Proton in talks for Thai distribution

Proton is in talks with a major Thai car distributorship for the distribution of Proton cars in Thailand, with black and white set to be signed before 2006 is up. This distributor is said to be a major player for the passenger car industry and has 30 years experience.

The company also has an assembly plant in Thailand, which opens up possibilities of CKD Protons in Thailand should the need ever arise. Part of Proton’s efforts to expand sales by reaching into overseas markets.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• quest (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:25 pm

CKD Thai is good idea. Perhaps they can make Proton the quality of Toyotas. Perhaps…

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Honestly, I doubt Proton cars will sell well in Thailand as Toyotas have been ruling the streets of Bangkok for a long long time.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:01 pm

quest said,

August 25, 2006 @ 10:25 am

CKD Thai is good idea. Perhaps they can make Proton the quality of Toyotas. Perhaps…

not in this world or not in this life or even life after death ..Toyota is a car make…Proton is a politician tools to channel cash into their pockets without any intention to satisfied their "forced to buy customer".

Proton is an example of MAFIA style business…(forced to buy, forced to service (no service at dealers no warranty), forced to live with fail power window.)door opening everytime you want to pay toll or collect parking tickets..come on say no to Proton.

• quest (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:11 pm

mycar_stolen

I have to say I was being sarcastic. Of course that day will never come, Proton as good as Toyota..

But given that the quality of our CKD P1 is so bad, I don't see how there's anyway but improve IF EVER P1 is assemble in Thailand. Therefore……. a very big…. Perhaps

• pycazu (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:14 pm

What a joke I have ever heard…

How much they gonna to sell it and which model?

At the first place, Thais mainly using Corolla, Altis and Merc to run the taxis, which model our "dearest" P1 can compete them in term of price and specifications? Not even touching the safety features.

Let's assume like this:

Wira or Waja – THB 650k?? gonna to challenge with City and Vios, how to compete??? Not even mention about Civic and Camry.

Savvy – THB 400K?? Hardly to see any B-segment cars there, most probably this model must fail there.

Satria Neo – THB 550K?? Probably may make some little hit coz sporty yet hatchback..

How they can earn a cent from the suggested price??!! See how much they sell it here and not even mention cost of distribution, service center, transportation etc…

• erincomel (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:16 pm

new model coming in…PROTON SAWADEE!!

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Thailand folks are not so stupid to buy inferior lousy nasty expensive but cheap quality proton cars which are manufactured in a jungle clearing. They have Honda Citys that cost 470,000 Baht, they have Toyota Fortuner 3.0L for 1.1 Million Baht. Convert that and you see cars in Thailand are cheaper and better quality than in Bolehland. Proton only survive because of Mrs30% Minister,Her Close One Eye Mp buddies and biased NAP. Go ahead Proton, the noose is waiting for your neck in Thailand.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:29 pm

" The company also has an assembly plant in Thailand, which opens up possibilities of CKD Protons in Thailand should the need ever arise "

I can safely bet the need will never arise.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:30 pm

dear quest…

just trying to use your words only…I know you also hate Proton.everybody also hate Proton…even the bigfoot in Johor Jungle also hate Proton that is why the big foot never come out…

p/s it is ok to hate Proton even though you drive one now, but later change to other brands and make sure your Proton is the last one for your whole generation family,siblings,friends,officemate…neighbours,expat,all those waht so ever.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:42 pm

ya true not so easy for p1 to sel thr..unless thy have a big price advantage…thais are used to cheap hondas and toyotas…

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Let themlah… let them learn some lessons.. better let datuk pidah go there and be proton towkeh herself.. sure mampos in short time… kat msia bolehlah talk rubbish, policy that, policy this, Act this, Act that, itu pun x bleh jd no.1,.. sakit betul hati..

ps: Better thai apply 75% ED on proton CKD, tengok, boleh jual tak?

• blunt (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:53 pm

hi blokes,

it is never issues of hate proton or not…if your mentantality is already bind to that(hate proton wannabe)..you will never made a good judgement…u are biased..example, if your boss hate you so much, so much so that whatever you did, is wrong in his eyes..i you feel that you are fairly treated..it is not fair..i also have a bad experience on proton as well as P2. but i never shoot p1 or p2 membuta tuli..

backs to the topic,

if they wanna sell to the thais, let them sell lah..export salah, x export pun salah..what do you want actually,,haa..

whether thais will buy or not, lets the thais decide..

• szw (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:01 pm

protons go to thai

• asimo (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:03 pm

when talk about proton,it will be long…hahhaha

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:05 pm

hey blunt,

1 question, do u have a proton's?

• blunt (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:11 pm

hey motorhead,

Yes, i have proton (myself), Kembara(my wife), kancil 850(A), my sister-staying with me..

hey motorhead..

1 questions also, do u have Perodua's

• engtaokia (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:12 pm

what i can say, just watch the great movie there. good luck to Mrs 30% :O

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:05 pm

Blunt,

Yes sir, I have 1 ex850 (2001 model), goin for 6th years 130k milage, use the same drive shaft, same power window, same old cluth plate, same rear brake lining, same engine, same old aircond & compressor, same gear box, all samelah except for timing belt and other belts & front brake plates (change few times),. i suka racing2 with my ex850.. ;-).. loan oso finished.

ps: I am a tip top owner… & just made a patriotic contribution, I just booked a vios early this month, goin to get it soon… got good offer, couldnt resist…

tq…

• quest (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:26 pm

Hey Hey Hey, My car Stolen, Leave my family out of it.

I made a comment about P1, I have a Proton for your information, That's because I don't have a choice.

Because of P1, we have to pay so much more for any cars in M'sia. It's your money, I's my money. Only in M'sia we have to pay for car equivalent to an average house. Ang what quality do we get? CRAP

I wasn't insulting you in anyway, perhaps your understanding of this language is not sufficient. I merely explained that I was being sarcastic in my first post. So, please, leave my family out of this.

• motberg (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 10:02 pm

it seems whenever proton is mentioned, there is always a lot of flame war going on. a few supporters and many detractors. so wat does that prove? Proton has got issues with QC. i guess ppl are just mad that the whole damn world knows about it and the ppl in charge dun seem to care becoz they are not driving proton! they've got their fancy BMs and Mercs from all our hard earned money… tat's just my point of view anyway. and tats just one sore point, there are just too many to mention. of course it is not all bad. just cannot take the fact that they do not want 2 open their eyes to ways wrong…

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 10:32 pm

Blunt, how old is ur proton? apa sudah tukar? hows ur window? ur eksoz pipe cabut x? can match my ex850?

• mediumsliced (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 10:38 pm

Most people here, like me, are Proton bashers. So what? What can we do? Stop buying Protons? And then what? You think the government will let them fail? They're too big to fail. Too many rice bowls depend on them. So what then?

At the rate that things are going, P1 will remain uncompetitive for the foreseeable future. So that, in the eyes of some, will mean that they'll need additional protection. Other makes of cars will still be prohibitively expensive. We, the consumer will still be shafted. The status quo will remain.

I'm trying to fathom P1's strategy here. If they can't move cars here, where else can they dump 'em? Definitely not Indo nor Thai. Brunei? Philippines? Laos? Myanmar? Vietnam?

This strategy match looks to get more and more interesting by the day.

BTW, if anybody from P1 is interested, I'm available to opinion or focus groups.

:)

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 10:45 pm

I have a proton too, I don't intend to change my proton car for a long time. If can, let it run the road till it's very old. The longer you change the car, the less they earn. Hope the G doesn't scrap car exceed 10 years old. If they force me to scrap my car, I will take bus or buy one car, share with few people, end up same thing that is their sales won't increase. I want to make sure they don't earn money.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 11:03 pm

why don't want to concentrate inside malaysia first and then build up from there and expand overseas? dah lah kalah to P2 inside malaysia and now want to compete with other car makers at thailand? hmm… good luck…

my proton wira…changed power window, changed boot lock, the bar at the boot also broken before…causing the boot cannot lift up… now left rear door lock also spoil, stepper motor at engine also spoil causing unstable idling… and now the roof plus the door starting to pop up lots of pimples…

other than those problem stated earlier…nothing else wrong with my car… oh yeah… the ciit ciit and coot coot sound…biasa la… hopefully they improve on quality la…else…boring…same old story… but i must say the mitsubishi engine damn reliable…really good old tech engine… thumbs up!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 11:20 pm

quest said,

August 25, 2006 @ 1:26 pm

Hey Hey Hey, My car Stolen, Leave my family out of it

Dear Quest,

Sorry my english not so good even worst when discussing about Proton.Not to mess with your family just like me, when I used to drive a no accessories wira, I just had the feelings that it is really bid problems, Msian car,msian factory,msian manpower(also eat rice) selling for more than USD15K.in Malaysia and quality very bad and no respect.since that day I never aloow my close to buy Proton…I dont to be like typical Proton owners who never inform others about their cars honestly so all of them can open door when pay tolls.so selfish la…but really is the money you spend on proton never worth a single cent but still you pay a lot fro long2 years.

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 11:22 pm

well,i just love the comments here.different types of people giving comments, keep it up guys,i just love it.We usually proton lovers,proton bashers,perodua lovers and bashers, we do have have neutral comments from blunt and we also stupid comments from mycarstolen.Well done,i love it.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 11:39 pm

hazremi said,

August 25, 2006 @ 3:22 pm

can you eleborate on my comments..from your name it seems that you are from group of drivers who is driving a car make that only sells in a small country somewhere in SEA.

ok dude just want to say hi? how's your power window?can you open your car door from outside?hey look at that idiots on wheels

• SamGan (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 12:00 am

If proton thinks it can compete in Thailand's free market without protection, why is it still hiding behind protective tariffs here? Or are Malaysians expected to subsidize yet another country to buy cars at prices they can only dream about?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 12:33 am

Proton is desperate to export their cars now having seen their local market share dropping gradually. they can't only depend on local market anymore.. they need to export cars in order to survive. i know little about economy, they need to fully utilise their assembly plant in order to make it feasible.. i think proton should re-establish their brand first in order to export cars and i think they can't challenge the likes of toyota, honda or even korean cars at this moment.

i think proton better concentrates in having co-operation or collaborate with other well established car manufacturers to produce quality and reliable cars before they start of thinking exporting cars… i would foresee another failure by proton if they plan to enter thai market now..

• avanza (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 12:37 am

Thailand should slap some tariffs on proton just like what the m'sian govt is doing to honda city and toyota vios. Then see if they can sell any there.

• avanza (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 1:01 am

You would think the first thing Proton would do is to sell its cars to neighbouring ASEAN countries first right. But nooooo. They have to sell them all the way to UK, Australia, Africa! Well, we all know why right. That's because M'sia is not complying to AFTA and Proton is not welcomed in ASEAN countries.

Can you just believe that… after 23 years, Proton can't even sell their cars to the nearest neighbour!!! Well S'pore has some Protons there only because they're not affected by the AFTA issue.

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 1:02 am

Lets be fair, everybody. Give Proton a chance. When they go to Thai market they will know where they stand when competing against other cars in a truly open market. But pleaseeeeeeeee, Proton, pleaseeeeeeeeee don;t make us subsidise the car price in Thai. We are not suckers

• shaza (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 1:44 am

i like proton car as our national car. our own car. but honestly, if i hv extra money FOR SURE i ll buy toyota or honda or anything else. i think most of us also feel the same thing..and to be honest again, if i have extra money from the earlier, i ll buy not toyota or honda, but BWM..and to be really honest again, if i have extra and extra money i ll just buy Ferrari la..konon onli.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 1:52 am

Most people who bash proton does own Proton……….it's true..

What the hell people would bash you if they don't know your weakness???

Sigh…proton,be our 'Jaguh Kampung' is good enough for you…don't go to disturb the Thais lah…..

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 1:52 am

good luck man for proton. thai car market seems like a level playing field (unless the thai gman gonna slap an 'NAP' that protects proton and not protect thier own assemblers…which is impossible) for most car makes. its not gonna sell much enough to profit. can say that for anywhere else in the world.

• kruzer (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 2:12 am

With the AFTA disagreements going on now, lets hope that the Thai G allows Proton in with 5% import tax, but then slap on 100% excise duty. And the importer needs to apply for AP for data collection purposes.

• weewee (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 2:31 am

To spare Proton from the critisms and abuses (as suggested by the above commentaries), the new management has to deliver its promises. I'm optimistic that they'll able to improve on their current state. A decision that was previously made by the rulling party couldn't be reversed now. But i think Proton would have a rosy future in Malaysia if they could come out with better designed and built products.

And as for Thailand, It will be a tough task ahead.With the extensive range available there, it'll be hard to convince the Thais to choose Proton over the more established competitors. I doubt this would seriously work for Proton.

Maybe Proton could collaborate with the likes of Toyota or Honda (eg Buy 2 Vios, free 1 Satria Neo). Ok i'll stop here :p

• dav.kk (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 2:33 am

Hi Avanza

Malaysia is comply with AFTA, but proton car so badly build not even pass the safety standard of toyota or honda car in thailand, Most of the car got euroNCAP 4 or 5 star, if u watch top gear, the tested out impiana ( waja) with UK spec dual air bag n ABS and EDB and all disc break, still got 3 star , they also make comparison with FORD hatchback car which is older still manage to get 4 star.

4 Star when hit at around 80KM , the Door still can be closed perfectly

3 Star the door almost fall out and can;t be close perfectly

The waja doing so bad the stering stell actually pierce thru the leg of the dummy, if in 4 star all the dashboard still in one piece.

Now u tell me, can proton car sell in thailand ….. Good luck proton

• pirate (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 2:33 am

Errr…what?

Zzzzzzzzz!

• Jake (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 3:00 am

..haiya, expot salah, tak ekpot salah…

i love malaysia dude!

….bashers, lovin' your thai made automobile?????

i wanna jap cbus….

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 3:42 am

20++ year in existence and now only Proton wanna start going up north…!!! Thanks to the present admin, else we'll get the usual all-arrogant-talk-but-no-result action from the ex-CEO.

Not forgetting, we are facing some resistence from Thai due to our non-tariff barrier. Thai have already said no 5% for import from MY until non-barrier tariff is dismantle. With the extension given to MY, i don't think Thai will be generous this time.

Good luck Proton. Despite my bad experience with Proton car previously i hope you succeed. At least you have shown that you are putting effort to sell outside rather than sit and complain like someone before.

• kev (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 4:40 am

CKD protons in Thailand ? doubt so..most likely proton will bring in CKD protons from Thailand into m'sia..impose further tax on it to make proton cars a more "luxurious" (expensive) "asset"

• syauqi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 5:37 am

haaa….let's wait n see how proton surely-busted cars are priced in thailand….if they are sold at a much cheaper price compared to what we are getting here, rest assured a lot of proton-bashing sessions going to take place later on…

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:11 am

nak jual kat TAHI-land boleh lah

oh, speaking of proton, i am planning to sell my "showroom condition" poroton wira 1.5 auto…heres the specs:

proton wita 1.5 (A) GLA 1994

-showroom condition: means

-cracking paint

-severe vibration when gear in D and even N

-"standard" special edition proton "manu-matic power windows"

-special bumper dropping off

-turn indicator stick feels like want to "patah" everytime i use= maybe thats why MOST MALAYSIAN MOTORIST NEVER USE THE TURN SIGNAL INDICATOR when changing lanes

-underpowered- just the other day LOST to bicycle on uphill climb in bukit tinggi (haiya only bicycelah)

-1st in the wolrd- and in malaysian book of stupid records: sunroof built into the driver's side window!!

-special built-in "water filter" that allows MIST to filter into the windows and the lamps at the back- works espcially great when in rainy days, IMAGINE NO NEED TO BUY ANOTHER WATER-FILTER!!

no imagine HOW MUCH WOULD U ABLE TO SAVE if u buy all these parts SEPARATELY!!

also acicdent-prone due to ABS (ada brake susah)

ANY SUKKERS?

MUST VIEW TO BELIEVE!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:30 am

just don't exagerate the exportation figures or sales figures.

• dav.kk (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:47 am

Hi

mr tong sam pah that was a good one,(lol) but it aslo very true.

The sad part is proton still selling it. Like my friend got a Gen2 barely 2 year old, the dashboard can play it own music even in good condition road.

Even DELL six case battery fire they recall all the related battery. I wonder proton will recall all thier defect car or not.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:53 am

Ok ok…hmm.. lets say Proton never existed. Approximately how much would a full spec Toyota Yaris cost today? Help me out here..

• dav.kk (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:59 am

hummm

let assumme proton never exist la during the 80an n toyota come and invest here instead of thailand, easly half the price like in RM 50K range…. just in AUS cost AUD 20K + only…..

So what u think…….

• V8 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 7:22 am

Yaris would probably cost not more than rm50k..if proton never exist la..and we only learn 'proton' word from our science text book.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:00 am

fookeatmin1989 said, "Sigh…proton,be our ‘Jaguh Kampung’ is good enough for you…don’t go to disturb the Thais lah….."

Let P1 show "patriotism" by go outside kampong to fight with Siam. This Jaguh Kampong will greet by the Muay Thai – P1 sure patah kaki & tangan, tulang berkecai dan gigi tercabut! Telur pun masak kena goreng2 oleh Vios and City.

When Thai export car into Malaysia, they have to swallow NAP bitter pil. If P1 ever export car into Thailand, definitely P1 have to "FORCE" to swallow hot and spicy Tom Yam and P1 car greet with "sawadee-crap" by Thai consumers!

See P1 still can play with "national car" and "patriotism" snetiment?

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:12 am

yeah dave kk, its really amazing HOW PROTON CAN EVEN CONTINUE TO SELL this crap junk cars!!!

now they "forcing" us to buy more proton by persuading the government to scrap 10 year old cars really amazing

its amazing 96%+++ of all proton wiras (inc sometimes quite new) their bumpers are dropping off

what does proton use, those 50sen glues that can buy at any kedai runcit?

my sister's 1998 proton wira aeroback IS VERY WELL TAKEN CARE OF, but the roof and side doors/ bonnet ARE FULL OF UGLY BLOODY LOOKING SPOTS OF RUST!!!!!

i dont even know these kinda of proton problems, now i know, thanks to the internet…

i was actually thinking of buying second-hand perdana V6

i never noticed these problems (bumper dropping, open door to pay toll) until i read about them

i think if proton tried to seel these junks in the USA, they will be FACED WITH MULTI-BILLION DOLLAR LAWSUITS

well its not so bad, it could go into the world-famous Malaysia book of record AS THE 1ST LOCAL CAR MANUFACTURERE TO BE SUED in USA

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:29 am

weewee said, "To spare Proton from the critisms and abuses (as suggested by the above commentaries), the new management has to deliver its promises. I’m optimistic that they’ll able to improve on their current state. A decision that was previously made by the rulling party couldn’t be reversed now. But i think Proton would have a rosy future in Malaysia if they could come out with better designed and built products."

1. How to spare P1 from criticism? They got bash for more than 10 years on alll kind of quality problems as posted in this section!

2. The greatest abuses in our auto industry is NAP/P1, not commentaries.

3. The new management can't do anything as far as P1 long term survival is concern! If want promises, then have to tie up or taken over by foreigner so that "new-new management" put in place (perhaps only maintain MD SZ) to stir P1 out of their current hopelessness.

4. P1 is unable to improve on their current sales and financial performance. Some may argue Satria Neo show sign of P1 improvment in quality. But one fundamental question to us but known fact to oversea market is all P1 cars is nut that can't compete in open market in term of quality, safety features and pricing with same segment of car.

5. What is means by a decision make by the ruling party couldn't be reverse now? You mean this crappy NAP/P1 so sacred that it have to be protected at all consumers cost? If our revered Bapa Malaysia, Tunku Abdul Rahman or any Malaysian all have this mentality, and let British make all decision, then perhaps we until today havn't merdeka let alone to celebrate this coming 49th independent day!

6. Can P1 come out with better design and built product? And how do it related to rosy future in Malaysia? Go and visit Tanjong Malim, Proton spanking new plant formerly is G land and jungle. Name it as "Proton City", as it try to imitate "Toyota City". But reality is on name only, not on advancement in R & D and innovation.

"Proton City" – What kind of latest technology can come out from Tg Malim, in which the surrounding area are mostly palm oil, rubber estate and other agriculture activities and agro products. Mercedes even have R & D centre at Silicon Valley to monitor latest technology and innovation to ensure Mercs car are the trend setter and symbol of luxury/quality.

What P1 can capture and monitor the latest technology at Tg Malim in order to come out with better design and built? Can Bernam Valley turn into "Silicon Valley of Malaysia" by P1?

• jojo (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:34 am

Proton could be successful in Thailand unless it's quality is on par or better than Toyota with cheaper price.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:58 am

asimo said,"when talk about proton,it will be long…hahhaha"

Yes, in certain case it will be long in term of comments by individual and the higher number of comments posted. Above my comment is relatively long. Want longer, also can and is likely!

asimo, with the above comments, do you still in the opinion that Malaysian motorist should be proud and patriotic with this "white elephant with longest trunk yet big capacity to suck until last drop of blood from every consumers"?

• asimo (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 9:52 am

proton quality must be increase…

proton new ceo must be genius and gov must not protect anymore to proton..

later proton can be a world class car not just in asian…joe oii,in indonesia we can drive honda,toyota,but all the money gone to japan and make japan more rich,and we still cant develop like you guys in malaysia…all the money gone..

joe oii i hope you can be a good politician and fight till the end…good luck bro…

hmm i think i like the all new satria neo..really cool…

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 10:19 am

yea 19k-20k aud is driveaway price for a full spec yaris. the car is yours. add 3000aud for a similar spec corolla.

even if the thai G didnt slap proton imports with thier own version of 'excise duty' the proton wouldnt have that much chance to compete anyway.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 4:48 pm

we limit thailand total imports to 20,000 units annually,how many do you think they allow us?since our proton are so expensive as compare to japs in thailand,here too in malaysia,mike as well move the manufacturing totally there,cheaper labour,cheaper and more reliable parts manufacturer,import back to malaysia,selling at waja 30k,wira 25k,savvy 18k,iswara 15k.why not,since a lot of japs car are price at 40 over k in thailand,if our national cars are not benefiting us but suck us dry,no point having it,you means few hundred thousand citizen who rely on national cars to survive is all right to burden the entire 25 million citizen?whats the LOGIC? or is just another project benefiting the elite,egoistic,lucky ,sky fall,god cherrish,soul?

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:13 pm

got me thinking… sometime back there was a case where a Thai bought a lemon Honda CRV. After numerous repair, still lemon and the owner smash the car right in front of journalist.

hmmm…

• motberg (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 6:42 pm

i think the fundamental problem with proton is they are in Catch-22 situation. As far as I know, a car manufacturer will discontinue the old car model when a new one is launched. Try buying a brand new model of the previous model of Civic. Honda will tell you "tak de!" But with proton, you can still walk into the showroom and order a brand new Iswara/Saga or Wira. Both these cars are way past their prime.

But here's the catch – these cars are still selling well. Now Proton is thinking "Why should we discontinue these cars since they are selling so well? And our newer models are losing out to the others…" So the 'cash cows' are still around and newer models are being churned out. It's no wonder they have problem of overstock… Let's see now, Proton has got Iswara, Iswara Aeroback, Wira, Wira Aeroback, the pointless Arena, Satria, Savvy, Waja, Perdana, Gen-2 and Satria Neo. Did I miss any models? Anyway, there are 11 models (plus the variations of AT/MT and engine sizes) that are available from Proton!! And also note that most of them are sedans. No MPVs, no 4WDs.

Imagine that… walk into a Toyota sowroom and how many models are available? Camry, Corolla, Vios, Hilux, Innova, Fortuner, Yaris & Wish. Only 8. Honda? Accord, Civic, City, Stream, CRV, err… i forget but anyway around 5.

And both Toyota and Honda only sells the most current models. Imagine the mayhem if Toyota still continued selling the old Corollas till this day… It will of course sell well, but it would eat into the new models market share. Just like what Proton is doing… So Proton, the question is to cut or not to cut? Or many more years are you going to squeeze out of the Iswara and WIra? And how many more throats are gonna get slit by you??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 7:48 pm

asimo, "joe oii,in indonesia we can drive honda,toyota,but all the money gone to japan and make japan more rich,and we still cant develop like you guys in malaysia…"

asimo, you don't need to be Protonian or act to be that way if talk about international trade and balance of payments. The basic principle are: –

International trade is not concern on ownership or brand of the goods and services. It is concern with particular country export vs. import. If import more than export, then the country face trade deficit and the balance of payment is unhealthy! Some corrective measure is being taken to rememdy this problems – impose additional quota/duty to imported goods or give incentive/subsidise local so that they can compete and export more to correct the trade imbalances.

If your country make Adidas, Nike or even assemble auto like Suzuki APV, then it create job, pay corporate tax, market (local & oversea), create local component, then export to other country. What the FDI earn is just net profit (the money go to the company, maybe reinvest)! which is part of their commercial decision to invest. So, any goods and services produce in Indonesia, be it local or FDI, from international perspective categories under export which form part of economic gain of your country (minus profit take back to FDI country of origin – Japs). This is for economically feasible projects which can make profit under free market and create wealth to the country.

No doubt that it will make Japan more rich but at least this FDI share their wealth with people they invest in those country. For example, Honda Accord fully built in US or Toyota Hilux, Innova or Fortuner built in Thailand with component source from this region, all these export to another country like Indon and Malaysia. Even Accord fully produce in US export back to Japan. Then how to argue in term of enrich who? Definitely it is share among the nation involve! Your classical argument is purely base on assumption that the car is fully built in Japan and export to Malaysia as CBU, then it may be true!

For P1 case, it is a liability to the nation. This is "white elephant" project implement in Malaysia which is economically not feasible. Today show P1 operate under protective NAP and consumer become captive market. P1 can't achieve economiy of scale to offer lowest price possible to consumer, thus can't compete in open market.

For example Waja, same class with Lancer. In open market, Lancer can sell as low as RM 40K but Waja around RM 60K. So NAP force the consumer to buy Waja at RM 60K and Lancer RM 100K ++ under protective market. Therefore, the consumer have to fork out extra money to buy P1 or imported product to sustain it existence. This unequal relationship between consumer and producer resulted in inefficiency and drain of economic resources – create future liability/debt at proportion that the market cannot sustain in the long term.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:07 pm

Paul, where is your Camry section, is that requested by Toyota/UMW not to post it before their official launching date?

• GlowJo (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:29 pm

I guess if proton is not even exist, we will be like indonesia… just able to supply raw materials, Come on guys don't just be a basher but be a smart basher by giving brilliant ideas to P1. In Malaysia only P1 remains as national company, P2 is already bought over by Daihatsu a.k.a 'mini' Toyota. If you guys refer back to toyota history they have been in the business for along long time thus it is logical that their quality is superb compared to P1 which just started to do R&D from end on 20th century.

Nothing is perfect in this world even my aunt's Honda Stream CKD is still having a major defects.

I think P1 is having too many incompetence vendors and let us bash these vendors so that they will wake up from their dreams.

I went to proton parts center during their carnival last few weeks just to have a look at some parts for my wife's car. I saw just afew vendors willing to participate in the carnival. at least if all P1 vendor attended the carnival it would be a great opportunity to ask them about what they have done to our national cars.

I saw a few vendors that ran away when a few customers try to seek justification about their cars that have been install with their products. This shows that P1 vendors are not profesionala enough to be in the business. What they know is just to be spoon fed by P1.

I just try to be fair here since end of this month is our independence day, let us 'free our nation from leech and parasites (troublemakers)'

Happy Independence day guys!!! remember to raise you flag!!

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 10:39 pm

P1,The leech,vendors the parasites or you mean we the p1 consumers are leeches and parasites,voices cannot be echo,sight must be blindfold,thought must be tranquillize,iron curtain feeling. in school we will tought to accept critism as a way to improved,so even p1 project is wrong,we should all on our nationalday after singing the national negaraku,sing, LET IT BE,!

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 10:50 pm

in manufacturing,there is this department call QC,any vendors supply materials b4 passing to assy.line,has to be QC approved,so, if the vendor supply sub-standard parts to P1,and p1 still accepting it and assamble into their products,why you need a QC for?, and if p1 QC had certify the vendor shipment ok,cannot blame the vendor oredi, or most of the vendors are subsidary of p1 father,H1,then the story is clear,no choice,what I cook you must eat.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 11:18 pm

aiks… where is the toyota camry article? i want to have a look at the pictures agian… i really love the design of it. i think it might outsell the accord. the interior is much better because its position very well to the driver. knowing toyota for being very reliable!

for u info.. accords has got problems with automatic transmission. i have seen this problem with the guys in the workshop. iam not sure with the new models. anybody care to explain?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 1:15 am

motberg…one of the reason iswara and saga still exist is bcoz of some ppl dun hv any choices to buy other car which is better than both mention…i think if other is in the same price…no more iswara and saga in our road…

maybe this is a good step for them to deal with the thais…but…they hv to b serious on this…quality first proton…

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 1:22 am

To Glowjo fella, sorry to being blunt but you sound like you are blind,deaf and dumb(dumb as in stupid not mute) to say that Proton is not a lousy nasty inferior expensive but cheap quality greedy cooperation which is just bent to fleece malaysians like you. Sadly to say in Bolehland many many many malaysian people are Bolehlah,submissive and just suitable for Mrs 30%ministers and her Close one Eye Mps to cheat rob and fleece for their own benefits while we are forced to buy stupid lousy nasty proton cars which are made like in a jungle clearing.

Glowjo, you proud that iswara is sold in irag for only usd5000 whilst we pay myr35000 for the same damn inferior car? you proud that kelisa is sold in uk for gbp4499 equipped with dual air bags,advanced engine immobiliser but here we pay up to myr40000 for a kelisa which has none of the above features.

so Glowjo, dont be a hypocrite. you know you want to own at least a Honda City which really costs only Baht 470,000 which in MYR is only 46,000+. Not a MYR15000+ Iswara which you have to buy at MYR35000+. And pay MYR20000+ to our Mrs 30% minister and all her COE Mps.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 1:42 am

GlowJo said, "I guess if proton is not even exist, we will be like indonesia… just able to supply raw materials,"

What you mean by supply raw material. So in order to make P1 car body, the metal or iron ore have to be imported from Australia or other country? We at most produce tin and a little gold!

• megahyper (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 3:17 am

Proton can exist glowjo. Just dont use rakyat as the cash cow to be in existence. We dont owe proton and all its related cronies a living. After 20 years, in fact they owe us a living. Becoz of them, we lose to thailand as the detroit of SEA. Think about it.

I would rather have many major cars maker in the country generating incomes, taxes, GDP, employmnent, supporting industries for us, than having one lousy/half koyak car maker that needs all the protection from gomen, from rakyat and at the same time sell you half-baked products at the inflated price. I know we are suckers. National assets? Its a national liability not an asset!

If you protect a child too much, they will tends to rely on you. If they can pocket billions of dollars without sweating, why do more work? Well. the conception of the idea is good, i think the downfall of P1 is the protection accorded to it. Same with any other policy in this country, if you keep artificial protection, artificial AP, artificial quota, artificial rights, it will definately make a few very rich bastard, but it will end up as a downfall of the protected.

• datto (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 6:14 am

anyhow, proton to me getting into thai market is rather late. proton had been selling in singapore, brunei and indonesia for quite sometime already. no matter how bad is the quality, but how come i still see singaporean and brunei-an registered protons on our shore? no matter what…they still sell?

i think having protons exported is a good thing..so ppl around the world know who we are..what are we angry of now is proton being giving its own ppl substandard cars and overpricing…proton is what i call 'chicken' in our own country. if they dare open up the market and challange head on with other brands…so ppl can 'feel' for themselves, who actually is making better or substandard cars…

the gen2 actually got a good review in taiwan compared to the mazda3. and i so heard its selling quite well and even featured in some taiwan drama? well time not like mr. bean where the iswara got blown engine coz the golf ball was stuck in the exhaust pipe la..haha…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 6:23 am

We already have Proton Wira, Proton Gen2, Proton Savvy, Proton Perdana etc, but how about Proton Tomyam Thai?

• en7yfl (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 6:43 am

Well, i personally think it is not that easy. First of all, Malaysia government impose high tax for CBU from Thailand. Thailand is very fastrated with Malaysia NAP. Secondly, to invest in Malaysia, 30% of share must belong to BUMI. If proton to investment in Thailand, 30% must belong to Thai, will PROTON accept ???

• DAN (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 6:53 am

till now .what proton prove to us. what this national car make us proud , not even in Malaysia there own country people man to proud of there own product.

so what proton 1 from us. this is enough what there do to us. there only know how to get easy money from there own countryman n get a restriction to this n that, that a benefit for there own people only. so for people who support proton , i think is like giving a drug to there own sun that addicted to drug.

so what so happy about proton . is your money n my money who been play around by government who to protect there proton.

what there prove till now n what there prove after this.

what so proud about proton?. BOLEH only for there own country but not for other place. late there own self teach there own self how to dick a hold to bares there own self!. wait n see. but who die ? is u n me!.

people who proud of it is only minority of it who can get easy money but how about us ? what we get ! n what u get , is that proud of your own color who know to do a monkey business!!!. that u call a business that. for certain people who proud off. actually u r killing your own self for your own countryman!.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 7:23 am

mitranevo said, How about "Proton Tomyam Thai"

Other put forward for consideration is "Proton Sawadee-Crap"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 8:27 am

GlowJo said,"In Malaysia only P1 remains as national company, P2 is already bought over by Daihatsu a.k.a ‘mini’ Toyota."

Ford, the second largest US automaker own the brands which comprises Jaguar, Land Rover, Volvo and Aston Martin. Do this ownership make Jaguar, Land Rover and Aston Martin become more American rather than Britishness? Same to Volvo, does it look less Swedish?

Ford now facing growing feeling that the company is at a crisis at critical point. This lead to Ford are feeling highly vulnerable right now. "When you are vulnerable in open market, you put everything on the table for negotiation". Ford preferred move is to seek partnership bringing Carlos Ghosn, CEO of Nissan and Renault, into a leadership position in the Ford. Again, if Ford is helm by Ghosn, do it lost its American identity?

This is how automotive company in the west tackle and manage their crisis. Does Ford or GM seek President George Bush to pass similar NAP law to protect them? Talk about existence, their history perhap exceed 100 years, but when come to ailing scenario, the people of US never drag into their crisis and expected them to contribute "crappy patriotic tax" to save these companies. What happen here is I don't think American are "less patriotic" when come to national product. But these commercial entities are basically have to demonstrate they can compete and survive in this dog-eat-dog auto market couple with other factor like soaring oil prices affect their sales for gas guzzler big boy toys like truck, SUV, big sedan, etc.

GlowJo, the message is don't associate patriotism with failed "white elephant project"!

• dav.kk (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 10:13 am

hi Datto

Dun forget the proton car sell in UK is 100% better then the one you get here, the list of equipment is (Gen 2 example)

Airbag – Driver

Airbag – Passenger

Airbag – Twin side

Front seatbelts with pre-tensioners and load limiters

Front seatbelts – height adjustable

Three rear shoulder seatbelts

Anti lock brakes (ABS) with Electronic Brake Distribution (EBD)

Cruise control

Reverse distance sensors

Side impact protection bars

Crumple zones (front and rear)

Anti-roll bar (rear)

Front Disc Brakes – ventilated

Engine immobiliser

All this for 11k Pound = 66 thousand.. If you buy the equalviant here GEN 2 higline don;t even have half of the thing listed.

Imagine they sell at RM66K still have to inculding the cost to ship to UK and tax……If i pay RM 66K i should get better equipment level in malaysia because our shipping cost is damn low.

you try invite the taiwan or oversea journalist and ask them to test drive our malaysian version a GEN2 …..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 7:06 pm

If Taiwan Journalist ever try Gen-2 Malaysian version, the verdict is "Phui Phui….."

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 11:37 pm

oh.. ok. Toyota Yaris will only cost around RM50K if Proton never existed. Sighhh.. thats damn affordable man.. Some more, its a Toyota. Right now, i just hope the G will stop protecting Proton. Time is up already.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 12:00 am

in oversea market,they got choices,if not proton,they got korean,china and eastern europe cars to choose on,so our p1,seriously dress their product up,sell cheap cheap to compete,lugi pun nevermind,not their $$$,rakyat $$$,in motherland malaysia,p1 feels thats,we got no choice,we had to be patriotic,we are not sophisticated PPL,we just moved down from our tree house,is our money that invested in p1,so,they can take it easy,tidak apa atitude towards our complains,insults,and foruming.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 12:18 am

got this adv.from motor trader australia,sept 2003,PARKLAND PROTON,1)persona(wira)a/c,p/steering,remote central locking,cd player,eletric windows,drivers a/bag,3 years UNLIMITED KM WARRANTY,5 years rust warranty,price,manual,aud 14,990.00, auto,aud,15,990.00,2)XLS SATRIA(gti)unique sports body kit,alloy wheels,carbon fibre sports interior,a/c,p/steering,remote central locking,cd player,24 hour proton roadside asist,aud,15,490.00, 3)waja, 4 a/bags,abs,traction control,a/c,p/steering,eletric windows and mirrows,6 speaker audio control,lotus handaling and engineering.aud 19,990.00.check at sept,03 whats the exchange rates?

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 1:01 am

we do have a choice. If proton sucks, gets perodua, teach proton a lesson.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 2:54 am

hahaha,thats why myvi outsell savvy!the citizen had take action oredi!

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 3:37 am

my best bet is when proton sucks, get perodua(perodua is more milo tin than proton), then when proton improves buy proton and perodua will feel the heat, and then perodua will also improve(hopefully)

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 3:41 am

I am no proton lover, but I personally think proton is better than perodua in terms of car quality especially savvy, satria neo and Gen 2. The body is stronger. But they are well known for that window steering problem, bumper and etc etc. Actually I own a proton and doesn't have much problem other than when it is new. To solve your problem(after warranty) don't get proton spare parts unless neccessary(if the spare part is needed for car to function) . Like if window power spoil, get mechanic to get a good brand window motor. So far my proton has no problem other than it is a milo tin. When my proton was new, the bumper just drop off into the highway!! No Kidding!!

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 3:42 am

I really like Myvi very much, but the interior sucks, it's not stable and only 1300CC? I like the outer looks of MYVI. It looks and feels like an aluminium car.

• asimo (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 4:21 am

myvi use recyle tin….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 5:09 am

oranglulu said, "got this adv.from motor trader australia,sept 2003,PARKLAND PROTON,1)persona(wira)a/c,p/steering,remote central locking,cd player,eletric windows,drivers a/bag,3 years UNLIMITED KM WARRANTY,5 years rust warranty,price,manual,aud 14,990.00, auto,aud,15,990.00,2)XLS SATRIA(gti)unique sports body kit,alloy wheels,carbon fibre sports interior,a/c,p/steering,remote central locking,cd player,24 hour proton roadside asist,aud,15,490.00, 3)waja, 4 a/bags,abs,traction control,a/c,p/steering,eletric windows and mirrows,6 speaker audio control,lotus handaling and engineering.aud 19,990.00.check at sept,03 whats the exchange rates?"

Exchange rate: http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi

The exchange rate as at 27/8/06 is 1 AUD = RM 2.79126

1. Persona/Wira (M) : AUD 14,990.00 = RM 41,840.99 Sahaja!

XLS,(A) : AUD 15,990.00 = RM 44,632.25 Sahaja!

2. Satria GTI : AUD 15,490.00 = RM 43,236.62 Sahaja!

3. Waja : AUD 19,990 = RM 55,797.29 Sahaja

The exhange rate for Sept 03 is not much different but look at today exchange rate. We can concluded that P1 is the "MOST PATRIOTIC" by selling higher specs and lower price compare to local market! So , if export to Thailand, likely P1 will do the same! Rakyat moeny mah ……. Ask local consumer to subsidise oversea market! Ahem, something very wrong and fishy with P1.

P1 totally no social responsibility, demonstrate bad corporate citizen and greatest disgrace to the rakyat!

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 5:49 am

not mentioning that those car selling overseas including shipping prices and overseas tax which means by right if Malaysia and overseas same specs should be cheaper as selling in Malaysia no import tax and shipping fees. Malaysia import car tax is high, so they can afford to price the car high.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:45 am

Yalah, I heard my friend involved in shipping logistic told me the shipping cost for CBU to UK is more than RM 6K per car!

Nevermine, they can export to TomYamLand through Bkt Kayu Hitam or Padang Besar by trailer!

• ysyslys (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 7:48 am

p1 oversea marketing stratergy.good if he can bring back more foreign currency.what we can do is wait and see…..coming soon mega blockbuster.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:09 pm

dav.kk said,

August 27, 2006 @ 2:13 am

hi Datto

Dun forget the proton car sell in UK is 100% better then the one you get here, the list of equipment is (Gen 2 example)

not to mention to 8 YEARS WARRANTY yes..yes..yes 8 YEARS WARRANTY.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:16 pm

P1 totally no social responsibility, demonstrate bad corporate citizen and greatest disgrace to the rakyat!

this Thursday is not Merdeka day..Merdeka means no more over priced car.

I want to know if the OZZY g IMPOSE DIFFERENT TAX STRUCTURE FOR cbu CAR? IF THEY DO WHY IS STILL CHEAPER THAN MSIA CAR?

PLEASE DONT BUY PROTON SPARE MONEY FOR OUR KIDS…they do not need to suffer like me for the last 22 years ++

• quest (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:03 pm

Actually nizam80, A Yarris has a book value for Insurers when they import in of RM42,500.

• quest (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:15 pm

GlowJo

i don't see how Pritin has benefited anyone except for exclusive few. Before tey came about, we paid 30K for a 2 liter car (eg. Mazda 626) in 85. Came Proton, we paid 18K for a Saga. followed by 60K for a Waja now, and Perdana 2 liter 106K?

If you were to buy a Mazda 6 now, the cost for insurance (before excise, sales and whatever CRAP tax) is……….. get this RM45,000, Japanese CBU.

I can't see how or in anyway that Proton has benefitted anyone at all.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:49 pm

Cant blame poton 100%, gov come out this idea to generate domestic income in one way (buy poton) or the other way (buy CKD or CBU).. that's why gov said our NAP is good what??.. for me, its bladdy hell cut throat good….

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:59 pm

maybe they'll get sales going by offering free gender-change operations to customers.

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 10:37 pm

motorhead said; "Cant blame poton 100%, gov come out this idea to generate domestic income in one way (buy poton) or the other way (buy CKD or CBU).. that’s why gov said our NAP is good what??.. for me, its bladdy hell cut throat good…."

guess who's idea this spanking brilliant NAP was? Not the gomen…but SHE!

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 2:48 am

who will buy small cramp Satria/Waja/Gen2?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 3:52 am

KingKong said, "who will buy small cramp Satria/Waja/Gen2?"

Thai biggest taxi is not Vios or Corrola but American car that can seat 2 person in front. Go to Bukit Kayu Hitam and check out!

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 5:51 am

We actually have a choice. If Proton sucks, we buy Perodua. But, the thing is… there's not much vehicle choices at Perodua too. Kancil, Kelisa, Kenari, Kembara, Myvi… all look boring to me. Despite the quality issues at least, Proton cars look better than Perodua, right? (excluding Iswara, Wira, and Perdana V6)

So, it the end, lets save up for a Toyota Yaris, huh.

Btw, Paul, are there any news of UMW Toyota bringing in a manual transmission Yaris?

• peromyvi (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 6:22 am

Post NAP car prices

WOw the malaysian car prices are getting more expensive by the day. A check with Naza their car prices show an increase mostly in the Kia Rio and Kia Picanto. Unfortunately Proton cannot produce nice design and quality cars > nowadays if you want to own a decent quality car 1.5 cc be prepared to fork out at least RM 70k. Malaysia is a country that has low wage high living cost. Worst of both world especially in KL. What happen to the good old 80s where things are priced at more reasonable level. As we devaulue the ringgit, we are not improving on productivity. Exports to our trading partner is competitive because we gave a discount. Imagine pre 1997 RM 2.5 = 1 USD. We are selling more quantity to the US but not necessary getting more money out of it. Especially on comodity like palm oil which is in RM denomination.

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 8:03 am

hey i saw a NEW toyota camry today near bandar sunway pj

to see the model, check out www.ultimatedrivingmachines.com

• mr tong sam pah (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 8:08 am

sorrry its www.ultimatedrivingmachines.wordpress.com

• ryanchong (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 9:36 am

Oh My God!! Selling P at Thailand..? What will they do..? Like selling it cheaper at UK with better quality then those that selling in Malaysia? And then Like UK where those P oeners can sell it back to P and P sell the cars to Malaysian, and with the claim "export quality"..? 49th Merdeka is on the way, pls don make Malaysians bare the cost and please don make us look like cock suckers… No ones like to be cock suckers. Want to penetrate into Thai..np as long as the quality is as good as japanese cars. Pls.. tolong… tolong….

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 12:41 am

we can celebrate merdeka day. just dont include proton as something msians can be proud of. its off my list. and for a long long time. very long.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 6:33 pm

Selamat Menyambut Hari Merdeka ke-49 pada 31 Ogos 06 Kepada Semua Rakyat Malaysia.

• intermilan (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 8:43 pm

Thailand?

go go potong!

tired to type long long.. wishing potong all the bad luck… in the world.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 6:52 pm

the Proton merdeka ads..should also indicate how Msian struggle to open door to pay toll.

because of Proton….

1. we cant have a good public tarnsport, because good public transport mean no need to buy Proton.

2.we also cant have car review tv programmes..cannot later people will know the technology then wont but Proton.

3.not the mention others well known like, over priced cars, tax,ap,ed,nap,bla bla….

only merdeka if ….proton close shop…

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 01, 2006 at 7:59 pm

Erm… opening a proTONG market in Thailand? 'nice' try.. can't wait to see the results.. wakakakaka :)

• floyd2006 (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 4:00 am

I've seen some threads in Thailand forum dedicated to Kelisa and it gets quite good response from other forumers. They say it looks somewhat like one of Mini's cars. Not one on Potong's cars though.

If Potong wants to go up north, they should really think of sacrificing the major shareholding. I'm sure no Thais would want to welcome a crappy manufacturer into their fold without having a say in the direction of the company.

• floyd2006 (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 4:05 am

Toyota Yaris sold at a starting price of RM60k in Thailand. Would Gen2 sell at RM55-60k or Waja at RM60k?????

Proton need to do something very special to beat such competition.