Proton wants certified vendors

Only 70 of 270 suppliers of Proton Holdings Bhd complies with the ISO/TS 16949 automotive quality standard which ensures quality for automotive-specific suppliers. This is only about less than a third, which would explain why Proton cars seem to be sub-standard in terms of quality. Roughly 30-40 of the 270 suppliers do not posess any certification at all, while the remainder are ISO9001 certified.

Proton Holdings Bhd director of manufacturing Datuk Kamaruzaman Darus said that Proton tier-1 vendors must all obtain the ISO/TS16949 certification. There is no time frame for compliance for the moment, with Datuk Kamaruzaman choosing only to say “the sooner the better”.

Datuk Kamaruzaman Darus also said for any future new models, only certified vendors would be used, and minimum certification would be ISO9001. The Proton Vendors Association signed an MoU with UK’s Vehicle Certification Agency (VCA) which provides quality, environmental and health and safety management system certification for ISO9001, ISO14001, ISO/TS16949 and OHSAS18001 yesterday. The Memorandom of Understanding would allow the vendor association’s 140 members to obtain ISO/TS 16949 certification from VCA at a competitive price.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tbcheese (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 5:20 am

No time frame? Then its a pretty pointless statement isn't it?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 6:45 am

No need to do all these things lah, just close shop, abolish NAP, let all the car manufacturers come in to compete so that we can have cars that are priced at a reasonable level.

• ckcheong (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 7:16 am

Wah.. only now they say 70 out of 270 vendors are within spec. So all the topguns at Proton sleeping/dreaming all this while ah? Certification or no certification is not the point here. ISO? TUV or whatever certifcation is too easy, and pointless. I think some vendor with this kind of certification only certified during audit time.

I say 'pointless' because at the end of the day, if the consumer find the product quality is bad, even a hundred certification will not help.

If the quality is good, even without any certification, the product will speak for itself…So really no need to 'boost' about any certification.

• kendo (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 7:49 am

closed shop lah!

(oldman is gone..like sinking bridge..))

proton workers/vendors

shall find better pay works at toyota/ vw,

more volumes, jobs,

when market open up!

rakyats happy too, cheap car,

BN get re-elected.

Pak Lah, U call!

• Initial D (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 7:51 am

hm……yup…the catch is …"no time frame"……tat is the let down……

same as not doing….sigh……..

IMO, PVA is "words speak louder than action" !!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 7:52 am

Agree with with ckcheong and to add more: –

Aging and absolute models like Iswara Aeroback, Wira, Perdana are all outmoded yet P1 still have the gut and face to sell in our market. Even if the component meet BMW or Mercs quality standard, but the car itself already absolute, it doesn't help in overall quality improvement of the car. They need new model with latest tech, safety features and good quality.

Talk about certification, they change so fast, where is TUV with Wolfgang's "Das it Perfek" @ that is perfect slogan, missing already and come out with new ISO 9001, etc.

Just imaging about compulsory ABS and airbag issue. Till now G still don't make it compulsory and P1 still give excuse on cost factor (never excuse in UK as it is requirement). For Mercs in German this is "standard safety features" without their G tell them to comply and it is in the market for more than 1 decade. Their latest innovation in safety features is employ military tech use in submarine and airplane, albeit radar and fix in the car as part of future car safety feature control by computer to measure the car distance and other object at safe distance in relation to speed and automatically break to avoid unwanted accident due to human error. When can P1 catching up? Chancellor, stretch waja body with leather seat and other identical to Waja, yet try to sell at "luxury price" of RM 138K, what happen now!

• acbc (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 9:00 am

All BS! As long someone up there wants to make extra money, all vendors will stay in business.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 9:04 am

This is repeat comments: –

1. P1 carry out quality campaigne is desperate design to boost it sales, including clear 2005 models.

2. P1 press announcement on "strategic alliance" is desperate design to prop up its share price.

So, this is currently they are able to do, NATO – No Action Talk Only! Anything to do with the above-mentioned 2 issues is all cakap kosong. It is no surprising there are more avanlanche of Tsunami of bullshit to come in our local news.

If we have the chance to query them on when they will cease aging Iswara, Wira or Perdana aging models and when can come out with new model? Then the typical answer may be "no time frame". If ask on the "strategic alliance" news – "no time frame". Even on quality alone already "no time frame"?

So it is better for us to pray hard P1 close shop and G dismantle NAP so that we can have widest choice of good quality and safe car at lowest price. P1 worker also can find job and work with world class players like Toyota to enjoy better perks and benefits!

Fly kite P1 oh can fly kite! Don't need to talk in press already, as they are still in the circle and repeat same news over and over again!

• goingberserk (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 7:01 pm

I think PI management should SHUUUUUUUUUUT THE HELL UP. Dont make anymore stupid, idiot, bodoh , kan ne and bloody statement like that. Just execute necessary changes and let the results do the talking. Then the public wont bombard them so much. But if they kept on bullshiting like this … it's going to attract negative attention just like all the idiot MPs in the parliment talking bullshit abt fashion or dress code ! What the bull !.

• kendo (Member) on May 06, 2006 at 7:16 pm

another,

continous

TALK-da-COCK statement

by

NON-doers!

(ill-fated for rakyats)

• pendek (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 12:57 am

hahah… there goes our fate.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 1:29 am

Just bcos of this ridiculous so-called national car project, we are denied of the basic rights to own something (car) which is essential to our daily life at reasonable price!!! With fuel cost and interest rate going upwards, the recent price reduction arising from the no-brain auto policy amounts to a tiny pinch of salt dropped into the ocean. WHINEEEEEE

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 1:39 am

pendek – this is not LIMITED to our "fate" but is a form of UNLIMITED "manipulation" by G/NAP/Crocs/P1 to enrich themselve at the expense of Rakyat! Given them "free hand" opportunity – "hisap sampai satu titik darah pun tak ada".

• ckcheong (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 7:24 am

The P1 project back in the 80s also use the 'rakyat' money to setup. The setup cost never appeared in P1 balance sheet because it was the taxpayers money that the G utilised. I don't think G will stop protecting it. All they'll do is come out with some lousy policy and twist there and twist here to make it seems like they have stop protecting P1. NAP is one very good example. Give the 'rakyat' little benefit and then rob them from behind. Yes there was some reduction in vehicle cost (very little), but after that, Bank Negara also increase the loan rate, so what ever reduction under NAP is nullified. We are back to square one.

My first car is a P1 model which I'm still using now. One thing for sure, I won't be buying another P1 model. Fed up already. When the first Saga rolled out from the P1 plant back in the 80s, I was still in primary school. Never in my wildess imagination that I can still buy one when I started working 8 years ago. What a joke… So my thought is, no need to buy P1 lah now…. You won't regret one. If you do, twenty years from now also you can still get one. Ha Ha

• kendo (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 6:28 pm

blood sucking project,

reminding us

of SUHARTO gang work!!!!!

SHAME!!!

• vague (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 7:50 pm

"it's all makan duit punya excersice. memang bagus, just CONfuse the public….then…… hahaha. they will reelect us, all u who listen to me will haha all the way to da band. just like u, yes u, asking the custom team to tutup satu mata, that's a good one, i didn't see that coming.. bravo!! very creative.. so next term i'll promote u…." you guess who.

WHAT A GOV………..

DON'T U WISH UR G.O.V. WAS SMART LIKE THIS,

DON'T U WISH UR G.O.V CAN CON US LIKE THIS…

DON'T CHA, DON'T CHA!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 10:33 pm

In Malaysia can buy Quality certification just like Datokship! Whats the difference! Different on paper but same damn bad quality at products! End result is no different! "Homosapien species but put up disgusting monkeys show"

• kendo (Member) on May 07, 2006 at 11:56 pm

Potong" is the

classic case of

many OLDMAN project, that

sound good,

but handle by Mediocre executives,

enrich fews,

and WASTE rakyats money..

(thus still many force to ride BIKES

from shah alam to KL to work,

riding 2 rakyats somemore,

in a BIKE",

ripley saw too FAINTED!}

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 08, 2006 at 12:43 am

"What started by Old horse as a "national car project" becomiong as a major theft of defenceless people by a marauding crocs committing cold-hearted robbery."

"The NAP is creating a rupture in society that will not be easily fixed. The consumers are a rakyat heading for poverty. What do we imagine our situation will be when this P1 existence is cover by G for another 20 years?"

• wisdom_bin (Member) on May 08, 2006 at 9:06 am

it seemslike it's too late for proton to make any changes here..if proton ever is ever change..make sure it's immediate and tear down all those blood-sucking taxes..

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 4:18 am

to many politics inside proton…how come to produce a better car???

• Imation (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 8:34 pm

I know what is going on inside Proton. Long as they keep on retaining some useless key people, Proton will never grow regardless of numerous measures taken to improve. I can write a book! I'm sure public will be delighted to hear the inside scoop…..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 10:55 pm

WHAT A GOV………..

DON’T U WISH UR G.O.V. WAS SMART LIKE THIS,

DON’T U WISH UR G.O.V CAN CON US LIKE THIS…

DON’T CHA, DON’T CHA!!

this is good one…..no other G treat their P like Msian G….

for a 'third world country" oil exporter have to fork out RM1.92/liter petrol into "insanely overpriced no quality joint moving metal" …..Proton…

p/s Petronas and Proton are making lots of money but killing the "rakyats"

• v (Member) on May 10, 2006 at 10:55 pm

Actually i think the comment by Joe Ai ;“hisap sampai satu titik darah pun tak ada”. is happen to everyone in the world when they are doing business wheather in local or abroad. however,to have a certified vendor is very difficult this is because in my opinion to get approval fronm the Standard Quality, they have to spend more so that the company will achieve the best vendor that could supply the better components. so….just think they have to pay more for the quality component so why cant we consider to pay for it….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 11, 2006 at 1:44 am

Imation said – "I know what is going on inside Proton".

Appreciate if you can give "list of summary" in this website (if not writing a book) for us to share!

Imation – "I’m sure public will be delighted to hear the inside scoop….."

Totally agree with you and are welcome, ………