Dongfeng Honda Automobile Co currently sells the Honda Civic sedan in China (as opposed to Guangzhou Honda which decided to develop a C-segment sedan from the City platform as the rights to the Civic belongs to Dongfeng) but was considering launching the hatchback version of the Honda Civic as well.
After some consideration it found that the Euro Civic’s price tag may be a deterrent to sales as its estimated to be about 26,000 yuan higher than the sedan model. The Chinese car buyers who love getting the most metal for their money (they even have a special long wheelbase version of the E60 5-Series) will find it hard to accept that a small hatchback version of the Civic costs more than a larger sedan model.
So Dongfeng has decided to develop its own Civic hatchback, which will be based on the Civic sedan platform. This means a multilink rear suspension instead of the Civic hatchback’s torsion beam.
This is one cool model, in which since the EK era, we don’t really see any new civic hatchback in our market. Sigh…any chance of this arriving in our shore?
It looks like Honda Civic Type-R in SG.
Paul Tan says: That’s because it is.
1) how come the china version get the more advance multilink rear suspension?
2) and wuts up wit tht fake door line at the rear passenger door? can that be open with a hidden door handle or something?
Its better looking then the Jazz. Wickedly good looking car.
schönes Auto, sehr beeindruckend
Ich mag die Front, Es ist futuristisch…
ehrfürchtig!!!
This is one cool model, in which since the EK era, we don’t really see any new civic hatchback in our market. Sigh…any chance of this arriving in our shore?
——————-
yes, the current sedan model in our country is pathetic. it denies the racing blood in civic’s H badge. just like other family car. but this hatchback is the true successor of the civic’s bloodline, since the last EP. cant wait to get it in our country.
WOW!!!
made in china ONLY 4 china
Hopefully it will be properly develop & produce,dont become like their DongFeng medium size lorry,alot of tiny minie problems…
not a true successor. successor in looks only. the hatch is crippled by the torsion beam suspension. nearly the same way they crippled the integra type r. btw, the civic is meant to be a family car anyway. hence the name civic
yum!!!
w_lighter said,
2) and wuts up wit tht fake door line at the rear passenger door? can that be open with a hidden door handle or something?
——————-
it’s the 5 door model shown in the pic.the door handle is design like alfa 159.
——————-
yes, the current sedan model in our country is pathetic. it denies the racing blood in civic’s H badge. just like other family car. but this hatchback is the true successor of the civic’s bloodline, since the last EP. cant wait to get it in our country.
————
ReactiX, the FD2R carries the best racing bloodline in the history of Civics, in terms of performance and track handling. The euro civic has been around awhile, what do you mean you can’t wait. Try ordering one from the grey importers, if you can even recognise or differentiate civics, what more afford one.
china young kids are super rich…
throw them a cut down version might not be good idea for civic hatchback.
I thought Civic type-R europe only came in red or black. Correct me if I am wrong.
the japan civic is better than the euro civic, but i wish we had the euro accord
a gud car but doesnt seems marketive !!!!
1) how come the china version get the more advance multilink rear suspension?
———————————————————————————————————————
1?our country civic also feature a double wishbone(it is look a like multilink but it isn’t a multilink)
2)5 door hatchback with the alfa style rear door opener
what do you mean by hatchack ?He3
ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
November 6, 2008 @ 7:31 pm
the japan civic is better than the euro civic, but i wish we had the euro accord
Agree with you! The FD2 and the FD2R is better but at least Honda Malaysia SHOULD offer the euro hatchback also la….more choice is better maaa…sini banyak orang muda minat hatchback lagi liao….I mean the hatchback is one good looking model wat….
Oh, one more thing, “The Chinese car buyers who love getting the most metal for their money…” Don’t worry Honda, you try and sell it here! Here is slightly different I think, why? It’s like this, “The Malaysian car buyers (esp. the young) who love getting the less metal for their money…” Again why? Sell it here and couple of months later you see a bundle of them at Sunway with scrap bodyshell (ganti with CF) and turbocharge gila-gila…less metal combine with force induction is bang for buck wan for them!!! Hahahahaha… :-)
torque said,
November 7, 2008 @ 4:10 pm
ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
November 6, 2008 @ 7:31 pm
Agree with you! The FD2 and the FD2R is better but at least Honda Malaysia SHOULD offer the euro hatchback also la….more choice is better maaa…sini banyak orang muda minat hatchback lagi liao….I mean the hatchback is one good looking model wat….
——————————————————-
but among all honda is still the best. they give us the proper jazz, cr-v and stream. toyota cars except the yaris all dono either from Us&a indonesia or thailand. the nissans we get have crap interior.
need this car in Malaysia, seriously……….
i fell in love with this car when i was in uk n aussie for buss trip..damn..really gd…
malaysia needs alot more cars than just a civic hatch.
topgunthang said,
November 9, 2008 @ 1:03 pm
malaysia needs alot more cars than just a civic hatch.
———————-
we not only need cars, we need new distributors, come on fiat, do something, gm give us back opels