Proton MD: Power windows to get lifetime guarantee!

When there’s a mention of ‘Proton’, the tag ‘power windows’ won’t be too far away. In fact, regulars of this website would know that whenever there’s a Proton related post (or even unrelated posts), the infamous issue will be brought up by certain quarters.

It’s no myth, and many have experienced it before, but Proton has turned the corner in making reliable power windows, and in a show of confidence, there will soon be a life warranty for Proton power windows!

Tackling the infamous topic at a quality campaign, Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said that the carmaker’s power windows are now defect free, but the ingrained perception is hard to reverse. “We have improved the quality by leaps and bounds, but the negative perception lingers. The perception of the public at large is very important, and it is our biggest challenge,” he lamented.

The “once and for all” solution? A lifetime guarantee, it is. “We will guarantee that the power windows will work,” he declared. But like in all warranties, terms and conditions apply, and these details would be sorted by the end of this month.

Syed Zainal also shared an interesting personal experience. The Proton boss related his experience from the back seat of a Proton Waja airport limo from KLIA to his house in Subang Jaya.

“The driver would open his door instead of using the power window when we stopped at the toll booth. My wife was giggling and poking fun at me. So I asked him if the window was spoilt. He said no. He said his friend told him that if he used the power window too much, it would break down!” Syed Zainal said to laughter from the crowd.

“I gave the taxi driver my card, and asked him to do me a favour by using the power window. I told him to call me on my mobile phone if the window breaks down. He has yet to call me,” he said.

“Some people, although they have never driven a Proton, are saying Protons are not good. We want to put a stop to that,” he added. We take that he meant recent Protons under his watch – they’ve certainly improved by leaps and bounds!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BRAZBUZ on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:59 am

great effort to build the trust…

• lalazhai on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:15 am

this ex-perodua man, sure learned one thing or two from his previous experience with perodua.

the japanese culture is slowly sipping into proton, and hopefully they can give us a turbo satria neo with less problem, i would buy one for sure.

• Golf R on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:34 am

Yep, whomever being groomed by the Perodua ex-MD Tan Sri Ab. Rahman, has that kind of mentality, spirit & behaviour

• Unforgiven on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Proton is ready to have the same tax structures for the rest of the cars, let’s do that…

Go Proton, City/Vios won’t get that lifetime warranty for PW too…

Let’s start selling the City/Vios with the same price as Persona in the same segment…

• Iskandar on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:47 am

Actually, this guy is from Petronas. The Segamat Regional Office at the Kuantan Segamat Highway to be precise.

It shows the quality of people Petronas has trained. No wonder most of Petronas’s workforce under Hassan Merican have no problem finding jobs overseas.

• tokmoh on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:46 am

That’s kinda where he started, but I guess it does contribute somewhat :)

DSZ’s last job before entering Proton is with Perodua as the deputy MD. He is with Perodua in 1999 – 2005.

Speaking of Hassan Marican, he’s working with a Singaporean GLC. http://beritasemasa.com/ex-ceo-petronas-tan-sri-hassan-marican-singapura

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:40 pm

this guy before perodua was in HICOM…

Actually he learnt from his experiences…

• Black Dog on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:36 pm

It’s amazing why they took so long (more than a decade) to do something concrete about it!

Well, at least they do it

• second picture is from proton future model?

• Ben 10 on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:03 am

I wonder when proton announce all-part-lifetime-guarantee…lol

• john doe on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:51 am

r u dumb enuf or wut? no automotives maker in the world will announce that.

• Prismo on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:57 am

when toyota announce it first la… My bro is in KL right now and i’m in order to taking care of his myvi.. what the hell!! almost all the power window switches are not functioning except the driver side…

i wonder where is SY0H was going? he used to talks too much about power windows problem.. now this tread is related about his problem and now he is not around..

• Kiddo on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:23 pm

the same thing happened to my friend’s Viva. :(

• kokopai on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:35 am

that is the problem when the power windows were rarely used. Oxide built-up at the switches contacts. Rubber track hardened. Rusty components… Always give your power windows an exercise.

• Angra on Apr 27, 2011 at 11:37 am

A good set of power windows (or any part for that matter) should be able to withstand ANYTHING, whether it is over-utilization or under-utilization.

Consumers are no longer as forgiving as b4.

• harris murad on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm

crazy la you bro!
        hahahaha!

• Hafidz Moro on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:43 pm

orang tak bersyukur memang macam ni..

• Tengokje.. on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:33 am

Lifetime warranty for all parts???……don’t dream about it man…..

• at least Mitsubishi dare to give 5 years maintenance free for their cars including parts!!
        our over priced Proton.. not even one!
        Pitty….

• mamat puchong on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm

use your brain before putting your comment…

• Modern_English on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Why not just change the brand name to Lotus or vice versa. Then i shall sit down n see how much commitment they willing to put in.

• Unforgiven on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm

I think they are ready to have the same tax structures for the rest of the cars, let’s do that…
      Let’s sell the City/Vios with the same price as Saga/Persona…

Go Proton, City/Vios won’t get that lifetime warranty for PW too…

• Paul Tan on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:00 am

I may be the exception of course, but never had a single power window issue in my 1996 Proton Satria 1.6 and my 2001 Proton Perdana V6.

• Ash Menon on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:55 am

Same here. ’99 Proton Wira, and the only issue with the window was the rubber going slightly out of alignment, slowing the window down. Has since been fixed, no other issues.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:27 am

My 2001 Wira Aeroback never had any power window or central locking problems until I sold it last year.

• my 2005 waja…argh, dont wan to tell..sigh…

• redboy on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:09 pm

My 2002 Waja change 3 power windows in 5 years. Just go ask them to check in EON Glenmarie if they are serious. The record shows there black and white. Everytime the sucker says this one better, and almost 100% sure right after the warranty of 6 months, to 1 year, bye bye power window.

How can that be perception? and just ask the CEO to check the service center, how frequent the power windows are being replaced! This are not lies, this are hard facts.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:05 am

Ditto with my Satria GTI in the four and a half years I had it. Glass worked a charm right through.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:42 am

my previous iswara had no power window prob…..but my new honda not only one but two power window prob…………..and the service adviser/mechanic at honda alor setar is so full of bs.sighhhhhhhhh

• my ’90 saga dont have any of those probs at atll until now but my 2000 waja always keep repairing power windows, door handles, bulb, power windows, door handles, bulb.. bla bla bla…

• HirumaKecil on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Yup.. my father 2005 Gen2 once have power window problem… now he lock the back windows.. only front window can be used… BUT his taxi, 1992 Saga, used averyday to feed my family and never had any prolem with power window.. Only now the left one become slow.. I think it’s because the rubber…

• Prismo on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:30 am

Apply some “ArmorAll” wax on the rubber trim.. I do this on my Waja, tadaa.. smoothly winding up and down all my power windows…. do it once per month.. problem solved… and u can apply some on the wiper blade too…. ;)

• perodua on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:06 am

Does the lifetime warranty includes previous waja as well?

• Paul; I think you one of the lucky few. I had change the power window for my 1998 perdana twice before I downgrade to Waja in 2002; which I have change power window 6 times in five year.

• mspfaz on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:07 am

You are lucky Paul. I had a Waja 2004 and had to change the power windows of the driver side twice, front passenger window and back passenger left side once each. Had also to change the door handle (outside) of the passenger and driver side as well, change the sensor for the airbag which costs a lot. Also the glove compartment handle broke 3 times and all were replaced with an original Proton part and still they broke. Proton should have life time warranty for those parts as well.

• Also my Gen2 2006.. never happen until I jual…

• yup paul, my old saga & satria also no problem coz both are manual type ie. no “power window” :-)
      sure DSZ will be happy to note this…..

• endre on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:07 pm

but my Pesona power window drop down after few months (the first 2000 batch before launch). Not to mention the stearing rack noise too… never ends. So now I’m proud owner of Forte.

• Tag line proton last decade still not yet fixed. First time buy wira 2002 power window motor not working upon delivery to me:) What we want quality not quantity. No wonder trade in value high cause of quantity not quality. Change to European Car 2005 still no problem untill now. Improve quality first proton.

• linear_system on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:20 am

what do u think this topic about??

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:17 am

So you’re gonna judge all present and future BMWs based on the flaws of the E34?

• Doraemon's father on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:15 pm

I own e34, not a single problem. So, is e34 very gud quality?

• HirumaKecil on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Oh man.. the E34 is the best bimmer… I like that car.. looking very solid…

• Joseph on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Another wayang kulit, with dwindling Proton share price, and losing market share…DSZ only wants to repair windows? After 25 years, Proton wants only to repair Windows hahahahaa….what a joke. In 10 years time, Proton would be sold to the highest bidder, lock stock and barrel…it’s share price makes it a lot easier and you Proton fanbois can only become fanbois…

• linear_system on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:45 pm

when p1 doing bad things of coz u will bash,p1 did a good thing also wanna bash.go finish your spm first…

• Hafidz on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:26 am

Better late than never!! Neva say nevaaa!! :P haha

• klaka seram on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:15 pm

dude, take your driving licence first

• my friend told me it is pointless to claim the warranty coz it will take hours and hours for them to fix, not to mention you have to wait ages to get in line. So, he decided to fix it at some ah beng workshop. according to him, the component that always fail is made of plastic, can’t take the extreme heat in malaysia, the replaced component from ah beng shop is made of steel, last long under the hot sun.

if proton is serious about their image, the last thing they need is an image consultant and start embracing competition.

• Leong Junior on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:18 am

that mean proton should assign the ah beng shop as the supplier for the power window? :)

• ah beng use parts from Japan gua, coz the original lancer uses metal one mah, when comes to proton, they cut cost and use plastic. that’s why always break down.

• Leong Junior on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:45 am

aiya~ which company dunwan cut cost?
          to me, all same 1, sometime is depend on ur luck when buy car. :D

• I buy from proton edar in Penang. Everytime i complain of problems the service centre REALLY DROVE MY CAR OUT FOR THE AH BENG WORKSHOP TO FIX. I KNOW CAUSE MY FREN WORK IN THE AH BENG WORKSHOP!!! I swear it’s the truth and i didn’t exaggerated!!!

• jalan54 on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:05 pm

You know what, this is really true, I have friends who is the boss of what you all so call “Ah Beng” shop, is helping to solve issue that they are unable to sovle from those so call well trained and good service center.

Not only proton, but also merc, bmw and that day even a subara wrx sti. For the subaru wrx sti, they can’t solve the ABS issue and my friend solve it for them. My god, well trained service center…

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:18 am

Another person who doesn’t understand what the article is about

• The article is about lifetime warranty for proton’s infamous power window.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:23 am

FAIL

• HirumaKecil on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:49 pm

This article mean that, the power window quality now become BETTER ,that’s why they dare to give lifetime warranty..

• that ur fren said. he might be lie to you

• He is the Ah Beng who try to sales the “steel materials” Power Window… Wakaka~

• abzaja on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:57 pm

so do you mean that it is pointless for proton to give this lifetime warranty just because some of the people like yourself don’t bother to Q the line? wow…just wow

• kozekx on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:18 am

So? Toyota service centre took half a day to fix a defect in one of the doors of my Avanza.

• teamsleepnine on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:09 am

i think it’s must be the plastic as my previous car vitara have this problem too!!!….apparently i change to persona…nothing happen so far…

• Kok Bisa on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:14 am

Tipu have to wait for hours. It usually depends where and when you send for Proton service. Saturday of course la ramai hantar service. Ah beng mmg la sekejap, customer tak ramai. Dowh.

• ai yah, u read other people’s comment in here before u shoot lah. see got other people say proton service is terrible or not, have to wait super long… i think i saw one.

• gnusmas on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:55 am

u think kaa??..i thought its ur experience…

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:23 am

I got to book for service 3 days in advance for one p2 centre, otherwise you won’t even be considered for service. So effectively my waiting time is 3 days. So what? Can you conclude that p2 service is crap? Why double standard for p1? Depend on when you send, where and the spare part availability lah. Don’t want to wait just send to service center somewhere in small town la, no need to wait.

• I had to wait 3 months to claim my power window switch. Call up Proton after 3 months still say no stock. End up fix it outside, only cost me RM 20. 5 years warranty my ass. Proton can claim what ever they want. I wont buy another proton! Proton service sucks.

• DNA Y on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm

ade lebih dr 2 proton SC kat tpt aku.. kalau satu busy, xde stock atau closed aku pegi SC lain.. so simple, x payah tunggu 2,3 bulan.. tp kalau ade duit nak bayar sendiri watpe nak bising..

• i respect this proton MD.the previous 1 may be just another typical crony

• teamsleepnine on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:26 am

dsz is really working to move proton forward….and i respect that!!!

• paparadzi on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:19 am

In the old days, there were 2 types of power windows fitted to Protons, especially Saga and Wira. One is for higher end models, factory-fitted by Proton. The other is for lower-end models, fitted by EON. The Proton-fitted power windows have switches on the door while the EON-fitted one have switches on the center pedestal.

The EON power windows will fail very fast; the other one will last a little bit longer.

• Power windows that usually fail are on the Wajas. Because they are not of the scissor type and just the pulley types and the frame is made out of plastic, it tends to break with age or excessive strain…

• tokmoh on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:11 am

Yeap, pretty famous. Solution is to just change the frame to metal type, and it’ll last for a long time.

• BMW also used plastic power window plate what??same like Waja.Ah Beng workshop used metal Power window plate but if accident happen from door side,the thickness plate from power window …..zupppp..msuk dlm amacam?? in term of safety metal power window plate BAHAYA!!!!

• lalazhai on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:33 am

if the car is made out of metal, accident bahaya.

make a car out of plastic is safer?

• vigosss on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:24 pm

lolz

• lalazhai…

I’m talking about power window panel,not body of the car,if u fix the original more safety and less rattling sound….

• teamsleepnine on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:25 am

and the other thing is…. proton service center,i went to one of the service center in setapak trying to set an appointment,but the people there dont even bother to entertain me….so i went to mutiara damansara the service is very satisfying….thumbs of for the service center in mutiara…it should be the benchmark for other proton service center!!!

• john doe on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:59 am

bro, there’s a lot diifferent between MUTIARA n SETAPAK. sure the quality also different. haha. just a joke. my salute to you coz dun giv up early n still trust proton service centre.

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:53 pm

i will call to set an appointment. you can get the number(s) online. why wasting time go there to set appointment and come again for service later?
      similarly, i don’t understand why many people still Q’up to buy movie tickets while they can actually choose their seats and buy the tickets online from home / office?

• Because sometimes, they do it on the spur of the moment. They did not plan it but suddenly feel like doing it. What’s wrong in that…?

• greasemonkey on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:01 pm

I think they are dealer,not Edar branches,went to 1 near this serdang,/s.kembangan area for warranty,show fuck-up face,give alot B.Shit excuses.We pay for service somemore they more lan-c ,dunno we pay part of their salary! So,went proton edar branch,good service!! will not go to dealer anymore.

• aminlife on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:25 am

True ( so far ) i never experience power windows problem in persona model but i do experience this pwer windows fault in satria 1.6 GL 1997. Well.. indeed there is improvement proton “power windows” – lifetime warranty .. make it reality.

• civic on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:26 am

Thumb up Proton¡¡¡¡

• still not convinced on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:28 am

whatever….. I’m still not convinced, and will not be buying another proton for the rest of my life. I will propagate this to all my friends and family to stick to either japanese, korean, conti, etc as long it doesn’t have this pathetic badge.

• gd la…..the T and H must be vry happy to have customers like you till they jack up the prices of their cars every year

• teamsleepnine on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:36 am

you have so many time to propagate your family ,friends(if you have one)….must be internet trolls..

• of course bro.. he same like every one ……..SALEMAN or PAKAR MOTOVASI
        for me what ever u say ‘mr still not convinced’ …. that your money and your opinion… tepuk dada tanya poket masing2.

• sagalover on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:38 am

speechless……i think you are more pathetic
      hehe

• Then why bother reading this post? (or the rest of Proton posts?). Half-baked bashers…

• aduss on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:52 am

to Mr. still not convinced.. i “still not convinced” whatever you say!!!

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:37 am

Yeah. “Long live” Toyota with stuck accelerator pedal! Ending up getting stuck in between tree and driver seat. “Long live” Honda with possible short circuiting power window switch leading to auto combustion! Ending up being a charred body in an overpriced burned chassis.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:34 am

i wish my honda city got lifetime power window warranty………or at least reliable spare part………….and lee motor honda alor setar suckkkkkkkkkk big time……….go to kulim or sp one much better……….

• My Exora 2009 is zero defect! Keep up the good work!

• yap me too bro.. my exo right now nearly 80,000km mileage…since 15.5.2009 in serviceable good condition.

• Kudos to Syed Zainal for such sound and motivating moves! Proton keeps trying to provide us more, and more quality cars to us average peeps. Sadly, the mentality of Proton bashers will remain the same even if they are given free Proton cars with lifetime warranty.

Pity them for dreaming a sub RM100k car with performance like a Ferrari and quality as a Bentley…

• ya meh! my 1991 saga din hav this problem leh

• droll on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:46 am

well done proton. keep improving. maybe one day we can get good cars at affordable prices.

• Headup on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:50 am

Why they want to give a lifetime warranty? Are they not trust their own product?

• who care whether they trust their product.as long we consumers benefit

• aduss on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:56 am

reed 1st!!

• They are getting more confident with their product. That’s why. They want to build the confidence for people like yourself.

• open up the market, not ask for another 20 years protection. what confidence?

• Is a good move from P1, to show that they got confidence… I went to c the P1 Exora, compare the leather seat with my Alza… Can feel P1 is softer & better to seat for long distance…. P1 Exora Full Spec Version, Overall looks nice to me, but monthly almost 1k++ Vs 700, i choose P2. Bcos, I just want a bigger CC car, most of time driving alone to work~ Hopefully P1 can keep on Improving on Their Saga FL (Most PPL will buy) & Up Coming Persona…. P1, i think u can clearly c that most ppl can afford Saga & ur Persona, so u should concentrate more & give more offer, accessories to ur customers… Since Malaysia go so many Palm oil, kelapa sawit, “Maybe” P1 & Petronas Engineer can research more & come out with new 1.4 or 1.5 Turbo Bio Diesel Engine, and Fuel Efficiency better than Hybrid cars!!! 100km/ L??? Sure bit the Japanese or the Korean~ If other ppl go for hybrid, maybe P1 can try something New~

• wasTe_bucKet on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:04 pm

kc,

i like your comment because you did not talk crap and gave a constructive comment..i wish most malaysians can be like u…

• Anonymous on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:01 am

Haha, indeed it is true. Wonder why they suddenly bring up previous issues!!

Because of to cover the new problems issues… lol

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:23 am

Sigh.. another person who doesn’t seem to understand English..

• jendol on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:07 am

that is what they call marketing my friend, if not people will always stuck at the old negative perception. When they don’t give u warranty u say that they are not responsible, when they give it yet u still mau bising, haiya…

• Ash Menon on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:10 am

People like you really deserve to get hit by a bas kilang.

• msian on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:12 am

its to show that they trust they product so much,until they can give a lifetime warranty,so that the public will have some level of confidence

• teamsleepnine on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:14 am

it’s to sort out the public perception,if they don’t have the confidence they might as well try to avoid the subject…what they want to do is to show their confidence over the matter….

being a basher,easy!…cakap pusing pusing….

• aduss on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:14 am

they dare to change. they fight for they honour!!

• still not convinced on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:22 am

Common, change your car. I know what you have

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:25 am

“Common”? Err.. what do you mean? It’s common to change one’s car? What? What?

Oh ya, perhaps being a typical basher, you have poor English to begin with so you don’t understand what this article is about anyway.

• aduss on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:27 am

my car is LOTUS.. remember? “my 1st LOTUS” hehehehe
          came on la…

• besaid on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:17 am

Simple. They dare to give it because they trust in their product.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:22 am

Why does VW give their buyers 5-year 300,000km warranties? Do they lack confidence in their cars?

Manufacturer warranties are to INCREASE CONSUMER CONFIDENCE. Maybe you have a special way of thinking.

• Golf R on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:47 am

Volkswagen gives 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage. that is how confident they are, no mileage capped. Also the car body has a 12 years rust through warranty.

• kantOiz on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:38 am

bro…VW how much and Proton how much?…this is not an apple to apple comparison lar..
          i understand what u mean..because after more than 20 years help there are only fixing the 20 years old problem …which is the power window…100% R&D cost to power windows…for new product devt…just copy and paste from Mitsu Lancer become Inspira..

• DonkeyKong on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:01 am

Wow, so if 20 years of R&D is just for power windows, I wonder where the Campro engine came from. I wonder how they reached NCAP 4 star level with most of their cars since they didn’t spend R&D on that. I wonder what they rebadged to produced Exora, BLM, Persona, Satria Neo.

Narrow-minded bashers like you really have mental problem. You guys will focus on the 10% of Proton that is wrong, and keep on talking about it and amplify your point to make it look like 99% of Proton is wrong.

• Prismo on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:19 pm

whoa… since u r to good then, why dont u sign up to replace p2 MD.. p2 never came up with their “originality” in their line up model instead of cut and paste… And nautica is 99% CBU and only 1% is local, THE P2 EMBLEM..

• you golf got 5 years only????
          honda and toyota also give unlimited mileage or 3rd generation grand child which ever come first.

• redboy on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Hyundai and Kia gives 7 years warranty in UK…

• Of coz the longer the warranty period, the more confident they have on their products! It’s a no-brainer!

• Oh my…
      people willing to give you free power window switch for the rest of your life and u dunt want it?
      I wish my Myvi have this kind of warranty

• mmmmmmm on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:39 am

i know it’s u are practicing freedom of speech question and statement like this one…….is beyond &^*&%&$&$^…………..sighhhhh

• BOYRACER on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Gives lifetime warranty also wrong.gives 3 years warranty also will ask why 3 years only.Duhhh…

• aduss on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:01 am

Paul see. 1.40am in the Sunday morning ppl still open your blog seek for update.. this is very3 best blog.. good job!!

• msian on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:19 am

Good Job DSZ!

• selamat on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:27 am

MD. DSZ i hope you walk the talk and not talk the talk only.
    Talk is cheap cos lifetime warranty and guarantee subject
    to terms and conditions is a con-job.
    Its a shame that instead of manufacturing quality cars
    P1 still has to address its power window issue.
    Admit your fault and replace all power windows
    This is called damage control,as 25 years of sweeping
    the problem under the carpet has created a plaque
    to the Proton marque.

• the power window issue got nothing to do with this MD.he is just currently trying to clean up the mess left by the previous MD

• yeah rite! on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:43 am

same concern here!
      Thumb up provided the
      Terms & condition is fair.

Hopes there will be a follow up post to clarify this matter!

• encikmasen on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:25 am

isn’t that what the article is all about? he admit that unreliable power window is one of proton dark image, and also see it first hand during his trip from klia in waja limo (i lol’ed at that btw)..so now he’s giving lifetime warranty, of course la change the power window..

d’oh~

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:49 pm

you read or not?

after 25years… the power windows issue is at waja… do you know proton historyu or not?

it is a shame of being a malaysian but not knowing national car history…

• tumb up for DSZ!!

• meane on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:49 am

“Power window…”, ” –did you just said ‘Proton’..?”

this joke will not happened again…

• rosdi on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:08 am

oi tido la!

• Shahrul Abdul Latip on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:15 am

Tell him,

I did a test drive in Satria Neo. It’s hot at the time I got in the driver seat, window down and the salesman “slap” his forehead. I asked him why? He said the window cannot winding up… Yes, it’s true… lifted the switch the window “senget” forward… That is the test drive car…

The next weekend dropped by Perodua, signed a purchase agreement for MyVi…

But still aim for Neo R3…

• dickybird on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:07 am

good effort to try and improve by p1. though i would still steer clear of p1 cars for another 5 years. Shahrul, 2012 focus tdci le bah!

• Which showroom you went?

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:50 am

Great news. You just bought the best model from p2 which is good looking, with great handling and great safety, with the whole car being crumple zone. You also just signed up for a place in yearly statistics of motor vehicle accident in Malaysia. Good luck!

• fazron80 on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:38 am

Souped up the myvi and your call will always drive on the right lane of the highway. Better check the brakes. Going too fast but the brakes fail won’t look good on your future. Dont forget to slap your head that time.

• dickybird on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:51 pm

p2 owners drive sensibly while p1 drivers get overconfident with their lotus handling sticker and crash and burn.

• SparC on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:40 am

Bagus Proton. Keep up the good work. Always select the right supplier and QC check. Those tiny parts will spoil the whole whole Group brand. People will not blame the supplier, but will blame the brand name instead.

There is hard to avoid defects, but Proton shows their confident level by providing a guarantee to the customer for their infamous power windows. That’s a big improvement.

• inline 6 on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:40 am

not sure about other proton..

but for WAJA , 2 common (a must) problem !

1.Power window break down
    2.Fuel pump break down

ask the waja owner

• SparC on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:59 am

Door handle…….

• this is true. 3 times fixing broken power window bracket, 2 time fuel pump and 2 time fixing door handles. 7 years waja, 1 time the power window driver button. other than that no problem. lucky me huh?

• you forgot to mention that all those replacements were done at unauthorized shops, and not using the original parts. By using that 3rd party parts (imitation products especially), people blame Proton. pay less, you deserved that bro. You know that there are 14 types of local fuel pump, 4 types of local door handles — and all of them are imitation? If you bought imitate mobil 1 lubricant, why don’t you put the blame on them too?

• Rakyat on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:40 pm

The original power window and fuel pump that broke…not imitation right? came from factory right?

What happened to all the previous customers of Proton who bought the Waja? Not valuable customers? You won’t feel the pain unless you paid RM60L plus of hard-earned ringgit and get rainwater in car (power window) or car wont start (fuel pump).

I see alot of deflecting in the comments. Lots of Proton employees tonight?

• How ironic when you misread the word “replacement”. Don’t tell me of not knowing the pain. I’m a 10-years user of Waja, until now. No matter how good the original equipments are, they were produced in mass quantity. You are one of the unfortunate people out there. …and no. I’m not a Proton staff, crony or whatsoever. Just an average user out there. :)

• shawal on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:25 am

A small step forward is STILL a step in the right direction…

• rickyll on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:49 am

Syabas! The top brass of Proton finally comes out with a solution to address the problems. My 1991 Saga didn’t give me any problem, I was forced to sell it because corroded spots kept coming out all over the exterior. I bought a Waja in 2001 and that was where my nightmare began. The driver side power window spoiled after 13 months and so was the door handles. So far, this Waja of mine had cost me thousands to replace 6 power window sets i.e. 3 to driver side, 2 to the passenger side and 1 to the real door. As for the door handles, I have lost count of the number of times I have changed it. Though I still keep the Waja, it is used as a spare car. I have since bought 2 foreign marques for my family. I had vowed not to buy another Proton, but, with Datuk Sri Syed Zainal Abidin’s assurance, I will just wait and see, may be I might change my mind in the future.

• redboy on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:19 pm

i feel your pain man, i feel your pain!, i have replaced my 2002 Waja power windows until i gave up (3times in 5 years), and same to the handle, which i gota lightly lift it, or ask my friend lightly lift it, or else it will break….

• waja user (sad) on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Ya…Proton should think why 1990 to 1999 car models mostly no power window problem, but after year 2000, the P.waja …then P.Gen2…..got power window problems….WHY? quality go downhill…disappointed. P.waja door handle also trouble….really shameful.

• Nellie on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:10 am

It’s a good news for the Proton owners, and a genius move from the MD. People keep talking about the infamous power windows even if the problem is minimal nowadays. Many car model has its own defect, even if it’s a Toyota, Honda or Hyundai. Since you’re given a lifetime warranty, if it breaks down, just go to the Service Centre.

• Jerry on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:42 am

Malaysia Boleh! And that life warranty is one-up on Alfa.

• Not really worried bout power windows. Much more worried about door handles. Seen quite a few broke on Perdanas, Gen2 and Persona. Can we get life time warranty for that?

• tried to google proton persona door handle problem.. there were cases but could not find many.. it might be the user, not the car… used Persona for 2 years as company pool car.. no problem so far…

• The door handle so hard leh… how can the rivers manage to break it?? must be the driver open it with force

• fazron80 on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:41 am

Yes. I also surprise when I broke my gen 2’s seat adjuster. I never knew I was born with supermam strength until that day.

• Don’t forget the wiring problems..lights don’t work lah.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:15 am

ok lah… at least he is coming down to ground level to sort this long standing issue.
    Good on him….
    Then again cars like BMW costing 4 times as much also have power window issue.
    You do see they doing anything about it except give you a fat bill even though it is defect.
    Stupid lifters always give way…..sigh….

• power windows problem is old issue already, good move by proton MD,
    improve public perception about proton cars can effect improve public perception toward goverment

• Justin Burry on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:15 am

Ok give some applaud to Proton….

Proton Inspira is another example that show how serious Proton but when you compare with Kia Forte you will realise that Forte far better equipment and technology gadgets…

For now Forte beats Inspira…

Come on Proton produce your own car..

• Forte High tech konon ¡
      Inspira use multi link rear suspension, Forte still stuck with low cost old tech rear axle beam.

Come on lah Hyundai/Kia when r u going to stop copying european car design & japanese engine, until then korean car had no reputation.

• tokmoh on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:24 am

To be fair, I think the Kia Forte is a decent competitor to Inspira.

But the biggest problem with the Kia is NAZA and its famous ‘quality’ after-sales service. Good luck in owning one.

• Leong Junior on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:55 am

copy? reserch b4 u comment.
        the designer for Kia is a german, peter schrayer.
        he is ex-designer for audi/vw.

• That is what i mean, not design by a Korean, hire a ex designer from Audi, copy here & there.

30 over years producing car still can’t come out with own engine, poor dah.

• Leong Junior on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:42 pm

i think u like 2 bash without doing ur homework.
            Kia found in 1944, so it already around for 60+year.
            Kia also has developed theta engine with mist & chrysler.

http://www.kiamotors.com/experience-kia/technology/powertrain.aspx

• Leong Junior on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:00 pm

U really bash without doing ur homework. U tell me which car manufacturer got ‘Tiger Nose’?
            Kia established in 1944, which mean already 60+ years.
            Kia also came out with the Theta World engine that jointly develop with Mist & Chrysler.

• Malcolm Lim on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:16 am

Kudos to DSZ for a good job so far, i really respect him and his hard work in making proton a better company and a force to be reckoned with again. Proton has improved by leaps and bounds, so much that I bought a Saga BLM and has lasted me for about 2 years now so far so good. Power window always open for touch and go toll, so far touch wood no problems :)

• i dont think mr syed zainal use proton as his daily car..ke dia guna?…

• haris on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:16 pm

yes he do uses proton as his daily drive… check at COE…
      Persona, Saga BLM, Exora… and Perdana….

• Power of Windows vs Power of Dream!

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:03 pm

hahha time to change the present motto to this “Power of Windows”

• Ben 10 on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:59 am

useless la… The good news is cost of reparation is free but how about petrol cost? time cost? And can you promise it won’t break down after the reparation? Preferred foreign car, proton sux!

• deftones on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:39 pm

do you think other foreign car is defect free?
      just because of power window u dont want to choose proton?
      haha..silly..

i still love proton’s air cond which any other makes cannot compete..
      that is a strong point for me rather than making power window as an issue..
      power window does not make the car slower, more fuel consumption, spoil the engine..etc..
      why bother? got problem? just change for free..no any other makes makes this promise..

• Nizam80 on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Agreed on your comment on the Proton’s air-con part. From the first ever ’85 Saga, up till today’s new model line-up, Proton’s air-con is the most suitable with our hot and humid climate.

• fazron80 on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:28 am

The aircond is indeed cold. But the power it takes from the engine is also huge.

• abzaja on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:15 pm

ben 10…better you go watch your favorite cartoon now and leave this to adults

• michaelooi on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:04 am

bold promise, but the right direction.

• Whatever on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:20 am

Save up your skin la proton.

• Cowabunga! on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:32 am

you do know…regardless of a “lifetime” wording, it does not mean, if it doesn’t work… you’ll get it replace for free….

parts maybe, labour isn’t…
    or parts maybe, but “lifetime” applies to certain area of fault…
    or “lifetime” maybe, if you service religiously with the SC….
    or …etc..

be a wise consumer…and not be taken into “lifetime”….

• mmmmmmm on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:15 am

what la…….lifetime is better than NOTIME……..how wiser u want it to be……….

• Cowabunga! on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:01 am

if u feel you are “compensated” with it…it’s your opinion.
        Hope you get your “lifetime” expectation.

• Doraemon's father on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:16 pm

u r absolutely right on this. same goes to VW five years warranty..

• i think they have changed the vendor for power window la. that’s why DSZ is brave enough to give the lifetime warranty. my instinct told me so.

• the internets on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:11 am

OMG! lifetime warranty, i guess im gonna sell my Silvia, my mom’s Camry, my dad’s Hilux, so everybody can get protons! woohoo no need those overpriced jap cars, now that proton has improved sooooo much.. haha foreign manufacturers sure tutup kedai lar like this, finally those 300% import tax we all been paying have paid off.

Pronton4lyfe yo! to another 25 years of quality reliable and safe cars!

• HirumaKecil on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Japanese car not 300% tax lah… bs… Even i use Peugeot also cheaper than camry… Quality better, handling better, safety better… T car overprice is bacause they know people will buy even they sell it at that rpice….

• the internets on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:19 pm

errr not really, its overpriced because thats the price approved by MITI.. :D

• i was once a non Proton supporter as well until i sat and drove in a Persona and Exora which changes my view of Proton cars… My friends still ask me why buy a used Persona instead off Myvi? i laughed and told her, wait for me to give you a ride in the persona, and i did and she bashed on the quality but she was shocked with the comfort and quietness.. Well i must admit the quality is a bit rough though but it is waaaaaay better than dugong vios!!

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm

yes, my sis’s persona is very quiet compared to my waja.

• Vincent on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:35 am

Haha, I just told my friend, If I put a persona, vious and City, you go and drive…

THe result will tell who perform better…

But than, when come back to realistic, 80% of people just need car from point a to point B.

T and H give fuel eficient, safety feature as standard (now also available to Proton). But anyhow, due to the branding reason, people will feel the safety festure in P1 will not work when they need it…

End up, demand for T & H is greater and the resales value also become good.

As a result, the ownership cost to own a T or H is lower than P1.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Persona 1.6 of coz fc cannot compare with vios and city 1.5… But campro cps fc almost the same with vios…. resale value not that bad… Gen2 2005 buy rm 57k now rm 25k… Drop almost half price in 6 years.. city and vios now around 45k.. also almost the half of the new price.. so not a big issue.. even unreg alphard 2.4 now u can buy for below 200k But the worst is for korean ang europe car.. 60k spectra now only 12-15k… Naza ria now only 25-35k… rm800k cls now only around 200k…

• ikari on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:23 am

after 25 years of building cars they finally got the power windows to work properly, is power windows really that complicated?

• waimak on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Ikari,
      Proton’s power window problem only started recently especially waja time. You hardly found it during mitsu time..

• pelams on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:53 am

waja hv power window prob
    gen2 hs door handle prob
    hope they gv lifetime warranty to door handle also

• teoh soon kuan on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Pls give me the handphone number. I will show the MD the repair cost of my waja and still did not fix yet…very expensive……no $$$$$$$

• Matrix on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:10 pm

My Savvy power window have still working after 3 years, only switch spoilt once after the 1st year. In contrast, my Myvi has power window switch replaced twice in same period.

Kudos to DSZ. He really turns Proton around. I am happy customer with the Savvy, and now has booked an Inspira 2.0. :)

• kirin beer on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Sucker you’re buying a rebadged Lancer !!!

• fadhli on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

so what?? u r proud enough with ur lancer? or do u even own 1? hello…come test ur 2.0lancer that u proud of so much with inspira 1.8e, well see who came out with the best time. your car only balance due to the 17″ rims, if not you be toasted in sharp corners…!

• narakka on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:06 pm

so correct!!dia tak pernah bawak proton kot.muahaha!!!pity you.nah!! drive my neo.jangan sampai meleleh main corner.:P

• Firdaus Rosli on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Also a driver of Savvy MT as my first car, bought in 2010. The face-lifted design is unique as it is rarely seen on the roads (if compared to MyVi, but it’s still among the leaders in small cars segment) , handling comfortable and stable (140km/h without a lot of vibration), very fuel-efficient (i got 18km/L), reliable with strong body structure (survived an accident last Ramadhan), longer service intervals (every 10000 km) and, with less monthly installment (RM390/month). :-)

The only problem I encountered was gear knob, which was once unable to be put into reverse. Fortunately it has already been rectified, thanks to a friend from SAVOC.net.

From what I see, most Savvy owners often send their cars to unauthorized service centers (example RS Auto Puchong) especially for major services like timing belt, which can be found cheaper and of the same quality as Proton SC.

Moreover, most Proton service centers cheated Savvy owners by telling them to come for next service appointment after 5000km, while in the driver’s manual its written as every 10000km.

As well, Proton should consider to produce fully-automatic version of Savvy, instead of AMT currently which is high in maintenance cost, and plagued with problems which is unattractive for lady drivers which preferred automatic transmission. (That’s the reason why the pink MyVi is sold like hotcakes, even though it was intended for a limited edition.)

I will not purchase a new car until the loan is fully paid (on 2019). Hopefully by that time, Proton will come with more attractive line-ups of better MPVs, Malaysia’s first SUV, better hatchbacks and marketing them globally as our market would not expand further at that time.

• Hmmm, a power windows improvement requires 10 years of RnD ? Then for whole a entirely new block of engine requires 50 years or more ?

• mmmmmmm on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:17 pm

no lah…. the power window issue long time fix……….but your kind of mentality may takes longer than 10, 50 forever perhaps……..

• bongek on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:32 pm

my worries is…. if P1 too focus on windows problem,,, they might loss other quality,,such as good handling…hope not,,, but this is a very good efford…thanks

• why DSZ came out with lifetime warranty?
    a) they changed vendor and improved the power window.
    b) they want to change public perception.
    c) their window is so powerful.
    d) the warranty only valid for cars without window.
    e) coz his wife teased him.

for every successful power window, there is wife behind it!. now everybody can power window!

• Kelvin on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:51 pm

My old reliable 1997 wira 1.5GL power windows never fail since i bought the car first hand. After 14 yrs… until recently the passenger side is giving me some problem. The air-con also never fail and i’m quite surprise by that. The only issue is high fuel consumption and underpowered.

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:59 pm

some never drive but condemned it… it is a sure true… even in this blog…

bashing proton for the sake of bashing… dont even know how proton feels like, drive like…

my persona 2008… 2 years already… no issue, fuel consumption 5.8l/100km (city/highway drive)…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Kudos for DSZ for ‘turun padang’ by himself to view the public perceptions, especially among the taxi drivers. That is why he deserves to be Proton’s very own mascot. Very few carmakers have their top management personnel themselves to be labelled as their own respective companies’ icon.

• loveproton on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:23 pm

guess dsz reads alot at paultan :D

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Not just DSZ alone… even TV3, RTM, Berita Hairan etc. also refer to paultan what…

• awg1301 on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:41 pm

mine was broken at the driver’s side last 2 week..the car is just over 1 years old..is it still under warranty?

i guess those always with aircond and seldom open and closed the window will unlikely got problem with the power window..

• THINKER on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm

isnt it too late for 25 years only turun padang? this substitute is no Rooooney

• justice on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Proton should recall all P1 cars and replace Power window with a lifetime warranty..then People will not complaint anymore about their P1 car..

• abzaja on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm

lol…how about only people with the defect only power window can change the thing, i believe other people also don’t mind…well you know, for the sake of saving the cost and so that other people don’t call you stupid for making a bad decision

• Malcolm Lim on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Not possible for this to happen because then you’d see a lot of proton cars in the service centres and those who just want to service their cars will have to wait longer cos of this. What DSZ doing is a sign of good faith and to build confidence towards proton. It is true that proton’s name has been badly affected by many bad press on them in the past, but they are steadily improving so lets give them a chance.

• My Saga BLM 08, Encounter Power window switch malfunction after 6months i got the car. But after replace it, it use until now.. happy with it.

• war lord on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:00 pm

well like that how about my 10years old proton? power window still cannot use.went to proton workshop.they tell me.is like that one.so STOP complaining.
    ahahahah. no mater what. the so call proton md do.is still the mindset of so call local company.
    i ain’t buy any proton forever. until this stupid proton close down.cheers.

• Syed Zainal,

I will NEVER buy a PROTON again , as long as this ‘kampung’ mentality permeates : –

1) Proton Sales teams sells cars for loan periods of up to 9 years and this is ‘cheating’ as most people whom utilise loans like these end up having a car with no value at the end of the term period. What is the price of scrap metal after 9 years? Isn’t this cheating? If its not it is still a lot of bull, and its the poor mak-cik and rural folk who end up with the brunt of this heinous plan for market share – SHAME on you Proton for preying on them!

2) Proton Service – this is another CRAP piece of horror stories after another, take a good look at yourselves in the mirror, not that the Japs or Contnentals are better but don’t you notice their service support and quality leaves something to be desired in Proton?

3) Build quality, I daresay the quality of EXPORT version of Proton is better than the MY Proton, why is this happening in this day and age? If double standards are practiced then you get what you deserve a natural DEATH. No consumer is going to support this and we will start talking, you think the people are fools? They are starting to see this double standards and they will just buy another car

4) Customer Care – automobile companies know this, they are not selling cars anymore – you are selling a service – A GOOD RIDE, not just point A to B, if Proton wants to just build metal carriages and not a car then its going to go nowhere.

• so bro, what you are using now?

• tiadaid on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:49 am

9 year loan period cheating? Then why blame only Proton? You can buy a Honda, a Toyota, a Peugeot, a Ford and many other cars with a 9 year loan! Blame the banks for offering that option, why the hell you blame Proton for?

• Too little too late. Potong must do a proper recall rather than just lip service.

I’m still driving with an open umbrella whenever it rains :(

• waimak on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm

i’m being frank here. 2 of my gen2door handle broke in 6th year while my power window on the front left and rear right stopped working on the 7th year of ownership, just in time with loan full settlement, yes it 2004’s model. But to be fair the customer I agree with DSZ for Proton to give a lifetime warranty bcos its Proton image and what more Proton wants to repair now than it’s long-tarnished-infamous power window issue- image.

• akupunya on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:49 pm

Jangan pula jaga power window sahaja, komponen2 lain pulak yang tadak kualiti..
    speedometer, meter minyak, aircond blower, central locking..

jgn buat gimik yer!

• Russia guy on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:56 pm

I went to service my PE the other day and I was listening the guy at the reception complained :” Aiyo, my car aircon too cold la, I have turn to the warmest temp and still so cold, can you adjust the setting not to be so cold?” LOL.

I love my PE, so far it serves me well.

• makeitmine on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Is it a design flaw or product flaw?

If it is a product flaw, the best statement that he should make is that “Proton does not install the problematic power window anymore in its present and future Proton models. Proton has cut all ties with the manufacturer of the problematic power window and will provide free lifetime warranty of power window for Proton models manufactured from 200x.”

This will be a wake up call to all Proton suppliers.

• Hafiz Hanafiah on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Proton basher loosing one popular point lar

• My Proton Wira manual window also breaks down. So…. when will lifetime warranty given to my manual window? Mr. Proton MD…

• ayamxxx on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:48 pm

dear Syed Zainal,

My 7 years old waja has a problem on its power window, I already replaced all the 4 power window set, which each is cost RM250 for the original Proton parts.

However, last week, at the driver side, the Power Window gave back the Problem, its stuck and I have to push the window using my bare hand.

Can I coming to Proton SC and claim the new LIFETIME GUARANTEE POWER WINDOW for my old car???

Ayamxxx

• Saya Nanti Rasuah on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:11 am

I am one of the so many who open door to pay toll and take parking ticket from machine. Spent too much money on replacing window regulator. Cannot afford to spend so much on window regulator now cos inflation is so high.

Really angry at Proton. Every right thinking person should be angry at Proton.

• sagamagma on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:53 pm

this is a guy with a mission

• Justin Burry on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Okay people out there I’m not saying Kia Forte is perfect!

Proton improve a bit but that does not mean we can not critics Proton…Enough say for the time being overall Forte better than Inspira… Why you guys butt hurt a lot?

• selamat on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Don’t say that this problem was inherited from the
    previous management. Lame excuse.!
    TM was there since Day1 !
    wonder how come he didn’t hear any
    power window complaints back then ?
    Melayu mudah lupa syndrome perhaps?!!

• shiro on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Kudos to Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin. I think you a very capable MD that can bring about change to Proton and direct it to it’s original purpose of creating job opportunities and offering good, competitively priced cars to the general public.

Applause to the lifetime power window warranty announcement. This is good damage control exercise even though late in coming. But how about waja owners? Aren’t they the one that’s in need of the lifetime warranty? That plastic pulley mounted on a plastic door cover ain’t going to last forever after every change.

• One thing at a time fixed! Hopefully P1 will continue this commendable move relentlessly. Good things is planned ahead by P1 in the near future, I cant wait!

• peter on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm

The story about the Limo driver not using the power windows to save them from failing brought to mind a similar personal experience. My father in law gave me the use of his Chevrolet Colorado, and told me “Don’t use the power windows.” I asked if they were broken, and he answered “No, but if you use them too much they might break down.” About 2 months later, the drivers side window failed, and I had to admit that I’d not heeded his warning. My argument was, what is the point of having something, and not using it just because you don’t want to not be able to use it.

• SoMeOnE on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:25 pm

it aint an easy task turning around proton after the condition the previous ‘circus’ of a management left it in…but credit it given where its due..i never thought he can do it..b a ut he is fixing it….i still remember the first thing he did when he came in was to put the SRM (current neo) on hold because the previous management gave a green light for a light beige interior for the car which looked tottaly hideous.. in the spyshots…it was suppose to be much much lighter then the beige in the gen2…it would have been scary…it would have been better if he came in earlier..oh well…

• Inderaloka on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:34 pm

I am a user of 2009 Proton Gen.2 CPS. From day 1 (receive it in August 2009) until now, there are no problems with my power window. To me, Gen.2 CPS is an affordable, great car with premium quality.

• al-loooooong on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:57 pm

This is just a marketing gimmick. If you stop servicing at proton service center, there is no lifetime guarantee for your power window.

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:13 pm

so.. why are you not going to authorized SC?

• Jolly_idiot on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Same what. If you service your T or H outside you also won’t enjoy the warranty beh.

• Jolly_idiot on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm

This move may kill lotsa cronies and suppliers.

Personally say this is a good move and not only apply to power windows but other common failure parts like handle.

I would say Proton have today is because of those big crocs that feed up full and cut too much cost on quality. Typical malaysian culture that always think of personal benefit rather than really make things work.

Keep it up! I’m looking forward lifetime guarantee on other parts too.

• Tiger nose konon, should name it Cat Nose becoz famous for copy cat.

Proton too have Wau Bulan Nose what.

Rear design copy cat audi.

Junior boy, grow up lah.

Hyundai/Kia pay dearly for the for the Engine to Mitsubishi.
    GAMA engine story just an cover up.

1944 Kia Bicycle got lah :-)
    Only from 1974 Kia begin mfg Car.
    Next time don’t put yourself in shame in the public forum without accurate info.

• fadhli on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:29 pm

a great step on bringing the m’sian hearts bck to proton. good job my beloved Bigboss…but to think bout it, im currently driving a 1997 satria 1.6, was with my dad for 8yrs and then passed down to me, now for the 14th year and 2mnths left it without driving it all the car still going on strong when you start it. i luv my satria, plus im blessed that im working in the 1st national car maker in m’sia.

• patron on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:34 pm

IN YOUR FACES basher!!!! no more modal about power window after this le… hahahhaha!!!!!!

• KLIA LIMO on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:59 pm

the problem was not solved…..that’s why you can change everytime it gets spoilt

• aizat on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:44 pm

just imagine u r out for an important meeting.. suddenly at the time you want to take the car park ticket the power window fail to close.. should i take a risk parking with open window? that is what happen on my mom’s gen2.. thats why im sooo pissed off with proton power window issue… then just figure out myself the problem is from the p/w switch that already broken.. but, is u cud look at he plastic material and the electronic board inside it u will regret and wonder, why such big name like proton using this type material and design.. even my 15 years sentra have better plastic material and electronic board, connector etc…

bit sad even i love proton, they more focus on surface design but lack in designing the underneath part… semua macam main sumbat je asal luar nampak elok….

• aizat on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:48 pm

if you look back.. the power window issue start when malaysia design their own car… start from waja, and gen2… noting serious issue on wira satria even my dad iswara stil functioning perfectly…

• waja user (sad) on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Not only waja and gen2, but the year 2004 P.saga also got power window problem. haizzz..

• PeYn0 Fanz on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:15 pm

All,

i just want to ask you that always faced with power windows problem..

-what kind of TINTED brand you use?
    -how much the thickness, in mm.. do you think it didn’t cause it to stuck?
    -how often you put silicone grease to your power windows? since our weather is hot and wet for the whole year..

• strikeX on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:29 pm

I don’t use any tinted until now. The problem faced second week I bought the car. The is Waja 2005 model. Right now I cannot open any windows coz it stuck. If want to change it, one door RM300 plus…

• Prismo on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:57 am

i dont understand.. why dont u claim for warranty if the PW fail on the 2nd weeks u bought the car? why must u wait until the warranty is over then u came and talk about this? or maybe this is the 2nd time the PW fail perhaps.. just asking.. :)

• kokopai on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:04 am

lol.. he bought a used car that has been in the ‘used car’ compound for few notable years

• Tracks on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:19 pm

I owned a 2008 Saga BLM. Power window mechanism didn’t failed but the switch did. Best of all is the Front Passenger side and it failed twice. Still have not gotten rectified yet for the 2nd failure. Sigh!!!

Regarding Waja, my advice to owners out there is to get the original part as it had been improved twice already. Typically spare part shops out there are selling only the 1st upgrade or worst the original defective design. As for the fuel pump, there is an expiry date aka limited shelf life, so again purchase wisely.

Proton, instead of spending millions on advertisement, why not admit your failure and give free replacement of door handles to all Waja owners especially those prior to 2004. After all, Malaysian have a habit of using their vehicles for more than 20yrs. It will always be a grim reminder of Proton’s failure and continuing bad publicity for Proton with Wajas running around with black colour door handles.

• strikeX on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm

It just for marketing strategies. If they can give better product it ok. I already stop service at proton service because it slow service n not really friendly to customer. I service at Jalan Gangsa Alor setar Proton service. If car always must send to service always must use warranty that mean that product just not good enough.

The mechanic say to me “Kete proton memang macam 2, barang dia x ok. apa susah warranty ada, mai la tukar”. then I say to him, if my warranty expired, he say. “Nasib la kena bayar la pulak untuk repair”.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:21 pm

From Waja,they learn how to design proper power window mechanism,and then they give you Gen-2,a little bit improve but the problem still exist,from Gen-2,they learn more and the first car under DSZ which Persona was released in 2007,again they improvise the car in terms of practicality but the old issue still exist,one year later they give you Saga BLM,which is quite a good car but again problem still exist,but when they released Exora,they improve a lot but then they could do better,I hope they go beyond that and I think they already learnt a lot of lesson in the previous 7 cars.I hope Persona R will be the new beginning of Proton to design a proper car not just for Malaysian but for the whole world.

• Tu Lan Proton on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:30 pm

One word – Bullshit. My Proton window regulator donno rosak and changed how many times already. My wife’s Proton window regulator also donno rosak how many times and changed how many times already. Everytime also used Proton ori window regulator and all these years Proton sold us junk.

Bloody Proton.

• nasurudin on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:30 pm

my 9 year old Nissan Sentra power window never give me any problem. I dont know in future Proton Nissan alliance will make any difference to the power window reliability

• Nissan fans on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Haha…good move. So P1 will concentrate more on power windows in future. But how about P.Waja door handle easy to spoil?This will also affect P1 name. Imagine when open the car door,suddenly the handle spoil in front of foreigner…shameful. Any warranty on that?

• publicity only la , my ass

• What about the cruise control function in the Persona SE, it seems to not work most of the time.

• nolan on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:41 pm

joke of the year….!!!!

he got driver in mercedes loh…..the taxi driver story is not true lah…..

• puipui on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:54 pm

u know..its good 2 hear this from proton… but i hope this good expectation wont come 2 a dissapointment in the end such as saying lifetime guarantee only for certain parts only in proton or like agents telling u like

” oh yes yes lifetime warranty..but ur window spoil is because of this this so there is not warranty for that part wan ”

so proton…. please be clear about this … i hope its not con-man marketing strategy…

if its really not…then i will admit its a good responsibility put in

• any neo owners with faulty power windows?

• amuaiz on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:29 am

TengkuM’s shit for SyedZ to clean up

• Rockmebaby on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:51 am

So, my quextion is: Can they replace my Iswara power window FOC???
    It rosak after only 6months….Just when the warranty expired!!!
    Lifetime warranty or agony????

• jalan54 on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:27 am

I hope this is just a start point for them to improve their cars and not the end as the power windows issue has been there for such a long time.

Proton, please also improve the quality of the interior and exterior, you guys are charging too expensive for cars with such quality.

• If I were that lucky taxi driver, I would complained him the…

1) Power window (okay settle already with a lifetime warranty)

but what about…?

2) Aircond knob (on/off by itself quite often, quite a fragile creature?)
    3) Gear knob for manual (plastic keep on breaking or loosen)
    4) Door handle (quite fragile)
    5) Door warning lights (althought my doors are closed?)
    6) Tup-tup sound especially at the front side of the car (during turns, absorbers?)
    7) tek-tek-tek sound from the engine bay (IAF*)?
    8) Water pump (fail or leakage?)
    9) Fuel pump (fail or leakage?)
    10) Poor wiring tendency to burned off / heat (very thin electrical wires?)
    11) Vibration at brake pedal during braking (warping disc brake?)
    12) Engine Overheating (due to waterpump failure or thermostat failure?)
    13) Problem with RPM sometimes stuck at high end during traffic jam (manual?)
    14) Steering making whinning sound especially at tight turns?
    15) The tendency for the car to turn/sway left (even after alignment and balancing?)
    16) Rattling/vibration dashboard, aircond vent, door cover and etc (arghhh too many?)
    17) Rainwater pouring into cabin (leakage via the door/window)
    18) Radio/cd player button console very fragile (button easily damaged)
    19) Arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh too many things to complained
    20) Can I have a new car instead? (I want T and H brand only)

Hahaha.

• autojohndoe on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:26 am

you already have Mitsubishi Grandis isnt it?

and i remember you have gen2 and persona also…

• u r CONMAN!

• Wagon R on May 09, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Con man never give up… Try again brother… you still miss the new thing on Proton…

• My 2001 4G18 (m) waja had the power window panels replaced all around only ONCE! The motors still in good working condition with no sign of breaking. Mind you, I always smoke in my car and a casual air-cond user. The year is 2011 and I still drive my humble waja to work, balik kampung, jalan-jalan, shopping. It deteriorates and aging here and there, yes but I don’t want to sell it either. Even my mechanic that used to maintain the car for 5 continuous years wants to buy it but sorry. My Waja is not for sale. It’s my 1st Proton car and I’m happy with it.

How about a 2nd car? Or trade-in for a new car? No thanks. I prefer to buy MPV this time. I’m not a millionaire like many of you. ;)

• Stephen on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:35 am

I tough challenge and decision to make but its a good one since virtually all previous model have power window bugging user when entering PLUS

• i am owning inspira year 2011 modal. got my car during jan.
    after use for few days, front absorber already have sound during morning. anyway, it disappear after warm up.
    until now proton still unable to provide solution.
    not sure what is happening but i believe 9/10 inspira owner face the same problem.

sad.

• redboy on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:47 am

wow. i am thinking Inspira, and now i gota think twice. I dont want to suck into the Proton nightmare no more…

• jalan54 on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Should complain this the the government instead as the road condition here is bad, very bad and it is REAL FCUK…ING BAD!!! So called rakyat didahulukan.

Here hole, there hole, and not a single MF wants to come over to fix it.

• i think you should ask the lancer owner.they all also have same problem at all.

• Tengokje.. on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:50 am

P1 should dare to change to get the people trust….Good effort…ensure the quality inside and out of all your models and upcoming models…

Salam…

• i am a inspira owner for year 2011 batch.
    my car front absorber already showing abnormal sound (nyek if go over road bumper) after i drove it less then 1 week. really heartache
    the sound appear during the car is cold during morning (park for over night) and disappear after it is warm up.
    it is very annoying especially we are paying premium price for it.
    i regret i chosen inspira as i thought Proton has improved and chose to trust Proton.

I made a complaint during first 1000km service (early Feb) but until now still no news yet from Proton. Currently my car is about to go for 10k km service interval.
    if you refer to other car forum (inspriraclub.com or LYN), this is a known problem among new owner and 9/10 owners have the same problem. but yet Proton still has no solution.

i sincerely hope Datuk S will read this and help us. We have given our trust and support towards proton and we deserve to be provided a trouble free car.
    pls help.

• autojohndoe on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:14 am

are other cars does not make any sound when running over a bumper?

i suggest you try other cars for this issue… ford or toyota…

• Critique on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:01 pm

What will that achieve?

• I called Proton service center earlier yesterday around 10am for service appointment.
          asked them regarding my complaint.
          below is the conversation.

“encik datang service dulu, kita akan explain”
          then i asked, what to explain? is my absorber going to be replace? i want to know if there is solution for my problem.
          “encik jangan risau, datang service dulu.
          i told them to get their technical personal to call back.
          the lady say okok.. waited until 4.30pm still no return call.
          i called back then and talked to the same lady.
          “oh.. dia tidak called back ke. sekejap.”
          “kita ada call Proton, tak ada update lagi, sebab tu tak call back”
          i asked again, is my absorber going to be replace?
          “encik datang la service dulu, kita tengok macam mana.”

the whole conversation is just asking me to go for service.
          there are few things which i am dissatisfied with my inspira.
          1. absorber showing sound.
          2. exhaust pipe holder rod rusty.
          3. ratting sound on driver door during high speed.
          4. paint substandard. the paint just chipped off easily.

• Unforgiven on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:28 am

Maybe the ori Lancer owner may have the same problem?

• word of advise my friend,… just don’t hope too much..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:49 pm

the problem is only the absorber right?
      Probably you just need to ‘push’ them harder about this issue.Other than that,are there any other issue?

• KLIA LIMO on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:33 pm

kakakakakakakakakakaka……the real colour is showing up

• C. S. D. P on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:50 am

My new Sentra Sport also facing the same problem.. kreeeeeek sound early morning.. then after drive a few kilometres, its gone..

its ‘normal’ for new car actually.. not only proton faced with that issue..

• fariz on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:30 am

I’ve had my Satria Neo for four years and had NO problems at all…

• neo_77 on Apr 26, 2011 at 6:02 am

Lucky for you. My satria neo coming 5 years already, recently power steering out. Kena RM 1600 to replace. Radiator fan motor out, kena RM350. Radiator got trace of leaking, have not replace yet. The engine pulley is making squeaking sound like rats breading under my engine hood, got quotation by proton RM 400 to replace, have not done yet. Now got trace of engine oil leaking near the timing belt, dunno how much that is going to cost me. My car is only turning 5 yrs old…….good job proton. you successfully and totally make me loose confidence with your product. I wish Syed Zainal can see my car and understand my agony. My next car will definitely not be a proton.

• Let me share some of my opinion/experience to you…

Radiator leakage, Water Pump leakage could be the culprit. Always check the water level of the “second water overflow tank” (that small long white plastic water tank beside the car battery). Usually, if its always dry, means that your Water Pump is leaking too.

Engine’s Pulley making a noise, your car is 5 years old by the way, the price of a full set timing belt and 3 sealant ring will cost you about RM 330. Maybe “upah pasang” will cost you that RM400 (my guess). Sometimes, that “weird rat infestation” noise, you better check your “bearing pulley” as well and get it changed too. Better do it one-go.

Yeah you’re right, make sure your next car is NOT a Protong. To kill Protong is to buy other brands! To kill it permanently, we will have to do it in the next General Election.

• regret buy p1…my pesona m-line 2008 very problematic…

• go green on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:01 am

my ex proton wira aeroback year 1997 always had power windows problem. i’ve changed 5x already until i got fed-up and disabled 2 power windows. proton has serious quality issue on power windows.

• Vincent on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:03 am

It took Proton 25 years to realise the power window issues? And years for the MD himself to notice this?

Anyway, late better then not come…good move.

Dear Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin ,

The next important thing for overcome the P1 branding crisis is, ask all the service center manager to ensure, there will not be “Biasalah, ini pronton mar” statement make to customer…..

THe one who kill the brand is the service advisor themself…how people not take it as packages come with Proton when your front line people tell customer that the failer is common, is a norn?

• Rakyat on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Are you suggesting that the Front Line Service Advisors lie? that they should say it is uncommon for the famous faults to occur? This can only mean 2 things:

1. The customer will demand that the fault be rectified immediately since it is an uncommon fault. And Proton has to rectify it, instead of excusing it away.

2. If Service Center doesn’t want to rectify the fault, then the customer will decide that other than faulty parts, Proton is also dishonest and cheating.

Maybe you can clarify what you are suggesting.

• dannylee77 on Apr 25, 2011 at 11:03 am

What i read through so far…. It seems that There’s ppl’s Car with Power window problems & also Ppl’s car Without power windows Problems & also other Problems.. too… Some say Happy & some said Not…. Not only Power window.. A lot of Other Problems too…. Even they New Re-badging Inspira / Lancer also got problem i heard ….

Looking at it i think this is Because Proton’s QC not Consistent enough …, so they Should Improve on this,… Not only QC la… On all aspect also la ….

Dear Datuk Seri Syed Zainal , I hope u really look into all Proton’s Problem All This 25 Years & improve on it ….if not, Few years from Now also sama saja , ppl will still say , I will Never Buy another Proton la …, Buy Proton Because of the Price la , Not because of the Quality la …. Export Model Better la … Buy Proton Depends on ur Luck la… Sometimes u Lucky ok la , Not lucky u Teruk la…. Then they will be Ppl that say , you pay this much, what do you expect la ….. the Story will go on & on & on Still … Never Ending Story…..Sampai Tahun 2020 pun sama saja….

so for the Name of MALAYSIAN 1st AUTO MAKER , IMPROVE La untuk RAKYAT …. :D

• redboy on Apr 25, 2011 at 11:07 am

The root cause of power windows is simple, as I said many times, Protong is making money for the parts supplier. Who is the power windows supplier? and How come since TDM time is already there? You see the picture yet why all this years they dont rectify it? If rectify it, the supplier with contract being cut, or margin being cut since need to improve quality. Simple as that.

• No More Proton on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Potong power window regulator supplier – AV Ventures. Listed coy, based in Shah Alam.

• KL Stray Cat on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:04 pm

….Too many comments to read ! I guess when Proton is a topic…

If I fix my FOUR power windows on my Waja (2006) at the authorized dealer – will I get the lifetime guarantee ??

Hmmm…

• Well Done Proton ! on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Finally after more then a decade they rectify the power windows issues.

• Proton should stop being silly Apologist.

Either Proton thrash out the crony faulty parts vendors or close shop.

Anyway, “To Kill Proton Is To Buy Perodua!”

Best of all: “The Day Proton Died = 2nd Merdeka Day!”

• Apart from being silly Apologist, Proton also putting the cart before the horse.

It’s the Crony faulty parts vendors should be cut off from Lifetime Supply Contract first.

Until then it’s all meaningless for Proton to offer such Lifetime Warranty on parts.

“To Kill Proton Is To Buy Perodua!”

• Apart from being silly Apologist, Proton also putting the cart before the horse.

It’s the Crony faulty parts vendors should be cut off from Lifetime Supply Contract first.

Until then it’s all meaningless for Proton to offer such Lifetime Warranty on parts.

“To Kill Proton Is To Buy Perodua !”

• protong on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:43 pm

the issue is local part..proton didn’t produce power window..it’s vendor…toyota use import part from japan so the problem doesn’t happen…….

• autojohndoe on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:07 pm

the truth is…

MYVI ALSO GOT POWER WINDOW PROBLEM…

First hand experience in my friend’s Myvi…

• Jesse James on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:19 pm

At least the decision is way better than Nasim’s.

For those who don’t know it yet, Peugeot 308 has a problem with the battery. There a lot of cases where the battery died before even reaching 1 year of usage. What did Nasim do? THEY SHORTEN THE WARRANTY PERIOD FOR THE BATTERY FROM ONE YEAR TO SIX MONTHS!

• my waja CPS in one year old…my whole family use Proton – Iswara, Wira and currently 2 waja CPS. Its not that we are Proton supporter, but thats the most suitable and practical ‘new’ car for that price….

Yup, true to Proton trademark…after 6 months, both my brother and mine waja CPS expereince lots of rattling sound from the dashboard and headunit, and last month both the cars had the same problem – a plastic ‘knob’ beneath the fuel pedal broke into few pieces by its own.

I would say Proton needs lots of refinement in its products. Me and my brother are quite certain our next car will not be a Proton again…unless It really improves leaps and bound….Datuk Syed, dare to take up the challenge ??

• redboy on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:58 pm

he wont care, becoz u got no other choice if ur budget is at that range..hahahha

• rebadge on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:43 pm

this is not a matter of perception. i own a proton persona, the power window broke down three times already (in 3 years). after the third breakdown, i dont repair it anymore, waste of money. i have to open the door at every toll plaza. this is my only dissatisfaction about the persona.

• ismailAtan` on Apr 26, 2011 at 7:25 am

DSZ …its your baby now.
    Making a lifetime guarantee statement is a big commitment
    and you have stuck out your neck to the chopping board.
    Just hope you won’t eat back your words and claim that DannyTan @
    Paultan misquoted you…it was taken out of context and all that BS.!!

• waimak on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Dear Proton,
    Rather than giving warranty and also promises, why not record all the issues and problems with those parts in proton cars. Then pool the statistics and extract those parts which give you problems. Then identify who is the vendor. Then if you are convinced enough that the defect rate has gone down, publish it to the public.. then I think we customer has something to digest..

• quattro on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm

DSZ melawak je tu > cuba offer bg tukar mana2 power windows WAJA yg experience rosak dan dah tukar beberapa kali > barulah customer asal tu returned balik ke proton > ke guane??

• You can take Potong into the kampung.

But you can never take the kampung out of Potong.

• iceman on Apr 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm

I would never buy a proton again in my life..my waja is the biggest regret I’ve ever made..

• syabas on Apr 29, 2011 at 4:06 pm

syabas Dato’ MD. Can u give same warranty on Gen-2 door handle as well? My Gen2 door handle broke right after 2 year-warranty period time. If possible, extend this door handle warranty to 5 years or lifetime. Door handle should be robust for lifetime because it is mechanical, not electrical or electronics. Should be easier to fix.

• shiftSpank on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:09 am

My Perdana’s power window has failed numerous times for the past 14 years. It is the ONLY thing that consistently fails apart from the gearbox problem which was a known issue and something I changed 3 times (yes 3). The powering motor dies and I’ll have to get the whole mechanism changed. Windows that I hardly use (ie rear passenger windows) will fail because I didn’t use it enough. Contact points within the power window button can disintegrate too. Changed that a few times already. Always visited a Proton service center but the Dragon Lady that runs the place likes to con me. Original parts are not cheap, seriously. I’m forced to switch to another workshop and use Thai parts that are cheaper because, even though it too will fail eventually, it is a much cheaper alternative thus the lesser of both evils.

• Maybe proton Shud considering changing the steering wheel design, looks horrible. And the steering always blocking the view of the speedometer.

• It’s over a month since his statement. so, has it been sorted out?

[quote]

“We will guarantee that the power windows will work,” he declared. But like in all warranties, terms and conditions apply, and these details would be sorted by the end of this month.

[unquote]

• mcdonat on Jun 26, 2011 at 3:57 am

my brother is using wira and having the same problem.. driver side window got problem..
    some of them said it is comes from rubber, or plastics matter.. and i think proton shud understand the climate differences of customer’s countries.. if they want to export to “supercold” country so make sure they make it fit to it.. and also superhot like malaysia.. plus malaysia is hot and moist climate.. haha.. metals are easily rust, paint-bubbling, rubber pecah.. and if the engine oil dropped and the rain falls, the water from other car’s tyre splat the oil to our window.. hahaha.. pasir minyak sume naik.. haha

btw, i think its a gud job because power window is a common problem for proton.. haha.. other problem i think is just because it is a cheap car one.. even my father’s “100% made-in-japan” toyota got noise on suspension.. why buy cheap car if we use it for RALLY..? sure breakdown de… hahaha..

hundreds years ago we heard Mongolia always attacking China.. then have u heard Mongolia today..? developed country already meh..? haha.. it shows nothing on earth will be so everlasting.. life is like liviing on tyre.. today up tomorrow down and so on.. u can always be on top or bottom “if and only if” the tyre is not moving forward.. remember everything is moving on earth.. so we’ll surely face up and down.. haha..

same goes to proton.. i believe they can go forward, changing and might create something phenomenal to the world one day.. God is fair.! (^^,)

• mcdonat on Jun 26, 2011 at 4:23 am

my brother is using wira and having the same problem.. driver side window got problem..
    some of them said it is comes from rubber, or plastics matter.. and i think proton shud understand the climate differences of customer’s countries.. if they want to export to “supercold” country so make sure they make it fit to it.. and also superhot like malaysia.. plus malaysia is hot and moist climate.. haha.. metals are easily rust, paint-bubbling, rubber pecah.. and if the engine oil dropped and the rain falls, the water from other car’s tyre splat the oil to our window.. hahaha.. pasir minyak sume naik.. haha

btw, i think its a gud job because power window is a common problem for proton.. haha.. other problem i think is just because it is a cheap car one.. even my father’s “100% made-in-japan” toyota got noise on suspension.. why buy cheap car if we use it for RALLY..? sure breakdown de… hahaha..

hundreds years ago we heard Mongolia always attacking China.. then have u heard Mongolia today..? developed country already meh..? haha.. it shows nothing on earth will be so everlasting.. life is like liviing on tyre.. today up tomorrow down and so on.. u can always be on top or bottom “if and only if” the tyre is not moving forward.. remember everything is moving on earth.. so we’ll surely face up and down.. haha..

same goes to proton.. i believe they can go forward, changing and might create something phenomenal to the world one day.. Proton is struggling plus God is fair.! (^^,)

• jimbo on Jan 22, 2023 at 5:43 pm

rubbish! im x70 owner. my 1-touch function failed after mco and my proton dealer said if can’t reset have to live without the 1-touch function! how irresponsible is these remarks from established companies! all my life im a proton vehicle owner!!