Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 enters the IRC

MEM Satria Neo

The Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car will be entering the Intercontinental Rally Challenge full-time after its first competition debut late last year. Proton will be the 7th manufacturer in the IRC series, joining the likes of Abarth, Honda, Mitsubishi, Peugeot, Skoda and Volkswagen.

“We are absolutely delighted to welcome Proton into the IRC family. The new Satria Neo S2000 has already attracted a lot of praise in its short career to date. I have no doubt that Proton will quickly find success with competitive rally customers on IRC events, as well as on national and regional championships that are based on S2000 technical regulations,” said IRC GM Marcello Lotti.

“The IRC provides the ideal format for manufacturers to showcase their products around the world. We are very excited to register for the IRC this year, alongside many of the leading manufacturers in motorsport. Although we are still developing the Proton, the IRC will provide the perfect opportunity to gauge the competitiveness of the car, and ultimately to take the project forward,” said Proton’s MD Datuk Syed Zainal.

The Satria Neo S2000 made its first rally debut piloted by Bryan Bouffier and co-driver Xavier Panseri in the Rallye Antibes Cote d’Azur leg of the 2008 European Rally Championship in the South of France. In full rally trim, the hatch has the smallest front and the lowest roof height (heh I am not surprised really) of any homologated S2000 car. It’s 2.0 litre engine is derived from Renault’s 1.8 litre unit from the Waja 1.8X and puts out 278 horsepower at 7,600rpm.

The Neo is no doubt one of the most “visible” Proton cars internationally, at least in terms of how much appearances it makes here and there. The Neo is even used in Top Gear Australia as the car used in the “Star in a Bog Standard Car” segment.

Related Stories:
More MEM Proton Satria Neo S2000 videos
MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000
Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 Touring Car
VIDEO: MEM Proton Satria Neo Super 2000

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• adrian on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:16 am

1st ha ha

• hafeez on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:32 am

2nd huhuhuhuuuu….

• wakeyme on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:50 am

woah nice news..

• MisterBenjo on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:59 am

You lie la Paul…you said wanna go sleep after TT.

• menawan on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:00 am

MAntap!!!

• catdeco on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:38 am

its a pride of proton.

• menawan on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:47 am

wer is osh kosh? haha

• Here's a couple of photos of Donie O'Sullivan's S-Tec Motorsports prepared Proton Satria Neo S2000 on Friday. The rally will start today (Saturday 14th March).

http://rallypert.blogspot.com/2009/03/proton-satr…

• newbie on Mar 14, 2009 at 2:52 pm

I hope this car will gets its fame thru rally just like subaru impreza.

• good effort to prove proton potential.

hopefully they will perform well…

btw, neo s2000 is the best looking neo ever.

cheers!

• 7213209 (Member) on Mar 14, 2009 at 3:07 pm

well done neo!

hope proton will come out with more good design such as neo.

• Swoosh3553 on Mar 14, 2009 at 3:25 pm

Kudos Proton.

BTW, anyone can enlighten me on how can a car be "** the 2.0 liter engine is derived from *****". Even by tuning up an engine, the displacement should still remain the same, right? -duuuhhhh-..

• adrian on Mar 14, 2009 at 4:24 pm

I m waiting for neo s2000 cps campro. More proud…

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2009 at 5:39 pm

[quote comment="220532"]wer is osh kosh? haha[/quote]

i'm here.. anything?

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2009 at 5:46 pm

bro 'mate', thanks for the link.. :)

anyway, it's a good strategy for them & agreed 100% with Syed Zainal comment/view… IMO Satria Neo is the best P1 car ever build.. a nice balance of quality, performance & looks…

• lightflyer on Mar 14, 2009 at 6:16 pm

hehehehehe……….where are those Proton Bashers ?? really want to see what they will say

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 14, 2009 at 6:30 pm

good luck and congrats to proton ..

• Lari-Lari on Mar 14, 2009 at 6:47 pm

Maybe the bashers are laughing hard first before they start to comment.

So much of talk about being in WRC but ended up in IRC. So much talk about Petter Solberg driving but now is piloted by some unknown.

Anyway, Proton's involvement is just providing the chassis only! The rest is done by this UK company (please refer to earlier post in paultan.org). Still so dependent on foreign companies. That leaves me no choice but to ask what is R3 doing? Preparing drift cars and performing for orang kampung only! That too preparing AE-86s and a Waja that is transplanted with a RB20 engine?

Anyway, if it helps to improve sales, then why not? But that too I seriously doubt.

• Proton Satria Neo S2000 Testing at Sweet Lamb

http://rallypert.blogspot.com/2009/03/proton-satr…

• linear_system on Mar 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm

wohooo…my neo is in IRC! haha

• CFA28 on Mar 14, 2009 at 7:20 pm

correct me if i am wrong but even Lotus does not produce its own engine but merely produces the chasis and suspension system. That what's makes a great engine into a great car – but of course, Proton still has a long way to go.

• bmpower on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:00 pm

[quote]and the lowest roof height (heh I am not surprised really).[/quote]

damn paul! :D hehehe.. but how come this one can be fit with mat salleh one? is that really enough headroom with bucket seat?

Way to go up proton!. Do more branding!

and please, someday make this s2000 limited edition on market as production car too..

• LotusLover on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:04 pm

yes!!! finally…

such a good news!

go go monster neo!! all the best!

• gattaca on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:23 pm

[quote comment="220521"]You lie la Paul…you said wanna go sleep after TT.[/quote]

yelah Paul, aku mengantuk gile after long TTS last nite….huhuhu

• Akazamabamaboo on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:50 pm

Thumbs up! =)

• nabill on Mar 14, 2009 at 9:05 pm

wow , that much power from a 1.8cc…awesome….do us pround neo !

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2009 at 9:27 pm

[quote comment="220596"][quote comment="220521"]You lie la Paul…you said wanna go sleep after TT.[/quote]

yelah Paul, aku mengantuk gile after long TTS last nite….huhuhu[/quote]

eh u guys also go to TT? any chicks?

• gattaca on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:06 pm

[quote comment="220612"][quote comment="220596"][quote comment="220521"]You lie la Paul…you said wanna go sleep after TT.[/quote]

yelah Paul, aku mengantuk gile after long TTS last nite….huhuhu[/quote]

eh u guys also go to TT? any chicks?[/quote]

got so many chicks…but other tables lar..hahhaha

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:12 pm

cis… hahaha…

btw, how many of u?

• madboy on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:24 pm

about the TTS, Paul, can you start a topic for that with picture and everything fpr those who can't make it.

• gattaca on Mar 14, 2009 at 10:29 pm

[quote comment="220616"]cis… hahaha…

btw, how many of u?[/quote]

PT, Si-Fu, MisterBenjo, Tokmoh, fastcx, red7+fren, Karl n me…

• moha774 on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:06 pm

I personally think, Neo CPS would look seriously cooler with S2000 roof spoiler.. nice..

• Littlefire on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:11 pm

Sorry Proton fans, have some bad news for you all… "Proton on list of cars that nobody wants"

http://paultan.org/forum/index.php?topic=1173.msg…

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:38 pm

[quote comment="220618"]about the TTS, Paul, can you start a topic for that with picture and everything fpr those who can't make it.[/quote]

good idea.. Paul?

• gattaca on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:43 pm

[quote comment="220627"]Sorry Proton fans, have some bad news for you all… "Proton on list of cars that nobody wants"

i dun mind other people dun want. its my money. n i also never asked a single cent from other people. so it does not sound a bad news for me at all.. maybe for u. but, r u malaysian anyway?

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2009 at 11:45 pm

Littlefire,

no surprise… but that news also mean what they r doing now make more sense right?

• It should be a new official car of Thunder Car, coz of the speed and out looking some said logo. When sword becoming long, it will come up very soon. Meow~

• [quote comment="220627"]Sorry Proton fans, have some bad news for you all… "Proton on list of cars that nobody wants"

Please thinking positive, pride with oversea award, Persona sell more than other brand, especially to Daihatsu.

• Littlefire on Mar 15, 2009 at 12:04 am

[quote comment="220633"]Littlefire,

no surprise… but that news also mean what they r doing now make more sense right?[/quote]

Well in the article, they mention about Proton Persona which i think is quite a new hit model in Malaysia. Sadly in UK, only selling 4 in 2008…

Still the most shocking part is that Lotus Europa is copied from Vauxhall!

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 15, 2009 at 12:52 am

[quote comment="220638"][quote comment="220633"]Littlefire,

no surprise… but that news also mean what they r doing now make more sense right?[/quote]

Well in the article, they mention about Proton Persona which i think is quite a new hit model in Malaysia. Sadly in UK, only selling 4 in 2008…

Still the most shocking part is that Lotus Europa is copied from Vauxhall![/quote]

with just a person's article u put it as reference? wow, no wonder malaysian rumour mill is larger than the wheel on eye of malaysia!

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 15, 2009 at 12:58 am

if u really know history, vauxhall, opal, n lotus also hv similar car in the past, remember elise n vx220? its not to say copy, its just sharing platform. n give us a damn reference on the "copying" part? lotus n vauxhall has history of sharing platform, so?

• quak58 of AUssie on Mar 15, 2009 at 1:31 am

[quote comment="220546"]Kudos Proton.

BTW, anyone can enlighten me on how can a car be "** the 2.0 liter engine is derived from *****". Even by tuning up an engine, the displacement should still remain the same, right? -duuuhhhh-..[/quote]

I think they sourced the engine from Renault 1.8L and then they bored the cylinder heads to make the displacement larger. Basically a custom job. =P (maybe). Then combine that with some tweaking and high octane fuel = more POWER!!! Getting that power shouldn't be that difficult since a box standard evo X's engine produces 295 hourses. BUt what is more important is torque. WHich is not mentioned in the article. Hmmmmmm

• MiTec-i on Mar 15, 2009 at 1:54 am

but….evo X is turbocharged…this is normal aspirated…so it's quite impressive already…

• Littlefire on Mar 15, 2009 at 2:51 am

[quote comment="220644"]if u really know history, vauxhall, opal, n lotus also hv similar car in the past, remember elise n vx220? its not to say copy, its just sharing platform. n give us a damn reference on the "copying" part? lotus n vauxhall has history of sharing platform, so?[/quote]

That why their sales bad… this is fact right? Anyway read from the link it is from Malaysiainsider which link to Daily Telegraph.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 15, 2009 at 8:22 am

[quote comment="220638"][quote comment="220633"]Littlefire,

Still the most shocking part is that Lotus Europa is copied from Vauxhall![/quote]

sorry to say this, but mike rutherford is an idiot. and he got his facts wrong.

the europa is based on the elise.. and the elise is 110% lotus..

the Vaxhaull he is referring too is most likely, the VX220, which was built by lotus for vauxhall, also based on an elise chassis.

and thats the facts.

• Littlefire on Mar 15, 2009 at 8:59 am

But still Proton cant sell at overseas… Haiz… Juara Kampung only.. Hopefully they can win something with this competition..

• hidrogentank on Mar 15, 2009 at 9:24 am

car looks the part….wonder where p1 getting the funds??………hmm

• hopefully when proton scores well in irc

then only uk people will but it…

a good marketing strategy indeed

cheers~

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 15, 2009 at 11:00 am

[quote comment="220750"]car looks the part….wonder where p1 getting the funds??………hmm[/quote]

proton sells cars remember?

littlefire.. just coz they dont sell well in the uk, doesnt meant they dont sell in other countries. why so selective with your facts? i think its pretty clear that the uk isn't proton's main focus, and the truth is, proton is definitely not ready to compete in such a mature market.. which is why they are pushing hard in the middle east, thailand, and indonesia which makes more sense currently for their capability.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 15, 2009 at 11:16 am

[quote comment="220702"]proton vs abarth? nigga please….[/quote]

i think the bulk of the competition is going to come from peugeot in the IRC, not even abarth.

• kampung boy on Mar 15, 2009 at 11:39 am

can someone list out s2000 neo competitor in the irc??????

• [quote comment="220820"]can someone list out s2000 neo competitor in the irc??????[/quote]

go and google it urself u idiot

cheers!

• It's IRC guys not WRC. Proton lol

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 15, 2009 at 6:00 pm

[quote comment="220828"]It's IRC guys not WRC. Proton lol[/quote]

wahts the problem with IRC over WRC? do you even know the difference? or what the IRC is?

and btw, the satria neo was 3rd overall in the 1st round of the WRC in ireland. in front of Sebastien loeb. and the world of rallying has stood up and are now taking notice. its just such a pity that ignorant malaysians continue to see only what their narrow minds want to see.

• raybrig85 on Mar 15, 2009 at 7:13 pm

[quote comment="220816"][quote comment="220702"]proton vs abarth? nigga please….[/quote]

i think the bulk of the competition is going to come from peugeot in the IRC, not even abarth.[/quote]

i think proton should beware of abarth n peugeot…its pretty tough tho…

• raybrig85 on Mar 15, 2009 at 7:16 pm

[quote comment="220828"]It's IRC guys not WRC. Proton lol[/quote]

im not a proton basher nor defender…but ur comment makes me laugh all the way…did u watch IRC???i ask u..if u dont…dont make a comment like that..u should watch first b4 giving a comment..its still prestige but dont compare it with wrc…

• raybrig85 on Mar 15, 2009 at 7:25 pm

[quote comment="220876"][quote comment="220828"]It's IRC guys not WRC. Proton lol[/quote]

wahts the problem with IRC over WRC? do you even know the difference? or what the IRC is?

and btw, the satria neo was 3rd overall in the 1st round of the WRC in ireland. in front of Sebastien loeb.

and the world of rallying has stood up and are now taking notice. its just such a pity that ignorant malaysians continue to see only what their narrow minds want to see.[/quote]

dude..are u sure???if im not mistaken the third overall is mika hirvonen…check ur facts dude..theres a war between citroen n ford…i didnt see proton in there..i watched the highlight..

• raybrig85 on Mar 15, 2009 at 7:48 pm

[quote comment="220820"]can someone list out s2000 neo competitor in the irc??????[/quote]

The Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car will be entering the Intercontinental Rally Challenge full-time after its first competition debut late last year. Proton will be the 7th manufacturer in the IRC series, joining the likes of Abarth, Honda, Mitsubishi, Peugeot, Skoda and Volkswagen.

did u read the article by paultan???its already stated above…

• [quote comment="220828"]It's IRC guys not WRC. Proton lol[/quote]

man, IMHO.. WRC – overrated.

IRC – pure rallying

not to mention many other great rallying events out there. rallying is more than just WRC.

• [quote comment="220906"][quote comment="220876"][quote comment="220828"]It's IRC guys not WRC. Proton lol[/quote]

and btw, the satria neo was 3rd overall in the 1st round of the WRC in ireland. in front of Sebastien loeb.

and the world of rallying has stood up and are now taking notice. its just such a pity that ignorant malaysians continue to see only what their narrow minds want to see.[/quote]

dude..are u sure???if im not mistaken the third overall is mika hirvonen…check ur facts dude..theres a war between citroen n ford…i didnt see proton in there..i watched the highlight..[/quote]

i suggest u follow the whole event from day first. instead of just highlights. tQ :)

• raybrig85 on Mar 15, 2009 at 10:50 pm

[quote comment="220930"][quote comment="220906"][quote comment="220876"][quote comment="220828"]It's IRC guys not WRC. Proton lol[/quote]

dude..are u sure???if im not mistaken the third overall is mika hirvonen…check ur facts dude..theres a war between citroen n ford…i didnt see proton in there..i watched the highlight..[/quote]

i suggest u follow the whole event from day first. instead of just highlights. tQ :)[/quote]

may i ask u which tv station that show n cover all the race n news for rally???u jz can follow the progress via internet rite if u want the immediate news…i do that..but if u want to c its race or kete tu grak….so..thats y i stated that i can see it during highlight ..it is not like f1 or other motorsport prog where u can see the whole race..use ur brain la dude..haiya…i suggest u to think first b4 replying my comment n i ask u again..cn u tell me which tv station cover d whole rally racing???i mean u can c it live or delay telecast..all of it they jz show in highlight programmed..i bet u c it in highlight too…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 15, 2009 at 11:37 pm

[quote comment="220906"]

sorry dude.. i meant to say 1st SS, not 1st round. if you dont know already, i'm proud that the proton name is making a comeback in international motorsports.. at least is our very own neo, and not a mitsu rebadge.

read about it at these links.
    http://www.wrc.com/jsp/index.jsp?lnk=101&id=3…

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/73107

if one of the most respected motorsports publication in the world seems to think its a big deal, why dont malaysians? "Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 run higher on a round of the World Rally Championship than any S2000 machinery had before" quoted from the article. so basically, the other guys, abarth, peugeot, skoda, VW..etc. have ever achieved that before.

WRC as we know it today, will end soon if FIA's plans come through soon, and S2000 cars wll be leading the WRC.

• way to go neo!

• [quote comment="221076"]if proton wins a single race i'd happily castrate myself[/quote]

keep ur words!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 16, 2009 at 5:29 pm

[quote comment="221076"]if proton wins a single race i'd happily castrate myself[/quote]

proton was the world rally production car champion in 2002. a series that races together with the WRC. car was driven by karamjit singh, also a malaysian. and the team also managed by malaysians.

i suppose you must already be castrated since 2002?

• intermilan on Mar 16, 2009 at 7:10 pm

let see how the Neo fares against the heavyweights in IRC first (in 2009) before pointlessly fighting like cats and dogs in here….

Paul, do bring us the updates of Neo adventure in IRC rallies ASAP, so we can slug it out in your forum.

cheers.

• raybrig85 on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:22 am

[quote comment="220992"][quote comment="220906"]

sorry dude.. i meant to say 1st SS, not 1st round. if you dont know already, i'm proud that the proton name is making a comeback in international motorsports.. at least is our very own neo, and not a mitsu rebadge.

read about it at these links.
    http://www.wrc.com/jsp/index.jsp?lnk=101&id=3…

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/73107

if one of the most respected motorsports publication in the world seems to think its a big deal, why dont malaysians? "Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 run higher on a round of the World Rally Championship than any S2000 machinery had before" quoted from the article.

so basically, the other guys, abarth, peugeot, skoda, VW..etc. have ever achieved that before.

WRC as we know it today, will end soon if FIA's plans come through soon, and S2000 cars wll be leading the WRC.[/quote]

ok..thanx dude..lets hope proton will b one of the top team among abarth n peugeot..=)

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:44 am

Paul…i think your coverage of P1 Satria Neo S2000 must include 1)WRC 2)ERC and 3)IRC..

MEM boss also said that their target is the best among N4 class in WRC(since S.Loeb's C4 is impossible to beat)

Pray for proton achievment…go proton

• Protonfanatics on Jun 14, 2009 at 8:14 pm

[quote comment="220627"]Sorry Proton fans, have some bad news for you all… "Proton on list of cars that nobody wants"

—————————————————————

I take a quote from the article:-

"The Proton Persona (four sold), Mitsubishi Shogun Sport (three), Kia Cerato (two), Maserati Spyder (two) and MG ZS (two) were among the contenders for the worst-selling UNUSED CAR in Britain award, but the joint winners (one sale apiece) are the Chrysler Neon, Daihatsu Charade, Dodge SRT-10, Ferrari SuperAmerica, Fiat Croma, Hummer H2, Hyundai Terracan, Hyundai Trajet, Rover 75, CityRover, Smart Cabrio and Tata Safari."

This article is very biased & Proton bashing because it's missing some very important facts:-

1) This is about USED CARS not NEW CARS! When did Proton Persona was firstly exported & sold to UK? Barely one year ago? If the article mentions about the worst selling NEW CARS in Britain & Proton can only sold 4 units last year, then they can claim that Proton Persona is one of the worst selling NEW car in UK. But this is about USED car. It have two possibility. First, nobody buy Persona, & the only ones that buy this car already sold it off. And out of that, only 4 people last year were willing to buy the second hand Persona. Another possibility, the car is so good, that many people that buy it still keep it & happy about it that out of all the new Persona buyers, only a few handful of people that are not satisfy with it that they sold off to second hand dealers. Then, out of it, only 4 used Persona were sold. Which one is that? This article is flawed because it cannot provide data for the NEW Persona that were sold in Britain and data for how many Persona were sold off by their owner as second hand cars. It only provide data for how many used Persona were bought last year.

2) Persona were mention, together with Maserati Spyder & Ferrari SuperAmerica as one of the worst-selling UNUSED CAR. Does this mean Maserati Spyder and Ferrari SuperAmerica are such a bad & unreliable car, that not many people were willing to buy it? I doubt it. The reason why so few Maserati & Ferrari cars were sold last year was because not many people can afford to buy a Maserati or a Ferrari car, even a used ones. The other reason is, most of the Maserati & Ferrari owners are so satisfy with their current car, that they are not willing to sell it off to another person. So only a few used Maserati & Ferrari that is available in the market & if you want to buy a Maserati Spyder and Ferrari SuperAmerica, you have to buy a brand new ones. This scenario might also apply to Persona. Because it's a new model, not many people are willing to sell it off immediately & very few are available in the used market. The only way to purchase Persona is to buy a brand new ones. Again, this article is flawed cause it cannot provide data for NEW Persona that were sold in Britain last year.

3) The article didn't mention how many new Persona were sold that year, out of that how many sold it off to second hand dealers & out of that, how many were bought by the second hand users. If this article can give us complete data, then we can compare & make an accurate analysis about it. But no, the data is flawed. The only data shown is how many USED Persona were bought by second users, which is flawed. What about other data as I mention above? The car industry people can hide certain data that they don't want other people to know, & present other data to public in order to humiliate or tarnished other car company. Again, no complete data is given, so this article is flawed.

4) What about the data for older Proton models? Like the Savvy & Satria? These models have been in the British market longer than the latest Persona model. If last year, only 4 Savvy or Satria were bought by second hand users, then it can prove without doubt that nobody in Britain want to purchase second hand Proton cars. This article cannot provide the data for us about the status for the second hand Savvy or Satria in order for the us to give any independent conclusion. But Persona is the latest model, just recently been exported to Britain, and it's not fair to say Persona is one of the worst selling used car in Britain. Again, this article is flawed because it cannot provide any data to show that older Proton models like Savvy or Satria are in the same league as Persona, in order to give concrete proof that all 2nd hand Proton cars are one of the worst selling second hand cars in Britain. Where is the data?

5) Who is the source? Is the source is reliable & trustworthy? An industry mole can be anybody! It can be any Tom, Dick & Harry who happen to work in the car industry. In order the data to be reliable & trustworthy, the data should be released by a reliable & trustworthy source. For example, if Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders (SMMT) in Britain release this data, the data is complete & it's available to the public, then we can confirm without any doubt that in Britain, second hand Protons are one of the worst selling car in Britain. Can you trust any shadowy figure that you didn't know of & accept the facts given by this shadowy figure without any suspicious & without any reasonable doubt? Again, this article is flawed cause it cannot prove that the source is reliable & trustworthy.

6) Why does the Title Only mention Proton as the list of cars nobody want to buy? Whereas, many different brand & models also are mention in this article. So Maserati Spyder & Ferrari SuperAmerica are also in the list, does it means that Maserati Spyder & Ferrari SuperAmerica are also list of cars that nobody want to buy? I doubt it. In addition, why generalize Proton? As if all Proton models, either brand new & used ones are in the list of cars that nobody want to buy. Why didn't the title specifically mention USED PERSONA as the list of cars nobody want to buy? Hello, do you know that Persona is the latest model that were just recently marketed in Britain? Again, this article is flawed because it generalize the whole Proton cars, either brand new or used one as list of cars that nobody want to buy. Again, it cannot provide the data for all brand NEW & USED Proton models that were sold last year in Britain.

7) If all Proton cars are in the list of cars that nobody wants to buy in Britain, why the hell is Proton is still selling cars in Britain for the past 10 years until now? Do you know that every year, more and more British are buying Proton cars, because of their fuel saving, cheap price, reliable and quality cars? Most of them are buying Proton cars not because they hear & listen to the British media, which always try to give bad publicity about Proton cars. Most of them are buying Proton cars because they receive good recommendation from personal friends & co-workers that have been using Proton cars for several years before they decide to take the risk of buying that Proton car. Proton is even sending their latest model, the Persona to be exported to Britain, for god sake! If Proton are in the list of cars that nobody want to buy, it should already close its shop years ago. See what happen to MG Rover? MG Rover can be categorized as one of the cars that nobody wants to buy in Britain that it had to close shop & declare bankrupted. But did it get mention in the British media as one of the cars that nobody want to buy? Hell, no. MG Rover even approached the Proton management in order to bought it over. When Proton declined, MG Rover had to declare bankrupted. Its funny that the car company that is increasing its market share & exporting its latest model to Britain is claim as the car that nobody else want to buy. But the car company that have to declare it bankruptcy & even approached the previous car company was never mentioned as the car that nobody wants to buy. A bit of British comedy in here… Hahaha…

8) Finally, I suspect that these bad publicity & media bashing of British media, specifically on Proton have its own agenda. First of all, British car manufacturers are now not competitive enough compare to its Asian rivals even in their own country. Most British car manufacturers have already went bankrupted or already sold to foreign car manufacturers. Example is when MG Rover has to declare bankruptcy when nobody want to buy MG Rover cars anymore but instead prefer to buy cars from Asian manufacturers. In addition, Lotus was sold to Proton Malaysia, Jaguar & Land Rover sold to Tata India, Mini to BMW Germany & Aston Martin sold to Middle East investors. And the type of cars that Proton & Perodua is selling is KILLING the British car manufacturers market share. Is the British government & media just want to wait & see until all British car company got killed? Hell, no. They have to do something about it. It's all about the national pride & keeping the jobs of the automotive industries in the country. Or else, by the end of the decade, there is no more British car manufacturers & the only cars available in Britain are the ones imported from Asian manufacturers, such as from Japan, Korea, China and Malaysia.

P/S: Malaysia was once its former colony. How come Proton can bought over Lotus & sell cars that are more competitive while other British car company either go bankrupted or sold off to foreign own company?

By Protonfanatic

• Littlefire on Oct 30, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Izzen Lotus sold to foreign company like us? Besides that, during Dr.M time they have great "Support" from Bank Negara to buy over the money losing company…

I just wonder until now, does Proton really cover the losses in Lotus company or just pump in more n more money?