R3 MME06 Driver Selection Program

r3mme1.jpg

Other than giving us the Proton Satria R3, Race Rally Research has been doing alot for the local grassroots motorsports community with their Street Shoot Out series and other activities. 9 amateur racing drivers went through the R3 Merdeka Millenium Endurance Driver Selection Program on the 20th July 2006, held in conjunction with R3’s first Merdeka Millenium Endurance 2006 test session. Race Rally Research ran in a tricked out Campro 1.6 engine in a race-prepared Proton GEN.2 for this first test session. The engine develops 210bhp, amazing!

Race Rally Research considers it part of their responsibility as prominent figure in the national motorsports scene to develop the motor racing fraternity further. Programs such as this realises the potential of our young hidden talents.

The 9 drivers comprise of 5 overall class champions from R3’s 2006 SSO series, and a wildcard selected from the same series. The other 3 are Proton test drivers and engineers. The 4 best drivers of the program will be selected to be MME06 race drivers, while the remaining 5 will be absorbed into the team as technical and race support crew members. These drivers are Hammond Lai, Ian Khong, Ivan Khong, Zaid Idris, Ho Wai Kok, Vernon Chan, Syammim Noori and Mike Yap.

R3 will also be providing a 25% discount on selected performance and competition parts and accessories for MME participants who present their official MME Entrance Fee receipt. For more information on the MME06 promotion offer, contact R3 Customer service at 03-51911055 extension 2919.

r3mme2.jpg

r3mme3.jpg

r3mme4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• szw (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 2:08 am

y don use satria neo ?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 2:36 am

campro 1.6 producing 210bhp?? oh my godness…wer to steal it?!

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 2:56 am

huhuhu aku nak masuk driver selection nih :(…..

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 2:57 am

huhuhuhu nak masuk jugak driver selection nih…. manatau leh jadi driver… :p

• OtakOtak (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 3:06 am

So far, don't see R3 joint world renown rally like Dakar-Paris?

• Paul Tan on Jul 31, 2006 at 3:15 am

if you want "world reknown" stuff, maybe this will interest you.

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/10/04/proton-r3-…

• malayman (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 4:00 am

haha…make la senseless comments sumore….

• OtakOtak (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 4:05 am

Paul, this one use/represent Lotus. Any R3 use Campro or Proton car in world reknown rally?

• drM (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 4:18 am

210hp? campro? the one fitted into that Gen2/Waja? or special edition of campro? how on earth they tweak it? lets bring on 210hp R3 Neo..the sooner, the better

• retrofuturism (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 4:30 am

wat a good strategy from R3! I really hope Malaysia can be a world-class motor sport hub in ASEAN region….by the way, I was eagerly to see a new satria MME edition while scrolling down..but it was a older version satria GTi..haha, maybe next year huh??!

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 6:09 am

Yeah. I thought they're going to use the Neo. If that is the case, I'm sure a lot of CAMPRO's owners will be trying to find out the best way to tweak their engines to achieve the 210hp benchmark. Hehe. Nice…

Is that really a CAMPRO engine in that Satria? Paul, enlighten us please!

• Paul Tan on Jul 31, 2006 at 6:14 am

i mentioned in my post that the 210bhp campro was in a proton gen2, not a satria. those satrias are using the 4g92 1.6 sohc i think.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 7:16 am

Yeah, the R3 GEN2 benchmarking 210hp, that is some pretty impressive figure…

Last year MME the R3 GEN2 did some impressive time during qualifying and during the race, but the real test will begins whether it can continue to last a full 12 hours race, last year they were out of the race after about 6 hours… HP figures dun proves anything if the reliability is not there…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 8:25 am

They haven't developed the Neo to be a proven race car yet. Anyway, the GTi-based R3 racecar is not only quick enough(you don't need to be super quick in MME, just reliable) but has a very good chassis set-up.

It is so good that many of the guys who went for the selection failed to steer it properly or turn in a good, consistent lap time. This is because they lack the experience and professionalism to drive a competition car, which is a while different kettle of fish than a plain and simple shoot out(auto khana).

The R3 GTi, has a peculiar set-up that allows you to steer the rear wheel into a corner. The car eliminates any hint of understeer despite being a front wheel drive. But if you're not used to this set-up, you will spin the car quite easily, which most of the guys did(some even wacked the wall!)

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 3:49 pm

Reliability is everything in MME, not just outright speed. A lot of the guys pictured here did very badly in the selection. Most can't put in a smooth and consistent lap to be worthy of a racing seat.

Shows you how different it is to be a professional racer and a weekend auto khana winner

• superman (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 5:15 pm

cosmohybrid said,

July 30, 2006 @ 11:16 pm

Last year MME the R3 GEN2 did some impressive time during qualifying and during the race, but the real test will begins whether it can continue to last a full 12 hours race, last year they were out of the race after about 6 hours… HP figures dun proves anything if the reliability is not there

Last year the GEN2 lasted more than that. The team was black flagged and subsequently disqualified for ignoring the black flag after speeding in the pitlane.

Engine reliability had nothing to do with it.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 6:09 pm

R3 is not really helping the buyer to get a better perfomance car..it is just one datuk son want somebody to pay for his racing ambition that is all. what R3 done to production car is just some customise thing you can get yourself at nearby acc shop….

Are they really helping Proton owner? are they relly injecting some perfomance car enthusiastsmn into Proton drivers?are they bringing on the quality?

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 7:30 pm

If turbo charge, 1.6 produce 210hp still consider usual & r drivable on the road. If that 1.6 campro only NA with 210hp, It must b fitted with high cam & lighter flywheel which push the power band forward & willingly 2 rave up. Of course normal cpu must b replace by the racing programing. However, dont expect it can do u any smooth daily driving n it wont b suitable 2 drive on the road.

• KY (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 7:38 pm

wonder how fast that campro rev, must be some amazing number if it's still an NA.

• superman (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 7:55 pm

mycar_stolen said,

July 31, 2006 @ 10:09 am

R3 is not really helping the buyer to get a better perfomance car..it is just one datuk son want somebody to pay for his racing ambition that is all. what R3 done to production car is just some customise thing you can get yourself at nearby acc shop….

Are they really helping Proton owner? are they relly injecting some perfomance car enthusiastsmn into Proton drivers?are they bringing on the quality

talk about baseless postings……………. typical of mycar_stolen. You obviously don't go out much or open your eyes. MAny of my friends use R3 parts on the cars , Savvy, Satria, Putra etc. Suspension bits, exhaust, brake pads.

I'd like to see your nearby acc shop produce a complete package like the Satria R3. Any workshop can make a powerfull engine. that goes fast in a straighline. But how many can produce a complete package with full 2 year warranty that works well day to day an on the tracks. Straight from the showroom.

BTW this Topic is about The MME Driver selection. Not" Bash-R3-other outside-workshop-can-do-better-than-R3 " Topic

Bravo to R3 for providing Autocross champions from the SSO championships a chance to move to full on circuit racing after autocrossing. This is what we call progresssion.

Many budding racers joined Autocross, be it KKS or R3 Time Attack. Many want to progress to circuit racing but funds weren't permitting. R3 gave them the chance to do so.

• superman (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 8:00 pm

I've seen the R3 GEN2 Super 1600 race car up close during MSS. According the the R3 engineer, it runs custom cams, piston, crank, individual throttle body, Motec M800 ECU. Ultra close Ratio straight cut gearbox. Alcon Big brakes..

It's not a road engine, peak power comin at 9000rpm.

And it cost plenty of money.

But hey Racing was never cheap.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 10:10 pm

superman said,

July 31, 2006 @ 12:00 pm

But hey Racing was never cheap.

see you also know it is an expensive sport. that why create a gimmick like you can contribute to PROTON and use all the money that suppose for all the 3 R's for youe own fun and racing. so good ahh Proton "power window" problem also never can solve but have some like tuning house(whatsoever house).

p/s better to race in stock EK9 than the "super race prepare Satria R3" in the real world there is know Proton Racing it just copycat from MITSU car.no originality…no focus..here goes the money well spend one more time by brilliant MSIAN.

remember one Proton Wira dumped in the ARTIC….

• superman (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 10:38 pm

mycar stolen,

whatever man… to each his own, however misguided.which is wat you are……………………

your posting show how little you know of actual racing and the tuning industry not to mention total cluelesness on the auto industry. be it technical or marketing.

What's all this "for youe own fun and racing. " ??

Last I checked R3 organised the Proton Track Carnival in 2004 for over 70 racing drivers to take part. They also organise the R3 Time Attack for over 70 auto crosses to participate in.. so where is this " for own fun" as you so boldly claim?

You speak of originality but you say it is better to race a Honda EK9 than a Satria, well in MSS it's just a Single GEN2 from R3 againts a a whole filed of Hondas. How's that for originality. BTW a stock EK9 can't hold a candle to a full blown MSS car.

I said it before R3 is the Performance Division not "Fix-Power-Window-Problem-Division"

You strike me as a Proton Basher turned R3 basher. Grow up and Wise up.

Paul Tan.

Sorry for ranting but misguided individuals should be shown the error of their ways.

• superman (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 11:22 pm

"a a whole filed ..".

I meant "a whole fleet"

My apologies

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 1:15 am

superman said,

July 31, 2006 @ 9:15 am

Last year the GEN2 lasted more than that. The team was black flagged and subsequently disqualified for ignoring the black flag after speeding in the pitlane.

Engine reliability had nothing to do with it.

——————————————————————-

Yes, speeding in the pit lane was the reason the GEN2 was black flagged..

The GEN2 was having some issue if i recalled properly.. :)

My bad if i am wrong about it…

Cheers..

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 9:19 am

easy to make a high output usinga small displacment engine when racing. they would never reach anything near if they were to make it for consumers.

btw, the campro engine looks really outdated and unattractive even though it is a modern engine.

anyway i hope to see local professional drivers rather than imported drivers driving for proton or R3 whatever they want to call it. and they must use an R3 car instead of a lotus car since they hold that R3 in so high regard.

and no R3 tuned lotus car coz we know most of the work (ie the car is made) is done by lotus. use a proton r3 car.

interesting to see what how the new civic would do.

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 4:24 pm

topgunthang, to be fair, i think you missed out on commenting on the most important part of what this article is talking about. That is, R3 giving a chance to regular people with no racing experience, a shot at racing in a full blown international race with the backing of a factory team. Tell me how many other people in Malaysia today do that? I think zip is the answer.

also, to be fair to proton, they do own lotus, and do have a responsibility to market lotus. By racing in the MME, R3 are promoting lotus to Asia, plus with an aussie driver involved, i suspect its got to do with marketing opportunities in that country as well. Besides that, there are 2 local malaysian drivers for the lotus this year.

plus, for this year, there is an R3 built waja and satria with 100% local drivers, plus 100% local crew and engineers.

don't forget also, R3 is racing in the MSS as well as the Malaysian Rally Championship.

They have also contributed heavily to grassroots motorsports with their cheap to run, and cheap to enter time attack autocross and drift challenge series since 2004 for the general public.

R3 are not just about building and modding proton's, they are a serious contributor to motorsports, which is more than most other corporate company in Malaysia can claim today.

I can't see anything wrong with that at all and I can't see why there is so much criticism heaped on them.

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 5:15 pm

topgunthang, to be fair to R3, you did not comment at all on the most important aspect of what this article is all about. A large corporate company, taking the time and money, to support the growth of motorsports. This is way more than you can say for other large corporate companies in Malaysia today or even other companies already involved in motorsports today. How many companies today will take regular guys, and give them a shot at entering an international race, with the full backing of a factory race team?

On your comments on the lotus, Proton does own lotus, and Malaysia is proton's home country. I think its makes sense to run the lotus in MME since its now one of the largest races held in Asia. It allows proton/lotus to showcase what a lotus is all about to people in this region. As for the Australian driver? I would speculate that it could involve marketing opportunities in that country. Besides that, there are already 2 100% Malaysian drivers in the team, plus a 100% malaysian race crew, with a Gt-spec car tuned and maintained in Malaysia. The car is built by lotus, but all the race preparation, and tuning is done here by Malaysians. Those are the facts, and lotus have no other involvement after delivering the car.

On top of that, there is an R3 tuned waja, and satria entering this years MME as well, with 100% local drivers, and 100% local crew and engineers.

R3 also supports the MSS as well as the Malaysian Rally Championship, running a car and team in both events.

also, lets not forget that R3 organises events like the Proton track carnival, as well as the cheap to run, cheap to enter time attack autocross and drift attack challenge since 2004 for members of the public.

Proton R3 is not just about selling performance parts or limited edition proton cars, they are a serious contributor, if not the largest, to local motorsports.

For that, I Salute them!

We only know how to criticise, but do not know how to give credit when it is due.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 5:18 pm

cosmohybrid said,

July 31, 2006 @ 5:15 pm

Yes, speeding in the pit lane was the reason the GEN2 was black flagged..

The GEN2 was having some issue if i recalled properly..

My bad if i am wrong about it…

Cheers..

ypu are correct they actually have other problems especially RELIABILITY but as they make friends with PROTON they try to bullshit Msian like it was a black flagged. for speeding in the pit lane COME ON ….

they just want to cover their crap racing car. Proton never being into racing in this years.all actually PRETENDING TO BE PROTON.

• shaif (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 6:08 pm

Hopefully Proton have what it take to win the races with good and reliable Gen2. Only by winning the event, they can silent the critics and sceptics kind of people.

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 01, 2006 at 6:53 pm

topgunthang, to be fair to R3, you did not comment at all on the most important aspect of what this article is all about. A large corporate company, taking the time and money, to support the growth of motorsports. This is way more than you can say for other large corporate companies in Malaysia today or even other companies already involved in motorsports today. How many companies today will take regular guys, and give them a shot at entering an international race, with the full backing of a factory race team?

On your comments on the lotus, Proton does own lotus, and Malaysia is proton's home country. I think its makes sense to run the lotus in MME since its now one of the largest races held in Asia. It allows proton/lotus to showcase what a lotus is all about to people in this region. As for the Australian driver? I would speculate that it could involve marketing opportunities in that country. Besides that, there are already 2 100% Malaysian drivers in the team, plus a 100% malaysian race crew.

On top of that, there is an R3 tuned waja, and satria entering this years MME as well, with 100% local drivers, and 100% local crew and engineers.

R3 also supports the MSS as well as the Malaysian Rally Championship, running a car and team in both events.

also, lets not forget that R3 organises events like the Proton track carnival, as well as the cheap to run, cheap to enter time attack autocross and drift attack challenge since 2004 for members of the public.

Proton R3 is not just about selling performance parts or limited edition proton cars, they are a serious contributor, if not the largest, to local motorsports.

For that, I Salute them!

We only know how to criticise, but do not know how to give credit when it is due.

• superman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:53 pm

mycar_stolen said,

August 1, 2006 @ 9:18 am

ypu are correct they actually have other problems especially RELIABILITY but as they make friends with PROTON they try to bullshit Msian like it was a black flagged. for speeding in the pit lane COME ON ….

they just want to cover their crap racing car. Proton never being into racing in this years.all actually PRETENDING TO BE PROTON

man you really speak from your ass don't cha. non of wat you say makes sense………………..

This is wat happens when monkes are given access to internet and computers.

BTW The MME Race is organised and run by AAM and Sepang Circuit. Not by Proton

• superman (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 4:59 pm

shaif said,

August 1, 2006 @ 10:08 am

Hopefully Proton have what it take to win the races with good and reliable Gen2. Only by winning the event, they can silent the critics and sceptics kind of people.

Shaif,

Honestly I doubt it. Like honda_driver says "We only know how to criticise, but do not know how to give credit when it is due."

When R3 failed in Super GT 2005 the misguded public criticised them. When they won MME the misguided still criticise them.

reading honda_driver's post explaining all that R3 has done it proves only one thing . .Even after all those R3 fellas have done, some misguided Malaysians only know how to criticize.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 4:44 am

sorry i only commented what important thing that came to mind at that moment. and i wasnt dissing R3 for not contributing to motorsport in msia. before you talk about other companies in malaysia or companies internationally for not being a major sponsor or organizer of motor events, you need to take into consideration how much benefit is it for other car companies to invest thier money promoting motorsports and thier own brand in a protected market even though they do…a bit.

its good that the team management, engineers and drivers are all malaysian. but i feel it is wrong for proton R3 team to use a non proton car to compete. it shows the proton tuning arm has no trust in thier own cars to represent the proton R3 brand.

proton as a car manufacturer itself should use thier own cars as a tuning base to represent themselves…..besides providing other teams/companies with R3 cars to compete. they could achieve more credit as a manufacturer specialized tuning arm by using a proton R3 car to win rather than a lotus. unless the engineers already knew a proton R3 car would not achieve high ranking places in the race.

that's just what i think. everybody here should be old enough to think for themselves instead of being 'guided' with regard to thier perception of a brand or organization.

• superman (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 5:42 pm

topgunthang said,

August 3, 2006 @ 8:44 pm

but i feel it is wrong for proton R3 team to use a non proton car to compete. it shows the proton tuning arm has no trust in thier own cars to represent the proton R3 brand.

—————————————————————

R3 utilises a GEN.2 in the Malaysian Super Sixteen Cahmpionship

They also enter the Malaysian Rally Championship with 2 GEN2s.

In MME this year they are using a Waja & a Satria in Class C(1600) and Class B(1800) respectively.

Only Non-Proton Car they use in the Exige which is a Lotus ( That Proton incidently own) in Class O of the MME. Class O in the Open category for certain sports cars, one off proto and the like.

5 out of their 6 current competition cars are Proton.

No trust in their own Cars. I think not ;-)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 8:17 pm

This is wat happens when monkes are given access to internet and computers.

aiseh…superman or supermonkeys…nevermind..

the supermonkeys actually is the one driving Proton as your are so weak to fight for your own hard earn money and faking that you are happy with super problems Proton.

to naive to make decision to spend your money and then try to turn your Proton into something else..so pathetic

• Paul Tan on Aug 04, 2006 at 8:36 pm

What's all this rubbish about monkeys? Do you think calling each other primate names will contribute to an intelligent discussion here?

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 2:40 am

Hi all…

No criticism, or anything juz my personal opinion, truly, if proton and the R3 team can overcome the reliability problems in MME, only then they can silent the critics and sceptics of this people.

This cars tune by R3 no doubt about it, its really fast.. For example, the Lotus Exige is running on a GM V6 Swindon racing engine type and it develops a healthy 400hp, with the power to weight ratio, the Lotus actually flies around SIC track, during the race the Lotus actually leaves the Honda Malaysia team Civic eat dusts..both racing in different class, O and A… but, because of reliability issues, the Lotus has to pit stop so many times… The Lotus eventually came out top on the podium with team Honda Malaysia second overall…

Lotus Exige R3 400hp – 279 laps…

Team Honda Malaysia Civic 250hp – 278 laps…

Hmmm… Think about it…. if the Lotus been consistent throughout the race, Team Honda Malaysia will be eating dust dunno by how many laps to come…:)

Juz my 2 cents…

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 11:15 am

come on, the lotus is designed to be a track car from ground up with a special racing engine in it.

the honda is a mass market car that is tuned to be track ready for racing. not sure bout the engine but most likely comes from the integra but with stronger internals. that speaks alot about honda cars and engine reliability for thier production cars. even though team honda lost overall, they've achieved alot more than team R3 plus that jap company.

if im not wrong there are also many other hondas integras that finished among the higher ranks.

the lotus results only shows that the r3 team can tune and manage the elise car well. the drivers also get the credit as well.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 8:10 pm

topgunthang said,

August 5, 2006 @ 3:15 am

'come on, the lotus is designed to be a track car from ground up with a special racing engine in it.'

'even though team honda lost overall, they’ve achieved alot more than team R3 plus that jap company.'

—————————————————————–

Thats exactly what i am talking about…(read my last few lines on the previous post properly) :)

From the results we can clearly see which team has a better car reliability management…

Cheers..