2010 Mazda CX-7 facelift: now happier!

Mazda CX-7

Mazda has given its popular CX-7 a nip and tuck so it has a matching happy smiley face that the Japanese company seems to be giving all of its models. While the huge gaping air intakes in the front bumper might be useful for the powerful 2.3L DISI Turbo version of the SUV with 244hp at 5,000rpm and 350Nm of torque at 2,500rpm, it’s probably overkill for the new 2.5 litre unit that’ll be slotted into this car, first introduced in the new Mazda 6.

The new baseline engine produces 161hp at 6,000rpm and 218Nm of torque at 3,500rpm, obviously tuned to suit an SUV application as the same unit in the Mazda 6 makes 228Nm at a higher 4,000rpm point.

Mazda says other than the obvious aesthetics changes, build quality and NVH levels for the new car has also been improved, while the interior gauges get a new blackout design and a new 3.5 inch STN monochrome and 4.1 inch TFT colour multi-info display at the top of the instrument panel to display driver information. The in-car audio now features Bluetooth for handsfree as well as music streaming. The CX-9’s blind-spot monitoring system is now available on the CX-7 as well.

Look after the jump for a few more shots of the facelifted CX-7.

Mazda CX-7

Mazda CX-7

Mazda CX-7

Mazda CX-7Looking to sell your car? Sell it with Carro.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lovely .
    Now the 'face' is more like it. :D

• Interested to buy…but not enough green buck ma..bole pinjam along ka??

• very nice SUV maaa..intend to buy….but wait until i become rich….

• Deep_Impact on Feb 14, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Yeah bebeh! Mazda made it again.. Great jobs!

• But the interior still… the air vent looks like kancil…

• Khee Kuan on Feb 14, 2009 at 7:22 pm

Wondering how soon this facelift model will be introduced to our malaysia market by our dear bermaz….

im looking forward for the 2009 mazda 3 too!

• lambov12 on Feb 15, 2009 at 12:52 am

the rear looks bit like toyota harrier

• leongylun on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:27 am

clean and trendy design!

• NutzeyWagen (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:05 am

Yeah! Mazda hv the best designers in Japan. Bravo Mazda!!!

• coolguru (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 2:11 am

the price is quite preventive in this economic climate even though the bigger engine is very attractive at the current fuel price!

but seriously, what's the diff between CX9 and CX7? Paul, any such comparison you have??

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 3:51 am

WoW…………… i din noe mazda can do this well…. they gonna catch-up in market soon…. nice car anyway………..

• naz3em on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:33 am

very nice.very happy car but with no teeth.if wan 2 buy this car,u must have at least 250k.but i have my 08 mercedes m class.so,i don't wan this anymore.

• Kington on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:35 am

I don't like the smiley face.. Look at the facelifted Mazda 3 and RX-8… like goldfish lips lar….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 5:59 am

niceeeeeeee!!!!!!

• hidrogentank on Feb 16, 2009 at 8:25 am

handsome refinement, you wont notice the x5, ml, Q5, tuareg parked beside this

• n.aniham on Feb 16, 2009 at 10:09 am

Wow! Nice interior and exterior design. Good job Mazda. Hope to get one of this someday.

• cyful on Feb 18, 2009 at 10:43 am

i heard thier in the process as mazda need to tune down the engine so could accept our fuel quality….. or maybe mazda just dont layan…. this is all because of our goverment will low quality fuel

• awesome… hmm looks like promote bumper.. kidding! :P

• chien on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:39 am

awesome car!what about the fuel consumption and spare parts order?will it take ages to bring in from Japan?

• Ngieng on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:04 am

nice ! haha going to drive it once my father register it ! yeah ! haha