let see COMING SOON! = MYVI hahaha
if proton = Whoaaa.. Good damn good Jeremy ! U did a god damn good job!..
While p2 kena plak = Whoooaa.. F***ER jeremy!.. GTH bla bla..
What a lalang lah u all..
Now who is more stupid? *yawn*
December 19, 2005 @ 7:10 pm
Acually what jeremy said is true, Perodua and Protons are making tonnes of money profiteering from we poor Malaysians by giving us inferior cars, with weak chasis and body strength. I have to agree with Mitsu-galant, what happened to the previous post when jeremy banged on Proton, noone became nationalist then. Now with Perodua we see the Ultra Malaysians coming out of the woodwork. Lets face it, Proton and perodua will always be subpar cars. DOn’t buy one expecting a Honda or any Japanese car. Lower your expectations and Proton and Perodua will surprise you to no end.
December 19, 2005 @ 7:38 pm
From the comments above, I guess most of us are ’saddened’ by the way the car is treated, whether it be a P1 or P2 or maybe any other nationality manufactured car. Because our culture is not like that. After watching the video, what was your reaction? Do you feel ashamed that there is this kind of species still available in the world? If you didn’t, but instead you think the video clip is funny, then I do suggest you go for a psychiatric help.
If he is reviewing the car properly by guidelines then it would do more just to the car manufacturer. But in this video, his way of reviewing the car was like a ‘mad-man’ who just wanted attention. No wonder he had caused so many uproar.
Even though there were many controversials surrounding this species, ppl are still watching his shows. I must suggest that there are many of this kind of species still at large!
December 19, 2005 @ 7:41 pm
Agree with priyan… Malaysian carmakers are not competitors in the global automotive arena (a.k.a jaguh kampung)… In fact… Big players like Mercedes and BMW are ACTUALLY afraid of this guy because his comments are based on facts with a dash of sarcasm (sometimes very very extreme), which in turn affect carsales… Unlike mindless bashing… Sigh…
So the thing is… Rather be proud of a carmaker that is jaguh kampung style or global style… Think…
December 19, 2005 @ 7:51 pm
in on of the top gear episodes i have seen…….jeremy, james, and another guy ..richard….richard said he infact liked it……..he said it reminds him of the old mini..overall he said it a good buy……there u have it.another mat salleh form the same show saying it GOOD…….kekekke
December 19, 2005 @ 7:57 pm
Haha by the way… Did he think that the kelisa IS a tank??… A rational person will say no… But maybe… One of the reason he trashed the car was to tell the public that a Kelisa is on par with trash… Hmm… I dunno… It all depends on how a human mind interprets the message…
I believe that Malaysian carmakers CAN be better… In fact… Malaysian carmakers can be the best in the world… But there are countless, numerous, uncountable factors holding back that dream that I, as a Malaysian, wish to see… Sigh…
December 19, 2005 @ 8:04 pm
JEREMY NI BANGANG NAK MAMPUS!!!
If he put any car under such idiotic mannerism bodoh bangang act, fo sure that car won’t last… with that kinda price, what is his expectation la…. mangkuk big time… try take a sledge hammer and bang onto Ferrari… dent? won’t dent? you tell me!!!
JEREMY BODOH!!
December 19, 2005 @ 8:08 pm
This man is Cruellllllllll……………….!!!
I agree with u David
December 19, 2005 @ 8:31 pm
actually… that jeremy guy is stupid.. sure everyday got ppl wanna kill him, ham ka ling jeremy!.. kelisa is actually daihatsu charade.. and why hes always blaming malaysia but not the japan? … i hate that whore.. talk cock about other country but not his country. talk cock nya seng!
December 19, 2005 @ 8:34 pm
do you know why he was so pissed off with kelisa? because first kelisa was trying to be a Mini, and second because kelisa was doing a good job at it, and in fact much better with those japs gadgetry and economical fuel consumption, good pricing, what else. what passion are you asking for when all you need is just a people mover, it serves its purpose well -waddaya expect from an elswick or a raleigh bicycle, or even a Vw Beetle when it was made for its intended purpose back then.
December 19, 2005 @ 8:39 pm
urm…he said sumthin about passion..where is this passion come from? driver? well..if u don’t like sumthin from the beggining there’s no way this passion will come..how about people who are working to create kelisa?…wonder how their felt..well it’s not like we can laugh happily after looking sumone go thrashing our work that badly rite?well yeah..if sumbody at produa look at this it might be a major wake up call to’em..create a superb car..wonder how much more we hev to pay..
December 19, 2005 @ 8:50 pm
I am a frequent reader of JC column. But the sight of the sadistic &
“car=barian” way of showing his poor opinion of the Kelisa or any car ( proton , vauxhall , rovers ) for that matter is utter STUPIDITY , LOW LEVEL , INSANE , NUT , @#$%$@$$%^#@$#$#. NOT ENOUGH VULGAR WORDS TO DESCRIBE.
He can use his knowledge , experience and journalism skill to show his contempt of this car . But to use a sledgehammer & explosive ,f@#$ing h$ll,
this is not a tank…& he acting like a mad terrorist. Destruction is not the way of showing his disgust.
He should bloody respect some of the owner in UK and being a journalist.
LOSING SOME TV RATING LATELY JC ??? Lightened up or go get drunk !!!
Your tummy need it.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:02 pm
I think he is absolutely hilarious. Who cares its just a kelisa. People will still continue to buy it ‘cos its an econo box. It did exactly what any other econo box would do…. break! Besides we are talking about a guy who test drives a Ferrari for a living either way i think he has a better life than most of us who wish we could do the same >:D
December 19, 2005 @ 9:05 pm
… i juz bought my Kelisa Se last week,this is torture to my eyes
December 19, 2005 @ 9:06 pm
1. this guy is a jerk
2. he earns his living from a media, so such act is predictable
3. i hate him
4. what he knew about P2? pure profit making?
5. what i hate more is.. some malaysian love him??
my dad got a LORI Hantu back in my hometown, lets see if Jeremy can withstand if i crush him down.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:34 pm
What is the purpose of doing this stupid act…hung a full ton of weight to a car weigh less than a ton. What this joker try to prove ? try to compare a kelisa vs army tank ?
or he don’t believe country like M’sia able to produce car!
Maybe he is too angry & unhappy because car manufacturers in UK such as Rover, Mini,Lotus, Jaguar had owned by others. >. WTF
December 19, 2005 @ 9:37 pm
the dynamite should have been shoved up his ass and blown up with the kelisa. Then we see who flies higher…geremy or the kelisa. Aku nampak hang kat Malaysia, i’ll drive over your stiff upper lip with my silver kelisa.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:41 pm
Serves em’ right for selling crap cars in the UK and bringing on the wrath of Jeremy Clarkson.
December 19, 2005 @ 9:42 pm
im in UK right now as we speak, there lots and lots of proton and produa here, im so supprise. Its like every 10 cars pass by 1 of them would be a proton or produa. Even SAGA!!!
they just love our easy to park car since they dont actually have much space to park cars, also a full tank of gas cost my rental ford focus GBP40. Imagine that.. hmm..
December 19, 2005 @ 10:02 pm
heyt..in season 4 or 5 of top gear, he did destroy toyota hilux..
i got to agree with anonymous1..but then he also did trash maserati..and that volvo 360..TVR too..
but always mat salleh mindset, they think they are really good and they are the best in the world..in fact the said that we malaysian build cars out in a jungle clearing..typical mat salleh’s la..
always that if we m’sian, to be exact the m’sian national car builder shud build a better quality car that worth for money..or else we eill see this thing again in the future
December 19, 2005 @ 10:07 pm
first and foremost, yes i agree this is not a real car review, but JC had done a review on the kelisa last year..his comments was actually fair(cheap, fuel consumption, low insurance lvl). JC doin this to a car is nothin new, he was just tryin to vent his feelings towards this so called ‘passionless’ cars and was just using a kelisa amongst other makes as an example. Mind you that he has also critised alot of other car makes for ex. Mercedes for its lousy build quality(merc also lousy build quality, what about proton?). It is just that in the UK the car market is so much more competitive then in msia. Also, with a price tag of 4000 pounds, people in the UK can buy a entry level Toyota Avgo which comes stock with a cd player, twin airbags and ABS. Why would anyone buy a Kelisa then?
December 19, 2005 @ 10:07 pm
heyt..in season 4 or 5 of top gear, he did destroy toyota hilux..
i got to agree with anonymous1..but then he also did trash maserati..and that volvo 360..TVR too..
but always mat salleh mindset, they think they are really good and they are the best in the world..in fact the said that we malaysian build cars out in a jungle clearing..typical mat salleh’s la..
always that if we m’sian, to be exact the m’sian national car builder shud build a better quality car that worth for money, a drivers car..not a money making machine for a corporate business man and his cronies..or else we will see this thing again in the future
December 19, 2005 @ 10:30 pm
he use kelisa sure la like tht…. and he always picks on malaysia’s more inferior cas. y dun he try sum of malaysia better made cars… like perdana, putra or satria gti… sure got sum good points rite???
December 19, 2005 @ 10:42 pm
All I have to say about Jeremy is that he can sometimes be quite a pain in the backside. He has obviously not lived in M’sia before and thus cannot understand our culture. In other words, I don’t think he has much of an insight into our automobile industry. Things are different in the UK, so what’s he to pay 4000 quids for a Kelisa and then smash it up? He should stick to commentaries about anything above 2000 cc and that’s that!
December 19, 2005 @ 10:42 pm
At least there’s 1 or 2 people in this thread who ‘get’ Mr Clarkson and his message, most of you that spend your time blindly bashing Perodu and Proton are now blindly supporting it.
I’ve met Jeremy before in the BBC studios at one of his show, he’s a very nice, funny and witty guy (if badly dressed..).
And yes it’s a budget car, but there are other cars in the UK of a similar price that are FAR better quality, that’s the point.
Car manufacturers should look to innovate and create, not just reproduce and aim for profits rather than satisfaction.
December 19, 2005 @ 10:50 pm
oh well, truth hurts.
December 19, 2005 @ 11:21 pm
Typical comments here so far
December 19, 2005 @ 11:33 pm
Wow, there were so many Jeremy Clarkson bashers here I was afraid that it reflected on the overall mentality of the people of our country. Fortunately there were quite a number that took it in good faith. That to me, was the saving grace to our intellectual dignity.
Come on people, try to look at it on a different perspective, on the reasons why he would lambast perodua and torture and destroy the kelisa in such an exaggerated manner. Sure he doesn’t understand why average Malaysians consider Kelisa a good car. However, this does not mean he is wrong in his comments on it being soulless and made purely for profits. Just for the record, I don’t approve of his bravados and cynicism, but I do comprehend the message he’s trying to get across.
We Malaysians are slapped with astronomically high taxes on imported cars, so this has led to a free and easy ride for P1 and P2 towards mediocrity. Low expectations and easy acceptance only compounds this problem. I would suggest for the JC bashers to question if they would rather own Kelisas of the same current standard or one so good that it would shut him up.
Change that negative mindset for the sake of our country’s future please!!
December 19, 2005 @ 11:47 pm
Wow! You know what is amazing that so many people here are threatening bodily harm to another human being. Seriously whats wrong with you people? Does his attack on a mere car justify you guys trying to maim him? What gives you the right to hurt or kill another person? If you’re god then well and good smithe him down with fire and brimstone for what you perceive is a great injustice. But you’re not! Its this clan mentality and vigilante behaviour that leads to more woes in this world. When law and order falls one of these days, i shudder to think i would be living with this same people, who may take to the streets like what happened in New orleans. The only reason these same people aren’t killing anyone is because they are only afraid of getting caught. Keep you lori hantus at home and stop trying to kill people, this is real life and not some computer game.
December 19, 2005 @ 11:53 pm
C’mon la if u one 2 say about about profit, spirit or passion juz say it in words.
This is juz damn insulting. What is the point by breaking a car and wasting ur money when there are so many people out there who don hav even 1 car.
December 19, 2005 @ 11:59 pm
adeii.. mamat nih mmg gampang.. dulu proton.. skrg perodua plak.. demmit..
December 20, 2005 @ 12:33 am
I’ve read half way through and i’m glad to see most of you guys are pissed about JC doing that kinda stuff to our car. I dont mind the ‘passion’ and ‘flair’ stuff really, but i’ve never been a fan of our malaysian made cars for reasons i’m sure everyone knows. I LOVE Malaysia, i’m just not proud of it’s cars….. yet.
December 20, 2005 @ 12:43 am
so disappointed with our very own malaysian built car…..when we will change the attitude?
December 20, 2005 @ 1:07 am
All these comment err…bashing are much expected. Only a few did listen to what JC said get the meaning between the lines. I drive a Kelisa and not even feel offended by what he did. Why should I? It hurts your prides? Or does it hurts your ego? You’ll know what’s fun to drive and what has soul when you have driven a lot (I do mean a lot) of different type, size and make of cars). And don’t dare to say that your little pocket rocket is the most fun car or a car with a soul when you probably have ONLY drove one type/size/make of car. Ask yourself, how many cars have you driven? How many make of the same class have you tested?
We Malaysians are arrogant lots. Believe it or not it’s inside each and every one of us. We condemn people who criticise us. And we force everyone to be nice and swept the dirt under the carpet (and then talk behind the back). All talk cock and no action. That’s what our government has been doing for a long time. If you all so much offended by it, why curse and talk only? Would it change anything? That’s all that Malaysian always do. Condemn. Why do you get so mad at JC? If P1 & P2 made a good car, he wouldn’t have chose that car in the first place. Why didn’t any of you tell the manufacturer? Chicken? I know I would, if there’s only my voice. We never use our power (or the brain) to force them (P1 & P2 respectively) to do things the way we wanted. Let’s not talk money here. Let’s not talk about what you can afford and what’s not. Talk about what you, me, all of us deserve. We drive them, not bein driven by them.
Perhaps we could all get a better perspective if we look at it as a bigger picture. I’m not defending JC nor agree to what he did. But Malaysian will never get to see a quality locally made care when most people still look at things with a short-sight, a narrow mind and over the top ego.
December 20, 2005 @ 1:09 am
no car should be treated this way la…maybe he got his points, but not through this way..and..kelisa(not only kelisa la..perodua cars) is meant for those lower income group..so, perodua users wont expect to get smth more with the price they pay la..
December 20, 2005 @ 1:23 am
Woah…I’ve just posted my comment and there’s a few more already coming. Well Suugaku San and Priyan. What do you expect? I dare say it does reflect the vast majority of mindset of Malaysian. ‘We’ can laugh to other people but we’ll retaliate when others laugh to us. ‘We’ couldn’t even laugh to our selves.
*Sigh* When will we ever grow up….
December 20, 2005 @ 1:39 am
aiyah….i wish he will go and smash those freakin photongs like Hantu, Sawi and all those rubbishlah….better than ruining a reliable Kelisa…
December 20, 2005 @ 2:09 am
whAT A STUPID WHITE MAN!!CILAKA…wrong adjudging on the kelisa…pity kelisa
December 20, 2005 @ 2:46 am
I like his humour. hehehe.
I agree with aksMs. just becoz it is a kelisa, everyone is defensive. common la. they have so many budget cars there. it’s just tat their budget cars when reach our shores become expensive cars. now u know where we stand in the international arena. yes. truth hurts. IMPROVE!!!
His point is:
1. budget cars should not be low quality sacrificing safety.
2. when a car company makes a car, their effort shows in the product. When a company only thinks of profit, it will not improve. that’s why p1 & p2 can only sell in Malaysia. No passion! Only want profit.
He bought the car. He destroys it coz he hates it. He is sending a message to car manufacturers. Good! It happened in Thailand as well on a CRV. In China as well. Only in Malaysia people dun do that, coz we are paying through our noses for the cars. Wake up la.
We act like very patriotic, defending the car. but honestly la, if got money, everyone one will rather drive a Honda or Toyota la.
kena screwed already, still wanna thank you… gila.
December 20, 2005 @ 2:55 am
btul ape ckp jeremy clarkson tuh .. those perodua only make cars for their profit not pride.contoh la .. kancil and kelisa .. both are small cars and cheap among the malaysians.so kalau murah n mostly ppl will buy it rite? it is undeniable dat if most of us,malaysians pg beli kete murah n at the same time ..our standard of living slightly increase.more ppl afford to buy cars from them.but lower price means the lower is the cost rite ? the main subject is the car… they take cheap materials,and even used low tech car assembling sistem to cut the cost.so in aspect of safetiness is abused in this case.juz not bout safety,even the cars doest seem to comfort us as well like those imported cars.
jeremy clarkson ni mmg pnuh ngan kontroversi kalau kite bace kat wikipedia.tp diorang tu terlalu demokratik.main suke ati nak free speech and comment org lain.so we have to face that.andai kata si mamat omputih tuh x komen.tau ke kite sume pasal kete kelisa and kancil yg under perodua yg semestinya under daihatsu yg juga dipunyai oleh giant company toyota tu byk kelemahan dan keburukan ?he is just trying to give out his points to viewers bout our malaysian car.be open minded, n try to accept other ppl comments especially from those are experienced and profesionals.
so x kan la kite nak asik kutuk org yg komen pasal brand or product under the name malaysia sbb nak tunjuk kite ni syg sgt kat malaysia and terlalu nasionalisme.kalau kite btul syg negare kite,we have to face the comment they gave us n built another car dat are more safe,comfort us , powerful and most important affordable (cheap lar!!) by malaysians.
face it.. its our own problem n mistakes.those corporate leader juz think bout profit.they dun make car for the driver and their love to cars.they should change.if perodua built car like those vw,toyota,or bmw, one day the whole world will respect us as one of those top class car manufacturer.mane la tau .. dah famous sangat.. tetibe formula one ade name perodua .. rite?
December 20, 2005 @ 3:01 am
one more thing .. i suspected ar .. those british hate us and keep comment on us bout producing bad cars because we bought lotus from them.
ya lor .. small country like us bought a quite branded car company from them.even the europeans insulted us due to the big amounts of shares we (protons) hold in theirs stock.btul ? so kite wat bodo je .. dun mind bout them insulting us .. but we have to take their comment to build up our automobile industry,make a better car for our malaysia pride souls
December 20, 2005 @ 3:26 am
Haha… IMHO, blind (note the word blind) patriotism can never and will never carry a country foward… Understand the real message of the clip haha… Sigh…
Malaysian carmakers cannot even satisfy their biggest audience… Why even bother talking about export numbers and to be part of the global market??… Another NATO I guess… While some people are enjoying their big share of pies… All happening, as usual, behind the scenes, away from the public…
Cheers…
December 20, 2005 @ 3:44 am
hye all…i have use the car b4…it just ok n nice to bring anywhere here in malaysia…i think maybee it is because the weather was not suitable with your country….
December 20, 2005 @ 4:05 am
This clip is taken from Jeremy’s own DVD entitled “Heaven & Hell”. His 1 hour show introduces a group of cars which are divided into 2 groups - heaven and hell - and apparently our very own Kelisa are in the hell group.
Apparently, Jeremy & Co aren’t receiving any type of sponsorship for their show and that is why they can criticise any car they think are bad, regardless of manufacturer and country. It is why I believe Jeremy isn’t bias about Malaysian cars but Malaysian cars are simply junk.
It is true that when he say that Malaysian cars are not made by a man who wanted to make great cars but by a corporation that simply want to make money. Every year we hear issues about our national car production/import/export/board of directors etc. But the quality of the cars never improve. I’m not sure if it’s just me but I still believe that the Sagas are still the best Proton ever had. Wira simply just suck. Waja and Gen-2 received way too much complains and problems. And Perodua’s usual practice - copycat other manufacturer’s car and modify and change the tag to “Perodua”.
We Malaysians are paying way too much for cars here. The reason why Kelisa are priced lower than equavalent MYR in the UK is because you can drive a decent 2nd hand Golf GTi with just 2,000 pounds extra. Who wants to drive a Kelisa?
When it comes to car-making, it’s not about patriotism. Patriotism has nothing to do with making a good car. If we show our so-called patriotism to buy a junk car, then we’re stupid - it’s our hard-earned money dude.
I’m not sure whether by 2020, Malaysia can produce a really good car. It don’t have to be a 0-100 in few seconds or what, really, a good sedan or family car is good enough to boost the image of the country.
Open your mind and think about it.
December 20, 2005 @ 5:09 am
Jeremy Clarkson is doing the right thing. He has this passion for cars, and every car manufacturer should have a passion for it as well. Passion doesnt equal profit? THINK.
If without passion:
1. We wouldn’t have had 3-pointed seatbelts
2. We wouldn’t have had air bags (Dunno, but US made)
3. We wouldn’t have had ABS
4. We wouldn’t have had Crumple Zones
5. We wouldn’t have had Traction Control
6. We wouldn’t have had Active Body Control
7. We wouldn’t have had Adaptive Headlights
8. We wouldn’t have had Curtain Airbags
9. We wouldn’t have had Steptronic gears
Those with passion?
1. Citroen’s seats will pad you on your left thigh if y