New photos of CR-V facelift from Honda UK

Honda CR-V Facelift
Click for enlarged image

The new CR-V is only supposed to debut in Japan on the 17th but Honda UK has already officially announced the car with two new photos.

The new CR-V gets new bumpers front and back, a new grille, new alloy wheel designs for both the 17 inch and 18 inch sizes, and upgraded fabric and plastics on the inside. The audio console gets a new design, and Honda has also added better engine and cabin soundproofing.

Honda CR-V Facelift
Click for enlarged image

For diesel-crazy Europeans, they get an updated version of Honda’s 2.2 litre diesel. The diesel engine now makes an extra 10 PS and 10Nm of torque, resulting in new power output figures of 150 PS at 4,000rpm and 350Nm of torque at 2,000rpm. Also, previously the diesel was only available with a manual but now Honda has an in-house 5-speed automatic for the diesel CR-V.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• muharifz on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:43 am

Nice….

• henry on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:46 am

the front-end getting lil bit more plain..

• DaydeSIANG on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:01 am

I wan the diesel version CR-V!!!

BTW Paul, M'sia is offering Diesel Euro2 soon… are there any automaker plan to bring more diesel car / suv to M'sia like this CR-V, Smart Diesel, Accord diesel or even Ford Mondeo Diesel?

• Caddilac Wong on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:13 am

It seems that the performance of diesel engine of Honda is way behind Hyundai's R-series… New Sorento & SantaFe's 194hp & 421Nm with 6AT compared to 150hp & 350Nm with 5AT

• n.aniham on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:24 am

ST60…any comments on this new facelift CR-V..?

• Littlefire on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:31 am

Well is better than nothing compare to here, we only get a 2.0L with the price on par with 2.5L X-trail…

Other country have 2.4L DOHC i-VTEC and this Diesel engine as option, but we all have to eat that 2.0L choice…

• looks better than mine.if I were you I would wait for the new one but don't know if there will be a price increase.if you don't think the look is significantly different then you may be able to bargain for more goodies with the present model if you tell the SA that you know about the new model coming out.personally I have no complaints about the soundproofing.it's better than my toyota wish but not as good as the S60(incidently my S60 soundproofinng beats my friend's E280 and 530

• One Word – Very ugly.

• Don't like the front bumper.

• im still skeptical about korean made engine. current sorento in malaysia is prone to crankshaft failure within 100k mileage. even with high hp & torque, its useless if a diesel engine not reliable. that y honda got only 1 model production diesel engine.

• n.aniham on Sep 11, 2009 at 7:50 am

Thanx S60T…i don't have any experience with volvo…but i'm sure that your S60 is a good car…nice design infact..

• Pootrajeyah on Sep 11, 2009 at 7:57 am

Honda CRV interior gadgets are relatively empty , better get the Suzuki Vitara which is a lot cheaper and rides well

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:01 am

i'd have a Audi Q5 or Land Rover Freelander if you don't mind the price

• l3ryan on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:42 am

i’d have a Cayanne Turbo or X6 M if you don’t mind the price

• techboy_88 on Sep 11, 2009 at 11:06 am

K’ said,

September 10, 2009 @ 11:49 pm

im still skeptical about korean made engine. current sorento in malaysia is prone to crankshaft failure within 100k mileage. even with high hp & torque, its useless if a diesel engine not reliable. that y honda got only 1 model production diesel engine.

———————————————————————-

I afraid Naza imports 'rejected Sorento' to Msia.

• wribf on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:30 pm

Cant do much… the car still ugly!

Honda missed the point here, what we need another engine options and not a new grille!!

• Coolguru on Sep 11, 2009 at 2:05 pm

Paul, I thought you earlier post with a snapshot of the facelift looks better than these two photos. I thought Honda as smoothen more of the “dropping-jaw” making it less pronounce – it’ll still ‘ahem’, taking awhile to get used to!

By the way, anyone has experience to share on CRV with Ron95?

• willpower on Sep 11, 2009 at 2:19 pm

Ugly piece of SUV. Worse than XC90.

• kimi_ on Sep 11, 2009 at 2:29 pm

The front ugly like HELL….more uglier than HELL

• azrai on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:03 pm

Don't talk about Naza. Proton is in discussion with VW again. Maybe we can get a CKDed Tiguan with 80% local content. Good for the economy if exported in mass volume. http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

• hafizzul on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:35 pm

i’d have a Cayanne Turbo M if you don’t mind the price

• subhero on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:48 pm

tgk mcm sama je..

• stephenstreets on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Honda cars seems to be losing their modern yet beautiful aesthetic looks.

Since the S2000 and the NSX, nothing much looks as good as it goes fast. Toyota oso seem to be following this now.

This crv looks like an egg with 4 wheels

• Tigertie on Sep 11, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Diesel option! Come come to M'sia!

• meteoranaic on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:12 pm

the front looks like it comes from the 60's

• Jeffery Chew on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:17 pm

I don't this crazy Europeans likes the 5 speeds automatic gear box, they like the automated manual transmission… Europeans prefer mechanical transmitted gear box but not torque converter gearbox..

• Jeffery Chew on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:18 pm

I don’t think crazy Europeans likes the 5 speeds automatic gear box, they like the automated manual transmission… Europeans prefer mechanical transmitted gear box but not torque converter gearbox.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/10/new-photos-of-cr-v-…

• Ju-Bo on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:48 pm

Proton MSX can beat CR-V may-b…

• c14man on Sep 11, 2009 at 6:08 pm

still don't understand why they have to keep that pirrhana jaw-like bumper.

don't they realize it looks more handsome with a decent looking bumper?

if there is one reason i'm not buying this car, it's the bumper.

sorry if anyone feels offended. just honest opinion.

• roti naan1 on Sep 11, 2009 at 7:57 pm

The design is looking very tired oredi….

Anyway, auntie-auntie think the car look nice..

• Wak Rempit on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:56 pm

I second c14man there, the front end looks too complicated.

When I look at cars (I'm sure as anyone else), I always look at the grill first headlight second and the rest later… with the this CR-V how to do that? Can't tell which one is the upper lip, lower lip, middle lip, mid upper lip… wah! so many lips… macam kek lapis from sarawak!! :)

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 11, 2009 at 9:19 pm

To understand honda in Malaysia, you have to understand the market which these models are designed for. North America.

The bulk of our models are north american models, and the design philosophy reflects that.

I know a lot of people say the CRV has ended up looking soft, but then again that was the intention. IN US, Honda has 2 more heavier duty utility type vehicles, the Pilot and Ridgeline UTE (and 2 more from Acura, the MDX and RDX).

The CRV has ended up being the modern intrepretation of the housewife's station wagon. So being "soft" works for it..and puts it in direct competition with the Mazda CX7, Ford Edge/Escape, and the new Hyundai Tucson.

I still dont understand why the CRV cost less than the Stream.

• Coolguru on Sep 11, 2009 at 10:05 pm

Paul, I thought you earlier post with a snapshot of the facelift looks better than these two photos. I thought Honda as smoothen more of the "dropping-jaw" making it less pronounce – it'll still 'ahem', taking awhile to get used to!

By the way, anyone has experience to share on CRV with Ron95?

• Automotive_Critics on Sep 11, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Whatever facelift they put to this CRV, it will ended miserably if it still made by HM in Malaysia. Loose here there alot.

• Rhys Miller on Sep 12, 2009 at 12:41 am

Overpriced … don't even have HID's in the current model and only a 2.0l engine.

• Black Dog on Sep 12, 2009 at 12:52 am

The Sorrento is coming..

http://www.kia-sorento.com/

• Malaysia on Sep 12, 2009 at 1:01 am

Well done CRV it has it niche market there.. guys here all is car craze but no nothing about market what a disappointment. If as u guys say then UMW should have bring in RAV4 then but then price and it class. CRV is one of the best offered SUV(should have call RV instead) at 150k at it class. Other RV priced 200k guys…. no wonder malaysia automotive industry so downsized

• roti naan1 on Sep 12, 2009 at 3:33 am

The front grill design looks like "incomplete". It looks like the middle part terkopek…

• mystvearn on Sep 12, 2009 at 4:10 am

new sorento looks better. In fact, if you want to buy a car, just buy when its released rather than go for its midlife crisis upgrade which is just to generate interest.

• TopGear on Sep 12, 2009 at 7:35 am

wait until u see the real thing, then only comment

• vezeroth on Sep 12, 2009 at 8:13 am

First ROn 95 is RM 1.75

petrol stations buy at RM 1.75

on 1st september it is RM 1.80

petrol stations sell it at RM1.80 pocketing the extra money!

Who owns petrol stations?

Bloody cut throat UMNO cronies…

In the end the Malaysian ppl suffer! Especially the poor who used RON92.. and the goverment still claims it helps the poor and poor malays…

Pure Bull…

Come next GE, goodbye BN, PKR might not be better but we need a change, atleast who ever governs will understand the people put them there and that their position is not their right

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/04/share-your-ron95-ex…

• Sophian on Sep 12, 2009 at 9:37 am

Only buy new generation when it is released. You will piss off when you see next generation released after you bought face lifted model.

• vezeroth. pls try your level best not to include politic here. this thread is about honda crv.

• kaskas_pepper on Sep 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm

the current crv with 2.0ltr engine totally under power and kedarah minyak..

• kaskas_pepper on Sep 12, 2009 at 6:07 pm

i just need fill fuel rm60 (with rm1.80/ltr) for my bmw e46 2001 to arrive in k.L from k.T but my new crv 2009, new atleast rm100 to arrive in k.L and totally under power.xde pickup lgsg ..

• MiniCar on Sep 12, 2009 at 7:23 pm

CRV has lost its legacy….

• mitlanevo on Sep 13, 2009 at 1:56 am

another example of what's good getting even better, just like what Honda did with Jazz, City and Accord…

great job…

sadly we just gotta bear with the 2.0 engine…

• hondaslover on Sep 13, 2009 at 4:40 am

the front bumper the uglier's ever…

• jmg_32188 on Sep 13, 2009 at 4:50 am

whatever we say about it, cr-v still sells like hotcakes.

• mitlanevo on Sep 13, 2009 at 5:29 am

those anti-CRV are having Kembara and Nautica, lolololol

• Pootrajeyah on Sep 13, 2009 at 8:31 am

Wow ….thanks for URL link ….Kia Sorento appears much better overall ….they've definitely progressed well …great work KIA

6 speed auto some more .

• Marcellinus on Sep 13, 2009 at 8:58 am

Really cool design for ladies. Sure, they'll luv it.

• mitlanevo said,

September 12, 2009 @ 9:29 pm

those anti-CRV are having Kembara and Nautica, lolololo

_____

should be Rush

• and fortuner the overpriced "pick-up"

• zolar on Sep 13, 2009 at 1:15 pm

I hope when it comes Malaysia, I have money to buy it.

• nothing special…grand vitara is better in term of pricing, interior quality & its CBU from JAPAN

• mitlanevo on Sep 13, 2009 at 8:27 pm

Fortuner = Hilux = worst of all…

• Pls bring the diesel!