Watch out for the Perodua D46T this evening!

Perodua D46T

Check back after 5PM today for the full details on the new Perodua D46T MPV set to be launched at KLCC this afternoon.

No doubt nearly all of you have probably already seen how it looks like thanks to the various spyshots floating around the internet, and I know there are some members of the public who saw the full car undisguised in action during our test in Putrajaya earlier this month. Anyway, we’ve got some short driving impressions around Putrajaya for you to accompany the full details and specifications.

I probably should have thought of this earlier – if you have any questions about the Perodua D46T MPV please post them in the comments section here and I’ll try to see if I can answer them in the story at 5PM.

See you later after 5PM.

Picture above thanks to Sashi.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• T H C (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Cant wait to see this !

• redwings on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:17 pm

Looking forward…

• anak dato' kk on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:19 pm

First, did you test drive the manual version?

• barry on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Maybe i can start the ball rolling. What size are the 3rd-row back seats? Can 2 average sized adults fit in, or purely for small kids? Does the 1.5-litre engine (I gather should be the same one used in the Vios) have enough grunt to move this body fully loaded?

• planet on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Tunggu kemunculannya…………

• BMW Sauber on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Terms for wagon worldwide:

USA – Station Wagon

Britain – Estate

France – Break

Germany – Combi

Malaysia – Alza

• scanzew on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:24 pm

finally something is coming

• mk Lee on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Hello Paul.

With such a weight(about 1150??) and 1.5L engine on this new Alza.

My question:

1. How is the initial accelation feel like? Will it be under-powered?

2. Will its suspension as pumpy as Avanza?

TQ

• Ah Tan Workshop on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:41 pm

good product to replace avanza actually.. :D

• mk Lee on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:41 pm

If Alza = wagon with power = Avanza

Avanza = selling good.

Exora MPV = mautan pembawa van but with no power

muatan = 1380kg

enjin = 1.6L

Innova's size is the same as Exora, but with 2.0L engine

The Exora car DIDn't make to STANDARD

• Qozh Moreno on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:44 pm

sucks!

• azrai on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:45 pm

The engine is exactly the same as Avanza 1.5l engine except the P2 front wheel drive while the later rear wheel drive. Vios engine aluminum one different code from this Alza. Still confuse with the tag 'kereta juga MPV'. Many parts derived from Myvi actually (cost cutting exersice, normal for every car producer). For those T-badged obsessor, I bet they will say P2 is the best. Huahuahua.

• budzer on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Paul,

My question:

How is this Alza compare to Exora? Any feature or anything that come close to Wish or Stream?

• With 1.5 DVVT, this p2 alza have enough grunt to move this body fully loaded… try test drive first, bring all your family to perodua showroom..

• Compact on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:50 pm

Rnd test:

Manual with 2 pax : 200 km/h

Auto with 2 pax : 180 km/h

• hantupensil on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:50 pm

how about the power??

bleh naik genting x with full load?

• nabill on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:50 pm

if it looks anyting like myvi/viva then yucks…

• Paul, can u comment for this P2 Alza aircond when test drive in hot whether. Tq..

• Mysticmind on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:51 pm

crash test video please…. B)

• azrai on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:52 pm

The engine as the same as in Avanza. the Vios use aluminum engine with different code.

• Hi Bro Paul,

Got 1 question need yr favour to ask them (P2 Team).. When is the Special Edition Unit will be launched?? Looking fwd for that and not the std one.. To the others which intrested to hv tis car/mpv/wagon or what so ever, just let them produced for 5-6 mnths 1st then u can book yrs so that u will get a better quality cars (5-6 mths normal period for new product manufacturing stabalisation).. Anyway gud choice by P2 team for this model.. Looking fwd to test drive it myself soon..

Cheers!!

• Nakal on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:04 pm

what to ask?

Just google….

just new for perodua…but not in the world

• Kereta Juga MYVi on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Failure.. Same like NAUTICA

• kimi_ on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:15 pm

i will be the first to comment later!!!!!!!!

• Proton = China Car on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:27 pm

Alza is a good car will class same to Honda Freed or Honda Fit . No Potong(Proton). Do compare Exora to Chery Easter please !

• Ha Gnih on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:32 pm

I'm curious about the price, really.

• Sahfil on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:36 pm

What is the Fuel Consumption (FC) rate?

• kingv6 on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Since Perodua are marketing this new model as "A car also a MPV"

How is it compared with Myvi in temrs of:

1) FC

2) Interior size

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:40 pm

They should have named it MYmpv instead of alza which sound pathetic

• The special edition will be launched next March 2010. Price ard 70k. package comes with bodykits, gps, reverse camera, leather seat and etc.

saw the car ysty. third row quite okie. 2 adults shldnt be any problem but not for long distance. Not that comfortable. Front row and second row are quite spacious. If third row is occupied, you will left with small room for luggage. If not occupied…wow, big space available.

For Auto (stnd & Prem) spec, the front row seat is bench type.

The front looks like a bit of estima + jazz. Definitely bigger than Jazz. Nice car and additional color – Purple is nice.

Braking system – Front is dics and rear – Drum.

Available is Medallion Gray, Glittering Silver, Ebony Black, Pearl White, Ivory White and new color Classy Purple.

Every rows have compartment for bottles.

Some infor from the brochures-

Interior width – 1415mm

Interior height 1310mm

interior length – 2540mm

from dashboard to 2 row 1910mm

Overall height 1620mm

Overall length 4205mm.

Price

GX1.5 Std (M) Solid RM55,490

Met RM55,990

EZ1.5 Std (A) Solid RM58,490

Met RM58,990

GH1.5 Prem (M) Solid RM60,490

Met RM60,990

ZH1.5 Prem (A) Solid RM63,490

MET RM63,990

test drive is only available starting this saturday only.

Thanks

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:44 pm

For those who are interested in the Special Edition (it's called Advance Edition), the launch will be in March 2010.

• ray13 (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:50 pm

nah..already get in one of those..truly "sempit" la..especially at the Rear..it is only meant for children. Quality wise…still better la since it already tested by Toyota and Daihatsu.

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:55 pm

http://malaysiads.com/vehicles/cars/new-cars/new-…
    I just copy/paste this from the above website of a Perodua dealer:

Perodua Alza 1.5 Price List (Compact MPV):

MANUAL TRANSMISSION:

1. Manual (Standard) – Basic

Harga : RM55,990,

Downpayment : Zero

Bulanan1 : RM693 x 9thn @ 3.75%

Bulanan2 : RM836 x 7thn @ 3.65%

Bulanan3 : RM1096 x 5thn @ 3.5%

2. Manual (Premium) – Basic + Accessories*

Harga : RM60,990,

Bulanan1 : RM755 x 9thn @ 3.75%

Bulanan2 : RM912 x 7thn @ 3.65%

Bulanan3 : RM1194 x 5thn @ 3.5%

3. Manual (Advanced) – Basic + Accessories* + Extra Accessories**

Harga : RM67,146

Downpayment : RM6,746

Bulanan1 : RM748 x 9thn @ 3.75%

Bulanan2 : RM903 x 7thn @ 3.65%

Bulanan3 : RM1183 x 5thn @ 3.5%

AUTO TRANSMISSION:

1. Auto (Standard) – Basic

Harga : RM58,990

Bulanan1 : RM730 x 9thn @ 3.75%

Bulanan2 : RM882 x 7thn @ 3.65%

Bulanan3 : RM1155 x 5thn @ 3.5%

2. Auto (Premium) – Basic + Accessories*

Harga : RM63,990

Bulanan1 : RM793 x 9thn @ 3.75%

Bulanan2 : RM957 x 7thn @ 3.65%

Bulanan3 : RM1253 x 5thn @ 3.5%

3. Auto (Advanced) – Basic + Accessories* + Extra Accessories**

Harga : RM70,146

Downpayment : RM7,046

Bulanan1 : RM782 x 9thn @ 3.75%

Bulanan2 : RM944 x 7thn @ 3.65%

Bulanan3 : RM1236 x 5thn @ 3.5%

Specifications:

1. Basic

– 15? Alloy Rims

– Door Visor

– Reverse Sensor

– Underseat Tray

– Carpet Mat

– Anti Slip Mat

– Safety Triangle

– License Plate Holder

– Radio CD Player with MP3/WMA, Multi Info Display

– UV Protected Glass (All Glass)

2. * Accessories

– USB & Bluetooth Stereo,

– Seat Height Adjuster,

– Dual Airbag,

– ABS with EBD &

– Rear Spoiler

3. **Extra Accessories

– Bodykit,

– Leather Seat,

– GPS with Reverse Camera &

– Tinted Film

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:57 pm

You can now understand what you'll get for 3 differents level of trim.

Let down: ABS with EBD is NOT STANDARD….

• terabytes on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:01 pm

Paul,

Can you comment on the fuel consumption for manual and auto. According to a Passo Sette, the consumption is 15.6km per liter for auto but why Alza is far lesser even for manual?

• azrai on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:01 pm

Previously people also compare Savvy with MyVi what. Even though different segment ma.

• Ulcer?

• all the best! alza

• andrew on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:04 pm

does it have a CVT gear box

• madimat1 on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:09 pm

copy, paste,.. sell.

• michael lee on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:11 pm

the price for the highest spec is RM69,990. comes with GPS with reverse camera, leather seats, tinted glass and bodykit.

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Passo Sette…check out the rear seat space from the video!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBGRbETIWNY

• nazrin (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:19 pm

why have to compare with exora? i think this is not proper mpv as exora..

exora is 7 seater, alza is 5+2 seater..

should compare with the same class like toyota spacio

• Instead of Perodua Alza they should have called it Perodua "MyVi Limousine"

• Compact on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Grand MyVi lah….:)

• What is the Weight:Power ratio of this car compared to the Toyota Avanza, Proton Exora, Nissan Livina, Toyota Rush and other 7-seater cars. Hey Paul, maybe you should do a post to compare the power of these cars.

• swiftmatrix on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:38 pm

Paul,

Honestly, what do you think the selling point for this MPV compare with other MPVs …..

Price…?? Space….?? Or its brand name (since it was associated with famous "T" & "D") ???…

By the way, I'm not potential buyer… Just curious…. :)

• Rondorian on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:44 pm

is there any ISOFIX points in Alza? rear drum brake? isnt that bad? well.. for Exora its bad.. but im sure if perodua use it nobodys care.

• Jon said,

November 23, 2009 @ 2:32 pm

What is the Weight:Power ratio of this car compared to the Toyota Avanza, Proton Exora, Nissan Livina, Toyota Rush and other 7-seater cars. Hey Paul, maybe you should do a post to compare the power of these cars.

——————————————————————

Power to weight ratio is important, but bear in mind these car are not intended for spirited driving. They are mostly family cars. jalan-jalan car. So, fuel economy and maintenance cost should take precedance over performance of power/weight ratio.

Just my 2 cents.

• csho (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Hi Paul, I'm not sure it's right to compare versus Exora (same class) but both been "national" car I hope you can make a direct comparison with it. Likewise with Avanza & Livina. If I may suggest a table format. Thanks.

Alza Exora Avanza Livina

Compare 1 ? ? ? ?

Compare 2 ? ? ? ?

etc…

• Should compare with Exora also because we are comparing all 7-seaters below RM100K on the road price.

Or rather all cars capable of seating 7 people legally (not like kancil squeeze 7 people in).

• alora on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:59 pm

i got alza'z pemplet yesterday. from the spec, it seem the only advantage is the dvvt engine vs the kerb weight. the highest prize is 70K(advance spec-SE probably) but overall features, exora still much better i might say.

• theking on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Is isofix available?

• alora on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:02 pm

paul, any isofix pin?

air cond vent for 2nd and 3rd row?

dvd/lcd player like sette?

crash test result?

FC?

EPS or hidraulic power streeng?

interior space?

cup holder(s), how many?

• this is probably the replacement or the successor of nissan ad resort.

• eisyam on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:08 pm

Mysticmind said,

November 23, 2009 @ 12:51 pm

crash test video please…. B)

————————————————-

2nd that

need info about its crash test……do alza pass the euro ncap tests???

• Paul:

Even though this mpv-car derived from passo Sette-Boon Luminas I suspect the quality and FC definitely not up to the both Japanese sibling due to:

1. Little "heavy" redesign for front end will affect Cd ratio

2. Myvi gear rather than borrow straight from Sette-Luminas' gated type

3. History told us: T or D never gave us similar engine/specs like JDM especially the manual if I'm not mistaken not exist in JDM and clearly taken from Myvi manual (also unique to the Malaysian's Myvi and European Passo/Boon's. In JDM they normally adopt column gear

Minus absence of EBD-ABS-SRS and bare steering wheel, this mpv will create another success for P2.

• whizzer (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:17 pm

1. how much luggage space is available after 7 passengers are seated.

2. Notice that frontseat next to driver got space. Can fit another passenger like a truck ?

• whizzer (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:19 pm

got tehtarik hook or not ?

• RAVEN on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:24 pm

can it fit 7 adult, comfortably?

can it accelerate with 7 adult on board?

• Malaysia Classifieds on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:28 pm

Have seen Alza car today at PJ Showroom. Overall Exora is bigger. But DVVT engine makes the difference. I still believe it's expensive for a local car. We Malaysians deserve better if not for Auto Policy. So sad!

• RAVEN on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:31 pm

paul, try sit at the third row..

& imagine sitting there for a long journey..

• knight_templar on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Hi Paul thanks for letting us ask questions. Mine are:

1.) What is the perceived interior quality? ie soft touch, hard, shiny etc.

2.) Any interior accouterments, ie. stuff like food hanger hooks, storage bins, amrests etc.

3.) Easy to find good driving position for any size?

4.) Road/Wind noise (if possible)

5.) Your final verdict on whether the Alza trumps the Fatxora, err Exora. Its inevitable coz people will compare no matter how manufacturers try to distinguish them.

Thanks.

• arch808 on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:37 pm

P2 is a symbol of malaysian False Achievement. Everybody knows all their vehicles are re-badged version of Ts and Ds (except the Special Edition bumpers of course).

If I am a Japs travelling in Msia, I'll keep looking down at Msian people all the time. Hey P2, when r u gonna come out with your own engine and eventually cars? Stop making us Msian the laughing stocks of the world.

yeah, yeah, yeah, i know other car companies allso do the same thing like Naza & Inokom even Modenas too. Some other countries also rebadge cars from outside too. But, come on la P2, takkan la u all nak plagiarise kereta negara orang sampai bila2?

• peYno_sux (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:41 pm

barry said,

November 23, 2009 @ 12:19 pm

Maybe i can start the ball rolling. What size are the 3rd-row back seats? Can 2 average sized adults fit in, or purely for small kids? Does the 1.5-litre engine (I gather should be the same one used in the Vios) have enough grunt to move this body fully loaded?

—————————————————————-

engine is not the same as Vios. Vios is 1NZ-FE, Alza engine is the same as Avanza 1.5, Rush & Nautica which is 3SZ-VE.

• scwhat on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:41 pm

launching kete ni ade masuk tv tak?

• queen B on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:42 pm

cant wait!

• peYno_sux (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:43 pm

barry said,

November 23, 2009 @ 12:19 pm

—————————————————————-

engine is not the same as Vios la, vios running on 1NZ-FE. While Alza engine is the same as Avanza, Rush & Nautica which is 3SZ-VE.

• gen2lama on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:44 pm

i dont think the manual version got '3rd' seat next to driver…

just look at the gear…not at the dashboard…

• gen2lama on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:45 pm

how's the 2nd row?…can it fit 3 adult comfortably like exora?

• 3 bugging question regarding the Alza, hope you will answer them Paul…

1) Any SPARE TYRES ?? !!

2) 2nd row has no air-cond, thus will they implement one in future cause Avanza has one and this car is so big and doesn't have one ??

3) Pedal hand brake ??

Thanks…

• vbkcheng (Member) on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Already have a look ath the car last night…nothing to huha lor

The front light look nice, but the back view, just imaging myvi back…

• lowprofile on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:15 am

already saw it at the kg baru branch… looks real good. impressive job.

• lowprofile on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:16 am

Raven,

If the Avanza 1.3 and 1.5 can do it, i don't have a single doubt that the Alza can also do it.

• love malaysian on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:19 am

hi paul ..

since they already hav brochure…

can u ask about crash test … they say alza hav COLLISION-RESISTANT BODY..n there hav crash pic but ..dont show what barrier or what crash that pic about …

do they? or just picture 2 tipu people ..???

• mouse on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:20 am

Citra 2.0 fully loaded with 6 adults also cannot really jalan already.. i wonder how this thing gonna move…

• joe jambul on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:23 am

Just can't wait to see it…

• Sean Lim on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:25 am

I went to see the car near Tesco Ampang… the Premium edition (Test Drive Unit) still wrapping with the white plastic.. Saw another Maroon Color (Auto) & Black Color (Manual) there open for public to view.

• Tiu the Proton on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:33 am

Boring…

• Hi Paul and all the gentleman out there,

Please advise which car should i pick (need it to send my kiddo to school and to work purpose)

>Azanza 1.3Auto or the P2 Alza 1.5Auto Premium?

Tks for the advise in advance.

• BListein on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:41 am

Does it come with reverse camera like the one in Passo Sette?

Does it have keyless entry?

What is the difference/feature taken away from the originate Passo Sette??

• 20Minutes to go…

• Slayer on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:44 am

check out this link

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Car-One-Moment-MPV-…

• Littlefire on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:53 am

Wow… I think if Auto version it can also seat 3-3-2! Which is 8 ppl! But for sure will crap a bit loo…

Anyway this is a selling point also! As a lot of cars in Japan are using this pattern of front seat.

• Eyesore on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:53 am

lol… i see quite many positive comments.. unlike exora threads before and just after it was launched… bombarded with negatives comments… lol… what a double standard…. I wonder how come there are ppl accusing paul n his blogs readers are proton spies…

• biggest concern: Alza engine performance compared to Avanza, Exora, and Livina 1.6L

• pengawas on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:58 am

Paul.. when you sit in this alza… how do you feel on the 3rd row…? the NVH eg… n when u r at driver's sit did you can hear clearly passenger's voice… esp from 3rd row…

• @ntiPerOdua on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:59 am

Overall…… SHIT!!!!!

• paul

already 5:01PM.. no new article yet…. :)

• 5:03pm already…

• arch808 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:04 am

I'll be even ashamed if this launching is to be televised live. whats so great about rebadging a vehicle that we have to put in in tv, live some more…? pls dont. My diginity as a Malysian have suffered enough…!

• PTAllTheBest on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:06 am

it is now over 5pm… waiting for the news Paul… anticipating

• rexis on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:07 am

5.## liao, go grab you MPV now…

Details weyy… wheres the details…..

• pentium4 on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:14 am

just saw Alza at perodua branch seri serdang, near tu UPM… saw both version, manual and auto…

for manual, the gear knob looks cheap and for auto, no gated shifted as we previously saw in passo… quiet dissappointed…

the interior for me is ok, good…

the exterior is also ok for me…

i really like the 2nd row seat, high enough for 173 cm people like mi…

however, the 3rd row seat would be ok only for children… if you have 7 adults to be carried, go and get exora…

• knight_templar on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:17 am

RT said,

November 23, 2009 @ 5:00 pm

paul

already 5:01PM.. no new article yet…. :)

————————————————————–

One minute also cannot wait ah? Ppl have waited for more than 20 yrs for the stupid national car project to be scrapped. And yet you're the a**hole that preaches about why ppl must patiently accept the NAP…

• Cal Vin on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:20 am

YOU ARE 20 MINUTES LATE!

• mystvearn on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:26 am

Give him time to prepare. 5pm launch.

I have a question:

Which is better,

Exora or this D46T. I think this is the only thing which matters most to readers.

• ray13 (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:31 am

well guys..be patient.

someone ask.."Got spare tyres"? the answer is YES, it is located below the cover RR Deck Trim, it got "Spare Tyre" indication, you need to open it and use spanar/tools provided to unlock the nut. the tyre will drop below the RR trunk.

• the spare tyre below??? that one not ok. if we lower the car how we want to reach da spare tyre…??

• ray13 (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:10 am

Mee said,

the spare tyre below??? that one not ok. if we lower the car how we want to reach da spare tyre…??

—————————————————————-

Yup..thats true..it is located below, like i said..once you unlocked the nut, the tyre will drop..i haven't operated this type b4, but i believe there are a lot of automakers use this method..refer picture below: (look for "spare tyre" indication)

http://paultan.org/photo/Perodua-Alza-Interior/To…

• kerelbort on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:56 am

not a big fan for spare tyre under the body… coz don really know how to put it back… :P

to all.. ncap is for car entering euro market.. why lah u all soooo obses with ncap? aih… sad sad sad…

rebadge – standard practice… what to look down at? P2 manufacturing is own by daihatsu.. the marketing own by Malaysia.. half half