Win Apple products in Proton’s ‘What Moves You’ contest

National car maker Proton is 25 years old this year, and has lined up some anniversary activities for Malaysians. The ‘What Moves You’ online contest started back in July and will end at the end of this month (30 November). The premise is simple, share memorable stories about you and your Proton to win monthly prizes (Samsung Galaxy S) and be in the running for the grand prize – a 17-inch MacBook Pro and an iPhone 4.

To join, go to Proton’s 25th Anniversary website and share a link of your favourite Proton photo or video, whether via Facebook, YouTube or Flickr. Alternatively, write a short story – the more touching or tear-jerking, the better! One can send in as many entries as he/she wishes, and winners are determined by how many votes they get. The most popular tale/image/video wins the Samsung smartphone, second and third placed winners get Proton 25th Anniversary merchandise.

For more info, the winners list, or to vote, go to www.proton25years.com. Good luck!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nolan on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:57 pm

come on Proton……you should give those item for free to people who support you……give it to all new owner of Proton…..

• qozh moreno on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:59 pm

boring….
    atleast d prize they r giving is a car is something….

• zimba on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:04 pm

my first proton win my girlfriend’s heart..

• shawal on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:12 pm

” What moves you ” sounds cool, better than “Smart guys get it”, infact they shud’ve used that instead , ” What moves you!….The new Inspira! ”

Yeah, i GOt a memorable story , My mom bought a saga in 1989 for RM18,000, and sold it for RM18,500 in 1999 …amazing stuff…

• seriously bro? how did that happen? tell us ur story..

• the 1990s 2nd car value very high~
      My dad used to drive a proton iswara. After few years, he sold it.. cuz the car was flooded before. The 2nd hand price was only rm2k below the ori price he bought. He traded in with a wira….

• saki77 on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:39 pm

same case with my late father…..nice…

• hope i’ll win that iPhone 4…

• Lim Kopi on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:43 pm

might seem like bashing but, truth is :

25 years ….

the rakyat is still burdened by higher car taxes because of you.

whats there to celebrate ?

• mr.wiseGuy on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:21 pm

a very nice perfect mantap undoubted one !!

• saki77 on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:40 pm

without proton the taxes will still be high….hehe…. no facts…but….. my two cents la…..

• rosdi on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:25 pm

We should follow Singapore.. they dont have proton.. so their cars aren’t heavily taxed like us in Malaysia… can buy cars there cheap cheap..

• saki77 on Nov 06, 2010 at 1:51 am

I thought cars in Singapore are more expensive…

• kimi_ on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Why not compare with THAILAND and INDONESIA dude?

Honda and Toyota as TAXI, here????

• http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_listing.php?MOD=Proton

Ladies and gentlemen, Singapore do sell Proton, Perodua also..

But the cost of a Proton/Perodua at Singapore is 2-3 times higher than at Malaysia.
        . __.

and again, if we all keep complaining how expensive is the imported car at Malaysia.. Nanti the Gov will say the singapore sell much more higher than us la~~ our price is very affordable dy. Singapore sell a Camry at S$120 but Malaysia only sell at rm150k,,

• RejimKejamGanas on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Yeah, because like Singapore, we have so little land to build houses and roads that we all need to squeeze into an MRT.

Please don’t think like our half-past-six ministers please.

• I work in Singapore and I might comment on this. A technician over there could earn about SGD 3,500 to 5000 and a camry cost about 100 K.
          Here a technician earns abgout RM 1500 to 2500 and the same car cost about 175 K. Don’t convert the currency to make the comparision; where you leave and how much you earn to own a car is what we shoud look at.
          High end cars in Singapore are cheaper even if you convert to our currency.

• stephen on Nov 08, 2010 at 12:55 pm

ITs tough to educate people about the pros and cons on this.

Many feel at USA, petrol price is very very high….just check on web…for New york, their premium grade is USD3.55 per galon…which mean ~USD0.94 per litre!!!!!

• thomas on Nov 07, 2010 at 8:35 pm

dollar to dollar, a manager there earn S$5K, a camry cost him S$120K; while in bolehland a mgr earn RM5K, a camry cost him RM150K… sigh…
          if you check with sgcarmart.com, a camry 2.4 is only S$6K over a 2.0….
          if you check a accord 2.4, cost you S$140K only………….

• hazick on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:45 am

hey, anyway their paycheck ratio to the items are ok-ok. but here if u only av rm3k salary, u dun dream to drive imported cars. there if u got like same job they give u $3k too. then its ok-ok. compare la.

• untitled on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:34 am

buy car cheap cheap, buy house…no no

• BadBET on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Even if proton close down the tax will remain the same. Why should G abandon their billions ringgit money maker policy? Stop blame proton for the tax, just work hard so that one day we can afford any car we wish.

• RejimKejamGanas on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:10 pm

So its ok for an entry level sedan to cost half the price of a 4-room terrace house? After all we can all work hard and let them continue to suck our blood right?

• Casper on Nov 07, 2010 at 4:13 pm

We’re not blaming Proton. We’re blaming the stupid, greedy, uncaring government, geddit?

• VWfan on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:55 am

The G should be blame for it, not proton. they are not the policymaker, the G is!

• App.Giz on Nov 05, 2010 at 7:15 pm

What a laughing stock!
    AHAHAHAHAHA……..
    They never did right then, will never do right now!
    Can’t even make it right the first time for such a simple website….clicked below and I was greeted with a “Fedora Test Page” !
    AHAHAHAHAHA…

http://www.proton25years.com/

• auto engineers don’t do website, you just make fool of yourself

• Ganyang Malon on Nov 05, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Poor Apple…..

• neonda on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:00 pm

i got Toshiba Laptop for free when buy Satria Neo last 2007 :)

• ismazri on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Memorable kereta kebal especially aeroback one with solid black rubber spoiler. My late granny’s car in good old days.

• teo2442 on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:05 am

A touching story? i got one.
    I still remember 2 months ago, every morning, i drove my new saga to go to work. Everytime when i past by the kindergarden , a beautiful girl will came out with kids.
    I could see her brown eyes,i started to wander whether if she was starring at me or my saga! But since i fixed my saga iafm problem, the girl stop to come out everytime i pass by.
    Finally, i realize that my saga’s broken iafm sound like an school van, that’s why the girl(i think she is the teacher there)cames out because she thought school van arrived!

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 06, 2010 at 1:01 am

I like this! Thumbs up!

• Best story of the day~!! i cant stop laughing.. =D

• saki77 on Nov 06, 2010 at 1:52 am

Nice………….

• When I dating with my girl friend, I always used to carry an umbrella along no matter sunny day or raining day. Now she already become my wife as she feel that I’m so caring about her (always brought umbrella)……………..
      ……………………..I bring umbrella as my old proton saga having bumbung berlubang, so I need to bring it to prevent hot sun and rain :)
      Can I win the smart phone with this story?? hehe

• I want that iPhone 4.
    Perhaps i will write my sob story about power window :(

• kimi_ on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Is the photo from Autocar Malaysia magazine??????

• nabill on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:50 pm

well , with a proton , u always get a lemon ! not an apple! if u know what i mean ;)

• mafia on Nov 06, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Thank you for supporting Proton and Mitsubishi for 25 years.
    Their latest motto shd read ” History revisited” – moving backwards”
    When P1 sold off AV Agusta they should have bundled TM as well
    as a package deal. At least it would have been 2 euro instead of 1. !!

• neonda on Nov 06, 2010 at 11:47 pm

i just read and do some review bout others car mfg eg Kia, Naza, Chevy, volvo and few more..after my review…i can see proton much way more better compare to them at the age of 25 years…congrats proton..still maintain even got lots of basher..hahaa..

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 07, 2010 at 12:37 pm

Why Apple? Why not giving away local brand gadget such as CSL? ;P

• hazick on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:56 am

they said- legend continues,
    somehow, does it mean the legend of locally made car- overtaxed- and expensive- that it never got any better improvements but facelifts?