Proton Cars Get Some International Attention

Satria neo

Proton’s Gen2, Savvy and Satria Neo, regarded as the first few cars in a generation of Protons that attempt to breakaway from the Mitsubishi rebadging era have been making it’s way around the globe.

The Gen2 and Satria Neo was exhibited at the 6th International Auto Aftermarket Expo (IAAE) 2007 this week. They were invited by he Japan External Trade Organisation (Jetro). The two cars were displayed in a section of the exhibition named “Malaysia Auto Industry” (MAI), occupying 17,760 metres of space at the exhibition centre, sponsored by Jetro and Matrade. This move was part of the Malaysia-Japan Automotive Industry Cooperation project, one of the projects under the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) between Japan and Malaysia signed in July 2006.

Interestingly, Jetro received enquiries from Japanese companies interested to market the Malaysian cars in Japan. The Satria Neo Desire concept was popular with female visitors. One of the writers for The Nikkan Jidosha Shimbun (Japanese Daily Automotive News) Mr. Suguru Ohkubo said, “My first impression is that the cars have good design. They are attractive for Japanese. It’s definitely on my shopping list, particularly the Gen2. Japanese consumers are not only looking at good design but also other factors like delivery and customer satisfaction. These are crucial factors in deciding which car they want to buy. I am personally not much worried about Proton cars. I’m more worried about the future of the company itself.”

In Australia, the Proton Satria Neo will play a safety car role in the growing Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS). The Satria Neo safety car made it’s debut at the opening round of the AMRS at Wakefield Park in Sydney recently making an impression with its stylish good looks and inspired handling.

In the UK, it’s been getting good reviews, mainly getting praises for providing lots of fun for a good price, a good suspension and decent ride, and comfortable seats. I would agree on the cheap fun factor, the Neo definitely is wonderful around the bends where you don’t really require much engine grunt.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 707 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 12:41 pm

good design yes.

good quality? Doubt proton can match Japanese standards IMHO.

• Joe Cole (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 1:23 pm

seriously good quality this time…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 2:16 pm

>>Mr. Suguru Ohkubo said, “My first impression is that the cars have good design. They are attractive for Japanese. It’s definitely on my shopping list, particularly the Gen2. Japanese consumers are not only looking at good design but also other factors like delivery and customer satisfaction. These are crucial factors in deciding which car they want to buy. I am personally not much worried about Proton cars. I’m more worried about the future of the company itself.”

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 2:19 pm

GOOD LUCK to OHKUBO-san!

Perhaps he should test drive it for a month or a year before he said that statement.

One thing is true from him, if PROTONG TAPAU (Bankrupt), after sales services will be in trouble at Japan.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 3:42 pm

Proton always having more high quality, good material, more features, cheaper prices and good service for those cars to export.

So we should not get shock why the foreigner satisfy with Porton cars..

Btw, the main objective to develope the nation car is to bring advantages to its country citizen, but Proton not.. it just try to suck ours' blood so they can compensate the investment at foreign country…

Malaysia Boleh!!!

• 707 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 3:56 pm

Malaysia boleh indeed… heh heh

so are they going to clear the stock for wira in japan? heh heh

nice design also what

• stewpid (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 4:29 pm

good quality proton = overseas specs.

damm teruk quality = local specs. mah…

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 4:33 pm

today all car built inside Malaysia is 'teruk'. Low quality. In this case will make Proton look good. Maybe Proton QAC guys should work harder…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 4:47 pm

The Japanese (Mitsu) brought us their sushis (Saga, Wira) and now its our time to present our Nasi Lemak (Gen 2, Neo).

They can't be serious? Proton? Japanese are one of the most fussy consumers on the planet. If they do want to get a slice of the Japanese market, they gonna place lots of expensive feeling quality materials instead of the current cheapo plasticky feel.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 4:58 pm

Proton's future is definitely the main issue among everyone's lips.

Though I can't deny that the Neo is indeed a good effort by Proton, but then again QC will always be the priority concern among consumers.

Having said that, on the whole, I have to say – it is good exposure for Proton this time and – a good attempt at breaking into the international motoring arena

• gonggok (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:00 pm

Proton export models are now the same as local models – who has the time to change meterials?

Come on, I have a sister with a Vios and a brother with a Gen-2, and I notice how much hard toy-like plastic is in the Vios…

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:02 pm

BrakeFader, the japanese are the ones who pioneered the whole idea of cheap plastics in cars.. and till today, their budget range of cars still feature acres of dressed up cheap plastic.

• mofo (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:39 pm

No doubt that Satria Neo have a good design, overall its good car. Awareness of the quality from P1 still unclear. Ppl still having doubts on it on local market.

Hmm.. P1 get into Japan Market, can they compete ? Concern will be how long P1 need to take to produce new model ? Every 4 years ?

• masterx1100 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:40 pm

satria neo..good design by proton..

3 star…

• Dogster (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Please la. good styling for Gen 2? Did the reporter bribe them?

The butt for gen 2 is an eye sore to look at. But credit must be given for the satria neo's butt, its the best we have seen for sometime.

But then the front of neo is just hopeless. The front light size is so small that its disproportion to the size of the whole body. That is called good styling? If the front lights are slightly bigger or very big, this car would be a winner. And also please make the front grill bigger.Hardly noticeable from the front. Please la proton use your brains in the correct way or risk being disolved…

• BigCar (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 6:21 pm

What i know about proton is they have different spec between export and local.For export spec dia canggih compare with yang ada in malaysia. That why kat luar proton dapat pujian.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 6:47 pm

Good design and styling for Satria NEO? Yes, Gen.2? Well, quite nice, and the Savvy? Ditto. But good quality? Huh? They serious? Maybe Proton sent some extra high quality versions over to Japan hahaha.

• schdmitz (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 7:36 pm

i think the japanese just make fun of the car!!!!if he compare withe cheapest car and design from Japan……teruk kena bantai by japanese especially those experts….the design is not bad but the quality of the material …..teruk…look at Jin's too interior….the plastic….the front seats….and door hander….after used for a period of time the paint came offfffffffffffffffff….one thing….minyak tidak tahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnn…anybody?

• mrshaharin (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 7:47 pm

dogster said-But then the front of neo is just hopeless. The front light size is so small that its disproportion to the size of the whole body. That is called good styling? If the front lights are slightly bigger or very big, this car would be a winner. And also please make the front grill bigger.Hardly noticeable from the front. Please la proton use your brains in the correct way or risk being disolved…-

i dont agree with u saying the neo front is hopeless….the front light and grille is to complement the neo low like, sporty looks…the problem with proton is actually the QC,QA and some management issues…

• bobtahar (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 7:49 pm

Japanese also like us kutuk giler they own cars and puji melambung other people cars… thats why they praise Gen-2 like we praise Vios.

• Mb_321 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 8:24 pm

haha……. nxt time we can buy protons half cut..!! btw good anyway if there's a company interested in bringing proton there, cool..!

• Mb_321 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 8:25 pm

haha……. nxt time we can buy proton half cut..!! btw good anyway if there's a company interested in bringing proton there, cool..!

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 8:53 pm

design wise its a simple and attractive europenans in mind, lotus ride gives some impct to the appearence of the proton as a whole,

justa a bit attention to, material inside and technology under the bonnet, it really boost the potential of proton,

• pausch (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 9:59 pm

IMHO:

Satria Neo – nice design except for the seat height..unless u're less 5ft 5 in

Gen.2 – i think the headlights are just a bit too fussy…if only it can be simplified a bit..the rear tail lights are even more fussier with the "crop circle" design..and no glove box..and if only it can be made slightly longer

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 10:10 pm

nice….it would not be a problem if some of the japs is not that tall. well nice try!

• adrian (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 11:22 pm

"Japanese consumers are not only looking at good design but also other factors like delivery and customer satisfaction".

derivery, no probrem

customer satisfaction? BIG PROBREM! HAITT!!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 11:35 pm

honda_driver: Yes, indeed the Japanese started to utilise more plastics into their trim compared to continentals. Atleast their plastics have a much durable feel. But Proton took a step further and REDEFINED the meaning of plasticky feeling interior! Take example of the Satria Neo, I feel that the old Satria although its quite old now but the interior dash feels more premium than Neo.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 1:08 am

Invited by Japanese motorshow, got enquiry, then "over-excited" already if there are one or two good feedback! Even if we bring Tongkat Ali to display overthere, I think it got much more response from the Japs!!!!!!!

Stil remain "potential market". Indeed it is a dream market!

• raffendi (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 1:32 am

It shows good sign to me.

One of the reason VW want Proton because

of the FTA we had with Japan.

We've read this before.

So, now Proton is making the first step to enter

Japan market.

This is VW want isn't it..

Entering Japanese market.

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 3:23 am

#

NiceCar said,

March 20, 2007 @ 7:42 am

Proton always having more high quality, good material, more features, cheaper prices and good service for those cars to export.

So we should not get shock why the foreigner satisfy with Porton cars..

Btw, the main objective to develope the nation car is to bring advantages to its country citizen, but Proton not.. it just try to suck ours’ blood so they can compensate the investment at foreign country…

Malaysia Boleh!!!

100% agree with that. i think p1 & p2 also have different assembly line just distinguish by export & local. very easy. that is y some of u can get uk spec p1 & p2 car.

the theory works like this. the export order may b 500 car. but the export line may b produce 502 or 503. so the extra units r not going 2 export but distribute it 2 p1 & p2 show room.

in the past sale men will charge u premium 4 that but the actual cost r same as the local 1. but not sure whether this tricks is still works or not.

btw, i think if p1 really sell our current model there, i think p1 will 100% have 2 replace the campro engine by some other brand. Renault perhaps?

& as our ex-pm said selling our car so under cost off shore is 1 of the marketing tricks practice by car industry. the diff in value can b subsidize in the a/c as marketing cost.

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 3:36 am

talk about afta, p1 started 2 slash their saga 2 27K with tone down edition. the excuse is 2 celebrate our 50 anniversary of independent. rumors said now waja is 40+k & perdana is 80+k. i guess they can't postpone it anymore so they have 2 clear the old stocks asap & ready 4 p1vw hybrid model so that they can have new model in their show room on 1st of jan 2008.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 7:40 am

you sure this time japanese don't want to cekup some of the ideas? I read somewhere about an open letter from Proton saying last time when designed the wira, japs stole it for their Mitsu. I think that thread link is still in lowyat's fast and furious

• Driven2020 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 7:54 am

Nevermind. Be it true or not we'll just see. Results speak alot louder than just fancy wordings.

Here's some insights

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_(company)#Dro…

http://thoughtsintangents.blogspot.com/2007/01/pr…

M'sia complain P1 like crazy already but Japs are a whole lot tougher cookie to chew on.

Biased or not biased my money won't be on P1's table. Period.

• 707 (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 4:35 pm

i hope they wont issue protons for govt officials to drive home after sake nights out

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 8:09 pm

the oldman is a good PM, but Proton sucks,my guess is Proton paying money to be part of the japan show, logical thinking why on earth is japan super motor industry need proton there?

vw faster la buy the proton, and make the name disappear asap, I dont care and other malaysian also no need to care, BECAUSE PROTON NEVER CARE ABOUT RAKYAT.

p/s tell me which nation have their own national car NOw?

• fadlee (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 12:55 am

hahahahah u people are just fuk-ing crap.. stop being such a pussy.. dont say anything u dont even know thats a dumb statement.. you guys are like some old grandma complaining all the time.. do some productive thing rather than bashing all the time.. we all know about proton just stop complaining i hate fuk-ing sissy.. get a life.. proton is our national pride just give some hope.. can we just discuss something intelectual rather bashing like stupid kids? how old are you guys?

• szw (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 7:42 am

now at least proton cars are built from ground up.

not like some other company who adopt other company's technology and rebrand it.

well, that's not going to work when selling overseas.

• Dogster (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:15 pm

mrshaharin

GO HAVE Alook at the new post
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/03/21/proton-sat…
    and tell me whether u prefer the larger one or smaller one?

Obviously no doubt that the larger headlamp and slightly bigger bonnet looks better than the original!!!.

• concoursfinish (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 7:33 am

Hi All

Whats going on…are the Protons you get on the home market poorer quality than here in the UK

We have owned Protons for the last 8 years, the first being a 1.8 Coupe or Putra the second being a Coupe Evolution (UK only) these being tweaked by Lotus and Harry Hockley Motorsport and now we have a Gen2.

Okay they are a bit rough round the edges but very rarley do they break down and when I say rarley I mean never, but it seems there are a great deal of people on here complaining.

Im not saying you are wrong but from my experience and your comments it seems your cars are coming a different factory….or is quality control different for home market cars.

I recently drove a new Micra when my Gen2 was in for a service and it was horendous, we bought our 1.6GSX as an ex demo with 44 miles on the clock

for £6800, the micra would have cost us that and I know which car I would prefare to drive every day and its not the Micra

Im interested in your comments

Regards

John

• pavithran (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 2:06 pm

I really wonder what Jeremy Clarkson has to say about this! Haha!