Proton Satria Replacement Model Teaser Site

srm_dashboard.jpg

Proton has put up a teaser site for the Satria Replacement Model over at Desire. Teaser ads with the URL were shown at KL International Motor Show the last 3 days. The site looks incomplete though, not all the games are working. They also have an image of the SRM dashboard there. Looks nice, they’ve stuck to the standard dual-pod sporty Lotus-inspired design for the two meters, and the colour is blue.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 9:05 pm

What's the actual date huh?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 9:12 pm

The actual date for launching is "KIV" or "NO DATE" until Pak Lah confirm "FREE" or "AVAILABLE"!

• Initial D (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 9:51 pm

walao, like tat………then no need to launch la…..just announce its available for sale then can lo……….no need so much gimmick….

Cheers!!!!!

• theking (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 9:59 pm

Paul,

That is the new SRM meter cluster with blue illumination!

The launched date already confirmed on 16/6/06.

• bummerboy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:01 pm

dont quite understand the marketing of desire. how desirable is the dashboard?!!?!

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:04 pm

There is bluish grey colour of the SRM that make is look like a classy beemer especially with its stylish headlamps. Hope that PM stick to the launch date as he currently squabbling with Ex-PM.

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:05 pm

P1 nvr know a good way how to do better on advertising. SRM lauching date already drag for too long till all excitement gone. For me, initially quite eager to know how P1 could breakthrough on SRM. But now feel like quite disgusting to know any news about it.

They should have learned how they failed on Savvy. See how the way that Honda advertising New Civic, or even P2 Myvi… Announce the launching date and count it down will be better than playing all the tricks by driving the car around for spyshots.

• karheng (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:23 pm

the spyshots are resources from the many eyes of the visitors from this blog.

This teaser/trailer type of marketing strat is really a common practise and u'll easily find it of any marketing txtbook. I don't know..maybe it will be called Proton Desire.

The eye on Desire.com.my is not one of a local person. It's foreign. Maybe the colour of the eye is nice, but there is nothing Malaysian about the trailer. If they copy the Angel Eye format of the BMW, we might get Taiwan-quality products. I don't know how the eye is related to the car. Noticed some words on the trailer, such as lust and desire…Makes me think that Proton is trying to imply that the SRM is a sexy car?

• bummerboy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:34 pm

a girl or guy who come late is never sexy (pun fully intended)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:47 pm

theking said – The launched date already confirmed on 16/6/06.

How do you know this confirmed date? Who confirmed and where the source – see from your own "crystal ball" or "plug from the sky"?

• swarty (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:48 pm

Patriotic local product, hrm… I year warranty for local product while oversea they offer better warranty. Better quality and features for oversea product then local content. Look at Savvy in Austrialia with air bags and plus free handphone! Proton just make use of so call patriotic to earn every penny from locals. Wonder if this car be more like Waja, which turn locals to test dummy for Proton.

Just wonder is it worthy buying this car and pay for 7 years [1 year warranty, low quality and unreliable] or pay 9 year for toyota car like VIOS [3 years warranty, good quality equipment and reliability].

• theking (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:57 pm

Joe Ooi,

Just wait and see!

• sewell (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:07 pm

is nice to see it. hope that proton this time will do well !

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:19 pm

joe ooi, maybe you can ask your source? whats his name? "whistle blower", the guy who told you about the copper fuel tank.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:37 pm

theking – just wait and see

Aiya, wait for at least 2 years already still need to wait and see. Definitely want to know where is the source of this news and who confirmed it so that by 16/6/06 if "tak jadi", then we can pin down who is the big liar! Otherwise honda_driver may say "this is the press job and not come from P1 or other all kind of arguments". This request is stricly to remove future (next week) "ambiquity"!

honda_driver – about "whistle blower" – their info on "quality campaign" and "strategic alliance" by P1 "main agendas" are design to boost sales and prop up share price is to certain extent lend some "credential". But about copper fuel tank, got second opinion from my mechanic informed me it is make of metal but coated with anti-corrosion material, so my "whistle blower" "do not do a good job" in this aspect and this info is considered as "redundance" and can ignore it.

About my source on launch date, currently the status is "no info". How about your side, any info?

• theking (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:41 pm

Joe ooi,

This time is REAL, info of course from Proton.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:48 pm

i guess we all wait and see. i actually expected the launch to be at KLIMs. but since they showed those teaser ads at Klims, should be close… but.. wait..er.. hang on, its the PM on the line… "what did you say sir, oh.. ok.. great.., thanks, and yup, my mum is well, bye bye sir"

yup.. i think it could be very soon that SRM will launch.

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:05 am

The meter panel look solid from the ads..But who knows,when come to production,cheap plastic?..Jangan mudah terpedaya wahai kawan2 ku..Hehehe

• vishagan (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:10 am

what if its gonna be named "proton desire'? that kinda sux compared to names like impreza, evo, z8, a1 etc. but then again, this is the same automobile company that came up with names like juara, wira,, arena, waja, and (drum rolls)….savvy (worst of the lot). P2 fared the same, kancil, rusa, kelisa and the latest… (another drum roll) myvi (timed right with the savvy). hehe.

hope things change in the malaysian automotive scene. bring out the open market system (the best i know about economics) and see the improvements in leaps n bounds. till then lets pray for the best for the souls of all malaysians.

n to all the other readers, no point bashing the proton or perodua on sites like paultan.org. its time we figured out how to really make a change in the malaysian automotive industry. i'm no expert in these stuff, but i just feel that we make too much noise without any actions. its time we did something. after all, we are the people who make up this country and "boleh"land can still boleh if we voice out accordingly. just my 2 sen for the paultan.org community.

• revver (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:16 am

everyone just got fedup with the gimmick. i dont think anyone care about this car anymore. feels like expired cookie

• Sharfox (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:26 am

Notive the speedometer?….. Waaaa… 240??… Even my sentra shows 220. Hehehehe……

• rexis (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:28 am

"Foooooyoh, luckily i didnt book the OTHER car!"

• gye325 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:39 am

huh?

does this mean it'll be called the proton desire?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:41 am

Hmm, seems like they might actually call the SRM the Proton Desire. Just my 2 cents.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:43 am

Lawa la… but P1.. pls bulit 4 doors SRM in the future… i might want to buy..

• benjo (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:44 am

Lets give proton the last chance ok

• acbc (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:46 am

My meter also shows 240km/h but who dares to go that fast? At 160km/h, a normal person's balls already started to shrink…

• KY (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:48 am

acbc,

Speed limit is 110 km/h, be a good boy. thanks. i'll be here all week.

• Paul Tan on Jun 09, 2006 at 1:02 am

acbc: at 160km/h, my balls still steady. =p

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 1:16 am

hahahah not shrink laa but explode,hahahahah

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 1:25 am

160kmp on a bike oso no sweat… 160kmp in a car = fun…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 1:41 am

pls bulit 4 doors SRM in the future… i might want to buy..

SRM = Satria replacement model

Satria has always been a 3 door hatch.

4 door hatch back = Wira aeroback.

SRM 4 door hatch back = Gen.2

the SRM is basically, the hatchback version of the Gen.2

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 1:46 am

even if it will be named proton desire i think it's a good name..what's wrong with it..

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 1:58 am

yeah dat's correct, honda driver ;)

btw the ad looks really cool… looks like one of those cool assignements that we'd submit in college… can't wait for the Desire/Neo… :D

• ak03 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 2:05 am

got an email from my friend..

more spy pics.
    http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/9824/newsrm9xr.j…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 2:25 am

You know even though it says there 240km, it will not go say 220 KM. Like the savvy they say max speed is 175km, but meters are 180/200, I forgot. And unless you know a very long long straight empty road, there is no way to get 175km. I've got highest is 145km, and feel abit uncomfortable with the body roll

• rave (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 2:30 am

Guys,

It is confirmed the launch is on the 16th of this month. Trust me. Further, dont think it'll be called desire. some other name. nevermind that, its a damn good looking car.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 3:42 am

Well, mind you guys don't drive so fast in a proton with not enough safety features!! no ABS, no airbags, no EBD… etc.. life is more important than driving fast in a Proton. Try other better cars with better safety features if wanna drive fast. Not worth die in a Proton.

• DAN (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 3:51 am

[ ya u r right.! ]

• hamsaplou (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 4:18 am

i try max 13x km/h , the car turn into sharp windnoise .

but fast lo

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:04 am

Oh my…the meter looks like the Gen2

haih…another monkey design with the name "desire"..

Why Proton cannot improve their vehicle like merz?? Its quite long the Proton has establish…but,, haih…

Proton always have a quite nice look of their car but if look into deeply for the quality…suckz man! Somemore they always come out new look with just some accessories add on only…Proton Wira is a very good example..

Try notice the drawer of the left passanger seat carefully…compare 10 years ago Proton Wira with the current Proton Wira Special Edition…Well I have found the same failure but i dont know you guys will gonna notice it or not..haha

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:09 am

rave said – Guys, It is confirmed the launch is on the 16th of this month. Trust me. ……… its a damn good looking car.

I have the benefits of doubt on the 16/6/06 launch date given today Star news about TDM vs. Pak Lah. Before KLIMS, say want to launch during KLIMS but Pak Lah not "free". End of last month, MD SZ said in press the launch date is early June 06 and now you said mid of June 06. Next week last minute may say Pak Lah unable to launch due to "unavoidable circumstances" , etc, etc. Anyway, let the time prove whether it is true or another hype or talk cock by P1.

But I wonder why our Bolehland "proctocol" like or look like it is "compulsory" have to invite minister to officiate even consumers product(s). Somemore P1 lousy quality, inadequate safety features yet sale at relatively high price compare to free market yet have the gut to invite our PM to "endorse" it. Next time if I am a bit enterpreneur and come out with "coca-cola flavour goreng pisang", also have to write letter to our PM to launch it lol, uniquely bolehland product!

Never saw previous or current US President George Bush launch GMC, Chevy, Ford, Chrysler, Buick, Mustang, etc, etc or Japanese PM launch Toyota, Honda, Madza, Nissan, Subaru, Daihatsu, Hino, etc, etc, cars, or saw Margaret Thatcher, John Major or Tony Blair launch Jaguar, Rolls Royce, Aston Martin, MG Rover (now "sleep permanently"). But in 1990s, when UK PM John Major visited our country, part of his scheduled was visited P1 Shah Alam plant and sat at Wira car, perhaps out of our Bolehland "protocol" or P1 want to show off its "engineering feat". But perhaps in John Major mind, huh ….. what is this…. my country can built Jaguar, Aston Martin, Rolls Royce, Harrier jump jet, Challenger MBT, Tornado fighter jet, parnership with German and French built Airbus, etc, etc, …… he, he …… "never mind lah give P1 face…" I came to this country for diplomatic mission but end up looking for this kind of

products? What to do this is Bolehland, 1st class infrastructure, 3rd class mentality?

If US, Japan or UK have similar "proctocol" with our Bolehland, then every month (if not every week) their PM/President must be busy with launch cars new models? So perhaps good also may be US president don't have the time to think on how to invade Iraq or Afganistan?

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:37 am

mystvearn, u're right. every car has meters that display more than their actual max speed. why? because this is so that in case the owner upgrades the engine, tunes or upgrades the car, the meter would still be able to cope with the added velocity. hee hee… :)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:47 am

acbc…160 not fast lor…still ok lor…:)…btw…the gauges looks ok…but i familioar with that dsg…hhmmm…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:51 am

francis…dun say merc la…too early about dat…jz say skoda…still cannot match with dat maker…

• purity (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:07 am

FINALLY!

hopefully get to test drive soon… heard the handling is "double" of GTi (according to some feedback)

auto open/close glove compartment, 1.6 with BK, EBD, Airbag and ABS…

sigh, drolling already… 16th! ok ok… at first thought have to concentrate fully on WC but now have to take time off to test car… hahaha.. come come.. waited very long for you already… SRM… Proton Neo… oossshh!

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:08 am

my dad dealer for proton he said srm launch 16th june 2006 confirm. 1.6 campro thank you

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:15 am

jtshin said,

June 8, 2006 @ 7:42 pm

Well, mind you guys don’t drive so fast in a proton with not enough safety features!! no ABS, no airbags, no EBD… etc.. life is more important than driving fast in a Proton. Try other better cars with better safety features if wanna drive fast. Not worth die in a Proton.

————————————————————–

If you are driving in excess of 120kph (or about 70mph), unless you're driving a proper sports car, no safety features in the world can be counted to save your life. Airbags are useless if the whole body shell of the car is wrecked. ABS and EBD might help you stop your car quicker, but stock brakes on normal cars are not high performance breaks. So they are also useless. If you look at Euro Ncap procedures, the crash tests are all done at VERY low speeds. 64kph frontal impact, (which effectively means if you hit another car, both cars must have a maximum speed of 32kph), and 50 kph side impact. Try driving 50kph and 32kph on your cars, those speeds are practically nothing, and normal cars are engineered only to survive crashes at those speeds. If you drive too fast on a normal car and crash, you'll basically die. The main problem I think is that everyone THINKS that they know how to handle cars at high speeds, but no one actually knows how to do it properly. That's why advanced driving courses and race license can get away with being very expensive. because the people that provide those courses know how important they are. It's never worth it dying in car crashes, it doesn't matter what brand the car is.

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:37 am

purity, where'd you heard that? i hope it's true..and of course the date..dont postpone again..

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:45 am

joe ooi, i understand that our country is ful of protocol such as needing a minister to launch a car but you can't just compare our country with the other countries. We are different and we have our way to do things. I dont like protocols, anyway, but comparing blindly is just unfair. Just a piece of idea from me.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:50 am

purity…is that true??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 8:07 am

wisdom_bin – I dont like protocols, anyway, but comparing blindly is just unfair. Just a piece of idea from me.

Respect your right of idea but I disagree with you that I compare "blindly" as the PM/President in many countries (not limited to developed countries) even our neighbours also the protocol is more on minister present on government related projects or related to welfare of the society at large, rather than commercial entity (I considered P1 GLC as commercial entity).

However, agreed with you that we have our unique way of doing thing, including open house during raya, CNY, Deepavali, Christmas, etc which the leader(s) can mingle freely with rakyat (without security concern or at "minimum" as we are pride to be peacefull country) and this "special arrangement" can't find in any other part ofd the world.

Just to share with you, last time in Belfast, Northern Ireland, if you are local, went to market buy vegetable also have to go thru weapon search? If do this thing in our Bolehland, "damn stupid"!

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 9:50 am

well al i can say is ur guys gotta give proton a break..they have been mismanaged and used just to seek profits without carin for the future of the company…wit all the protection they had…they would and will be a big player if they were managed well and had sucessfull tie ups…they really have gone off da track but u gotta stop somewhere and try to rethink of u direction and thats the position they are in…its up to the individual if they wana support in them or not…thats what i think

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 10:28 am

Thanx for your explanation joe ooi.However, i still dont like protocols, it's a waste of time and effort for me. The leader of the developed countries maybe dont even have enough time as they have too many cars producers whereas proton is gov's anak emas.Maybe that's y but still the main idea is we shouldnt compare everything we have to what others have and how we do things to what others do things. That's the main idea i'm trying to say.Not referring to you, joe.Again, thanx for the explanation.

• mrshaharin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:37 am

I hope the interior comes in dark colour…more sportier. From the desire teaser it looks like it comes in black…

• mrshaharin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:41 am

anything black is sporty

• purity (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:46 am

guys… the specs i read from some other forum also. PROTONMANIA & MOTOR TRADER FORUM…

sources shd be quite reliable. otherwise, just wait and see… it's this 16th (as speculated) or soon since they've already got the teaser site up. Anyway, with WC just moments away, at least we have something to distract our thoughts till the launching…

c'mon england, c'mon england, c'mon england…

i wanna see sven do the-robocrouch!!!

• chang (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:28 pm

SRM?????????

from proton??????

HA HA HA………..

anyone berani buy a car?

remember waja?gen2?savvy?

i tak nak product potong, cos i m victim for gen2!!

say no more potong!!!

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 4:18 pm

To me P1 should not too much dependent on Pak Lah to launch. The main customer not PL. PL won't buy at all… dapat free ada la.

Wait for at lah then losing opportunity. Pak Lah pun, if cannot make it, let tell P1 pls find somebody else. Anyway he's in favour of Naza. Drive difference…..badge

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:01 pm

Zongtwi a.k.a Speed Junkie,

I know that the Euro NCAP only crashed at 64kph front. Hv u seen the Top Gear clip? The waja injured like that in that speed… while Toyota doesn't hv any injuries inside the car, just the front engine part. The waja's steering and brake pedals all moved… with doors can't open properly after crash, with only that speed. I wonder how safe is this SRM… will it at least get 4 stars out of 5 in Euro NCAP? hmmm…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:10 pm

SRM = Satria replacement model

Satria has always been a 3 door hatch.

4 door hatch back = Wira aeroback.

SRM 4 door hatch back = Gen.2

the SRM is basically, the hatchback version of the Gen.2

Yeah say what u like.. but i still prefer it 4 doors.. if they built it 4 doors anyway, up to u la want or not, u like 2 doors, go ahead & buy…. i want it 4 doors.. just like 206 hatchback… if not, i oso know which car i want to choose..

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:36 pm

JTSHIN, I'm sick and tired of all these dont drive fast in a proton, you will die, not worth dying in a proton.

come on lah dude.. its not worth dying in any car. Just coz you drive other cars, does it mean you will not die if you drive fast and get into an accident?

you can still crash a car and get killed even if you had ABS, EBD.. 8 air bags.. blah blah. blah…

the rule of thumb is, drive safely, and courteously, regardless of what car you drive.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:49 pm

motorhead,i'm seriously wondering what planet you are on..

I'm not saying "what I like". The facts, are the fact. I dont even have to be creative with what i'm saying..

you're just arguing for the sake of arguing. nothing more. look at the pics below, and make up your own mind.

206 – 2 door hatch back (equivalent Satria/SRM)
    http://www.nextcar.com.au/i.peugeot.206.GTi180.sw…

206 – 4 door hatch back (equivalent Wira Aeroback/Gen2, known as WRM)
    http://www.peugeot.fi/Liitetiedostot/Pics/att1024…

206 – 4 door sedan (equivalent Wira/Rumoured to be Gen2 Sedan coming..)
    http://www.nolly-it.com/uploaded_images/206sedan-…

• thomas (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 5:57 pm

refer to latest information

launch 16/6

estimated price from 43k 1.3 manual basic to

55k 1.6 auto with airbag/ABS/4 disc brake

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:39 pm

wisdom_bin said – "Thanx for your explanation joe ooi.However, i still dont like protocols, it’s a waste of time and effort for me. The leader of the developed countries maybe dont even have enough time as they have too many cars producers whereas proton is gov’s anak emas.Maybe that’s y but still the main idea is we shouldnt compare everything we have to what others have and how we do things to what others do things. That’s the main idea i’m trying to say.Not referring to you, joe.Again, thanx for the explanation."

Joe Ooi – Actually I compare not on car products from UK, US or Japan with P1, but more on comparing the roles of PM/President. For Pak Lah, he is the leader of our nation and public figure. It is more appropriate limited to play "public roles". If come to auto, and it is related to G policy like NAP, then I think Rafidah come in also sufficient already. To ask Pak Lah as a public figure to play "commercial role", I think shall be avoided as he have more important roles to attend to G matters and of course rakyat problems. Other nation leader always limited to play "public figure" roles but our nation leader have to shoulder extra load of sometime play "commercial roles".

If P1 want to launch commercial products, then their marketing team shall come out with idea like engage "long mosquito-leg" Amber Chia, Michelle Yeoh, Mawi, Jac, Siti Nurhaliza, etc, etc, to put up the show and endorse their product, that make more marketing sen(se) and have higher publicity attraction.

I very respect and envy the way Datok Fernandes from AirAsia doing marketing, they tie up with MU in marketing activity, never put Pak Lah face at their aeroplane. Look at Zhang Toi (New York), Selangor Pewter (KL) or Peter Choo (London), their respective products of Fashion, Shoes and Pewter need no introduction or endorsement from our naiton leader, but very well known all over the world.

However, I have the highest respect to Datok Lat with his Kampong Boys cartoon on local story, 100% local content (not rebadge like P1) but can penetrate international market. All through his genius and hardwork, without a single sen of tax payer money, yet today so successful until Discovery Channel also had dedicated documentary on his success story!

Zhang Toi, Datok Jimmy Choo, Royal Selangor Pewter and Datok Lat, all of them never ask G for tax payer money or implement "New Fashion Policy", "New Shoes Policy", "New Pewter Policy" or "New Cartoon Policy" to protect them or help them to achieve international fame, but all through their shear determination and sacrifice to achieve success! Kudo and good luck to such persons from Bolehland which we can be proud of.

But what P1 achieve with Billion of tax payer money yet protected under NAP? ……………. "

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:45 pm

More and more overhere stated SRM will be launch on 16/6/06. Hope this time is real, otherwise if not taken place then P1 really big liar no matter what reason(s) given by them.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 6:53 pm

nice clusters~ but have to see the overall package

good from far, far from good

Cheap no good, good no cheap

words to live by

• HP7540 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:04 pm

HEloo.. my frenz here… seems all of you were asking about the date of the SRM .. from what i heard, this latest baby of Proton will be officially launched by Pak Lah within 16 June 2006 at Centre Of Excellence, PROTON Edar new Showroom. The daleyd was due to the tight schedule of Pak Lah coz he was bz with the last Sarawak election campaign and official govt visit to overseas.

One more thing to add up.. why Proton delayed the launching also because of the request from new MD and board of director whom wanted the project team to change the interior colour from light cream to dark grey & black colour scheme. this car was once again going to through very tight quality inspection…

This car will be fitted with 16" tyre.. and the R3 concept of the car will come with 17" tyre. The cabin is quite sporty and compact.. simple design and most of the element was similar to the Lotus Europa… Targeted for young people… and very sporty… This car will be offered wide variant of body paint such as metallic orange, sparkling silver, nighthawk black, apple green.. maybe Subaru impreza colour scheme…

On the other hand… wait for the new facelift Waja ( maybe Waja GCC) – without the ugly hood, new Gen.2 Ehancement and Gen.2 R3 Edition and also lots more to come within end of this year and 2007…. Adios…

• abe (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:17 pm

lately.. this blog become so BORING

• Paul Tan on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:24 pm

abe: Any suggestions so you won't find it boring?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:44 pm

abe – "BORING", I suggest Paul not put in but link abe to "xxx" site so that he will feel "EXCITING" all the time, "sleep also not close eye". He find boring doesn't mean applicable to other.

• thomas (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:45 pm

OVERALL, Proton have improved Quality a lot, since they launch SAVVY. Savvy is a reliable & good quality car, (due TUV quality control). I believe Proton have learn some good skill & knowledge from them; so GEN2 & WAJA also improved.

Keep support PROTON, pls.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:48 pm

thomas – many support Proton but all the time P1 let down the supporter.

• waimak (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Anybody got invited to the lauch? I wish I'm on the list..

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 7:56 pm

i heard that the public are invited to their proton coe showroom, next to kesas highway, that big glass building 6pm onwards.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 8:04 pm

motorhead,i’m seriously wondering what planet you are on..

I’m not saying “what I like”. The facts, are the fact. I dont even have to be creative with what i’m saying..

Honda driver..

I am on bolehland.. I am just given a proposal to P1 to make 4 doors SRM.. I think it is possible, since this is Bolehland.. & furthermore it can create more options to P1 product… , & if proton officials look at my comments, maybe they can consider.. (in the future)…

This is my 1st comment..

"Lawa la… but P1.. pls bulit 4 doors SRM in the future… i might want to buy.. "

The comment was meant for P1.. & especially not for u!

So, what is ur problem?..

• abe (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 10:21 pm

some people here thinking this blog are their own blog.

>>abe – “BORING”, I suggest Paul not put in but link abe to “xxx” site so that he >>will feel “EXCITING” all the time, “sleep also not close eye”. He find boring >>doesn’t mean applicable to other.

thx, jeff ooi. i'm sure u're really xpert about 'xxx' site

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 10:31 pm

abe – not "expertlah", but sometime see see n look look on internet for "excitement"! Even, computer got virus, this kind of site also can pop up! Just to share with you mah how to overcome "Boring".

Note: this in one way of doing it but out there may be "thousand" way, so any idea, can share with us …….. lol, sorry out of topic ah ……

OK back to biz, now I am more convince that the SRM will be launch on 16/6/06 given the comments posted on this site and hope this time is for real! About invitation to Centre of Excellence at Shah Alam by P1, I think don't need to take hassle to go there for the sake of see SRM, any P1 showroom nearby shall be good enough.

• abe (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 10:34 pm

not jeff oii..Joe Ooi..

• shaif (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:05 pm

I'm just waiting to see it at my place Sg. Besar. I also agree with the suggestion of having 4 doors SRM. Consider its as an option for family man who like sporty looks. At least it can whack the Naza 206.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 11:20 pm

honda_driver, I think u're starting to make some ppl burning here… everyone is just trying to make some oipinions of themselves, I'm nt saying myself not happy by wat u said as I know this is a public forum that everyone can give their opinions. the 4 door 206 doesn't equivalent to Gen-2 is equivalent to satria 4 doors. look at the design… The Gen-2 is between 206 4 doors and 206 sedan. that's wat I think. N bout the crash and die part, is up to u cos that's ur opinion, wat I think is that is still safer at least we get a better safety featured car as the percentage of crash n die is lower even though is still is. If not, what those ppl make those safety features for? gimmick?

By the way HP7540, where did u get the info? seems interesting news there. Looking forward to the new facelifts n versions…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 12:24 am

gosh… lots of separate discussions goin on here… it's not so boring eh, paul? :D

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 12:51 am

jtshin said,

June 9, 2006 @ 3:20 pm

By the way HP7540, where did u get the info? seems interesting news there. Looking forward to the new facelifts n versions…

……………………………………………………………………………………

He might be Protonian..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 2:04 am

O O like that ah – Protonian…

Look at the way HP7540 statement, he may be Protonian, or not but have access to the car personally with permission. But look at the name, sound like HP products, like series nos. for laser printer, computer, etc.

Anyway this is my guessing and I would like to reiterate that I still highly respect your "name". Best thing is let you to disclose, rather than perhaps based on my "low level guessing works". Anyway thank for the good info if found out to be true!

Cheers, no offend and no "name shouting" …….

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 2:24 am

Yeah jtshin u r rite,

This is public forum!..2 doors @ 4 doors org punya sukalah!.. If proton is to bulit SRM with 4 doors, like Honda driver decide meh? Who r u Honda driver?.. Tun ka? Advisor in proton or what?? If peugeot can make 2 options for its 206, why not proton do the same to SRM? cannot discard 4 doors car's market is much larger here…

I read in newspaper b4, that proton's officials go to auto blogs to seek people's response. So I just gave them some info here…Not more than that.

Who want to argue with you in the 1st place??

"you’re just arguing for the sake of arguing. nothing more.." sounds like you yourself honda driver…

• flizzardo (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 2:57 am

omfg motorhead you rreally got problem lah

i SRM is actually the 2 door version of gen 2

gen 2 = is suppose to be replacement model for wira aeroback

srm = is replacement model for satria

so if u want a 4 doors srm go buy gen 2 lah

and i know some will say gen 2 looks different from srm but come on la if they make it look the same just change put 2 door people will flame proton say they lazy la this la

• azrai (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 3:22 am

This SRM just another Gen-2 variant. Is it gonna be named Desire? Proton Desire? Sound quite nice. Elegant name if it is true. I think 4 door SRM@desire is a good option. Even Daihatsu mira in japan come in 2 door version but in Malaysia they sold Kancil in 4 door after market study and survey. hey, this is the real Daihatsu feasibility study. I think proton is trying to hard to achieve something, but they really need to listen what are the product people want. They fail miserablely in this aspect.

• bravia (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 4:06 am

My office is just next to proton showroom but the business is very poor, i think see less than 5 cars in a month and i guess the SRm will not be launched so soon as what i know …but i think the quality is the same as G2..terrible..Paper said that proton will only produce new model in another 18 months..so wait for it dudes

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 5:10 am

flizzardo,

it seems like your statement is a bit blurry…

since proton don't want ppl to say they are lazy…so they do something different…hence, SRM and Gen2 will not look alike exactly…

and probably some people might prefer the minute detail of SRM over gen2…

;)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 5:27 am

All of you disagree with each other, blurrrrrr kah, got problem kah, whatever hu hu ha ha you want to make, come 12.00 AM 2night, "NO DISTURB" – World Cup time …………………

• haterade (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 5:31 am

correct me if i'm wrong… but i haven't heard of QC problems on the savvy. i think proton is improving… at least i hope it is. there is no point in talking bout P1's old mistakes, its not gonna change anything. as we all know they screwed up a lot in the past. new management for the new car… all we can do is wait till the 16th.

btw, many proton dealers are trying really hard to sell off their old stock like waja, wira, gen2 & iswara. one dealer is givin rm200 in petrol, rm2000 discount on the car, and rm100 in service vouchers. signs of a very near launch date for SRM i think. 16th looks feasible.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 6:39 am

Folks, I would like to join the carnival that you guys are having on P1.

To me, let P1 do whatever they want, just abolish the NAP and let all the other auto makers compete on a level playing field here, agree? anyone?

No more crazy blood sucking tax!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 7:00 am

Yeah betullah tu, go mampus dgn NAP… lets watch world cup, after that I want to play with my wife!!! hahaha!!..

Have a nice weekend everybody, frens & foes…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 9:01 am

haterade – Proton survival not only limited to fixed up the QC problems. It shall be discontinue production for Iswara, Wira, Perdana, etc to come out with totally new model, not cut here and paste there or make cosmatic changes only to existing model then claim it to be new model? Can Proton make it without partnership? Can Proton go into partnership like Perodua structure? Can Proton compete in open market? Can Proton ask G to dismantle blood sucking NAP??????????????????? There are many ????? as to the survival of Proton.

Don't tell that MD SZ can fix power window or absorber then do a good job already? If don't want to talk about the past, now we talk about future, the Savvy when launched last year, just like Gen-2 target to sell 50 to 60 K unit, but the Proton Holding Bhd website shown Savvy sold in 2005 slightly above 6,000 unit only for approximately 6 month support by TUV advert by Wolfgang – "Das it Perfekt" slogan? Where is Wolfgang, claimed every Savvy is personally checked by him, no news already or he got his fat cheque, return to Germany and drive his BMW enjoying his life? Look at Perodua even delivered 7,102 unit in March 06 alone? Any private commercial venture, the main and most important KPI is sales/turnover. No or less sales nothing to talk?

When Proton just like Toyota and Merc can conquer any part of the world. If Proton claim contribute to national economy, then dismantle NAP, show to rakyat and go to US, Europe or Japan and sale 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 millions car and bring back the money to enrich our nation, not complaint they come to Bloehland ask rakyat to make "patriotic contribution" under CarTaxLand sucking NAP which cost easily more than RM 6 billion to feed the vicious and predatory crocs and AP King? Show to rakyat Proton is capable, not "moral hazard" or liability to rakyat. Finally when can Proton do it? Likely direction is joint MG Rover – "sleep permanently" given current operating structure with resistent to change.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 10:06 am

Although MG Rover "sleep permanently" at least they produce decent cars, Rover has already been taken over by a Chinese Automaker. My favourite team won….Bring back VW…I want Passat.

• myvisavvy (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 8:47 pm

is it proton neo??? replacing satria

• myvisavvy (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 8:49 pm

Proton neo not desire???

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 11:33 pm

————————————-

This is my 1st comment..

“Lawa la… but P1.. pls bulit 4 doors SRM in the future… i might want to buy.. ”

The comment was meant for P1.. & especially not for u!

So, what is ur problem?..

———————————-

by reading the counter comment from motorhead to 'proton'_driver….

Feel like Protonians (employee or slave), ada dimana2 lah. macam K&K plak.

Rakyat give good recommendation to potong pun kena bash tu .. macam dia tu proton.

if read between the line.. motorhead might like the srm design..

its just about the doors (and its function and what the doors symbolise)..

me also bila tengok balik the spy photo at Salji tu.. feel that srm nampak cam ok, cuma ade parts/design yg tak berkenan.. but this time, biar je lah..

of course potong staff tak larat nak layan la kalau macam ini..

macam2 cadangan bernas … bertambah plak la kerja kang! orang nak balik sharp ni… betul ke??

to re-flame the comparison:

a few potonian berkeras conclude that , geng, geng, geng…

==> Gen2 is SRM 4 door (?????)

THE FACTS

1. the car model name is different (omg! so obvious.)

2. the looks/ body/exterior? look for yourself lor.. same ka? same ka?

3. Interior same ka? huh?

4. chasis.. sama? (but please aaa, same chasis not mean same car ok?, jgn buat buat tak tau pulak..)

5. boring lah nak list down lagi.

who conclude the Gen2 is a variant of SRM (the 4-doors version of SRM) must go and seek bomoh assistance.. mana tau.. got something bad in your body, boleh bomoh tolong halau keluaq..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 11:56 pm

SRM is the product of yesteryear! 2 doors for today cars is normally "coupe" fast car. Unless SRM introduced as "coupe", then may another failure. If use back Satria chassis with cosmetic changes only, then nothing to say lol, let 16/6/06 be the witness!

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 1:06 am

had a short glance of the car… looks really sharp, modern. u're right, minute detailings will make it stand apart from d GEN.2. no photos, no details…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 8:18 pm

Yeah kudos intermilan.. i oso dunno how they can say SRM is A gen2 variant.. i like SRM, just the doors matter… but if they want to keep it 2 doors nevermind lah.. but 4 doors option can be bonus to some…. like Yaris for instance, dulu 2 doors, now we have 4 doors Yaris… ini doors punya hal small matter only.. boleh bikin punya… i am confident.. but up to proton la want to invest in the project…kalu ade budget bole la start R&D on 4 doors SRM, for sport small family market segmen…

ps: MD SYED ZAINAL PLEASE TAKE NOTE…

• azrai (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 12:28 am

Yes. SRM is another Gen2 variant. In order to save cost, Proton use the Waja floor plan for Gen2 and SRM with minor modification. Even Honda done this with their Fit family a.k.a City and Jazz. Notice the Forrester, Subaru use same chassis as the Legacy. The New Ford Focus share the same platform with Volvo. It is common nowadays. Want to know more, find and read. Don't just blatantly critised something or someone. Take a time and think. We are civilised people right?

• azrai (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 12:28 am

Yes. SRM is another Gen2 variant. In order to save cost, Proton use the Waja platform for Gen2 and SRM with minor modification (which originally from Mitsubishi). Even Honda done this with their Fit family a.k.a City and Jazz. Notice the Forrester, Subaru use same chassis as the Legacy. The New Ford Focus share the same platform with Volvo. It is common nowadays. Want to know more, find and read. Don't just blatantly critised something or someone. Take a time and think. We are civilised people right?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 6:02 am

Proton's car have no quality at all. Pls guys, for peace of mind, do not buy proton. all my friends who bought wira year 2005 faced load of problems and have to send for repairs again and again. anyway, this SRM, i will not buy it for sure. even the old Satria don't have high sales compare with wira. so if gen-2 is the replacement of wira and by the looks of the sales of gen-2 nowadays, we basically have an idea how will the public response to this new SRM.

so this message to proton… YOUR PRODUCT SUCKS

• shaif (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 4:42 pm

I have two friend who bought wira SE in 2005. One in early 2005 and another one at the end of 2005. The one in early 2005 already have the pwer window problem in which he repair it at under the three w'shop after several visit to PE not solving the problem. Thats the only problem. And Wira SE bought at the end of 2005 still running smoothly with no problem at all. Actually, people aware about the quality issue, but since they don't really have any other choice except Proton brand, why not. As P2 only offer a mini size car, it create a loop hole which only P1 fill it with Wira, G2 and Waja with sedan looks. With consideration of higher prices of other brand, P1 is still relevant as long as they keep producing 'higher than before quality' for low and middle income earner. For those with big budget they have plentiful of choices of other Japs brand. So, welcome SRM and hopefully it can change negative perspective towards Proton.

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 7:43 pm

about the teaser ad….

saw it on one of astro channel last weekend

so romours about the launch this week

is going to happen…

anyway… anybody want to address me can call me "aboo"

thankk

• riderx (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 8:02 pm

azrai words are soo wrong.. ` SRM with minor modification (which originally from Mitsubishi)`…srm is true been developed from the gen.2 chasis and quite a hybrid with a european chasis (lotus did make the engineering for this one european company). its not from mitsu ok. dont talk like u noe and be friend with the proton engineers..talk with a brain la..

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 10:17 pm

ok2.. gen2 chasis or not.. but i would be glad if there 4 doors SRM in the future.. if using gen2 platform, should be easier to make 4 doors version.. tak bleh kalu, xpelah.. can wait other models oso… next year P2 oso will launch new models….

ps:Gen2 is out of question, heard enuf true horror stories about it… but dunno about new stocks..

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 10:49 pm

the launch is confirmed 16th, source from proton. cos i was at their plant in tj malim last sat… the srms are all ready, expecting approx 2000 ready units on friday…

btw, juara is known to be the proton with the least problems becos it's 90% CBU from mitsubishi, with the exception of the front bumper, which is from malaysia. dats why u dun hear horror stories of power window from juara (touchwood) ;)

• thomas (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 10:53 pm

Hello guys, just stop complaining;

All new car have problemes, but just more people use P1 in the past time;

So "DON'T OTHERS PEOPLE TALK, U ALSO TALK".

Just look at NAZA CITRA, some of the new car engine overheat; NAZA sutera have tonnes of problem; P2 MYVI also have alarm failure, water leaking or handbrake problem.

PROTON poor after sales service already cause them poor sales & poor reputation, I only want to declare my 2003 waja have no problem at all.

I believe a lot people have problemes with their branded new car but shy to tell others people only.

No matter how, let us visit PROTON showroom to experience latest PROTON product.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 11:28 pm

Nice to hear u declared ur waja ve no problems.. this is 1st time i heard such declaration… bcoz suma my waja fren owners complained about their cars.. gen2 paling byk problems.. can visit many forums about waja & gen2.. so little positive comments.. so i jadi takutlah.. but with ur declaration, ada rs lega sket..

• azrai (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 1:28 am

Dear riderx. Yes, Waja platform is adaptation from Mitsubishis platform.

"When the Proton Waja was under development in the late 1990s, it was envisioned that its GX platform (now known to have been adapted from the Mitsubishi Carisma/Volvo S40 platform) would be used for more than just a sedan. At the time of the model's launch in mid-2000, Muhamad Aman, who was then the Waja Program Director, said: "By having our own platform, we can also develop additional variants as and when we wish, such as MPVs and 4WDs. It will depend on what the market wants." Insiders said that on Proton's drawing boards were another 11 possible variants, besides the 4-door sedan and some would appear in the course of the life of the platform which is expected to be between ten and twelve years. "

Source:- http://wizvax.blogspot.com/2005/12/money-worth.ht…

Another 1 is here:-

"However, it is interesting to note that TM actually mentioned that the Waja platform was a hybrid platform which was adapted from a Mitsubishi platform. That surprised me since the official word from him at the launch of the Waja was 100% Proton although his engineers were a bit evasive and used the term 'based on known data' [meaning certain 'hard points' for the structure were followed from another platform which many have said was the Carisma/S40]"

Source: -http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5324&whichpage=3

I use my brain. And still using it riderx.

• howitzer (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 10:42 am

AI yo…. all here no-sense for the images, visual and words, some said like headlamps, why is eye, eye is mean what?, proton desire……. just think! Where got people put the real name & whole product shot in TEASER! Desire just a campaign name of SRM.

Why? DESIRE? just look the eye ball, when u look at something impact o bright, what happens to ur eyeball? What is be come big and small. Think! Don't simply make a judgement.

Another is thank all the proton shooter, saying proton bad words but y can see proton car every corner. I not use local car but i respect local product bcos i stay in MALAYSIA.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 4:40 pm

thomas…congrats coz ur waja dun hv problem…its amazing u know…b4 dis…alwiz heard a lot of complain from waja and gen 2 owners…now…for a first time heard waja no problem…:)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 4:45 pm

riderx…wuts azrai said is true…i heard it b4…it is common for carmakers to do that like honda and subaru as he mentioned above…even beemer and merc and alfa do that too…and its true about srm…

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 5:03 pm

motorhead said,

June 12, 2006 @ 3:28 pm

Nice to hear u declared ur waja ve no problems.. this is 1st time i heard such declaration… bcoz suma my waja fren owners complained about their cars.. gen2 paling byk problems.. can visit many forums about waja & gen2.. so little positive comments.. so i jadi takutlah.. but with ur declaration, ada rs lega sket..

Just to share a thought with everyone. People normally go to specific car forum to discuss on their car problems and not what is so great about their car. Along the way there would be some positive comments but mostly and definitely the comments would be negative. Ask yourself why you seek out a certain car forum. It is because you would like to find answers to your problems. Therefore, ofcourse you would see that most people bashing the respective manufacturer about their quality and so on.

My friend owns a Myvi and have headache since day due to its engine lack of power and poor fuel consumption. Complained to SC and wrote letter to Perodua didn't solve the problem. Finally, a call to the HQ complaining on the problem finally solved that problem by getting the engine ECU changed. But then he still got other unresolved problem with his Myvi. Check out the Myvi forums for more details out the car problem and compared it with Waja & Gen2. With the numbers of Myvi on the road increasing, I am pretty sure the complains would be piling on real soon.

And one more thing, if Proton Top Management is reading this please ensure in future you launced all your new models with the 4As ~ Automatic Transmission, ABS, Air-bags & Aerokit. Better still if it has four Air-bags like the UK specs. Safety first.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 6:10 pm

Tracks,

I get yr points.. yeah, some cars got problem too.. I know about myvi problems oso, that one of reasons I canceled my myvi booking this year..

But proton problem is not a myth anymore… even the current mgmt now oso admitted quality is their one of main concern.. u cant discard that, ok?.. MD SZ talk many times about to regain people confidence about the quality.. damage has been done….furthermore problems I heard from proton cars not only from forums, but from my own friends! 4 of them own wajas.. 3 of them sold their cars just few of years using it.., u know la, baru pakai 2-3 years, loan masih byk, kena jual, rugi byk!!.. but they just cant stand, 2 of my friends own gen2 oso got problems.. one of them suda nak jual oredi.. I don’t want to list down the problems here, but I am sure some of us know oredi.. x payah cakap lah…

Mau senang, just ask around especially ur pomen.. they r the one who use to repair cars, mereka tau byk about car problems … I always ask my pomen about cars… my pomen is my side kick, like Batman’s Robin.. and you know what??..trade in value for waja is very bad now.. 2001 waja worth RM28k only now.. So pls share my thought oso…. No offend to waja owner without problems.. bcoz I just share true stories from own my frens…. Kalau ada yg x puas hati, saya berani bawa jumpa mereka sendiri…..

ps: But I don’t know if they ve improved new stock, from showrooms, I can see gen2 ve many improvements, and I welcome improvement, bcoz actually I like gen2.. I like all the analog console.. analog is sporty…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 7:12 pm

motorhead…not only frm forums or ur fren…even the journalist oso…proton is famous…not only in m'sia…but outside oso…:)..poor proton…

tracks…ure rite all new cars got problem…even merc,beemer oso gt problem…even jap cars oso gt problem…but they solve it as soon as possible…proton still…minor problem not settle since born…the window problem…till now not solve it…how many years???more than 10 years…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 7:46 pm

Hi Tracks,

how bad was ur friend's myvi fc? n what was the expected fc for ur friend when he bought the car and from where is he basing it on? its quite important how high his expectations are.

for the jap version daihatsu boon/sirion, the engine is the same as myvi k3-ve. its specifications are here

http://catalogue.carview.co.jp/DAIHATSU/BOON/late…

from the site the k3-ve on 4AT city driving is 18km/l on the 10-15 test value (this cannot be used for real world as it is a test value). for malaysia my observation is 70% achievement so should be around 12.6km/l plus or minus. is your friend achieving these figures? if not maybe have to get the car checked out.

• swarty (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 9:46 pm

just heard the price for SRM RM45k to RM65k .. hrm .. RM65k.

• thomas (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 9:57 pm

I JUST WANT TO SHARE MY EXPERIENCE TO ALL PROTON USER,"PROTON NOT A BAD CAR"

1st, I own a good WAJA, becauce I didn't expect it to perform like BMW or TOYOTA. I only want a reliable car; it answered my call.

2nd, I lucky enough because power window & door handle work well, no problem. Refer to SC, PROTON improved it on early 2003.

3rd, I have a good SC, they always answer my complain & claim; so i give them business.

4th, Don't go to SC where they always give answer like "Proton always like this ma" & keep encourage u to change this & change that. They just want to make extra money; Change your SC if they don't give good service.

5th, PROTON have fair resell value, all car will depreciate 50% in 5yrs time.

Pls find out more from your nearest use car dealer; they will tell you the truth.

6th, Don't buy expensive car because all type of car will depreciate, buy the one that U need or U like.

GOOD LUCK TO ALL PROTON USER.

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 10:19 pm

raybrig85 said,

June 13, 2006 @ 11:12 am

tracks…ure rite all new cars got problem…even merc,beemer oso gt problem…even jap cars oso gt problem…but they solve it as soon as possible…proton still…minor problem not settle since born…the window problem…till now not solve it…how many years???more than 10 years…

I agree with u that the old models such Saga & Wira probably still has unresolved problem with the Power Windows. However, as far as I know the Waja Power Window problem was solved from 2004 onwards together with the Door Handle problem. As for the Gen2, the first batch of cars has got power window problem but had since been resolved also. Saga & Wira I guess nothing much is being done to improve it because it would be face out soon.

To Driven2020, my friend FC for his Myvi 1.3 manual was worst than my runabout 1997 Kancil 850EZ auto. After he got his engine ECU changed (after lots of complaining), there was a significant improvement in FC as well as power. Apparently the only solution for this kind of problem is by changing the ECU as mentioned in a forum.

To Thomas, which year is your Waja manufactured? I also have a 2001 Waja 1.6 as well but I did faced the Power Window and Door Handle problem. I managed to replace them with the improved units and never had problem since. Yeah one more thing, the OEM Kayaba absorber sucks as they get worn out very quickly, probably around 20,000km of use so try something else.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 10:24 pm

thomas said – "1st, I own a good WAJA, becauce I didn’t expect it to perform like BMW or TOYOTA. I only want a reliable car; it answered my call."

Waja, who expect it to perform like BMW as this car is consider under high end luxury in its class. But to say not expect it to perform like Toyota is very unacceptble since Toyota is a mass producers and set many benchmark in many aspect like safety and reliability. The closeness objective comparison for Waja is Toyota Corrola Altis. Under free market they are compete neck-in-neck (i.e. UK) but Altis is over the top in everything comparable? Compare to US market, the Mitsubishi LAncer 2.0L basic Evo just cost USD 10K ++, so what you try to boast of Waja under NAP. Don't tell me that cannot compare with oversea market as now is ICT world, every info available in internet is just with a click of button.

Talk about depreciation, only CarTaxLand set a precedent that car can appreciate prior to 1997. Even recond Toyota Harrier old model from Japan (5 or 6 years) is sell at higher price in Bolehland compare to their price for new car in Japan. Talk about car in Bolehland, not a single models are selling at lowest price, be it P1, P2, P3 or imported brands for 1 big reason – NAP.

You mentioned about "buy the one that U need or U like" – than have to kill NAP first before talk about it.

Currently I am Waja owner as well, appreciate you can posted here the contact and address of your good SC, perhaps your good SC get another good customer through your recomendation. Good luck to you that you are lucky your Waja have no problem(s). But I am confidently to make a statement that your case is exception, the norm is still almost all Waja owners encountered one kind or another irritating problems, me no exception.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 10:39 pm

Agreed. Waja so far IMO the most reliable in the P1 sub 2L class. I've heard from friends Waja still maintain its ruggedness even after years of use. wished that P1 will look into more appealing designs rather doing the chiplak audi and bmw lookalikes. be original, be proton, but dun be chiplak.

Thomas, consider urself lucky not getting the car that is flanked with probs. periodic maintenance is the key. I reckon u bring ur car for maintenance vigilantly.

hmm seems like SC has taken this as a norm to earn more coz road users may think "well need to change anyway" attitude. I dun service my P1 in P1 SC anymore, rather the maintenance is done in Honda SC. Unlike P1 SC u dun have tons of cars piling up there waiting to be serviced. Honda SC simply has more time to look into the maintenance details IMO. If reliability is improved and breakdowns reduced, I'm sure the attitude "well need to change anyway" will get washed away gradually. Maybe P1 will gain its consumer confidence then.

But still, we as end users have to be reasonable & responsible as well. If we drive like rally drivers dun expect our cars would last long. Obey your service limits. Some ppl drive their cars until breakdown n dun care of the maintenance then say P1 sucks. Is that being fair. Well if we go for regular maintenance maybe non if not minor probs will pop up. who knows? no point crying over spilt milk when u knew there is already a hole at the bottom of the milk carton. This applies not only to P1, but to all road going vehicles. Even soldiers have to service their guns.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 11:14 pm

one of my fren ve waja gear poblems.. auto… he sold his waja.. well, in some aspects, P1 better than P2.. since P1 br setaun jagung dlm auto ind., they ve many designs & technicals flaw.. P2 rebadge proven models, but apply low cost & quality…

anyway, i am considering to buy avanza, they have cash discount & 2.6% rates, now….

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 12:17 am

To all proton lover!!!

any confirmation on the name yet?

as i assume it will be called proton desire

want to know why? reply to this and we'll exchange comment

(i am a proton admirer, most of all i admire the one who started proton)

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 12:21 am

Yo Tracks,

better check whether ur friend's myvi ecu has been changed out or not. by simply unplugging the ecu will reset it.

Yo Joe Ooi,

Good move to look for better SC. Might turn out abit costlier (is that a word?) but hopefully will give u peace of mind (i think that is what everybody wants). But then again if u come across a willing buyer, I'd sell it if i were u.

Yo Motorhead,

Hmm can u tell us what is ur friend's waja driving style and tentativeness to maintenance? ur feedback maybe a good heads up for fellow protonians reading the forum (protonians sounds like from cybertron or sumthing – just joking). when a car breaks down we'd usually blame the manufacturer. But it'll be unfair to judge like that if we do not know what the condition of the vehicle when it failed – no point crying over spilt milk if we knew there is already a hole on the milk carton.

Planning to buy Avanza? not a bad idea but do you need 7 seats? and by 7 seats it isn't exactly big comfy 7 seaters. with the same engine as myvi – K3-VE and tranny setup dun expect a miracle FC performance. Even the ride is a bit bumpy for my taste. I'd recommend test driving as much cars as possible – let ur mind decide which is better.

• thomas (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 2:34 am

TO Joe,

if u r JOHOREAN, u can visit ALLTIME autotech which located at TMN DAYA, JOHOR BAHRU. Their manager is Mr Lim. Strongly recommended.

My wife's GEN2(1st batch April 2004) have seat adjuster problem, they manage to get replace within 10 days, but others SC take 1 year also no news.

Back to GEN2, I also lucky didn't have much problem, only found water mark/minor water leaking after 1 yr; they also manage to fix back new roof lining in 2 weeks time. I really appreciated their good work.

I believe this is luck because so many ppl complain about GEN2, but not me.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 3:17 am

ure really luckyla thomas…hopefully ull not facing any problem in the future…

hey aboo…confirm it will called proton desire??how come??

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 3:55 am

Alow thomas…

I own ex850 for more than 5 years, never have any problems like ur wife gen2 or whatsoever.. P1 produce quality in SC (see my komen in BMW extreme test, see oso Isamu komen).. too bad… May be u know Mr. Lim so good, u nevermind to go to the SC many2 times.. hehehe.. (joke only)

Alow Driven2020,

I dunno how he maintain his car.. but said something about lost of power.. & his pomen said need to change the gear box… warranty suda abis, he was not happy with the car somemore,so he sold his car…. but i think my fren is not so stupid about car's maintenance… he visit paultan oso…

Yeah, I have done some research on avanza.. bumpy & FC is expected, its like a van.. what can we say? its not a passenger car, but its engine performance equal wira 1.5…. but toyota ofer this month is quite good.. but i might hold my decision if P1 announce to produce 4 doors SRM in the future… unfortunately my time is running out as my car value drops very fast… any good recommendations r welcome.. tq…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 4:35 am

motorhead – just do cost-benefit analysis. For e.g. if your 5 year EX850 is RM 12K, then the depreciation basically is based on "curve" line calculation rather than straight line. In this case, the drop for the first 3 years were the most. After say 6 years may be depreciation is less. But look at say RM 12K car, not much you can lose, but at this moment, there are a lot of marketing gimmick to close sale. Avanza or other offer the attractive interest look "low" but the selling price may already make allowance for this already.

The most important thing is your current and forecast loan tenure period financial standing when make decision to acquire any goods and services. The jargon are you can "afford" and "sustain" power.

If ask me, if the car condition is well maintain, then should be OK to use it for another 2 or 3 years if you have tight budget. If your income limit is the sky, then go for any car you like.

• infinity (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 7:39 am

hello every1…there's another sneak peek in the teaser site..it's suppose to be the tail lamp..as if we dunno how the car looks like..hehehe..i'm sure many of us are eagerly waiting to check out the quality of the interior rather than the looks of the car…hahaha…btw, my dad is thinking of changing his 11yrs old wira 1.6xli to a 2nd hand waja – auto (2-4yrs)…any comments?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 3:23 pm

motorhead…wut is ur budget??i think avanza is ok…reliability and maintaining the car should be ok…toyota ma…but do u need a car like avanza???and if u compare to srm…it is not in the same league…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 4:30 pm

Motorhead,

I agree with raybrig85. If u not planning to move alot of ppl n fc is ur goal then go for the small displacement vehicles like myvi 1.0L manual. personally i would get the ivory white 1.0L manual.

n after enjoying it for a few years, if u like then buy the yrv turbo half cut then install it on myvi – 1.3L turbo automatic with the price of a myvi 1.3L LOL.

off topic i filled up my car with primax 3 last night. seems the new fuel got some punch. hopefully fc will improve as claimed.

u can also give korean cars a try. can anyone comment on korean cars fc? fuel guzzler maybe?

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 4:50 pm

Yo motorhead, Avanza has its plus points and bad point. However, I find that the suspension is too soft and insufficient damping. Furthermore, cruising at 110kph will have the engine running at close to 4,000rpm for the auto version making long distance traveling to be noisy and have poor FC. But on the bright side, it has acceptable comfort to seat 7, good air-cond and better view to the front due to its higher seating position. I heard that Toyota is coming out with the 1.5L Avanza soon. Perhaps you should wait for a while.

As for Korean cars, they look nice but somehow I have no faith in their engine rreliability and FC.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 5:32 pm

Thx a lot friends.. u all gave so much useful info.. yeah heard about avanza's FC, that’s why I am planning to buy manual trans… some said the FC is good (compare to its size).. My budget is below 60k la.., I heard about avanza 1.5, but I am afraid it wud be expensive.. cant expect it goin to be cheap in Taxbolehland.. but what I really like about avanza is, its RWD.. sure tahan one, no expensive drive shaft, enuf space to sleep in it, & cheap 1.3 roadtax.. but I agree with some of u, perhaps I should wait a bit.. but I guess interest rate at 2.6% is very good now, since it will keep increasing.. Korean cars, r out la.. bad trade in value.. heard about bad FC oso….

Yeah, PRIMAX 3 is a very good fuel indeed, I don’t even ve to pull choke for my big bike yesterday morning, I was surprised!! So don’t waste ur money for shell blue..

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 8:41 pm

Proton Satria Neo…. Yup 'NEO' just like other carmaker… Mazda 2 Neo, Mazda 3 Neo..

Wait n see… who's have done test drive… know the potential… yeahhhh…

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 10:02 pm

to raybrig85

i just assumed, could be proton neo

anyway… my explaination are:

people normally register a domain to their product name,

not based on their campaign title…

and proton neo name, mazda already have that mazda 2 neo etc

anyway… i just assumed,

few more things…

i think P1 will launch it at their Proton Platinum store

at mutiara damansara, ( i assumed this 1 also) ,

will go there to check after work…

if there's any,

sure they start preparing something for the launch

i think P1 should prove something with this SRM thingy

something that will somehow change our mind about

their product, good improvement with savvy… but

for this one… they should make a statement.

IF they want to continue in this business la

wait and see la, good luck to proton

— i m a proton admirer, most of all i admire the person who started proton —

• chiliq (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 11:16 pm

Passed by Proton Center Of Excellence next to KESAS in SHah ALam on my way to klang

Preparations are in progress…

So confirm this friday…

Proton Satria Neo.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 11:28 pm

Yeah, I am proton admirer too.. admire how proton & NAP making the other cars expensive!! Now we all can make patriotic contribution.. thx a lot…

Well will see Ultraman Neo this friday… ultraman fans can buy neo…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 11:33 pm

yup, it's at shah alam

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 11:37 pm

sneak peek 2 now is on9, try out d game..it's the back light..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 11:46 pm

thanx 4 da info…actually very exciting with dis car and wants to noe how it going to works and the feedback…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 12:15 am

I have neogeo, anybody wanna challenge KOF? lol

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 12:45 am

Proton Neo – "very sure", not only car copy, name also want to copy? See this Friday, how the outcome of the product. Proton Centre of Excellency – look so big and impressive from Shah Alam Highway, spend a lot of tax payer money, but how many new model over there? 2 unit of shop lot also enough to display all P1 models.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 12:50 am

Joe, u can join me, see ultraman neo this friday at poton tmn connaught.. ada makan2 sekali.. my frens said konfem ada this friday…

• raffendi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 12:51 am

Hi there..

ETTi post this at autoworld.com.my

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/showroom/satria/
    Then click link containing neo

Should be Satria Neo.. not Neon

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 12:52 am

motorhead…

proton have nothing to do with NAP…

it's our government… proton is not our government

but they do own a bit of proton…

as for me i do hate this NAP thingy

make other car expensive

what i admire is the project of proton, that's all

and i do respect/admire/idolise the founder of proton

so my sign of (i admire proton and all that)

nothing to do with NAP

maybe i should put it like this:

i m a admirer of proton, most of all i admire the one who started proton,

i do have some part of malaysian government, especially thier policy of NAP

thanks

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 1:07 am

wrong typing on the sign off

sorry!! should read like this

i m a admirer of proton, most of all i admire the one who started proton,

i do HATE some part of malaysian goverment, especially their NAP policy

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 1:35 am

aboo fr alladin.mov said – "proton have nothing to do with NAP…

it’s our government… proton is not our government

but they do own a bit of proton…"

Joe Ooi – Your statement sound simplilistic. Let me put your perspective right, PROTON HAVE EVERYTHING TO DO WITH NAP AND VICE-VERSA. This is not an egg-chicken issue. Definitely Proton come first and NAP later. Since Proton from it inception used billion of tax payer money to set up and until today consumers have to fork out HUGE "patriotic contribution" to acquire cars irrespective of brands/models.

As a matter of fact, NAP is design solely to protect Proton by coming out all kind of regulation and procedures design to make all cars selling price become high and impose certain restrictions on cars with direct competition with Proton in term of models or pricing. Among criterion use are AP, CKD, CBU, local content, etc, etc, etc. which today some become contentious issues.

You can admire Proton or the one who started proton and yet you HATE NAP. This is your opinion but let be fair to you and eveybody, NAP is related to P1 and is "big sucking blood machine"!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 1:47 am

motorhead – I can go there around 7.30 pm, my feature is crew/soldier cut hair @ 5' 13", he, he, he, he, ………. Where is the showroom, near Giant side or opposite the highway?

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 1:48 am

Joe ooi,

I think you already forgot your statement earlier…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 2:05 am

Look at proton-edar website as posted by raffendi.

1. The first thing I dislike is the sport rim as per spyshot – like the ship propeller.

2. Observe and compare with Satria GTI, the overall shape of Satria Neo look very similar, perhaps another cosmetic change using back Satria chassis (this is the worst scenario!).

3. The "bee sting" radio arial located at the front of the car instead normally at the back of roof like Waja – very ugly.

4. GOOD about this is look more "dynamic curvy" compare to old model.

The rest can't comment especially interior can't see anything. By this Friday, go to showroom "see2 n look2, touch here touch there, test drive (if can", testing, etc, etc," then have fair comment on this car.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 2:13 am

ichiban – which one, show to me, I always keep my word, any contradiction, inconsistent or unacceptable from me? In legal perspective, let me take the RESPONSIBILITY to remedy it, not for you to take BURDEN to correct it ("I eat the rice, so don't wash plate for me"), of course welcome your idea and + feedback.

• waimak (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 2:25 am

From the link posted by raffendi,

What I like (design wise):

– Front grill

– Overall shape

– Exhaust pipe

– Tail light

– Color scheme

– 16" rims

– Look more Gen2 ( 2 door of course) than Satria

What I dont like:

– Headlight (small)

– front bonnet inward curve

Well, that again might change when I see the real thing.

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 2:30 am

Joe ooi,

The rest can’t comment especially interior can’t see anything. By this Friday, go to showroom “see2 n look2, touch here touch there, test drive (if can”, testing, etc, etc,” then have fair comment on this car.

…………………………………………………………………..

Just note to some people. If you already hate sth/sdy, don't ever try to meet again, afraid you'll get in love madly…. kah kah kah.

Kutuk macam nak gila, still want on go and touch touch ka? Tak malu! Maybe to find bad things only , rather finding pro & cons. Bring your screwdriver, hammer etc and then knock it! See, this is really bad car… tin milo, not strong, bad quality. Damn you, close P1 etc… Don't waste your time la ooi. Go to Honda, Toyota, Merc etc and dreaming to own that. That P1 not for u

Joe Ooi said,

June 14, 2006 @ 6:13 pm

ichiban – which one, show to me

see your opinion on Proton PSA forum.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 3:11 am

Dear Aboo..

NAP is for poton & cronies to get AP…. if u can't dig that, I dunno what to say la.. even MD syed zainal pun tau org marah poton bcoz of NAP, u ada baca newspaper ka?? Ade tgk news x?..u ade deaf syndrom ka Aboo? To prove it, oso so easy, just try to match any cars (other brands) same capacity with poton… They increased MPV tax since avanza and citra so laku… thx god avanza is still affordable, with cash discount now, the price is near with the original price.., if toyota launch avanza 1.5L, I am sure the price wud be more than RM70k, ko tgk la nanti… if poton introduce MPV in the future, u see la they, will reduce back the MPV tax.. they promote national cars with force… i dunno how u can say poton have nothing to do with NAP…. nak mengampu ka? pak ma pei!

btw… I will buy any car within my budget… & poton is my last resort after produa….

ps: Guess what, after more than 5 years using ex850, my power windows never fail, all system works well… kinda sad to lose it, I am goin to sell it to my sister….

Joe, 7.30pm very late oredi, nasi goreng pun sudah basi, & I mau sembahyang magrib… the showroom is opposite highway, near maybank…

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:36 am

joe ooi, i understand that u dont like proton n nap..me too, i dont like nap..

if u want 2 have sum extra money, u can apply with proton to be their "pengkritik tetap".. at least they can after this improve their product n same2 untung..

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:40 am

y do i only see http 404 not found?aiyoo

• jet (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:28 am

the proton edar link no more, may be they take out

but check these link

http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/2708/satrianeo9x…

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/1088/satrianeo…

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/9950/satrianeo…

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/2853/satrianeo…

some guys posted them add on autoworld, the pictures i think taken or scan from the neo brochure, i know coz i receive the broc today ;-)

• jet (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:33 am

check this

http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/2708/satrianeo9x…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:46 am

Ichiban – "Just note to some people. If you already hate sth/sdy, don’t ever try to meet again, afraid you’ll get in love madly…. kah kah kah."

Joe Ooi – You mentioned "hate sth/sdy"! When did I say that I am “hate” something/somebody? You have your right of interpretation but as I mentioned above, "so don't washed plate for me". Now you do it at your own peril, then you can't blame me if this is your choice.

OK the word "hate" and "love/happy" is basically antonym. So the addition of “un” is normally denoted antonym as well. If applicable to “unhappy”, to a certain extent, like my layman “interpretation” is construe as “hate” = “unhappy”. Do you agree? But all my previous statement I declared myself as “unhappy” NOT “hate” Proton customer.

I solemnly declare that not me ah……. but famous academicians on motivation theory as espoused by Maslow needs approach and Hertzberg hygienic factors argued that “hate” and “unhappy” is not necessary equal but sometime “separate scale” or as NeedGoodCar termed it as “speak in different frequency”. In other word, this means it is not necessary hate = unhappy or unhappy and happy is opposite in meaning. Let me give you typical example as to why I used “unhappy” instead of your choice of “hate”: –

FICTION AH …. – Say Joe Ooi borrow money amounting to RM 300 from Ichiban, if Joe Ooi refuse to repay back this will lead to Ichiban feel “unhappy”. If Ichiban “hate” Joe Ooi without asking him to remedy it, then in the eye of law, “Joe Ooi eat the rice Ichiban take BURDEN to wash the plate”.

Say later Joe Ooi carry out his RESPONSIBILITY by repay back RM 300. Then this action is at most merely REMOVE “unhappy” factor from Ichiban. At this juncture, can Ichiban have any basis to “hate” Joe Ooi? But this is not necessary make Ichiban happy also because with RM 300 what and how much he can buy say in hypermarket. Maybe Ichiban strike RM 3 million lottery only will make him “happy”. This is because with this sum of money can buy very good car (i.e. BMW or Merc) or big house to live “happily”.

CONCLUSIOS – Don’t always see thing in “dualistic”, “opposite” or “ying-yang” manners. Sometime it is a “separate scale” or “speak in different frequency” as the above example well illustrated. So I never “hate” but used “unhappy” Proton customers because for over 10 years I use P1 car, there are many factors that make me “unhappy” like failed power window, lousy absorber, unsafe cars, low quality yet “forced” me to buy it at relatively high price. Otherwise, if I choose imported models, I have to make a lot of “patriotic contribution” and CarTaxLand make many models beyond my affordability. If without P1/NAP, I and many other customers can afford it. I believe you facing the same predicament and are also no exception given that you can afford Avanza.

The choice of words by you on “HATE” in this case and Honda_driver used of word “MISTAKES” as in the case of VW investment of RM 42 million as in previous post (http://paultan.org/archives/2006/05/08/nap-after-effects-volkswagen-puts-on-hold-malaysia-plans/) is like open up Pandora box and will lead to “all hell get loose”. Say Joe Ooi is a “nasty and opportunistic” vicious creature (fiction ah….), then both of your action like opening up wide your backside for me “to cannibalize your yummy meaty backside until bone also finish”.

Of course I am a layman, you can seek 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th……… opinions from professional like lawyer on this matter. This is because “hate” may don’t have legal basis to claim for loss and damages. On the other hand, “mistakes” may subject yourself to being sue and as an evident that you may cause “negligent”, “careless” and/or “human error” which may lead to other claim losses and damages from you. Strictly professionalism, be it lawyer, doctor, engineer, accountant, architect, etc – THEY DO THING MAKE NO “MISTAKES” OR DOESN’T BASED ON “HATE”, but based on highest standard as set in their code of conduct and “professionalism” – calculated risk. If professional take action based on “mistakes” or “hate”, then can “ta pau” and don’t need to practice already.

Therefore, both of you, ichiban and honda_driver choice of words including subsequent un-substantiate statement(s) is reflect the “lowest level of motivation” and “very un-professional”.

Ichiban – “Kutuk macam nak gila, still want on go and touch touch ka? Tak malu! Maybe to find bad things only , rather finding pro & cons. Bring your screwdriver, hammer etc and then knock it! See, this is really bad car… tin milo, not strong, bad quality. Damn you, close P1 etc… Don’t waste your time la ooi. Go to Honda, Toyota, Merc etc and dreaming to own that. That P1 not for u”

Joe Ooi – So this is your statement which does not put me in a right perspective. Therefore, it is unacceptable and you do it without just cause and excuse? Since you like to “wash plate”, the BURDEN is on you to clear your own “shit”.

“Kutuk” means “condemn” but in my case I do it on “strong criticism based on strong basis”. You have your right of opinion but your statement does not reflect me. As I say before – have to learn to “agree on disagree”, who know Satria Neo can do that on me and change my perception on Proton? Of course I am confident this car won’t make me fall in love madly, at most “remove my unhappiness” if the car got necessary safety features and good quality. Even if I go for visit to Proton showroom, my objective is to learn and improve my knowledge on pros and cons then only I will go. If I am in the opinion that it is wasting my time, then I won’t go. About Honda or Toyota, Merc, etc of course I am dreaming of owning one but this dream is very realistic and will become reality in the near future.

ichiban – which one, show to me – “see your opinion on Proton PSA forum.”

I think the above is self-explanatory.

Sorry, there is no hard feeling and the “long air” comments again do not follow “KISS” criteria as it is not applicable in this case.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:49 am

wisdom_bin said – "joe ooi, i understand that u dont like proton n nap..me too, i dont like nap..if u want 2 have sum extra money, u can apply with proton to be their “pengkritik tetap”.. at least they can after this improve their product n same2 untung.."

Joe Ooi – Wah they got jawatan for "pengkritik tetap" meh,…….. if got I want to apply and try my luck so that it is a win-win situation, I earn extra money, P1 can improve their product (if I am able to "contribute" effectively).

• wisdom_bin (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 7:24 am

thanx jet 4 the link..it looks realy nice..i'm looking thru the perspective of only dreaming for them and not actually gonna buy it as i dont print money and not even for cheap proton cars(i;m saying this in comparison with other imported cars)..of course, the pic is better n clearer than any spy photos we had b4..this is enugh 4 me but having a 4 doors variant is a good idea but may crush gen2's market..gen2 should come out with sedan variant, than that will help widen their market area..this is my piece of oppinion, comments r welcomed..

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:41 pm

Fear (of Proton cars quality) lead to anger (Proton Management), anger leads to hate (of the bias NAP policy structure by the G). Just my thought.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 4:50 pm

So Tracks you are "emotional" rather than "rational"?

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:40 pm

See, what a different interpretion of a statement can lead too. I don't wished to argue further as in may provoke a long explanation. We are human after all and again right or wrong is a matter of opinion. Majority wins definitely.

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Joe Ooi!

You never learn.. KISS. Your points ignored mumbling things unnecessary just to clarify 'hate' and 'un'.

Anything back to yr intention, you think good you will find good things. If yr intention to find msitake n negative things, you'll find it.

I have seen neo proton. Sorry to say.. not for you and even for me as big family! It will never satisfy people like Joe ooi definitely. Congrats Proton, you have changed a lot! Don't bother so much people with -ve thinking.

Hope their services getting better.

• chiliq (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 7:40 pm

i think this ichiban guy is a proton employee.

not only i think he's an employee of proton but he been with proton so long that he cant even accept any critics abt proton.

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 7:55 pm

mmmm…

let me clarify…

first of all, that sign of (i m an admirer to proton ……..)

is a sign off, personal prefrence, why?

should i tell? well, it's PERSONAL PREFRENCE,,,

anyway… since i already did it the last time areound

what da heck…. here, some of it

i know our gov own proton, and they impose unacceptable

policy to protect their investment,

everybody knows about it… no need to put my perspective right…

but the concept of making car in malaysia is something

to be admire of, the idea/execution of protecting it after 20 years

in the business is unacceptable, but why i admire proton?

because proton is P1, the first one, of course there P2, P3 later dont

know how many P with number, simply just that… why? being original

is what i value (take note, me, maybe others also, but i dont know,

simply my preference! same thing if u dont like chick with short hair and some like,

same thing with some dont like apple computer and as for me,

i admire/like/love macbeing the first who come up with "so called windows"

is simply genius at that time, tho' after that their try to sue microsoft… anyway

that's different story….)

P1 start to produce their own design (maybe not 100%)…

being the first in our country … i do admire them, not want them to do what

their doing with NAP, tho' some credit for proton on improvement, yes!

i see improvement, not alot, maybe for some people they only improve

1% but they do improve, starting gen2 hi line – savvy – this neo

their purchase of lotus is another thing i like, do they benefit proton

i think they do… 1 thing i can say is even there no NAP,

and with current build quality,

toyota vios and honda city selling at RM30K and satria R3 at RM45K

i'll buy R3, simply because it's my PREFRENCE!!!! (some of u may figure

out why, for some who dont, dont worry… not gonna harm u…)

do i admire P2 and P3, yea… but for me, this is satria forum,

dont want my sign off to be more than 1 liner…

but, become 2 lines now

admire? why maybe i'm a bit patriotic, if u dont …

it's ok with me, it's your PREFRENCE

do i like Mitsu ? yea do i like subaru? yea,

the point here is PERSONAL PREFRENCE

what do i pray for? our country become more open… are we ready??

i dont know… not a politician

i think we should talk about satria neo here…

look at the title of this forum….

mmmmmmmm sorry for bad english & long comment

wait & see what they do with this

• aboo fr alladin.mov (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 8:04 pm

what i mean is… wait and see what proton

will do with this satria…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:00 pm

ichiban said – "Joe Ooi! You never learn.. KISS. Your points ignored mumbling things unnecessary just to clarify ‘hate’ and ‘un’."

Joe Ooi – Already clarify that keep it simple & short (KISS) is not applicable in this case. You mentioned about I mumbling things unnecessary …… But what I want to reiterate is that it is not Joe Ooi's personal opinion, but great motivation thought developed by Maslow and Hertzberg! The above explanantion is very basic for the sake of you with "low level of interpretation capability" to understand the basic concept of motivation in our life. Nothing is mumbling and everthing is about logic, reasonable and "highest level of intelectual argument"! Again, I still maintain that I am layman but put forward great thinkers ideas for you to "digest"!

For me, my intention is to find out the truth on P1 which may constitute pros and cons, but when we find cons, you cannot jump into conclusion that it is bad intention? Is that I complain on power window failure and lousy absorber is bad intention? For me, it is not bad intention but the fact is this component is no quality product(s) at all. Again your argument demonstrate that your mentality like to argue on "opposite", "dualistic" or "ying-yang" approach – "good vs bad", "hate" vs "love", "etc." all the time.

Ichiban – "I have seen neo proton. Sorry to say.. not for you and even for me as big family! It will never satisfy people like Joe ooi definitely. Congrats Proton, you have changed a lot! Don’t bother so much people with -ve thinking. Hope their services getting better".

Joe Ooi – Basically I agreed with you that Satria Neo 2 doors like this one not suitable for me physically (5' 13" lol….) and with family. Noentheless, I will visit nearby showroom to view it personally so that I have better info on this product to come out with more objective and holistic comments.

Lastly, at this moment don't want to explain in detail on your choice of ………"-ve thinking". It is another "hate" argument again? Maybe you will ask me why I used "+ve feedback" in the above post? Perhaps, I keep this "bullet" first for future use! …… he, he, he, …… likely will explain in detail at "the right timing ……" but assure you it will 100% KISS compliance, "no mumbling" ….. ha, ha, ha, ……..

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:04 pm

Is this forum about flamin ppl or cars?

I thought this forum is about cars. if u guys like it personal n likes to use fancy phrases to intimidate other readers then pls settle it outside.

Would u rather hear

"hey u heard about this new car from paultan.org?"

or

"hey u heard about this xxx flaming this yyy from paultan.org?"

happy motoring

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:12 pm

Driven2020 – Aiya sometime out of topic mah ….. Even KLIMS also not limited to show cars only, it include non-auto products as well like robotic asimo, OSIM massage chair, T-shirt, cap, and most important aiyoyo, banyak cantik punya amoi!

• rannique (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 10:41 pm

Dun get it. New model of Satria or Gen 2?.. Savvy?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 11:01 pm

From this blog comfirmed to be Satria Neo. Replacement for the long overdue Satria.

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 1:49 am

Joe ooi

I KISS you. Pls do report your visit to Edar. +ve review on pro & cons and don't ever let the history manage you..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 8:49 am

haiya…this blog still alive???with 178 comments…WOW…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:40 pm

ichiban – so far this is the best and fair statement I can get from you on our communication. You put me in the right perspective, you "don't wash plate", yet come out with "win-win" statement. If I fail to give +ve review, then I can't blame you? Of course history never manage me as that why I still want to visit Proton showroom eventhough historically they make me become "unhappy customer". I don't put any hope to own Satria Neo as it is not the type of car I'm looking for, but at least I hope Proton this time at least can convince and change my and other consumers perception on the quality built and safety features.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 11:08 pm

so im post 181 now?? lol