Proton-Volkwagen talks to intensify

It appears that a tie-up between Volkswagen and Proton is imminent, with the latest update being an announcement straight from the horse’s mouth – Volkswagen Group Communications.

Volkswagen says that the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG was informed on the status of talks between Proton and Volkswagen yesterday. Talks between Volkswagen, Proton’s majority shareholder and the Malaysian government will now be intensified towards an objective to further strengthen Volkswagen’s presence in the South-East Asian region.

A top level meeting between Volkswagen and the Malaysian government to discuss further steps is scheduled to be held within the next few weeks.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 5:52 pm

Yawn…ZZzzz.. How long already? I am bored with this… Always say this say that, the real important thing i want to see is VW HAS SIGN THE DAMN DOCUMENTS!

• rhoma (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 7:04 pm

be patient lah! this is not like doing nasi lemak business!

• transformer (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 7:40 pm

yea.. might bcoz there too many secret to discuss…..

too many technology from P1 maybe?

• J (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 8:31 pm

I think bec VW is impressed with the Persona quality.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 9:23 pm

hope things will work out and i really hope we will hold the majority share and not VW..

• acbc (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 9:41 pm

I hope it not another cheap publicity to raise Proton’s shares…

• jcws_87 (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 10:26 pm

Maybe the 2008 budget has simulated sumthg….proton-vw plz be done with the deal,plz STOP with the grandmother & grandfather story…anyway,to those who ar waiting for the new Vios,there ar some bad news…the car will be launching after the Raya…but news has say tat the car has 8 colour like Black mica metalic,medium silver metalic, light olive metalic,greyish blue metalic,red mica metalic,beige metalic,silver metalic and super white…and also there will be 3 spec namely E,G & S all come in 1.5 litre engine..the price has not been set yet

• ob8 (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 10:41 pm

why jcws_87 talk about vios when there r so much to talk about p1. e.g the gov, bolehland, nepo, chroni, protectionsm, power window, umno etc.

• bmx (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 10:42 pm

INTENSIFY again? How many times they want to intensify?
    Please let VW hold majority shares lah for benifits of mankind….

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 11:13 pm

talk to intensify?

Paul Tan, better change to …….. ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzz put to sleep ………

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 12:01 am

That’s good news there :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 5:14 am

VW see proton selling lots of cars, so better buy this one quick and let us get the profit…

• J (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 7:08 am

Proton need to spread news once in a while to “keep up” the value of Proton share. Bec when the deal is made, the current share unit price will be the one that to be used for calculation of payment.

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 9:24 am

As’kum / Good Day,

I notice a lot of very tense conversations up there, I’m sad to see more Malaysians have fallen into Proton’s promises since the last time I posted the “Transformers Post: Megaproton versus Optimus Perodude” in one of the Proton’s blog, somehow it was removed. That was, even without a doubt, a fine piece of art crafted from a real Proton’s criticizer. Maybe I said daring things but, the truth is, most coward people can’t handle the truth. Ignorance is their only choice. Maybe because of that, for the past 20 years they’re still hoping for the big ‘G’ protection from the real globalization effect out there. Needless to say, there are plenty “Proton Henchmen” in the blog, continuing their evil-deeds, selling fine ‘Tin Milos” at the most exorbitant price, fishing out the poor people of low and middle class Malaysians out of their cash savings, without realizing, they are actually buying high quality “Tin Milos”. I have also seen many Proton Salesman goes to work with their discounted Proton cars (after all, Proton people will get some discount for the Proton cars) but at night time, their true nature are reveal, they carefully roll out their imported cars from their garages; Toyota, Nissan, Daihatsu, Honda, Lexus, Perodua and et-cetera. What a “hypocrite”!

I was drinking “Milo-Panas” with my buddies at one of the mamak restaurant near Mutiara D’sara, when suddenly a Proton Juara park beside us. Suddenly our conversations shifted to Proton; a friend of mine told me, “This Proton Juara, if you turn it upside down, it is actually a refrigerator-in-disguise”. Hahaha, we burst into unstoppable laughs, somehow that remark was rather silly and also TRUE in the same time, how could Proton’s Millions of Ringgit Research and Development (R & D) could came out with a product called Proton Juara. I really wonder, did Proton Juara actually pass the Wind Tunnel Test? With that flat looks and very bad aerodynamics, I’m sure the fuel consumption is not efficient. We took turns making silly jokes about Proton (although it were rather FACTUAL jokes) and then it was my turn, all eyes are on me, my friends knows, when it comes to Proton Bashing, I’m still the best… I closed my eyes for few seconds to focus, trying to get that Fengshui energy which surrounds me; yes the ideas are coming… “Hey friend, I just remember something, there’s this RED button located just beneath the Proton Juara’s steering, if you press it…” I deliberately stop for a minute to sip my “Milo Panas” while testing the patience of my colleagues’ in-arms. I continued, “If you press it, Proton Juara will turn into the Transformers Auto Bots- Bumblebee Juara”. Hahaha. We all laugh again, and suddenly the Proton Juara driver went back to his “refrigerator” Oppsy, I mean car. I’m sure he wasn’t around when we start bashing his 3X2 m “moving refrigerator”. Maybe he overheard our conversation and wants to try out the ‘hidden red button’ beneath the steering wheel. Well enough said, it’s time for “Milo Panas”.

PS: The only reason why VW wants to do ‘talks’ with Proton is for the sake of R&D; “How in the heck Proton can convert material mend for food storage for vehicle-building? (You guess it, Proton’s Tin Milo shell technology).

With Regards,
    SY0H

• acbc (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 12:19 pm

The Juara ain’t bad and it’s cheap too… I was thinking of purchasing 1-2 units next year for company usage but many mechs told me to avoid it… their reasons? Everything from power steering to engine… how to resist? A year 2003 model going as low as RM 15k! Plus, roadtax is super cheap and can carry lots of machinery and tools.

• mTk (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 1:47 pm

I wouldn’t say the Juara is a good model at all, it is a total blunder for Proton in fact.

But I find it amusing when people like SY0H blame Proton for the Juara’s design. Can’t you people do research first beforehand? Proton’s millions of ringgit R&D probably didn’t cover the Juara at all, it was conceived by the designers at MITSUBISHI. So blame them for not testing it in the wind tunnel. Blame them for the refrigerator design. Blame them… oh wait, Japanese manufacturers are perfect, they should never take the blame, right?

The truth is, the Mitsubishi Town Box (its original name) could find a market there in Japan. Proton just brought the wrong model here.

And I have nothing against Japanese manufacturers, in fact I tend to prefer them over American and German makes.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 2:26 pm

Juara is design to move things like a pickup… but the problem is… is still using a 1.5L SOHC 4G15 engine and 2wd… If u have a load of 500kg big metal behind this Juara… imagine it… U cant move that car!

A car that should move things around should be great at torque, that why a lot of manufacturer use diesel engine… 2wd for a car such a height? A lot of people in Taiwan/Hong Kong and even Australia directly modified with 4G93T GSR half-cut with 4WD. This should be more better to move things around with a turbo at least! This car only sells coz cheap, if not cheap i think he died even faster… I am quite funny about this juara adver, it’s show juara is in muddy area.. which i am quite sure laugh when juara stuck in deep mud without the 4wd helping it? LOLZ!

Anywayz back to the topic…

J said,

September 9, 2007 @ 7:08 am

Proton need to spread news once in a while to “keep up” the value of Proton share. Bec when the deal is made, the current share unit price will be the one that to be used for calculation of payment.

—————————————————-

Yup, i have think about it also! I think they want to make proton market value up to over RM7.00 then sell.. I hate the G doing business… have u all read the star newspaper today? They always pay more to others in term of makan more money… see this article:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/9/9/nation/18832193&sec=nation

Now i know why so much money are wasted due to some stupid G management. Still vote for them next time to waste ur tax money?

• szw (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 3:10 pm

woohoo !

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 4:00 pm

So, do you think we’ll see Polo Sedans at Persona prices? I think not. They’d probably set it at Honda City/Toyota Vios levels right?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 4:22 pm

At least they offer us more better engines such like 1.4 TSI turbo direct injection engine with 6-speed manual or auto. Even safety are more better then the Japanese, why not? Got 4 airbags, ESP, ABS. Even they sell at 80K, i bet a lot of ppl will buy the polo sedan or golf compare to vios, city… I would sure buy 1 for my family! Those Japaneses technology are still far far away from Germans… have u heard the best engineering came from Germany? And if VW bought over Proton, sure the spare parts will be given to our local manufacturers to made it, sure it will cheaper.. like savvy say cheaper 30% parts, but new car still selling original price… Everything is BOLEH! in BOLEH LAND! What u need in Boleh Land is $$$!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 4:55 pm

SY0H,

what are trying to say??are you trying you are the dumbest basher in KL??since whn proton spend millions in R&D for juara?it was mitsubishi townbox..just a rebadged model…come on k..you dont have to prove anyone you are dumb here..keep it to urself..and please dont get influenced by movies too much..transformers is just a movie..hope you did not find any red button in an attempt to change ur car…milo tin will never get 3star in euro NCAP safety test and milo tin is made of different material compared to car body..and a car is not entirely made of a single piece of metal like a milo tin but it has many different materials for reinforcements…please watch documentries and read before writing up something..dont talk about cars right after watching transformers or bring ur mamak stall topic here..ur frens might have laugh at u thinking how dumb can some person be..not at ur jokes…pity you man…

• cetait (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 6:50 pm

Man why do people keep bringing up the waja’s 3-star out of 5 rating in Euro NCAP like it’s some major achievement to be proud of. It translates to marginal, not particularly impressive. Meanwhile superminis like Fiat 500 and Kia Cee’d are getting 5 stars. And they tested the UK version with standard front and side airbags, how many local wajas have those?

Then if you actually read the Euro NCAP comments:
    “The car’s body was damaged so badly by the impact that it became unstable. The driver and front passenger risked serious injury. The child restraints performed poorly and it became apparent that, in development, too little thought had been given to their use.”

Seems it did alright in the side impact test, but again, that was with the UK-spec standard side airbags.

Maybe when M’sian drivers hang their bag of limau ais on the door its already considered side airbag…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 7:20 pm

it is an achievement…we started with 3 stars…japanese started with 1 star,korean 2 star and now the produce one of the safest cars in the world..so its a good step forward and an achievement for the malaysian engineers…the chinese started with 0 stars..so how can some silly malaysians call proton a milo tin??is that fair??and i bet waja’s replacement and the following models will score better..they havent put savvy to the test yet and i think savvy will easily be better than waja..so its not right calling protons effort as milo tin produces and etc..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 7:22 pm

kia ceed and fiat 500 just came out la..after 7 years of proton waja..so how can u compare??

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 7:22 pm

vw is the way to improve further,
    the country need something ,happening, moves on, business, experties, future to look into, work to do, exposure

nowadays even youngsters know how to talk about cars engine, technology and designs and the tangibality of it,

..thigs has to move on

• infinity (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:17 pm

i always wonder..y proton only sent the waja for the crash test at Euro NCAP..wat bout gen2, savvy, satria neo and persona??

• infinity (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:19 pm

btw…it’s great tat the news all seems so positive since the 2nd round of discussions…well..hope they wont dissapoint us this time…

• cetait (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:25 pm

to be honest i don’t think people who say milo tin are generally referring to waja, more like iswara, etc.

fiat 500 and kia ceed did come out 7 years after waja, but the question should be why the waja hasn’t been substantially redesigned in 7+ years. and again, the 3-star UK Impian result is not fully applicable to most malaysian wajas because of the difference in safety features.

Proton seems to be getting better at structural strength with its more recent models but without available crash test data its difficult to say for sure. And such tests can be misleading since most locally sold models won’t have all the safety features of the ones sent for testing.

• cetait (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:32 pm

Anyways, hope this “intensification” is for real, not just another stock boosting tease

• tanasi (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:35 pm

What’s wrong with you guys? The news source is from VW itself, not from Proton. I can’t read anywhere Proton themselves released this info to bump up their share price…..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 9:54 pm

Oops sorry, i mistaken Juara as arena.. Juara is only 1.1L 4A31 SOHC engine.. a lot of them mode it with also from 1.3L – 1.5L 4G13, 4G15 Mitsubishi engine.. but the problem is the spare parts, steering rack & mouting… the engine spare part are hard to find in spare parts shop.. most of them must be ordered… This the problem when the car model is hard to sell.. I think proton need to study the market more carefully next time before selling new model…

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 10:23 pm

i think proton should pack up and fold. the government should not interfere with the motoring industry talks between 2 companies

• jamsbong (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 10:26 pm

Honestly, I would have expected that Proton which does not have competitors when sold in Malaysia would have always be on the winning side. This means that the company shouldn’t be broke. Rather, it should be bringing out the best for the affordable market. Proper safety with proper reliability and comfort.

VW is very smart that they are happy to tab into the Malaysian industry. Moreover, if VW takes over, I would expect the quality of proton under VW will be much improved, especially in safety. VW is trying to re-create what they have achieved in China.

Globalization in action

• Vengeance (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 10:27 pm

Prem3377,
    cetait has a point, UK spec waja has front and side airbags, local models only recently has front airbags. If local models with no airbags were tested, the NCAP comment will be “the driver and passenger WILL have serious injuries” and maybe score 1 or 2 stars…lolx

Why not put these safety features earlier? Becoz gov didnt enforce laws? They didnt give a damn to their drivers safety in earlier years…

Now they r starting to implement safety features, although it is years slower than other car manufacturers, we can call it an improvement :)

Hopefully VW will further improve Proton’s technology and give us better and affordable cars in the future!

• transformer (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 11:37 pm

everyone(most) wished that P1 blood totally changed…
    but i think that not enough! internal organ must go also!

management, gm, om, mgr, exec, 1st tier supplier, 2nd tier and every tier!

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 11:43 pm

Is that means good news, I means good news is when I can see all malaysia car sold without duty tax…this will be THE great news…

• bmx (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 12:04 am

infinity said,
    September 9, 2007 @ 8:17 pm

i always wonder..y proton only sent the waja for the crash test at Euro NCAP..wat bout gen2, savvy, satria neo and persona??

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. The others failed (or will fail) badly, better not to let everybody discover.
    2. Not going to sell those other cars to Europe or any developed country, so why bother? Do you think your life is important?

• infinity (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 1:34 am

well..bmx,
    1stly…i am very sure that savvy and neo is much stronger than waja..not sure bout gen2 though..and…all the models tat i mentioned, except the persona, are sold in the UK, Australia, and many other countries. please do some homework before posting,ok?cheers….

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:32 am

No matter what you guys say or justify, many Malaysians DIED in a Proton. Yeah you guys can go ahead and justify by saying many people/Malaysians are using Protons so it’s only natural. But STILL, many people died in Protons and IF road accidents is the number one killer in Malaysia, so is Proton

FLAME me if you want, i’ll just come up with more facts

• hazremi (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:43 am

to SYOH, don’t categorize perodua in the imported models as well as other imported brands.it’s just another copy and paste crap and name it as malaysian vision(myvi).

not only proton salesman use other brand ler, even other salesman like perodua also use other brand.this is malaysian mentality,everything import is better than local made.don’t u agree??

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:53 am

razor, so blame everything on the car la if accident? Got read last few months’ news? The so-called “uncrashable” S-class crashed n killed ALL 4 occupants. Then there’s also a Porsche accident nearby that area too, and ppl died in that Porsche too, though I can’t recall the details of the accident….

Even if all Proton equipped wit all kinds ofs afety found in the current S-class, ppl can still die if they’re reckless. Do you dare to say Msians are good drivers? Especially now got news abt ppl payin duit kopi to instructors to pass easily?

Better safety equipment in a car is gud, bt most effectively, it’s the drivers who need to be properly trained rather than takin the easy way out by paying duit kopi. Inattentiveness is the main reason why accidents happen.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:55 am

Infinity.

“i always wonder..y proton only sent the waja for the crash test at Euro NCAP..wat bout gen2, savvy, satria neo and persona??”

All cars sold in europe have to pass NCAP, and also a whole host of other tests, including emissions..etc. etc. etc.

the info you see on the NCAP website is a random selection of tests, and not indicative of every car sold in europe.

since the gen2, savvy and neo are already sold in europe, i believe they have already pass all necessary NCAP tests. similarly, the persona as i’m sure proton will sell it in europe.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:56 am

Hi hazremi,

I do agree that rebadging is the worst in terms of having pride. But to answer your mini poll, SO FAR for me (at least), imported products are better than local. Kit Kat, Suzuki Swift, shoes, spare parts, all have affected my claim. I dunno about you, but it seems all the Datuks/Menteri all enjoy their imported stuff don’t you agree?

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:57 am

@bmx
    1. better not to let everybody discover? Euro NCAP will still publish the result, so if there’s no result, then Proton nvr send la.

2. Gen2, Savvy and Neo are in UK. Remember Jeremy Clarkson mentioned abt “Get it(Savvy) off the screen, I dun wanna look at it (or something like that).” As for Neo, there was a review by TG magazine by their British writers, and they gave it a 11/20 rating.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:01 am

Yes tokmoh, but I didn’t make any claim that Proton is not good. I just gave a fact that many Malaysians died in a Proton. I’m sory that you misunderstood me, but i’m not a basher. I didn’t give anything distasteful about proton and nothing personal. Yes there are good malaysian drivers, and most of them are not. Dos this have anything to do with proton? None at all. Again, I’m just saying many people died in Protons, nothing more nothing less. And that S-Class story of yours, how many times did that happen? It seems you have misunderstood me. I did not say things like proton lacking in safety and all those stuff. Again, I’m saying MANY people died in protons. That’s all

• Apathy (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:05 am

ummmmm bashing party ler. huhuhuhuhu. i bet all protonG engineers don’t even drive a protonG. huhuhuhuhu that’s why they don’t even bother to produce a decent safe car before the waja. hence many lives can’t be saved in those tinMilo iswara n wira n kei cars….Argue about cost? huhuhuhuh again, scrap that National Car Status and produce all your parts n airbags n engines in some post-socialist country ler where cost is damn cheap. khazanah…..plzzzz just agree with VW terms n sign those damn documents. abis cerita…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:06 am

but you did say this razor_clawzz “many people died in Protons and IF road accidents is the number one killer in Malaysia, so is Proton”

so how do you justify this, especially since you said you have lots of facts..etc.

“Yeah you guys can go ahead and justify by saying many people/Malaysians are using Protons so it’s only natural.”

as for the S-class.. how many S-classes are there on the road? a few hundred across the whole country as apposed to the hundreds of thousands of protons in the country?

do you start to see the flaw in your own statements?

• Apathy (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:07 am

ummm bashing party ler. huhuhuhu. i bet all protonG engineers don’t even drive a protonG. huhuhuhuhu that’s why they don’t even bother to produce a decent safe car before the waja. hence many lives can’t be saved in those tinMilo iswara n wira n kei cars….Argue about production cost? huhuhuhuh again, scrap that National Car Status and produce all your parts n airbags n engines in some other country ler where cost is damn cheap. khazanahhh…..plzzzz just agree with VW terms n sign those damn documents. abis cerita…

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:12 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop, I only saw flaw in your statements. I didn’t suggest anything, and please don’t take it personally. That’s why I said it’s only natural that many people died in Protons, because of their sheer quantity as compared to S-Classes. Now where did I CONTADICT in my statements? Don’t worry, you can dig up archives, or just visit the nearest local police station for statistics involving Proton cars. Or, just meet your insurance company. Again, what makes you think I bashed Proton?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:22 am

i never said you bashed proton ;)

you said the high incidents of road deaths are because these people drive protons, and it has nothing to do with the FACT that there are more protons on our roads.

you then said how many times have an s class been involved in a fatal accident?, but here are so few s-class on the road. Doesn’t that explain why there are so few documented cases of accidents with these cars in the first place?

if 6 out of 10 cars(based on the previous 60% market share that proton had) on the road is a proton, doesn’t that statistically imply that an accident involving a proton is more likely to occur?

and you said you will show the facts. please justify your statements. if you can, i will be more than happy to accept it.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:34 am

1st, I had a Proton, hope that lifts your spirit. BTW why are so many bashers out there? I believe that’s because every malaysian feels involved with Proton’s progress, since it influences our pride so if something is unsatisfactory people retaliate. Now lets put that aside…

Due to the passing of time, i am unable to locate the death statistics involving cars in Malaysian roads which was once in my hard drive, so my apologies for not being able to keep with my promises.

I doubt Proton will apologize for something as discreet as that.

So BanyakMasukWorkshop, don’t you see, no matter how you say it, people STILL died in protons (refer to my original post). Many people died in protons because of the number of ownership, or maybe Proton is cursed, or many bad drivers are driving proton, MANY PEOPLE DIED in protons. And that’s what I’m trying to say. MAny people died in protons no matter what you say.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:45 am

“MANY PEOPLE DIED in protons” .. therefore =??

so whats the point that you are trying to make?

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:49 am

Hahaha taht’s why, I’m not a basher so that’s why I came up with a fact (debatable, but solid however), which I had no intention to make any points or suggest anything. Just something we should just to be aware of I’d say. Wah it almost got hot in here, Proton threads/posts are so sensitive!!!

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 10:39 am

wah is it true many people died in proton so good ho this proton can transforms into coffin……i think merc bus also can kill all the passenger ayo bro even u use ferrari also died ma not because u drive proton even there is air bag or what kind of bag their have people still died in accident ma not in car ayooooothink first before u post lah bro. people with expensive car drive carefully lah because that car very expensive lol

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 10:42 am

to apathy gov cannot just agree lah bro nanti our malaysia hilang harta lah we cannot just agreee with outsider just because we want more profit think first before we agree lah macm mau kawen u terus setuju ker tanpa lihat u punya wife hehehehehehe just joking bro

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:04 am

“J said,
    September 8, 2007 @ 8:31 pm
    I think bec VW is impressed with the Persona quality.”

Really yeah? The correct one should be: “I think bec VW is impressed with the Proton’s pathectic quality still being allowed to survive by sucking on govt tits”.

Recent news:
    Proton, VW ironing out sensitive issues
    http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BT/Tuesday/Nation/vwo.xml/Article/pp_index_html

NATIONAL carmaker Proton Holdings Bhd and Volkswagen AG (VW) are ironing out sensitive issues currently, Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says. “Sensitive issues are currently being resolved,” he said. He declined to elaborate further, except to say that talks are still ongoing. He also declined to comment on General Motors Corp, which had voiced its interest to be Proton’s foreign partner. The minister was commenting after presenting his speech on “Economic Development and Property Alleviation” at a two-day international forum on the Makkah Declaration in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

——————————-

Sensitive issues? Yeah rite suckers, VW want to get rid of the Proton cronies faulty autopart suppliers but Proton insists that stealing rakyat money still the best way of doing business.

So Skoda and Proton gonna be an item? Such a match in heaven. One is bad and the other is badder till some Nazi punk bling ’em up. What else could gone wrong?
    But better for Proton to team up with Ssangyong instead. Both are pathetically bad in car design. A team of a rotten and an ass.

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:27 am

“acbc said,
    September 9, 2007 @ 12:19 pm
    The Juara ain’t bad and it’s cheap too… I was thinking of purchasing 1-2 units next year for company usage but many mechs told me to avoid it… their reasons? Everything from power steering to engine… how to resist? A year 2003 model going as low as RM 15k! Plus, roadtax is super cheap and can carry lots of machinery and tools.”

“mTk said,
    September 9, 2007 @ 1:47 pm
    ….The truth is, the Mitsubishi Town Box (its original name) could find a market there in Japan. Proton just brought the wrong model here….”

Just wait the actual cost, profit/loss of Proton Juara production being tabled at Parliament. Some MPs promise to provide all the info. Just when is it for all rakyat to know? Scared kah?

• ed0r (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:35 am

Really hope it will work out. You see… it seems like our dreams of driving a proton wajetta would come true eh? We’re tired of campro already maaa… So proton and VW, good luck. Don’t disappoint us.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:53 am

whats with all the discussions on juara? thats like ancient news already.

to me, the only reason the juara failed in malaysia is because it cost almost RM10,000 more than the perodua Rusa at that time. its a no-brainer. The people who are in that market for a vehicle like the rusa, and juara are very price sensitive.

but end of the day, proton is already doing better regardless of what the naysayers are saying.. car sales are picking up, management seem to be doing the right things, another new model on the horizon and VW are still very interested. If they aren’t they wouldn’t be wasting their time still talking to the government. It still proves without a doubt that proton has value.

end of the day, i think its just a waste of time for people who want to continue to bash proton by bringing up the past (juara..etc). for proton, the only way is forward.

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 1:58 pm

@Razor
    I’ll tell u what I think abt u: running away from the trouble u’ve created. Ur fact only serves as a bait for bashers to say “I’ve told u Proton is rubbish, unsafe, etc….”

I can then say the total ppl died in a Toyota since the company started 70 years ago easily beats Proton’s, judging by the sheer number of Toyotas sold worldwide and how long they’ve been in the business. I’m JUST saying it. JUST……..

Mayb Banyakmasukworkshop is rite, rather than dwellin on Proton’s past, we should at least breathe a sigh of relief somebody from Perodua decided to bring the Japanese work culture in Proton back. Of course, that man I’m referrin is the MD, Syed Zainal Abidin. I have deep respect for him, havin sacrificed a “safe” job, knowin well the job he’s in now will oni result in ppl bashing him for all the faults by the old management. He’s done his part to heal the complacency cancer in Proton, so let’s hope things can get better wit VW, that is, assumin the deal works. So far, the dealin process do looks good.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 3:19 pm

To all bashers..if you are very good at talk on bussines and car manufacturing..you all must be good on how to run the bussines and to produce a car..why don’t all of you work at proton..help proton..don’t only bash..we all have merdeka..don’t make our proton dijajah again by the mats salleh and nippons..

For the quality of safety for each product by proton..nowadays, we cannot use or buy the technology if we don’t have money..it’s true, to have airbags and other safety things is better..but, to have all of it on each proton, will raise the price..perodua kancil body is lembut and it doesn’t have any safety thing except for the seatbelt..why don’t you all bash it? why? because it is nippon rebadged car..it is nippon technology to be proud of..look at poor malaysian mind…still being dijajah..

About many people died in proton..it’s a wow fact..because..malaysian (who drive the proton) like to drive it very fast..speedy..to show to others who have imported cars, their protons are more faster..something to be proud of..proud to be malaysian..from malaysian to malaysian..

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 3:56 pm

This topic is about the Proton-Volkswagen talks.

Anyway, something to clarify. Some blind basher was talking about Proton spent million in the R&D to develop the Juara. HAHAHA…. that Juara actually was based on Mitsubishi’s Townbox. So, don’t simply bashing blindly.

Safety? Waja is the only model tested by EuroNCAP officially. Gen.2, Savvy, Satria Neo and Persona were all tested based on ADAC, EuroNCAP, Australian’s etc. standards too. Even Honda, Toyota and many others also didn’t really test by EuroNCAP officially. For your info, is ADAC, EuroNCAP etc. select certain models for testing only.

Apathy said,
    September 10, 2007 @ 9:07 am

ummm bashing party ler. huhuhuhu. i bet all protonG engineers don’t even drive a protonG. huhuhuhuhu….
    ANSWER: You think all BMW, Mercedes Benz, Toyota engineers drive their own marque? I don’t think so.

tokmoh said,
    September 10, 2007 @ 8:53 am

razor, so blame everything on the car la if accident? Got read last few months’ news? The so-called “uncrashable” S-class crashed n killed ALL 4 occupants. Then there’s also a Porsche accident nearby that area too, and ppl died in that Porsche too, though I can’t recall the details of the accident….

Even if all Proton equipped wit all kinds ofs afety found in the current S-class, ppl can still die if they’re reckless. Do you dare to say Msians are good drivers? Especially now got news abt ppl payin duit kopi to instructors to pass easily?

Better safety equipment in a car is gud, bt most effectively, it’s the drivers who need to be properly trained rather than takin the easy way out by paying duit kopi. Inattentiveness is the main reason why accidents happen.

ANSWER: Yes. I agree with your comments.

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:05 pm

We’ll see what happen next to the talks.

We’ll just see the long term performance of Persona. The total booking since 21 July 2007 are about 14000 units. A lot based on the period but we have to see longer period of time and is the car’s quality will last for years and so on. The news also said that it is the fastest selling model for Proton since about 22 years ago.

All the best so that you (Proton) no need protection from government anymore. Anyway for some, even Proton do well they will still say Proton sucks… money…. not safe and so on.

• wong (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:12 pm

agree with tokmoh,the new MD is doing quite a good job here,more commited to his work,something that not that anyone is willing or can do,wish the best to Proton with or without VW…cheers…

• wong (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:19 pm

by the way drive safely,whatever car u’re driving..

• tanasi (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:27 pm

Razor, yes you are right. If we Malaysians drive Mercedes and BMW and all matsalleh and jap marques, for sure la we don’t die in the car.

Razor, you know the princess diana accident, the conspiracy behind it? The S-class actually not one u know, it was a modified Proton Juara with longer wheel base, S-class like interior and seating, 12cylinder engine (combined 3 units juara engines), etc etc. Thats why she died.

Also have u heard aa, the global warming? Its because of the Proton factory laa…. If they left the site as kelapa sawit plantation, surely no global warming one.

Eh, have you heard about the guy who borrowed from 40 alongs — he actually needed to pay off his Proton Saga loan…….I tell uuuu

• nuzzary (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:35 pm

So long malaysian owned Automobile Company, You’re the first and already the last one… atleast Proton Survived when Perodua failed even earlier.. 7 years standing on its own is something that proton can say it suceeded. Let just be like UK, never liked their own Local car and now they take pride in Foreign own Local Company bearing their name as if theirs..

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:57 pm

tanasi,dont forget, try scrapping off the paint,and you can see a ‘milo’ logo there,really….I’m telling u now…

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 5:55 pm

even if it true milo tin..milo tin is stronger then aluminium tin..hahaha..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 5:59 pm

why basher always said “proton always suck people money”…how they suck?using straw ka??plz all basher answer my question with solid proof..ex..official statement etc.

• Observer (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 6:07 pm

I sincerely hope Proton will secure the deal. It is still long way to go even after the tie-up.

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 6:10 pm

The Unicons said,
    September 10, 2007 @ 3:56 pm

This topic is about the Proton-Volkswagen talks.

Anyway, something to clarify. Some blind basher was talking about Proton spent million in the R&D to develop the Juara. HAHAHA…. that Juara actually was based on Mitsubishi’s Townbox. So, don’t simply bashing blindly.
    —————
    All the best so that you (Proton) no need protection from government anymore.
    —————-
    Yet again you like to make classic argument for those who criticize and/or have different opinions with you, all you can do is conveniently “dump as blind basher”!

Who is “blind basher”? How do you defined a person as blind basher! Can I said SYOH statement about investment in R & D is “factually inaccurate”? instead of “blind basher”.

You are “cocky parrot”, but behave like opportunitist bald head vulture, fly high in the sky, looking for “prey”, once identify, kamikaze down like guide missile torpedo down to hit the target and salvage anything and everything you can. Stop your stinking habit of conveniently blame other as basher!

Proton no need protection from the G anymore? Are you means the success of Persona? Is it factually accurate?

If Proton going for open market level playing field, it is just like you put in 1 intact piece of paper through shredder, it come out into bits and pieces!

• bmx (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 6:13 pm

infinity said,
    September 10, 2007 @ 1:34 am

well..bmx,
    1stly…i am very sure that savvy and neo is much stronger than waja..not sure bout gen2 though..and…all the models tat i mentioned, except the persona, are sold in the UK, Australia, and many other countries. please do some homework before posting,ok?cheers….

===========================================

well, strong doesnt mean safe for passenger car, when accidents happens, a simple steering wheel that break off will kill you instantly.
    hahaha…did they really sell without Euro NCAP test to UK and Australia? Euro NCAP should be set as a requirement worldwide, to weed out car makers that underperform in safety and take advantage of people’s ignorance (especially China brand)…

• cetait (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:03 pm

#
    BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

September 10, 2007 @ 8:55 am

“All cars sold in europe have to pass NCAP, and also a whole host of other tests, including emissions..etc. etc. etc.

the info you see on the NCAP website is a random selection of tests, and not indicative of every car sold in europe.

since the gen2, savvy and neo are already sold in europe, i believe they have already pass all necessary NCAP tests. similarly, the persona as i’m sure proton will sell it in europe.”

————-

This is simply wrong. NCAP is a consumer information organization, and its tests have no bearing on whether a car can be sold in the EU. That job is left to the European Parliament and Council, whose standards are considerably more relaxed and not set to be upgraded next until 2010.

Euro NCAP simply selects various cars, tests them, and publishes the results, like Consumer Reports. If they test a car, they publish the result. One-star cars can and have been sold in Europe. Saying things like “Oh, it’s sold in Europe so it mustve done well in NCAP” and “It’s been tested by NCAP, just secretly” is ignorant and misleading.

And why are people still bringing up those silly joyriders that crashed their S-Class racing at 160+ as if it excuses Proton’s general lack of safety equipment? You can die in any car, safety features are about REDUCING that chance. Why anyone would consider that not worth doing is beyond me.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Obviously I notice that most don’t have any clue on how automotive/car R&D/manufacturing is done. It involved such a highly complicated processes that most decisions are rarely achieved in a short period of time. For example, a model that just came out of the factory yesterday, it could probably be a least 4-5 years ago for the R&D, the market research and the concept could be 2-3 years earlier. Proton is no exception, therefore it is justifiable to have a based model to start with, this saved significant amount of time and resources. Got the idea now? The good old Saga, the Knight, Aeroback right to the evergreen Iswara is just the start of the long episode. My opinion – Proton is doing fine for a ‘small’ company, comparing them to the established giant isn’t fare. It is like comparing Malaysia to UK or the US, they have been industrialised yrs ahead of us (pls read your history books). This situation is common, do anybody have information on car companies that never encounter any problem? Doubt so. Coming back to R&D and manufacturing, the Proton guys must be laughing their tears out reading some of your comments on the ‘tin milo’ material, refrigerator, occupant safety and whatever jokes there are, they just reflect your ignorance toward the whole situation. Apologise for this guys, but let us make this forum to be more intellectual rather than sembang kedai kopi (or milo). I’m sure Paul would want that.

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:26 pm

Comelah BigFish. Did I directly point out that SYOH is the blind basher? Why you are so sensitive with all my posts not only this one but the one before? By the way, SYOH was pointing on Proton spent million of ringgit in the R&D of Juara and how could this model can passed the wind tunnel test and so on.

I only disagree with him with that particular statement as Juara actually from Mitsubishi Town Box. Meaning, Proton didn’t actually did a lot of work in that model and I would like to say that Proton picked the wrong design at that time and the car did sell well same as Tiara model.

You can say about me whatever you want to. It seems like I can not put in my opinion even though I didn’t really point out SYOH is the blind basher! I can not give my opinion and others can and I have to agree whatever your opinion is?

Come on, we already independence lahhhh….

• cetait (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:27 pm

BigFish said,

September 10, 2007 @ 6:10 pm

Who is “blind basher”? How do you defined a person as blind basher! Can I said SYOH statement about investment in R & D is “factually inaccurate”? instead of “blind basher”.

—–

What’s funny is those calling others blind bashers often have no problem making up all kinds of facts when defending Proton. All Protons secretly passed NCAP, ADAC, STPM blah blah blah…maybe there should be a new term…blind defender!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:30 pm

Hey guys..chill out. Let the Germans clean the shite.I assume they know well with whom are they dealing with…poor ailing tiger.

I hope the Germans will kick out all the bad cultures, ugly habits, maggots and parasites that cling firmly to the tiger.The recent revelation by the Auditor-General about the scams involving people’s monies was just a little hint of how ugly and stinky the habits/cultures of the maggots are.Proton also not excepted from the influences of those maggots.It should be a revolution in Proton !!

I’ll never buy the idea of ‘just close the shop’ and i’m not claiming the current management is not good enough.It’s just that the viruses inhibit Proton are already immune to the Malaysian’s medication thus they should be doctored by the specialist.To me, they are only two outstanding specialists with globally recognized proven track record in automotive world now in terms of mass manufacturings savvy.It is either Volkswagen or Toyota.

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:32 pm

Sorry with my post above. I only disagree with him with that particular statement as Juara actually from Mitsubishi Town Box. Meaning, Proton didn’t actually did a lot of work in that model and I would like to say that Proton picked the wrong design at that time and the car DIDN’T (not did as I mistype above) sell well same as Tiara model.

• limsk (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:13 pm

This VM-Proton (ding-dong) has going far long too long (started 2006), VM who has the upperhand (trump cards) on the negotiation table and with vast experienced in auto-making (local and worldwide (Rank 4th)). It WM comes back now to the negotiation this time after they request for “Audit..” and the announcement of new model of Gen2 Sedan (aka Persona). It very timely..

In my opinion it another puppet show, proton is puppet and puppeteer is VM .. I wonder what VM has to loose if this deal did not go through?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:28 pm

The Unicons,
    you have all the rights to say whatever you want man..some people can talk about milo tin,transformers,cocky parrot,refridgerator and etc so why can you say blind basher??go ahead..do be afraid or stop it…

cetait ,
    yah you can start the term blind defender too…

about euro NCAP..it was an independent test labratory at first but now its very very important factor to sell cars in europe!!proton did not test their other models because most of it derived from waja’s chassis so it should get the similar rating..thats the best reason and Euro Ncap dont really care about how many airbags you have but how stable is the chassis,crumple zone and etc..but even euro NCAP is now consider useless because its nothing like a real world test and almost all car makes are easily getting 3 stars and above so in a few years time test method will be different from the current one!!airbags and emission rating is important in europe and cars without airbag and low emission rating will not be allowed by the Government to sell in europe because its in their NAP and etc..so malaysian G should implement similar regulation in our country so that all our car manufacturers will have airbags as standard…

but there is a reason why our government never do it yet..research has show that malaysian and asean people except of singaporean dont really maintain their car well as europeans,japanese and americans…so a faulty airbag will cause equal danger to passenger and cause accident.and some dont even deploy in an event of accident..many dont even know which is the airbag or ABS light in their dashboard and when some survey is done..safety always comes third or fourth!!the first usually brand,second FC,third design or safety and etc..we dont check our airbags regularly or change it after certain years,never service it and etc…some dont even replace the airbags after accident!!so we should consider safety as our priority first before asking the G to make airbags and abs compulsory..cause many feel its useless..many here have acceptable car knowledge but if you look at the bigger picture then u will realise how backwards some malaysians are!!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:32 pm

limsk said,

I wonder what VM has to loose if this deal did not go through?
    ====================================

Haha VW has nothing to loose…nothing mate..that’s for sure.If the deal has crashed and burned, VW can always veer to Indon and Thai or even Vietcong, perhaps.The german is not that desperate and thus explains why this saga has been keeping ding-dong for such long time.Delicious for them, they’ll take..if not,well they aren’t craving for it mate.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:04 pm

I bet Malaysian government will be more careful and lenient this time not to shove the german harshly. I am confident that they will surrender to the German requirement eventually…because in this situation, Malaysian is on the losing side not the German who apparently has numerous options in order to achieve their aspiration of capturing South East Asia market.Tying with Proton is not the only ultimate solution…as i said, the more competitive Indonesia and Thai are always there seducing.

I think Malaysian government will not dare to lose VW this time after been dumped by Toyota and several other global car manufacturers due to their unfavorable policies.Malaysian G should understand in reality., those global big players are more powerful and richer than the Malaysian G.So who’s in charge actually ?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:56 pm

not too bad la malaysia, bufori come buid car here,

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 10:50 pm

The Unicons said,
    September 10, 2007 @ 7:26 pm

Comelah BigFish. Did I directly point out that SYOH is the blind basher? Why you are so sensitive with all my posts not only this one but the one before? By the way, SYOH was pointing on Proton spent million of ringgit in the R&D of Juara and how could this model can passed the wind tunnel test and so on.

I only disagree with him with that particular statement as Juara actually from Mitsubishi Town Box. Meaning, Proton didn’t actually did a lot of work in that model and I would like to say that Proton picked the wrong design at that time and the car did sell well same as Tiara model.
    —————-
    This is a very good argument come with a good reasoning(s) to debunk or disagree with other without the need of “mud slinging” by conveniently label other as “blind basher”!

As I said before, –=+ is not equal to two wrongs = right. It is wrong for you to simply conveniently shoot other as “blind basher” as much as it is inappropriate for me to call you “cocky parrot”! But the point here is very clear, if what I said is wrong, let the natural justice take it course and me face the consequences! But I offer no apology to “cocky parrot”!

Let you, me and other be more mature in argument rather than engage in mindless no-hold-bar “street brawl”!

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 10:57 pm

For this negotiation, the way I look at it is just the rakyat have to spend tax payer monies for expenses in negotiating that include at New York sometime ago! What the heck is so difficult for this Proton minnor player to agree to giant VW – In auto industry, no pride and patriotic involve – it is just the “clueless” G officer perceive in this way.

UK is not perceived as sold to outsider simply because of few “incidents” as below: –

1. Manchester United doesn’t look like American simply because it is owned by Malcom Frazer.

2. Chelsea doesn’t look like Russian simply because it is own by Abrahamovic, or have Portugese DNA simply because the head honco is Hose Maurinho.

3. Manchester City doesn’t look like Thai Silk Girl or has Tom Yam smell simply because it is bought over by Thaksin.

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:00 pm

4. LASTLY, PROTON WILL NOT LOOK LIKE GERMAN SIMPLY BECAUSE IN THE EVENT IT IS TAKEN OVER BY VW. However, the freak milo tin on the wheel Iswara will disappear from the market, and come the Savvypolo, Wajetta, etc on our road!

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 7:09 am

The best medicine for proton is VW, tech knowleadge transfer, QC transfer, culture transfer, management transfer, and also help cleans up the parasit and incapable part supplier…I wish we all can enjoy the decent quality of part, engine, service with decent affordable price from proton in one day…

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 8:23 am

As I said before, –=+ is not equal……

should read as

As I said before, – –=+ is not equal ……

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 8:57 am

Perhaps you forgot what Mr. Paul Tan told you BigFish! and what you promissed him.

• Apathy (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 9:04 am

emmmm just off the topic. sometimes ignorance is truly a bliss. i predict within the next 10 years, fuel will be extremely expensive. huhuhuhuhu by then, rakyats will have to take the ultra unreliable public transportation such as the komuter (God…..i curse it everydayyy). ummmm i dont think the Minister really knows our plight as ALL are chauffeured driven. damn them. hehehehe to me i would rather die in a porshe or s-klasse than a Bolehland’s tinMilo. heheheh even though when you die, you die ler. all your harta benda is totally useless. heheheheh just a pessimist version of 1984—Bolehland style. hehehheeh. happy driving guys.

• protonfan (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 10:26 am

hmmm…bila ada saje berita tentang proton, ramai yg bg komen..nampaknya proton diambil berat oleh rakyat kita…syabas proton, anda masih dihati rakyat Malaysia yang inginkan kereta yang bkualiti dan harga yang murah…

• protonian (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 11:28 am

Prem3377,

U r damn farken stupid calling other people dumb, trying to act like you are so smart here. Pleaselar..dun Prem! Prem! Prem! here..I suggest that you go back and prem, prem, prem on ur mother’s ass or ur grandma’s pussy..Stupid little asshole..

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 12:26 pm

Setuju dengan kamu protonfan..sememangnya proton masih menarik perhatian semua hehe..masakan everytime proton issues/news so many comments (support n bash). No like others, quite boring. Juara maybe a proton mistake, however they have learned from their mistake especially since Proton under DSZA. All the best to you Proton.
    p/s..this townbox very famous in japan anyway…that time la..cheers.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 1:07 pm

to all!!

all car models in the world involve in accident do kill people in one way or another. it does not matter whoes fault is it, n if accident happen… it just happen. the point is there anyone out there doing something about it!! in the UK, the G impose NCAP for all car models to reduce some percentage of accident.. active or pasive. BMW, PORSCE, MERZ all crash b4 in Malaysia and people do die. but hey, those cars have one of the highest safety feature u can get. Proton have none for some of it’s model e.g. iswara.

U can blame the driver, road and etc for accident. but for sure, car safety feature will reduce the percentage of death accident. the main point is, car without safety feature is no longer popular among malaysian.. so proton have to buck up. Perodua can give 2 AirBags and ABS, y can’t proton give 4 AirBags, ABS, EBD and more more safety feature to compete with Perodua. not just macth the safety with Perodua!!

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 1:24 pm

I owned Protons cars for many years,and so does my friends…but we couldn’t help but make jokes about the Juara ‘looks’ and nothing else,everytime we see Juara on the road,hehe,van roti,roti pound,flower horn,ikan belacak,bulldog…and the list goes on..but we have friends who are happy with their Juara…no jokes no fun..hehe..but we love the Persona looks on the road..happy driving..

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 3:57 pm

“For example, a model that just came out of the factory yesterday, it could probably be a least 4-5 years ago for the R&D, the market research and the concept could be 2-3 years earlier. Proton is no exception, therefore it is justifiable to have a based model to start with, this saved significant amount of time and resources. Got the idea now? The good old Saga, the Knight, Aeroback right to the evergreen Iswara is just the start of the long episode.” “…but let us make this forum to be more intellectual rather than sembang kedai kopi (or milo).”
    So still let Proton to milking on stone-age car models? Still need another 20 years, 50 years for govt protection, wasting rakyat money and force rakyat to buy cars at artifically HIGH price? Is this very intellectual way in doing business globally?

“for proton, the only way is forward.”

“UK is not perceived as sold to outsider simply because of few “incidents” as below: –
    1. Manchester United doesn’t look like American simply because it is owned by Malcom Frazer.
    2. Chelsea doesn’t look like Russian simply because it is own by Abrahamovic, or have Portugese DNA simply because the head honco is Hose Maurinho.
    3. Manchester City doesn’t look like Thai Silk Girl or has Tom Yam smell simply because it is bought over by Thaksin.”
    By sell off Proton, govt can used the funds in investing/partnership in many EPL clubs, send our local players, coaches to train/playing there (at least can eat better, nutritous foods to gain better skills/stamina/improve brain intelligence).

“…..we all have merdeka..don’t make our proton dijajah again by the mats salleh and nippons..why? because it is nippon rebadged car..it is nippon technology to be proud of..look at poor malaysian mind…still being dijajah..”

“Euro NCAP simply selects various cars, tests them, and publishes the results, like Consumer Reports. If they test a car, they publish the result. One-star cars can and have been sold in Europe. Saying things like “Oh, it’s sold in Europe so it mustve done well in NCAP” and “It’s been tested by NCAP, just secretly” is ignorant and misleading.”
    EuroNCAP is by far a global standard in car safety ratings. Top Gear once compared Toyota Avensis and Proton Impian/Waja in frontal crash test with Waja results risk its passenger with a broken leg plus its front door jammed, thus delaying precious seconds for any attempt to save the occupants earlier inside the car. JC then said, for few grand cheaper you may get a broken leg.

For those fancy some rebadge VW for Proton, forget about it. Even throwing some Skoda is a risk for VW. VW would glad to get Proton’s plant and save time on finding other sites to build a new car plant. For cronies Proton faulty autopart suppliers, let them all die lah. Much better for VW to sell its own car here, a Proton brand would carry a BIG liability, not an appreciated asset. Sell the Proton brand to Roewe of China or Ssangyong. Match in heaven (for being fugly and crappy).

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 3:59 pm

” owned Protons cars for many years,and so does my friends…but we couldn’t help but make jokes about the Juara ‘looks’ and nothing else,everytime we see Juara on the road,hehe,van roti,roti pound,flower horn,ikan belacak,bulldog…and the list goes on..but we have friends who are happy with their Juara…no jokes no fun..hehe..but we love the Persona looks on the road..happy driving..”

• biggie (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 4:40 pm

Design is a very subjective thing. A while in parliament somebody comment that Juara is the worst car ever made, but someone come out and defend their design.

I join their discussion for few times, and all of them love their “boxes” or “kotak” the nicks for their machines. May be I do not understand how the world works but then just like their moto : this box ain’t square.

• neo2 (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 6:25 pm

If somehow the VW-P1 talk ties, the first mission for P1 is to channel its products to overseas through VW distribution networks or contacts to boost its sales growth. As mentioned by P1 MD, local car market is saturated and the potential additional growth space is restricted. Thus, he is aiming for oversea market and VW tie makes it very attractive. Despite some forumers here might proclaim the prolonged talk has political agenda behind it, the tie is likely to bring about positive synergy to P1. Srubbing off the claimed parasites or cronies currently drowning P1 takes time and determination. Without political interference, P1 in fact could be ASEAN best car maker or even global reknown car maker but sadly it is tainted by politics influences. The recent 2006 audit report reflects the misappropriation and abuse of nation resources by minor party. Realising these facts, our high hope over P1 has become shattered. Any lucrative mean or apparatus in our country is always and will always be monopolized by minority party unless something could be done to remedy this. We as majority that is aware of such discrimination and well conceived plot is burdened to disseminate and educate those fellow countrymen that are folled and blinded by controlled mass media or childish lies poured by those politicians. To make P1 a competitive and dynamic car maker, first we must tackle the administration of the country. Read again my comments before defending or bashing baseless towards P1.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 6:51 pm

neo2,

i totaly agree wit you…its not the company,its the administrators of the country!!thats what many of us trying to say but many still blame the company!!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 11:16 pm

http://tradecarview.com/photo/default.aspx?id=550796&sid=270&pn=0

model 2006 jepun punya

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 12:05 am

WTF mitsu town box come into this topic about VW+P1 agreement? If i want to buy that car in Japan i would buy the Suzuki Wagon R or RR compare to this town box! Wagon R or RR sold more then the Toyota Corrola in Japan!

http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/suzuki/wagon_r_rr/2002_9/photo/10632/

http://www.autozine.org/Graveyard/html/Suzuki/WagonR_Mk1.html

“Being the first K-car introducing RV (Recreational Vechicle) features, Suzuki Wagon R broke many K-car records in Japan – 500,000 units sold within the first 38 months, the first K-car to become No. 1 seller in Japan (monthly count), beating the mighty Toyota Corolla.”

• wong (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 12:18 am

well said neo2

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:06 pm

ARGH…DONT KUTUK2 ANYMORE LA…HOW CAN WE COMPARE PROTON TO OTHERS..LIKE NISSAN..BMW..MERCEDES..TOYOTA..FORD AND WATEVERLA..THEY HAVE BEEN IN AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRIES OVER 30 TO 70 YEARS…HOW CAN WE COMPARE A PERSON WHO HAVE LEARN 70 YEARS AND A PERSON HAD LEARN 20 YEARS..???JUST THINK AGAIN LA.. THATS IS UNFAIR COMPARISON… PERODUA..NAZA..ALL THATS ARE RUBBISH!!!!CRAP!!!DAMN!!!SUCKS CAR..THEY JUST CUT N PASE ONLY… N SALE THEM BY THEIR OWN NAME…. BUT PROTON..IT DEVELOPT BY ITSELF..FROM

THE DESIGN TO MECHANICAL…THE ENGINE MAYBE WE STILL COOPERATE

WITH LOTUS..BUT ITS OK…AT LEAST THE DESIGN THEY HAVE MADE BY THEIR

OWN SELF…HOW BOUT PERODUA????? THEIR KEMBARA??? THINK AGAIN..A

1.3 LITER CRAMPED CAR YOU CAN OWN FROM RM59,250.00???IS IT

NONSENCE??? YOU CAN OWN A FULL SPEC PERSONA OR EVENT A GEN.2 BY

AROUND 55000 TO 59000….NAZA SURIA…RM 43220.00..1.1 LITER ENGINE MORE CRAMPED THEN KEMBARA.. YOU CAN OWN A PERSONA BASELINE AUTO

FROM RM46000…JUST ADD ABOUT 3000…HMM… NOW WHO SUCKS A LOT

OF MONEY??PERODUA???????????NAZA??????????????OR PROTON???….THINK

AGAIN MALAYSIAN!!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:56 pm

zack_keyme988,

WTF Perodua Kembara Naza Suria and all that things has to do with this P1-VW talk topic.

Even if you hate Perodua or Naza so much, wait until Paul Tan serves the right ‘cuisine’ for you to balun.When people are talking about the tiger, why at all of sudden you jump off the gun and shoot the cow…