Delphi offers help to Proton

delphi_signboard.JPGThe world’s 2nd largest automotive supplier* with sales of more than RM103.36 billion Delphi Corp has offered help to Proton in terms of widening it’s vehicle base and pushing for export markets.

The Michigan-based company supplies automotive parts to companies like Porsche, Mercedes Benz, GM, DaimlerChrysler, Ford, Honda, Audi and Volkswagen. It employs 185,000 employees worldwide and has 164 manufacturing sites, 41 joint ventures, 53 customer centres cum sales offices and 33 technical centers in 38 countries. It has a plant here in Kuala Terengganu manufacturing wire harnesses for Proton.

Delphi Packard Electric Asia Pacific managing director Majdi Abulaban said Delphi is keen on being Proton’s strategic team mate, sharing it’s global know-how in designing and manufacturing quality components for the automotive industry. It is hoped that working together would result in better economies of scale which translates into lower costs and better quality cars for Proton.

BTW the last I heard of Delphi, it was bankrupt.

* – According to Automotive News list of Top 100 global suppliers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dimension (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:17 am

Paul,

something which doesn't relate to this post, but something which has been lingering me for quite some time, posting so randomly might seem a little appropriate but seeing that your blog does not have a forum perhaps i posted it at a latest issue –

i've been wondering whether you know anything about registering a brand new car in regards of number plates. If you could, just briefly explain the procedures of how the numbers run a day? And the amount of numbers which are released a day, however it is. According to the jpj website, the current number is WJN 3XXX, what will it take for it to move? Will the numbers stay stagnant if no registering is being done?

thanks in advance

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:20 am

bankrupt( dephi) helping the bankrupt ( proton ) , looks like math , so here goes…..

dephi + proton = ????????

key : both r in financial trouble

so , wat's the answer , boys and girls?????

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:50 am

exactly,i mean look whos talking! delphi did declare banckrucy late last yr,maybe thy want to make proton bankrupt oso,thn a GM or Ford come n bail us out with very litle money,thats the death of proton for u!

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 3:26 pm

just like financially troubled VW wanting to buy into financially troubled proton.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 7:21 pm

This is call Proton is "local joker" class automotive player! Only troubled and underperformed automotive related companies interested to deal with Proton and also, Proton only have the opportunities to deal with this kind of troublesome organizations. Want to deal with world class players like Toyota or Mercerdes-Benz, ha, ha, ha, ……….! forget about it! Day dreaming also no chance lah!

• catborg (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 8:26 pm

if i was billionaire..

i'll buy delphi ..

restructure it. remanage it, reform it..

back into their way..

seems delphi lots of workers, supliers etc..

but yes!, need more research to do..

it's not going wrong if proton waana USE them (read : USE) ..

but dont JV. but paying them to do work. example = assemble and suply sparepart / assemble car for proton for Europe Market!..

but that if the cost lower than here.. ;)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 10:15 pm

Look like Proton is "local joker", able to deal with sick companies only.

• eeheng (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 8:33 pm

but i heard someone said that proton will sign some contract with cina local car company cherry? proton still think that they still are the best… huh… definally are local joker… we always watch them doing funny + stupid thing.