2008 Perodua Kembara Artist’s Impression

UPDATE: Perodua has announced that a new Kembara will be launched in mid-2008. It is expected that the new Perodua Kembara replacement will be based on the Daihatsu Bego/Toyota Rush. Click here for more details.

UPDATE: New Kembara replacement Perodua SUV spotted on Malaysian roads!

Once again Theophilus Chin has whipped up his Photoshop and created this artist’s impression of how a future Perodua Kembara replacement model could look like. He used a short wheel base Toyota Rush/Daihatsu Be-Go and slapped on the combination of a Myvi and a Viva on it, to match Perodua’s current design language.

It makes sense for the Rush to be introduced here, but what we don’t know yet is whether it will be a short wheelbase or long wheelbase version, and what badge will be on the hood. Read my commentary on that in the first link in the related posts link below.

Toyota Rush long wheelbase suitable for Malaysia?
New Daihatsu Terios announced in Indonesia
2006 Daihatsu Be-Go
Daihatsu Terios wins 4X4 of the Year 2007 Award

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aizat (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 6:36 pm

the front design is kinda awkward…………

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Oh no…sorry, but the face looks not that cool. I think Bego original design looks better. Wheel arch and side skirt colour matching with the body also looks a bit weird as well.

Long wheelbase version of Rush currently is being produced by Astra Daihatsu Indonesia. I think probably UMWT will bring in that version into Malaysia market under Toyota emblem.

I bet Perodua will be producing….ops sorry, manufacturing or maybe assembling would be the exact word ?… the short version.

Bego/Rush, Boon/Passo…exactly same cars from the same factory, except the badge.

One more thing, i bet there will be no more Kembara kind of name. Perodua is going to call their new product with a new name…that’s for sure. MyVi -> ViVa -> Va….?

• BW (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 7:11 pm

Looks like as if they put a myvi head on it… The other parts of the car are great except for the front…. Spoil everything… Sayang…

• ar (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 7:13 pm

ever seen the new daihatsu terios?
    its way better than this one

• kevyeoh (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 8:11 pm

it’s just an artist impression right?

• szw (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 8:38 pm

O DD …

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 9:08 pm

wow..use myvi headlight? haha…but i think it’ll be more or less the same with the current diahatsu terios.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 9:45 pm

more pleasing than the funky bit original, i guess
    http://upload.moldova.org/auto/Daihatsu/1.jpg

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 10:12 pm

isnt that the bloody daihatsu small mim-me rav4 we can see in singapore

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 10:14 pm

Looks kinda hapy and friendly… although I kinda like the original’s ‘slight’ garangness… btw i see lots of them driving around frm singapore :P

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 10:21 pm

anyting is beter than the curent one anyway…the one we have now is so junk…bt ive seen few with toyota badge with singapore number…looks like a mini rav4…quite ok….i tink it was a 1.3cc…nt sure if that was a short ot long wheelbase version

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 2:30 am

the size, theme and rear looks very very much alike the Suzuki SX4…

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 2:34 am

Myvi design works spot on. Putting big wheels on and making it look higher is bad. Good try on the photoshop. P2 designers take note. Don’t do this kind of design just to save money on parts

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 5:28 am

MyVi front look weird!

Theo, since Proton intend to introduce NPV in 2009, any artist impression!

• HamilTan (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 10:02 am

Suitable 2 all ladies!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 10:44 am

well, not very nice but still acceptable….

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 11:54 am

Looks like a 4×4 myvi. Should change the name from KEMBARA to MENGEMBARA. Hee! Hee!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 1:38 pm

Change from Kembara to MyAllWheel.

• transformer (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 2:23 pm

with its original size(not the LWB), and P2 tweaks, its looks very Girlie!

its a very small car indeed! Saw this in Daihatsu and Toyota before, still kembara size(with minor enlargement)!

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 3:13 pm

Its based on Daihatsu Terios and Toyota Rush..Theo just change the front a bit. 9with myvi parts of course.)

• Xylan (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 4:04 pm

i think it looks cool except 4 the front design, myvi front design. Overall it looks cool. After kembara which model will be replaced after this?

• Xylan (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 4:07 pm

what’s it’s estimated price ? (sounds like interested to buy this kembara but i’ve falled in love with the new vios)

• davidmu (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:17 am

So ugly??? crazy design

• davidmu (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:17 am

So ugly??? crazy design

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:43 am

Hey, not trying to defend myself lah but “ugly”? Frankly, is it “ugly”? Or just not your cup of tea mate?

Well, I believe there are less pleasing looking cars in the market you’ve not seen.

“Crazy”? The thing is, let’s say this is the official picture of a Toyota, or Daihatsu, will there be such comments? THINK!

*sigh*, what a start to my Monday morning.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:45 am

And I was doing the MPV based on the Gen2. Now I’ll think twice before sending them to Paul. Sorry BigFish.

I used to think people here post constructive comments.

• Freethinker (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:13 am

Hi Paul,

I have got pictures of a Toyota version of this lower scale 4WD taken when I was in Indonesia. I suppose Perodua will use the same version for local market. How can I send the pictures to you?

• BigCar (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:19 pm

i think if front is kenari sure cun…

• mmcwei (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:50 pm

why they don’t make the front as same as daihatsu terios? it will looks great…1.5 engine…okokla…if i the price below rm65000, i will be interesting to get one…mini suv!

• luqmanrohaizat (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Very nice. I think perodua should consider this u know, make it an original perodua, not just rebadging daihatsus anymore. And whats wrong wit the front.? I thought many malaysians like myvi?

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:11 pm

LIKE SHIT….NO COMMENT…

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 1:53 pm

zack_keyme988 said,
    October 23, 2007 @ 12:11 pm

LIKE SHIT….

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 1:57 pm

Your poo poo shape like vehicle (and red in colour) or you have a liking for poo poo? Already said “like shit”, wasn’t that a comment? what no comment? *sigh*

Regards,
    SHIT-CHOPPER

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 5:01 pm

stay calm guys, it just an artist’s impression.

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 5:27 pm

Not bad, maybe a more ‘garang’ look will be good…a bigger grille maybe..or maybe a less Myvi’s front lights…just my opinion..

• hetfield85 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 6:26 pm

Good news. Perodua really need a new kembara design to replace the old outdated current kembara.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 9:36 am

YES…IT IS A GOOD IMAGINATION OF NEXT PERODUA KEMBARA…BUT HOPEFULLY PERODUA WILL DO SOMETHING 2 MAKE DIFFRENT DSIGN FRM TERIOS… ONLY CUT N PASTE… NOT CREATIVE AT ALL…. NICE JOB FROM U THEO…. BUT IF PERODUA STILL MAKE COPYING 100 PRCENT FRM DAIHATSU…WE CANT CALL PERODUA AS MALAYSIAN CAR…

• aj3377 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:57 am

One more thing, i bet there will be no more Kembara kind of name. Perodua is going to call their new product with a new name…that’s for sure. MyVi -> ViVa -> Va….?

i think they will call it VaVi a.k.a Babi…

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:29 pm

Price of Perodua cars be high coz of intelligent technology by Daihatsu, but the important is size…just my comment.

• SIA C. L. (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 5:34 am

THIS NEW KEMBARA LAUCHING IN JUN BETTER BECAUSE CAR SELLING MARKET VERY LOW IN JUN.THAN CAN MAKE THE MARKET POWERFUL
    I HOPE IS KEMBARA GOT 1.3 & 1.5 MUST BE BEST SELLING IN MARKET

• driftking80 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 2:54 pm

P2, its so overprice, even its a nice car..??? thought P2 will boost sales after launching Nautica…..but i c now susah laa if at 90K…V6 better!!!

• evelyn says on May 05, 2009 at 7:40 pm

i agreed with some comments about the new kembara design…don just copy n paste from daihatsu…if not,we cant cal its as Malaysia car..just make a bit different…if not u can call it daibara…or kemhatsu…..4×4 at small size.. emm quite cute…suitable for sportives ladies…gud luck for Theo..muah..hehe

• little cocoon on May 05, 2009 at 7:47 pm

wheres the price list….im so desperate to have kembara right now….huhu…i don care about the design,as long as comfortable to drive,part is cheap,..ok for me…

• perodua fan on May 09, 2009 at 4:02 pm

HEY WAT A NICE SUV FOR MALAYSIANS.IT IT IS BETTER COMPARED TO TOYOTA RUSH BCOZ IT IS MADE IN JAPAN.RUSH IS FIXED IN INDONESIA.

• ijan fjr on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:14 pm

perodua oh perodua..is a national car??..MALUNYEEEE..just ciplak n install..then change a P2 logo..