RM400 million for Proton vendor development

Proton LogoThe Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) will be introducing financial assistance schemes for Proton vendors to increase their quality and production levels, with an allocation of RM400 million from the government’s coffers under the Automotive Industry Development Fund.

“The ministry will work with Proton to ensure that this effort is successful and hopefully producers who have been appointed as vendors to Proton (when they get the assistance) will successfully see through their efforts. We will use the money to strengthen the selected Proton vendors and raise their standards to a much higher level. This is very important,” said MITI Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 6:51 am

Another bail-out by the government for the cronies? Last year they spend RM7 billion on fuel subsidies and said it is a big burden to the G even though 27million Malaysian use this RM7 billion. Now 400 million for how many vendors?

• zidane (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:15 am

It is not just about money….

It is also about skills, expertise, desire and passion to excel….

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:59 am

increase the quality OR increase the pocket money for those vendors ‘umnoputra’ cronies?

Why should the government use rakyat funds to cover the mistakes done by the unproductive & inefficient vendors. The G (together with Proton) should set a KPI or standards for these vendors to deliver, and if they perform, only then the financial assistance is given to them. I’m sure there are some priviliged vendors out there who take things for the granted, their bottomline is money in their pockets, instead of delivering quality parts. These are the people that the government should wipe out, instead of helping them.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:10 am

Stupid, stupid stupid. Another bail out. First was the government funderd Proton dealer VSS, now this.

Why should Proton linked suppliers get help from the government, especialy they have been producing junk for the past years ripping proton owners? You can’t compete, you stay out of business.

I don’t see the government giving out subidies to non-bumi businesses? We pay the same taxes, no? And then you have the governmnet big wigs making a big hoo ha about petrol subsidies.

400mill is a lot of schools, hospitals and public transport infrastructure….

• White Jack (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:18 am

Oh no, after the election, we still have this kind of stupid idea come in. I guess we need one more election run to wipe out completely such visible obvious corruption. The parasite still alive !!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:30 am

you guys must be real keen conspiracy theorists..

why do you say its a bailout?
    dont you guys know that the very same “proton vendors” also supply other manufacturers in malaysia, and not just proton? and why should these vendors need bailouts? i’m pretty sure they must all be working around the clock trying to keep up with proton’s manufacturing capacity right now.

its a development fund, all industries in malaysia have them as well.. agriculture, biotech, schools…etc. etc. etc. just because proton is mentioned in the same sentence, you people get all excited over nothing.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:41 am

i think its really a preparation to brush up proton vendors and services, before they have to officially remove afta, since they are making a lose preserving the APs

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:48 am

ahh..proton. the saga never ends. some people here won’t admit that proton getting “life support” from goverment eventhough it’s happen. maybe some truth hurts to them. i can gerenti this thing will continue happening for another 10 years or more. you can see part of your tax money flying to proton. anyway HAPPY TAX PAYING to goverment.

• hamster (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:53 am

a business is a business is a business…all tat crap bout passion, xpertise, skills or watever needs $$ to start wit..Proton stil a GLC which generates income..its a different story if its privately own..i say dont mix business wit politics..

• najibest (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:55 am

what i heard on TV yesterday was the RM400 mil fund is to assist proton vendors to raise their standard so that they could compete on international level and not rely on supplying parts to proton alone. so i’m quite sure the RM400 mil is really for proton vendors. whether this vendors supply parts to other manufacturers, i’m not quite sure.

again, such as waste of money. while i know that yes many people would be out of job should these vendors go out of business but what have they been doing for the past 20+ years? sleeping on the job?

• farghmee (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:21 am

hohoho~

chill ma frenz!
    if they screw up this time, we punish them in the next GE ;)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:27 am

jz wait n see…btw…im with u farghmee…punish them if they screw up…

• shaif (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:57 am

Its a good what since the allocation will enable the vendor to purchase new machinery, more fund for R&D, more people get the job, more money for shopping, I mean its chain reaction can have positive effect to the economy.
    Afterall, when the parts falling down, not fit, everyone complained about it. But when Gov want to help the vendor to increase its knowledge, expertise and product quality, it will for the benefit of the consumer. And some of the vendor not only supply for Proton, it also supplier for other automotive sector. Gov wise enough to spend RM400 million for the good cause and beneficial for the country.

• baldwin (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:07 am

listen and watch first la. Whichever way they go around will still get back their ‘abang, adik’ punya company producing crappy cars which will slowly kill Proton again!

• mr_em (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 11:34 am

what the ****?

RM400m is better used and spent to give free education for the rakyat or better roads…. not pass it on to some selected vendors who are not competitive for the last 20 yrs or so, and then some more, been given assistance to be competitive… have they actually analyse why they are not competitive in the first place?

After more than 20 years, shouldn’t MITI let the uncompetitive ones get eliminated from the Automotive Industry? Giving them assistance doesn’t solve their long-term issues and problems, it may only serve to prolong their survival (at the suffering of others) but nothing more, as eventually, if the same system that remains in placed eg AP, Proton itself, protection tariff (which is badly flawed), these lousy vendors will just suck up the fund dry….

The major component (engine, brakes, electronics, gearbox, airbags, safety equipment, lights etc) manufacturers that supply parts to Proton are probably overseas company that already set up their operation in Malaysia. These ones are probably already supplying parts to other car makers. They dont need the assistance.

It doesnt take a genius to know that the uncompetitive vendors are most likely the ones supplying low quality interior/plastic mouldings, rubber parts, bumpers, seats, cushion, fabric, that ridiculous stupid steering wheel etc etc…

All in all this could be the new MITI minister first blunder…. all the best in the next (13th) GE….

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 12:09 pm

mr_em, ur statement on “The major component (engine, brakes, electronics, gearbox, airbags, safety equipment, lights etc) manufacturers that supply parts to Proton are probably overseas company that already set up their operation in Malaysia. These ones are probably already supplying parts to other car makers. They dont need the assistance.

It doesnt take a genius to know that the uncompetitive vendors are most likely the ones supplying low quality interior/plastic mouldings, rubber parts, bumpers, seats, cushion, fabric, that ridiculous stupid steering wheel etc etc… ” is very old style malaysian thinking…u js thought only foreign company have the capability to produce good product while ours dont, u better search for fact before u ever give such statement again!

anything related or indirectly related to proton always create hoo ha in discussion, too many emotional voters in malaysia…

• moonier (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 1:03 pm

there is no point if we just spent for the development but didn’t do the supervision n etc..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 1:06 pm

“anything related or indirectly related to proton always create hoo ha in discussion, too many emotional voters in malaysia…”

And why is that a bad thing? Unless you are one of those subcribing to the infamous malaysian “tidak apa” attitude.

Proton and its suppliers in our eyes is just like a 30 year old spoilt brat. Always on the handout from daddy. Perhaps we would be more forgiving if tenders and such is open on more fair grounds….so we can have open competition on who is the “best”. How do you improve when there are no risk to “loosing”?

and someone could be right, it may be Muhyiddin Yassin first blunder. Really…it doesn’t take long for them to “abuse” the system.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 1:16 pm

“Gov wise enough to spend RM400 million for the good cause and beneficial for the country.”

Are you really sure its for the country or to line certain people’s pocket with money? Is that wahat they tell you? And you believe??

The ecomomy is on a downturn globally, when it comes to Fiscal policy, it is great that the Government is spending money to create jobs to float the economy. That is not what is questioned. What is questioned is the potential returns to that investment.

400mill could be better spent somewhere else to generate better returns to the economy.

This is not the argument on if the government should spend money, but more on what it spends it on. Plenty of other companies in malaysia manufactures and exports our products (for example, we export 95% of our production), I don’t see the government giving us a few million to upgrade our machinery? What we are not Malaysian company? What is so special about Proton suppliers then? (i’m not going to state the obvious).

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 1:37 pm

OMG, another bail out by our GOVT.

Hey Proton and GOVT. If Proton is a Business venture and if it ain’t making money, then it’s a failure. Then close down Proton, and its supplier or whoever involved. Yet, the GOVT, is using rakyat money to support such nonsense. What a bunch of fat leaches!

Reality Check 101:

BUSINESS MEANS MAKING PROFIT. No business done in the world is supposed to loose money, and yet being supported by the GOVT. I guess this is the first in the world, yeah, rite….Meresia boleh

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 1:39 pm

Hard earned money just wasted like that…

• adunadun (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 2:17 pm

i think zainal really to push vendor since he show some improvement in P1. then all these vendor whether they
    1.really need money to upgrade some equipment. (20year with broken power window still tak boleh untung/buy new equipment ke?)
    2.OR want to take& run away with the money before totally close down.
    …Believe me minister wll always try to save they supporter….hehe..dont tell anybody loh

• pycazu (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 2:26 pm

For whatever purpose this big sum of money go to these vendors, it not going to be a healthy practise to revive so-called Quality and Improvement. Automotive is such competitive market, even some big giant companies can not quite catch-up with it.
    The business should not be involve government funding anymore, the market would rule you out if you unable to compete, simple food chain.

• I my (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 2:38 pm

what kind of Bxxx Shxx is this??!!!!

I also hope the G can give this kind of $$ for our ind., too. FxxK!!!

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:10 pm

umnoputra currently don’t have much money.
    since Wilayah, selangor, & penang (money’s mine) under PR.

Sadly.. they choose proton to be proxy. :(
    pity and poor proton.. why you?

BTW, automotif is really bring big money.. at least for japan and german right now..

All the best proton. Just wait for PRU13.. you should be okay then..

• Hybrid (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 4:05 pm

The words vendors sounds interesting ! What the crab RM 400 million, enough to feed them all or not? Why not more? Just another 400 million to fill up the deep blue sea with hell a lots of Great White SharK !

• drebar (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 4:31 pm

if things are just gonna be the same, then just bring back rafidah! simple…

RM4OO mill… i want to be proton vendor too! i can supply car stickers to proton…i don’t want much… just gimme RM5 mill to start the company…. most probably 2 or 3 mill will go into my pocket… kekekeke…..

anyone remember the RM4 billion saved from fuel subsidy years ago?? they said it will be used to improve public transport… wow… our public transportation really improve a lot leh…. leh leh leh leh….

• infinity (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 5:00 pm

paul, i would like to verify something…this 400million is GIVEN to proton vendors or just LOAN to proton vendors?

if given to them, then it’s plain stupid…but if loan to them, i would say it’s a good move…if the plan works, in which the quality of proton cars improve, then it’ll be faster for us to achieve the open market scenario which everyone is hoping for…(hopefully the gov have such intentions…haha)

• Hybrid (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 5:42 pm

What is the different between “given” & “loan” for the “Pee” industry? Left pocket in, Right pocket out, anyway. if can’t pay, see who are the unfortunate rich grandfather company will have to bare with that amount, most of the time is the “Grandfather Of Victory”, Who’s money is that? Everybody knows….That’s how their economy cycle.

• LHQ (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 6:40 pm

Yet again to some **** like this, y don’t just the gov just giv the money back to Proton to produce much more better car, rather than keep busy looking left and right while u just onli need to go straight.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:00 pm

infinity said,
    April 18, 2008 @ 5:00 pm

if given to them, then it’s plain stupid…but if loan to them, i would say it’s a good move…
    —————————————————————-

Yup agree with you, but the government should not be spoon feeding them.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Hah Malaysian automotive vendors are real suck. I really mean this. Those in control are the bloody cocky and useless fellas.

Nobody please don’t try to preach me that this fund is going to be used for upgrading the facilities, machineries or workforce skills and expertise. Bullshite..If that was their real intention, then they’ve already been doing that since 20 years ago. And believe me, they have a lot of monies in their own coffer which should be used to fund their own businesses.

They make stupid and inferior parts. If there’s any big trouble and you call them for a meeting, they will never fail to send in their coolies.
    You ask the coolie to pass you his boss contact number and you call the boss. You ask him where he’s about. He might answer that he’s on the green, trying to concentrate on putting the ball into a hole. Should he comes the next day, he’ll come either with a big Merc, BMW or Audi just to show you who’s superior now..

Then now they’re talking about helping this kind of goon with RM400 million fund?
    Doom !!

• ezralimm (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:04 pm

Keep in mind that the australian car industry is far more mature than malaysia’s, yet…The Australian Government spends about RM1200 million (RM1.2billion) a year on developing the local car industry.

This does not include the tax rebates (lost revenue) given to the local manafacturers.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:07 pm

oh sh.it, this is like spending on Soofiah, the BRITISH whore.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:18 pm

i want to see the local vendor list on the internet for Proton. and try to find out who they are, y we shu give them money. for example, who supply them power window? who supply them wheels? just wondering, can’t proton make it’s own power window?

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:12 pm

My foreign friend used to comment about us malaysians. We are never sincere enough to improve ourselves. We always jump to conclusions and applying countermeasures without even knowing the root cause. We do it just for the sake of ‘to be seen doing’.

Having new shiny rapid fire machines doesn’t always equals to good quality products (Gen 2s are made in THE MOST ADVANCED AUTOMOTIVE PLANT IN THE WORLD).

Little doubt these vendors will succeed in meeting Proton’s standard (the LOWEST standard among car makers I guest), but to succeed in the real world? Hmmm…Even some of Proton top performing vendors (they have certificates to prove!) are struggling to meet foreign manufacturers’ requirement in Malaysia.

Malaysian auto industry is a laughing stock even among the Thais and Indons. Proton is proud to boast their presence in Thai, but who can’t? Just send your car across the border and take pictures with a few Thai journalists.

• volvolover (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:56 pm

I think this is rubbish, it’s like you buy a product from one company and I have to pay money and the government is paying money for that company to provide proper goods, that doesn’t make sense, don’t make good enough quality, find a new vendor. Pure and Simple. So why don’t the government pay money to every company I buy goods from and give them money so the goods are higher quality?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:14 pm

Obviously something is not right. Incompetent suppliers should be removed , re-qualify new suppliers and bring the qualified ones in.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:30 pm

Got a big dilema la. Cheaper to import parts from dragonland, but Gov don’t want support industry to collapse if proton takes from overseas. So proton has to take from local parts.
    If bail out proton, people said already, better let VW take over. So better “help” the support structure. IF can help then make quality parts, low price=proton can buy lower price but still sell at same price to people to get extra profit.

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:56 pm

What the…….?!

Oh come on!! This can’t be real! How will it be justified? Ok I forgot… most expenses by the govt are hard to justify anyway…

• little_momo (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:33 am

HEY BN’s PROTON… I want my money back!!!

• superookie (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:39 am

23 yrs, but still need spoon fed.
    As usual, special treatment for special kids.

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 1:53 am

proton sure is going to fail one…..just help us save face around the world, spare us the agony and kill it faster. anyone who can just stop buying proton. though indirectly you are still supporting proton one way or the other but its time to stand up for ourselves and tell proton or any other car manufacturer that they need to give us top notch quality products for the cheapest price.

if there is a mistake they need to fix it in a snap. especially when we need to spend more than half our salaries on cars.
    send them a message that if you provide a lousy car on the market, its time for you to leave the malaysian car market.

by having proton giving you crap products and refuse to bow to any public pressure, other car manufacturer’s are just going to take it easy and shaft you over like proton does. why try harder??? if proton can do it, they can do it.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 1:57 am

i dont really agree with that.they should already kill those vendors that is making lots of money but giving not-so-quality products. doing this will just make them fell good in their comfort zone and the one that suffers are us the rakyat.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 9:16 am

noactiontalkonly said,
    “My foreign friend used to comment about us malaysians. We are never sincere enough to improve ourselves. We always jump to conclusions and applying countermeasures without even knowing the root cause. We do it just for the sake of ‘to be seen doing’.”

Sir, you really hit the nail hard right into the bloody head…I second you for this.

• mr_em (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 9:50 am

Mr Fastcx,

from your statement:
    “is very old style malaysian thinking…u js thought only foreign company have the capability to produce good product while ours dont, u better search for fact before u ever give such statement again!

anything related or indirectly related to proton always create hoo ha in discussion, too many emotional voters in malaysia…”

you could be the one with the old-style thinking because if you support the concept of spoon feeding a business.

all I can say is that if you are the open, forward thinking type you wouldn’t bother defending something that is FLAWED. Proton and its vendor business model is FLAWED. That’s why the last 22 years we got a lot of crap from them. Only the past 1-2 years that they finally wake up. I didn’t say that they did not improve the past year or two. If I see genuine improvements I will applaud the efforts. Lets be constructive rather just blindly support all effort without thinking about its side effect.

But then again, if you are the affected proton vendor(s), or the ****putras, or the ones who like to receive subsidies taken from the TAXES that I paid for by working in my beloved country, my view is THAT RM400 MILLION IS BETTER SPENT ON BETTER ROADS AND SAFETY TO CAUSE LESS ACCIDENTS AND SAVE PRECIOUS LIVES, RATHER THAN SPENT ON PEOPLE OR COMPANY THAT DO NOT KNOW HOW TO RUN A BUSINESS.

btw, i have a friend who work in Proton in the engine casting division and a cousin who used to work in one of the vendor supplying Gen-2 taillights (the plastic are crap, he once shown sometimes how the moulding doesnt fit properly) (good for him, he moved to the teaching profession). So when i say all the above, i did searched for facts first.

I know the new Saga gearbox are sourced from Aisin, and the Savvy ones from Renault components. I DIDNT SAY ALL FOREIGN PARTS ARE GOOD. I ALSO DID NOT SAY ALL LOCAL SUPPLIERS ARE CRAP. A FEW MAY BE GOOD. BUT THE ONES THAT WILL SUCK THE RM400MILLION WILL BE THE ONES LAGGING BEHIND ALL THESE YEARS. I DID MENTION IN MY POST THAT HAVE THEY(GOVT) DONE A PROPER ANALYSIS WHY THESE COMPANIES ARE NOT COMPETITIVE IN THE FIRST PLACE? PROVIDING RM400MILLION FUND MAY NOT BE THE ANSWER. THE ANSWER COULD BE THINGS SHOULD WORK ON A MERIT BASIS NOT “WHOM I KNOW” OR “WHAT SORT OF CABLE I GOT” BASIS. Another solution could be changing the people or its mentality. Like your own mentality for example, no pun intended.

You see fastcx, you may be the clever engineer, you could be technically more clever than anyone here, but when it comes to business there is no such thing as surviving on a hand-out or getting spoon-feed from your mama or papa. Not especially when you are more than 20 years old, DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY RELATED DOESNT MATTER.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 9:51 am

1)” People want quality car! We can’t produce higher quality product coz our vendors can’t. They need fund to increase their capabilities. Please help! ” said Proton top management.

2)”We will use the money to strengthen the selected Proton vendors and raise their standards to a much higher level. This is very important,” said MITI Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

3)”Good job Proton (or should it be Gov?) !!!! Keep up the good work!!! said hardcore Proton fans & some people.

4)”What all this? Gosh.. i really hate to pay my income tax!!! ” said Proton hater & most of the people.

5)”I’m speechless” said me… LOL :)

p/s: a few resignation from top Proton guys recently & now this? what really happen?

• Max88 (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 10:18 am

“…We will use the money to strengthen the selected Proton vendors.. ”

RM400m to protect, strengthen mediocrity?

What are the details/breakdowns of this spending?
    Who are the selected vendors and why these vendors?
    Who are the beneficiaries of these vendors(shareholders, proxies, nominees, crooks etc)?

Muhyiddin should disclose all these lunacies at Dewan Rakyat to all MPs, in fairness to all rakyat as taxpayers before this RM400m gone into thin air as usual.

Using terms to describe it such as ‘sunk cost’, ‘mediocrity cost’ etc is optional.

• dewasemut (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 1:25 pm

2002 Waja’s Owner parts replacement list:-

Odometer – after two weeks using the car!
    Power window (driver side) – 4 times! (after 3 replacement with original parts, i finally give up and replace it with aftermarket scissor type mechanism – better)
    Power window main switch (drive side) – 2 times (the factory fitted malfunction after 5 years but 1st replacement malfunction after 2 weeks!)
    3 out of 4 door handles.
    Sun Visor
    Glove box door handle
    Wiper Link
    Fuel pump
    All 4 suspension link
    Change more than once absorber front and back within first two years itself (during warranty period). After that used other brand.
    Side mirror’s paint chipped after 1 year or so. Service centre said cannot claim – not under warranty. Just leave it be since then.

I’m very sure a lot of you guys facing similar kinds of situation if not worse.

But thank God my car never broke down anywhere till now. My Waja never fails me to reach any destination. But, the quality of the parts that kills me!
    Sometimes I think the vendors did it on purpose, producing sub-standard goods so that poor proton owners have to keep buying the replacements over and over again, so that they can become richer and richer!

And NOW the Govt want to give this people RM400MIL???? How can victims like me can accept this?

• chap_de_x (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 5:23 pm

if the 400 million is given base on loan…its great effort…but if its just given like that…its pure stupid for the new minister…or can i say smart move to full his pocket in short term…government should put standard target to all the vendors to reach..if they dont meet the standard, the loan given to them must be paid back to the government with high interest in short period of time. if they meet the standard and keep it maintain…the loan must be paid back in equal amount or with little interest with longer payback period time. this i think the right method in helping those vendors…..and proton should monitor all the vendors tightly…reject all of the parts if many defect founded in one batch of parts…drop any incompetent vendor….bcoz for me…not fully p1 fault producing low quality product. but the vendor is the main culprit….the problem is always about power window, glovebox, switches…etc…major system of the car…is great

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 11:08 pm

chap_de_x said,
    April 19, 2008 @ 5:23 pm

bcoz for me…not fully p1 fault producing low quality product. but the vendor is the main culprit….the problem is always about power window, glovebox, switches…etc…major system of the car…is great
    —————————————————————-
    Proton must take full responsibility for their low Q products as these problems already persisted for too long. What they’re doing all these while? I bet their QC department are made up of bunch of monkeys!! I already gave up replacing the fallen bits from my wira.. don’t want to give any more money to those idiots!

If the gov really sincere in developing (more like desperate rescue effort for me) local auto industry, why they discriminate between Proton and non-Proton vendors?!

• azhar167 (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 9:40 am

After 20+years in the business of supplying overpriced low quality parts to plotong, yet these vendors cannot invest in their own business to upgrade their own equipment and tooling. Then they should not be in the business at all.

If the government is to release our tax $$$ to these vendors, then this same government must have a plan for the recovery of this same $$$ + interest either by factoring the equipment upgrade or providing the financing via a soft loan. That way, the $$$ don’t get burned and the recovered fund can revolve into helping other vendors or even other industries.

Other arguments like ‘national pride’ or ‘strategic business’ no longer hold any water. Government accountability is paramount.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 9:53 am

i cant believe some of the immature comments here…

rm400 million is a small sum for a relatively large industry in malaysia. the govt has budgets and funds for all industries in malaysia, and not just the automotive. in fact, its the practice of all countries to boost their industries by injecting funds. maybe you guys should find out what other industries are getting before opening your mouths. when you talk about education in comparison to this, education already has a huge sum allocated for it by the govt, likewise medical care…etc.

improving vendors is not only good for proton, but also good for the whole country and its economy. Some of these vendors already supply other car makers like honda, toyota…etc.

look at thailand, having a strong vendor base allows them to even sell components and parts around the world and not just domestically.

please open up your minds.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 1:12 pm

@Banyak

Its fine if the Budget was for ALL DESERVING vendors of the automotive sector.

Its not fine if its just for Proton Vendors.

There is a distinction here.

Proton vendors are a farce in quality and management, and they already enjoy protected status (Bumi and Proton/Goverment). Even then, they still suck. Do they need help, yes, but why? They had thier chance, but instead ripped us all off. I would gander that most of these vendors have links to the BN government. Using public funds, looking after your own people, eh?

So the sticker vendor that did the stickers for the old Wiras that cost each of us $150 should get help then? right….

Other more deserving sectors of the automotive should be given the help they need. I for once would like to see a non-bumi, non-government/politically linked company get the funds and see how well they do. Not going to happen right?

• superookie (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm

i doubt they will improve.
    *poof*.. there goes our hard earned money.

• mr_em (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 8:54 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    April 21, 2008 @ 9:53 am

“i cant believe some of the immature comments here…

rm400 million is a small sum for a relatively large industry in malaysia. the govt has budgets and funds for all industries in malaysia, and not just the automotive. in fact, its the practice of all countries to boost their industries by injecting funds. maybe you guys should find out what other industries are getting before opening your mouths. when you talk about education in comparison to this, education already has a huge sum allocated for it by the govt, likewise medical care…etc.

improving vendors is not only good for proton, but also good for the whole country and its economy. Some of these vendors already supply other car makers like honda, toyota…etc.

look at thailand, having a strong vendor base allows them to even sell components and parts around the world and not just domestically.

please open up your minds”.

—————————————————————

it is this kind of mentality that will make the common hardworking people suffer. RM400million is a small sum? No wonder we see a lot of wastage from our Govt becos everything is taken on a relative context.

So what is a couple of billion on a few submarines, monsoon cup etc etc etc. They are a small sum compared to etc etc etc….

And to be fair, what makes you think that you can say others here make immature comments. They are entitled to their views just like you are entitled to make your point here also. Agreeing with Govt view makes you or us more mature is it???

By the way, you mentioned “look at thailand”… as a good example, but our automotive industry are not structured like Thailand. You see, you yourself suggested Thailand, which i agree as a good model, but then Thailand have no national car maker to protect and that is why their auto industry is booming becos of good & healthy competition!!!!

• kruzer (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 11:56 pm

Sad to read this during tax payment month!!

The RM400m shuold be given to us tax payers so that we can buy more protons. Proton makes more cars, and buy more components from the cronies, I mean vendors, and they end up with more $ale$ and money… Makes the world and $$ go round. Tax payers are happy. They also won’t curse that much when the power windows fail, door handle fail, etc…

• cetait (Member) on Apr 22, 2008 at 2:00 pm

LOL did you really just equate funding education and health care with subsidizing a coddled group of crony spare parts peddlers that have already enjoyed protected status for 20 years?

• jagermeister (Member) on Apr 22, 2008 at 7:54 pm

Great, another bail-out or handouts,at the expense of tax payers,again!
    Getting excited over nothing?

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 9:52 am

dang…!

never ending story.. vendor development? disguise only. its a blatant misuse of public fund again. emm it is not misuse if no need to pay back.. its throwing it away.

Muhyiddin, if u really want to give this money jugak aaa … make it a commercial loan arrangement. With Interest la…, BLR -1.5% ka, and of course need to pay back. bukan sign loan agreement main-main.

Why cannot…?

Itu PTPTPTPTPTPN pun kena interest, lagi tinggi the %, that for future generation education some more.what.. development jugak kan.. apa itu.. modal insan??

ini PTPTPTPTPN kalau tak bayar nanti silap2 mau masukkan nama dalam paper, court etc…. but which are more important to PM, Proton vendor or MALAYSIA future modal insan?

ini modal apa? vendor proton? itu saja ? how many get the rm400 juta?? 20 -40 companies directors? what the ROI on this? who will ensure monitoring of this investment result? Accurate monitoring, not make-believe numbers n reports.

ini issue aaaaa… why can’t these vendors just get commercial loan from banks? there is a lot of banks that belongs to ‘you guys’ rite? Use ya own money!

Rakyat money should be channeled back to rakyat-oriented project. and this vendor development is not rakyat-oriented project. Is it a hospital? a road? balairaya? home for the very poor? .. hail NO.

Businesses such as proton or its vendor must get capital from money-lending businesses e.g. banks. No OUR money. for FREE.

• firefox (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 3:45 pm

Ai, this is there standard la, 400 million, maybe 200m is masuk own pocket, whos know, ada project and fund, ada masuk pocket, tiada project and fund, tak masuk lo. so let drive CKD basikal la.