Dodge Charger Daytona vs Honda Odyssey

USDM Odyssey

An old school Dodge Charger Daytona and a modern Honda Odyssey minivan goes head to head in an autocross track, but guess who wins in the end? Hint: even though not the latest model, technology wins in the end!

Have a look at the video after the jump.

Video: Dodge Charger Daytona and Honda Odyssey autocross shootout

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 10:29 pm

old american just designed for straight line,
    thats why they love drag racing,
    or facinated with its the boring oval circuit racing,

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 10:29 pm

Dun quite understand the use of this clip…

• w_lighter (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 11:32 pm

@hyundai

Bashing purposes … LOL

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 12:17 am

That dodge is a sport car… While the Honda is MPV.. Why compare both? Silly.. Nothing to do? Well compare both at the same year of production, category n engines.. Anywayz the dodge only for most track or drag only not cornering.. So in term of stability n comfort, Honda odyseyy should win the day.. But straight 400m? I think the dodge must eat that honda clean..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 2:26 am

brainless comparison ….like comparing orange and shoes….i guess the producer of this show jus run out of ideas for the next show….can i compare my bicycle with ferari f430 ?? around sepang maybe!?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 3:28 am

that Odyssey handling is quite good. sometime, comparison mustn’t be from same category then our world will be lots of fun. let me have another race between Odyssey and kancil.

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2007 at 4:52 am

they are just showing you how far technology has come.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 6:13 am

That’s the American Odyssey. USDM market only. The Charger still looks cool, especially if you’re Joe Dirt.

• ab (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 9:17 am

i remembered top gear put a stock Honda Accord against a Aston DB5 drag race and the Accord won!

• mzfnd (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 10:02 am

Ha ha ha. Strange comparison, but the Odyssey won by more than 2secs against a muscle car. Cool.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 11:08 am

Yeah chill off guys..It’s just a test that prove even a big arse MPV with more extra loads of nice buts on its back, Honda Odyssey still can beat decently the classic sportier Dodge Daytona on that track. The reason how and why ?

Certainly because of the advance of technology which make nothing is impossible.

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 12:56 pm

I’m not sure why people people whine about this clip as it clearly show how far the technological has become today compared to the yester-years. If you place the stock 2007 Dodge Charger SRT8 head to head with stock Dodge Charger Daytona, surely it’ll beat the old ones by a mile.

• motherker (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 2:22 pm

OUT OF TOPIC:

PAUL!!
    U MUST READ THIS!!
    honda civic type r gets launched in malaysia!!

http://asia.vtec.net/news/myJDMCTR/index.html

• silv3r (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 2:54 pm

nice…will be launching in malaysia…
    kewl…very rare things to get last time..
    :)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 3:08 pm

Paul Tan said,
    July 22, 2007 @ 4:52 am

they are just showing you how far technology has come.
    =============================================

I for one couldn’t comprehend WHY there are commentors here who don’t understand whats the point of this comparison.

Malaysians are sometimes shockingly idiotic. . .

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 3:09 pm

alpha0201 said,
    July 22, 2007 @ 12:56 pm

I’m not sure why people people whine about this clip as it clearly show how far the technological has become today compared to the yester-years. If you place the stock 2007 Dodge Charger SRT8 head to head with stock Dodge Charger Daytona, surely it’ll beat the old ones by a mile.
    =============================================

I Second ..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 3:09 pm

side note:

OMG our Odyssey looked so damn good.

• darkteror (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 4:39 pm

lolx hahaha

• szw (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 6:03 pm

american loves straight lines oni…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 6:59 pm

motherker, u mean the 3 dr Type-R?

anyway, this video is pointless, if they wanna prove that new tech is better than old tech, why not compare Datsun 120Y with Kancil???

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2007 at 7:10 pm

motherker: yes, i know. got invite to the launch, early august. will keep you guys updated. it is the type R sedan, not the 3-door european type R.

• indigo (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 11:45 am

Charger daytona, the legend. Old school tech with big engine…handling sure not as well. The big spoiler and nose cone resemble the workaround to tackle aerodynamic problems. No point to compare!!! American muscles are wild beast, zero handling virtually. I love American Muscles

• badsoulfly (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 1:11 pm

american stupid job…like BUSH…IT

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:20 am

Minivans have come a long way.
    While we performance types are trying to ligthen our rides by ounces at a time…. Its even more telling for the performance aspect that they loaded the van with 200kg of strippers. 200kg will bottom out the suspension on most of our road going cars.

I remember taking raod trips with the original Chrysler “Magic wagons” and they were god awfull to drive. That was a late 80s model…..Ford’s truck based Aerostar were just as bad if not worst.

However, with increased competition from the Japanese (and now the Koreans) we have minivans that are spacious, comfortable, surprisingly easy to drive and handle pretty much like a big car (if you can get over the usuall body roll due to softer suspension.)

What the clip failed to mention is the advancement in handling is not solely due to the vehicle. Tyre technology has come a long way as well.

So yes, minivans have gone a loooong way.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:23 pm

Dude, if you ever drive an MPV one of the most awful thing is the next to useless torque. My wife got one and I do spend some time in it (usually after being beaten and threatened). Having that Honda with load is probably a good thing as the standard factory setup was for loading (typical use) and higher center of gravity. But an MPV has awful body roll. Feels like toppling over when you take a corner. Definitely understeers and hard to correct it. Ok on a straight line. The English wont even call it a car. So, in terms of suspension, both really suck. The Honda should get a better lap time with 40 years of difference.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 8:28 am

The torque thing is endemic to cars in malaysia since we dont have good diesels and big engines.

I have driven several Minivans with the big engine options and there are no complaints on power. Most of them equipped with the optional big engine will run to 0-100kmh in under 9 seconds (thats a whole lot faster than your average sedan here in Malaysia). The 3.5v6 in the Ody is amazing, so as to the other oferings (3.5 VQ series from nissan Quest, the 3.8 in Chryslers and Fords…etc)