Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Proton Persona launched: Proton’s new sedan

Proton Persona

I guess today is the day that most of you have been waiting for the day that the car that promises to set off a snowball effect of recovery at Proton. First sightings of the new Proton sedan were early this year in April, but we actually got to see 3D renderings of it in March. Little did we know that it was a real car to be put into production.

UPDATE: Proton Persona SE now on sale for RM59,800!

As most of you have known by now thanks to a tip off by The Edge, the new Proton sedan is called the Proton Persona. The name is not unfamiliar as it has been used before for the UK market Proton Wira. This makes the name somewhat apt, as it is finally the car that will replace the Wira, something the GEN2 did not do when it was introduced a few years ago.

Proton has taken steps to ensure the Proton Persona is what the customer wants, not what the management wants. Many models clinics and surveys have been conducted to ensure market acceptance. After my first impression of the car at the media preview earlier this week, I must say that Proton has done a relatively good job with this car!

Read more on the Proton Persona after the jump.

Proton Persona

Most of you have an idea of what the exterior looks like already. Its basically a GEN2 with a boot. Other than the tail lamps, the entire car from the B-pillar onwards has been reworked. The new car is 167mm longer than the Proton GEN2, and 12mm longer than the Proton Waja. The boot is a respectable 430 liters in size, which is larger than the Toyota Vios at 400 liters. It also features a lock, something that was missing on the Proton GEN2. A 60:40 split rear bench folds flat in case you need more space.

Rear headroom has been improved by 43mm over the GEN2 thanks to a redesigned roof curve at the rear. It now measures at 980mm, compared to 950mm in the Vios and 970mm in the City! It only loses out to the Myvi which has a pretty tall roof at 995mm.

Proton Persona

The interior has been thoroughly reworked and I can tell you this - the interior plastics arent the best that Ive seen but it is better than some C-segment Japanese sedans Ive driven recently. The dashboard is based on the one from the GEN2 but it has had its quirkiness removed. Normal is the new black, I say. I think the public is fed up of Protons previous attempts to be all “sporty minimalist Lotus”.

Other than the twin-pod meter panel (which now features fully black meter faces instead of the black and white one on the GEN2), the GEN2s interior felt like the Wira replacement it should be. Even the Pirates of the Caribbean cutlass-style handbrake lever is gone now. One qualm I have is that the buttons in the center of the dash still feel very cheap, and they do not really have any obvious switched on or off feel when you press them - or you could say the buttons provide not much feedback to tell you you’ve pressed them.

Proton Persona

The door panels have been completely redesigned. The power window switches are now on the armrest which is the preferred location for many. There is some decent cloth trim on the panels. I dont know about you but I prefer my elbow touching some nice cloth or leather instead of bare plastic. The seats have a new design and now the front seats are more conventionally shaped and feature a headrest.

The little analog clock which no one could read has also been removed, so the dash lines flow a bit better now. But the best part of all would be a glovebox, although it is not a particularly cavernous one. With just a few minor changes, the functionality of the Proton Persona’s GEN2-based interior has improved. I hope this new dash carries on to the new GEN2 facelift as well.

Proton Persona

There is central locking and 4 power windows on all of the Persona models from the base line to the high line. You can control the central locking either from a button near the power window button cluster or a button on the dashboard which the passenger can use in case of an emergency. The dash button also doubles up as the alarm deactivation button in case you mistakenly trigger the alarm system. The doors automatically lock themselves once the system detects all doors are closed, the handbrake is released, and the brake pedal is pressed.

Rear legroom was not too bad, a testament to how the increased legroom measurements translate into real life application. That said, once someone tall sits in the driver’s seat, the rear passenger behind him will start to suffer a little, but it is typical of a sedan car in the B-segment size.

Proton PersonaNow on to how it drives. Proton allowed members of the media to drive the car around its test track in Shah Alam. At first impression, the Persona feels like it has a more comfort oriented setup unlike the GEN2, and this contributed more to body roll - you cannot have everything of course.

Proton included a 9-point Vehicle Dynamics Chart in the press kit and it shows that the Persona outperforms the GEN2 in terms of Ride Comfort and Roll Control but the GEN2 beats it in terms of lane change stability and cornering stability. The car generally understeers a lot under pressure but most of the time it is recoverable via throttle lift off.

If you want to toss the car around, it can be quite lively but the supplied Silverstone Kruizer 1 tyres are not exactly performance oriented. I would say its a case of the Satria Neo 1.3 with Sime tyres all over again. Do change them if you want to have some fun with the car and have the budget. But I am sure Proton has reasons for the Silverstone Kruizer 1 choice as they are generally known to be one of the quietest tyres around within their price range and by far the best tyres to come out of the Silverstone labs to date.

Proton Persona

I can see what Proton is trying to do with the new Proton Persona sedan. Families want refinement and general quietness in their drive. They dont want anything trashy or noisy. That explains the choice of tyres. The NVH is also significantly improved over the Satria Neo especially - and better than the GEN2 of course. There is minimal loud and boomy engine noise towards the redline. It sounds rather refined really. The Campro engine had an appealing sound in the manual transmission car. It had a pleasant growl that was not overpowered by vibration or metallic notes, and despite going way over the 6,500rpm redline it felt like it could still go. The rev cut off was a little over 7,000rpm.

We drove two automatic transmission cars, and one of it had a little irritating zingy noise towards the redline, while the other was as aurally smooth as the manual. Upon checking with Proton later, they took note of it and said the noise could be coming from the heat shield, so if you buy this car and get this problem, you can give the service center guys a hint on where to look for the source.

Proton Persona

As for the Campro engine, it is pretty much the same as previous units. Still the same 110 (82kW) horsepower at 6,000 rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. There is still a general lethargy with the throttle at low to mid engine speeds, but the engine shines at high revs. This engine still does not have the Bosch Variable Intake Manifold system yet, but the automatic model does have an improved TCU. The improved TCU or Transmission Control Unit seems more intelligent now, making up for the Campros unfortunately torque curve shape by having no qualms about downshifting when needed with reduced delay, and the shifts are rather smooth.

There is nothing new about the Campro engine in this car really in terms of performance; its just that improved sound dampening have managed to make the car in a whole appear more refined. But there are some design enhancements over the original GEN2 Campro engines that have served to make the engine more reliable.

For one, the oil pan has been redesigned to be more crack-resistant. The drain plug has been moved to the side instead of it’s previous position at the bottom, and large ribs have been added on the bottom for protection. The oil pan in general has been moved higher up in the engine bay, but the volume remains the same.

Proton Persona

Now on to some specs. The base-line model will have 15 inch steel wheels and wheel covers with 195/60/R15 tyres, central locking, 4 power windows, alarm with immobilizer, front disc and rear drum brakes, reverse sensors, fixed rear seats, and a normal CD player with 2 speakers.

The medium-line model is further enhanced with alloy sports rims and 195/60/R15 tyres, a drivers SRS airbag, a foldable split rear seat bench, steering wheel audio controls, an MP3-capable CD player with 4 speakers, electrically adjustable wing mirrors, and foglamps.

The top of the range high-line model gains additional features over the medium-line model - antilock brakes and electronic brakeforce distribution, disc brakes on all four wheels, both driver and passenger airbags, and remote trunk opening.

Proton Persona

Now for prices:

Proton Persona 1.6AT H-Line Metallic - RM55,800
Proton Persona 1.6AT M-Line Metallic - RM52,800
Proton Persona 1.6MT M-Line Metallic - RM49,800
Proton Persona 1.6AT B-Line Metallic - RM48,449
Proton Persona 1.6AT B-Line Solid - RM47,999
Proton Persona 1.6MT B-Line Metallic - RM45,449
Proton Persona 1.6MT B-Line Solid - RM44,999

All prices are on the road with insurance for Peninsular Malaysia. The prices have changed slightly since the teaser prices were announced last month. The Base-Line models are now slightly cheaper. While it wont really reflect much in your monthly installment amount, breaching the RM45,000 barrier by RM1 ringgit serves as a psychological encouragement to buy the car. Proton has negotiated with all banks for them to offer an interest rate of 3.88% for the Proton Persona.

At first impression, the Proton Persona is a worthy successor to the Proton Wira. It is improved in almost all areas compared to the Wira and even the GEN2. However there were still some build issues here and there, for example some wiring was left exposed, like the lock for the rear boot as well as some wiring in the footwell of the dashboard. The steering boss assembly in one of the cars I drove was also not up to standards.

These are normal quality issues with the early production batches of any car from any manufacturer. The true test of whether Proton has changed or not will be the test of time, and whether its service networks have been improved or not. It will be up to early adopters of this car to tell us of their experiences.

Anyway, for those who have the intention of buying this car and want to do something to it aesthetically to keep it a little different from the rest of the Persona crowd, this post might give you some ideas.

Proton Persona

Blueberry Tea - exclusive for the H-Line models. Click to enlarge

Proton Persona

Proton Persona Rear Seat Bench

592 Comments »

1. wookie00 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 12:30 pm

Definitely a great improvement with all the quirkiness wannabes removed. This model should pose quite a competition against the basic Japanese models. Haven’t feel the seat yet though… you can tell the quality if when you are in the driver’s seat and fiddling with all the knobs and cracks. We’ll see. ;)

2. ganz said,

August 15, 2007 @ 12:31 pm

mmm… pray for proton… and continuous bashing from this thread.. from the spec it seems that persona may capture buyer.. few friend already ask me (since i’m using gen2) what the possibilities of similarity of this car from gen2 ..

all i can advice to my friend is:-
    1. wait till it fully launch.. feel it..
    2. give first batch customer to give feedback .. there will be group of Persona (like prohatch, gen2club, V6sixxer, etc)..
    3. don’t bash if u don’t have any interest in buying this.

3. Infinitt said,

August 15, 2007 @ 12:36 pm

Wishing all the best to proton of new born baby..Persona.

4. longdongsilver said,

August 15, 2007 @ 12:42 pm

Paul, great article. Please do a tech article on the improvements. It looks like Proton have started to get with the program. The Persona actually looks normal!!!
    Hope they get rid of all that crappy Lotus DNA. “Handling by Lotus” is all they are worth. Have a regular car for the masses. Black/ grey interior is definately a good and classy choice.
    If the quality and service network can cope with the customers, I am sure the Proton Persona would give the Honda City and Toyota Vios a run for their money (never thought I would say that). They certainly got the prices competitive.

5. bestofamat said,

August 15, 2007 @ 12:45 pm

haiyaa… i want to change my car…. who want to buy my kelisa?

6. revive said,

August 15, 2007 @ 12:45 pm

Nice review Paul, let’s see Proton will revive after this

7. mutt said,

August 15, 2007 @ 12:59 pm

thanks for the review Paul. like it very much. hope Persona will stop all Proton bashers mouth.

8. satun said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:01 pm

aiseyman 56k already dapat kereta with ebd,airbag,abs… rugi loo beli waja tahun lepas….

What to do…

9. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:02 pm

nice nice nice…This is good….as i hope in the previous post…YES

10. ab said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:13 pm

a direct competition with the waja 1.6 if u ask me

11. blunt said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:15 pm

Paul,
    During the media preview, Did somebody ask why ‘persona’ insist on using the same crop design tail lamp.

12. Paul Tan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:18 pm

I did ask. The answer made sense somewhat. It is a supply issue. The previous management overestimated by a large margin how many GEN2 cars they were going to sell. So certain commitments have been given to suppliers to enjoy a certain price for a certain amount. As usual in business larger quantity means lower price. Now Proton has to continue with that amount of rear taillamp orders, so they have to use them on the Persona. Hopefully with a facelift later the design will be changed.

13. blackcipan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:21 pm

Wow!!This is what Gen2 should have been right from the day one.This car surely is more practical,a bit more spacious and less-challenging to be accepted by the market.Judging by the amount of things changed on car (higher roofline at the rear,a proper trunk with clearer visibility,a totally new and more quality looking door trim, availability of glovebox),it really justifies a new name to dis-associate it from current Gen2 hatchback.

The price is definitely competitive,especially the low-line variant doesn’t seems to give away too much of the equipment from higher end variant. RM45k might draw the sales away from the smaller hatchback that is available on the market now.

All in all,I hope this car stays to its promise-that it has a higher quality.Let see how the sales shape up and see whether this car can end the dark days of Proton.

14. F430CS said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:22 pm

Success or failure. Now all depends on marketing.

15. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:23 pm

So PAUL, Any Star from YourSelf? How many? So when the launch by PM ?

16. rosdi said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:24 pm

No manual for the H-Line model?? Aiyoh!… I want manual car but I also want airbag for both driver and passenger!

Only H-Line model has two airbags.. but it is Auto only!! Damn! damn!

17. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:27 pm

I found here that there is no detail on the back seat….hemmm, would to see more PAUL

18. neo2 said,

I m not here to bash P1, after carefully reading through Paul’s review, I find refinement and improvement to Persona. I also have computed the monthly instalment as follows:
    Persona Car 7 year 9 year
    Model Loan (RM) Interest Interest
    1.6 HL (M) AT 55,300 15,019.48 19,310.76
    1.6 ML (M) AT 52,300 14,204.68 18,263.16
    1.6 ML (M) MT 49,300 13,389.88 17,215.56
    1.6 BL (M) AT 47,949 13,022.95 16,743.79
    1.6 BL (M) MT 44,949 12,208.15 15,696.19
    1.6 BL (S) AT 47,449 12,887.15 16,569.19
    1.6 BL (S) MT 44,499 12,085.93 15,539.05
    Total Total Total
    1.6 HL (M) AT 55,300 70,319.48 74,610.76
    1.6 ML (M) AT 52,300 66,504.68 70,563.16
    1.6 ML (M) MT 49,300 62,689.88 66,515.56
    1.6 BL (M) AT 47,949 60,971.95 64,692.79
    1.6 BL (M) MT 44,949 57,157.15 60,645.19
    1.6 BL (S) AT 47,449 60,336.15 64,018.19
    1.6 BL (S) MT 44,499 56,584.93 60,038.05
    Instalment Instalment Instalment
    1.6 HL (M) AT 55,300 837.14 690.84
    1.6 ML (M) AT 52,300 791.72 653.36
    1.6 ML (M) MT 49,300 746.31 615.88
    1.6 BL (M) AT 47,949 725.86 599.01
    1.6 BL (M) MT 44,949 680.44 561.53
    1.6 BL (S) AT 47,449 718.29 592.76
    1.6 BL (S) MT 44,499 673.63 555.91

Assumption: Downpayment RM500.00 only, the rest financed by loan. Annual interest charged at 3.88%.
    I also check the controversial “tax-free” price for the following car:
    Toyota Vios 1.5E RM47,281.62 1.5G RM54,325.70
    Source: http://www.toyota.com.my
    Honda City 1.5 i-DSI RM53,800.00 1.5 V-TEC RM56,800.00
    Source: http://www.honda.com.my
    All prices are based on Langkawi selling price.
    I believe with the improved technology in engine, built quality and achieving economy of scale, P1 will be able to emerge as global reknown automaker, EVEN AND ESPECIALLY WITHOUT EXCESSIVE PROTECTION FROM G.

19. 4G63T DSM said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:29 pm

Thats a good start. Hopefully it will carry though the rest of the range.

Wonder if they went through all that trouble with the interior, why didn;t they improve the feel of the steering wheel.

Nice split/lift rear seats. Dont see seats that fold this flat (which is even better than the satria Neo) very often. Definately useful.

Whats with that fender gap though…?

20. xstan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:29 pm

Just got back from the shoowroom. Didnt get to test drive , just see-see, look-look, feel-feel & hear. Many of the observers are rather impressed with it. I tot it will be drastic change in the dash, but still same only quality improvised. Solid feel door when u slam or close the door. Indeed spacious for such segment. I actually like the front grill, its soooo very nice. I like the addition centre crome grill that go accross the logo. Side view is indeed better than my expectation. Obviously soooo much better than Gen2. The interior feel present a comfy seating. Overall its a good car for such price range & definately it will beat Viva or maybe Myvi in sales segment & market. Its a car for a family of 5 & unless u r timid driver & of lady gender , student, then I understand Myvi suits u.

Proton certainly deliver on quality improvisation. Good work.

21. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:35 pm

No changes to the engine improment…Only TCU for Auto……So, conclusion is this car only my dream, I will move to Waja…:(

22. drebar said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:36 pm

double thumbs up to proton if this persona is as good as we read here and saw on picture.

will go check it out tonight…

23. szw said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:37 pm

very nice.
    but if they would debut the CPS here , then proton just hit the right spot .
    in the mean time , just wait for the CPS to come out .
    all the best proton !

24. haroldz said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:42 pm

As usual Proton basher, i would like to start bashing them.
    so far i can only find these:

1. the aircond controller is similar to saga/iswara
    2. no LED indicator at d side mirror?
    3. tail lamp similar to gen.2 (then again paul tan oredi explain why)
    -hope 2 c a different design
    4. no improve over d engine
    -is persona heavier than gen.2?
    5. similar bodykit wit gen.2

overall: Not original design (adopted from gen.2).
    Same engine but bigger cabin/ rear boots.
    Improved safety feature
    Another reason to trade ur aging saga/iswara

25. edwindudley2003 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:43 pm

The door trims looks way better …looks like it doesnt have that cheap plasticky feeling on it anymore..

26. e-nabilll said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:46 pm

paul , ur driving impressions are so different from the one chris yap wrote on motor trader ! bt it loks nice.large rear makes the car looks grown up….

27. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:55 pm

This price will a bit up when CPS + VIM introduce.. next year

28. timber8115 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:57 pm

hi paultan,

let me give you a round of applause for the good article review as i always like the way you do it. Bravo paultan.. keep up the good work…

As for proton, i would like to wish them all the best as this is the real car we are waiting for although it is not perfect but yet it is what the rakyat wanted.
    Keep up the good work as the rakyat is proud of you…

29. badsoulfly said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:58 pm

first time in my life this is the first time i’m really really proud with PROTON..
    even they only add the butt of Gen2..and then becoming as Persona..this is the most beautiful 100% made in Malaysia..lot of improvement air bags and new transmission like imported cars..but just only RM50,000something…better peoples take this chance to have one… look like new Lancer GT from the side

30. silverfish said,

August 15, 2007 @ 1:59 pm

Well, it looks like a whole hearted effort to improve and make a more wholesome product. For that I give one thumbs up. I would have given another half if they had specced it higher or priced it lower. And simplify things. Just offer a premium version with everything in AT and MT and a basic version with AT/MT. And stay away from the Waja’s price range.

That said, if you didn’t need the extra boot space, save the extra dough and go for the Myvi. I would.

31. Apathy said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:01 pm

If what Mr.Paul’s review is true, kudos to protonG top ppl. i know it’s hard to change rakyats perception towards protonG. Let’s wait 1 year after launching this model, then ppl who bought it can share with us your experience. Hehehehe you all jadi protonG’s lab rat ler. Hohoho. Then baru we all can bash/defend this model. Viel Glück protonG.

32. timber8115 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:02 pm

but the meter cluster on the rpm side look crowded with the fuel, door ajar etc…. should share with the other jiran… hahahaha

33. Apathy said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:07 pm

Finally…..a boss who listens. Congratulation from the bottom of my heart.

34. zanggief said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:09 pm

Woo..!it looks like the quality has better improvement. It can give some of the imported model a challenge…good work for proton…

35. acbc said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:12 pm

No improvement on the engine? Still suffering from poor low-end torque? No way… I’ll pass.

36. nescartel said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:13 pm

vielen dank proton!!! :D i’m gonna get one!

37. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:14 pm

silverfish

If this model got premium version, it will kill Waja production…..Marketing man…. :)

38. piston said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:23 pm

Its a Sedan hope the best for Proton.

39. kei9 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:23 pm

Dat iridicescent black purple is awesome! totally luxurious colour…

40. narrowband said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:25 pm

Well done.

Like the Gen.2, I really love the design of the car.

Other than that, very minor - if any ‘considerably’ notable - improvements.

It’s a step forward nonetheless therefore I’m optimistic of Proton’s future again.

41. Skyline said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:29 pm

Have improvement on the engine power.. I love it !!
    Paul,
    Any Persona R3 pic?

42. ob8 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:35 pm

the ribena colour is cool, remids me of the old putra. its definitely a balik kampung car. better nvh, big trunk and just in time too. i would wish for a diffrent rear lights though. myvi and viva is not a balik kampung car, its more of a go to 24hr mamak stall car. go go proton powerangers..

43. umarss said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:36 pm

i wonder how close the photoshop pic that was featured in the blog few months ago with the REAL Persona?…from what i remember..it seems quite close…nice job whoever did the photoshop thing…(dont remember his name..sorry)

anyway, i think this is a sure hit for msian market,give it some time to be somewhat more ‘matured’ though..kudos to proton!!

44. offroader manix said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:39 pm

Mind you..this could be a dangerous car when you step on it.

The rear of the car is too high……so when you brake hard into a corner or any E brake situation.the car rear might wants to come around……this car got weight distribution problem.

Just like the previous Camry model which is a disaster in weight distribution…..which is dangerous.

45. gow8 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:39 pm

Still an ugly looking car. Will not be seen in one. We have better choice from other car manufactures. Better to have a good partner like VW and we get to see better products from Proton. This car will not sell.

46. ali38hak said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:44 pm

nice job, but i am still waiting the estate (wagon) modell from proton and with diesel engine…
    i contacted the proton and they answeared that is in process.. :)))
    i wish all a happy day… hallo from Türkey

47. Vegatron said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:49 pm

PLEASE no estate with diesel engine!!!

I only have 2 questions not answered, maybe those who viewed and test driven the car can tell:-

1. Is the power window still auto down only? or have they finally given it auto up as well.

2. Why don’t have H-line M/T? Manual drivers don’t need ABS EBD????

my 2 sushis worth

48. xstan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 2:49 pm

Boy..there still so call BLIND BASHER. Never see one but just simply bashed. Well cant blame…this blind basher must be an UGLY chap so would not one to sit in one, right?? It’s not sellable only to this UGLY CHAP.

49. bmx said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:04 pm

Is the ABS here stands for Anti-Lock Braking System or Advanced Braking System?
    Heard from mechanics that both are different, as Anti-Lock Braking is the ‘real’ thing.

Have they improved the CAPTOR? sucking too much battery power?

50. Ricc said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:07 pm

This new Persona really impressed me.. The price is very competitive.. Good move from Proton.. Lets see if this will change our mind towards Proton… But I personally not really like the dashboard design.. If like Waja.. then yes.. this car is near perfect liao..

51. engtaokia said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:07 pm

basically there is major improvement from Proton. good luck lah…

52. leongylun said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:11 pm

this is new car?? haha..it sounds funny..it’s just a long version GEN2 and no much differences between the GEN2 and Persona..and this car will replace the best selling Wira? But GEN2 was already replaced Wira wat? then this car will replace GEN2 lo? haha!! P1 pls dun waste money in developing something useless stuff, what we wan is totally new car model…
    And i personally think that the current GEN2 owners why they pay higher price for hatchback and now the long GEN2 only cost 46k..not fair la…

53. david_loves_cars said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:14 pm

In any fair society, and this is one I believe, credit where credit is due. congrats Proton.

clearly the Proton team has been listening and has re-doubled their efforts to get it right.

hey, it will not be a perfect car - none of these modern day production cars are problem free - hence all the recalls across the world from the big guys - but it is now up to world standards. No small effort lah

so well done Proton, coz it appears to be great car and the start of a real turn-around.

54. moha774 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:14 pm

To Proton, thanks for a well priced and specced car. I t should be like this from the beginning, more proactive and listen to their costumers… by the way that manual gearknob will rattled in due time since it is a 2 piece construction just like Savvy…. better make sure the vendor screw in 3/4″ screw to keep them together to avoid rattling…

By the way I’m impressed by Offroader manix… we dont need a state of the art design tools to know the handling and stability of the car, just ask him he will tell you by looking at it…. no need to do test drive also…

55. silverfish said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:15 pm

Aril said,

silverfish

If this model got premium version, it will kill Waja production…..Marketing man….

———————–

This just tells me you don’t know what I’m saying. Premium ie highline lor.

Speaking of which, its already going to steal part of the Waja’s customers anyway.

This is an age where cars overlap segments. Like the Latio which competes with both the B and C segment. Consumers don’t just look at the size of the engine anymore. For people of the more cynical kind, like me, They’ve got to have something extra to convince to pay the extra dough over a top spec Myvi for example. Just the 1.6 vs 1.3 don’t cut it. Its not like you’re going anywhere much faster with a slightly bigger engine. In fact, fuel economy seems to be the bigger draw these days. Right now, the only really obvious thing the Persona has over a supermini like the Myvi is a proper boot. And if I don’t need that, why spend the extra cash?

Not so much a criticism, more thinking out loud. I still think they could price it more competitively. I don’t really get the M line. Skip that and just have the B line and the H line (with manual option) and price the H Line manual right smack into Myvi territory. Now that’s going to get people going.

56. mr42 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:16 pm

Hiii…no time yet to see the car in flesh…I’ll give my congrats and wish Proton good luck…

BTW, does the H line version come with full leather seatings?

57. fairozee said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:22 pm

leongylun said :-
    “And i personally think that the current GEN2 owners why they pay higher price for hatchback and now the long GEN2 only cost 46k..not fair la…”

The hacthback always priced higher than the sedan. So wut are you talking about?

58. lowprofile said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:24 pm

i’ve seen it, touched it, felt it and it’s miles better than the g2. i think i’ll stop being a proton basher… may even consider it. overall, for the price, it is good value for money. quality is almost a quantum leap over the g2. all that remains is the achilles heel - the power windows!! this remains to be seen if it is as good as the proton ceo says.

59. jDheng said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:25 pm

Hi Paul,

What about fuel consumption ? With full tank of fuel, how far can you go ? I mean for average/normal driving condition.

Full tank = little ?

60. zack_keyme988 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:26 pm

HOHO…THATS THE IMPRESSIVE IMPROVEMENT FROM PROTON…THE

INTERIOR HAVE SOME IMPROVEMENT LIKE GLOVEBOX AND THE DOOR

TRIM…LOOK NICER AND CONVINIENCE THAN THE PREVIOUS GEN.2… ALSO

GOT NICER N BETTER LEGROOM AND HEADROOM… THE GEAR KNOB ALSO

SEEMS LIKE USING IN WAJA… MAYBE CUT COST…..

GOOD JOB PROTON…..

TRULY MEM’PERSONA’KAN….

61. jehutyz said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:29 pm

Not yet go n check it out.
    Actually i feel this one is nice enough. With the spec and price is not bad at all.

62. Dogster said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:31 pm

There are 3 things I just cant understand about this new car. Why cant they redesign:
    1) a better looking steering wheel?
    2) a better rear light?
    3) the air-cond controls?

Other than that, everything seems better. :) Removed the clock, relocate the window controls, changed interior colors and looks aggressive from the front …..

Hmm maybe the long logo on the boot should be shifted abit lower?

63. panzer said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:33 pm

test

64. panzer said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:35 pm

I dont think this model will bring proton back to profit.People are fed up with the quality and after sales service.As usual,all proton are overhyped during their launch.

65. leongylun said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:36 pm

fairozee
    The hacthback always priced higher than the sedan. So wut are you talking about?

then how about the proton 27k proton saga vs the proton saga iswara taxi model( the long type one) with 34k. 27k car is the newer model while the taxi model priced 35k currently with 15 years old designs. Proton always sell the new or facelifted cars with lower price la…go to check it out….

66. AMG said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:40 pm

Ok, that the real proton…
    Better car…..

67. ys said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:43 pm

i just wonder this new long ass Gen2 still giving the low roof line problem as compare to Gen2. i still remember when i sit in Gen2. i hardly can sit up straight at behind. i am a 6 footer and there are sure more of malaysian taller than me.

68. malimkundang said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:44 pm

One thing that I always don’t like the way proton build the car is that seems they neglected the aesthetic and functional look of the car. The design of the headlamp and the tail lamp looks appropriate and aesthetically good for Gen-2. But I don’t see it works for the sedan. I think Proton designer need to look at that first. Nowdays buyers don’t look at the price only when they want to buy a car but design is under their consideration too. The centre panel for the dashboard seems out of place for the sedan. It works on the Gen-2 because of the sporty theme. I expect more conventional centre cluster which run down towards the arm rest. The front end (nose) is totally not harmony with the rest of the car shape.

I think more conventional and functional front end would be better. The interior in general doesn’t look solid enough. I prefer something that is more thick in terms of the lining and solid dashboard. I wonder how the sound of the door when it close.

Actually I am in a middle of buying a new car, but at this point of time I didn’t put Persona in my list. Not because I am prejudice towards Proton, but some of it details is just not of my liking especially the headlamp, the tail lamp, the side mirror, the dashboard, the interior lining is not solid enough.

This is just my personal view and it didn’t reflect the others. There might be someone who like the design.

For the price range I think it is reasonable because of the national car title.

69. garend said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:45 pm

Hi Hi Paul..

I am a newbie.. I just started work recently… I was actually planned to buy the Wira Special Edition… until I saw this… both is within my budget.

Wira Special Edition is cheaper.. but it is of old technology.

Please help by giving some advice as which are is more suitable? I am travelling around 80 to 90KM a day because my job is in Cyber…

Please HELP… !!!!…

70. gonggok said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:50 pm

Low roofline?

Come on la…read Paul’s post. The Persona has more rear headroom than the Vios & City!

Went to the showroom the car looks good and that base line price is tempting. I’m sure many Myvi salesman are busy thinking up ways to bad mouth the Persona.

71. lowprofile said,

August 15, 2007 @ 3:55 pm

yes, rear headroom much much better thanks to the higher rear roofline.

72. xstan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:02 pm

In order for Proton to sustain profit is not to entirely produce a new model, changing all its design or whatsoever. So, financially smart they just enhanced the existing unit so u still see similar dashboard, stering or the rear lights etc. Anyway, they just cant please everyone. I too doent like the steering wheel but other features is really a boost to the entire enterior.But…I kinda like the rear lights. Its unique right??? Different from other car designs…at least its original design. As said…it just cant please everyone. But judging from teh response, this car will certainly sell.

73. ariff said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:03 pm

why persona aa??
    why not Gen.2 sedan..
    anyway..thumbs up proton but thumbs down again bcoz no CPS

74. timber8115 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:04 pm

hi ys,

i am a six footer also… let me go and have a try and i will post comment tomorrow…hehe

75. ilmondo said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:05 pm

yea it surely is tempting at tat price.. thinking back those days wher 1.5 wiras r around dis price.. so far it seems really +ve.. think dis is proton’s rakyat’s car.. hope dis car is ‘big’ enuf 2 save proton.. really hope so.. n also hope tat gen2 facelift will receive similar treatment on its refinement.. i think waja has d potential 2 grow too.. cant wait 2 c waja cps.. hopefully they tackle owner’s feedback..

back 2 persona.. those 15 inch rims looks small on dis! surprising! hmm.. dis wil surely look sweet wit some nice but no overstyled bodykit.. cant wait 2 go n check it out.. test drive maybe.. well done proton.. really do hope its well enuf! PROTON..

76. fairozee said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:09 pm

leongylun,

I’m talking bout hatchback and sedan in term of pricing in generic term. It is a common practice by any manufacturer to priced their hatchback slightly higher than the sedan model.

Yes it not fair for current Gen2 owner coz sedan is more value for your money imo, but what can you about it?

About the cheaper Saga, well they are selling it cheap becoz the replacement is coming out next year. You can’t expect lower cheaper every time they launch a new model even though, it would be great to do that.I think that only will happen in the next future when they already have replacement for gen2/persona in line.

77. bobdbilder said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:16 pm

Dudes

Everything is uberhyped. Hype makes a salesmen job easier. We thrive on hype! Remember the Ce’ed? City’s elastic 7 shifter. Constant Variable Transmission. Chris Bangle.

However, I do not think the Persona was an overhyped campaign. It was subtle. And it did not need to be overhyped. The campaign may be understated and rightfully so. Haven’t seen the TV ad yet. Everybody knew it was going to be based on the Gen 2 plus the cellulite. Its designed to be practical. Toyota did preach the benefit of small constant changes. Looks like Proton’s on the right track. Very refreshing that they did not stop while the VW talks are still on. THAT takes a lot of guts.

78. khimfoh said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:30 pm

Overall the exterior looks decent not ‘ground-breaking’ but just enough to satisfy those who want a decent looking sedan.

The glove-box compartment honestly though, looks like an after-thought. It doesn’t seem to blend in with the entire dashboard.

Good that the power-window controllers have been reposition to the doors for easier access. The seat fabrics looks inviting.

I kinda agree with one of the post that Proton should do away with the M-line model and just have a Basic and High-line model.

However at this day-in-age, dual SRS airbags and ABS should be standard feature irregardless whether the car is a lower spec or higher spec.

Perhaps the High-line model should have leather seats to differentiate it from the base line model.

Whether the Persona will bring back Proton to its ‘glory’ days is another story all together. Personally Proton cars a good, is just that the service centers doesn’t do a good job of providing car servicing.

79. iamamonkey said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:36 pm

I have a gripe.

Why the hell the highline only have 15 inch wheels. Wheels are like shoes. A nice suit/dress requires nice shoes, not flip-flops.

The Proton Persona is a nice car. Rather bulky in the rear, but with 15 inch wheels, it looks soft and un-garang. 16s or 17s will do the job. But then again the R&H might be affected……harsher ride, compared to the softer ride that they are trying to go for……

Looks nice in the pictures, but then again, so did Gen.2.

80. proton GL said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:41 pm

i think they ll about stopping the waja,
    and prepare for MPV,

and a small hot hatch LOTUS, (high performance satria neo)

bad idea?,, no
    last time there were Cortina, Carlton,
    this is the major event that change the whole perception of proton brand name

81. Remedy said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:47 pm

I bought perodua MYVI 4 month ago.. Today i book Proton persona for my second car.. because it so much better than MYVI… Thanks proton.. Your interior very nice.. Quality great.. Love the persona door slam sound.. sooo much better than myVI.. For me as a student.. this car is a must have..

p/s- Who said p2 make a great car???

82. xsi said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:47 pm

(quote) neo2 said,
    Assumption: Downpayment RM500.00 only, the rest financed by loan. Annual interest charged at 3.88%.
    I also check the controversial “tax-free” price for the following car:
    Toyota Vios 1.5E RM47,281.62 1.5G RM54,325.70
    Source: http://www.toyota.com.my
    Honda City 1.5 i-DSI RM53,800.00 1.5 V-TEC RM56,800.00
    Source: http://www.honda.com.my
    All prices are based on Langkawi selling price.
    I believe with the improved technology in engine, built quality and achieving economy of scale, P1 will be able to emerge as global reknown automaker, EVEN AND ESPECIALLY WITHOUT EXCESSIVE PROTECTION FROM G.
    (quote)

this guy must be kidding, comparing a gen2S penisular malaysia price with vios/city price in langkawi…hehehehe….not a proton basher? yeah right…

but surprisingly, this sedan base model price about the same with myvi….and myvi is at then end of the day, is still only a smaller car that looks better. Power wise, ride wise and handling wise, even crappier than a kelisa….

83. itstime said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:49 pm

Silverfish said:
    “Just the 1.6 vs 1.3 don’t cut it.”

Not quite true. Those whose mileage claims depend on the cc of the car will go for bigger engine. A good example are the civil servants. It used to be a difference of about 15cents per km. Not sure about it now though.

Anyhow went to see the car just now. Perfect car for couples with small kids especilly the balik kampung type. Better finishing than gen 2. Those who wished for a bigger space and a sedan will probably opt for waja and others.

84. razor_clawzz said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:50 pm

The only factor that drives the sales is the price. And that’s it. Anyway Proton will always sell well in Malaysia. The only thing that can take that advantage away from Proton/P2 is AFTA.

85. e-nabilll said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:54 pm

i jus saw it in showrrom , only highline have 4 disc brake,others only disk/drum…..rear is alot of headroom compare to my gen2…overall is a nice and sensible purchase,bt ya as some ppl mentioned above…y wd anyone buy a waja now….almost 7k more,bt doesnt offer anyting more than the persona has….or maybe its an indication a new refreshed waja is on the way?? othr diferences is the higher tyre profile,60 rather than 55….

86. ganz said,

August 15, 2007 @ 4:55 pm

well already see THEM..but no test drive.. the sales person do not entertain me as i just using old cup cai today..

my view.. far better than gen2.. esp on interior… dark look kewl.. with glove box and also with central lock..door trim also look far better than my gen2..

if only i want to comment (without discussing about engine performance) is driver and co-pilot seat.. look cheap.

87. e-nabilll said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:00 pm

another two info , persona doesnt come with captor like the gen2,and althought the rear boot hav alot of space and very deep,the opening is pretty small….

88. brusli said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:01 pm

Well….after seeing the car, feel it, touch it, and sit in it, my conclusion is that its just a normal sedan car….and a normal sedan car that actually the market wants. I dont fancy the exterior look, but I believe this is what most customer prefers, comparing against the Gen2.

On the interior, I can see and feel a lot of improvement. The seat feels more comfortable and the seating position is better than Gen2. The door interior panels have been redesigned and better materials have been used.

Overall, as a budget car, I consider the Persona as worth buying. But if you have extra fund, then Waja is definitely a better choice.

Good luck proton.

89. hughie522 said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:12 pm

From the rear, the Persona looks quite good, but it looks awkward from the side and ’stock Gen.2′ from the front. A revised front end would most likely help sales on the international market.

I’ve seen a handful of Gen.2’s driving around (Brisbane, Australia), and the occasional Savvy. However, Proton is still very much an ‘unknown quantity’ down under, and I doubt this new sedan will help sales on the international front.

The interior is a vast improvement, but why the tacky steering wheel? Is this too a pre-ordered stock problem like the tail-lights? It works well with the Savvy’s low-cost interior but in a car that’s set to compete with the Nissan Tiida and Suzuki Swift it seems cheap. Also, there doesn’t seem to be enough to differentiate it from the Gen.2 hatch (aeroback); I doubt it’ll attract new buyers in Oz or the U.K. The Satria Neo was a step in the right direction, but this seems almost like a step backwards.

Sorry to be a P.B., but it really is a disappointment…

90. schdmitz said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:13 pm

congrat! P1 for introducing the old new car….its looked nice and stylish….how about the FUEL? tats the thing we concern these days…..Looking forward to hear from those owners….i’m not bashing but saying the real thing….

91. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:21 pm

Silverfish
    =============================

Yeah..just an opinion. But basically if you study marketing…then you will no.. but i respect that..

BTW, HL and Premium is different…even both got ABS, EBD, and so on.
    Premium at Waja is traditon and suppose limited, even in 2002, 2003, 2004 all got premium version same like 2007. As i said, if both segment got premium, Waja will dead. And i think Premium only for Waja dude

92. wong said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:24 pm

good to hear Paul tan say theres improvement overall..the steering wheel looks similar to my Neo..dont like it at first, but its okay once i got used to it

93. xstan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:26 pm

BTW, anyone remember this chap who promised to be back with Bashing or Critic by on 15th August. Neo or something…just expecting his comments.

94. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:30 pm

yeah…his name NEO2…..I think he go and book this car..hehehehehe

95. pipzs said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:44 pm

yeahh… i went to the mutiara d’sara branch… overall it was ok for family car, bigger boots… confirm booked!!! but one thing, the seats looks cheap, the persona font on the back looking a lil bit funny.. im ok with the rest… oh yeah paul, i think for all comment on ur page, it’s better u place the latest comment on the top so we dont have to scroll all the way down to place a comment =) anyway, thts just a suggestion frm me…. proton here i come.. mempersonakan….

96. xylencia said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:45 pm

this is just to answer garend who asked if he should go for this or the Wira SE.

Go for the Persona, do not be taken in by people who say that the Wira is “proven technology” bla bla bla.

These ppl will still buy the Wira, knowing that things will break down and they will start shouting and complaining later. For their own MISTAKE!

I was at the launch at COE. and I must say the Persona thoroughly impressed me. For the price, this is a real winner.

97. wong said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:50 pm

I think let this guy neo2 give his opinion…

98. encikwan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:55 pm

If the price is the range of USD 10k, I will consider.

99. xylencia said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:56 pm

ariff said,
    August 15, 2007 @ 4:03 pm

why persona aa??
    why not Gen.2 sedan..

——————————————————–

A good question. I asked a corporate comm guy the exact same thing. He said it was to show a progression. Of how the Persona brand has improved. This is not for the benefit of Malaysians however. But for overseas countries who have been exposed to the Persona brand for a decade. So what they are doing here is like what car manufacturers always been doing. Use the same name but show how the brand has improved.

100. tHe CuLpRit said,

August 15, 2007 @ 5:59 pm

im not getting a car anytime soon or anything, but i still dont understand proton’s decision not to offer a manual high-line option…

but since this is targetted at budget buyers, proton probably assumed that those wanting to pay more will want an auto anyway (lotsa kl-ites prefer autos these days, esp due to jam), and the manuals are just there to give option for those wanting even more cheaper Persona…

i guess if u want a stick shift, have to go for the “sportier” Gen2..

speaking of Gen2, i had kinda half expected the facelift to be launced together, but looks like that aint happening…. any ideas when this will be?

101. mockviper said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:15 pm

i think the manual H-Line will be available soon with CPS… just maybe. to make it the top of line Persona.

102. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:22 pm

Yeah…we want manual HL….manual..manual…..

103. kerelbort said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:25 pm

Good job Proton… guessing this can compete with like of City or Vios outside Malaysia.

104. sobri said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:29 pm

Paul Tan, Gen 2 has copied a lot from Mazda 3 exterior styling, if I may say so. However, the interior and drive are definitely inferior.

How would you compare Persona to Mazda 3, in terms of quality and drive?

105. Paul Tan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:33 pm

sobri: the gen2 and the mazda3 was launched only about 6-8 months away from each other. if proton can restyle the gen2 to copy the mazda3 in such a short time we are giving them far too little credit than they deserve. in other words, i dont think the gen2 copied from the mazda3.

106. pipzs said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:35 pm

when i was at the showroom, there’s one “leng-lui” who wants to explain me bout the car and she said “this car arr, got auto-break” and i was like laughing and i said “u mean, auto door lock?” and she said “aiya soli soli soli ya yah, auto door lock, soli ar boss”… and i continued laughing…. she’s definitely want the comissions…pity…

107. ASIMOtypeR said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:36 pm

remote boot opening (h-line only), good move proton.
    I still worry about fuel consumption..

108. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:37 pm

agree…also we can check PROTON design at intellectual property for trademark purpose…..

109. pipzs said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:38 pm

if im not mistaken, full tank u can fill is about RM90…think so..

110. Aril said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:40 pm

all salesman and girl should study properly on the new launch product…..this is must for consumer for better understanding…

111. faizulamin said,

August 15, 2007 @ 6:43 pm

hi all..

it’s only that i’ve owned Savvy. if not, definitely i’ll buy this car!
    and “berlagak-berlagak” during this coming hari raya! hahahaha…

p/s: just wondering, who is the head design engineer for waja, savvy, satria neo and gen2/person…

112. proton GL said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:04 pm

subtle side skirt there

113. sylkhannaz said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:04 pm

Nice effort by proton.

Proton may also benefit feedbacks from internet media such as yours, Paul, and some other. As seen from posts above, there are a lot of positive feedbacks but as we can see, most of them demand engine upgrades. Well, as we know, Proton is currently working on that as well, the CPS.

However, those who actually leaves comments here are mostly motorheads/enthusiasts so their comment might not align with general public or target customers.

In my opinion, Gen2 doesnt look that bad, and to use it as a base is actually not a bad idea. Should Proton used Neo as a base, I guess it would be even more appealing especially to typical 4-door loving users.

Anyway, i think they should lose the long Chrysler-like chrome.

114. J said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:09 pm

I think this is great from Proton !

Is this the one which will be exported to China (30,000 units) ?

115. cbljkkj said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:11 pm

Wheels still look far too small, disproportionate to the overall size of the body. The interior looks like a Gen2 made love to a Neo. Styling cues such as the air-conditioner dials, steering wheel and the gear box looks to be a direct port from the Neo

116. hyundai said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:22 pm

proton is so funny to let persona fight wif waja! persona is the latest model and size is about wif waja but cheaper than waja…

117. happymeal said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:32 pm

wishlist for the car.

1. higher rear seat bench please. its so low, as if sitting in the old iswara. once seated, your knees are forced to either place high up, or spread your legs to the side. a myvi wins on the rear seat accommodation.
    same goes for the front seats. it really reminds me of the wira, positioned low and thin cushion.
    2. door panels quite impressive. but the door locking mechanism sounds abit loud each time it goes up n down…maybe needs some refinement.
    3. centre array of switches. someone mentioned its not “informative” enough ie. dunno if its on or off. needs a more solid feel.
    4. steering wheel still not as comfy as waja with the thumbrest and curved/rounded 9-3 position spoke.

improved stuff -
    1. instruments stalks and a/c controls have good weight to it. not loose and plasticky like the waja.
    2. aircon vents not as tacky as Neo. Full closure mechanism (pushing the left-right fins shuts the airflow) feels solid and works well.
    3. interior door lever has a good weight to it, not loose and flimsy like waja.

still prefer the gen2 design as this car seems out of proportion. probably like all car shapes, need time to grow fond of it.

118. tech.titan said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:36 pm

paul, great coverage on proton persona. i’ve been reading your articles for a while and today i’ve decided to sign-up and give some comments.

proton persona definitely will meet the needs of family oriented buyers. proton certainly moving towards the right direction. it will probably help the company to boost its sales. i’ll buy my persona once its fitted with cps & vim.

however imho proton still need to restructure its product offering. i’m no marketing expert but for malaysian market, 8 models ( with variant like baseline, medium line, high line and premium for each model) are not going to do any good in terms of achieving the economic scale for each production.

all in all, kudos to proton.

119. Remedy said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:39 pm

if anyone asking which one to choose gen 2 or this persona.. i go for this new sedan.. see for your self the quality and the interior..

120. rhinodatum said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:54 pm

Still there’s one thing i don’t like- the steering wheel. Gosh it looks like those go-cart steering wheel yaks!!. The Waja steering is far better and classier.

Well at least now they changed the door panel and removed the center pop-up clock which is a good thing!

121. wong said,

August 15, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

manage to see this model,I would say theres real improvement, dashboard looks more solid,steering wheels looks like Neo,s, but better ‘feel’, spacious boot, sit inside and the family car ‘feel’ is there..very different than Neo..good work Proton..

122. topgunthang said,

August 15, 2007 @ 8:10 pm

ok. proton is so successful with this launch. lets drop all anti-competitive taxes on foreign cars.

123. nmh said,

August 15, 2007 @ 8:16 pm

i second that topgunthang

124. chanel said,

August 15, 2007 @ 8:21 pm

hey i think everbody miss out something……

the boot no longer using old type method….now Proton put in a pair of absober to support the trunk….hence making the boot space more bigger

125. PTAllTheBest said,

August 15, 2007 @ 8:23 pm

ha!! funny…
    50k for a old looking car…just redesign something and sell off at that price.
    please dun waste rakyat money.

126. The Unicons said,

August 15, 2007 @ 8:43 pm

Good review Paul. However, hope more photos you can put in such as the door opener, rear seat, over internal view of front and rear panel and others. Anyway, good work.

Until now, there are more than 2200 booking of Proton Persona since the soft launch back in 21 July 2007 - if not mistaken about the date. So less than a month I personally think it is a good starts.

Still have no time to check out Persona closer but passed by two showrooms after work just now seems there are quite many people inside and saw one car outside the showroom for the test drive purpose.

Based on Paul’s review, Proton Persona really much better compare to the older model especially the Waja, Gen2 and Savvy. For Satria Neo, still have room for improvements.

That’s all I can say and will post again after I really seeing the car nearer.

All the best to Proton and weird there are few Blind Bashers here talking something without facts.

127. PTAllTheBest said,

August 15, 2007 @ 8:45 pm

there is 1 thing which i very hate about it.
    only HL got disk brake. come on la. what century oledi.
    dun give a $H!# on this car
    better save a few k. go and buy myvi
    more spacious

128. hcgui said,

August 15, 2007 @ 9:01 pm

A Hi-Line Proton Persona complete with CPS and VIM selling around RM58K will surely kick new Vios, City and Latio’s arse REAL HARD!

come on Proton, give us the CPS and VIM in Persona! Waja will get CPS very soon so we know basically it’s ready! i understand from the marketing point of view tat this will surely hurt the sales of ur new Waja and new Gen2 but this is the BEST way for u to turn everything around!

Cheers and Happy 50th Merdeka! Persona launch is just so perfectly timed! Malaysia Boleh for once!