Perodua Myvi export to Britain in July

Perodua will begin exporting it’s successful Perodua Myvi compact car to Britain from July onwards if everything goes well. The Perodua Myvi has already passed British quality checks and once it’s backlog of 45,000 pending orders have been cleared by July, it will start exporting the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 7:08 pm

oh great………..more backlog for perodua……hehee

• lance (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Good job on Perodua. Just a thought – Paul, don't you think its time for Proton to offer their "unused" manufacturing plants to Perodua (like what MAS did with AirAsia)? It will be a win-win situation, i think

• FireAngel (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 7:30 pm

Another toy for the pompous english car reviewer to smash up into pieces.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 7:40 pm

JC is gonna drive that car………and say…. " its too high like driving a bus…..its too soft…typical asian car……and bla bla……all the rubbish…."

• Tourist (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 8:13 pm

No lah. JC doesn't have to drive any car to be able to know the characters of a car. He's got x-ray eyes and all like what he did to Savvy. Just one look and he will know whether it's good or bad. That's British fairness for you: guilty without any proof.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 8:45 pm

wats the rational behind the move anyway?i mean the daihatsu is selling thr as well,so wats the point selling two same cars with diff badges??

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 8:58 pm

of course he's going to bash it……

there are so many better alternatives. but aside from that, he does give credit where its due, he liked some characteristics of the gen2.

who wouldnt poke fun at the savvy when they hear proton is marketing it as "my first lotus"? listening to that statement brings up visions of a low cost elise…or at least something sporty. savvy is certainly no match for some of the newer "hot hatches" on the market.

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 9:06 pm

oh btw, daihatsu may be selling here, but there is not much showroom presence for this car. the daihatsu that has most showroom presence is this low cost convertible, that looks a bit girly imo….

the kelisa is selling here for about 5,800 pounds. why on earth would anyone choose it over a ford KA? The KA is only around 300 pounds more, its a much better drive, and the interior feels so much better…not like its made of recycled mineral bottles lol…

i know it sounds like foreign motoring journalists look down on asian cars, but its really not the case. thats what you get when you;re comparing your goods to an international level of competition.

many malaysians dont ever get to drive the "mid" or :"low" range continental cars. seat, saab, skoda, volkswagens (polo, etc).vauxhall, So its tough to understand what JC is on about. THe variety just isnt available to taste back home.

• outspoken (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 9:31 pm

the price is cheaper in Malaysia compared to the other world nations…. emmm heard that before.. but where?? :)

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 08, 2006 at 10:45 pm

outspoken:

haha, not true for malaysian cars….they are cheaper here. why? last i checked the insurance on a waja was ridiculous!!!

11k pounds for a spacious, 1.6l waja with airbags and abs. for 11k my alternativevs are the low end mini, or a 1.3/1.4 polo/206 etc. all of these cars not as spacious as waja, or have a 1.6 engine…however the poor interior and the high insurance (plus the fact its safety rating isnt as good) makes it less competitve.

having said that, i was up in Hull (about 1.5hrs train ride from london) and the local police use protons as the non-emergency patrol vehicles (nope, no high speed chases….just the normal ronda-ronda)

waja, satria, and wira were the ones i saw.

in london they use vauxhalls as the "normal ronda ronda", BMW 5 series, and their undercover cars are ford focus, ford mondeo, and volvos. Unmarked, mild mannered on the outside, but with cosworth racing engines on the inside and racing suspension :|

• pendek (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 12:47 am

uh cosworth engines…..

put that on my saga, and i can tapau …. heheheh

anyway, i consider this is a good move, would this makes me a P2 fan?

bleh…. whatever

• waimak (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 1:15 am

Paul, any detail on Myvi UK spec/ export version ?

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 1:16 am

hmm… i recalled a video paul posted up of topgear regarding toyota aygo in the UK, rite? and the same car is selling under peugeot brand and another brand i cant recall…

3 same cars selling under 3 different brands, with 3 different pricing and accessory packages…

so seeing myvi selling alongside daihatsu boon in UK should not be a surprise since it's not the first to do so!

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 1:48 am

""savvy is certainly no match for some of the newer “hot hatches” on the market.""

firstly, i think the savvy isnt a hot hatch and doesnt claim to be, when i first heard that saying, my first lotus, i was also laughing my head off, but after doing further research, the term really means, built with lotus design principles.. namely, no frills, lightweight, well balanced chassis, suspension tuned for handling. and after the driving the car, it they they pretty much got it right.

whatever it is, good for perodua. i really hope they can sell plenty of cars there in the UK. their previous models have really been 'bashed' hard by the british media in the past, hope they get better response this time round.

• Jason (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 2:57 am

I would be proud if the design and engineering is Malaysian.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 3:20 am

Here we go again, the stupid Savvy and Myvi debate. You guys don't die easily do you?? I think the Myvi would sell pretty well there and would gel with people who do not want to shelve out the money for a Jazz.

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 3:45 am

we're all waiting for the specs!!! and please… pictures!!!!

ur doing a great job paul… keep it up..

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 4:02 am

Hopefully topgear will air this car….and not blow it

• sarur (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 4:07 am

hah.. top gear sure come out with new ways of torturing this so called cheap but no quality car.. be sure to put up the video then paul! heh.

• suanie (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 5:00 am

i like myvi! buy me one kthxbai

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 5:01 am

FireAngel said,

March 8, 2006 @ 11:30 am

Another toy for the pompous english car reviewer to smash up into pieces

I dont really think so. We 'might', 'somehow' see some changes. Myvi is not a bad car. JC dont thrash good cars. There's an episode where he reviews all Korean and Malaysian made cars, Getz went thru the test, however fail seriously in the essence of Malaysian and Korean car, it costs very near as a VW Polo … thats where JC points it out.

• peYno (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 5:56 am

why british need to buy this down grade version car ,if they can buy sirion..

• peYno (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:27 am

malaysian myvi owner like modding the car to be passo/boon wannabe..get the bodypart from kedai potong becoz original version(passo/boon) is not sold in malaysia market. .

if u are sporean and both car myvi and passo r sold there..which one do u choose??

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:51 am

peyno, i will buy passo, then buy myvi……which one more cun , then i follow that to mod lo, hehehe

• peYno (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 6:54 am

cun one thing…in term of quality and reputation..which one do u choose..??hehe

• iguanaa (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 8:41 am

peYno….it's all in the pricing….i' very sure if MyVi ever made it to Sin…it will be seling much cheaper than the Sirions….

..the other issue regarding modding the MyVis into Passo thingy…well this is more of a hobby and wanting to be different..rather than being a wannabe…ask any MyVi owner..if given the choice would they rather own a Passo or a MyVi….well I would say 99.9% would go for the Passo…IF…Passo cost as much as a MyVi….so now you see the rational behind all these ppl going to the kedai potong?….this is because the blardy G with all those un-fair duties made all the originals so damn exspensive…..

• Tourist (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 4:38 pm

I am afraid I would have to disagree with what ingolstadt said about “JC don’t thrash good cars" statement. According to this website, Top Gear actually liked the Proton Gen2 except built quality. So why did he trash, even before testing it out, the Savvy which is even better then the Gen2 imho?

• catborg (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 8:40 pm

no proud at all.. coz Myvi / perodua no more National car.

BTW… iguana,..

It's easy, malaysian still stuck at CHEAP!. not about practical and tehcnologies, and anything u name it. duit RM2 nak beli ferrary, standard la..

And i really hate, no matter it's Myvi change to Passo, Wira to Evo.. Etc..

WTH!?? Proud to be fake? Duhh…. mentallity past now and then! ever!..

Errr Myvi to UK?

Even their Que list pun tak habis lagi? jangan mengarut talking rubbish la..

my friend waiting since months ago tak dapat2 lagi.. berbulan2 tunggu.. nak ambil duit booking pun tak boleh.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 1:05 am

a lot of what JC says is personal opinions. I dont really consider him a serious car reviewer. he is more interested in doing flamboyant stuff as entertainment rather than anything else. I consider him more an entertainer than anything else. I think this has been said many times before, but here goes again. He is always very proud of british stuff…cars or whatever..etc. and he loves to bash cars from growing economies like korea and malaysia of course. but at least korea and malaysia own our own car companies, unlike the brits who have nothing left.

from what i know of the singapore car market, the savvy is outselling the myvvi there.

• mrromeo (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 12:07 am

Well ask them to deliver my car first before they export. Even I have been waiting for more than 5 months… really didnt get the car yet… Sure I will complain this to Gov if they export without clearing the local orders….

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 2:44 am

Tourist said,

March 9, 2006 @ 8:38 am

I am afraid I would have to disagree with what ingolstadt said about “JC don’t thrash good cars” statement. According to this website, Top Gear actually liked the Proton Gen2 except built quality. So why did he trash, even before testing it out, the Savvy which is even better then the Gen2 imho?

That is the narrower perspective of yours, that states and regards Savvy as better than Gen2. I didn't mean Savvy is worst. BUT, they are two different thing. You remembered what makes JC said "Take it off from the screen, i dont wanna see it in my life again." ? It's because of Proton, not generally Savvy, but Proton. The company that thought there were enough idiots out there who would buy the idea of "My first Lotus" …. See wat i mean? Its not only the car itself, its the intention behind, the passion within, or the idioticity that surrounds…. By the way, Savvy is a bad car. That is, IMO.

Built tough …. when its just another normal car

Sporty …. lousy performance.

My first lotus …. Everyone's last Proton

• Tourist (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 5:47 am

Hi. May I ask:

1. Have you test driven the Savvy to make that comment?

2. What other cars are you comparing the Savvy with to consider it bad?

2. What's bad about Savvy? Would appreciate more specific like handling, built, performance, pricing etc.

Talking about Malaysian cars ONLY, not other world class cars that cost a bomb here. Should Savvy toughness & handling be considered normal, then Kancil/Kelisa/Myvi would rank as below standard. Am I happy with those selection? Well, I am not but what choice do I have with those budget?

On JC. The British pride themselve to be fair, open minded and a person/cpg is innocent till proven guilty, don't judge a book by it's cover and all. I see none of those from JC. Just my opinion.

• peYno (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 9:10 am

typical savvy blind basher

• alexiusp (Member) on Mar 14, 2006 at 11:21 pm

ya man, why they don't send the myvi down south to us here (beyond the scenic bridge)? maybe its cos the kancil does have a bad rep vs picanto…

and btw, JC can go f spider.

• rootmy (Member) on May 05, 2006 at 10:26 pm

MyVI = MyBOON = MyPasso

why MyVi Not MyK

kancil, kenari, kembara, kelisa,

suck car high price