Proton’s 1.5 liter motorcycle

Proton LogoDid you read NST yesterday? Saw the weird Proton motorcycle? It’s a chopper-style bike done up in orange and features a 1.5 litre Megavalve engine from the old Proton Wira or Iswara 1.5. This engine is connected to the rear wheel via a single driveshaft with a 90 degree joint coming out of the Wira 5-speed manual gearbox.

According to NST, The rear wheel is a 17″ Proton car wheel wrapped with 210/50 motorcycle rubber, while the front uses a 21″ motorcycle wheel with 80/90 motorcycle rubber. Even the brakes and calipers are from Proton cars.

It’s quite a Frankenstein-like piece of madness really, and Proton is planning another prototype with a 1.6 litre Campro engine soon.

Read the full story here!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pekan (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:00 pm

some people have too much time on their hands.. ;-)

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:02 pm

another ‘juara’ product by well known car maker – the Proton

• ed0r (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:03 pm

LMAO!

• transformer (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Gosh! THATS WASTE RESOURCES !!

better use your brain juice to think/design a proper diesel engine!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:09 pm

vincentwee , at least get your facts right. Juara is a 100% mitsubishi product, nothing from Proton at all. Its apparently quiet a well known “k-car”, called the “townbox” in japan.

anyways.. its nothing new that prototype/custom bikes are done up with car engines. theres a pretty well known custom bike in germany that runs the 3.5 litre V8 from a BMW 7 series. i think its interesting that proton engineers do at least design and build some original stuff.

• azrai (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:11 pm

Maybe they regretted their decision to sell MV Augusta. Some ‘gila talak’ Protonians try to convinced people that without MV Augusta they can make a motorcycle to. Leve it to Modenas Proton. :))

• drM (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:23 pm

yeap. whatever they gonna say over this, I must say, its a hell of wasted resources and energy.

there u are. last time, got one company that BUILDs motorcycle, then u guys shot that one for 1 euro.

now?

better do something else. bring out that 200bhp coupe. opps…u already sell those petronas engine to the chinese? alamak!

• ariff (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:26 pm

ahah..
    next 10 years proton will be like modenas..
    manufacture motorbike..
    hahaha…btw..nice look…

• arcana (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:29 pm

haha not so much of wasted resources…..look at what their using…mostly parts from the old school protons that probably were collected from the storehouse.
    seriously fugly….especially the rear tyres with that odd looking colored rims.

• frossonice (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 4:38 pm

What do you mean by wasting resources? It’s their money and they can do whatever they want to do. In the name of research, you can even build a rocket if you want.

• nanashisan (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 5:30 pm

paul should test ride this bike… i hope paul has driving license for motorcycle.
    can someone tell me how much motorcycle road tax if 1.5L?? superbike road tax is damn expensive than car road tax.

• triplesaber (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 6:46 pm

its easy to hate if your love is entirely on 4 wheels, but this is a nice kustom job!
    If u see the Mat Sallehs, they have installed engines from cars, trucks and even from a small airplane into kustom bikes like this.
    For me, the only wasted thing in this is, they were building this officially under Proton, getting paid while having the fun chopping, but to where after this? Can they learn anything from this project to make better Proton cars in the future?

anyway, nice customizing job frm the team.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 7:29 pm

How does it look like ? Any photos please…

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 7:41 pm

it’s in the linked article.

Bl00dy waste of money and time.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 8:18 pm

Next day nothing to do come out with 2.0L V6 elongated executive chancellor super long motorbike

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 8:20 pm

One conclusion – waste of tax payer money for syok-syok sendiri!

• vandenlye (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 8:25 pm

after making million Ringgit lost they still could search for more fun! what’s a waste of money from Malaysia… when will be this disaster stop?!

• mzfnd (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 8:38 pm

Jeremy Clarkson blowing up a Kelisa is a waste of resources or money or whatever. This is not.

• szw (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 9:06 pm

saw that bike b4 .
    its kindda loud.
    was at the skills competition.

• tommy73 (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 9:57 pm

Give it up to Proton, a round of applause! Satu lagi projek Proton untuk Rakyat, satu lagi bukti Proton Boleh. Whenever I begin to have some respect for Proton, e.g. the quality of recent models, Proton will come out with some nonsensical Boleh thingy. Absolutely horrendous! Shame on you Proton for your unacceptable behaviour!

• GlowJo (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 9:57 pm

Dear BigFish,
    Your tax gone to drain not thru proton, it went to government servant salary increment. I think proton make this bike from their old junk car,

To vandenlye
    Go and join VW take control of proton then you decide what to do…

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 11:49 pm

I am interested in how heavy the bike is

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 11:58 pm

proton pathetic.

can imagine what VW officials are thinking. or indeed the world.

laughing stock of the car world already. time to conquer another market.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 1:06 am

its very old school, but the effort of ones hand is something.
    ,…….i cant do that

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 7:25 am

Make bike from their old junk car? Worst than Ah Beng! Just wonder if they cannibalize Juara …….. become mini hearse motorbike.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 7:31 am

Plan with Campro engine – shhhhhh, another waste of tax payer monies!!!!! Too much time doing for nothing.

• wildthingz (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 8:26 am

i never seen the pic anyone have???? but i think this is how proton want to make their designer team more creative even other auto company make something like this i see one at one of astro channel (not remember the title) dodge ask the chopper maker make one for thier anniversary owh yes ithink taht episode name american chooper not surelah malaysian every time proton make something new we will says it waste of money but if other car maker making something weird we will says it this is reasearch for futere hahaha

• napps (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:13 am

I say why not? The cost of building this bike is probably minimal, because it’s built with parts probably lying around on the floor. If they can prove the bike works beautifully, why not put it in production? Don’t make it a mass production bike, but do it on a custom-built, made-to-order basis. That way, it will build exclusivity and if demand isn’t there then investment in production would have been minimal. The way I see it, Proton only needs to improve the bike’s cosmetic styling.

• eezarm (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:19 am

good try by proton but it’s too ugly…make or redesign a proper engine for the bike instead of using d car engine .

• khengyi82 (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:33 am

That why i say stupid proton car have a stupid proton bike ya finally stupid thinking have come out, what a fcuk look. This is proud of malaysia ? no no this is hell of malaysia. Proton so stupid please don’t be continue stupid. PROTON PLEASE CLOSE SHOP ! U HAPPY WE ALL HAPPY !

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 3:12 pm

they should concentrate on making bikes instead of cars, it will stupid of them to selll mv agusta, its nonsense that they were losing money out of it

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 5:36 pm

hello proton, dont waste time on this shit first. this is not the right time. better concentrate on rebuilding ur reputation and other important thing first. building this bike wont make people impress ‘wooow’, ‘oh-so-high-tech’, or even boost up ur share price, please…

• TheDuck (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 6:04 pm

Again i have to agree with JulienLee on this. It appears that Proton is better-off making bikes! At least with the bad QC going around, the only one’s that will most likely to die are the ‘mat-rempits’. or NYAMUKS!

Am i not right on this point?

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 8:52 pm

i make my own bikes..haha

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 10:06 pm

……… concentrate on rebuilding ur reputation? Proton and NAP have reputations for a wrong reason!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 10:13 pm

JULIANLEE, If they can concentrate on making bike, then as their website show, can make T-bike as well!

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 12:11 am

It’s just a Prototype. Definitely 99% sure that Proton will never make it into production. Proton has better logical products in the future. So, stop the bashing….. e.g: “waste of money, resources, etc etc.. blah blah blah….”
    To me, buying the Viva IS a waste of money!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 7:56 am

Another blindly 100% Proton supporter.. Think rationally laa… MV agusta already a failure still want to make bike? Even the mountain-bike bicycle wif Lotus name also cannot sell… U tot ur company level is like BMW, Honda & Suzuki? If u dont like Viva dont buy it laa, still i see ppl drive it..

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 1:14 pm

To me, buying Viva is like pay for main menu course but get dessert to cuci mulut only!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 1:14 pm

Selamat Hari Raya to all and enjoy holiday!

• gtmaniac (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 1:33 pm

Using 17 inch proton rear wheel? Which proton is using 17inch rims as standard? From the pic it looks like std 16inch wira SE rims – correct me if i’m wrong.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 15, 2007 at 1:04 am

LittleFire85,

Yup, i am thinking rationally. Thats y i said that i am 99% sure Proton WILL NEVER PUT THE BIKE INTO PRODUCTION. AND, u r right bout me being a Proton supporter. Though not 100% a Proton supporter, i have more faith in them now coz nowadays they make cars that people want at a reasonable price. Plus, they have shown more effort in taking care of their present customers. AND, about the VIVA comment, well, thats just my opinion. Surely, u have ur own opinion too, rite?

• shooter (Member) on Oct 15, 2007 at 5:58 am

Its o.k. for Dodge to make the tomahawk, but not for P1… its not like the whole company was out to build the damn thing….. and for Gods sake how expensive is the metal tubing for the frame anyway? was it titanium? alu/alloy? i doubt so… For a moment there i thought u guys were bias… c’mon guys you’re better than that……

• unlogic (Member) on Oct 16, 2007 at 3:50 am

Proton engineers watched to much American Chopper

• syanas (Member) on Oct 28, 2007 at 8:32 pm

after all, it was just a concept and suka2 (wasting time of course) ….