New Honda Jazz to be launched this year!

Honda Jazz

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has announced that the second generation Honda Jazz will be launched before the end of the year. The new Jazz has continued in the award-winning footsteps of its predecessor and has recently been voted Japan’s Car of the Year 2007/2008. It will probably pick up a few more awards locally once introduced here.

There are a few changes to the Jazz, for those who are used to the first generation Jazz’s dual engine variants. With the new Jazz, i-DSI has dropped out of the picture and there are only 1.3 and 1.5 litre i-VTEC engines.

The CVT gearbox remains but seems to be offered in Japan only at the moment (where it is called the Honda Fit), with our region getting a 5-speed automatic with dual overdrives for lower highway cruising engine RPM.

For more information on the new Jazz, refer to the link below, or watch some promotional videos on the Jazz/Fit after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 6:24 pm

dual overdrives??means 5+2??anybody knows…

Paul Tan says: its 3+2. some 5 speed has single overdrive which is 4+1, with more closer gears for acceleration

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 6:52 pm

So this car is meant for fuel economy with its setup. Before end of the year, for Honda usually means Q4

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:17 pm

eh, i don’t understand. This is a nice, cheerful & great car to own but why the Japan put that ADD showing dinosaurs for it first impression?
    i guess they good at design car but not in advertisement, Hehe

• transformer (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:23 pm

Paul,
    Any idea if its made-in-japan or made-in-bolehland ?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:26 pm

The prices for sure will shunt you away. Don’t expect anything below 100k

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 11:54 pm

Jazz said: Yaris and Colt, move aside please (as usual and always, haha)

Myvi said: hey, I’m the boss in Malaysia, wakaka~

• azrai (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 7:00 am

Better late than never. Time for bargain on the current Jazz. It will be the Tomyamland mande one. But so expensive even AFTA on effect.

• Skymobile (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 7:37 am

I would rather believe our region will have same model like what launched in Thailand. IMO, it should be 5 speed AT meanwhile the highest spec should have the paddle shift.

• Skymobile (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 7:42 am

we may end up with silent cos the price may let us down. If not mistaken, New Jazz is CBU model instead of CKD just like what the current model did.

But we should glad because New City should have the sames spec like New Jazz even though we dun know when it launch but I believe the price should be cheaper than Jazz.

• ys (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 8:27 am

rather buy a bigger cc car with 100k than this tinny little monkey

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 10:02 am

“Japan put that ADD showing dinosaurs for it first impression?”
    if you’ve ever been to japan, or had the opportunity to see japanese advertising, you will know that their advertising caters specifically to their own markets only and never used elsewhere in the world. its because no one else other than japanese seems to like or understand what they’re trying to say in general

• hafizzul (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 1:23 pm

Bila nak lancar??Harap harga murah sikit laaa…

• becool (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 4:12 pm

Paul the new Jazz from Thailannd is no longer use CVT type gearbox. I don’t know why they decide to “move” away the 7-speed CVT gearbox in the current Jazz/City…is it due to stability issue? :p But hack this is something to look forward!… the current CVT is really no joke to replace a new one need to pay sky high price over RM20K! HM is really KNS in overcharging it!

• King Samurai (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 4:44 pm

The dinosaur TVC themed as ‘evolution’.That’s what Honda engineers did..the 2nd gen Fit/Jazz is an evolution from the previous gen. Pushing every angle of the 1st gen Jazz to its limit and evolved to this new model.

Heard from my SA fren, training already started this month!! Meaning that this car is going to launch somewhere next month. Sooner than expected..I’ll somemore info on what spec we’ll be getting in this bolehland when my SA cameback from training. So the info i’ve got this car still Siam mari…same like the current jazz..but tomyumland got 5 specs all together..

• corollaaltis (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 5:21 pm

transformer said,

July 2, 2008 @ 11:23 pm

Paul,
    Any idea if its made-in-japan or made-in-bolehland ?

———————————————————–
    Maybe is from thailand

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 8:28 pm

NICE CAR

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 12:47 am

To me the torque curves are impressive. But you’ll only benefit it from a manual as the power (both torque and bhp) is somewhere north of 5000 rpm. Yeah, you’ll have 120Nm from start, which is good, but its a compromise for reliability ainit? And a 3 drives + 2 overdrive? Yup, trying to sell on fuel efficiency I guess. With extended track AND wheelbase, you’d think the weight went up too?

I don’t think the price would reach 100k as this would be part of the Japan-M’sia FTA thingy. But it does start to sound a bit boring since they’ve shoehorned K20s stateside on Fits and we get this slushmatic.

• nivlektay (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 10:22 pm

WOW…really nice car, just love the interior very stylish…hopefully the price will not be too high

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jul 06, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Front = Viva
    Rear = Rush/Beego/kembara
    the price will suck you!

• indigo (Member) on Jul 06, 2008 at 10:57 pm

Too bad, it is already every where in Thailand and Singapore. I had seen them all over. Malaysia is slow. Local cars came out slow and imported cars also. We are already a lot behind.