Proton to complete strategic blueprint for India by Q1

Proton to complete strategic blueprint for India by Q1According to news reports, Proton says it is hoping to conclude defining the strategies needed for its business expansion into India’s automotive market by the first quarter of this year.

Currently, Proton has identified the local OEM company it plans to work with – with a contract assembly and joint venture on the cards – as well as the models it would be entering the market with, said managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin. The Exora, Persona and the company’s first global car, the Emas, have been pinpointed as the brand’s pathfinders in the Indian market.

He said that the plan will be presented to the board, and an annoucement made once approval had been given, adding that the company viewed India as a very important market for the brand.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• aduss on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:10 pm

the company’s first global car??? PERSONA R????

• lol, cant even compete in local scenario, wanna go india?

lets see how will persona fight with Honda City, at RM 4x k. lol. wait, we dont even have persona at RM4xk. lol. only Saga BLM. BLM fight with CIty? lol. Can a kid fight an adult? lol.

• Anonymous on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:01 pm

I hope not many people like you in Malaysia.

• PROTON BOLEH on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Saga BLM = City / Vios
      Persona / Neo = Civic / Corolla
      Exora = Stream / Wish

In terms of performance and handling yes

• you head ah comparing proton with these cars
        proton is useless junk good for the malays only

• Proton already has establishment in UK and Australia…

What’s with the Honda obsession…? It aint the best seller in India anyway, not to mention City aint doing well even in Japan, their LOCAL scenario.

• polok on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:32 pm

1st time 1st!!!! ron97 up again!!!!

• Ash Menon on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:38 pm

When I think about it, I don’t remember very many MPVs going around when I was in India… Some vans, yes, but not many MPVs. Perhaps this lack of competition could be to the Exora’s advantage.

The Emas, though? I’d have thought they would send a low price-point sedan, like the Saga, to start with. But then again, considering the i20’s popularity there, this might be a good move.

• Aftab Ahmad on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Toyota Innova 2.0 Petrol and 2.5 Diseal is about RM 50-60 K in India. Who will buy Exora at 60k in india .

• Proton on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:50 pm

They can sold Exora in India for less than that, in other word mean cheaper than in Malaysia.

• we malaysian subsidize the foreigner, we thank them for using our junk?

• tishaban on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:51 pm

You mean after so many years only now is Proton thinking of expanding into India? A bit slow isn’t it. I would’ve thought that India being such a big market alongside China would’ve been a bigger blip in Proton’s strategic long term radar…

• come on, proton was not on a good mode several years ago, newer management made better decision n products. so it enters India now..

• gilabangang on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:06 am

so what is your prob if proton wants to enter India now? why being so negative?

• Better late than never. Besides, there are many companies are also trying to break into Indian market only recently.

• Proton must take down the home grown Tata first by collaborating with them (if you can’t beat them) since Tata now owned Jaguar Cars. Don’t forget to use your new weapon in India: Lotus Omnivore engine.

Lotus Omnivore engine is an innovative two-stroke engine that will run in Homogeneous Charge Compression Ignition (HCCI) operation on a range of fuels. The research engine will not only run on gasoline, diesel and alcohol fuels, but it also offers a 10% increase in fuel efficiency compared to stratified direct injection engines.

Lotus Engineering was lead partner on Project Omnivore, working with Jaguar Cars, Orbital and Queens University Belfast, with sponsorship from the Department for Environment, Food, & Rural Affairs (DEFRA), the Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) and the Department of the Environment – Northern Ireland through the Renewables Materials LINK programme.

An engine like this in, say a compact C-segment or even a smaller lux vehicle such as the C-Class or A4 could show genuine increases in efficiency without much sacrifice in the way of performance.

• tak pro` on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Sorry my friend India will not get anything from Lotus
      so don’t even think about it.
      Same story for Malaysian .they only provide fundings
      to Lotus and in return get 3rd choice engines in their Emas.

• PROTON BOLEH on Jan 05, 2011 at 5:52 pm

We thought Youngman Eurostar won’t get anything more than Proton Gen2 but the reality they name the car as Lotus Eurostar RCR

• Good luck Proton =)

• shawal on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Its time to replace all the ‘hindustan ambassador’ with proton saga and persona~!

• shawal on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Hindustan ambassador is car btw , look’em up , its always featured in all indian movie chase sequence…

• NO MORE PROTON on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Proton cant sell in India!!!

Because they don’t know how to handle!!!

So in turkey, they don’t hear the voice of customer, so we not more support proton in our country, we spent more than 3 years for supporting over the Internet via proton forum

BUT
    since years, proton have not done what they sad at first!!! We waited since years for a diesel engine, but its nothing happened.

Why should we support they more if they not interest in our money?????

And the Turkish partner of proton sucks!!! No effort to sell or make advert, a very critical situation for proton and their future.

• aki_zz on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:19 am

i never heard about proton making any diesel engine…but i agree that proton needs a diesel engine in its lineup…

• bobdbilder on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:25 am

Well if the Turks want Iran to build a manufacturing plant in Senegal and then sell to all of Africa, by all means.

How much can you get out of the market? When you consider ALL costs; direct and indirect, and Risks you’d still be selling cheap cars. Where’s the profit? If you’re not selling for profit, why do you sell at all?

• eimsperfume on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:47 am

Because they don’t know how to handle!!!

… and you are the most knowledgeable person who know how to handle…

erm…

• Saga and Persona are good cars to enter the Indian market.

• Dak Ajan on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Did Indian willing to buy those gadget? Remember Tata Nano? Those project funded by British goverment with very straight forward purpose. To have an enviromental atmosphere.
    Hmm, i just wonder if we may sell car in India with high price tag?

• bobdbilder on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:15 am

I did not know that the British had money to spend overseas…yet cut military spending, increase student fees and retrench civil servants. This will not go down well. I didn’t know Tata would need funding too for a cheap car… It is up there with Rio Tinto ainnit? Hmmm.

• Proton will make it in India. unless India’s government protect TATA like we do Pro here and things like dat…

Yeah, after so long only considering to penetrate, and its just days after Tun made his say… still love for his baby huh?.. after all, if it’s not Tun, we wouldn’t have Proton in the first place…

oh yeah, still a baby?.. after 26 years?..

• Mohan Nair on Jan 07, 2011 at 5:27 am

@rpm,
      Tata is NOT a government owned or supported like Proton in Malaysia.

Tata competes on its own merits just like Honda, Toyota, Ford, GM, Mahindra, Volvo, VW, Maruti Suzuki, Skoda, Nissan, BMW, Mercedes, etc

Tata Motors is a listed company on Bombay stock exchange as well as its ADR on the NYSE. Tata motor is part of a group with over $70 billion in turnover.

• Hyderabad on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:56 am

It’s dog eat dog in India with bigger players
    already establishing themselves.
    Proton will have a hard time competing with Hyundai Nissan
    Suzuki Toyota and Honda to name a few.
    The Campro engine will find it difficult competing with
    the newer and more fuel efficient engines available in India.
    Being a startup company , Proton would have to look at this
    as a long term investment and will take at least 5 years to
    reap any profits.
    Good luck !!

• Tata nano selling qty had decreas recently, will it reflect the small city car still hot in india market? Will EMAS still the target that enter India market?
    Even in the protected environment here, P1 also cannot standalone without support from G, so how soon the P1 can really sell their car and get profit in India?

• It’s a bold decision, however it’s hard to see any bright in upcoming years, indian are not as dumb as Chinese, think about how proton performed in China? Proton dont have a bet in the fiercely competitive Indian market either.

• Proton on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:56 am

Either you guys love to heard it or not, Proton hardly making any profit in their oversea market. Spend million to promote and advertise but only barely was sold, and some sold below what we have to paid here.

Their main purpose just to serve the slogan of Malaysia Boleh

• JustUpgrade on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:32 pm

no one being charge like sime darby for making lost in overseas operation?

• Unforgiven on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:38 am

It’s kinda understood what Proton is capable of doing…

We knew the price for Toyota in India… RM34k
    http://paultan.org/2010/12/03/toyota-etios-sedan-unveiled-for-the-indian-market/

Do you think Indian is not brand conscious?
    Do you think the brand Proton will sell in the World or ASEAN?
    Answer: UNDERSTOOD!

• Proton Savvy was a top 10 car in Thailand 2008. Other cars on the list include the Jaguar XF, the BMW 320d, the Volvo S80 3.2, the MINI Cooper S Clubman, the Honda City, the Honda Jazz, the Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi, the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and the Subaru Impreza STI.

Proton Saga is a product on a stretched Proton Savvy platform. Savvy served Proton well.

But now Proton Savvy is outdated. Nissan may licensed a Micra or March platform to Proton to penetrate India.

The Nissan Sunny sits on the Micra’s platform. In India however, Nissan is said to be considering the 1.5-liter diesel engine and a new 4-cylinder 1.6-liter petrol engine.

It will be good that Proton collaborate with Nissan in India to assemble a diesel car for India/Malaysia market. Nissan Sunny used to be a good car but high FC.

• y don u compare malaysia with thailand price other than japanese car

• That is why Proton is doing a lot of things nowadays…to improve the Proton brand. Last time, Proton only get bad publicity from bad reputation. Now, I see a lot of good news coming from Proton.

• JoeGTi on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:41 am

Gud luck DSZ!!

Put quality on top of everything.(Include service center, warranty)
    I know u will price everyhting at lowest possible and counter it back with our money.
    I will always support your gud move but will consider 1000 times to buy proton.

• Dak Ajan on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:47 am

I think by rebadge Proton product by some Indian company will drive more sales. Remember Proton new director from India. He is well-know in India Automative. Indian very care about their culture and their nation. It’s a sentiment of nationality. Proton CAN DO IT like Youngman in China.

• If it works as you said, then I can smell failure. Youngman is a considerably success manufacture in commercial vehicles and yet take a huge hit in passenger car program with Proton. Rebadging cant hide problems.

• fanofthissite on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:16 pm

indians dont give a darn about sentiments of culture when given a choice of good product, services and the right price. same like yourself when you plan to buy a car.
      maybe your buisness sense is to rebadge the Proton as Hindustan Ambassador, after all its also said its part of their popular culture.
      their public will also not buy Protons just because their Director is an Indian (no disrespect to him) , as 99.999% of the buying public will not weigh that in as a factor.

• who said youngman can do it in china?

pls la, china got so many brands, and the primary brand is VW. they got 90 ++ Brands, and youngman is a joke.

youngman my arse

• Dwijadas on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:09 pm

One day Proton will be into pieces with road condition over there in India.

It amazes me how those TATA/Maruti cars survives such tough road.

I think they better consider local market which is going to other cars and will probably go even more out of control with impor permit plan scarpped in 2015 ( as promised).

Anyway good luck !

• fanofthissite on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:07 pm

have you ever seen Proton cars break into pieces when driven on bad roads in malaysia? or when rallyed?
      are u saying a Maruti 800 is built as tough as a TATA truck? do u think a Perodua Kancil 660 wont survive Indian roads? Essentially same as a Maruti 800 isnt it.
      have you done a study on wear and tear of vehicles in india on bad roads. do u know what the average speed a driver anywhere in the world would drive a car in poor road conditions? …relatively slowly unless he wants to bounce like a pogo stick.

• JustUpgrade on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Proton to challenge Tata, Toyo in India? what a joke. The Indian in India is not idiot and have choice in buying. Or the Indian Gov will do what exactly Msia Gov do, import tax to Proton to Protect Tata (which owns Jaguar). End of they day, they will spent a lot of money in setting up in India, this, that, and losing more money like Sime Darby. And lets wait anyone going to charge Proton for losing money in overseas operation?

Proton’s day to penetrate other country is long gone. Its just a dream. Since a car build under protected market has no way to success in open market competition. Period.

• At business level, Proton has been buying from Tata steel and Lotus collaborated with Jaguar cars to build the Lotus Omnivore engine.

Lotus Engineering is currently helping Jaguar with the chassis settings of the latest Jaguar XKR-S coupe, a collaboration that enabled Jaguar to finalize the settings of the latest 503 hp XKR. Another project in progress is the advance engineering viability for the XE sports car, which is unlikely to show at the 2011 Geneva Motor Show launch but has been set for production. The assignment of Lotus in this regard is to determine whether the two-seat front-engined roadster can reach production lines with the figures it is generating. The XKR received an aluminum chassis after a steel frame was ruled out on the XF.

I don’t think it will be far when both Tata & Proton will collaborate to build 1national car for 2 countries.

• Mat Korner on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Why so worry, if 1% of their population buy P1 car is enough.

• greasemonkey on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:41 pm

I think p1 will struggle in India,thus pissing off everybody in M’sia. Anyway we like to proof to people that we boleh!WTF! Take care of own rakyat 1st.

• Yeah blue print my ar**, they’ll do a “joint venture” just like they did with Youngman at China. Heck, they will surely sell it dirt cheap over there compared to Malaysia. Protong people told us to be patriotic but they themselves selling cars expensive to us, quality sucks and they rack down the whole motoring industry with APs and NAP. Next GE will make sure they’re close down for good.

• makeitmine on Jan 08, 2011 at 12:09 am

Best blueprint for India will be to sell car services/assembly under one umbrella for marques including Proton, Nissan, Renault, Lotus, Perodua etc.