MUGEN Civic Type R

Now upon reading the title, I bet the first question that most of you will be asking is this: does the MUGEN Civic Type R come with the 300hp supercharged version of the high revving K20 motor found in the MUGEN Civic Dominator Concept? The answer is no. A pity, but life goes on. Now on to what the MUGEN has instead of what it does not have.

The MUGEN Civic Type R comes with a bodykit all-round: front lip, grille, a vented bonnet design, a GT-like rear wing and a diffuser-design rear bumper. It has uprated brakes over the standard Civic Type R (320mm front and 282mm), uprated brake pads (two choices: sport or competition), as well as a micromesh brake line. Wheels are 18 inch aluminium MUGEN GP wheels, similiar to the ones found on the local Honda Civic Concept MUGEN Limited Edition.

On the handling side, you’ve got a MUGEN sports suspension. Changes to the engine bay are not much, just a MUGEN performance airbox to let the engine breathe freeer, improving throttle response and maybe a bit more power. On the interior, you get MUGEN Full Bucket Seats, a MUGEN shift knob, and additional meter panels (a 3-dial cluster to the left of the Multiplex meter) providing extra information on the condition of your car.

More photos after the jump.

MUGEN Civic Type R

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Can we get to see this beauty in Malaysia anytime soon?

• nissan130Y (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:42 pm

can only afford to buy this car after 10 years from now…

• Paul Tan on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:43 pm

Can… If someone rich buys it?

• Cire (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:50 pm

Like most of jappie toys, the civic allows for most plug n play engine type. It could be cloned locally; performance and styling too. That's the good part of jappie cars.. !

• Phisto (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:56 pm

The GT wing is god damn ugly man…:-( They should also loose the Siao Tien Tien big dole eye back lights. I feel these are the 2 things the breaks the design. Other than that its a fierce looking car. Love the kit and Honda always looks good in white dunno why…

• wmblade (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:59 pm

Awesome! I definitely will dream about it for many nights ;)

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:07 pm

i tot i was the only 1 finding this excessive plastic mouldings everywhere a little too ricey!!! looks like general perception is this bodykit is just tooo overdone. :)
    those wing mirrors could have some lightweight skinny treatment as well…ala Challenge Stradale style.

how cool though… has a reverse camera too….

http://www.honda.co.jp/CIVICTYPE-R/
    click R technology…. the breakdown of the engine internals is really nicely done.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:31 pm

Looks overdone, I like the Dominator concept and Type R sedan better.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:03 pm

I'm an appreciator of automobiles and deeply in love with Japanese cars but I'm sorry I have to say it is a bit lairy and ricey. It is way overdone like aesthari said and is that wing really necessary?

Looks like the wing was lifted off a JGTC NSX race car which is FOR the JGTC NSX race car, not cars like these. I understand if Honda tuners like Mugen have been waiting a long time for a Type R successor but this isn't the way to go.

For the Civic, the Modulo, Dominator and the Honda Civic Type R are the way to go not this Mugen Type R

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:52 pm

yea… the type-r looks mean and this mugen version looks even meaner… love the spoiler… brilliant design!

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 11:23 pm

most amazing thing to me, is how "BIG" the civic type R has grown to become. I wonder if it will still be able to maintain the performance, and the handling of Type Rs of past?

• ed0r (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 11:59 pm

aesthari said,

April 2, 2007 @ 1:31 pm

Looks overdone, I like the Dominator concept and Type R sedan better.

I second that. the dominator looks wayyyy better. The wings… arghhh it makes this civic looks like a racing/racing (whatever) wannabe's car lol.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 12:19 am

lower air deflector is imbalance, shorter at thre right side,,just visually irritating,…should rework the exhaust …..,twin split or center.or..

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 12:43 am

a bit too ricerboy la..+ most of the stuff, designs and all..are lifted from DC5 Mugen, i.e. hood design and wing..

• acbc (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:18 am

If it has AWD, it will be a good contender against the Subbies and Evos.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:36 am

huu wee! tri slot hood! blackened out rear lights!!…super high spoilers!….im lost for words here!!

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:35 pm

it look like the honda want to challenge mitsu and scubby. Well go ahead honda let do rally. the look is already like it rally ready….

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:15 am

Is it just my eyes or this Civic is a "tail happy" car? It really goes side ways isn't it?

I think there's nothing wrong with the look of this car? At least we have a choice to go for a original Type-R or the Mugen Type-R. If you don't like both, stick to the standard model la. At least Honda gives us some options, right? Do we get these options from Proton? Err…NO!

• Zaimi zaki on Feb 02, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Wape harge marketing civic type r

• ibenk on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:01 pm

brapa harganya gan?