Malacca state exco set to go the green path with hybrids

Well, it’s always nice to hear that more are adopting the green path – pretty soon, it looks like a state government is going that route in a big way for its automotive-related needs. According to a report in The Star, Malacca state exco members and other top officials could be cruising in hybrid vehicles soon, if an offer to become more environment-friendly goes through.

The offer, in this case, is from Honda Malaysia, which has submitted a proposal to the state for it to change its current fleet of cars to far greener ones, namely the Insight hybrid.

“Honda is offering us a good deal and we are now waiting for the green light from the Federal Government. We have also assessed the proposal by Proton on similar cars and will leave it to the Federal Government to decide,” the state’s Chief Minister Datuk Mohd Ali Rustam said.

A new portfolio called Green Technology has been created, falling under the purview of Mohd Ali, who added that the state government was also contemplating the use of only electric-powered taxis and buses in order to create a greener Malacca.

He said that the state government was studying the blueprints submitted by Proton and a heavy vehicle manufacturer from China to introduce electric taxis and buses in the state, with the change to be carried out in stages if implementation begins.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• yeah right…. where is Gunakan Barang Buatan Malaysia in government… cakap tak serupa bikin…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm

How la to use Proton’s Hybrid,for now maybe they are using Insight.
      At least could save ‘taxpayers money’ when the car use lesser amount of fuel.hehe

• Adrian on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:58 am

Better to spend sub RM100k on insight than few hundred thousand on mercs using taxpayers money rite?

• jumbo on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:32 pm

honda malaysia yang propose, bukan gov yang minta. read carefully before comment

• jumbo on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:33 pm

honda malaysia yang propose, bukan gov yang minta. read carefully before comment.

• halim on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Betul la, at least wait for pesona hybrid or ev from from proton la

• llgriver on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm

blame proton for away behind

• HUH..! kalau kerajaan pakai HONDA salah, kalau rakyat pakai x salah? eh, where is the patriotism of Rakyat? gunakan barang buatan malaysia laa.! even rakyat themself not using proton and perodua, asking others to use malaysian brand..

• iloveVW on Mar 28, 2011 at 2:15 pm

LOL. Kerajaan suruh pakai seatbelt and hands free kit and no stopping in yellow box and no parking at yellow line and no u-turn here n there…rakyat ada buat ke? heheheh. plus rakyat also dont wanna use proton…how? save fuel, save environment, save pocket money..not save proton :)

• New cars for the state govt ……so nice. Wonder how is finances of the state govt. ?? surplus budget ?? But then again … it’s “their” money mah or is it taxpayers money ??

Here we have the ordinary folks is asked to stretch our Ringgit and we have our govt stretching the taxpayers pocket again … and again.

• I agree with you. So Rakyat…. please pay your tax n summons. dont forget ya….

• boss coffee on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:34 pm

You didn’t hear meh? Melaka now developed state…

• akuGunaRon95 on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:56 pm

special package la since the plant located in alor gajah

• Once again… Ali Ketam’s Rules….

• ciivcEK on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:42 pm

haiyaa lu olang, go green salah itu salah ini salah, u all like bashing others dont u?

• blink 182 on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm

yea.. buy proton perdana salah maintenance tinggi… buy merc.. salah (but memang salah pun) buy camry pun salah..how now?

• rookie on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:47 pm

its a great idea..
    it will save alot of petrol too cuz these politicians always go here and there, back and forth in the fuel guzzler perdana rite?

dont be mad guys, i think its a good move in the long terms..
    besides, hybrid cars dont get tax rite? so,they’ll get it at far cheaper price than other petrol-based imported car..
    plus, its for the greener earth!

but there is one question though..
    instead of hybrids, why not go for pure EV?
    cuz all these politicians (driver) always drive above the speed limit rite? and i thought electric motors in hybrids only works under limited speed as in city driving? isnt it?

• Ash Menon on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:47 pm

No comment on the govt vehicles, but it’ll be fantastic if they can implement electric buses and taxis. This would mean better infrastructure for electric vehicles, including charging stations. This would pave the way for more adoption of electric vehicles in the state, and hopefully other states will follow suit. Go for it, Malacca!

• ubikayu on Mar 17, 2011 at 2:54 pm

no wonder la parking compound in Melacca RM80. the state gov. can use the money to buy green car.lol

• I’ve been to Melaka many times, honestly, you guys don’t know how and where to park your cars. Hence, the RM80 compound. Haha.

But no offense, if Malaysians follow the ruling, park your car at designated place, less kiasu (less greedy and choosy) nobody would get a summon. Ain’t righty?

• Naza Kia on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:01 pm

but why ali ketam didnt get summon on his car…. why?
        Anyway, proton n perodua, when u want to produce a green car for this pak2 menteri?

• nikita on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm

dia pun kena saman laaa.. dia bayar sebelah aku hari tu kat pejabat pos bukit beruang.

• sir zoula on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:39 pm

hehehhe.. kaki kipas
            cannot help la… hhahaha

• Good! At least much more better than stupid idiot crap petrol drinker Potong Pendana!

• Inspira not good for them? BS!

get a hybrid pula.. how reliable is hybrid?
    want save environment ask proton faster come out with the Emas..
    why got made in Malaysia don wanna use? kononnya GOV…. where’s the love for malaysia?
    BS!

• littlefire on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Even the G replacement fleet will become P1 ‘Fuga’.. where got 100% made in Malaysia already?!?

• chicken tikka on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Stupid stupid stupid!

Why is the govt subsidising the stupidity of these vehicles Turbodeisels are far more fuel efficient and much cheaper. Without subsidies, these hybrids arent price competitive at all. Factor in the energy expended in production, the usage of rare materials in their batteries and hybrids are far from the environmental saviour they claim to be. Despite their compromised lightweight construction, gripless tyres, reduced sound deadening etc etc they are barely more economical than your bog basic honda jazz in most real world siuations.

• spearmint on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:43 pm

hybrid Insight or Pruis? no way for VIP
    hybrid Estima or Harrier? still can be consider…
    hybrid Lexus LS600h or BMW 7series? perfect match!

• MalayanTapir on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:48 pm

The State Exco members better be shorter than 175cm (or drive around on their own) and not have any luggage requirements – the rear headroom on the Insight is terrible and the boot is probably big enough for ONE suitcase.

• T4VR-Ralph on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Nooo….

Hybrids ain’t green… :-(

nasib baik our state use Volvo :-)

• sukasuki on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm

while our state use mercedes benz, jaguar and also bmw. :D

• "70 Hemi Barracuda on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:26 am

Luckily our state use Maybach, Rolls Royce, Jaguar and lots and lots of Merc and BMW!!

• binko on Mar 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm

our state use bmw,merc,scania, to carry children to school..free ride everydae…and 1 laptop for each primary skool chdrn..lambo for kereta jenazah…got oil maa..without our state malaysian dnt dream to see klcc la…hahahaha..

• don’t think proton ‘dengki’ would let it happen, proton will promise a hybrid in 20 years time..so state must wait…

• GOGREEN on Mar 17, 2011 at 3:51 pm

GOOD MOVE!

• Well I think I like this move. Better than using taxpayer money for those fuel guzzling vehicles. Greener move i like.

• Less smog in Melaka. Full support from me.

• honda on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:07 pm

out of topic abit…
    honda malaysia remove civic hybrid from their stable? hmm…

• Good move!

This state government is better than “Barang Naik government” who rebadged the “Nissan Fantamorgana” to be Perdana replacement (rebadging can be considered “barang buatan Malaysia?).

We should look this in a long run, at least the state government’s fuel cost will be reduced tremendously. Tax payer’s money saving is there. Good for the planet too.

I hope to see more “green tech” to be introduced in all Government agencies, not just the vehicles, even the government buildings should designed to be “green” for energy conservation and etc.

• Kevin Lee on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:17 pm

actually Barang Naik government is the leading party in Malacca, LOL!

• LOL! Haha.

Well, Credit Where Credit’s Due, ain’t righty?

At least somebody in the “Barang Naik” government is doing something right for once.

Let’s see if other States follow this ruling as well, somebody need to set a good example.

• Faisal on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:14 pm

hope that proton will get the job!

• scgtimk1 on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Chet ! They think we are Dumb!

Say use only kereta buatan Malaysia.

Perak PR Gov. got slap left and right for using a Camry which is actually greener than the pathetic Perdana.

but here if brang Naik Gov can use ‘pulak” non brang buatan malaysia.

Cakap tak serupa bikin.

• Waterproof Camera Fanatic on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:32 pm

When they buy the expensive Camry, you guys kutuk.

When they buy the troublesome Perdana, you guys kutuk.

And when they buy the tax-free Insight, pun you guys kutuk.

Thank god I’m not in politics.

• Miwqa on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:33 pm

So you know its politic when people keep on kutuk?why the surprise bro?

• And when they buy the tax-free Insight, pun you guys kutuk. <– all cars bought by gomen are tax free. either it is a merc SLK or a produa Small Little Kancil

• sir zoula on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:56 pm

ask them to use viva or myvi or alza laa..
      its ok bcoz they laterally willing to work for us since they offering themselves to be elected… n every body will happy… except those excos… hahaha

• Wawira on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:33 pm

rosmah kan nasihat supaya kita semua utilized green technology untuk elak jadi gempa bumi mcm jepun…

• littlefire on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm

But still want to built 2 Nuke power station pulak…

• I’m working in the power industry. Honestly, you guys need to read a lot on our very own “energy crisis”. In 10 years, our Malaysia energy national grid will hit 80% utilization (its a policy to keep at least 20% as extra reserves). We have destroyed most of our green forest to make way for Major Hydroelectric Project still it is NOT ENOUGH (as hydroelectric as gigantic it seems can only contribute about 10% of our energy needs). Currently about 90% of our electricity needs are provided by coal and gas energy plants (which are very costly to maintain and depleting as well).

All the major countries around the world are going for nuclear energy plant to quench their energy thirst. Massive energy is a must for any developing nations. The only few countries which I know that actually revamp its entire infrastructure and industries for the sake of Green Development and incorporation of Green Technology is China (followed by India). The rest of the world are still in its Green tech infancy.

How about Malaysia? In big cities of India, the motorist over there actually switch of their engine upon stopping/waiting at the red lights. Do Malaysians have that culture to cultivate its people to be energy conscious? We do have a very long way to go.

• tokmoh on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:28 am

Most protests against nuclear are comical and ignorant of the progress in safety design of nuclear plants. That Fukushima plant is among the oldest nuke plants in Japan, it is somewhat expected it will be more vulnerable than the newer nuke plants.

Nevertheless, I still am very concerned whether we should go nuclear. No, I don’t protest because of its risk, as I’m aware nuke plants are designed safer now.

But I’m worried about our zero-maintenance culture. Stadium collapse, parliament roof leak, submarine can’t submerge, public toilet shabby, is nuke plant next? I worry it will. Our zero-maintenance culture pwn any fail-proof technology progress.

Also, I wouldn’t be surprised if our nuke plants will become the most expensive and longest to construct nuke plants in the world, constructed by some crony companies doing crappy work, thus delayed, thus enable to give silly excuse of cost is rising, blablabla.

If these two worries can be ironed out, then I’m all for nuke. Kinda tall order, isn’t it?

• littlefire on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:13 am

I dont think Nuke power plant is consider as green technology.. Do you know it does produce waste… And what we will do with the radioactive waste? Hide it in Bukit Merah? Or built Nuke bombs like North Korea? U guess it…

Please do research what is Green Technology before saying ur support to Nuke.. If it is so safe, why not built it behind putrajaya? Let all the people which support it stay near to it…

• tokmoh on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Bill Gates propose we use those waste to fuel the next-gen nuclear plant:

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704409004576146061231899264.html

There have been critics though, saying it’ll take too long before it materialise, maybe decades. Gates and his partner, TerraPower tried to get Japan, France, Russia, China, and India to be their client for their experimental plant. None took. Maybe Rosmah will? It’s greeeeeeen after all

:P

• Guys,

Assuming your comments is thrown at me, I was merely Comparing Green technology (such as Hydroelectric, Solar, Wind, etc) VERSUS non-green technology such as Nuclear Plant, Coal Plant, Gas Plant and etc. In Malaysia we are using about 7% Hydro Power and the remaining 93% are from the Coal and Gas Plants.

We are running out of big rivers and ravines to create Hydroelectric Dams. Destroying the Mother Nature (see the “Independent” Environmental Impact Study for SCORE-Sarawak Hydro Project) just to build few more Hydros doesn’t help as well (as you can see Hydroelectric Dams does NOT contribute much needed Energy to the Grid). The live styles and the fragile economy of the native people in Sarawak was completely ruined by big Hydros projects. Urban people get the energy from Hydros, meanwhile the Suburb people paid the price.

We also don’t have the means (and the money) to go for Solar and Wind (as Solar and Wind are producing less than 1% of energy Grid). Our country is not “blessed” with Typhoons, Huge Waves and not clear sky (always raining). But we are blessed with a lot of water, hence, the need for Hydros but that is running out as well.

But in the same time, the “rakyat” energy demands is growing like hell in just few years (imagine feeding power hungry for just only 27 Million Malaysians). To make matters worst, our “rakyat” are NOT obviously environmental and energy conscious, even our NO PLASTIC day on Saturday are not fully supported (because extra plastic bag costs 20 cents only ma~).

The Urban living style requires unprecedented energy demands. We want lights everywhere, althought for no apprent reasons, maybe just for the artistic feel or “sedap mata memandang”. But somewhere in the fringe jungle of Sarawak and Sabah people are still living under the shadow of the moon and stars.

Yes, we definitely need the Green Technology but before we can achieve that (in which it may take more than 20~30 years to revamp our current Energy Generation and Distribution capability to match the Green tech) we will need a temporary fast solution cause within less than 10 years our houses will be out of electricity. Or you don’t mind living in the blackout?

NOTES:- If I’m the government, I will build the Nuke Plants 30 storey UNDERGROUND somewhere really far away from civilization. It is safer too as if there’s a leakage or explosions.

Pros and Cons, let the rakyat decides!

• apa kaitan green technology dengan gempa bumi?

• tokmoh on Mar 17, 2011 at 8:46 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuMLtycp_0I

Rosmah nasihat kita ambillah pengajaran dan gunakanlah green technology. Jepun jadi gempa bumi tu pasal tak cukup green diorang tu…

:P

• LE buruk on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:29 pm

nice ONE..=)

• trimm on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm

good news for the exco members….getting hybrid vehicle….and still claim the same amount of petrol allowance….

• mystvearn on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Looks like car info now going through federal government to avoid the Terengganu incident

• Takwee on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Rosmah sudah approve?

• Peterpj on Mar 17, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Won’t they save more fuel by having their drivers switch off their engines instead of leaving it running so the car is cooled by the air-conditioner while they go and drink their tea?

• matrxe on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Cakap byk tade guna…table out dulu calculation dlm proposal tuh untuk semua rakyat tgk.. bukan untuk cabinet minister saje..baru tau cost up ke cost down..baru tahu berapa ringgit maintainance cost perdana after markup gile2 dari supplier kroni.

• Stephen on Mar 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Hopefully Mercedes Benz will counter by proposing S class 400 Hybrid for Pahang state gov….I saw this at China…getting common.

• Takwee on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Rosmah sudah approved?

• jimmyc on Mar 17, 2011 at 7:18 pm

No way they gonna use the insight. Way too cheapo for the excos. I bet soon Lexus would also come in with their proposal using Lexus ct200h. That is a much better and suitable car. Good intention with this hybrid idea. Proton? Way too slow. Better be quick.

• Honda should donate one to FLOM

• honda insight..hmm, they wont use, confirm..
    protong emas also they wont use it(design wise, not classy..bla2..)
    latest bmw 5 series..yess, confirm, coz price down ardy..:D

• shawal on Mar 17, 2011 at 9:22 pm

As long as its white in colour , with a big Malacca State government Sticker on each side ,on the bonnet and the back, then it should be okay…

You don’t want them to joyride making government properties their own private toys…

When is the Exora Hybrid coming anyway???

• sukasuki on Mar 18, 2011 at 9:29 am

using exora for daily commuter of high rank officers? i think those officers also will think many times before entering exora. can u imagine those exco’s and MB’s using exora to go to the ADUN assembly?hurmmm, looking forward to see it happens! :)

• going ‘green’ has nothing to do with environment, its ‘greens’ @ $$$..just need to read between the lines..lol

• Malaysian so stupid never read the news properly. Bodoh. That’s just a proposal. The rest is up to the Federal Govt.

The way I see it:
    1) Federal Govt. said Yay to proceed = The rakyat said misuse of the rakyat’s money.
    2) Federal Govt said Nay to proceed = The rakyat said cronyism, filling up their pockets.

So, stupid Malaysian, what’s your take? Use the old crappy Perdana? Oh, remember Nizar and his Camry?

• littlefire on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:15 am

Nizar = Camry? How about Sabah = Volvo & Pahang = Merc E-class…

• you left out another one.

kelantan=Merc :)

• sir zoula on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:43 pm

old merc acly… but very reliable one, the masterpiece..
          secondhand value below 30k okay…
          smart buy tho!

• honda insight as taxis would be nice in our country! :)

• Suren69 on Mar 17, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Yeah would love to see that. However, tough luck i guess. They dont even want to upgrade those Iswaras to Personas.

• redboy on Mar 17, 2011 at 10:40 pm

you think the federal government will put the money in Honda even it safe cost and fuel? common, their whole purpose is giving the money to Potong, and Petronanas..

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 18, 2011 at 1:20 am

check mate

• hanifhamzah on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:17 am

it’s a great move…they only hv 2 pay arnd 98k to get a reliable and eco friendly car instead of spending 100+k for a car with a high maintenance cost plus not that green…so for long run,the govt could save quite a lot…

• finally some good decisions by Melaka after many blunders …

• azrai on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:04 am

It is because Honda has its own plant with DRB-Hicom in pegoh, Alor Gajah Melaka. For those who don’t know, well Honda Accord, Civic, and City come from Melaka, not Japan.

• rookie on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:40 am

n wat does it ever have to do with the insight again then…?

• malaccans on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:42 am

Mr Pak Ali make his project of train wishing ppl will use it – but the train break down first day of launch and nv heard anything from it anymore – result millions $ gone down the drain. Nvm of that.

Now Pak Ali wants green car – waiting for budget to come thru, well It is a good idea that they are doing something but i wonder how much money they are “budgeting” of it.. i wonder i wonder

• Van the Man on Mar 18, 2011 at 9:06 am

haha funny malaysian, shooting without thinking/knowing.

1. Honda have plant in Melaka. Your Civic, City, CRV comes from Melaka. Pagoh plant even export CVJ to other countries.
    2. Thanks to Melaka gomen, Honda build it plant in melaka whereas P2, Nissan have it in Serendah. Toyota, Volvo, P1 have it shah alam (where most of the supplier tier 1,2,3 have thier plant) and DRB group have their plant in pekan (Suzuki, MTB, Merc). Must be the insentif you see?
    3. Should Honda managed to supply the gomen of Melaka with Insight, dont you think Ali Ketam will think of ways to pull more FDI by asking Honda to assemble CKD Insight here, since they have good relationship? Thought you guys love FDI/Honda?
    4. Melaka negeri Maju or whatever crap it is for a reason you know. I was sceptical at first but Ali ketam is not another ketam, he really did his job. Why cant other state gomen do the same?

• littlefire on Mar 18, 2011 at 11:22 am

Sorry i dont trust about those old generation polititions.. As most of the contracts do come wif ‘term & condition’.. They should have open tender all the informations for the public to view and evaluate it all…

Even Ng Yen Yen as suppost to be the ‘cleanest’ polititions in BN also got scandal..

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/ad-agency-says-was-asked-for-bribes-to-win-tourism-contract/

Ad agency says was asked for bribes to win tourism contract

In the end, we r still in boleh land..

• Van the Man on Mar 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm

check who is behind the tourism agency. Its M*khr*z & Mahath*r.

• Carl Wong on Mar 18, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Honda Insight :], good move.

• Ini Susah lah on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Haha…good move, better than the P1 Perdana lah…

• BN=barang naik on Mar 18, 2011 at 2:39 pm

if like that…s’gor can also asked permission from gomen to use toyota prius..UMW factory in s’gor maaa..wakakakaka

• Van the Man on Mar 18, 2011 at 5:42 pm

need Toyota to proposed, not the other way around haha

but seriously, to be exempted from duty need to be local assemble. next gen camry is local assemble

• sir zoula on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:46 pm

at least half of the budget will masuk in ali ketam’s pocket.. hhahaha