Mazda MX-5 Miata Power Retractable Hard Top

miatahardtop.jpg

Mazda will be unveiling it’s hard top roof Mazda MX-5 at the 2006 British International Motor Show. The Motor Show will be held from the 18th of July 2006 to the 30th of July 2006. Mazda’s most successful cult roadster the MX-5 Miata originally came with a canvas soft top. The addition of a powered retractable hard top model will give the Mazda an edge in it’s battle against it’s roadster wars competitor the Pontiac Solstice which does not feature an automatic powered hard top… yet!

Do check out my previously posted video on the Mazda MX-5 in Top Gear, where the Top Gear crew pitches the Mazda MX-5 against a greyhound on the dog’s home turf.

2006 Pontiac Solstice trashes Miata sales

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 11:38 pm

SWEEEEEEEEEEET

• engtaokia (Member) on Jun 23, 2006 at 11:56 pm

anybody know how many cent this car cost in bolehland?

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 12:09 am

I think this will provide the MX5 a quieter ride. Btw engtaokia, we should be asking the price, not the cost. Because if you know the cost, then you'll sakit hati knowing what the government is charging us on the taxes.

• auyongtc (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 12:39 am

wah nice… lai lai lai, i'm now taking pre-order for direct import of this car from the Mazda dealer 5 mins walk from me in Tokyo… LOL

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 1:01 am

its about time the mx5 finally has a retractable hardtop. every other car in the same market has it already.

..and cut it out about the car taxes in malaysia already. you guys think no one here knows about them?

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 3:29 am

i noticed from another angle dat the roof mechanism isnt connected 2d boot, which means it doesnt affect boot space like most retractable hardtops… nice..

• stephenstreets (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 4:00 am

Very flashy and very stylish but in malaysia why bother when we get fried in our equater climate. But sure too pull some babes attention

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 4:00 am

yeap raptor. that's what they claim

• amir (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 5:25 am

car for gurly gurls!!!

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 1:30 pm

mazda's cars are the most exciting…i was at cycle and carraige 2 months ago and i test drove both the peugeot 407 and da mazda6…i mean no disrespect to peugeot..it had a ride like i was hoverin and there wasnt laggin in power either…but when i test drove a mazda6…i booked it rite away…i mean….its offers superb handlin….great acceleration despite being quite tight since da test car is still new…the ride is firm but well damped…i would rather have great handlin…and its just a head turner…all mazda cars of recent seem to be like that….it realy changed my perception on the brand as i always associated mazda wit old smokey 323 boy racers which is a sore sight….im infact a proud owner of a mazda6…btw regardin the price….the sales man told me the mx5 is surealy above da 200 000 mark…but below 250…thats the canvas…this is surely gonna be higher….thats fer sure…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 5:22 pm

Dont imagine la how much it goin to be in TaxWonderland.. but 2 seaters fans sure can afford.. still many rich people in this country….

• szw (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 6:33 pm

we din even get da 2nd gen in m'sia .

don even dream of getting dis 3rd gen .

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 24, 2006 at 8:22 pm

the beauty of foldable hardtops is that they'll protect u when the climate is hot or wet, wif a lil more sense of security. ie: less chances of ppl cutting up ur roof or window XD

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 25, 2006 at 1:04 am

we are getting it..cycle and carriage is already plannin to bring it in by early next year…they are already advertisin it….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2006 at 6:05 am

Someone…ure rite…no wonder la now mazda 6 is one of the best family car in its class alongside the accord and mondeo…

yup raptor…it is in between seat and d boot…better than the slk which had to sacrifice ur boot space…