Initial photos of new 2009 Mazda3 released!

2009 Mazda3

Mazda has released three photos of the upcoming new 2009 Mazda3 Sedan, which will replace the current Mazda3 which was launched about 5 years ago. It will be officially unveiled to the public at the 2008 Los Angeles Auto Show on the 19th of November 2008.

The model being unveiled will be the sedan version designed for the North American market. It will come with a choice of 2.0 or 2.5 litre engines, which are actually rather larger for a C-segment sedan, but hey – we’re talking about the Americans and their love for large engines after all!

It looks rather like a downsized new generation Mazda6. The hatchback version will be revealed later, and probably the Mazdaspeed3 sometime after! There will probably be minor styling variations with the design for other markets – bumper and tail lamps.

Look for two more photos after the jump.

2009 Mazda3

2009 Mazda3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mazda always come up with excellent design…

• Arcane (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:11 pm

squint, and I can can see styling cues from the Rx-8. especially in the first primary pic of the car from front 3/4

• Arcane (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:12 pm

squint, and I can see styling cues from the Rx-8. especially in the first primary pic of the car from front 3/4

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:25 pm

Nowadays when it comes to Japanese marques, Mazda has always got the best styling, together with Honda.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:27 pm

thumbs up for mazda! but hey! why in form of 2L engines? instead we already have it in form of mazda6.
    hope that for asia, mazda3 will be offered with 1.6L engine..
    Eh? akward fuel lid aah?

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:47 pm

Nice, very nice…

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Need more pictures from Mazda. Initial impression is that the front is reminsce of MX-5 (which is good) without resorting to KATO with its own distinct features. The rear is similar to the new Mazda 6 with its upwards slanting rear lamps at the side.

Overall, the lines work from the front slanting upwords giving it a very nice profile.

An alternative to Vios and City, but at a price.

• ragnahse (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:52 pm

on a separate note..i got to see te mazda 6 liftback in real….n wow does it look really really really gud in life…especially te rear part of it….mazda is definitely comin up with good lookin cars these days..

• abtm (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:54 pm

the rear is cool, like a samurai..

• arch747 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 1:06 pm

it’s more an alternative to Civic and Altis, not City and Vios. It’s the Mazda 2 is an alternative to them, or is Mazda2 is an alternative to Jazz & yaris? Hey, when Berjaya is going to bring in Mazda2?

• xatomic (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 1:18 pm

i shall wait for this …any idea when it will come to Msia? :)

I guess it would be range between 130-140k?

• mct (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 1:28 pm

mazda 3 current is selling at 100k~133k
    so this mazda 3 could not be more than that
    btw, the facelift rx8 will be launch within this year by berjaya

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:03 pm

a 1.8 or 2.0 may be adequate as a 2.5 might be too much on a C segment car. The variant offered is not much differ from the Mazda 6. How would they differentiate their market between Mazda3 and Mazda6 if both series carries the same discplacement.

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:08 pm

mazda has done wonders in the 2.5litre in the current 6. very fuel efficient. could potentially be better in the smaller mazda 3.

looks like another best seller. cant imagine a competitor product that looks as good. ford focus gets old very quickly.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:19 pm

This is simply beautifully crafted.

And it ain’t gonna look dated for the next 8 years i tell ya.

Another kudos for Mazda!

• ksec (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:29 pm

will we get EcoBoost and DSG from Ford?

If we do then it will be the perfect car for me

• csv (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:19 pm

nice design, but i dont like the rear bumper, too extended.

when it comes here, i believe mazda gonna fit in a 1.6 or 1.8 liter engine, since the mazda6 already has the 2.0 and 2.5 liter engine.

doesnt make sense to cannibalize their own market.

• torque (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Man, always love the Mazda 6 looks but it’s the price that are rather high. Now, we can have the best of both world…the looks and the slightly lower price. Since the current model sold around 110k – 130k, I’ll bet that this new version will be sold here slightly above 135k. I have no objection on that since I’ve test drive the current Mazda 3 and the new Mazda 6. Seriously, those who actually own one…don’t think of selling it even after a couple of years using it. It’s a damn nice car!

arch747,

Bro (I’m with you), if Berjaya gonna bring the Mazda 2, then perhaps they also should consider bringing in the current world most powerful FWD model as a limited edition…which is the Mazdaspeed 3 MPZ (2.3 liters in-line 4 turbocharged, 280 BHP, 380 Nm). What?! We Malaysian don’t deserve one meh? :-)

Good job Mazda! Looks to me like a phoenix has arise from the ashes…

• niGht kiD (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:53 pm

What a sexy beauty! Looking forward to the hatchback version!!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 6:19 pm

looks damn nice….nowadays hardly u see cars with original design..this one ticks all the boxed….front rx8…rear really nice….!

• szw (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 8:40 pm

lights reminds me of mazda 6

• jehutyz (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 8:43 pm

Wooo it really like a small ver of Mazda 6.
    Hmmm this Mazda 3 really nice coz i like Mazda 6 a lot.

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 9:29 pm

i’d hit it… 3 times!

• h2k (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 9:38 pm

thumbs up to the new cool design…looks larger than the current model…need to save $ now for it :P

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 10:43 pm

Damn nice! I wish this model will be a hotseller so toyota will learn a lesson when they build a car without soul they are going nowhere.

• Beemer Freak (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 12:24 am

Ya i agree with MisterBenjo on the toyota issue. Hopefully Mazda packs this piece of baby with standard equipment found in the mazda 6 as well, like paddle shift, cruise control, start-stop button, and maybe even a sat-nav. This will throw Toyota back to the stone age and let UMW realise what they need to bring in to Malaysia.

• kheekuan (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 12:40 am

if bermaz plannning to launch this somewhere around the region of 90+ to 110+, i believe it would outsold Civic, Jazz or Altis.. i personally would consider it as a good alternative to Honda or Toyota driving one of the unique rides around.. just like owning an alfa as opposed to owning a beemer or benz.. :P

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:36 am

I remember the launch of the original Mazda 3. It looks good now as it did then. It had the 2.0L as standard and the 2.3L (and the 2.3L Turbo in the Mazdaspeed3) as the optional engine so in North America, big engines are the norm.

• tikus (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:03 am

Nice work Mazda I love it ,but rakyat barely afford to own them so wait for used…..too bad.Wonder went Jap Afta will be ink.

• ReactiX (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 9:24 am

Very nice design indeed. Last Mazda3 still looks sexy to me, but this one is burning even hotter!

• mazda fanz (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 12:15 pm

The new Mazda 3 looks even sportier than the new Mazda 6.
    The price would be slightly higher than the old one as it deserves.
    Too bad paddle shift and start button is only availalbe in full spec Mazda 6 2.5 , so it is impossible to happen in a Mazda 3

• DRC (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 4:55 pm

I am staying in East Malaysia. One issue when buying ‘orphan’ cars HERE, like Mazda 6 (my dream car), or Civic Hybrid etc, is the issue of maintainence. I really don’t know if there will be mechanics who can service the car well or repair them properly. UMW wins in East Malaysia partly because of this.

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 11, 2008 at 3:26 pm

My fren use mazda 3 turbo, IT IS A FUEL-EAT-MONSTER !

Then he change to Mazda 6, damn rich people !

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:02 pm

this car is excellent, better than civic, if sold here, potential bestseller

• allen84us (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:56 pm

when this new modal going to b launched in malaysia ?
    anyone have any idea ?

• shahzane on Jun 09, 2009 at 4:11 am

latest mazda3 have been launched in Malaysia.I just came back from the showroom this evening. It looks way way better in flesh compared to the photos. It's really sporty and driver-centric. really worth the money you're paying for it.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:00 am

lovely….i just ordered one

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:01 am

its very cheap

• grezer29 on Jun 22, 2009 at 12:08 am

Just saw this in the show room, got this for my dad for father's day!

• no matter what car they bring in to M'sia,if auto version,it's still a shit car

• This car is really breathtaking…can't wait to have one

• mohammad rasool on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:02 pm

its very biutyfull car i think in mazda but me i dont have a new mazda………..?

• mohammad rasool on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:05 pm

ok new mazda…………………….