Proton teases the Proton Exora MPV dashboard

Proton Exora
Click for enlarged image

Proton has been running a series of teaser print ads in the papers of the new Proton Exora, Proton’s first 7-seater MPV. It’s nothing that we haven’t seen before but for the rest of the Malaysian population it offers a rather unobstructed glimpse of the Proton MPV’s dashboard and instrument panel. While the leaked images we saw previously was of a Proton Exora equipped a manual transmission, this particular teaser image was clearly snapped from an Exora with an automatic transmission.

We get to see where the automatic gear position indicator is on the instrumentation panel – the LCD display integrated into the right-side gauge. Whether a manual Proton Exora will be offered or not is still questionable – while we saw a manual version previously, Proton’s teaser pricing only shows 2 automatic variants – an M-Line and a H-Line. With the automatic M-Line having a preliminary price of RM72k, it may be possible that a manual M-Line could dip under RM70k.

More updates on the Proton Exora soon to come – stay tuned! In the meanwhile please read our detailed past coverage on the Proton Exora MPV.

Proton Exora 7-seater MPV Interior Details Revealed!
Proton Exora – the MPV Proton will launch!
HOT: Proton MPV 100% fully uncovered
Proton MPV exclusive initial details revealed!
SPYSHOT: 2009 Proton MPV sheds some of its disguise
Proton MPV design registered with UK patent office
SPYSHOT: Proton MPV next to a Nissan Grand Livina

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• catdeco on Feb 28, 2009 at 3:12 am

nice car,jst the air-conditioner design make me feel a bit sad.

doesnt look like a luxury interior.

i knw its not a luxury mpv,but with a lil bit touch up for the air-cond design its going to make the interior of the mpv look nicer.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 3:27 am

I predict RM65-75k.

• bangkhai on Feb 28, 2009 at 3:28 am

i think the interior look nice..

but please proton. no more cheap plastic..

• nazri on Feb 28, 2009 at 3:35 am

looking at the dashboard i think it look nice and quite decent…

• freeze on Feb 28, 2009 at 3:35 am

To me the dashboard looks okay in this picture. The one posted before looks so squarish.

• Littlefire on Feb 28, 2009 at 3:50 am

Yup, look a bit cheap the dashboard design…

I think i gonna wait for the Perodua MPV out first before deciding..

• All these interior looks will be nothing if it is of cheap plastic, please be wise proton.

• infinity on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:31 am

there are 2 noticeable compartment on the right..one which is very thin, which i think for us to put things like touch 'n' go cards…

the other one is bigger, but very shallow..for hp perhaps??

at least we now can be sure that the column on top of the centre air-cond vents is the clock..

• acerman on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:33 am

If Proton would provide the dashboard with an integrated GPS+DVD display, that would be sooooo nice. I bet this MPV would sell even better.

Many would agree Proton should provide more gadgets than be equall with other car makers. They should provide more advance technology so it would not only compete but also be ahead of them. (I could not remember the word).

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:43 am

that steering wheel still looks low , like waja and gen2…wont go high enough..hopefully the seats are not too high though…but looks nice and solid

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:48 am

Hahahaha…

this pic is to make us thinking,"What is the interior color?"..

• upinipin on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:48 am

I wonder which color goes best with Exora?

• alfarabi on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:49 am

at least the steering wheel looks better then the previous models.

• alfarabi on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:57 am

when i said then, i meant than..always watch your spelling kids!

• erotik on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:16 am

Those aircond vents (especially the one on the driver's side)….is it inspired by the 1985 Proton Saga's aircond vent?

• normal_user on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:28 am

i don't like the middle aircon vents. Dissapointed to see that the column above the center aircon vents only accomodate a digital clock. I thought there will be digital fuel consumption & temperature display (e.g. Swift dashboard).

• Jessen on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:39 am

So which engine it's using? Is it the rumor one with V6 engine?

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:39 am

[quote comment="215893"]I have never seen any fucking uglier, my volvo xc90 is much prettier[/quote]

Your Volvo XC90 costs how much? Dumbass!

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:41 am

[quote comment="215930"]If Proton would provide the dashboard with an integrated GPS+DVD display, that would be sooooo nice. I bet this MPV would sell even better.

Many would agree Proton should provide more gadgets than be equall with other car makers. They should provide more advance technology so it would not only compete but also be ahead of them. (I could not remember the word).[/quote]

I thought the DVD will be placed at the passenger cabin?

• Few things Proton could do to do make this Exora right:

– Quality, e.g. choose a better quality plastic material for dashboard

– Allow more choices & variants for customer, from 'No air bag-manual version' to 'luxury version (Airbags+ABS+EBD+BA+GPS+DVD)'. Example T.Vios you can see Type J,E,G&S.

– Buck up the after sales service.

– Reasonable price tag

Let's give Proton a fresh new start to revive it's image.

Cheers.

• tiadaid_2 on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:54 am

hmmm.. . so, can we buy exora without engine?… may be can buy other engine outside…

• please, get your id on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:57 am

hahaha… how do you register your car without engine number…

• Prismo on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:03 am

[quote comment="215891"]nice car,jst the air-conditioner design make me feel a bit sad.

doesnt look like a luxury interior.

i knw its not a luxury mpv,but with a lil bit touch up for the air-cond design its going to make the interior of the mpv look nicer.[/quote]

new toyota passo sette 7 seaters oso using a square aircond vents ma….

[quote comment="215893"]I have never seen any fucking uglier, my volvo xc90 is much prettier[/quote]

r u stupid or what? apple to apple please…. :)

[quote comment="215902"]i think the interior look nice..

but please proton. no more cheap plastic..[/quote]

[quote comment="215923"]All these interior looks will be nothing if it is of cheap plastic, please be wise proton.[/quote]

i dont think so after persona's dashboard is wrapped with leather…

• acerman on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:36 am

[quote comment="215955"][quote comment="215930"]If Proton would provide the dashboard with an integrated GPS+DVD display, that would be sooooo nice. I bet this MPV would sell even better.

Many would agree Proton should provide more gadgets than be equall with other car makers. They should provide more advance technology so it would not only compete but also be ahead of them. (I could not remember the word).[/quote]

I thought the DVD will be placed at the passenger cabin?[/quote]

Yes, what I ment was, wish Proton would put another LCD display on the dashboard showing the GPS, rather than conventional player.

• EricG on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:59 am

judging from this angle, the instrument panel looks as if its trying to hide from something.

• takuhai_ha_neko_dear (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:00 am

now Proton has new trait or character or personality or any synonym to it…

guess what is it?

teasing us with pictures of new car's partition and induct us to imagine before launching…

Paul, are u think this dashboard design looks like the design in the peek-a-boo box last year?

• 1.6 under-power. Failure

• Infinitt on Feb 28, 2009 at 8:01 am

Looks simple. i like it.

• bangkhai on Feb 28, 2009 at 8:36 am

[quote comment="215953"]So which engine it's using? Is it the rumor one with V6 engine?[/quote]

never heard rumors with V6 engine.. campro CPS is likely with tuned ECU and gear ratio..

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 8:46 am

I fear the engine might be its biggest downfall…

• kahing on Feb 28, 2009 at 9:06 am

I hate it when they like to give us teasers. I mean come on, the car is OUT already, so why the ef are they teasing us still ? Just how us the Dod-damned car.

By the way, LX570 is to-die for. Me paps just purchased one last week.

• shamel (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 9:15 am

To Azlano:

Is the AC ducts is retro (Saga of 1980s) too? Proton can do better than this.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 9:52 am

[quote comment="215913"]Yup, look a bit cheap the dashboard design…

I think i gonna wait for the Perodua MPV out first before deciding..[/quote]

i think you shouldnt compare it with the upcoming perodua purely on dashboard design.. the proton mpv is going to be significantly larger than the perodua. there are definitely many more factors to take into account.

• kimi13 on Feb 28, 2009 at 11:35 am

hai sifu

yesterday(khamis), i saw 2 unit proton exora test drive along with 1 unit proton saga red b-line at utara selatan highway. for saga the 1.3 emblem(rear) they tapped with black mask. can you clarify on the saga?? 1.3CPS??high-line?? those exora are preety fast tho..anyway the exora still in heavy masking, but the interior quite spacious. i manage to snap a video, anyone know how to upload it hear? sifu, my dad juz place a booking today for high line model then the sales man told that for high line only come with 2 color, brown and blue. M-line have the rest of 3 color.is it true?? the salesman show us the comparison video between exora avanza and grand lavina.surprisingly exora have better job done in every aspect compare to g.lavina and avanza.3 big man in middle raw, no problem, same 3 person sit inside g.lavina and avanza a bit struggle(1 of the comparison).btw the interior also surprise me..it look decent

good job Proton.

thankz

• [quote comment="216029"][quote comment="215913"]Yup, look a bit cheap the dashboard design…

i think you shouldnt compare it with the upcoming perodua purely on dashboard design.. the proton mpv is going to be significantly larger than the perodua. there are definitely many more factors to take into account.[/quote]

and yet, perodua dashboard design will be directly adapted from more professional maker of toyota/daihatsu design. for sure it will be better than Exora. its not fair to compared them, think about it. :P

• kimi13 on Feb 28, 2009 at 12:03 pm

hai sifu

yesterday(khamis), i saw 2 unit proton exora test drive along with 1 unit proton saga red b-line at utara selatan highway. for saga the 1.3 emblem(rear) they tapped with black mask. can you clarify on the saga?? 1.3CPS??high-line?? those exora are preety fast tho..anyway the exora still in heavy masking, but the interior quite spacious. i manage to snap a video, anyone know how to upload it hear? sifu, my dad juz place a booking today for high line model then the sales man told that for high line only come with 2 color, brown and blue. M-line have the rest of 3 color.is it true?? the salesman show us the comparison video between exora avanza and grand lavina.surprisingly exora have better job done in every aspect compare to g.lavina and avanza.3 big man in middle raw, no problem, same 3 person sit inside g.lavina and avanza a bit struggle(1 of the comparison).btw the interior also surprise me..it look decent

good job Proton.

thankz!

• Jienyuk on Feb 28, 2009 at 1:29 pm

I posted this earlier, hope that clears some doubts about manual or auto:

got a glimpse of the product training slides from a branch manager. these facts are confirmed:

– no manual across all model

– CPS across all model

– steering buttons are for blue tooth hp control

– size is bigger than lavina, lower than avanza, slightly bigger than wish

– air-cond duct on the side of each row (above the window) with controls

– leather seats for high-line

– niffty features incld – follow home lights means head lights stay on for 30 sec after you stop engine to open your gates

– ABS, EBD, and BEBD if EBD fails

– new rims design

– indicator to tell you if remote control batt is failing

– remote can just open the driver doors instead all

– 80 degree door opening

– lock will lockdown only you break after travelling more than 20km/hr

– dashboard does look cheap and plasticky

– Adjustable intermitten wiper

– white, silver, black and the weird bronze/brown

– 2 srs airbags only

– 70k – 80k with M & H line

– Target buyer Avanza, Lavina and Citra pricing

– Spec and size closer to Stream and Wish (so they claim)

– Quite a few other few futures look impressive

– Design look, so so parked beside a wish

– But look huge and tall beside lavina

– Cruise controls, LCD with SD card slot, navigator same with Pesona SE is for H-Line only

– 125bhp, claims better touque than Lavina 1.6

– oh. yeah wing mirror signals

Thats all I can remember, hope it helps. One other thing, the floor of the boot can be lifted to a space well (plastic) suitable for muddy boots or hidden weapon, LOL! there is a safety net too.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 4:03 pm

[quote comment="215962"]hmmm.. . so, can we buy exora without engine?… may be can buy other engine outside…[/quote]

hey, you stole my nick!

• Mini_Mack on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:31 pm

first thing first…we all like to judge things on "things" that we have not seen from our very own eyes and jump to conclusion…haiyaaa….like that fella who compared his XC90 with P1 Exora…Stupid or What? I do think so…ahahaaaa…

the second thing is…let's just wait till the "whole" and i mean the actual showroom unit to come out…then let's TALK…FAIR ENOUGH?

and the last thing…a big thank you to all who have supported paultan in providing extra info about this P1 Exora…but please make sure that your info is true and tested correct!

Cheers…

• hazxkh on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:33 pm

kalo ler ade barang cf kat dashboard lg cantik…

Carbon fibre =cf

• ROBERT on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:37 pm

what u see not what u get….proton non quality car

• Salamander on Feb 28, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Why no signicficant basher on this thread? They finished up their point already? :D

[quote comment="216083"]what u see not what u get….proton non quality car[/quote]

Please verify with proof. If not, you just looked plain stupid.

• kimi13,

Why r they still testing d mpv now yet so near to b launch? Is there still unsolve

problem with d car? Maybe thats y they postponed d launch.

jienyuk,

Sure there wont b any manual? Coz d spy pic did show a manual gear stick.

Bet that if p2 mpv sales better than p1 then they will sell d M/T cheaper.

What ye all think?

• Head Hunter on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:05 pm

The steering looks like Honda's civic. To be honest, the dashboard looks as if it comes from another car. A bit too tacky don't you think?

A smoother, rounder design all together would complement the steering wheel.

I like the new MPV, hopefully it won't be too expensive for us Sarawakians.

• Head Hunter on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Maybe to just fix on some niggling problems before launch.

• Prismo on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:45 pm

[quote comment="216005"]1.6 under-power. Failure[/quote]

AVANZA 1.3 is underpowered… it's a failure.. why it still sell? b'coz peoples is blinded with a "T" badge….

[quote comment="216080"]first thing first…we all like to judge things on "things" that we have not seen from our very own eyes and jump to conclusion…haiyaaa….like that fella who compared his XC90 with P1 Exora…Stupid or What? I do think so…ahahaaaa…

the second thing is…let's just wait till the "whole" and i mean the actual showroom unit to come out…then let's TALK…FAIR ENOUGH?

and the last thing…a big thank you to all who have supported paultan in providing extra info about this P1 Exora…but please make sure that your info is true and tested correct!

Cheers…[/quote]

Comparing XC90 and Exora… stupid or what? u dont think so? but yes i'm think so he's was a stupid….

• Prismo on Feb 28, 2009 at 6:47 pm

[quote comment="216086"]Why no signicficant basher on this thread? They finished up their point already? :D

[quote comment="216083"]what u see not what u get….proton non quality car[/quote]

Please verify with proof. If not, you just looked plain stupid.[/quote]

actually, he's was a plain stupid….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:24 pm

LoL…… why are you comparing a SUV of damn higher price tag with and MPV of a price tag RM75K….. U should compare your XC90 SUV with another SUV in the first place, not with a MPV….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:30 pm

[quote comment="215953"]So which engine it's using? Is it the rumor one with V6 engine?[/quote]

nope…. its confirmed….. Its gonna be 1.6 CamPro CPS…..

• nazri on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:33 pm

[quote comment="216047"]hai sifu

good job Proton.

thankz![/quote]

maybe saga 1.3 R3 version… no wonder they stop red color… anyway can u emel me the picture (mnazri '@' vista.aero) thanks kimi13…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:34 pm

[quote comment="216104"][quote comment="216086"]Why no signicficant basher on this thread? They finished up their point already? :D

Please verify with proof. If not, you just looked plain stupid.[/quote]

actually, he's was a plain stupid….[/quote]

Hey Bro…. certain part of the car do made of non-quality stuff… and some of the finishing are not as quality as we should aspect… but i think its wrong to say that the whole proton is a non-quality car…. Its really stupid to say so….

• waja2000 on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:36 pm

[quote comment="215947"]Those aircond vents (especially the one on the driver's side)….is it inspired by the 1985 Proton Saga's aircond vent?[/quote]

[quote comment="216025"]To Azlano:

Is the AC ducts is retro (Saga of 1980s) too? Proton can do better than this.[/quote]

that why we point out they using old manual aircond, not like Digital aircond in G2/Neo/Persona ..so maybe just they proton dont how to design with out lotus…

[quote comment="216044"][quote comment="216029"][quote comment="215913"]Yup, look a bit cheap the dashboard design…

i think you shouldnt compare it with the upcoming perodua purely on dashboard design.. the proton mpv is going to be significantly larger than the perodua. there are definitely many more factors to take into account.[/quote]

and yet, perodua dashboard design will be directly adapted from more professional maker of toyota/daihatsu design. for sure it will be better than Exora. its not fair to compared them, think about it. :P[/quote]

correct?dashboard design very low class …. not up to standard ?3 level designeer …

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m217/waja2000/…
    you see today exora advertisement , you can see how sad of design of dashboard.

• monteltok on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:47 pm

firstly i have to salute Dato Syed for his effort in bringing out cars which are practical for Malaysians. how can we compare XC90 to the Exora….even the classifications are different so please be sincere when commenting.

if we compare the Persona and Gen2…the former is much more better in terms of interior finishing. unfortunately P1 still have some QC issues to address. current level is not good enuff but P1 has improved compared to past 10 years under the royal related boss.

they should have learn from better masters like Toyota or Honda.

• kimi13 on Feb 28, 2009 at 7:49 pm

[quote comment="216088"]kimi13,

Why r they still testing d mpv now yet so near to b launch? Is there still unsolve

jienyuk,

What ye all think?[/quote]

f1,

im not sure about ongoing testing recently. maybe you can ask sifu or 460.

but the engineer inside both exora seem relax while testing/driving.

the perodua mpv might not be cheap(my opinion) as myvi price ard RM50k.

thankz

• msian on Feb 28, 2009 at 8:15 pm

[quote comment="215893"]I have never seen any fucking uglier, my volvo xc90 is much prettier[/quote]that is because u paid almost twice the price of the exora for it…!!!left your brains somewehere before commenting..??

• Paul, today Utusan, Proton tease again. Interior from bonnet angle. Can see the gated gear. :D

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 9:02 pm

[quote comment="216128"][quote comment="216088"]kimi13,

jienyuk,

f1,

thankz[/quote]

Kimi,

Was the '1.3' emblem taped or was it still there? If the '1.3' was taped, then i think u can gifure out wat it is….if the '1.3' still there then it could be something else…

Regarding the testing, everyday still testing is ongoing….doesn't mean that the car got problem (i dont know where this F1 guy get this idea from)….there are many type of test, maybe that was for endurence or maybe just to reconfirm things. Because in making cars, we cant conclude things by just testing once. We sometimes need to test few times to confirm things and finalize things.

Cheers!

• kimi13 on Feb 28, 2009 at 10:01 pm

[quote comment="216142"][quote comment="216128"][quote comment="216088"]kimi13,

jienyuk,

f1,

thankz[/quote]

Kimi,

Was the '1.3' emblem taped or was it still there? If the '1.3' was taped, then i think u can gifure out wat it is….if the '1.3' still there then it could be something else…

Regarding the testing, everyday still testing is ongoing….doesn't mean that the car got problem (i dont know where this F1 guy get this idea from)….there are many type of test, maybe that was for endurence or maybe just to reconfirm things. Because in making cars, we cant conclude things by just testing once. We sometimes need to test few times to confirm things and finalize things.

Cheers![/quote]

thank you si-fu

i think 1.3 emblem was still there and it was taped(if i not mistaken). but im pretty sure it was taped but juz cant see the 1.3 emblem coz it was covered by black tap(taped). im looking foward to replace my current kelisa auto to saga and i hope for the high line.

then is it true there only 2 color for the high-line Exora?blue&brown.

hope things running well for exora.

thankz

• Durex333 on Feb 28, 2009 at 10:07 pm

[quote comment="216103"][quote comment="216005"]1.6 under-power. Failure[/quote]

AVANZA 1.3 is underpowered… it's a failure.. why it still sell? b'coz peoples is blinded with a "T" badge…. [/quote]

hahahahaha… u got the point…. go "P" badge!!.. hahahaha

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 10:27 pm

kimi,

if the '1.3' emblem was taped, it might not be a '1.3' emblem…think again! Hahahahahahaha…..regarding the colour, the 5 colours are confirmed, but i am not sure about the distribution, marketting dept decides that…..so maybe the salesman was true, maybe not….

Cheers!

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 28, 2009 at 10:35 pm

[quote comment="216139"]Paul, today Utusan, Proton tease again. Interior from bonnet angle. Can see the gated gear. :D[/quote]

Looks like apart from the MPV, the Utusan newspaper is gonna sell like hotcakes…..those who have the pictures scanned please do post it here ya….(excited to see…cam tak penah tgk jer…:P)…..Paul maybe u can add the pic here rather then opening a new post….just a suggestion!

Cheers peeps and hav a nice weekend!

• menawan on Feb 28, 2009 at 10:57 pm

This is the ugliest dashboard i've ever seen in proton… I hate to admit, but i have to be a basher for this……… Wat the cheapest and low quality of an MPV that proton bring up.. I definitely need to wait for the 2nd batch or SE or watsoever version comes up… The dashboard looks plastic, the aircond vent look like Saga(old version) or Iswara that can easily break when the aircond is too cold. i might be wrong. so we just need to wait and see lor….

• menawan on Feb 28, 2009 at 11:01 pm

si-fu said,

January 23, 2009 @ 6:05 pm

From the look of the angle, the position, and the blue pants (leg that cn be seen in one of the pictures) in the pictures, i can almost confirmly say, its the production workers job….disgrace to him really….if Proton manages to find him, nobody can help him already, cause this is considered as a serious offence under the Proton Secrecy Act.

Just to comment a lil bit on the pictures here, this is not all to it…there is more…SO PLEASE DO WAIT/BE PATIENT until it launches. For instance, as u can see, there is no texture anywhere in interior yet…thats the reason its looks cheap (like the steering, actually its not cheap), wait till the textures come (when its launched u can see the textures)….then u can judge and give ur comments.

To all the chinese readers/posters and Paul….a very Happy and Prosperous New Year. May this year be a good year for everybody!

Cheers and Happy Holidays…do drive safely!

—————–

I just found this.. Sorry si-fu.. i really respect u.. Sorry for the comment above..

• kimi13 on Feb 28, 2009 at 11:04 pm

[quote comment="216165"]kimi,

if the '1.3' emblem was taped, it might not be a '1.3' emblem…think again! Hahahahahahaha…..regarding the colour, the 5 colours are confirmed, but i am not sure about the distribution, marketting dept decides that…..so maybe the salesman was true, maybe not….

Cheers![/quote]

ya it might not 1.3 emblem.. is it proton gonna come out a new ver of saga?? heran la..why they do a testing for saga…anyway thank for the info si-fu.

thankz

• [quote comment="216139"]Paul, today Utusan, Proton tease again. Interior from bonnet angle. Can see the gated gear. :D[/quote]

Same also in H. Metro today.

Its very spacious… :D

• osh_kosh on Mar 01, 2009 at 12:04 am

i still have some doubt with the engine… but to be fair, i'll comment on it after TD..

• exoraownerwannabe on Mar 01, 2009 at 1:24 am

[quote comment="216130"][quote comment="215893"]I have never seen any fucking uglier, my volvo xc90 is much prettier[/quote]that is because u paid almost twice the price of the exora for it…!!!left your brains somewehere before commenting..??[/quote]

maybe he is stupid. but if we look at it differently, proton is making one hell of a good job to be compared with a VOLVO!!!! :)

peace…

• ManBelonPunya on Mar 01, 2009 at 2:01 am

after saw pic in b.harian today,i think i like it.simple n nice dshboard.perhaps p1 will make a final touch for it.

i really dnt understnd when ppl said it is a crap cheap dshboard without see it by their own eyes.infact avanza even hv super duper cheap dshbord look,but again nobdy bash.arghhh typical stupid minded..kene tipu sama T.huhuuhuhu.

gud job proton.keep up a gud work.

• acerman on Mar 01, 2009 at 2:26 am

I have to agree with you. The only way to know if the MPV is powerful enough is to buy it and drove it with 7 adults on it to Genting. Okay, who whats to be the test lab mice please raise up your hands…anyone?

• acerman on Mar 01, 2009 at 2:32 am

People still might think, "1.6 only? How can carry 7 people?" But, anyway I still proud of Proton because it is their first MPV. I hope that the next model would have a more higher CC and a lot more gadgets. Plz Proton, don't be a follower, be the leader…

• shamel (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 3:04 am

Frankly not up to Stream level of quality as STREAM 1.8 a way CHEAPER than P1 MPV in her home country. Dashboard designer should learn something from Japs or Continental designers or simply ask them to design ours.

BTW seat design not bad BUT dashboard and door panels deemed inferior than those found in Persona. Gate gear look pretty European BUT center fascia look less creative and not anticipated GPS ready dashboard.

As they based on Wish mule every design should be better or otherwise if "if it ain't broke don't fix it", isn't?

Azlano quite clueless?

• bmpower on Mar 01, 2009 at 4:38 am

[quote comment="216209"]Frankly not up to Stream level of quality as STREAM 1.8 a way CHEAPER than P1 MPV in her home country. Dashboard designer should learn something from Japs or Continental designers or simply ask them to design ours.

Azlano quite clueless?[/quote]

so then. go and living in japan fow few year lah!

you'll realized more thing that you don't lnow.

just like my friend those study in there..

to eat also verry verry verry expensive!

• hazxkh on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:21 am

aku x nak jd basher & nak jd commenter yg baik tp air vent look like 90' toyota corolla… huh aku x tipu nyer

x kisah kerusi fabrik tp dashboard bagi elok2 plastik pun jd lah

• dr34mkill3r on Mar 01, 2009 at 5:36 am

what happen to their campro 1.8 engine??

or they make it for power up the boat..lol

(malaysian boat maker used 1.8 engine)

• Prismo on Mar 01, 2009 at 6:50 am

[quote comment="216222"]aku x nak jd basher & nak jd commenter yg baik tp air vent look like 90' toyota corolla… huh aku x tipu nyer

x kisah kerusi fabrik tp dashboard bagi elok2 plastik pun jd lah[/quote]

bro cuba tgk aircond ventsmodel terbaru Toyota Passo Sette @ Daihatsu Boon Luminas ni…
    http://paultan.org/photo/toyota-passo-sette/inter…

• Well done Proton. It is truly a Malaysian Car Manufacturer.

• sutheshkumar on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:27 am

I thought it was saud the interior was the pre production?

how sad. the center console could be better.

• Leonardo on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:30 am

Some of the bloggers here got ESP (Exceptionally Silly Perception). They only see part of the car and they start to make unquilified (and silly) comments. It's like seeing the roof of an uncompleted building and saying the finishing and quality is going to be no good!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:37 am

[quote comment="216202"][quote comment="216130"][quote comment="215893"]I have never seen any fucking uglier, my volvo xc90 is much prettier[/quote]that is because u paid almost twice the price of the exora for it…!!!left your brains somewehere before commenting..??[/quote]

maybe he is stupid. but if we look at it differently, proton is making one hell of a good job to be compared with a VOLVO!!!! :)

peace…[/quote]

Proton is making "one hell of a good job to be compared with a VOLVO"??? clap clap clap… no wonders outsiders mention some of us still living in a jungle with monkeys…

• bangkhai on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:43 am

[quote comment="216165"]kimi,

Cheers![/quote]

wow.. so sifu do u mean it will be a 1.6 saga? a h-line saga perhaps since right now the highest spec is only m-line..

• shamel (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 8:00 am

[quote comment="216222"]aku x nak jd basher & nak jd commenter yg baik tp air vent look like 90' toyota corolla… huh aku x tipu nyer

Apa salahnya design 90s or even 80s as we're Malaysian? Some people think OK to be inferior lil bit as long as we live in Malaysia. Cheap country; never cost you a hand or leg to get decent meal unlike in Japan. BUT they earned YEN not RM.

• moha774 on Mar 01, 2009 at 8:04 am

No manual gearbox?? In that case I would just wait for MPV from P2 then… hope they would be offering one….

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 8:08 am

[quote comment="216258"][quote comment="216222"]aku x nak jd basher & nak jd commenter yg baik tp air vent look like 90' toyota corolla… huh aku x tipu nyer

Apa salahnya design 90s or even 80s as we're Malaysian? Some people think OK to be inferior lil bit as long as we live in Malaysia. Cheap country; never cost you a hand or leg to get decent meal unlike in Japan. BUT they earned YEN not RM.[/quote]

this is madness with people who loves proton… no wonder teachers get crazy teaching in English. And now i can understand… we are really moving backwards…

• shamel (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 8:09 am

[quote comment="216248"]Some of the bloggers here got ESP (Exceptionally Silly Perception). They only see part of the car and they start to make unquilified (and silly) comments. It's like seeing the roof of an uncompleted building and saying the finishing and quality is going to be no good![/quote]

I can see some of the forummers were not BASHER though some may love to dub as basher. Their comment due to their love (and hate) affairs with Proton. More toward LOVE. If you seat design not that perfect, you simply can change the seats. BUT if you SRS-ed dashboard like 80-s if not 90s how you going to live with that for whole of ownership?

And if Proton in house designers can't afford to design why not outsourced? In fact the Wish design or at least Grandis' look better and more proportionate. Dashboard is new stuff not carry over from other car (Saga MK II borrow from Savvy case).

We have software to create why don't we try to make it more practical, aesthetic and so on?

I still remember Gen 2's dashboard. Since many people dissatisfied with Proton Waja and Wira rattling sound from glovebox; proton forgo dashboard in Gen-2 and realized the thing is escape from the real issue- in Persona incarnation they incorporated a glovebox and decent design door panel.

Exora panel also not that good but still acceptable than UGLY design from designers who live in different world, perhaps.

Love Proton and DSZ.

• Prem3377 on Mar 01, 2009 at 9:12 am

[quote comment="216261"][quote comment="216248"]Some of the bloggers here got ESP (Exceptionally Silly Perception). They only see part of the car and they start to make unquilified (and silly) comments. It's like seeing the roof of an uncompleted building and saying the finishing and quality is going to be no good![/quote]

I can see some of the forummers were not BASHER though some may love to dub as basher. Their comment due to their love (and hate) affairs with Proton. More toward LOVE. If you seat design not that perfect, you simply can change the seats. BUT if you SRS-ed dashboard like 80-s if not 90s how you going to live with that for whole of ownership?

And if Proton in house designers can't afford to design why not outsourced? In fact the Wish design or at least Grandis' look better and more proportionate. Dashboard is new stuff not carry over from other car (Saga MK II borrow from Savvy case).

We have software to create why don't we try to make it more practical, aesthetic and so on?

I still remember Gen 2's dashboard. Since many people dissatisfied with Proton Waja and Wira rattling sound from glovebox; proton forgo dashboard in Gen-2 and realized the thing is escape from the real issue- in Persona incarnation they incorporated a glovebox and decent design door panel.

Exora panel also not that good but still acceptable than UGLY design from designers who live in different world, perhaps.

Love Proton and DSZ.[/quote]

have you seen toyota wish's dashboard or a honda stream's dashboard??if you did…you wouldnt complain about proton's MPV dashboard design!!it a conservative design..thats all…check latest honda city's aircond vents..very less people complain and its a best selling model right now..design is only to attract buyers…proton has alot of quality issue…and this quality issues arise when they came up with unique(more complex designs) because alot of time needed to produce a more refined production module and etc..where time is money for all automotive industry…proton just cant afford to wait..

with this MPV design..i feel it proton's way to assure people that they are paying attention on quality by having a simple yet functional design..but i dont know how people here can say that the quality is bad and not up standard!!

if you go for interior design for a MPV around the similar class..kia rondo has the best…and toyota wish has the worst!!simple as that..so i dont mind if a proton sits right in the middle…

• shamel (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Yes indeed! Wish not better than Rondo BUT Wish something you ok to live with. Proton Exora too conventional and very much 90s design.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 01, 2009 at 9:18 pm

[quote comment="216252"][quote comment="216202"][quote comment="216130"][quote comment="215893"]I have never seen any fucking uglier, my volvo xc90 is much prettier[/quote]that is because u paid almost twice the price of the exora for it…!!!left your brains somewehere before commenting..??[/quote]

peace…[/quote]

Proton is making "one hell of a good job to be compared with a VOLVO"??? clap clap clap… no wonders outsiders mention some of us still living in a jungle with monkeys…[/quote]

Yes indeed. It's bcuz of low quality comment like urs.

And u dare to call urself "NoToLowQuality"?!?! Sheesh. It's not even funny if it's intended as a joke.

• kahing on Mar 01, 2009 at 10:07 pm

I have always been a Proton enthusiast. My ONLY way of being patriotic. But Proton has let me down, time and time again. *sigh* I prayed hard they would improve slightly with the launching of this MPV, but obviously my prayers weren't answered.

Don't like the air-cond vents. But interior wise ? Kinda spacious.

• waja2000 on Mar 01, 2009 at 10:46 pm

[quote comment=”216269″][quote comment=”216261″][quote comment=”216248″]Some of the bloggers here got ESP (Exceptionally Silly Perception). They only see part of the car and they start to make unquilified (and silly) comments. It’s like seeing the roof of an uncompleted building and saying the finishing and quality is going to be no good![/quote]

And if Proton in house designers can’t afford to design why not outsourced? In fact the Wish design or at least Grandis’ look better and more proportionate. Dashboard is new stuff not carry over from other car (Saga MK II borrow from Savvy case).

We have software to create why don’t we try to make it more practical, aesthetic and so on?

I still remember Gen 2’s dashboard. Since many people dissatisfied with Proton Waja and Wira rattling sound from glovebox; proton forgo dashboard in Gen-2 and realized the thing is escape from the real issue- in Persona incarnation they incorporated a glovebox and decent design door panel.

have you seen toyota wish’s dashboard or a honda stream’s dashboard??if you did…you wouldnt complain about proton’s MPV dashboard design!!it a conservative design..thats all…check latest honda city’s aircond vents..very less people complain and its a best selling model right now..design is only to attract buyers…proton has alot of quality issue…and this quality issues arise when they came up with unique(more complex designs) because alot of time needed to produce a more refined production module and etc..where time is money for all automotive industry…proton just cant afford to wait..

with this MPV design..i feel it proton’s way to assure people that they are paying attention on quality by having a simple yet functional design..but i dont know how people here can say that the quality is bad and not up standard!!

if you go for interior design for a MPV around the similar class..kia rondo has the best…and toyota wish has the worst!!simple as that..so i dont mind if a proton sits right in the middle…[/quote]

actually exora want simple or conservative design is find, but look ?design? must up to standard, your can say wish dashboard is worst, but most ppl accept it bcos it look fine and update standard with Digital aircond. event viva simple look practical dashboard look nicer than this exora design? i can tell u if exora use digital aircond it look up to other level.

my father and brother comeback from Exora dealer preview in sunway few
    week ago , also “Shaking the head” went look at this exora dashboard and rear drum break, no problem with QC of this Exora, QC is very up to standard, seat look super but design dashboard look down…spoil entire interior …
    just wait to see actually dashboard, u will know it.

• Prem3377 on Mar 01, 2009 at 11:35 pm

[quote comment="216315"]Yes indeed! Wish not better than Rondo BUT Wish something you ok to live with. Proton Exora too conventional and very much 90s design.[/quote]

its weird man..of all the thing in a car..a aircond vent design can turn u off and make you not to buy a car??i do see similar vents in honda's,toyota's and even those germans…who kept their interior design simple…so whats the fuss??

an aircond vent being factor for people not buying a car is really crazy to even think off!!

• stroller on Mar 02, 2009 at 1:33 am

the new stream RSZ the so call so upto date is using the normal aircond vent in the center dashboard. EXORA has squarish design while the RSZ has a bit curvy look on it vent… so, it also will keep away ppl from buying the new RSZ… different class mpv but hv something in common the aircond vent… the choice is ur's…

• Pengawas on Mar 02, 2009 at 3:52 am

[quote comment="216175"][quote comment="216165"]kimi,

Cheers![/quote]

ya it might not 1.3 emblem.. is it proton gonna come out a new ver of saga?? heran la..why they do a testing for saga…anyway thank for the info si-fu.

thankz[/quote]

i think that is the 1.6 Saga….. i'm repeat.. i think…. why??? because on the 27 Feb… i have seen one new Proton Saga taxi at section 14 PJ with new taxi plate… and the Saga taxi that i see is with 1.6 emblem and NGV's sticker at the back…. (yes i'm very shock)… 1.6 for Saga….??? i'm sorry because i didn't take any pic… but i believe what i see….. so you??

• waja2000 on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:46 am

[quote comment="216269"][quote comment="216261"][quote comment="216248"]Some of the bloggers here got ESP (Exceptionally Silly Perception). They only see part of the car and they start to make unquilified (and silly) comments. It's like seeing the roof of an uncompleted building and saying the finishing and quality is going to be no good![/quote]

have you seen toyota wish's dashboard or a honda stream's dashboard??if you did…you wouldnt complain about proton's MPV dashboard design!!it a conservative design..thats all…check latest honda city's aircond vents..very less people complain and its a best selling model right now..design is only to attract buyers…proton has alot of quality issue…and this quality issues arise when they came up with unique(more complex designs) because alot of time needed to produce a more refined production module and etc..where time is money for all automotive industry…proton just cant afford to wait..

with this MPV design..i feel it proton's way to assure people that they are paying attention on quality by having a simple yet functional design..but i dont know how people here can say that the quality is bad and not up standard!!

if you go for interior design for a MPV around the similar class..kia rondo has the best…and toyota wish has the worst!!simple as that..so i dont mind if a proton sits right in the middle…[/quote]

actually exora want simple or conservative design is find, but look ?design? must up to standard, your can say wish dashboard is worst, but most ppl accept it bcos it look fine and update standard with Digital aircond. event viva simple look practical dashboard look nicer than this exora design? i can tell u if exora use digital aircond it look up to other level.

my father and brother comeback from Exora dealer preview in sunway few

week ago , also "Shaking the head" went look at this exora dashboard and rear drum break, no problem with QC of this Exora, QC is very up to standard, seat look super but design dashboard look down…spoil entire interior …

just wait to see actually dashboard, u will know it.

• osh_kosh on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:44 am

[quote comment="216397"][quote comment="216315"]Yes indeed! Wish not better than Rondo BUT Wish something you ok to live with. Proton Exora too conventional and very much 90s design.[/quote]

its weird man..of all the thing in a car..a aircond vent design can turn u off and make you not to buy a car??i do see similar vents in honda's,toyota's and even those germans…who kept their interior design simple…so whats the fuss??

an aircond vent being factor for people not buying a car is really crazy to even think off!![/quote]

it's not crazy if u think like this;

square ducting = bad flowrate, more turbulence i.e noisy

round ducting = smooth flow, less turbulence i.e quieter

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 5:41 pm

i thought Proton has the CFD software to simulate that kind of flowrate? ;)

it is misleading to come with a statement :

"square ducting = bad flowrate, more turbulence i.e noisy

round ducting = smooth flow, less turbulence i.e quieter"

geometric (shape) may influence the characteristic of flow (eg Re Number)

however, given different geometry (eg size) with different parameter (eg mass flowrate, velocity), things will change.

& this change may differ with the initially-perceived-expected result 8)

• osh_kosh on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:41 pm

the change is very little… still can't beat square duct won't u agree? sharp edges bad for flow, it'll create turbulence and will effect flowrate… fluid dynamics 101

• azrai on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:58 pm

They make a lost of RM61m last year. It should have been a RM389m profit if not due to this RM450m new MPV development? Think about it.

• farghmee on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:11 pm

offtopic>>

may be u're right.

may be i'm right.

run the simulator n see which configuration provide the best result.

• Tassadar on Mar 02, 2009 at 10:33 pm

Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.

• akupunya on Mar 03, 2009 at 12:40 am

I will not to buy Proton cars/mpv because its service centers are sucks and don't have good style of work

• osh_kosh on Mar 03, 2009 at 1:38 am

elo bro, i dont give a damn if it was design by Mars hamster!!! if it a good car, still a good car, if it bad, still a bad car, what's the different? don't tell me u really buy Proton coz u r patriotic.. come on, just be honest.. either u being 'force' to or just simply like the car… btw, what u heard is the most ridiculous thing i ever heard… actually no2, the most ridiculous thing was that 'Malaysia economy will not effected by global crisis' said by u know who..

[quote comment="216634"]offtopic>>

may be u're right.

may be i'm right.

run the simulator n see which configuration provide the best result.[/quote]

i am right…

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 03, 2009 at 2:05 am

May be the colour of the interior will be greyish. It's look like the colour of the seats in the previous picture teaser from P1. This picture was in black & white. May be their marketing startegy. Just to get attention from the public. Anyway wait untill thr official launch.

• dr34mkill3r on Mar 03, 2009 at 7:30 am

dashboard like perodua viva la..!

aiyooo~

why they roll backward even gen 2 look better than this..

i think now days GPS is compulsory la..

kata MPV..

or do dey have exora special edition??dats y white colour not on listed

based on perodua before..for viva black colour

• the stik (Member) on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:33 pm

ape pun MYVI suckssss….!!

• madimat on Mar 03, 2009 at 9:46 pm

[quote comment="216684"]Heard that the Exora is not really designed by Proton, they sub-contract the design to LG of Korea. Proton acts like a project manager only. If this is true, then Proton cars are merely extension of Korean cars. Maybe it is better to get the Rondo. Anyway, will wait for the lauch before deciding on which MPV to buy.[/quote]

I read this exactly same comment , same word by word somewhere else ;)

what are you trying to do, flaming ah, bro ..? got no life ah..?

whatever it is if you like Rondo please go and buy it now because it is a very good car. You dont have to wait for this Exora la bro,.. this maybe not for you but this is for a few thousands other out there, including me.

If you want to see what is inside the Proton RnD, write to them say that you 'heard from somewhere that Proton cars were not designed by Proton but merely an extension of the Korean cars' and if you're lucky enough maybe they will take you, Mr Skeptic, for a tour inside their facility. By the time you're out and on your way home i bet you'd like to eat back your words.

Don't just spread rumors.

.peace!

• osh_kosh on Mar 03, 2009 at 11:51 pm

madimat,

exactly bro, some ppl are just irresponsible… i'm no Proton fan, infact I HATE Proton cars… never own a Proton in my life… i have my reasons but that's not entitle me to say something that is not… some ppl here like to look down on Proton & some ppl here protect it like hell… some r right with their points but some r just blind basher or protector (if i may say)… but the point is, don't misguide other ppl who honestly seek infos.. if it good just say it good, vice versa… & that goes to all.. basher or not..

p/s: i'm tired of this quarreling nonsense

• akupunya on Mar 04, 2009 at 12:16 am

bosan la kereta proton…tak kira la model baru ke apa…bosannn…

• ferdaus7 (Member) on Mar 04, 2009 at 5:47 am

mind your language bro.. or is it a VOLVO drivers always talking like this..

• An der Lache on Mar 04, 2009 at 2:49 pm

[quote comment="216044"][quote comment="216029"][quote comment="215913"]Yup, look a bit cheap the dashboard design…

and yet, perodua dashboard design will be directly adapted from more professional maker of toyota/daihatsu design. for sure it will be better than Exora. its not fair to compared them, think about it. :P[/quote]

Come on guys…. if you want to do something please do it professionally. So I dont think that by comparing proton with perodua is unacceptable. If the perodua is good ,then proton should be better in 'dashboard design'. But of course on top of that money is concern.

• farghmee on Mar 09, 2009 at 11:41 pm

[quote comment="216753"]

[quote comment="216634"]offtopic>>

may be u're right.

may be i'm right.

run the simulator n see which configuration provide the best result.[/quote]

i am right…[/quote]

hopefully

• [quote comment="215940"]I wonder which color goes best with Exora?[/quote]

pyrite brown-new colour for our new mpv

@ solid white

• [quote comment="217061"][quote comment="216044"][quote comment="216029"][quote comment="215913"]Yup, look a bit cheap the dashboard design…

Come on guys…. if you want to do something please do it professionally. So I dont think that by comparing proton with perodua is unacceptable. If the perodua is good ,then proton should be better in 'dashboard design'. But of course on top of that money is concern.[/quote]

-the perodua myvy(toyota),kancil(daihatsu),rusa(daihatsu),kembara(daihatsu),the SUV(toyota)-those toyota and daihatsu dah buat kereta almost 30yr(maybe more)…we are comparing with proton yang baru produce own tech,own car (starting with waja) with 80-90% of local parts and technology…TAK ADIL LANGSUNG..NOT FAIR TO THEM!!!!

• [quote comment="216736"]I will not to buy Proton cars/mpv because its service centers are sucks and don't have good style of work[/quote]

so what do we expect? pay less?extra everything?cmmon bro..event kencing also you got to pay RM0.20 (at least)..Bg peluang la diaorang blajar

• [quote comment="216005"]1.6 under-power. Failure[/quote]

125hp!!! still underpower?what about Nissan Livina 107hp or innova 2.0lit only 13+hp?think!!1

• albattar96 on Jun 08, 2009 at 3:25 am

[quote comment="215954"][quote comment="215893"]I have never seen any fucking uglier, my volvo xc90 is much prettier[/quote]

Your Volvo XC90 costs how much? Dumbass![/quote]

at least now, proton product has to be compared with the higher class like xc90 or wish to make it look bad. although the price should be comparable with avanza or citra/carens or grand livina (which is not so "grand" anymore).

• Sharif Salleh on Feb 21, 2018 at 8:46 pm

Hi, everybody,
    Where can we get the dashboard part (front view in PU, where placed the radio , econd panel etc for Exora first model coz mine already crack. Tq.