Changes for next year’s Nissan GT-R

Nissan GT-R

We already know that the Nissan GT-R has been updated for next year but previously details have been scarce. We only know the suspension had been updated, a diffuser with cooling ducts had been added (previously only on the SpecV) and some reduction in airflow resistance to better engine response at low to mid-range engine speeds.

Nissan Europe’s press release has the changes in better detail:

• Front spring and damper rates have been changed to improve ride comfort, and for more accurate control of suspension movement for better responsiveness.
  • The rear suspension radius rod bushings have been made stiffer to give improved feel and responsiveness during cornering.
  • Computer logic that controls torque distribution between the front and rear axles have been changed to reduce rear axle binding that occurs when differential fluids are cold.
  • Transmission logic has been altered to give a later downshift from 6th gear to 5th gear when being driven in automatic mode. A more aggressive downshift has been applied for changing from 4 to 3 and 3 to 2.
  • NACA cooling ducts added to the rear diffuser which provides better airflow to cool the exhaust and transmission (mounted at rear).
  • Front transmission mount has been stiffened and this reduces vibration through the driveline under high-load conditions.
  • EBD logic has been moved to apply more brake power rearwards to improve braking stability under dry conditions.
  • Rear brake cross spring design has been improved to reduce noise.
  • An improved air deflector design increases cooling to the rear brakes, which is probably needed now that the EBD has increased rear brake bias.
  • CO2 emissions have dropped by 3g/km – now at 295g/km.
  • Better insulation for the rear seats, improving cabin NVH.
  • Double layer clearcoat for the bumpers.
  • Gun metallic finish surrounds for the speedometer and RPM meter.
  • New audio-navi system with 40GB HDD storage (9.3GB for music), 3D navigation with Point of Interest supplied by Michelin (restaurants, etc), A2DP bluetooth audio streaming, voice-controlled menu operation and higher resolution 7 inch screen (4 times better resolution).

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dato'_Seri_Naji on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:29 pm

1st

• 1st..

cool..

• GRRR!! >:(

• nighttrain on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:52 pm

– Computer logic that controls torque distribution between the front and rear axles have been changed to reduce rear axle binding that occurs when differential fluids are cold.

That's a waste of programming, differential fluids wont get cold here. Cool, maybe.

– Gun metallic finish surrounds for the speedometer and RPM meter.

Gunmetal grey on the exterior would be nice. Paul, If the paint shop don't know what gunmetal grey is, how do you explain it to the paint guy? Is there a name on the can that refers to gunmetal grey? They also don't understand warna besi pistol.. heheh

– An improved air deflector design increases cooling to the rear brakes, which is probably needed now that the EBD has increased rear brake bias.

Is this integrated into the wheel design, or another part of the body?

• Littlefire on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:00 pm

All the talks and comment… But in the end, how many people can own this car in Bolehland… Haiz… Thanks to NAP..

• ezmil75 on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:22 pm

allo nighttrain

This is Euro spec GT-R, not Malaysian spec GT-R… of course their diff will get cold in winter..

• Jackal on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Good updates on the GTR. Any info if the transmission issues have been resolved??

• heman on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:18 pm

•CO2 emissions have dropped by 3g/km – now at 295g/km.?

2.95g/km?

• ricaza (Member) on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:23 pm

heman said,

November 12, 2009 @ 11:18 am

•CO2 emissions have dropped by 3g/km – now at 295g/km.?

2.95g/km?

—————–

i think it means before this CO2 emissions = 298g/km

• saw few gtr at sepang peronas station during weekend…singapore gtr…probably waiting to test their cars at F1 track..but sadly they cant wait to get inside the race track..sprint their gtr along highway to LCCT..get caught during filling fuel at that petrol pump..haha..where is Malaysian GTR???…hehehe

• tonton on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:49 pm

malaysian GTR just park at the mall, and the owner spend most of his time lepak at starbucks

• _xXx_ on Nov 12, 2009 at 8:01 pm

ezmil75 said,

November 12, 2009 @ 10:22 am

allo nighttrain

This is Euro spec GT-R, not Malaysian spec GT-R… of course their diff will get cold in winter..

wat malaysian spec…u muz b kidding. How many sold here so far? 650k sebijik. Special spec juz to cater the tiny malaysian market???

• haha, better buy Mitsubishi Lancer GT..convert to Evo X bodykit and styling..and park there…dont buy sports car la if just want to park at mall..hahaha

• Chris Chong on Nov 12, 2009 at 10:25 pm

What? Only 40GB Hard disk?

My PlayStation 3 has more hard disk space than that…

Which means a PS3 is better than a GT-R :)

• jamsbong on Nov 12, 2009 at 10:28 pm

interesting to see a continuous development on the R35. Very NOT like a japanese company. Looks like Ghosn's vision is more for the long term. Similar to Mazda's MX-5 and RX-8.

This will hopefully keep the GTR in touch with the Porsche. Note: the latest Porsche is faster than the GTR (IMO).

• nighttrain on Nov 12, 2009 at 10:58 pm

thanks _xXx_, I was just waiting for ezmil to figure that out himself… hehe.

• But Porsche doesn't have NACA, EBD, NVH and A2DP.

Lot's of cryptic abbreviations are quite important in Malaysia… ;)

• tonton on Nov 13, 2009 at 2:14 am

Littlefire said,

November 12, 2009 @ 10:00 am

All the talks and comment… But in the end, how many people can own this car in Bolehland… Haiz… Thanks to NAP..

——————————————

even without NAP, still the car price is 55k pound++. which is for a simple conversion to RM ——-> RM300k++

can u own this godzilla, mate?

——————————————–

interesting to see a continuous development on the R35. Very NOT like a japanese company. Looks like Ghosn’s vision is more for the long term. Similar to Mazda’s MX-5 and RX-8.

This will hopefully keep the GTR in touch with the Porsche. Note: the latest Porsche is faster than the GTR (IMO

—————————————

the nurburgring track record just proved your opinion is wrong. :)

porsche carrera GT = 7:28.71

Nissan GTR = 7:26.70

and the v-spec do better = 7:25

• T H C (Member) on Nov 13, 2009 at 3:51 am

My dream car :)

• tonton said,

November 12, 2009 @ 6:14 pm

"the nurburgring track record just proved your opinion is wrong. :)

porsche carrera GT = 7:28.71

Nissan GTR = 7:26.70

and the v-spec do better = 7:25"

Sorry, this information is wrong.

Official record: Florian Gruber, 13th August 2009, 7m11.57s

The car was a Gumpert Apollo Sport (Audi V8 bi-turbo engine): http://paultan.org/2007/02/08/gumpert-apollo-powe…

Source: http://www.worldcarfans.com/109081821111/gumpert-…

The previous speed record on the Nürburgring was held by Michael Düchting clocking in 7m14.89s on a Donkervoort D8 RS06 in November 2005, also Audi powered (2 liter, 4cyl turbo, 393hp).

Concerning the GT-R record: There is no record. Nissan simply claimed that they had time without any proof from an independent side…

• mu_77 on Nov 13, 2009 at 5:42 am

The best sports car i rate this!!! Performance, space, comfort and futuristic….

May i know how much is a recond gtr?? Best deal tht can get??

• James on Nov 13, 2009 at 4:34 pm

I did say it is my opinion rather than the official lap times. let me explain.

If you've watched Best motoring and other journalists who tried to replicate the record time of 7:26 set by GTR. You find that non of them are even close to the lap times… the lap times are usually in the region of 7:35 to 7:50.

What? why such big difference? I know Nissan said they used the normal tires so they didn't cheat. but they didn't tell you is that they chase this lap record day in day out (non-stop). Until one sunny dry hot day i.e. perfect condition, they've the perfect lap time.

If you bring your GTR and give it to a pro driver on any day at the ring, you'll find the lap times are in the 7:35+… On the other hand, bring the Porsche, chances are you'll be able to reach 7:29+ most of the time.

Thats why, IMO the Porsche is faster in the real world. Believe what you like, but know this, Porsche Turbo is lighter also has AWD and has more power. How can a GTR which is heavier, and has less power be faster?

Another point of thought… Remember topgear? the GTR is slower than the Porsche on the TG lap.

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 13, 2009 at 5:33 pm

this is probably the greatest car in the world. but you would still want a gallardo

• chew ban on Nov 13, 2009 at 8:34 pm

i want reventon, muahahaha

• James said,

November 13, 2009 @ 8:34 am

"Thats why, IMO the Porsche is faster in the real world. Believe what you like, but know this, Porsche Turbo is lighter also has AWD and has more power. How can a GTR which is heavier, and has less power be faster?"

Another point: If Nissan is so sure about the lap time, why they didn't call Porsche for a competition lap on the ring in front of the international motor press ?

This would be the greatest Advertisement for Nissan ever. Porsche beaten on their home track in Germany. But Nissan doesn't seem so sure about that… ;)

• The Stig on Nov 15, 2009 at 2:44 am

James or should I say captain slow, I did the TG record faster than the 430 Scuderia. Don't you think the Scuderia is lighter more powerful than the normal 997 Turbo? Think about it.