Proton Quarter 2 2006 Results

Proton’s Quarter 2 2006 financial results have just been posted on the Bursa Malaysia announcement page, and the figures are still in red. Losses before tax for Quarter 2 2006 is RM 240,480,000, compared to RM 161,785,000 in Quarter 2 2005. This brings the total losses for the first half of this year to RM 336,016,000, compared to RM 169,146,000 for the same half year period of 2005. Reasons for this loss was reported to be a sluggish and competitive market which resulted in a lower sales volume. The market has certainly been sluggish, with October 2006 sales dropping by a huge 37 percent as compared to the same time period last year!

protonq1small.gif
Click for enlarged version.

Source: BTimes, Bursa Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 2:17 pm

Yes! Reasons for this loss is a sluggish but more so, an uncompetitive Proton.

• powerhaus (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:15 pm

well done proton. what goes around comes around. and now will you fsck off?

• J (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:15 pm

Well, Proton always has "good" reasons :)

• powerhaus (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:17 pm

with the way our politicians & XXXXXXXXX behave in the public, what else can you expect from them? majority of them cant even speak english properly. cemerlang, gemilang and terbukti temberang,

• Mayonaise (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Serves you right, Proton! Been waiting for these kinda days for soooooo long… Now I want to see you (Proton) chap lap…

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:49 pm

dead hope for this dying company…

• transformer (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:51 pm

ha ha ha ha…… yeeee piiiiii!!!!! SO HAPPY TO SEE THIS RESULT!

but wait….. maybe this would have a BIG impact on the next NAP!

maybe even higher Excise Duty on import again….

but if all consumer don't buy but wait…. the whole market will slowdown and our G would start to wakeup and do something on NAP!

WE, CONSUMER create the demand!

not G! So G can't demand us to pay more ED, right ?

• faizulamin (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:54 pm

governement sux! proton become sux beacuse we have sux govenrment

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 8:28 pm

piss on you proton….

• cyborgx (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 9:11 pm

good news for the people of Malaysia, right there. Let's Boikot Proton!

• Bigjoe (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 9:24 pm

RM250M Loss for the quarter. Sheesh. This is a dead horse. Will Volkswagen even bite at this? They have to sell this thing for a song for anyone to bite…

Hey what happened to the Satria Neo?

• matomyam (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:24 pm

pegi jahanam la ini company,,,bolo punya mamak punya idea

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:40 pm

We all r not suprise, yes?.. after all the talk craps, this is the result of coz… mmg no future, & now they r desperate to sell p1 quick, b4 the damage worsening… I pity also some of my frens (poton owners), they r now desperate also to sell their cars, want to switch to p2.. but now many of p2 shops refuse to accept poton's as trade in… well, msian auto ind. mmg no hope… the system is totally in wrong direction, mean while thai has become Detroit of asia…. i also cant predict what is the future of our country in auto ind… but it seems that we r the one who will always be the victims, paying all the stupid taxes to keep the industry alive…

ps: Welcome to Malaysia Sdn bhd…

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:56 pm

ahh proton is at it again.. and Paul's blog on this topic has become a proton bashing again lol

anyway, just a thought.. i think it's the after sales services that makes people quit buying proton… ya know one time i went to do service to my waja and this proton service boy wrongly assemble the brake pad! Lucky it was the rear one and i realize it and went to my tepi jalan friend's workshop and fix it. I was like WTF how long did this boy trained to do such a task?

or… they produce lousy car with lousy quality with lousy design thus more and more people are no longer atrracted to buy it, unless they got no choice, like me lol. Last time, my cousin just got a waja (with that thermometre rear lamp) today, and the next morning he could'nt even start the car! That was WTF too!!

or… people have realized the fact that better buy 2nd hand honda or toyota than a new proton, less headache… and I'm too broke now to do so *sighs*

Paul, have you aver had any bad experience with ur proton? Or you've switched to a Honda? If so, I must envy you lol. Cheers.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 11:12 pm

guys,

personally, in my point of view, the idea of creating 'proton' is not a bad idea… but the way 'they' handle it..the outcome after 20 years.. really make me wanna kick their ass.. hahaha.. hope u'll die soon (but my other half wanna see them 'get up')

• Initial D (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 12:09 am

yea…………..having our own brand is good……………..but the problem is the growth momentum isn't consistent……………….and now its tumbling down………really………..duno how it can be saved………….because can't see any super radical changes happening……

• u5 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:02 am

proton shd just get the hell out of the automotive industry.. it's robbing us a chance to own imported cars let alone luxury cars.

• learnyee (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:11 am

another great project from BN for Malaysia

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:23 am

LOL…..

I love the figure…….I hope not just end here and exceed RM1B…then closed shop, together with all those supplier.

……..Tonight I am having a feast.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:47 am

offrader manix,

can i join yer feast..? :)

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 2:11 am

this proton wont go down that easily one la. they'd rather tax you for as long as it lives rather than let it die. you think they'd let go such a successful cash cow in proton just like that.

all they need to do is just come out with new models, shout some lotus handling crap and post some vague news now and then that proton is increasing marketshare in other markets when in reality this increase in market share is actually insignificant at all( i suspect cant even pay the electricity bill and rent bill for the premise). pretty soon everybody will end up with old rotten protons that need replacement with "new" facelifted protons with the reason being the 'smart' choice yet again. and you're screwed for another generation.

someone said it right. the reason market is sluggish is because more people are aware enough now to avoid proton. but thats another story for those stuck with oldrotten protons that need replacing.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 2:14 am

Guys? do you all seriuosly think that when proton is dead, all thing wiil be fine like you all dream of? all toyota's, bmw's, mercedes or what so ever imports will be priced like there's no AFTA or dirt cheap like everyone can buy? dream on? i'm no proton suporter but seriously guys there wont be any change la. Proton is just a car company trying to sell car, the problem is the one whos running it, manage it to produce shitty things to us but this is only proton. The main problem is on the policy itself, which is robing us. The one who is carying out the automobile policy in this country, from the one who easily granting national car status, AP's and AFTA la guys. Yes i know you all will be claping hand, partying, feasting bla bla when shitty proton is dead, but this mean nothing, because we still have our NAZA and perodua both national car that need to be protect.

• Joinh (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 2:29 am

In the world of business, there will be hard time to pass, especially proton which come to the automotive market quite late. Even Daimler Chrysler group was loosing money before. Not everyone have a success story like toyota, who is a latecomer but competitive with mercedes now. Proton's failure isn't a good news for us. When this big competitor gone, others car maker will not sell their car cheap as before. let's think about it.:)

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 2:39 am

Proton is immortal laaa. It will never die. However, if it dies, i still don't think NAP will let us enjoy quality imported cars.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 2:47 am

i don know la joinh, as long cars are made from different manufacturers, there will compete each other in giving the best offer or prices,

healthy competition,

(the existence of proton+parasites we have to pay additional cost)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 2:52 am

Up to June 2006, P1 red = lost of 336 millionaire or equivalent to approx. 1.85 millionaire disappear per day. What a great disastrous!

As I mentioned before, this is not chicken and egg argument. P1 come first and NAP later. The present equation for P1 and NAP existence is P1 need NAP protection for survival and NAP need P1 to be exist to make its present legitimate. This arrangement create AP King and big pipeline for croc to suck blood money.

When P1 gone case, no way NAP still can be maintain as P2 and Naza don't need NAP.

Talk about lower price, yes it will be like Langkawi market, Waja (A) selling at around RM 38K.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 4:04 am

They should go back and watch their tapes in reverse. then they'll see their progress grow, in backwards.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 4:11 am

Paul, any news on a new car rate next year? AFTA maybe due to low sales? People holding back. Sluggish market or more than 10 year old models still on the road.

• u5 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 4:33 am

satu lagi projek bernas daripada barisan nasional…. woo hoo

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 5:21 am

latest news..

gen2 MT 2005, worth RM30k for p2 trade in… ; my fren told me… pity him…. we told ya many times in this blog about p1… now where r the hell all the proton supporters, admirers, lovers & etc??…. they must be hiding like rats now… wait until ACA get in p1, then all the korparats will hide like rats also….

• Driven2020 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 5:49 am

aiyo iswara even worse man. 2003 iswara manual 2nd hand shop only take in at rm16k. and my friend who bought it is still paying for the loan!

savvy lovers out there would refrain from doing sharp turns on their nimble savvy as performance comes with a hefty price.

http://www.vespa.com.my/savvy/

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 7:15 am

want to JUNK my VESPA, gotta fond cheap 2nd hand car, lot to choose HONDA or ALFA??…..want PROTON, but engine aaaa zaman batu punya,

OR still wait…..200X

• monomania (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 7:42 am

well done P1,

another Malaysia Book of Records for you, after you guys conquered the "1st Proton on Arctic Ice" record….

LOL!!!!

• normalcardriver (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 7:43 am

Everybody lose money lah nowadays.Second hand cars are dropping prices.it will take a year to clear.Many cars are dropping prices to clear stock.Naza Citra is dropping prices.Local assembly plan like the Camry was stopped and shifted to Thailand.Local auto industry is in dire straits.

The only company sure not to lose is the toll operators.They are trying to raise their price again yeah I know ' tidak membebankan rakyat' but what if I feel 'dibebankan"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 7:49 am

MOU MOU here, LOI LOI there, oh McP1 have Tg Malim plant, e a e a oh.

Pi mai pi mai saham dok tang tu jugak. Hoi……, pasai apa ni saham ku ni tak naik naik hah. Dok cakap sampai ayak liuk pun kering dah saham pun tak naik jugak. Lah ni lagi teruk, rugi juta-juta pulak. Mati lah kali ni, tak tau nak buat apa lagi lah.

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 7:55 am

When Proton earn money, the people lose money.

When Proton loose money, the people lose more money.

Some geng always pocket money, no matter Proton is sick or healthy.

Understand ?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 8:48 am

Yeah, I get your points, the crony, connected VIP suppliers, croc, AP King, etc still make tonne of money irrespective of P1 financial performance.

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 9:00 am

LOL……getting them closed all together is not going to happen. We all know that.

Don't forget it is the pressure from the public………and stupid strategy…which back fire the whole thing. Naza soon also koyak.

Getting cars back down on the road will not be easier but there will be a recovery and definitely not in 2007 cause it only stareted not too long ago.

Consumer will lose money……due to the lower trade in value….but those company will not hold out any longer because the public weren't buying….by next year….there will be more attractive deals coming from reputable company…and we are not stupid anymore or enough is enough..or whatever

Everyone gotta eat………

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 9:56 am

thank you Government…thank you pak lah….thank you proton…3 of u has made malaysians proud…next proton model will sell like a hot cake…hahahaha…i m so happy….

• SamGan (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 10:52 am

Proton was a bad idea from the start. Malaysians have suffered long enough. Already 2 generations have been forced to pay artificial prices for cars. Please Proton, just drive off into the sunset and free the rakyat from your depredation.

• whodz (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 11:37 am

Seems that without T.S.Mahaleel is even worst. Who in the world can survive in that post..I dont think any foreigner bosses will eventually can overcome these messes. What will happened to Malaysia….I'm scared to live here..:p

• amad_a (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 4:12 pm

in short, it all begins with corruption, bribery, "cronism".. and the list can go on… and on.. and on..

if this continues, we are hardly moving anywhere..

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 5:25 pm

Malaysia BoXXX,

Yeah man!! we understood u!! U R rite man… tembak tepat, bull's eye!

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 8:29 pm

WHERE are ALL potong lover??

We know who you are…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 8:55 pm

Protonian can talk about "Lotus handling" and most powerfull engine in it class only! Other matter, "elegant silence" or accused the other side as "mindless bashers"!

• J (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 9:20 pm

Proton will become "salty fish get alive" when they ask for help from EPF fund. And that's our money. They just need to decrease EPF dividend for us by 1% in order to have extra money to rescue Proton :)

• Driven2020 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 9:34 pm

stop taking our money and make better cars! it's sick to see our money is in each and every crap p1 around.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 9:34 pm

New proton cars have that continental feel. Except for those wira's and iswara's. They are past their prime. If there's no NAP, and Proton still lives on, then probably i'll buy a Golf GTI IF the price is affordable. I favor continental cars. Thats y i bought Savvy.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 12:17 am

Pak Lah.. pls sell proton and get rid of NAP. Instead of feeding to proton, better use it to reduce poverty in Malaysia. NAP and AP is not helping anyone. i do not want my children to suffer paying installment for a low quality car of the century. Better use the money to upgrade the public transport, reduce cars on the road, reduce people dependency on cars and thus, reduce road fatality at the same time. with less car, less potholes and les polution and the best part is less perodua, less naza and no proton on the road pls. that's the wawasan 2020 i m hoping for.

proton's ugly legacy will be pass down to many malaysian generations to come.

• J (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 12:43 am

I support you "Say NO to low quality car" … "It Kills"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 3:50 am

Say no to P1, take back our right to choose, and go to hell force to choose under NAP.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 7:19 am

hmmm.. so… losing 78millions more than last year for the same period of time…. in my calculation, if this situation continue, next year loss another 240480 + 78 millions… it takes approxiamtely 3 years plus for it to go bankcrupt! to be exact is 25 February 2009.. YAY!! LOLZ… pls go bankcrupt!! we wan drive better car…

• Driven2020 (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 7:56 am

it will be alot sooner than u think. it's not like the gradual decline but more of a catastrophic land slide. i dun think other companies truly wan to help p1 but merely aiming for the state of the art tanjung malim plant. the place is truly a tech marvel. it will be a shame and embarrassment if the plant is taken over by other companies. so much nation's money has gone into p1. when the time p1 goes back to rebadging i reckon it will be so indefinitely.

the 2nd hand car market is slowly flooding with countless p1 cars with declining resell values. it may end up worth having to sell the cars for scrap. that will be bad.

only time will tell

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 10:39 am

It is free flow plunge to death!

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 11:38 am

Joe Ooi said,

December 3, 2006 @ 2:39 am

It is free flow plunge to death!

————————-

dont worry…..we got lotus handling

hehehe

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 7:35 pm

topgunthang, I mean financial performance, if road performance then "Lotus handling" can do a good job, he, he, he, he ……..

• oranglulu (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 8:21 am

got NAP to benefit them…still lose money…if no NAP?…closed shop oredi …figure speak for itself….don't try find alibi….autopsy your mistake….listen to citizen voice out….

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Yeah, i still remember a protonian said we r mindless bashers.. who r mindless now?? or brainless??

• rps13 (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 8:36 pm

motorhead … and you think you are not mindlessly bashing here?

Do you guys really think if proton goes down all you guys will get your

honda civics at dirt cheap price?

Dude, look at singapore. They don't have any national car to protect but

they are selling the civics at SGD$75,000 compare that to the price of a civic in the states which only cost USD$21,290 ( SGD$32,859.54). Almost double the price in the states. Why is that if i may ask?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 11:38 pm

rps13, why Singapore car price is high?

The following are the only first and only one reason: –

1. To control the car population as the city state have limited space for even human habitation. Therefore, they put the car price high not because of protection policy like crappy NAP but to limit the number of car in the island republic.

However, this sacrifice of car ownership is compensate by well plan and state of the art Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) that are very convenient to the public, unlike our KL crappy public transport that can't attract majority of the people to utilize it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 11:55 pm

oranglulu said,

"got NAP to benefit them…still lose money…if no NAP?…"

Ahem, lost everything – "even the underwear also missing".

• limch1 (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 12:17 am

The people are suffering for 20 years because of Proton. Without Proton, we'll be driving good quality cars with the same price as Proton.

So the conclusion is the people are suffering because they can only afford a kancil for RM30k. Wondering what car will they be driving if Proton is not in Malaysia.

I'm not that proud to have a national car, because the people are suffering while the minority are benefits from it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 12:17 am

rps13 said,

"Do you guys really think if proton goes down all you guys will get your

honda civics at dirt cheap price?"

If there are no "white elephants" sucking rakyat money like Perwaja, P1, MAS, etc that need G protection and/or bail out. If our GLCs are properly manage and truely economically viable, previously our RM and Sing Dollar is "split" during 1970s. Say today all our GLCs make tonne of monies and enrich our nation coffer yet our RM is so strong (just like Brunei Dollar) and 1:1 with Sing Dollar. Without P1 in the first place, today with better income, high RM value and on par with Singapore purchasing power parity (PPP), the cars including Civic we buy under open market is equivalent to RM 32,859.54 only (now easily 3 – 4 time). This is suppose the reality and high standard of living we suppose to enjoy, but all that AP King, crocs and cronies thingy shattered and manipulating our hard earn money.

Remembered this small red dot Sing Island is without natural resources and the only advantage is port only. We have many natural resources including petrol, palm oil, timber, etc. If all these properly manage and we value metrocracy and put human talent on full use, today our RM even may stronger than Sing Dollar. Before crisis 1997, RM 1 = USD 2.4, and now 2006 Sing D 1 = RM 2.3. If our RM appreciate at the rate of the way it depreciate for the last 10 year, then today our RM 1 may = USD 1. Therefore, with high living standard like US, we can purchase Civic at RM 21,290 only – really real damn bargain "cheap-cheap".

If the P1 is protected for another 22 years, may be our RM depreciate to 10% of today value, so Waja say like Iswara still in the market, the selling price may be RM 590K – damn so "expensive"

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 1:20 am

owh?? daa…

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 7:18 am

rps13, it doesn't matter that the Civic costs USD21,290 in the States. You guys always have cars at really low prices anyway. What matters to us Malaysians is that it costs SGD$75,000 down south while it costs RM$113,400 to us. An engineer with a pay of RM$5,000 here would be paid SGD$5,000 in Singapore. It's still more affordable for a Singaporean, dollar to dollar. Local politicians LOVE to say that Malaysians have the cheapest toll rates in Asia, cheapest petrol, etc. BUT they never compare it against the average pay bracket. I wonder how many Malaysians know we're really paying through our NOSE for everything, with the salary we're getting!!!

Oh, thanks to our taxes going into keeping Proton alive, it's no wonder everything is getting more expensive!!! Syabas Proton lovers, your beloved company is costing the RAKYAT RM1.84 MILLION EVERYDAY from Jan to Jun!!! No wonder they can't afford to subsidise toll charges. OK, let's NOT even go there!!!

• whatsoever (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 6:08 pm

proton need more news of "talking with " to push the shares….

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 10:09 pm

There u go.. finally a mindless p1 supporter rose, against the odd, took my bait… brave enuf to face us all, hahaha…. very funny how he used the tiny singapore as comparison… I can drive all over singapore in few hours only.. i wonder why this sucka didn't use our very own Pulau Langkawi as comparison??..

ps:Can u dig that sucka?

• DAN (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 2:19 am

no Mather how proton o Malaysia product go by this type of color person we never be respect on it cos it not a healthy competitions n business for all to do is like big pirate that come n go! not even on world b respect on that way!. silly!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 7:44 am

if anyone want to say shit is good to eat, well, rps13 wud be the one who wud say so…. the whole world knows what is goin on with p1 and NAP, that is why we r not the Detroit of asia.. eventhough we have started the auto industry 1st…

ps: A protonian has showed up, what r u waiting guys… bashing time…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:26 am

Agreed with you motorhead, this poor soul Protonian rps13 even can't argue Protonomic properly, let alone about free economy ……… he, he, he, …..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 4:51 pm

:)

• AmSouth (Member) on Jan 11, 2007 at 11:06 pm

Proton sucks!