Civic Type R and Civic Hybrid tomorrow?

Honda Paper Ad

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has put up teaser newspaper ads (see scans above) advertising the Honda Civic Type R and the Honda Civic Hybrid today, and the teaser ads state an August 2nd 2007 launching date – that’s tomorrow!

Many have interpreted the Honda Civic Concept Mugen as a teaser to the official introduction of the new Civic Type R sedan here in Malaysia, and it looks like our suspicions have come true! Another manufacturer-backed higher performance model here in Malaysia.

We will probably be able to get more information on the car tomorrow, but for the moment if you want a recap on what the Civic Type R is all about, read the following links:

2007 Honda Civic Type R Sedan Concept
2007 Honda Civic Type R Sedan Details

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• agnesia (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 4:29 pm

wow… that’s should a bz mth in malaysia..with the new proton sedan around the corner.. then come a new honda civic type R… amazing

wonder what the performance will the Honda M’sia will putting on it

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 4:35 pm

over 220hp maybe??

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 4:36 pm

Honda always perform.Bravo !!..

• transformer (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:05 pm

seems like every car makers start to put teaser before official product launching…

recently CRV, Latio, P1 new sedan, Lancer and now Civic type R

auto industry really slump… causing makes to compete aggresively…

• acbc (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:08 pm

I believe Hybrid will sell like hot cakes because it can save money on fuel! Imagine this… u pay RM 100 for a full tank that will last up to 2 weeks for normal driving! Even Savvy and Smart ForFour will lose out!

• jeemeng (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:15 pm

Which Type-R is this? The Euro Type-S like the one released in Singapore or the Japanese spec Type-R?

• Paul Tan on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:17 pm

it is the sedan

• superman (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:20 pm

Kudos to Honda Malaysia for having the balls to bring in the cars. If it is the sedan Type R all the better.

I recall many lamenting the fact that Official Importers/distributors did not bring in the exciting models. Wonder what they have to say now.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:28 pm

hybrids are poor performers on the highway. it will be tricky for honda, as the price of the car will be pretty high i’m sure. it might not cover you back for your fuel savings.

• F430CS (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Very unusual, but a great news

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:30 pm

i say screw the hybrid, and lets just have the fuel guzzling but powerful, fantastic handling Type – R!!!

• familyman (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:36 pm

huhuhuuhuhu

they are undercutting the new lancer launching date next week 7th Aug eh.. smart move honda.

i guess the ball will then be with mitsu malaysia whether they will bring in the mitsu lancer ralliart spec http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/News/articleId=121885 to eat the honda civic type r on the road! muhhahahaha

• dzat46 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Huyoo….Bravo to Honda for bringing ths type R officially, Hi Rev + 6 speed = Great track car!!……

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:42 pm

Glad that we Malaysian can have the proud badge of “Type-R” which is the symbol of worship for the petrolheads from Japan. However, UK reports that their current hatchback Type-R is somewhat off the mark and worst than the previous generation’s.

I wonder if they will ever make the Civic Type-R coupe (two-doors). Ha ha….

I can start dreaming again cause it’s price will be way off that is prudent to buy in Malaysia. If they list it any higher than the current price for the 2 litre Civic, then 2nd hand E46 318 or 325 (even a ci with SMG would be within budget) will be my choice over this.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 5:45 pm

of cos higher than new civic 2.0 la… im looking at 188,888 otr.. or higher.. ;-)

• ragnahse (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 6:01 pm

will b cool to see hybrids on our road..wondering bout te price though…n how many malaysians will actually buy it when the same price could buy you a..lets say a 3 series bimmer or a c-class…those ppl with such amount of money will definitely not worry bout fuel price..i say the government should give some kind of green incentives to the MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE n NOT THE RICHIE RICH so that cars like this will be more affordable. And reduce their burden on fuel at the same time..well i guess for now, what I said will just remain a dream..for as long proton or perodua doesn’t have a hybrid, no incentives for hybrid..bitter truth…hopefully the government will do something after this..n kudos to honda for such brave move….unlike toyota..tan again, they can’t produce enough to cater their niche market..USA…

• rosdi (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 6:18 pm

hybrid cars should have lower tax duty (50% or more tax reduction) since the car will pollute less, consume less petrol (so less burden to govt to subsidize), etc.

if price is too high who want to buy hybrid?

how long will the owner have to drive the car to recoup its initial investment? 5 years? 7 years?

• oec88 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 6:37 pm

This is what I got from my forum few days ago…

“quote”Hi guys,

Honda Malaysia launching New Civic Type R and Hybrid in Aug 07. For Type R, there will only be limited to 45units whole Malaysia.
    You can refer to the URL

Type R http://paultan.org/archives/20…..n-details/

Hybrid http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-hybrid/

Pirce to be confirm, but news saying Hybrid ard rm170k and Type R is ard rm190-200k. All car are warrantied under HONDA MALAYSIA. You might not find a unit outside (from parallel importer) as Honda Japan only sells to the authorised dealer!

Anyone interested can place deposit with me. My friend is the owner of 1 of the authorised dealer in malaysia.. RM7,000 deposit (nego). Official receipt will be issued. (refundable if cant get car for you)… waiting list should be ard 4-6 weeks.

SERIOUS BUYER ONLY!!!

contact me at [email protected], i reply you immediately!

come grab it b4 it’s too late! “quote”

• nanashisan (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 6:53 pm

i heard only 10 units left unbooked for Type-R. the rest already booked,
    that is what i heard in LYN forum.
    anyway, can we do bank loan to type-R??

• J (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 6:59 pm

We are happy just bec we see something new in the market. You know la, see so many Protons all these years, but really want to buy mei if the price is that much 170K for Hybrid and 200K for Type R ? :)

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 7:20 pm

Well, it good for Honda Malaysia to bring in these models. Don’t be too happy with Hybrid even though it is much more environmental friendly. However, doesn’t mean the fuel consumption is low. Just like what happend to Honda Accord Hybrid. Stopped production! Fuel consumption so much higher than on the Honda papers.

Anyway, hopefully the Honda Civic Hybrid doesn’t have this problem. Can’t wait the full specifications and the price of both models.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 8:01 pm

RM190K – RM200K for the Civic Type-R. The Golf GTi is priced around that. Which is better? Golf GTi or Civic Type-R?

As for the Civic Hybrid, i’m glad we FINALLY officially see this on our local auto industry! However, to save fuel in the long run, i prefer diesel.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 8:14 pm

this is the second attempt to bring hybrid cars into malaysia right by honda? The first was also a civic hybrid which PDRM using it?

• transformer (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 8:17 pm

i still prefer diesel over hybrids…

• szw (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 9:20 pm

price price ?

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:14 pm

this is just awesome……..

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:19 pm

Finally we got a hybrid, and finally we got Type R japan spec…nice…

• h2k (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:53 pm

i reckon the price could be between RM140k-150k?

hope the type r is not a limited units edition

• kweng13 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:56 pm

Need to confirm the price before any action…..feel good…

• LCH (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 12:00 am

wow !!! it’s look exited for this two new Honda cars. Recently has many cars were launching. i think Type- R will get the best sell in sport cars. but my question is , how to add the gas for the Hybird modal ??

• nmh (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 12:49 am

lancer ralliart is evo10…izzit?

• xenith (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 4:32 am

type r…….!!!!!!!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 6:55 am

“Civic Concept Mugen” is such an absurd name. Shows the people introducing it have NO CONCEPT. They’re not real hardcore Honda fans. The Type R Sedan is a good move (finally) by Honda Motor Co. but its funny how a lot of people who previously made fun of genuine Honda fans suddenly are riding the bandwagon and saying they were ‘into it’ all the time. :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 7:40 am

Hybrids wont really take off here. Unless there is a substantial tax reduction on them, they will never be competitive since they come in at a much higher price.

I do not recall the price of this version in North America, but the last one was about 3-4k USD more than the equivalant model. Thats 10K ringgit. Thats a lot of petrol you can buy.

Honda hybrids are IMA. They are not “full” hybrids and can’t move on electric power alone. To make matters worst, most of us use air con on full blast all the time anyway so the hybrid’s engine will not turn off negating one of its most fuel saving feature.

Previous poster was right on the money when he said that as long as Proton and Perodua does not have a hybrid in the market, the government will NEVER give substantial incentives to bring in cheaper hybrids.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 8:02 am

ya lor… when lancer coming out, all bash civic, say lousy etc, buy lancer etc… then now jump back to Civic… sheeeshhh… the fickle-ness of us all…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 8:19 am

“finally we got Type R japan spec…nice”

i find this such a strange comment.. whether or not honda officially imports in the type R, malaysians have always been able to buy japan spec Type R’s via the grey market, and practically any other car they want as well.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 8:25 am

Fear of Lancer, Honda? Go Lancer!
    Seems more choices for Malaysian.
    Er, Malaysian people really rich aa?

• xstan (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 9:04 am

I read Singapore Automobile mags & recall that the price for Hybrid is actually slight higher by few thousand compared to current Civic. It claims FC of 1.0L but power of 1.8L. Read somewhere more than a month back. Among Hondas cars in M’sia, Civic is one coolest model around. Too bad…couldnt afford.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 10:10 am

Very interesting if honda really bring in the hybrid! And very interested to know the price! It is a piece of technology that even the US ppl are using it!

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 11:42 am

I wished they bring in the Euro Type R instead. Type Rs should never be 4 door…..
    The hybrid is a nice welcome though

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 12:40 pm

japan spec Type-R’s are always more extreme than the euro spec cars.. remember, there was also a euro type R accord, 4 doors as well.

anyways.. i dont see why honda cant use the type R badge on a 4 door.. its never sold as an exclusive only for 2 door cars..etc.

same with bmw and the M-badge, although those cars are mainly 2 door, they had a 4door M3, and are also working on one now.

• h2k (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 1:21 pm

aiyo….Type R cost 194k…hybrid cost 158k…

hybrid has a shorter bonnet? sure looks shorter than type R

• h2k (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 1:24 pm

type R costs RM194k!!!….hybrid cost RM156k….

hybrid bonnet do look shorter

• civ96110 (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 1:29 pm

ooolala……Civic Type-R with official support at RM200k……

Have to go chck the balance in my bank account now…..

• superman (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 2:09 pm

razor,

Euro Type R??? huh? no four door Type R???

Don’t get confused. the Mainstream Civic in Europe is different to the ones in Asia. Europe gets the hatch, in 3dr and 5 dr. The front has a different grille lamps etc. In Asia the four door sedan is officilaly sold.

In Europe the Civic Type R is a 3dr.

It only makes sense for Honda Malaysia to bring in the Japan version which is based on the sedan. This would create a “halo” effect to the rest of the civic range

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 2:23 pm

The Integra Type-R DC-Series was available as 4Door. I remember seeing one in a Best Motoring VCD.

• LoneDrifter (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 3:14 pm

Best Motoring (Japan) reviewed the new Civic Type R and seriously it is massive. It lapped the Suzuka faster than the old NSX Type S and is also significantly faster than the DC5. The new Civic Type R (FD2) has a faster 400m sprint than the DC5 too and managed to lap the Tsukuba also faster than the DC5. Its another amazing achievement by Honda. Keiichi Tsuchiya praised it and so did Hattori. I wonder if in Malaysia it would still be running on its Potenza RE070 or RE01R…BOTH EQUALLY EXPENSIVE..To all HOnda enthusiasts out there, this is the Best Civic yet…A 4 door sports sedan that laps Suzuka faster than a Mid-shipped NSX Type S…Brilliant..

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 4:44 pm

Motortrader’s main page says that the Hybrid is RM162,800 while the Type-R is RM199,800.

That means the Type-R will threathen Evo 9 and Impreza, but the Hybrid is goddam expensive you’d actually save more by getting the normal ones. Unless of course, if u’re really concerned about saving the planet from being turned into neraka jahanam, then get the hybrid.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 4:50 pm

the pricing kinda expected.. so now u hv a health choice if u hv 200k to spend… Type-R, Wrx, Evo, GTi, Mini, beemer 118i…. which wud u guys go for if indeed ya’ll hv the dough?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 4:50 pm

*healthy.. sorry!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 5:11 pm

specs are on Honda site… tyres for Type R are Potenza RE070…. comes only in white..

Hybrid are 1.3, not 2.0 as sum had mentioned…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 5:12 pm

When the event? Tonight or Evening?
    Can’t wait ma!

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Today’s paper features the whole car’s appearance. Absolutely yummy. I hope the price will be just as yummy too.

• J (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 10:53 pm

Thesedays people are so rich … RM200K car also has a 3 months waiting list. That is RM3000/month for 7 years ? :)

• shianghorng (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 12:07 am

What is the Type-R’s 0-100km/h stat ?

• superman (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:31 am

Attended the launch last nite. Car looks awesome in the metal. Interior is lined with the suede-like material on the Type R seats and door panel. Driving position spot on. The six speeder’s shifter has a nice short-ish throw. The Tires are the 070s. Honda says they will stock them..

comes with 3 year warranty.

The Honda executives explained that the car’s direct rivals are the officially imported Golf GTi, WRX.

The Hybrid is an interesting vehicle. Too bad the Govt don’t give special tax rates for that kind of cars. Unlike European countries that rewards companies that sell these kind of cars

• amin_ctr (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 1:03 pm

0-100 in 6.5secs