More MEM Proton Satria Neo S2000 Videos!

Proton Satria Neo S2000

We’ve already seen one video of the MEM Proton Satria Neo S2000 rally car in the past, where it was being tested out by a very young racer. You will find two more videos after the jump, including one video of the Neo S2000 being tested on the French alps.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:05 am

first! (wah! trying this)

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:14 am

#2 video.. damn fast. Good luck for MEM. Wish they can get a top 3 at least.

• KF (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:17 am

Damn awesome lah wei…especially the 2nd video :)
    I wonder what engine MEM is using to power the Satria NEO S2000..?

• awak (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 11:59 am

actually satria neo is fun to drive,
    small meaty steering gives a sporty feel,
    seats snug in, direct and simple interior, the wind screen designed in a such way giving a sense of a sport car.
    the way it handles ,yes you like it at corners,
    even yet it hasnt come with the CPS model, its basic campro love at revs,
    it like to be driven at speed,
    i tell yea , its beautiful with wide track enhance with wheel arch ,its sporty,

cant find this feeling in a toyota,

• abtm (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:11 pm

agree that the satria is a good handling car (even better if you fit good tyres in front and crap ones at the rear), but it needs more power…roll on CPS quick

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:40 pm

damn u streamyx so slow to download….

• vivio (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:50 pm

kewlll

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 2:03 pm

bmpower said,
    October 6, 2008 @ 11:14 am

#2 video.. damn fast. Good luck for MEM. Wish they can get a top 3 at least.

—————————————–

MEM is a race car builder like prodrive..etc. they built this S2000 Satria with the support of proton as the manufacturer of the car. the car will now be sold to anyone or team who is interested to buy the car and use it for competition. looking at those videos, it would seem as if they already have some buyers.

• moha774 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 2:49 pm

Its not campro under the hood, but a renault 1.8 engine like the one installed in Waja 1.8 and has been tweaked and upgraded by MEM

• kickas5car (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 3:38 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, u re such an expert! glad to have someone picking on other’s little mistakes and pretend to know-it-all. The society needs people like you. :)

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 4:05 pm

notice the swede covered dash?

Now that’s hot.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 6:06 pm

kickas5car said,
    October 6, 2008 @ 3:38 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, u re such an expert! glad to have someone picking on other’s little mistakes and pretend to know-it-all. The society needs people like you.
    ————————————–

the facts are the facts, no one can change that. i rather someone point out my mistake anyday in my face rather than I continue on saying or knowing the wrong thing. if you have a problem with that, i suggest you go do something that isn’t so interactive, like reading a book or watching Tv.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 8:01 pm

not bad …. but one question for the experts here …. engine from Proton or some one else ??

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 9:25 pm

The engine came from the Renault powered Waja 1.8L.

But the bigger question is, why do we care about this car? Are we supposed to impress someone with it? Has it actually win any races? It’s not even being raced yet. For all we know it could be a big/public (albeit only in Malaysia because the brits having built race winning cars with bunch of steel tubes and 70’s rover engines couldn’t care less) failure.
    When this car crashes into the first tree on the first corner on the first stage of it’s first rally, I’ll be the one sitting at the back yelling, “I told you so!”

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:17 am

Javanese said,
    October 6, 2008 @ 9:25 pm

The engine came from the Renault powered Waja 1.8L.

But the bigger question is, why do we care about this car? Are we supposed to impress someone with it? Has it actually win any races? It’s not even being raced yet. For all we know it could be a big/public (albeit only in Malaysia because the brits having built race winning cars with bunch of steel tubes and 70’s rover engines couldn’t care less) failure.
    When this car crashes into the first tree on the first corner on the first stage of it’s first rally, I’ll be the one sitting at the back yelling, “I told you so!”
    ——————————————–

i suppose i’ll be labelled a pretend know-it-all again. the car was only officially announced to the world end of july2008. the vids actually show the prototype being tested. so yes, it has definitely not entered a single race yet.

like it or not, proton does have a decent history in racing and they’ve been pretty successful for a small manufacturer.
    the waja has been on the podium several times in the btcc, as well as winning the asian touring car championship. a proton satria super 1600 won the british rally championship for its class in the 90’s. proton wira’s and gen2’s have won rally championships in the middle east.. recently, proton satria neo has won the afos atcs1500max.

even if the car did crash into the first tree in the first corner, it would probably be the drivers fault. and in case you didnt watch the video, it didnt crash into any trees there. i suppose you must be bitterly disappointed.

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:47 am

cool.if i’m not a family man i’ll buy one.

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 9:11 am

I dont care about proton so called “successes” (BTCC podiums when practically everybody crashes out, ATCC wins when everyone else are building their cars in workshops, oh yes the cars that win rallies are really “protons”). It’s a cool concept, thats all it is. Given enough money even a shiitty Aveo will outhandle a 3 series built BMW Motorsport, but it does nothing to its real life/road worthy counterpart. People need to realize that and stop dreaming.

One a more interesting note, it’s built to a S2000 rules that means it’s qualified to enter WTCC, STCC and BTCC races (huzzah). I wonder if it can make it to those races without hitting a lamp post? hmmmm…

• neo driver on May 26, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Hey you javanese,,
      what’s on your mind bro,,,here some little advice for you man,,
      PROTON has successes with their so called ”NEO S2000”…
      that the FACT bro,,,,
      by da way what’s your ride,,,my ride is NEO brada,,,wanna race?????,,,

lets prove some fact here,,,you pick the track,,,ada beraniii?????????????????

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 9:40 am

Javanese…
    i don’t quite understand ur point?

do compare melon with melon, apple with apple.
    race car with race car, standard car with standard car.

mishap can always happen.

• awak (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:22 pm

winning ATCS MAX 1500 race in Thailand ,
    at least its ‘something’ for a race prepared proton satria neo

• tanasi (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:33 pm

A gazillion people didn’t leave a comment here because of exactly what Javanese hopes: they simply don’t care. But unlike these people, Javanese did, regardless of the sentiment of his comment. A tiny iota of matter in him did care, and the reason is pure and simple – because the yellow car is a Proton.

To my knowledge, Proton has got nothing to do with MEM in developing this car, apart from selling a single unit to them just like it sells cars to any Joe Public who wants to buy a Proton. But i bet MEM had a good reason why it chose the Neo, apart from all the qualities mentioned, a reputable race car builder will look for base vehicle with good engineering fundamentals to work on.

The inventor of the integrated circuit, yes the forebearer of the tiny chips that run your PC, your mobiles, and yes your cars – was once asked on how to cultivate the skill of inventing in children. His reply was “read them fairy tales. People nowadays do not dream enough”.

• Javanese (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Do I care? It’s a good looking car but honest to god, I really REALLY don’t care (clue: look at how many post i make under other MEM neo threads) how well this car do on the track/stages. It just tickles me how excited ppl get when somebody other than malaysian hopped up our national cars.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 2:57 pm

awak said,

October 7, 2008 @ 12:22 pm

winning ATCS MAX 1500 race in Thailand ,
    at least its ’something’ for a race prepared proton satria neo

———————————-

they also won in indonesia against a horde of hondas and toyotas.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 3:01 pm

tanasi said,

October 7, 2008 @ 12:33 pm

To my knowledge, Proton has got nothing to do with MEM in developing this car, apart from selling a single unit to them just like it sells cars to any Joe Public who wants to buy a Proton. But i bet MEM had a good reason why it chose the Neo, apart from all the qualities mentioned, a reputable race car builder will look for base vehicle with good engineering fundamentals to work on.

——————————————————–

theres more to just selling a car to a race car builder to build an FIA approved car.
    there is a long and tedious homologation process that needs the special cooperation of the manufacturer and its engineering staff. you dont just sell one car and tell them to get on with it.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 3:07 pm

javanese,

“but it does nothing to its real life/road worthy counterpart. People need to realize that and stop dreaming.”

i suppose i get your point now. and i think its a valid reason. but everyone has a point to make, and it isnt always right.

but to be fair to proton, the ATCS cars are not very highly modified. they’re using suspension bought off the shelf. the rims are “advanti” rims that anyone can buy, not some super duper mag-alloys.. the roll cage is welded by some dude in some workshop in some industrial area in selangor.. toyota and honda indonesia are manufacturer backed. likewise, the tyota teams in thailand are experienced and have been racing their particular formula for years.. you comments say its no big deal, and anyone can do it.. but i disagree totally, not everyone can do it. but i’m sure you can, since its no big deal to you.

also, car manufacturers around the world dont seem to agree with you either.. look at mercedes, toyota, honda.. etc. they spend billions every year in F1.. and the other billions spent in DTM, or SuperGt, with cars only “looking” like the road cars they represent.. which again comes back to your argument above. i suppose they’ve all got it wrong, and you’ve got it right.. and thats my opinion.

p.s. “Given enough money even a shiitty Aveo will outhandle a 3 series built BMW Motorsport,” I totally disagree with this as wel.. having money is one thing, but car handling is a lot more than just money.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 11:36 pm

No. Not on an Aveo. Not a FF, rear torsion beamed Aveo. Maybe a Lacetti/Optra in the WTCC. But then you have Robert Huff at the wheel. Currently in 3rd on points and only having got points in 5 out of 10 circuits. But then Chevrolet has only got one (manufacturer) team. Coz everybody else thinks its sad to drive a Korean in WTCC. Sad to see Andy Priaulx down on standings at 6th. Most of the time its not the car.

It may tickle Javenese that some of us nationalists feel excited about foreigners doing us a big favour. But it may boggle the English mind beyond their comprehension that we are not proud of our own. Since they only have history in their name whilst we still have ours. Good or Bad, it is still ours. And you claim you are Javanese? Only in name perhaps, not in soul. You bring shame to us all, for you have used it in vain.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 11:49 am

Hi,

Please spare me from this intellectual talk, I’m just passing by. I guess I keep my opinion to myself for now. There’re plenty car enthusiasts in here. It’s good time for me to read some of these work of art (intellectual bashing). Haha.

• qozhx (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 12:08 pm

i just don’t get it with Javanese statement… why all d fuss about… plus “Given enough money even a shiitty Aveo will outhandle a 3 series built BMW Motorsport,”… what the hell is that… let’s say both so called shitty Aveo vs BMW M3 were given d same amount of funding… who do you think will win… surely d M3 even with a jackass who’s driving it… so what harm did d MEM prep S2000 Satria Neo done to you… from my point of view if a good car is being prep to be a great car that can compete why give a go… even mild modified Proton has won so many competition…

i think uur d one who alway crashes into the a tree….
    wakakaka….

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 1:04 pm

Javanese is skeptical just because this car has got Proton badge on it, I sometimes did it too.

But this S2000 Neo definitely looks the bussiness, chassis wise the base Proton should already come off age, let’s see how it fairs against the Pugs & Fiats.

• zaki78 (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 7:08 pm

maybe they used audi TT engine(2.0 turbo). they used this engine into satria neo GTI(x sempat launch coz change CEO)

• mobilespeed (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 8:58 pm

kei9 said,
    October 6, 2008 @ 4:05 pm

notice the swede covered dash?

Now that’s hot.

or u mean SUEDE…he he he!

actually the material helps a lot…by covering with suede, it prevents from glare from the dashboard itself…plastic dashboard do glares in sunlight!

lots of rally cars are implemeting to this kind of method nowadays…starting with Subaru rally cars…

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 10:52 pm

zaki78 said,
    October 8, 2008 @ 7:08 pm

maybe they used audi TT engine(2.0 turbo). they used this engine into satria neo GTI(x sempat launch coz change CEO)
    —————————————————————-

You absolutely wrong here mate.. this 2 litre Proton S2000 engine is derived from the Renault 1.8 litre engine that fitted to Proton’s Waja model before and has been further developed by MEM’s engineers to produce a reliable 278 bhp @ 7600rpm with a usable power band from 5,500 to 8,500rpm. Combined with the best 6-speed sequential 4WD Super 2000 transmission currently available, (the “532” version from market leaders Xtrac), the car sets new standards for engine performance and driveability.

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 7:27 am

278 bhp out of 2 litre NA engine , hmm… that’s the power figure back in those days of F2 Rally Kit Car.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 9:08 am

Salamz and Hi,

This “MEM Proton Satria Neo S2000” could be a glimpse of our future Satria Neo GTi, isn’t it? Maybe we are watching a prototype being build and tested by this MEM guys. I hope Proton would still consider building a 5-door Proton Satria (I know its very difficult decision, considering the sales of other 4-door Proton model could be affected as well).

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 10:42 am

SY0H said,
    October 9, 2008 @ 9:08 am

Salamz and Hi,

This “MEM Proton Satria Neo S2000? could be a glimpse of our future Satria Neo GTi, isn’t it? Maybe we are watching a prototype being build and tested by this MEM guys. I hope Proton would still consider building a 5-door Proton Satria (I know its very difficult decision, considering the sales of other 4-door Proton model could be affected as well).
    —————————————————————-
    Salamz…..

This is not a prototype of Satria Neo GTI… MEM was authorised to transform the road going version of Proton’s Satria Neo model and produce a ground-breaking conversion of the Satria into the full specification Super 2000 car…. So, the new Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car has just raised the performance bar for the rapidly expanding FIA Super 2000 rally series.

And, I think there will be no consideration for proton to build a 5-door satria neo because satria is always satria that used 3-door platform and will never be same as wajas or gen2s…..

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 11:40 am

So is this a completely independent effort? Without any factory backings? Or perhaps a semi-factory? Quite a suprise if Proton does not give any inputs, given IRC is a world class event. Rather than supporting A1 team series, this is more relevant I think.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 7:53 pm

MEM winning the British Championship twice, the FIA Production World Championship with the Proton Wira in 2002, the US Pro-Rally Championship in 2003 for Mitsubishi USA and the 2004 FIA Asia-Pacific Championship, again for Proton. Building on this successful partnership between MEM and Proton in Malaysia, MEM was authorised to tranform the car and Proton was car manufacturer, their together built this Satria Neo S2000 for compete in FIA Super 2000 Rally Series in the future..

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 3:01 am

Apparently, this is the video of testing and preparation for the coming Antibes Rallye-Cote d’Azur which will be held from 15-17th this month. Antibes is the final round of the European Rally Championship. The Neo S2000 will be driven by one Bryan Bouffier who currently leads the Polish Championship in a Peugeot. Maybe it’s worth to check out the contenders. There are Toyota, Skoda, Peugeot and Opel.

Finally, Satria Neo will makes its debut in the rally scene. I wonder if Proton/MEM has any plan of entering the WRC. Whatever happen to the plan to host WRC in Malaysia? FELDA-Malaysia-WRC?

• kickas5car (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 2:25 pm

some of your speak as though proton could be compared to all the other manufacturers. intrinsically, it can never be compared, due to the deep-rooted culture of the organisation and the reason of it being set up in the 1st place. all these talk seems as though we are still staring and blatantly wishing that piece of wood we held on hand will somehow turn into a diamond. Sweet dreams.

• mobilespeed (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 5:19 pm

aksMs said,
    October 10, 2008 @ 3:01 am

Apparently, this is the video of testing and preparation for the coming Antibes Rallye-Cote d’Azur which will be held from 15-17th this month. Antibes is the final round of the European Rally Championship. The Neo S2000 will be driven by one Bryan Bouffier who currently leads the Polish Championship in a Peugeot. Maybe it’s worth to check out the contenders. There are Toyota, Skoda, Peugeot and Opel.

Finally, Satria Neo will makes its debut in the rally scene. I wonder if Proton/MEM has any plan of entering the WRC. Whatever happen to the plan to host WRC in Malaysia? FELDA-Malaysia-WRC?

The MR8 just finished a minute ago, and still FIA is probing on whether Malaysia will be in the list of future WRC round. If it was a success, maybe in 2010.

But I don’t know or how to comment more about it. Since the MR8 started yesterday, from 19 cars competing, only 8 managed to finished the rally. others broke down due to stage conditions/driver error/mechanical failure.

Remember that all cars competing in MR8 are quite FAST, especially in the APRC category. And WRC cars are much faster than them. Donno whether these cars suited enough to compete for our stage conditions…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:07 pm

sure lose

• darkteror (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:28 pm

my comment is the car doesnt make the driver.

• i want's cham enjine s2000

• sempoi on Sep 13, 2009 at 8:03 am

When he will join WRC RALLY