Is this the upcoming Mazda RX-9?

Mazda RX9

These are supposed to be leaked product images of the upcoming successor to the Mazda RX series of rotary coupes – the Mazda RX-9. Under the hood will be the new RENESIS 16X, a 1.6 litre twin rotor engine.

It looks like a much more toned down version of the Mazda Taiki, with the only similiarity remaining being the coupe shape and the rather extraterrestrial-looking front grille.

One more rear shot after the jump.

Mazda RENESIS 16X Rotary Engine
Mazda Taiki Concept

Mazda RX9

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 3:15 am

I haven’t got enough the white RX-8, not they going to have black RX-9?
    Wow, this is killing me!!!

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 5:11 am

hmmm weird la… very werd looking… hmmm look like bat mobile la… hmm

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 5:33 am

wat also weird except the lotus DNA in potong cars… and ur thinking also weird!

• mdjqs (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 5:56 am

nice!!! love it!

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 7:33 am

Muscular… look like Aston Martin :)

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 8:17 am

cole planet said,
    January 4, 2008 @ 5:11 am

hmmm weird la… very werd looking… hmmm look like bat mobile la… hmm
    —————————————-
    -agree with u.. like batman’s car… or maybe cicakman… hahaha

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 9:30 am

Whats wrong with the Rx-7 name? Why Rx-9? Will there be another Rx-7?

It looks weird.

I thought it was a new Mercedes coupe with a badly designed nose job before I noticed the badge.

The FD3S is still one of the sexiest cars ever made. Low, wide, curvacious, purposefull. I would still get myself one if there was a local speedshop nearby that can rebuild 13Bs….

• AmiR (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:08 am

Idea from Bat Mobile for sure….the back look so much like aston martin DB9 just the colours are diff… overall…not bad…

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:46 am

Very garang one :)

• ndmervin (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:47 am

Looks like a roadster with clothes on ..

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:54 am

looks like an aston martin from the back

• digiman (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:01 am

sweet… any idea when Mazda will put it into production?

• rexis (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:04 am

OMFreakingG, drooling. RX8 already killing me, this one nuke me.

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:04 am

Most probably a photochop. It’s nice, but I think the real deal from Mazda should look sweeter :)

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:10 am

this gar is going to be on cicakman 2..hehe

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:10 am

this gar is going to be on cicakman 2..hehe…but i really like mazda style…drool…

• Garrett (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:54 am

the headlights look like CLS, the taillights look like the old nissan fairlady

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 12:33 pm

Other than the fussy nose, this car looks awesome! Mazda was supposed to create an RX-7 replacement. Maybe this is it?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 1:07 pm

hmmm…. looks like artist impression.

not quite happy with the rear end, and the whole car dont feel as cohesive as say, the RX-8.

Maybe it’ll look better in flesh tho….

• szw (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 1:13 pm

weird…

• williaml (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 1:20 pm

The next generation Mazda RX-7 is not like that…

Zoom Zoom…

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 1:35 pm

So much to come…

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Cool…Muscular looking,

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 2:45 pm

Don’t you think it looks alot smaller than the existing RX-8? But it looks good tho…I like it…RENESIS FTW!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 2:48 pm

yea the fd3s is still the looker.

there is nothing really wrong with the current rx8. all they need to do is fix the engine.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 3:57 pm

the rear looks like it has been chop or sumthin…demn flat. and the whole body proportion is kinda wierd

• trustgtr (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 6:08 pm

I like..maybe a three rotor 1.6?? I like even more..

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 6:28 pm

haha..twin rotor…btw..anyone can briefly describe some about rotary engine leh…

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 7:51 pm

I guess that’s 19″ rim ? :)

• adlanar (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 8:00 pm

its an artist’s impression reworked on mazda’s kabura concept shown on rotarynews website last week. personally i think it really should be an rx-5 as kabura was a smaller car based on the mx-5 platform. i also think the original kabura is prettier esp the rear and the innovative (wierd) 3+1 seating.
    there’s a newer artist’s impression of the rx-9 on rotarynews this week.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 8:25 pm

looks like the manufacturer madza purposely leaked the pics to see people’s reaction over the proposed design. PR skills indeed.

• armandd (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 8:51 pm

this is a photoshopped aston DB8 lah..

• DtG (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 9:22 pm

are those audi tt headlamps??

• mejaneujoe (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 9:58 pm

wow.. a very handsome car indeed..

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:46 pm

Very muscular car, can put in 3 girlfriends in one go!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:47 pm

These are REAL functional double exhaust, not like our puny lawn mover sawi with one fake exhaust for their “limited edition”.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:49 pm

Lotus handling DNA is not up to mark to be fit into this macho car, as it is not good enough to habdle “fast & furious” engine. It is suitable for lawn mover only..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 12:40 am

i will still choose the current RX-8, looks better……

to sunsilk: find out more at wikipedia……

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 12:50 am

combination of DB9 + Merc + Audi novulari front grill

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 9:39 pm

yup… i agree with all of u that say rx-7 fd3s is the best rx ever produce… but drink petrol like coke :(

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 9:43 pm

maybe this 1.6cc rotor engine suck petrol like water… lagi die la… :(