No more Honda FR-V in August 09

Honda FR-V

The Honda FR-V (or Honda Edix as it is also sometimes known by) will cease production by August, ending a typical 5 year Japanese model run. It will not be replaced as Honda says other models are able to serve its customer base well, but the FR-V is really quite unique in the Honda range.

It’s a 3+3 seater (likely inspired by the Fiat Multipla), which means two rows but the ability to seat 6 as you can fit three in the front thanks to a seat in the middle. This seat can also be folded down to create a tray or arm rest. There are 32 different seating combinations, three ISOFIX points, lots of storage areas, so it makes quite a nice family vehicle.

In Malaysia, there are alot of people who buy the FR-V and pimp it up like it was a larger Honda Jazz. Looking rather sporty to begin with, it’s a good base for aesthetic mods.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jefferytan on Jul 11, 2009 at 6:55 pm

wow! 1st! this model actually is really nice. Just mayb honda is having too many car model make them not feasible to let own model fight with each other. If this model is here in Malaysia, i bet it will be hot selling provided it priced right like the Avanza or Grand Livina.

• Charger on Jul 11, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Definitely need to put kit on this, due to the ugly damn 7 high front overhang. Yuck!

• jiho21 on Jul 11, 2009 at 7:09 pm

How much is it selling in Malaysia?

• kaskas_pepper on Jul 11, 2009 at 7:33 pm

my neber had got one..look nice with white color

• niaserng on Jul 11, 2009 at 8:05 pm

there a lady buy this AP car in Penang.

RM130,000 for tis crap

• roti naan1 on Jul 11, 2009 at 8:25 pm

ok la…better than proton lor…

• trinity on Jul 11, 2009 at 8:30 pm

i have that car! its a nice car…love the interior…but 2.0 is kinda…abit underpowered to my liking…but still love it =D – p.s. its no crap you fool! =P *joking*

• I rather like this car. It is ideal in size ( if there is such a thing ). Spacious with a sporty SUV look without being too tall or too long. Have been asking Honda Malaysia when they will bring it in years ago but they say they want to gauge how it performs in the grey market. Now that we have the BMW 5 GT and that Honda tall fastback coming in trend, it looks like the Edix came too soon for its time. Pity they have decided to stop it because now is its time.

• Bcoz tis is ugly, its looks sooo matrix

• rally_fan on Jul 11, 2009 at 10:07 pm

"roti naan1 said,

July 11, 2009 @ 12:25 pm

ok la…better than proton lor…"

for RM130,000??? you must be nuts.

• lou_sai on Jul 11, 2009 at 10:51 pm

“roti naan1 said,

July 11, 2009 @ 12:25 pm

ok la…better than proton lor…”

for RM130,000??? you must be nuts.

for rm130,000 any car better than that box.

it is still an underpower crap.

haha end of production.

sau pei

• Kelog on Jul 11, 2009 at 11:36 pm

AR-V BR-V CR-V DR-V ER-V FR-V GR-V HR-V

Edix R-V ?

so, CR-V for??

• d model in Malaysia carry d badge WALD

i guess WALD is oledi a NO-NO in d local auto mkt industry.

good luck to d existing owners while for new buyer, too bad u gotta look for alternative.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 12, 2009 at 12:16 am

R.I.P by by birthday *and Sg's National day*? Shucks..

Oh well.. Honda still got some other models to come tho.

• _xXx_ on Jul 12, 2009 at 12:23 am

also known as edix?

• CocoBear on Jul 12, 2009 at 3:58 am

So far I have only seen one such car near my house, in Penang. It's a Wald and has the size of a B-class? Very unique. Maybe the successor to this car is Honda Freed?

• SwiftMatrix on Jul 12, 2009 at 4:43 am

I think they stop EDIX since they already have FREED as it successor.

• mkrafz on Jul 12, 2009 at 5:19 am

the back end look familiar…

Mercedes B-Class maybe..?

• dando on Jul 12, 2009 at 5:42 am

hi Paul, i just got an sms from Honda salesperson saying that honda will launch accord 2.0 vti-l on 15th july…. was invited for test drive…. what model is this?

• Brian on Jul 12, 2009 at 5:50 am

What a pity, it is my dream car as my family consists of 6 (but rather expensive)! Hope to see an altenative 6 seater car in future. It is really troublesome to unfold the 3rd row seats for 6 persons and having to sacrifice the luggage space !

• Bodowee on Jul 13, 2009 at 12:08 am

When this FRV was brought in few yrs ago it was like 180k brand new ..test drove the car … imp –> not worth it …underpowered and suspension not soaking the road imperfections well …The 3+3 seating is nice though

• gtmaniac on Jul 13, 2009 at 1:46 am

I tot last time they banned vehicles with middle seat between driver & front passanger?

Is it only applicable on van?

• Bodowee on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:32 am

Brian many used FRv la ..go and find if you dream one of them ;-)

• haniff on Jul 20, 2009 at 11:41 pm

NiaSeng: there a lady buy this AP car in Penang.

RM130,000 for tis crap

No money..NO TALK LAh dude!!

Dude..i owned one and it's a sure head turner..very unigue layout.Nothing comes close to this..spaciousnees with luggage.Wish hahah..what a joke! Power wise..well, i did 175km/h in few occasion! OD helps alot. 2hrs from Hyatt Kuantan to Ampang!! hows that…faster well common sense take effectlah.

• Test Driver on Sep 11, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Nia seng, potong stim. Just went for test drive for 2.0 i-Vtec Edix in Kajang, claimed to be the only AP importer for Honda Edix. Selling at RM119k 0 mileage brand new. Ok lah so so, claim 156hps tune by Wald, almost paid the deposit today.. and thought it will be worth for the money and for the wife to drive around.. but now think twice..nia ma, stupid Honda.. why la continental so expensive here in malaysia.. otherwise might as well go for B170 which only cost around 12k pound sterling only.. the whole Malaysia system for automobile can go to hell.. car is not a country business you moron.

• andrew wong on Sep 19, 2009 at 1:07 am

any advise from you guys out there that own the edix?

looking forward to buy 1. the salesman offer me 109k

service & parts how ar? since is no longer in production plus is a cbu..

pls advise…cheers…

• laiyin on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:36 am

Hi, I'm also considering the Edix 2.0. I was quoted 119k but need to pay extra fro Reg 1800 and road tax/ins. Considering that this car came into Msia in 2004, will the condition still be good or any rust inside even if 0 mileage? Also the warranty is only 3 months. I really like the 3+3 seating. Any thoughts?

• bahrin on Oct 01, 2009 at 9:56 pm

went to the kajang showroomlast weekend never had a chance to test drive as the guy said not on sunday. can see a lot of edix cars with multi colors, price from rm119k to rm125k……what u guys think

• nizam on Oct 11, 2009 at 8:47 am

Underpower…what guys mean? eventhough it used CRV engine and upgraded by WALD….

• celine on Oct 12, 2009 at 5:46 pm

saw the car yesterday at alamanda…like it a lot ..especially the pearl white color..for a compact mpv i thot the car looked spacious.. going for a test drive soon !

• bahrin on Oct 15, 2009 at 10:29 pm

finally, i have bought the car…2 days old now with me, really good performance

• hisham on Dec 02, 2009 at 9:43 pm

It is a nice car indeed, I have 1 in red color, my friend let go his 9 months Civic FD2 2.0 to grab the pearl white edix, thos who dont know where to source parts can contact me, the normal servicing only cost me RM148 for labour, oil filter and Idemitsu lubricants…and 1 full tank can take me 550km-600km on highway…hehehehe…anyway, its a Honda, and Honda builds good cars.

• hisham on Dec 02, 2009 at 9:54 pm

Most of the parts in Edix are shared with Civic ES, Stream and CRV, i mean the bolts, nuts, engines, power stering racks, suspension set up, coil springs etc…Another body parts need to be ordered and I hope most owners (number of owners are increasing I believe) will stay in group in order to get parts with a good price. So far so good, pick up is very good for a car this big (mine is 2.0) and most importantly, this is 1 practical ride, big interior, spacious, got few hidden compartments, even got a drawer!! , powerful fully automatic aircond, wiper sensor, xenon lights, keyless entry, run with Honda legendary K20A motor and it seats 6 persons on board. Fuel consumption is acceptable for a car this big, long distance journey is great with premium sound system quality. And since it is a rare model, people will look at it like…wow! what is that? a fridge with H logo? yup…but it seats 6 and lots of luggage inside, comfortably dude!!! – I love my Honda FRV/Edix

• Lachlan on May 15, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Hi Hisham,

Just wonder where do u service your unit? Is there any authorized service center that can service this model? I am staying around Subang.

Pls advise. Thanks.

H/Pno: 012-6716485

• bahrin on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:07 am

hisham, how to contact you in order to get the spare parts (in case of emergency). I had my first service last month at Kota Damansara, normal service that cost me about rm220….

they advised me to change the 4 tyres , have yet to decide…

• dreong13 on Dec 04, 2009 at 11:46 pm

hisham: I was planning to check out the car but got worried about the after sales supports and services.However, after reading yr review i hv the confidence to test it out. hopefully i will enjoy the car as much as u do. thanks for the review.

• Azman on Dec 15, 2009 at 2:34 am

Just bought one and no regret. Though of buying MPV for whole family but Edix 2.0(FRV)is the right solution. Simple & compact for family riding. Words to express FUN & COMFORT.

• Damn GOOD CAR!

• hisham on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:50 am

hi, i already clocked 9000km and so far so good. My family members enjoy the car so much. THIS IS NOT A RACE CAR, it weights 1400kg and is kind of compact MPV, acceleration (for 2.0) is acceptable.

I service my car in Klang (Kapar tyre shop) using ENEOS lubricant and it never exceeds RM150 for normal service.

Parts like suspensions/absorbers and such can be outsourced from Japan or Singapore-1 company in Kepong do cater this. Bodyparts? Windscreen? Windows? Clear windows? Xenon headlight problems? – please e-mail me at [email protected] or SMS me @0126043717 – I have source for bodykits with paintings and window visor too!!!

U want English manual? Yes I have it but only for 1.7 model…

Stay in group and we are safe, thats all.

p/s:- In my life, I never pay extras for something I dont need, I never go for authorized dealers, they just make you poorer, there are lots of good workshop outside…My previous local rides also I serviced outside, a lot more cheaper!! warranty? it is just a marketing tool…hehehehe – JUST my opinion

• mr hisham!!!! one question, FRV got no cupholder ka?

• hai hisham. i need d eng manual badly. i got d japanese 1. don’t undrstnd at all…hehe.

• hisham on May 04, 2010 at 9:02 am

Aku:- ada!!!!
    3cupholders at the front, lower part of the dashboard, in the middle, just near the cigarette lighter’s socket. BARELY U CAN SEE IT. KENA RABA RABA SIKIT!
    U pull that downwards, wallahhh!! 3 cupholders in a row!! – smart and uniquely designed.

Dear guys, sorry if u couldn’t reach me or Im not replying, just got back from Jakarta.
    I think u can deal straight away with Glorywheels for door visor and bodykit!!
    Ask for brader Lee, one helpful taiko.

• ok thanks bro…..baru ni ada FRV buat show kat alamanda masuk dalam tgk semua perfect tapi cari cupholder plak tak daa…anyway thanks for your info

• surita on Jun 17, 2010 at 9:01 pm

hai hisham,
      i plan to buy Edix 2.0 year 2005 from used car at Kajang, just wondering how much did you get your Edix? what year?
      or can i call u to get further info?

Sue
      Saujana Utama, Sg Buloh

• i just got 1. 2.0 EDIX….nice mpv aka suv huh!

• surita on Jun 17, 2010 at 9:09 pm

wooh! how much you bought it??? . where you get it???? pls advise thnks