Honda’s New Small Concept to make its way here?

Honda’s New Small Concept to make its way here?There is a possibility of Honda’s New Small Concept coming to our region after all! Set for a world debut at the upcoming India Auto Expo, the New Small Concept will be a low cost A-segment car for Honda to penetrate the booming Indian small car segment. But according to The Financial Express, which quotes a source with direct knowledge of the development, the new Honda will also be developed and made in Thailand.

Which means that there’s a possibility of it being exported to Malaysia. “Recently, Honda had hired around 30 engineers for its research and development team at Greater Noida (Honda Siel India’s base). The team will work closely with the R&D team in Bangkok to develop the small car and also focus on bringing down the production cost of this car by optimising component costs,” read the report.

The same source also revealed that the small Honda will come with a 1.2-litre engine and will be priced around Rs 4-4.5 lakh (about USD 8500 to 9600). It will hit the Indian market in 2011. Honda’s current smallest car in India is the Jazz, which is priced from Rs 7 lakh (USD 15,000).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• common-sensor on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Must get Perodua approval to bring it to Malaysia ..?

• azrai on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Baby jazz made in Pegoh, Alor Gajah Melaka.

• naik belon on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:27 pm

wow…. in india, a jazz will only cost u around USD15000…. damn i really envy those indians.

haha sure some ppl will say…. kalau u tak suka ini negeri, u boleh pindah negeri lain. haha

• Mufasa on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:39 pm

naik belon said,

December 29, 2009 @ 2:27 pm

haha sure some ppl will say…. kalau u tak suka ini negeri, u boleh pindah negeri lain. haha

—————————————

its ok,,i will not say that to you… since u oledi write that….welcome…plesae stay in malaysia….

• islandman on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:11 am

If jazz and switf are selling less then RM 60K in Malaysia, 80% of MyVi sales will be gone! Government not only protect P1, but P2 as well.

• Indifferent on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:24 am

gonna look fat ass ugly like akshay's mama

• chew ban on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:33 am

bukan negeri lar mangkuk, negara, dalam malaysia semua negeri sama juga kecuali, dari sabah dan sarawak la

• qosim slamutt on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:40 am

Its going to be a Honda Hero plus a tut-tut body with aircon to justify the 4 lakh price … LOL!

• afaik, proton has plan to ckd saga in india. p1 better move fast, market is getting more competitive there.

• naik belon on Dec 30, 2009 at 1:31 am

chew ban: whatevaaa. no need to label ppl mangkuk.

• mirror-mirror on Dec 30, 2009 at 3:18 am

naik belon, what car are you driving? don't mind me asking.

• BRAZBUZ on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:35 am

hmmm compact car grow really fast in india…

better P1launch it saga ASAP in india…

• chew ban on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:44 pm

naik belon, naik angin kaa

• Oscar on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:25 pm

common-sensor said:

Must get Perodua approval to bring it to Malaysia ..?

Why must get Perodua approval? Perodua is under daihatsu and indirectly under Toyota becos daihatsu is under Toyota. Honda is not Toyota. I also think that this honda car will not come to malaysia. Honda cars are so expensive. Maybe it will cost around 60k to 80k…i think.

• mohsin on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Is it Honda Freed? Made in Indonesia

• Annihilated on Dec 30, 2009 at 7:15 pm

R&D in Bangkok?

• brossprocps on Jan 06, 2010 at 11:10 pm

but the price still expensive than perodua so we hope that Hicom or other company will take Honda as a partnership and rename the car as local. Like NAZA and Perodua do.