Iran has proposed an Islamic car, and is keen to work with Proton on developing such a car for the global market.
It is proposed that Proton should work with companies in Iran and Turkey develop a car with Islamic features such as a compass to determine the Kiblat, as well as compartments for storing the Quran and headscarves.
Proton may have found a new niche here – Islamic cars, thanks to its relationship with Islamic countries such as Iran. Just a few days ago, Proton announced an export deal to supply Proton Waja taxis to Iran. I am curious why the Iran Khodro group, the manufacturer of Iran’s national car (basically a rebadge outfit making old Peugeot 405s and other Peugeot cars) has not already done this.
Proton exports 5000 Waja taxis to Iran
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Its just changing the compartments to suit Al-Quran and headscarves. The glove box might be made into partitions and its just down to the level of trim which you so choose. Placing a compass in the car at the clock will not be that hard. You can find compasses on 4×4 which are a crude but have no specific mention of kiblat direction
and whats with diesel for the turkish market
and a estate wagon? proton is sleeping, no diesel no sell in turkey
85% of new cars are diesel engined…
Oh no. What is going on?
A CAR is one of the ULTIMATE SYMBOLs of MATERIAL WEALTH.
Is Proton ready for this? I mean what happens when we start associating the new car with RELIGION?
CAR + ISLAM (or any religion) = No No
Try to imagine all the jokes people will posting when the car starts to have ‘Quality’ issues. (Think ‘Proton’)
In short, are they for REAL ???
Is the “Halal” law applicable to everything, even cars?
But gaining profits on the basis of religion, i guess its a good way to go for Proton, as the religious markets out there are in actual fact big business. Just hope that they won’t fully maximise all of their spending on projects such as these… they’ve got other issues and markets to focus on.
hopefully thy wont brand it openly as an islamic car….god know how the west will think of it in such a islam-ophobia era….
bt hey,if it has got a market for it,thn y not….
hopefully it’ll give benefits 2 all muslims
I own a Proton Hadhari..Hehehe
crazy idea n waste of money.
they r limiting their sales to muslim only.
the car will be a favourite joke target if d quality is bad (proton style la).
wot they should is try to market proton in islamic country.
sure laku one…
ewwwww all this crappy idea to boost saham p1. ewwwww associate car with religion? Pope-mobile? Mullah-mobile? Dalai-mobile? ewwwwwww sucks.
is it a wise investment for Proton? Proton you should bear in mind that you are a losing money company and should develop a car model that suitable for all people regardless religion, race and nation. how Quran can be installed in the car and can we pray while we are driving? unless you already secured order for customer, otherwise, don’t waste money and i “personally” don’t think malaysia muslim will buy this type of car. Besides than these FUNNY features, it also largely depends on how it look like and performance. lastly, car manufacturer reputation!!! if not malaysia G protection, proton hardly can survive until today!
All basher there,
Don’t under estimate the need for religous need for every product. There is demand now for those items.
I remember when i was in Dubai, a phone was shocase there has a Mecca direction, prayers times and quran recital…and it was manufactured by LG, a non-moslem country…So is it WRONG for PROTON to do the same THING ???
“For years, Proton thrived in a protected environment in which high duties were imposed on imported vehicles, forcing many Malaysians to buy Proton cars. But duties have been slowly lowered in line with a regional trade agreement, and more Malaysians are buying imported vehicles.”
What do u get from this part? If i am a foreign who read this news sure i gonna know that Proton is not a good car… Why? “more Malaysians are buying imported vehicles” and from the statistic they say only left 23% from 60%… These 2 already shown that Proton really done badly not only at foreign but also in it’s own protected country… So Proton, i think u should fix the real problem first that is to improve your quality problem and faster push out better car technology such like CPS+VIM to invate this globalization… If not, i gonna say goodbye to u or better u just sell to VW..
its good for Iran n Turkey market.. but not for malaysia i guess.. and btw, they dont pray while driving.
i saw a pic that shows the president of Iran stop at the road side to pray. Here in malaysia we dont stop at the road side to pray…
and keep in mind, Iran proposed an Islamic car, and is keen to work with Proton on developing such a car for the global market..
I think islamic car here is a feature rather than label or band. If a 4X4 already has a compas, and a compartment to store whatever ‘book’, does that also mean it is an islamic car?
typo: “rather than label or brand”
IslaMIC Car?
Which means it should have these FEATURES:
1) Long, extra Long Van – For 4 wifes, 10 kids and above.
2) Privacy Glass – To replace TUDUNG for Women.
3) Praying Timer and Emergency Parking Lights – Just in case those need to stop the car for Praying.
4) Special convertible Roof system for Praying – The roof can be modified and become a Room for Prayers.
5) Temporary Kitchen – Halal foods preparation.
Imagines how its would be? BUS or Truck?
auctioncenter2u said,
November 13, 2007 @ 9:40 am
You can propose this to the Iranian company. Besides, they (what ever company) are the one who’s seeking Proton’s expertise.
One more thing Bro. What’s the point for you to list down the so called islamic features? What’s your real intention of highligting the 4 wives? Does it means all Muslims practise poligamy and it’s a must? Be careful Bro. We dun wanna insult our friends out there. This is just a car Froum and we discuss it in the best manner. We dun need to add something that is totally out of topic. Peace Bro.
what are you trying to prove there? being sarcastic or just plain stupid?
cant you read its a proposal by Iran n Turkey and not by Proton themselves.
“It is proposed that Proton should work with companies in Iran and Turkey develop a car with Islamic features such as a compass to determine the Kiblat, as well as compartments for storing the Quran and headscarves.”
The most stupid waste of time and money – an islamic car? malaysian muslims are not so insecure that they need a car for their religious needs, surely?? don’t protons have enough storage compartments already for someone to store their koran appropriately without having to build a specially designed vehicle? we are not in desert without suraus and mosques. malaysian muslims who want to pray would have no problems finding a suitable location with the direction of mecca appropriately indicated, so where’s the need for a compass?
if iran and turkey want islamic cars, they should produce it themselves instead of dragging proton in. proton would be foolhardy to strain their already over-stretched resources to produce a product that no one in malaysia truly needs but would have to foot the cost for.
the proton brand doesn’t have any international reputation so who on earth around the world would want to buy a proton to find the direction of mecca when a RM10 pocket-sized compass would do the job just as well and for less. so that begs the next question – would malaysian muslims really want to spend at least RM40k to buy a car hold their RM10 compass?
you all should read the comments in autoblog.com about this proton islamic car. one guy even joked about this car available with self destruct function, just to link islam with terrorism activity. well what can i say, some westerners are just plain ignorant, choosing to hate when they don’t understand anything about religion.
the idea is there, to make the car as practical as possible for muslims (well, at least in iran only)
i dont think its fair to get all cynical now on the expense of other readers..
They arnt serious about this isnt it?
Islamic car,
– material are all syariah origin(or anything similar then that), means supplier are all muslim or of muslim origin, as well as not involved in anything non-syariah(like do not come from gentin group)
– a compass with a marking of the direction of mecca
– flexible chair position enable praying even while driving.
– basic model consist of a hardcopy quran compartment while high-end models will have LCD displaying Quran as well as sound surround karaokie plus echo system
– all leather in the car are halal – no pork skin.
– jawi printed on the windscreen
– a self destruct button, only available on special Iraq edition with C4 for export only, people would argue why foreigner getting more for less pay.
I am partly joking, seriously, I can never imagin how people can make a car with religion. The only freaking religious car I ever see is a coffin car dammit.
I have a friend from Iran and he says the situation over there is very chaotic. Even praying in a mosque is not safe. Therefore their needs for a kiblat compass in the car do help them to stop by wherever is convenient for their prayers.
I can stand criticisms and negative comments, but sarcasm and cynicisms especially against a religion, any religion, proves that there are bigots amongst us.
This “Islamic Car” thing is just a marketing gimmick, to attract some buyers in some countries. Personally I don’t see the things to be installed very useful, but would’nt an extra compartment be useful, even if we put something else instead of a Quran or a headscarf?
Personally, I believe that if there are ppl who wants to buy them, Islamic or not, then by all means make ’em. After all, its a buyer’s world out there.
Just when I think Proton has learnt it’s lesson and is heading towards the right direction, here it is going off digging it’w own grave again. Some people just never learn.
Like, how many people will actually buy a car just because it has a compass pointing to the Kiblat? As if a commonly available, normal, cheap compass suited to one’s personal taste wouldn’t do the job.
Perhaps the governments protrayal of Malaysia being an Islamic Country has begun to bear fruit. (as much as I detest that this is completely agaisnts our constitutional rights to declare as such).
Seriously, how difficult can it be to install a compass and some compartments for religious item storage?
This has a deeper repercussion. The only reason they are even contemplating this is because Proton is “Muslim”. The Iranian peugeots are still a “white man’s car”.
As Longjaafar has said, this is just a marketing gimmick but I’m not quite sure of why Proton wants to shoehorn itself into stereotypes instead of chasing the bigger picture.
juz my thought..
think +vely.. if dis car sells, then y not? then proton wil hav enuf $$ to improve other areas…R&D n stuffs.. i think dis features are optional..
any news on BLM?
For the wrong reasons, this car will not make it for Israel auto market.
Why not Proton come out with Jewish, Buddhist, Hinduism, Bahai, Catholics, native Pagans, Animist, Canibalism, white supremist(under ‘KKK’ model series), Scientologist, Amish, Mormons etc. Fair to all religions, please.
Each suited with religious needs, from packing some roadside bombs kit, mobile-circumcision kit(you can perform it while driving, Jews will like it), vegetarian meal cooking kit, to audio system that recognise only white artist songs, auto anti-rap for any black artist songs…all can be custom made.
Proton Boleh…to the moon pun boleh!
c’mon, why bash even in this issue. u all have developed to become bias to proton n religion, dont bash it if u dont understand it properly.
personally, i think dis is pretty good idea n open proton oversea market too, if it sells.
by the way, i think proton shud cover other segments car too seriously, like MVP or 4×4. Dropping market share from 60% to 23% is a prove how the useless are the cronies, dun think ahead for the company future but spend their street smart on how to get more money from the company.
i have no idea in this but i think this glc can do sth more meaningful to the EARTH such as green engine or hybrid or sth tat give benefits to MALAYSIANS, instead of GAIJINS or this funny funnu thingy…
hey guys what wrong with islamic car with qQuran compartment and kiblat compass i think its agood idea if u not a muslim u can put ur religous book inside it the compass u still use it to see ur direction wah its not a big deal what just put extra compartment and alittle compass maybe proton should produce car when there is demand lor if wait for malaysian lambat lah all malaysian prefere import car lor plz dont argue lah kawan maybe iranian really need what they called Islamic car lor its good opertunity for proton
sorry if my spelling not correct hahahahhaha
Did you read that, the proposal come from Iran and Turkey and not the proton itself..
Is there are a proposal (and potential market) from others religions…why not proton considered it
Max88 said:
For the wrong reasons, this car will not make it for Israel auto market.
Why not Proton come out with Jewish, Buddhist, Hinduism, Bahai, Catholics, native Pagans, Animist, Canibalism, white supremist(under ‘KKK’ model series), Scientologist, Amish, Mormons etc. Fair to all religions, please.
Each suited with religious needs, from packing some roadside bombs kit, mobile-circumcision kit(you can perform it while driving, Jews will like it), vegetarian meal cooking kit, to audio system that recognise only white artist songs, auto anti-rap for any black artist songs…all can be custom made.
Proton Boleh…to the moon pun boleh!
Paul, I beg to differ with your view on the area of niche. The car business is horrendously capital intensive. One will need a bare minimum sum of USD100million to start or stay in the game. The niche is just too miniscule to become a viable business. Unless, it becomes a state-subsidy entity, that is.
A good point albagmane, it’s time our GLC invest in NEW technology like HYBRID cars and ECO-FRIENDLY cars. Wouldn’t that sell better?
It’s just plain rediculous to associate a RELIGION with a CAR.!
If the car breaks down, Which is to be insulted? the car or the other?
Proton may build world’s first Islamic car
Posted Nov 12th 2007 10:26AM by John Neff, Autoblog.com
http://www.autoblog.com/2007/11/12/proton-may-build-worlds-first-islamic-car/
What exactly differentiates a car we might think of as “normal” from an Islamic car? For starters, it would include a compass dialed in to always point towards Mecca. It would also feature a storage compartment similar to a glove box for your copy of the Koran. Such a car is being considered for production by Proton, Malaysia’s state-owned automaker. It would be developed in cooperation with parties from Turkey and Iran and possibly based on the automaker’s Waja sedan, shown above. Proton could use a sales hit, and clearly the Islamic market is one yet to be fully tapped by automakers. We’re curious to know whether or not such a vehicle would be seen as pandering to a demographic that’s sensitive about its culture, or whether it would be embraced by people of the Islamic faith. Western religions have certainly penetrated car culture, as any person who has christened his center console with a plastic Dashboard Jesus will tell you, though we can’t remember a time when Christ was offered as a factory option.
>>>Some of the comments:
“This is so stupid and pointless. (and that car is fugly)
Any navigation system can tell you where to find mecca.
And most cars come equipped with something called a “glovebox”, that should be plenty big to store a koran.”
“I’m Muslim, and I think the idea is ridiculous. Seriously, who cares if it has a compass or an extra glove compartment to carry a Qu’ran? I’m still saving for my Chevrolet HHR. So far, got $7,000 saved up.
But yeah, myself and all Muslims I know don’t like this idea. We had nothing to do with it, so please don’t complain to us.”
“the sad thing is, the same company who makes this car is currently making lotus….”
A lot of Malaysian Proton owners seem more interested in changing their Proton to a sports car (Wajalution, Wiralution, Waja STI or whatever name you wish to call it). An Islamic car? Haha, wait and see.
Consider use back the bintang and bulan sabit logo then…
You know, the statement like “Iran has proposed an Islamic car, and is keen to work with Proton on developing such a car for the global market.” keeps people thinking, how would an “Islamic Car” would looks like? The interior all smell like islam? Or the exterior carry a mosque head?
We just curious.
Lets say something more seriously now, if proton did made the world’s first islamic car, will it be assiciated with terrolist and boycott by western countries then? Proton is already one of the last choice that western people will ever buy, and when its associate with muslim? Its effectively weed out the other half of the world population.
Thats why they change the bulan sabit to thunder cat.
Should be interesting to see all the Taoist cars, Buddhist cars, Christian cars, Hindu cars, Sikh cars, etc. ISLAMIC CAR. This is really DUH!
Hey Rexis, good observation!
heh, on the other blog, i like the part when one poster said a “Christian car” will do miracle on daily basis, and after engine died and will revive after 3 days, while another poster said “Do you mean a Chevolet?” which has a cross as logo LOL
Further thinking is like a child safe car with air bag specially designed for child passenger, or bullet proof car for obvious reason, so when you made something like a “Islamic Car”… well, it should contain nothing that violet a muslim principle as well as contain some settings that enable muslim to perform his/her duty as muslim… and we got a muslim car.
But seriously, the same idea is already used by many other industry, especially in banking and investment, we hv syariah unit trust, we have islamic banking, etc etc. Just for the purpose to get to a group of significant prospect.
lots of typo on my post, paiseh.
stupid….they dun have to design a specific islamic car..
those are only features or accesories. can be somehow add in.
i wonder.issit the glove box of a waja is not big enough to store the Quran and headscarves??
i’ll suggest get a old pajero platform vehicle. with a compass dial inside.
tat’ll be wonderful.. u can even have d rear seat folded down to giv space for ur prayer.
No reason to develop such a car. In fact, the above feature Paul just mention can make any car into islamic car anytime. cause what u need is a place to but the Quran, Head Scarf and also a compass. Car is still the same. Is not like having major changes like cars design for special people.
Come on… it is not nice to accioate company to a relegion. Porton want to conquer the world, not just islamic world. The moment proton has this islamic stuff, the west will most likely do not prefer to buy Proton brand.
Hope this will not happen. Just improve on the Quality.
It’s funny how people read the article once or twice and immediately jumped to conclusions.
I think, looking at the state Iran is in, and since they’re the ones who proposed the idea, the plan for an Islamic car might prove to be a good investment for Proton. There’s obviously demand for such cars there, hence the proposal, and Proton has been doing quite well in the Middle East market. It’s definitely a niche market, but as all niche markets are, we can’t safely predict the outcome until they’ve actually sold the product, and that’s what worries most of us.
It’s definitely no problems for Proton, since the car will be based on the Waja. As with many Proton models sold overseas, there’re modifications made to suit the region they’re sold in. Proton could simply modifiy the Waja’s interior to suit the proposal, and it surely wouldn’t cost as much to do so.
Then again, when associating a product to a religion, especially nowadays, and to Islam specifically, it will be very hard to sell. I suggest Proton to accept the proposal but market the car as a normal Waja, and not labelling it as an Islamic car.
And quality improvement would definitely help.
you guys should read and understand better.
Iran has proposed an Islamic car, and is keen to work with Proton on developing such a car for the global market.
for a company that is not as profitable as other, proton should take every chance that is given.
hmm.maybe we also don’t need the Asian, European or American label.
Wonder will all the writing such as badge and labels f the car be written in Jawi???
Cars for men and women?? Separate use of course….
Back seat be seperated as well????Maybe
He he… Sorry is I offended anyone but is just for a laugh. Thats all..
As long as there are people buying them, whatever it is called , just build it. If there is a market for it, why not? even Rolls Royce have special middle eastern specs with build in compass pointing towards mecca. If there is a demand for a christian car, then build it. Why there is a demand for islamic car i hear? To most muslims islam is their way of life, it encompasses everything that they do. So to them islam is not just during hari raya…
@Rexis
rexis said,
November 13, 2007 @ 3:03 pm
“….Thats why they change the bulan sabit to thunder cat.”
Precisely my concern. From the recent years, Proton has been trying to remake itself to be more desireable to western countries …. getting stereotyped is not exactly a good thing. This is especially detrimental as the west has already painted Islam negatively. (I wont go into the debate of who’s fault it is)
All it take is for someone like Jeremy Clarkson to make a big hoo haa, and the recent hard work of Proton will go down the drain. As someone already mentioned (jockingly, perhaps sacasticly, no doubt) its going to be a “terorist” car.
As much fun as Top Gear has been making about proton, it seem in recent years, the british public has warmed up to it.
But look at this, Iran wont go out of the way to suggest an “Islamic” car to Proton. Iran has been Muslim for ages, why now, why Proton. Its more likely the other way around……….some proton bigwig would have probably “suggested” it.